Military Review

Marshall baton

3
The Emperor of France, Napoleon Bonaparte, said that in every soldier's knapsack there is a marshal's baton. Hinting at the fact that every soldier, demonstrating courage, bravery, military talent, can become a marshal. In every rod there is the soul of the marshal, his military genius and the military work of his soldiers who brought him victory.


Marshall baton


The Marshal's Rod is a symbol that demonstrates the greatness and strength of the army; according to its wave, tens of thousands of people are moving towards victory over the enemy. To get a marshal's baton, you must go through the harsh path of a warrior from the rank and file to the highest military rank.

The tradition of presenting and wearing a rod as a commander’s insignia originated in ancient Rome. The envoy of the Roman Senate - the highest legislative body in ancient Rome - presented the victor’s baton, a toga and a laurel wreath to the Roman commander-victor from the Senate and the Roman people. The commander-trimmer headed the triumphal procession, driving through Rome on a chariot at the head of the victorious army and holding a baton in his hand. Roman rod was made of white ivory and decorated with carving, as a rule, scenes of victories commander. At the top of the rod was set the golden Roman eagle - a symbol of the legions and courage. The commander-triumphant raised the baton so that during the procession he would be seen by the people greeting the army, with this gesture he would demonstrate the unity of the army, the people and the Senate, united by victory. The most famous commanders-victors were Guy Mari, Julius Caesar, Octavian Augustus, Traian. Guy Mari defeated the tribes of the Cimbri and Teutons, and thereby saved Rome from their invasion. Julius Caesar conquered Gaul, Britain, and Belgium for Rome. Octavian Augustus created the united Roman Empire. Traian defeated the Dacians in a brutal mountain war and made many other outstanding feats. All these commanders were exceptional people, they entered their names in history military art, became a role model for subsequent military leaders. In the Roman Empire, many commanders wore the baton of the commander.

This tradition was transferred to the Byzantine Empire. The army commander was called the "great domestik" and had the right to wear a rod - a symbol of the highest military power.

Medieval France became the cultural successor of Rome, therefore adopted the military tradition - handing the baton to the commander. The French were the first in Europe to award marshals with military batons. This tradition of awarding distinguished senior military commanders was also transferred to the armies of other countries.



Initially, the French royal army was headed by a constable, and he had the right to carry a rod. Marshal performed auxiliary functions. At the end of the XVI century, the king stopped appointing the constable to the post. And the French armies have since become led by marshals. The right to wear the rod gets the Marshal of France.

The most famous owners of the Marshal's baton and the marshals of France in the XVII century were Prince de Conde, Turenne and Vauban. Prince Condé successfully fought in the Thirty Years War. His famous victory in the battle of Rocroix in 1643 year became the classics of military art. Viscount Turenn began his combat career in 15 years, and received a marshal's baton and the right to command the army when he was 33 of the year during the Thirty Years War. In the history of military art Turenn has established itself as an outstanding strategist and tactician. His talent was highly appreciated by A.V. Suvorov and Napoleon Bonaparte. Vauban received a marshal's baton for outstanding achievements in military engineering. He was appointed head of all fortification work in France. He developed the theory of gradual attack and the theory of building fortresses.



The era of Napoleon Bonaparte’s empire had a peculiar effect on the culture of the marshal’s batons. Under Napoleon, the owner of a marshal's baton was called the "marshal of the empire." If only a nobleman could become the owner of a marshal's baton during the king, then under the emperor Napoleon any outstanding military man who showed talent on the battlefield and earned the trust of the emperor and the army. Napoleon, himself an outstanding military leader, awarded with batons of exceptionally talented commanders.

Marshal Joachim Murat is a typical representative of the Napoleonic era, he began his military service as a simple private cavalryman in the royal army. He distinguished himself during the revolutionary wars. For his ingenuity and fearlessness became an officer. Under the command of Napoleon, he became a marshal of the empire and received from the hands of the emperor a marshal's baton in 1804.

Another famous owner of the marshal's baton was Marshal of the Empire Davout. It was he who helped Napoleon surround and capture the Austrian army of General Mack in Ulm and predetermine the outcome of the campaign. Under Austerlitz in 1805, and Borodino in 1812, soldiers under his able command bravely broke open the enemy defenses.

The next outstanding owner of the rod was the marshal of her empire. Starting his service as a private of a hussar regiment, during 10 years, Ney became the commander of the most powerful French Rhine army, and all this thanks to military talent. In 1804, Napoleon Bonaparte was one of the first to hand Marshal's baton to General Neya.

In total, from 1804 to 1815, Napoleon handed 26 to the generals, who not only commanded the armies, but also occupied the highest administrative posts. Many of them deserved marshal batons on the battlefield and were truly loved by the troops.



Peter the Great - the founder of the regular Russian army of the European sample, introduced in 1699 the rank of Field Marshal, taken from the Austrian imperial army.

The first truly militant field marshal was Boris Petrovich Sheremetev, who defeated the Swedes in the 1701 year under Erestfere, using surprise. Peter on the occasion of the victory over the invincible Swedes handed him a field Marshal baton. Boris Petrovich began his civil service and was the emperor's steward, then he was deputy governor of a large regiment. He participated in the Crimean campaigns of the prince
Golitsyn and in the Azov campaigns of Peter and commanded the army. He conquered the Baltics from the Swedes, and then Ingria (Karelia) and Ingermanland (St. Petersburg province), knocking out the Swedish garrisons. In the battle of Poltava in 1709, he commanded all the infantry of the Russian army.

The names of field marshals P. A. Rumyantsev, M. I. Kutuzov and generalissimo A. V. Suvorov are particularly dear to the Russian soldier, and therefore their attitude to their field marshal's batons is especially respectful. In the Russian-Turkish campaign, Field Marshal Rumyantsev repeatedly smashed the Turkish army. His battles and victories at Larga and Kagul became classics of military art. In 1775, Empress Catherine II bestowed on him a field Marshal baton with diamonds "for reasonable leadership." The victories of Field Marshal P.A. Rumyantsev led to the conclusion of the Kuchuk-Kaynardzhi world, advantageous for Russia.

Alexander Vasilyevich Suvorov, the most respected and authoritative commander of the Russian army, began his military career as a sergeant of the Semenov regiment. He participated as an officer in the Seven Years' War. He proved himself in the Russian-Turkish wars, repeatedly defeating many times superior enemy forces. Developed a new military theory "Science to win." Field Marshal baton received for the defeat of the Polish insurgent army and the capture of Warsaw in 1791 year. There is a legend that after receiving the field marshal's baton, Suvorov took him to the church for consecration.

Mikhail Illarionovich Kutuzov is rightfully considered the savior of the Fatherland from the troops of Napoleon Bonaparte. He participated in the storming of Ishmael under the command of the then General Suvorov. In 1811, in the style of a Suvorov military school, he surrounded and captured the Turkish army under Ruschuk, and as a result, forced Turkey to sign a peace treaty with Russia. In 1812, he led the Russian army in the war against the French army of Napoleon Bonaparte. Skillfully and skillfully led by both Russian armies in the battle of Borodino. Received field marshal baton in 1812 year after the expulsion of the French.

Mikhail Bogdanovich Barclay de Tolly, a native of the Scottish clan and a native of the Baltic states, began serving as a warden in the Pskov Carabinerine Regiment. Successfully participated in the Russian-Turkish wars of the second half of the XVIII century. He became an officer and general. Commanding the corps along with Bagration, he managed to lead Sweden to peace in 1810. He was the Minister of War of Russia and successfully led the military reforms. After the invasion of Napoleon, the skillful leadership repeatedly saved both Russian armies from defeat. Under Borodino, he commanded the right wing of the Russian army and personally led the regiments into battle, repeatedly proving his bravery. In 1813, commanding the 3 of the Russian army, he distinguished himself in the battles of Bautzen and Kulm, and under Leipzig he played a key role in the defeat of Napoleon's troops. In 1814, he received a field marshal baton.



Kutuzov and Barclay de Tolly were immortalized by monuments near the Kazan Cathedral in St. Petersburg as the protectors and saviors of Russia. Moreover, Field Marshal Kutuzov, with his field marshal's baton, points the way to the people and the army for the salvation of the Fatherland.

Other famous owners of field marshal's baton in the history of Russian military art are well-known names of Peter Christian Wittgenstein s sweaters, heroes of the Patriotic War 1812, Ivan Fedorovich Paskevich, who had won the field marshal wars for defeating the Turkish army in 1828 – 29, mastering the fortresses of Kars, and defeating the Turkish army in 1877 – 1878. who commanded the Russian troops in the Caucasus and annexed Tarkov shamkhalism and the Derbent khanate to Russia, Joseph Vladimirovich Gurko, in the Russian-Turkish war XNUMX– XNUMX played a key role in mastering the Bulgarian Plevna.

In total, in the Russian imperial army from the time of Peter the Great, 63 field marshal's baton received General. These - for exceptional military talent, contribution to the art of war, the glorification of Russian weapons, significant for Russia victories and joining of new territories. Other generals received a rod for kinship with the imperial family, for political or career reasons or for less significant feats of arms.

The military ranks of the Russian Empire were abolished in the 1917 year, and accordingly the field marshal's baton as a symbol of the old army.

In 2009, the Russian Field Marshal's baton returned and was placed on the emblem of the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation.

In addition to France and Russia, the rank of field marshal (general field marshal) also existed in other European countries, including Great Britain, Austria, Prussia, and later in Germany. Accordingly, each of them also preserved the tradition of awarding the commanders a symbol of their high military rank - marshal batons.

In the UK, for example, Arthur Leslie Wellington is one of the most famous and significant British field marshals. He received the Marshal's baton for a key victory in the war against Napoleon at Vitoria in 1813, as a result of which the French army suffered a crushing defeat and ceded the army of Wellington to the Iberian Peninsula. In 1814, he led the Anglo-Dutch army against Napoleon. Together with Prussian field marshal Blucher, in 1815, he defeated Napoleon’s army at Waterloo. For this victory, 6 of European countries was sent to Wellington marshal batons and assigned the title of field marshal.



In the army of the Holy Roman Empire (Austrian), the rank of Field Marshal was introduced at the beginning of the 17th century. The most famous field marshals were Montekukolli and Prince Eugene of Savoy.

In Prussia, the title of field marshal was introduced in 1653. The most famous field marshals of this country are Blucher and Moltke. Gebhard Blucher in 1813 year after the expulsion of Napoleon from Russia led the combined Russian-Prussian forces. He received a field marshal's baton for victories over the French under Katsbach and Wartenburg in 1813.

Helmut von Moltke (senior) served almost the entire military career in the Prussian general staff. It was thanks to him that Prussia defeated Austria in the 1866 year under Sadovaya and defeated the French army in 1870, as a result the German Empire was created, which united the German principalities under the auspices of Prussia.

Marshal baton is awarded after the battle on the battlefield or on the parade in front of the troops in a festive atmosphere. Thus, Field Marshal Ivan Paskevich received his field marshal's baton, to whom Emperor Nicholas I handed him before the parade formation of the troops. He was also presented at the royal or imperial court by the king or the emperor himself. In the twentieth century, for example, in France, the Marshal's baton is presented by the President of the Republic.
During military parades, the field marshal or marshal greeted the passing troops, raising their hand with the rod up, thus they showed that they were united by common victories, and the rod was a symbol of common achievements.

The most ancient French marshal's batons were decorated with golden lilies on dark blue velvet, and on the gilded tops of the rod was engraved the coat of arms of the royal house of Bourbons. Under Napoleon, the baton had a wooden base, covered with blue velvet, on which the imperial eagle was embroidered 32. The inscriptions “the horrors of war are a shield of peace” were engraved on the tips, one of the ends was the name of the owner, the date the baton was received, and the inscription: “Named Marshal of the Empire, Emperor Napoleon.” The Marshall Rod in the twentieth century was decorated with stars instead of eagles.



The Russian field marshal's wand was made of gold and decorated with laurel branches and diamonds. Laurel branches of the Roman military tradition symbolized victory. Russian imperial eagles were engraved on the top of the rod.
The British Field Marshal's baton is covered with red velvet, on which are embroidered gilded British lions, and its topping is decorated with St. George the Victorious, mounted on a horse.

The Prussian field marshal's baton was decorated with the crowns of the Prussian kingdom and Prussian eagles. The Austrian field-marshal's baton was covered with blue velvet, and golden Austrian eagles were embroidered on it.

The vast majority of future field marshals joined the army at a young age and dedicated their lives to serving their people and states. Some of them received a marshal's baton, being very young, thanks to genius and military successes, for example, Marshal of France Turenne or Prince Eugene of Savoy. Others received a marshal's baton by mature generals, in extreme old age. After all, military glory has no limits in achievements and age. I would like to note that all owners of marshal batons, despite their age or nationality, are united by the confidence of the army, sincere service to military affairs, great victories and military achievements for the people and state they served. Both the soldiers and the leaders of the states believed that by handing the marshal's baton to the commander, they were handing him their fate.
Author:
Originator:
http://www.bratishka.ru/archiv/2013/12/2013_12_15.php
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. smile
    smile 28 February 2014 16: 38
    0
    Interesting. I did not know that now the tradition was renewed, albeit in the form of introducing a rod into the emblem of the Supreme Commander.
    To be honest, for some reason I associate the concept of "marshal's baton" primarily with nervous strange manipulations of his baton by Partaigenosse Keitel when signing surrender. :)))
  2. Enot-poloskun
    Enot-poloskun 28 February 2014 19: 31
    0
    Strange - and Soviet marshals? Were without a rod?
  3. ivanovbg
    ivanovbg 1 March 2014 17: 36
    0
    Hitler's field marshals also had batons, and the article does not mention it. Unless Paulus did not seem to have a rod. Hitler sent him a telegram with the assignment of a new rank and a mention that before Stalingrad not a single field marshal of Germany had gone to the enemies alive. The adjutant general made a corresponding entry in the officer's certificate of the marshal and threw the seal into the oven. Almost immediately, a team of Soviet officers arrived, but the newly made field marshal did not kill himself. Soviet historians ascribe the phrase to Paulus: "If this worthless corporal imagines that I will kill myself because of that (rank), he is deeply mistaken." Although the source is far from impartial and no one really knows how it happened.

Маршальский жезл

Император Франции Наполеон Бонапарт говорил, что в каждом солдатском ранце находится маршальский жезл. Намекая на то, что каждый солдат, демонстрируя храбрость, отвагу, военный талант, может стать маршалом. В каждом жезле — душа маршала, его военный гений и ратный труд его воинов, принесших ему победу.

Маршальский жезл


Маршальский жезл — это символ, демонстрирующий величие и силу армии, по его мановению движутся десятки тысяч людей к победе над врагом. Чтобы получить маршальский жезл, необходимо пройти суровый путь воина от рядового до высшего воинского звания.


Традиция вручения и ношения жезла как знака отличия полководца зародилась в Древнем Риме. Посланец римского Сената — высшего законодательного органа в Древнем Риме — вручал жезл триумфатора, тогу и лавровый венок римскому полководцу-триумфатору от Сената и римского народа. Полководец-тримфатор возглавлял триумфальное шествие, проезжая по Риму на колеснице во главе победоносной армии и держа жезл в руке. Римский жезл был сделан из белой слоновой кости и украшен резьбой, как правило, сценами побед полководца. На вершине жезла был установлен золотой римский орел — символ легионов и отваги. Полководец-триумфатор поднимал жезл, чтобы его во время шествия видел приветствующий армию народ, этим жестом он демонстрировал единство армии, народа и Сената, объединенных победой. Наиболее известными полководцами-триумфаторами были Гай Марий, Юлий Цезарь, Октавиан Август, Траян. Гай Марий разбил племена кимвров и тевтонов и тем самым спас Рим от их нашествия. Юлий Цезарь завоевал для Рима Галлию, Британию, Бельгию. Октавиан Август создал единую Римскую империю. Траян победил даков в жестокой горной войне и совершил много других выдающихся подвигов. Все эти полководцы были людьми исключительными, они вписали свои имена в историю военного искусства, стали образцом для подражания для последующих военачальников. В Римской империи многие военачальники носили жезл полководца.

Эта традиция передалась в Византийскую империю. Командующий армией назывался «великий доместик» и имел право ношения жезла — символа высшей воинской власти.

Средневековая Франция стала культурной наследницей Рима, поэтому переняла воинскую традицию — вручение жезла полководцу. Французы первыми в Европе стали награждать маршалов воинскими жезлами. Эта традиция награждать выдающихся высших воинских начальников передалась и в армии других стран.

Маршальский жезл


Первоначально французскую королевскую армию возглавлял коннетабль, и право на ношение жезла имел он. Маршал выполнял вспомогательные функции. В конце XVI века король перестал назначать на должность коннетабля. И французские армии с тех пор стали возглавляться маршалами. Право на ношение жезла получает маршал Франции.

Наиболее известными обладателями маршальского жезла и маршалами Франции были в XVII веке принц Конде, Тюренн и Вобан. Принц Конде успешно воевал в Тридцатилетнюю войну. Его знаменитая победа в сражении при Рокруа в 1643 году стала классикой военного искусства. Виконт Тюренн начал свой боевой путь в 15 лет, а получил маршальский жезл и право командовать армией, когда ему было 33 года во время Тридцатилетней войны. В истории военного искусства Тюренн зарекомендовал себя как выдающийся стратег и тактик. Его талант высоко ценили А. В. Суворов и Наполеон Бонапарт. Вобан получил маршальский жезл за выдающиеся успехи в военно-инженерном деле. Он был назначен руководителем всех фортификационных работ во Франции. Разработал теорию постепенной атаки и теорию построения крепостей.

Маршальский жезл


Эпоха империи Наполеона Бонапарта своеобразно повлияла на культуру маршальских жезлов. При Наполеоне обладатель маршальского жезла назывался «маршал империи». Если при короле обладателем маршальского жезла мог стать исключительно дворянин, то при императоре Наполеоне – любой выдающийся военный, который продемонстрировал талант на поле боя и заслужил доверие императора и армии. Наполеон, сам выдающийся военачальник, награждал жезлами исключительно талантливых полководцев.

Маршал Иоахим Мюрат является типичным представителем наполеоновской эпохи, он начинал военную службу простым рядовым кавалеристом в королевской армии. Он отличился в период революционных войн. За свою смекалку и бесстрашие стал офицером. Под командованием Наполеона он стал маршалом империи и получил из рук императора маршальский жезл в 1804 году.

Другим знаменитым обладателем маршальского жезла был маршал империи Даву. Именно он помог Наполеону окружить и взять в плен австрийскую армию генерала Мака в Ульме и предрешить исход кампании. При Аустерлице в 1805 году и Бородино в 1812 году солдаты под его умелым командованием храбро взламывали оборону противника.

Следующим выдающимся обладателем жезла был маршал империи Ней. Начав службу рядовым гусарского полка, за 10 лет Ней становится командующим самой мощной французской рейнской армией, и все это благодаря воинскому таланту. В 1804 году Наполеон Бонапарт одному из первых вручил генералу Нею маршальский жезл.

Всего с 1804 по 1815 год Наполеон вручил жезл 26 генералам, которые не только командовали армиями, но и занимали высшие административные посты. Многие из них заслужили маршальские жезлы на поле боя и были по-настоящему любимы войсками.

Маршальский жезл


Петр Великий — основатель регулярной русской армии европейского образца ввел в 1699 году звание генерал-фельдмаршала, взятое из австрийской имперской армии.

Первым по-настоящему боевым генерал-фельдмаршалом стал Борис Петрович Шереметев, который разгромил шведов в 1701 году при Эрестфере, используя внезапность. Петр по случаю победы над непобедимыми шведами вручил ему фельдмаршальский жезл. Борис Петрович начал свою службу на гражданском поприще и был стольником государя, затем был заместителем воеводы большого полка. Он участвовал в крымских походах князя
Голицына и в азовских походах Петра и командовал армией. Он отвоевал у шведов Прибалтику, а затем Ингрию (Карелию) и Ингерманландию (Санкт-Петербургскую губернию), выбив оттуда шведские гарнизоны. В битве при Полтаве в 1709 году он командовал всей пехотой русской армии.

Имена фельдмаршалов П. А. Румянцева, М. И. Кутузова и генералиссимуса А. В. Суворова особо дороги русскому солдату, а потому и отношение к их фельдмаршальским жезлам особенно уважительное. В русско-турецкую кампанию фельдмаршал Румянцев неоднократно громил турецкие армии. Его сражения и победы при Ларге и Кагуле стали классикой военного искусства. В 1775 году императрица Екатерина II пожаловала ему фельдмаршальский жезл с алмазами «за разумное полководство». Победы фельдмаршала П. А. Румянцева привели к заключению выгодного для России Кучук-Кайнарджийского мира.

Александр Васильевич Суворов, самый уважаемый и авторитетный полководец русской армии, начал свою военную карьеру сержантом Семеновского полка. Участвовал офицером в Семилетней войне. Проявил себя в русско-турецких войнах, неоднократно побеждая многократно превосходящие войска противника. Разработал новую военную теорию «Наука побеждать». Фельдмаршальский жезл получил за разгром польской повстанческой армии и взятие Варшавы в 1791 году. Есть легенда, что после получения фельдмаршальского жезла Суворов отнес его в церковь для освящения.

Михаил Илларионович Кутузов по праву считается спасителем Отечества от войск Наполеона Бонапарта. Участвовал в штурме Измаила под командованием тогда еще генерала Суворова. В 1811 году в стиле суворовской военной школы окружил и взял в плен турецкую армию при Рущуке, вследствие чего заставил Турцию подписать мирный договор с Россией. В 1812 году возглавил русскую армию в войне против французской армии Наполеона Бонапарта. Умело и талантливо руководил обеими русскими армиями в сражении при Бородино. Получил фельдмаршальский жезл в 1812 году после изгнания французов.

Михаил Богданович Барклай де Толли, выходец из шотландского рода и уроженец Прибалтики, начал службу вахмистром в Псковском карабинерном полку. Успешно участвовал в русско-турецких войнах второй половины XVIII века. Стал офицером и генералом. Командуя корпусом вместе с Багратионом, сумел привести Швецию к миру в 1810 году. Был военным министром России и успешно руководил военными реформами. После вторжения Наполеона умелым руководством неоднократно спасал обе русские армии от разгрома. При Бородино командовал правым крылом русской армии и лично водил в бой полки, неоднократно доказав свою храбрость. В 1813 году командуя 3-й русской армией, отличился в сражениях под Бауценом и Кульмом, а под Лейпцигом сыграл ключевую роль в разгроме наполеоновских войск. В 1814 году получил фельдмаршальский жезл.

Маршальский жезл


Кутузов и Барклай де Толли были увековечены памятниками рядом с Казанским cобором в Санкт-Петербурге как защитники и спасители России. Причем фельдмаршал Кутузов указывает своим фельдмаршальским жезлом путь народу и армии к спасению Отечества.

Среди других известных владельцев фельдмарщальского жезла в истории отечественного военного искусства хорошо известны имена Петра Христиановича Витгенштейна, героя Отечественной войны 1812 года, Ивана Федоровича Паскевича, получившего фельдмаршальский жезл за разгром турецкой армии в 1828–29 годах, овладение крепостями Карс и Эрзерум, Ивана Васильевича Гудовича, командовавшего русскими войсками на Кавказе и присоединившего к России Тарковское шамхальство и Дербентское ханство, Иосифа Владимировича Гурко, в русско-турецкую войну 1877–1878 годов сыгравшего ключевую роль в овладении болгарской Плевной.

Всего в русской императорской армии со времен Петра Великого получили фельдмаршальский жезл 63 генерала. Указанные – за исключительное военное дарование, вклад в военное искусство, прославление русского оружия, значимые для России победы и присоединение новых территорий. Другие генералы получали жезл за родство с императорской фамилией, по политическим или карьерным мотивам или за менее значительные ратные подвиги.

Воинские звания Российской империи были отменены в 1917 году, а соответственно, и фельдмаршальский жезл как символ старой армии.

В 2009 году российский фельдмаршальский жезл вернулся и был помещен на эмблеме Верховного главнокомандующего Вооруженными силами Российской Федерации.

Кроме Франции и России звание фельдмаршала (генерал-фельдмаршала) также существовало в других европейских странах, в том числе в Великобритании, Австрии, Пруссии, позднее — в Германии. Соответственно в каждой из них также сохранялась традиция вручения военачальникам символа их высокого воинского звания — маршальских жезлов.

В Великобритании, например, одним из самых известных и значимых британских фельдмаршалов является Артур Лесли Веллингтон. Маршальский жезл он получил за ключевую победу в войне против Наполеона при Виттории в 1813 году, в результате которой французская армия потерпела сокрушительное поражение и уступила армии Веллингтона Пиренейский полуостров. В 1814 году возглавил англо-голландскую армию против Наполеона. Вместе с прусским фельдмаршалом Блюхером в 1815 году разгромил армию Наполеона при Ватерлоо. За эту победу 6 европейских стран прислали Веллингтону маршальские жезлы и присвоили звание фельдмаршала.

Маршальский жезл


В армии Священной Римской империи (Австрийской) звание генерал-фельдмаршала было введено в начале XVII века. Самыми знаменитыми фельдмаршалами были Монтекуколли и принц Евгений Савойский.

В Пруссии звание фельдмаршала было введено в 1653 году. Самые известные фельдмаршалы этой страны — Блюхер и Мольтке. Гебхард Блюхер в 1813 году после изгнания Наполеона из России возглавил объединенные русско-прусские силы. Получил фельдмаршальский жезл за победы над французами при Кацбахе и Вартенбурге в 1813 году.

Хельмут фон Мольтке (старший) практически всю военную карьеру прослужил в прусском генеральном штабе. Именно благодаря ему Пруссия победила Австрию в 1866 году при Садовой и разгромила французскую армию в 1870 году, в результате была создана Германская империя, объединившая под эгидой Пруссии германские княжества.

Маршальский жезл вручается после сражения на поле боя или на параде перед войсками в торжественной обстановке. Так получил свой фельдмаршальский жезл фельдмаршал Иван Паскевич, которому император Николай I вручил его перед парадным строем войск. Его вручали также при королевском или императорском дворе сам король или император. В ХХ веке, например, во Франции маршальский жезл вручает президент республики.
Во время военных парадов фельдмаршал или маршал приветствовали проходящие войска, поднимая руку с жезлом вверх, тем самым они показывали, что их объединяют общие победы, а жезл является символом общих достижений.

Самые старинные французские маршальские жезлы были украшены золотыми лилиями на темно-синем бархате, а на золоченых навершиях жезла был выгравирован герб королевского дома Бурбонов. При императоре Наполеоне жезл имел деревянную основу, обтянутую синим бархатом, на котором было вышито 32 имперских орла. На наконечниках гравировалась надпись «ужасы войны — щит мира», на одном из торцов значилось имя владельца, дата получения жезла и надпись: «Наименован маршалом империи императором Наполеоном». Маршальский жезл в ХХ веке был украшен звездами вместо орлов.

Маршальский жезл


Российский фельдмаршальский жезл был изготовлен из золота и украшен лавровыми ветвями и бриллиантами. Лавровые ветви по римской воинской традиции символизировали победу. На навершиях жезла были выгравированы российские имперские орлы.
Британский фельдмаршальский жезл обтянут красным бархатом, на котором вышиты золоченые британские львы, и его навершие украшает святой Георгий Победоносец, восседающий на коне.

Прусский фельдмаршальский жезл был украшен коронами прусского королевства и прусскими орлами. Австрийский фельдмаршальский жезл был обтянут синим бархатом, и на нем были вышиты золотые австрийские орлы.

Подавляющее большинство будущих фельдмаршалов пришли на службу в армию в юном возрасте и посвятили служению своим народам и государствам всю жизнь. Некоторые из них получили маршальский жезл, будучи совсем молодыми, благодаря гениальности и военным успехам, например, маршал Франции Тюренн или принц Евгений Савойский. Другие получили маршальский жезл уже зрелыми полководцами, в глубокой старости. Ведь у воинской славы нет пределов в достижениях и в возрасте. Хотелось бы заметить, что всех обладателей маршальских жезлов, несмотря на возраст или национальность, объединяют доверие армии, искреннее служение военному делу, великие победы и военные достижения ради того народа и государства, которым они служили. И солдаты, и руководители государств верили, что, вручая маршальский жезл полководцу, они вручают ему свою судьбу.
Автор: Тимур АХМЕТОВ
Первоисточник: http://www.bratishka.ru/archiv/2013/12/2013_12_15.php


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. smile 28 февраля 2014 16:38
    Интересно. Не знал, что сейчас традиция возобновлена, пусть и в виде внесения жезла в эмблему Верховного Главнокомандующего.
    Если честно, почему-то у меня понятие "маршальский жезл" прежде всего ассоциируется с нервными странноватыми манипуляциями своим жезлом партайгеноссе Кейтелем при подписании капитуляции. :)))
  2. Enot-poloskun 28 февраля 2014 19:31
    Странно - а советские маршалы? Были без жезла?
  3. ivanovbg 1 марта 2014 17:36
    У фельдмаршалов Гитлера тоже были жезлы, а статья об етом не упоминает. Разве что у Паулуса, кажется, жезл не был. Гитлер послал ему телеграмму с присвоение новым званием и упоминание, что до Сталинграда ни один фельдмаршал Германии не попадал к врагам живой. Генерал-адъютант сделал соответсвующую запись в офицерском удостоверении маршала и бросил печать в печь. Почти сразу пожаловала команда советских офицеров, но новоиспеченный фельдмаршал убиват себя не стал. Советские историки припесывают Паулусу фразу: "Если етот никчемный ефрейтор воображает, что я стану из-за того (звания) себя убивать, он глубоко ошибается". Хотя источник далеко не беспристрастный и как было на самом деле уже никто не знает.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня