Military Review

Australia announced the purchase of "drones" US $ 4 billion

4

The Australian Government has officially announced its intention to purchase eight unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) manufactured by the American company Boeing. The transaction value is 4 billion Australian dollars (about 3 billion 600 million US dollars). The devices will be used to monitor the marine areas of Australia.


As it became known, Australia will purchase eight Poseidon P-8A unmanned aerial vehicles manufactured by the Boeing concern (USA), which will replace the outdated Orion AP-3 UAVs from Lockheed Martin. Canberra will spend 4 billion Australian dollars (about 3 billion 600 million US dollars) on new devices. It is expected that the first "drone" will be put on combat duty in the 2017 year.

“The main task of our government is to protect the state. Our government is firmly committed to ensuring the security of state borders,” said Australian Prime Minister Tonny Abbott, commenting on this decision. 8 "Poseidons" will have to patrol two and a half million square kilometers of marine areas.

Regarding the P-8 A vehicles, it is known that they have high maneuverability and can carry out reconnaissance missions, search and rescue operations, as well as combat missions to combat enemy submarines, including striking.

The local military did not hide their satisfaction from the decision of the government. For several years, the Australian Defense Ministry has been seeking the purchase of UAVs, but the previous government refused to acquire “drones”. "Together with conventional aircraft, the P-8 A unmanned aerial vehicles will unprecedentedly expand our ability to control surface ships as well as submarines," said Commander-in-Chief of the Australian Air Force, Jeff Brown.
Author:
Originator:
http://www.rg.ru/
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. iwind
    iwind 24 February 2014 10: 34
    +4
    P-8 Poseidon UAV ????
    That's why I no longer read news translations, I’m immediately looking for the source.
    But what kind of replenished mind do you need to write this?
    1. Podojdi
      Podojdi 24 February 2014 13: 00
      0
      Yes, I, too, became interested, google it, it doesn’t even smell like a drone.
  2. ZU-23
    ZU-23 24 February 2014 10: 42
    0
    The Americans will also give them credit for the purchase of these drones, along with the commanders who will give orders when and by whom to shoot.
  3. 222222
    222222 24 February 2014 10: 43
    +1
    Boeing P-8 Poseidon - patrol anti-submarine aircraft, developed under the program "Multipurpose Marine Aircraft" (Eng. Multimission Maritime Aircraft (MMA)) to replace Lockheed P-3 Orion.

Австралия заявила о закупке "беспилотников" США на 4 млрд долларов


Правительство Австралии официально заявило о намерении закупить восемь беспилотных летательных аппарата (БЛА) производства американской компании "Боинг". Cтоимость сделки составляет 4 миллиарда австралийских долларов (около 3 млрд 600 млн долларов США). Аппараты будут использоваться для контроля за морскими территориями Австралии.

Как стало известно, Австралия закупит восемь беспилотных летательных аппаратов "Посейдон" Р-8А производства концерна "Боинг" (США), которые заменят устаревшие БЛА "Орион" АР-3С компании "Локхид Мартин". На новые аппараты Канберра потратит 4 миллиарда австралийских долларов (около 3 млрд 600 млн долларов США). Ожидается, что первый "беспилотник" будет поставлен на боевое дежурство уже в 2017 года.


"Главной задачей нашего правительства является защита государства. Наше правительство твердо привержено обеспечению безопасности государственных рубежей", - заявил премьер-министр Австралии Тонни Эбботт, комментируя это решение. 8 "Посейдонов" должны будут осуществлять патрулирование двух с половиной миллионов квадратных километров морских территорий.

По поводу аппаратов версии Р-8 А известно, что они обладают высокой маневренностью и могут осуществлять миссии по разведке, поисково-спасательные операции, а также боевые задачи по борьбе с подводными лодками противника, включая нанесение ударов.

Местные военные не скрывали своего удовлетворения от решения правительства. Минобороны Австралии в течение нескольких лет добивалось закупки БЛА, но предыдущее правительство отказывалось приобретать "беспилотники". "Совместно с обычными самолетами беспилотные аппараты Р-8 А беспрецедентно расширят наши возможности в плане контроля за надводными кораблями, а также подводными лодками", - заявил главнокомандующий ВВС Австралии Джофф Браун.
Автор:
Олег Кирьянов
Первоисточник:
http://www.rg.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти