Military Review

Lockheed Martin will create a 60-kilowatt laser

14
The creation of laser systems in the United States began in the 1970-ies, but only in the last few years have developed laser systems began to function successfully, as examples of real combat weapons. In recent years, the United States has been working hard to create a mobile high-energy laser installation, which is planned to be used to protect important military facilities from artillery and mortars, unguided missiles, UAVs and cruise missiles. According to the military, it is these targets that are the main threat that the US military faces today.


Website fool.com 1 March 2014 reported that the American company Lockheed Martin received a contract for the design, production and testing with the subsequent delivery of an 60-kilowatt high-energy fiber-optic laser to the American army. Currently in the US, work is underway on HEL MD (High Energy Laser Mobile Demonstrator) mobile laser systems. It is assumed that the new 60-kilowatt laser will also be installed on a self-propelled chassis and will receive the possibility of circular firing (360 degrees). It is believed that the installation should be used to hit flying artillery ammunition, missiles and UAVs, as well as unexploded shells and mines and improvised explosive devices (IEDs).

It is reported that the delivery of the prototype 60-kilowatt combat laser is scheduled for December 27 2017. After this date, the technology demonstrator is planned to be seriously tested at various test sites. Currently, Lockheed Martin has a positive experience in this area. According to experts, the concern has been developing the ADAM (Area Defense Anti-Munitions) system for more than 3 for more than 10 years in the 10-kilowatt version, using a commercial laser. It is reported that the power of this laser is enough to successfully counteract threats at the near boundary of the defense of the object. At the same time, this power is currently the highest when using single-mode operation. For commercial lasers, such power is more than enough. At the same time to deal with serious threats, such as artillery shells and mines, a more powerful laser is required.

Lockheed Martin will create a 60-kilowatt laser

During the tests conducted in California, ADAM was able to solve several problems. So in 2012, with the help of this installation, the Osprey UAV, which has a wingspan of 3,5 m, as well as 11 unguided small-caliber missiles, was destroyed. On tests, the laser system captured, accompanied and intercepted each unguided rocket at a distance of about 2 km from the target, which was provided for by the operational test scenario. In March-April last year, this installation was able to successfully intercept 8 launched missiles at a distance of 1,5 km, and also accompanied several UAVs at long range, demonstrating the capabilities of the installed equipment.

In December 2013, the US Army completed a series of HEL MD tests installed on the mobile chassis of a mobile high-energy laser demonstrator, which were deemed successful. The demonstrator was engaged in the interception of UAVs and mortar shells. Tests were organized at the White Sands test site in New Mexico. The tests were conducted from November 18 to December 10 last year. 90 mortar mines and a number of UAVs were intercepted by the installation during this period.

According to representatives of the US strategic command and rocket and space defense, a series of field tests was the first large-scale demonstration of the HEL MD system, which is currently presented in a car configuration and includes a laser machine and multi-mode radar. In addition to Lockheed Martin, Boeing, Northrop Grumman, and Rheinmetall are currently working on the market for creating such devices. Conducted from 18 November to 10 December tests were carried out on the installation, developed by Boeing. It is reported that during testing, the level of destruction of flying mortars and artillery shells exceeded the threshold in 90%.


A series of recent tests conducted at the site in New Mexico took place under almost the same conditions as the 2011 and 2012 tests, when the capabilities of laser systems for hitting low-flying as well as high-speed targets flying at medium altitude were demonstrated. At the same time, in 2013, the HEL-MD installation was demonstrated in its entirety, that is, with a working laser, an automatic beam guidance system and a radar. In this case, the main object of the test was the Enhanced Multi Mode Radar - a composite radar system that is designed to detect, track, capture air targets and aim the laser beam at them in automatic mode.

The power of the tested laser systems is planned to gradually increase. In the future, 50, 60 and 100 kilowatt lasers are planned to be installed on the mobile platform. The installation of such laser systems will also help to test new power systems, laser cooling systems and other equipment necessary for effective use.

It is assumed that after carrying out all the necessary tests on the HEL-MD installation, it will be possible to install the final combat version of a solid-state laser with a power of 100 kW. The use of such a high power laser will help to increase the range of destruction of various objects, and also helps to reduce the beam retention time on the target, which is necessary for the guaranteed destruction of the object being fired. All this together will significantly improve the overall effectiveness of a promising laser combat system.



Information sources:
http://www.militaryparitet.com/ttp/data/ic_ttp/6475
http://vpk-news.ru/articles/18660
http://pro-samolet.ru/blog-pro-samolet/956-americans-experienced-combat-laser
http://www.dailytechinfo.org/military
Author:
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. AVV
    AVV 6 March 2014 10: 33
    +1
    Very raw weapons !!! How will it work in the conditions of sand storms? In the conditions of the use of false targets along with the BB ??? In the conditions of the enemy using aerosols to protect the missile defense at a distance of 2 km from hitting the target ??? More questions than answers on them!!!
    1. 528Obrp
      528Obrp 6 March 2014 13: 26
      +1
      Quote: AVV
      How it will work in sandstorms

      No way!
  2. Lone gunman
    Lone gunman 6 March 2014 10: 45
    +1
    Cool, but we are also developing:
    www.odnako.org/blogs/oruzhie-na-novih-fizicheskih-principah-mifi-i-realnost-chas
    t-1-russkiy-lazer /

  3. RBLip
    RBLip 6 March 2014 13: 18
    0
    cool. that's just
  4. 528Obrp
    528Obrp 6 March 2014 13: 22
    0
    I remember it a few years ago, Gazprom dragged a unit for remote cutting of metal pipes to the MAX. And this unit was called a laser.
    They laughed for a long time: for what on the MAX laser. And now they’re tuning it.

    http://www.servotechnica.ru/project/index.pl?id=52
    1. 528Obrp
      528Obrp 6 March 2014 13: 41
      0
      At one time, indulged in lasers, interesting. But my most powerful laser was about 2 watts. I cut a plastic clothespin with self-made optics. In general, as a weapon (except for the defeat of optical instruments and the human eye) - fairy tales.
      Under ideal conditions, with small gradients of air temperature, in the absence of dust, etc., etc.
      But!!!! There is one promising idea that excites the minds of scientists! This is a gamma laser. Who will build it first is the Lord of the world. But for now it's fantastic.

      PS
      Do not throw out old DVD-ROMs (especially low-speed ones). There is a laser LED from 0,2 to 0,5 watts. All instructions on YouTube and the network. Good luck
      1. Black
        Black 6 March 2014 15: 29
        0
        Quote: 528Obrp
        Who will build it first is the Lord of the world.

        They will make a gazer, sooner or later. But, Strength is in truth, brother!
  5. fzr1000
    fzr1000 6 March 2014 13: 47
    +1
    The Israeli Ministry of Defense recently announced that the SkyShield system has successfully passed tests, and will soon be deployed in ground-to-air missiles. She will use lasers to aim and destroy the target.

    C-MUSIC, the commercial version of SkyShield, in addition to lasers, also uses a thermal camera to detect objects. After infrared sensors detect enemy missiles, the system fires with a laser and hits the navigation system of the target, knocking it off course and averting the threat from its airborne equipment.
    Eitan Eshel, the general of the Israeli armed forces, claims that SkyShield has been tested with the most modern and comprehensive tests in the history of the country.

    The need for technological improvement appeared after the incident that occurred in 2002. Then the terrorists tried to bring down an Israeli charter plane in Kenya. Fortunately, the missiles passed the target, but the country's prime minister instructed to create an ultra-efficient air defense system.

    Despite the intensive development time, the project was postponed several times and transferred from one executing company to another. But, after he got to Elbit Systems, he managed to complete it in just three years.

    First of all, a new system will be introduced in Israel, but some countries have already expressed a desire to buy it for themselves.
  6. korol yasheriz
    korol yasheriz 6 March 2014 14: 30
    0
    It’s necessary to hell, it doesn’t even bum wassat
  7. Pavellio
    Pavellio 6 March 2014 15: 57
    0
    Pew Pew! Laser lasers ... And what is the power supply of the installation? And if I cover my rocket \ plane \ tank with a mirror? This is not a weapon, but the western version of the cut / rollback. smile And yes, it does not bum laughing
  8. wanderer_032
    wanderer_032 6 March 2014 17: 05
    0
    Great target for a tank gun. good
  9. TurboSloN
    TurboSloN 6 March 2014 22: 55
    +1
    It seems that these comrades will not leave the "Star Wars" in any way ... They have developments, we also have, but so that all this goes to the troops ??? Neither NATO nor Russia is thinking about it yet, because there are more effective and cheaper means of destruction of the same UAVs, but the fact that this installation "supposedly" in 90% intercepts missiles and artillery shells, the question immediately arises, with what intensity they fired? There is something to think about ...
  10. Gagarin
    Gagarin 7 March 2014 18: 13
    0
    Science is moving forward, the laser industry is naturally developing, but we are talking about VERY combat-capable implementations VERY EARLY.
    This type of weapon is at best at the aviation level of 1900.
    Interference, power, cost, etc. - the mass is not yet overcome problems.
    That is, it exists, it has the right to develop, but ...
  11. Vita_vko
    Vita_vko 7 March 2014 21: 39
    0
    We had a teacher, the youngest doctor of science from NII-2, so he created and tested combat lasers at the Sary-Shagan training ground back in the 80s. He says that they shot down targets at a distance of 5 km. A further increase in the range of destruction led to a significant increase in power and too high requirements for accuracy of guidance.
  12. CAPTAIN
    CAPTAIN 19 March 2014 18: 17
    0
    This is the future, and rockets are not needed! And ours what?

Lockheed Martin создаст 60-киловаттный лазер

Создание лазерных систем в США началось еще в 1970-е годы, но только в последние несколько лет разрабатываемые лазерные системы начали успешно функционировать, как образцы реального боевого оружия. В последние годы в США много работают над созданием мобильной высокоэнергетической лазерной установки, которую планируется использовать для защиты важных военных объектов от артиллерии и минометов, неуправляемых ракет, БЛА и крылатых ракет. По мнению военных, именно данные цели являются основной угрозой, с которой сегодня сталкиваются ВС США.

Сайт fool.com 1 марта 2014 года сообщил о том, что американская компания Lockheed Martin получила контракт на проектирование, производство и проведение испытаний с последующей поставкой в американскую армию 60-киловаттного спектрального высокоэнергетического волоконно-оптического лазера. В настоящее время в США ведутся работы над мобильными лазерными установками HEL MD (High Energy Laser Mobile Demonstrator). Предполагается, что новый 60-киловаттный лазер также будет установлен на самоходное шасси и получит возможность круговой стрельбы (360 градусов). Считается, что установка должна использоваться для поражения подлетающих артиллерийских боеприпасов, ракет и БЛА, а также неразорвавшихся снарядов и мин и самодельных взрывных устройств (СВУ).

Сообщается, что поставки прототипа 60-киловаттного боевого лазера намечены на 27 декабря 2017 года. После этой даты технологический демонстратор планируется серьезно испытать на различных полигонах. В настоящее время компания Lockheed Martin обладает положительным опытом работ в данном направлении. По оценкам экспертов, разрабатываемая концерном в течение более 3-х лет система ADAM (Area Defense Anti-Munitions) успешно прошла испытания в 10-киловаттном варианте, с использованием коммерческого лазера. Сообщается, что мощности данного лазера достаточно, для того чтобы успешно противодействовать угрозам на ближнем рубеже обороны объекта. При этом данная мощность на данный момент является наивысшей при использовании однорежимной работы. Для коммерческих лазеров такой мощности более чем достаточно. При этом для борьбы с серьезными угрозами, такими как артиллерийские снаряды и мины требуется более мощный лазер.


Lockheed Martin создаст 60-киловаттный лазер

В ходе проведенных в Калифорнии испытания ADAM сумел решить несколько задач. Так еще в 2012 году с помощью данной установки был уничтожен БЛА «Оспри», обладающий размахом крыла 3,5 м, а также 11 неуправляемых малокалиберных ракет. На испытаниях лазерная система захватывала, сопровождала и перехватывала каждую неуправляемую ракету на расстоянии от цели примерно в 2 км, что и было предусмотрено оперативным сценарием испытаний. В марте-апреле прошлого года данная установка смогла успешно перехватить 8 запущенных ракет на дистанции в 1,5 км, а также сопровождала на большой дальности несколько БЛА, демонстрируя возможности, установленной аппаратуры.

В декабре 2013 года американская армия закончила серию испытаний HEL MD, установленного на автомобильном шасси мобильного демонстратора высокоэнергетического лазера, которые были признаны успешными. Демонстратор занимался перехватом беспилотников и минометных мин. Испытания были организованы на территории полигона Уайт-Сэндс, расположенного в штате Нью-Мексико. Испытания проводились с 18 ноября по 10 декабря прошлого года. С помощью установки за этот период было перехвачено 90 минометных мин и ряд БЛА.

По словам представителей стратегического командования и ракетно-космической обороны США, проведенная серия полигонных испытаний стала первой масштабной демонстрацией новой системы HEL MD, которая на данный момент представлена в автомобильной конфигурации и включает в свой состав лазерную установку и многорежимную РЛС. В настоящее время на рынке создания подобных устройств помимо компании Lockheed Martin работают также – Boeing, Northrop Grumman, Rheinmetall. Проведенные с 18 ноября по 10 декабря испытания осуществлялись на установке, разработанной компанией Boeing. Сообщается, что во время испытаний уровень поражения летящих минометных и артиллерийских снарядов превысил порог в 90%.

Lockheed Martin создаст 60-киловаттный лазер

Серия последних испытаний, проводимых на полигоне, расположенном в Нью-Мексико, проходила практически в тех же условиях, что и испытания 2011 и 2012 годов, когда были продемонстрированы возможности лазерных установок по поражению низколетящих, а также летящих на средней высоте скоростных целей. При этом в 2013 году установка HEL-MD демонстрировалась в полном составе, то есть с работающим лазером, автоматической системой наведения луча и радаром. При этом основным объектом испытаний выступала Enhanced Multi Mode Radar – композитная радарная система, которая предназначена для обнаружения, сопровождения, захвата воздушных целей и наведения на них лазерного луча в автоматическом режиме.

Мощность испытываемых лазерных установок планируется постепенно наращивать. В перспективе на подвижную платформу планируется установить 50, 60 и 100 киловаттные лазеры. Установка таких лазерных установок поможет также провести испытаний новых энергосистем, систем охлаждения лазера и другого необходимого для эффективного использования установки оборудования.

Предполагается, что после проведения всех необходимых испытаний на установке HEL-MD можно будет установить окончательный боевой вариант твердотельного лазера, обладающего мощностью 100 кВт. Использование лазера столь большой мощности поможет увеличить дальность уничтожения различных объектов, а также способствует сокращению времени удержания луча на цели, которое необходимо для гарантируемого уничтожения обстреливаемого объекта. Все это в совокупности позволит значительно повысить общую эффективность перспективной лазерной боевой системы.

Lockheed Martin создаст 60-киловаттный лазер


Источники информации:
http://www.militaryparitet.com/ttp/data/ic_ttp/6475
http://vpk-news.ru/articles/18660
http://pro-samolet.ru/blog-pro-samolet/956-americans-experienced-combat-laser
http://www.dailytechinfo.org/military
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 14
  1. AVV 6 марта 2014 10:33
    Очень сырое оружие!!!Как оно будет работать в условиях песчаных бурь?В условиях применения наряду с ББ ложных целей???В условиях применения противником для защиты КР аэрозолей на расстоянии 2 км от попаданий в цель???Больше вопросов,чем ответов на них!!!
    AVV
    1. 528Obrp 6 марта 2014 13:26
      Цитата: AVV
      Как оно будет работать в условиях песчаных бурь

      Никак!
  2. Lone gunman 6 марта 2014 10:45
    Круто, но и у нас тоже идут разработки:
    www.odnako.org/blogs/oruzhie-na-novih-fizicheskih-principah-mifi-i-realnost-chas
    t-1-russkiy-lazer/

  3. RBLip 6 марта 2014 13:18
    круто. вот только
  4. 528Obrp 6 марта 2014 13:22
    Помню лет так несколько назад, Газпром притащил на МАКС агрегат для дистанционной резки металлических труб. И назывался этот агрегат лазером.
    Долго смеялись: за чем на МАКСЕ лазер. А сейчас его тюнингуют.

    http://www.servotechnica.ru/project/index.pl?id=52
    1. 528Obrp 6 марта 2014 13:41
      В свое время побаловался лазерами, интересно. Но самый мощный мой лазер был порядка 2 Вт. Пластиковую прищепку резал с самопальной оптикой. А вообще как оружие (кроме поражения оптических приборов и глаз человека) - сказки.
      В идеальных условиях, при малых градиентах температур воздуха, при отсутствии пыли и т.д и т.п.
      Но!!!! Есть одна перспективная идея, которая будоражит умы ученых! Это Гамма лазер. Кто его первым построит - Властелин мира. Но пока это фантастика.

      PS
      Не выкидывайте старые DVD-ромы (особенно низкоскоростные). Там находится лазерный светодиод от 0,2-до 0,5 Вт. Все инструкции на ютубе и в сети. Удачи!
      1. Чёный 6 марта 2014 15:29
        Цитата: 528Obrp
        Кто его первым построит - Властелин мира.

        Сделают и газер, рано или поздно. Но, Сила в правде, брат!
  5. fzr1000 6 марта 2014 13:47
    Министерство обороны Израиля недавно анонсировало, что система SkyShield успешно прошла тесты, и в ближайшее время ее внедрят в ракеты типа земля-воздух. Она будет использовать лазеры для наведения и уничтожения цели.

    C-MUSIC, коммерческая версия SkyShield, помимо лазеров также использует термальную камеру для обнаружения объектов. После того как инфракрасные сенсоры фиксируют вражеские ракеты, система выстреливает лазером и поражает навигационную систему цели, сбивая ее с курса и отводя угрозу от своей воздушной техники.
    Эйтан Эшель, генерал вооруженных сил Израиля, утверждает, что SkyShield была протестирована самыми современными и комплексными испытаниями за всю историю страны.

    Необходимость в технологическом усовершенствовании появилась после случая, произошедшего в 2002 году. Тогда террористы попытались сбить в Кении израильский чартерный самолет. К счастью, ракеты прошли мимо цели, но премьер-министр страны поручил создать сверхэффективную противовоздушную систему.

    Несмотря на интенсивные сроки разработки, проект несколько раз откладывался и переходил от одной фирмы-исполнителя в другую. Но, после того как он попал к Elbit Systems, удалось завершить его всего за три года.

    В первую очередь новую систему внедрят в Израиле, но некоторые страны уже изъявили желание купить ее себе.
  6. korol yasheriz 6 марта 2014 14:30
    На хрен надо, оно даже не бабахает wassat
  7. Pavellio 6 марта 2014 15:57
    Пиу пиу! Лазеры шмазеры... А питание у установки какое? А если я свою ракету\самолет\танк зеркалом покрою? Это не оружие а западный вариант распила\отката. smile И да, оно не бабахает laughing
  8. странник_032 6 марта 2014 17:05
    Отличная мишень для танковой пушки. good
    странник_032
  9. TurboSloN 6 марта 2014 22:55
    Такое ощущение что эти товарищи все никак от "Зведых войн" не отойдут...У них есть разработки, у нас тоже есть, но чтобы все это поступало в войска??? Ни НАТО ни Россия пока об этом не думают, т.к. есть более эффективные и дешёвые средства поражения тех же БПЛА, а то что эта установка "якобы" в 90% перехваывает ракеты и арт.снаряды, сразу возникает вопрос а с какой интенсивностью они стреляли?Есть над чем задуматься....
  10. Gagarin 7 марта 2014 18:13
    Наука идёт вперёд, лазерная отрасль естественно развивается, но о боеспособных внедрения говорить ещё ОЧЕНЬ РАНО.
    Этот вид оружия в лучшем случае находится на уровне авиации времён 1900года.
    Помехи, питание, стоимость и т.д - масса ПОКА не преодолимых проблем.
    То есть он существует, он имеет право развиваться, но...
    Gagarin
  11. Vita_vko 7 марта 2014 21:39
    Был у нас преподаватель, самый молодой доктор наук из НИИ-2, так он создавал и испытывал боевые лазеры на полигоне Сары-Шаган еще в 80-х годах. Говорит что сбивали мишени на дальности до 5 км. Дальнейшее увеличение дальности поражения вело к существенному росту мощности и слишком высоких требований по точности наведения.
    Vita_vko
  12. КАПИТАНН 19 марта 2014 18:17
    Это будущее,и ракеты не нужны!А наши что?

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня