Military Review

Battle of Laone

3
9-10 March 1814, the battle of Laon took place. At the fortress of Laon in the department of Eins in the north-east of France the troops of the allied Russian-Prussian army and the army of Napoleon met. Blucher pulled off all the cash corps, concentrating about 100 thousand soldiers from the ancient French fortress - Laon. Napoleon also pulled all the available forces into a fist, bringing the army to 50 thousand. 9 March Allied forces repelled Napoleon's strike. On the night of March 10, the French Corps was defeated under Mamon. March 10 Napoleon continued to attack, but did not achieve success and retreated over the river Enu.


Prehistory Location of troops

The Laon battle was the development of the Battle of Kraon, which took place on March 7 (The feat of the Russian troops in the battle of Kraon). French troops attacked the Russian divisions, but could not defeat them. Having received the order of command, the Russian troops in full order retreated to Laon. In the Battle of Kraon, Russian and French troops gained fame as the bravest on the continent. Both sides suffered heavy losses, but did not flinch.

On the morning of February 25 (March 9), the entire army of Blucher was located in battle formation at Laon (Lana). Blucher even took the garrison from the fortress of Soissons, which controlled the bridge over Enu. In total, Blucher concentrated about 109 thousand soldiers (67 thousand Russian, 42 thousand Prussians), of which 22 thousand cavalry, with 600 guns.

The city of Laon was located at an altitude dominating the plain. The city was surrounded by an old stone wall, had 46 towers and other fortifications. True, the walls were not in the best condition, there were several breaks. On the city shaft located a few batteries. The suburbs were located north of the fortress: Vaud, Saint-Martin, Neuville (Neuville); to the south of the village: Semilly and Ardon. The southern side of the plain surrounding the city was crossed by woods, ditches and fences, which interfered with the cavalry. In addition, the position of the army Blucher covered the river.

The Wintzingerode corps (more than 25 thousand soldiers) was located on the right wing. The infantry was built in two lines. Cavalry under the command of Count Orurka was in reserve. Artillery ahead of the infantry front. The Bülow Corps (about 17 thousand people) was located in the center. His infantry occupied the fortress, the villages of Semilly and Ardon, the suburb of Vaux and Neuville. Dense chains of shooters defended the southern and western slopes of height. The cavalry was partly occupied by roads, the other part was in reserve. Artillery was located so as to sweep the roads from Craon and Soissons, on the shaft and at the foot of the height. The corps of Kleist and York (10,6 thousand and 13,5 thousand people) constituted the left wing. Kleist's infantry stood to the right of the Reim road. In front of the outskirts of Vo is the Klux brigade, behind the Shofur manor house is the Pirch brigade. The infantry of York stood behind the Manuss Manor: in the first line was the division of Prince William of Prussia, in the second line - Horn. To the right of the road and the Shofur manor there were three battalions of Lieutenant Colonel Lettov. The cavalry of both corps is to the left and behind the infantry. Atis village was occupied by two battalions. The corps of Langeron (about 25 thousand soldiers) and Osten-Saken (12,7 thousand people) made up a general reserve. They were located between the outskirts of Neuville and Vaud.

Napoleon had 52 thousand soldiers (of which 10 thousand cavalry) and 180 guns. The French emperor decided to attack the allies in order to keep the strategic initiative in his hands. He was in a critical situation. Blucher’s army threatened Paris, and it was necessary to smash or push it back. And then it was possible to move again to Schwarzenberg. In addition, news of the failure of the talks in Chatillon did not give up hope for peace.

The French could go to Laon on the Reims or Suasson road. Reimsk road was more convenient. But for this it was necessary to return to Kraon. In this case, Napoleon could cut off the Allied army from Belgium and the Lower Rhine, but in this way the French lost communication with Paris and opened the way to the capital for the enemy. Wanting to cover Paris, Napoleon moved along the Suasson road. The corps of Marmont, who had not yet connected with the main forces, was to attack on the Rheim road.

Battle of Laone

Battle of Laon: Marshal M. Ney captures the outskirts of Semilla. 19th century engraving

Battle

9 March. In the morning, French troops, under the cover of fog, began to move toward the city. Ney was moving along the road from Shivi to Lana. Division General Boyer sent to Semilly. Marshal Mortier moved behind him, he directed the Pore division to Morvan to Ardon. Semilly was occupied by Lieutenant Colonel Clausewitz with the 1 Battalion of the East Prussian Regiment and with a part of the 4 Reserve Regiment. Prusaks blocked the streets with barricades and prepared for defense. In 9 hours, the French fired at the village, and then went to the assault. Several times the French broke into the village, but were driven back from there. Clausewitz reinforced infantry from the reserve.

At this time, the division of Pore de Morvan pushed the Prussians out of Ardon and approached the fortress. However, the Prussian counterattack threw the French into Ardon. While the advanced forces were fighting, Napoleon deployed the rest of the troops. In the first line they stood up: divisions of the corps of Ney (Boyer, Meunier and Curial) in the center, against Semilly; Mortier Corps (Division of the Young Guard of Pore de Morvan and Division of the Old Guard Christian) on the right flank of Ardon; Victor Corps, commanded by Sharpati (divisions of the Young Guard Charpentier and Boyer de Rebeval) on the left wing, against the Classy. Charpentier forces arrived a little later than the rest of the troops. The reserve was a division of the Old Guard Freean, the cavalry of Pears and Nansuti, reserve artillery. In total, at the beginning of the battle, Napoleon had about 36 thousand soldiers, including several thousand soldiers of the National Guard. Already during the battle, reinforcements were pulled up to Napoleon.

In 11 hours, when the morning fog cleared, Blucher, after examining the forces of the enemy and getting an idea of ​​its size, ordered the attack. In addition, he received news of the appearance of an enemy column on the Rheim Road and decided to preempt the concentration of Napoleon’s army. The general offensive was preceded by a demonstrative movement of the Wintzingerode corps. The 12 Division of Prince Khovansky and the Cossacks passed through Klassi. The movement of these forces and the successful actions of the Russian artillery somewhat suspended the French. Napoleon advanced Gruvel's light cavalry to stop the troops of Wintzingerode.

Then Blucher orders the brigade Kraft to repel Ardon. The Prussians threw Roussel's cavalry and captured Ardon. A fierce battle broke out over the village. Ardon changed hands several times. The Prussians eventually captured the village. In this battle, the French divisional commander Pore de Morvan and Colonel Leclerc fell.

Blucher already wanted to throw in reserve the cavalry, which he wanted through Ardon to send to the rear of the enemy. However, they did again news on the movement of a strong enemy column on the Rheim Road. Blucher decided that these were the main forces of Napoleon, since the left flank of the Allied army was more accessible to attack the enemy. Therefore, he stopped the movement of cavalry.

Napoleon at this time had no information about Marmont. All the officers sent to him to hurry the marshal were intercepted by the Cossacks. Therefore, the emperor confined himself to attacks against Semilly and Ardon. When Charpentier's troops arrived at about 4, Napoleon ordered to strike at Klassi. The village was surrounded by swamps and was accessible only by one road. However, Napoleon sent an impressive force to this direction: two divisions of Charpentier, the division of Curial, the division of Friant. Therefore, the French quite easily drove out of the Class two battalions of the division of Prince Khovansky.

A further battle was limited to artillery and rifle shooting. After this battle subsided due to the oncoming darkness. The troops began to settle down for the night. The fighting as a whole was unsuccessful for both sides.


Laon 25-26 February Battle Plan (March 9-10) 1814

Defeat marmon's body

The corps of Marmont (about 12 Thousands of Soldiers) marched at dawn. But having met the advanced forces of the enemy, he stopped. Thick fog did not allow to determine the strength of the enemy and see the terrain. The French continued driving only at 1 one o'clock in the afternoon. The battle began with artillery fire. Then the 1 Cavalry Corps threatened the Allied left flank. General Arrigi (Duke of Padua) broke into Atis and captured him, breaking the resistance of two Prussian battalions. Marmon advanced artillery - 24 guns.

The Allied command, having received news of the movement of the French cavalry on the left flank, began to transfer additional forces to it - the reserve cavalry of the York and Kleist corps, General Benkendorf with two cavalry regiments and all Russian cavalry and artillery companies. Prussian corps moved to the left flank. Their positions were covered by the Russian corps of Langeron and Osten-Sacken.

Marmont, trying to open a message with the main forces, sent Colonel Favier with several hundred cavalry with two guns to his left flank. However, although it was only about 6 versts before Lelya, the message could not be opened. The terrain was swampy. In addition, the Don Cossacks hampered the French movement.

By nightfall, the shooting had subsided. The first day of the battle seemed complete. Marmont took the artillery from Atis. The French were planning to leave positions and return at dawn. However, they did not have time to realize their intention.

At this time, the Allied command decided to attack the enemy. The case seemed convenient to strike a superior force on a separate body of the enemy. York, Kleist and cavalry commander Ziten unanimously supported the idea of ​​a night attack and requested the consent of Field Marshal Blucher. Prussian field marshal supported their plan. William's division was supposed to attack the village of Atis, Horn to advance to the right of this village, Kleist's corps - along the Rheims road, bypassing the enemy’s left flank. Tsiten's cavalry was to strike on the right flank and to the rear.

In complete silence, the infantry columns and squadrons of the Prussians moved in an accelerated step toward the French camp. The division of William the first to start the battle, breaking into Atis and ousting the two French battalions standing there. The French tried to gain a foothold at the wooded height behind the village, but the Prussians did not allow them to do so. The French order was broken, the gunners chopped up and seized a lot of guns. The French ran. The weak resilience of the French troops can be explained by a large number of recruits.

Horn's division was moving along a large road and, without meeting the French posts, reached an artillery position. With a lightning attack, the Prussians took the battery. Her cover was destroyed or fled. All guns captured. Kleist's troops also acted successfully. The French fled across the front.

Tsiten's cavalry knocked over several French cuirassier regiments. The French cavalry, not having had time to build, ran along the road. The Russian-Prussian cavalry overtook the artillery park of Marmont Corps. During this battle, the corps of Marmona lost almost all of his artillery fleet - 45 guns. The French have long been pursued and occupied the village of Fethiyo. The Cossacks reached Corbenn and Craon. The main forces are located at Atis.

The rout was complete. The French were able to get together only by forcing Enu at Berry-a-Bak. At dawn 10 March, the officers were able to gather only a few hundred people. Later it was possible to collect more, but the demoralized corps without artillery temporarily lost its combat capability. Case loss unknown. Only the number of prisoners is known - 2,5 thousand people. Allied forces lost several hundred people.

10 March. Napoleon's departure

The corps of York and Kleist were given the task of pursuing a defeated enemy, moving to Berry-aux-Buck, to open a message to the Main Army through Reims. Behind them the body of Osten-Sacken was also advanced. Corps Langeron had to move to Bruyere on the Kraon road and try to cut off the left flank of Napoleon's army. Corps of Wintzingerode and Bülow, when the enemy retreats, pursue him.

Napoleon, not yet knowing about the defeat of the corps of Marmon, planned to continue the offensive. The left wing was to advance from the Class and push the Allies to Neuville. Part of the force received the task of making a workaround to cut the communications of Laon. The forces stationed at Ardon should also have hit the Blucher army. When Napoleon received the news of the defeat of Marmon, he decided to continue the battle. The emperor believed that Blucher would send a significant part of his forces to Reims. This will weaken the forces of the allied army in the center and right flank, which will allow the French army to win.

On the morning of March 10, Russian troops were the first to strike. Count Vorontsov moved 12's division of Prince Khovansky to Klassi, Major-General Balk's 2's dragoon division sent to bypass enemy positions. However, General Charpentier prepared the village well for defense. All approaches were covered with rubble, artillery. Inside the village, at the height of the church, a strong battery was placed. Russian soldiers broke into the village several times, but failed to gain a foothold. Vorontsov sent several battalions of the Laptev 21 Division to help. Charpentier had to enter into battle almost all the available infantry. In addition, Nei supported the division Sharpatnya artillery. The attacks of the Russian troops were repelled. However, when Charpentier tried to launch an offensive himself, the Allied artillery caused him considerable damage and the French retreated to Clasi. Thus, the blow on the left flank of the French did not work.

In 2 hours, the Prussian reserves in the city moved back a little. Napoleon, deciding that Blücher was withdrawing the troops, ordered Her to take the city with the divisions of Curial and Meunier. However, after a fierce battle in the area of ​​Semilly and Ardon, when the advanced units of the French approached the walls of the city, Ney's troops were forced to withdraw. Napoleon, convinced of the impossibility of taking Laon, decided to retreat. By 4 hours of the day 10 March, he began withdrawing the army from the city. Troops retreated under cover of artillery, which continued shelling of enemy positions.



Results

The allied command, although it had a triple superiority in forces, did not dare to go on the offensive. Moreover, troops aiming at pursuing Marmon received orders to concentrate at Laon. This standing could not be explained by ignorance of the enemy’s forces, they were all in full view from the top of the plateau, nor by the fear of Napoleon — the battle on the Kraon Heights and the nightly rout of Marmont showed high combat capability of the Blucher army. Apparently, this was due to Blucher’s disease. The commander on the night of 9 on 10 March was seriously ill, and the leadership of the army passed to the chief of staff Gneisenau. General Gneisenau was not very determined and did not enjoy the confidence of the troops. As a result, the army of Blucher missed the opportunity to complete the defeat of the corps of Marmont and win a decisive victory over Napoleon, giving him a quiet retreat.

Napoleon took advantage of the indecision of the Allied forces and calmly retreated. In the evening of March 10, the Old Guard departed, followed by the corps of Mortier and Ney. They were covered by one of the brigades of Nei’s corps and the uhlans of Colbert. Sharpantier's divisions and Roussel's dragoons retreated to the rearguard. 11 March, the French army retired for Enu. The French were pursued only by the detachment of Palen and the Cossack regiments of the Wintzingerode corps. In the morning of March 11, they attacked the French rearguard and captured part of the convoy and freed the prisoners captured from Laon. The other allied forces remained in place. Blucher's army remained motionless for a week.

Napoleon’s army (along with Marmon’s corps) lost 5-8 thousand people in the Battle of Laon. Allied forces lost 2-4 thousand people.

The generals were displeased with the battle. Russian generals were outraged by the indecision of command. Prussian General York was also offended that the army did not use the overnight success of his corps to inflict a decisive defeat on Napoleon. He even left the troops, causing universal amazement. Only a letter from Blucher and the brother of the King of Prussia, Prince William, forced him to return.

Author:
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parus2nik
    parus2nik 12 March 2014 08: 02
    +3
    Napoleon took advantage of the indecision of the allied forces..Austrians constantly crap during the Napoleonic Wars
  2. svetlomor
    svetlomor 12 March 2014 08: 43
    +3
    Now the battle for a dig is more relevant.
  3. xan
    xan 12 March 2014 12: 13
    +2
    And the Prussians decently fought.
    Napoleon looks like a card sucker who decided to play for the latter.
    His agony only increased the victims of war.

Сражение при Лаоне

9-10 марта 1814 года произошло сражение при Лаоне. У крепости Лаон в департаменте Эна на северо-востоке Франции сошлись войска союзной русско-прусской армии и армии Наполеона. Блюхер стянул все наличные корпуса, сосредоточив около 100 тыс. солдат у древней французской крепости — Лаона. Наполеон тоже стянул все имеющиеся силы в кулак, доведя численность армии до 50 тыс. человек. 9 марта союзные войска отразили удар армии Наполеона. В ночь на 10 марта был разбит французский корпус под началом Мамона. 10 марта Наполеон продолжил атаки, но успеха не добился и отступил за реку Эну.

Предыстория. Расположение войск

Лаонское сражение стало развитием битвы при Краоне, которая произошла 7 марта (Подвиг русских войск в Краонском сражении). Французские войска нанесли удар по русским дивизиям, но не смогли их одолеть. Получив приказ командования, русские войска в полном порядке отошли к Лаону. В Краонском сражении русские и французские войска снискали славу храбрейших на континенте. Обе стороны понесли большие потери, но не дрогнули.


Утром 25 февраля (9 марта) вся армия Блюхера была расположена в боевом порядке у Лаона (Лана). Блюхер отвёл даже гарнизон из крепости Суассон, которая контролировала мост через Эну. Всего Блюхер сосредоточил около 109 тыс. солдат (67 тыс. русских, 42 тыс. пруссаков), из них 22 тыс. кавалерии, при 600 орудиях.

Город Лаон располагался на высоте, господствующей над равниной. Город был окружен старой каменной стеной, имел 46 башен и другие укрепления. Правда, стены были не в лучшем состоянии, имелось несколько проломов. На городском валу расположили несколько батарей. У крепости к северу располагались предместья: Во, Сен-Мартин, Нёвиль (Нейвиль); к югу селения: Семилли и Ардон. Южная сторона равнины окружающей город была пересечена перелесками, рвами и заборами, что мешало действию конницы. Кроме того, позиции армии Блюхера прикрывали речки.

Корпус Винцингероде (более 25 тыс. солдат) располагался на правом крыле. Пехота была построена в две линии. Кавалерия под командой графа Орурка была в резерве. Артиллерия впереди фронта пехоты. Корпус Бюлова (около 17 тыс. человек) был расположен в центре. Его пехота занимала крепость, селения Семилли и Ардон, предместье Во и Нёвиль. Густые цепи стрелков обороняли южный и западный склоны высоты. Кавалерия частью занимала дороги, другая часть была в резерве. Артиллерия была расположена так, чтобы простреливать дороги из Краона и Суассона, на валу и у подножия высоты. Корпуса Клейста и Йорка (10,6 тыс. и 13,5 тыс. человек) составляли левое крыло. Пехота Клейста стояла правее реймской дороги. Впереди предместья Во — бригада Клюкса, за мызой Шофур — бригада Пирха. Пехота Йорка стояла за мызой Манусс: в первой линии дивизия принца Вильгельма Прусского, во второй — Горна. Правее дороги и мызы Шофур стояли три батальона подполковника Леттова. Кавалерия обоих корпусов левее и позади пехоты. Деревню Атис заняли двумя батальонами. Корпусы Ланжерона (около 25 тыс. солдат) и Остен-Сакена (12,7 тыс. человек) составляли общий резерв. Они были расположены между предместьями Нёвиль и Во.

Наполеон имел 52 тыс. солдат (из них 10 тыс. кавалерии) и 180 орудий. Французский император решил атаковать союзников, чтобы удержать в руках стратегическую инициативу. Он был в критической ситуации. Армия Блюхера угрожала Парижу, и её необходимо было разбить или оттеснить. А затем можно было снова двинуться на Шварценберга. К тому же известия о провале переговоров в Шатильоне, не оставляли надежды на мир.

Французы могли идти к Лаону по реймской или суассонской дороге. Реймская дорога была удобней. Но для этого надо было вернуться к Краону. В этом случае Наполеон мог отрезать союзную армию от Бельгии и Нижнего Рейна, но так французы теряли сообщение с Парижем и открывали врагу путь на столицу. Желая прикрыть Париж, Наполеон двинулся по суассонской дороге. Корпус Мармона, который ещё не соединился с основными силами, должен был наступать по реймской дороге.

Сражение при Лаоне

Сражение при Лаоне: маршал М. Ней захватывает предместье Семиллы. Гравюра XIX в.

Сражение

9 марта. Утром французские войска, под прикрытием тумана, стали выдвигаться к городу. Ней двигался по дороге от Шиви к Лану. Дивизию генерала Бойе направил к Семилли. За ним двигался маршал Мортье, он направил дивизию Поре до Морвана к Ардону. Семилли занимал подполковник Клаузевиц с 1-м батальоном Восточно-Прусского полка и с часть 4-го резервного полка. Прусаки перекрыли улицы баррикадами и подготовились к обороне. В 9 часов французы обстреляли селение, а затем пошли на штурм. Несколько раз французы врывались в селение, но были оттеснены оттуда. Клаузевица подкрепили пехотой из резерва.

В это время дивизия Поре де Морвана оттеснила пруссаков из Ардона и подошла к крепости. Однако прусская контратака отбросила французов в Ардон. Пока передовые силы вели бой, Наполеон развернул остальные войска. В первой линии встали: дивизии корпуса Нея (Бойе, Мёнье и Кюриаля) в центре, против Семилли; корпус Мортье (дивизия Молодой гвардии Поре де Морвана и дивизия Старой гвардии Христиани) на правом фланге, у Ардона; корпус Виктора, которым командовал Шарпатье (дивизии Молодой гвардии Шарпантье и Бойе де Ребеваля) на левом крыле, против Класси. Силы Шарпантье прибыли несколько позже остальных войск. В резерве была дивизия Старой гвардии Фриана, кавалерия Груши и Нансути, резервная артиллерия. Всего в начале сражения у Наполеона было около 36 тыс. солдат, включая несколько тысяч бойцов национальной гвардии. Уже в ходе боя к Наполеону подтянулись подкрепления.

В 11 часов, когда утренний туман рассеялся, Блюхер, рассмотрев силы противника и получив представление о его численности, приказал атаковать. К тому же он получил известие о появлении колонны противника на реймской дороге и решил упредить сосредоточение армии Наполеона. Общему наступление должна была предшествовать демонстративное движение корпуса Винцингероде. 12-я дивизия князя Хованского и казаки прошли через Класси. Движение этих сил и удачные действия русской артиллерии несколько приостановили французов. Наполеон выдвинул легкую кавалерию Грувеля, чтобы остановить войска Винцингероде.

Затем Блюхер приказа бригаде Крафта отбить Ардон. Пруссаки отбросили кавалерию Русселя и захватила Ардон. За селение разгорелся жестокий бой. Ардон несколько раз переходил из рук в руки. Пруссаки в итоге захватили селение. В этом бою пал французский дивизионный командир Поре де Морван и полковник Леклерк.

Блюхер уже хотел бросить в бой резервную кавалерию, которую он хотел через Ардон направить в тыл противнику. Однако снова поступили новости о движении сильной колонны противника по реймской дороге. Блюхер решил, что это основные силы Наполеона, так как левый фланг союзной армии был более доступен для атаки противника. Поэтому он остановил движение кавалерии.

Наполеон в это время не имел сведений о Мармоне. Все офицеры направленные к нему, чтобы поторопить маршала, были перехвачены казаками. Поэтому император ограничился атаками против Семилли и Ардона. Когда около 4 часов прибыли войска Шарпантье, Наполеона приказал ударить по Класси. Селение было окружено болотами и было доступно только по одной дороге. Однако Наполеон направил на это направление внушительные силы: две дивизии Шарпантье, дивизию Кюриаля, дивизию Фриана. Поэтому французы довольно легко выбили из Класси два батальона дивизии князя Хованского.

Дальнейший бой ограничился артиллерийской и ружейной перестрелкой. После этого бой затих из-за надвигающейся темноты. Войска стали располагаться на ночлег. Боевые действия в целом оказались безрезультатными для обеих сторон.

Сражение при Лаоне

План сражения при Лаоне 25-26 февраля (9-10 марта) 1814 г.

Поражение корпуса Мармона

Корпус Мармона (около 12 тыс. солдат) выступил на рассвете. Но встретив передовые силы противника, остановился. Густой туман не позволял определить силы врага и разглядеть местность. Французы продолжили движение только в 1 час дня. Бой начался артиллерийской перестрелкой. Затем 1-й кавалерийский корпус стал угрожать левому флангу союзников. Генерал Арриги (герцог Падуанский) ворвался в Атис и захватил его, сломив сопротивление двух прусских батальонов. Мармон выдвинул артиллерию — 24 орудия.

Союзное командование, получив известие о движении французской кавалерии на левом фланге, начало перебрасывать на него дополнительные силы — резервную кавалерию корпусов Йорка и Клейста, генерала Бенкендорфа с двумя кавалерийскими полками и всеми русскими конно-артиллерийскими ротами. Прусские корпуса сдвинулись на левый фланг. Их позиции прикрыли русские корпуса Ланжерона и Остен-Сакена.

Мармон, пытаясь открыть сообщение с основными силами, отправил на свой левый фланг полковника Фавье с несколькими сотнями конницы при двух орудиях. Однако хотя до Лёльи было всего около 6 верст, сообщение открыть не удалось. Местность была болотистой. К тому же движению французов препятствовали донские казаки.

К ночи перестрелка стихла. Первый день сражения казался завершенным. Мармон отвел артиллерию, стоявшую у Атиса. Французы планировали покинуть позиции и вернуться на рассвете. Однако не успели реализовать свой замысел.

В это время союзное командование приняло решение атаковать противника. Случай показался удобным, чтобы нанести удар превосходящими силами по отдельному корпусу противника. Йорк, Клейст и командир кавалерии Цитен единогласно поддержали идею ночной атаки и запросили согласие фельдмаршала Блюхера. Прусский фельдмаршал поддержал их замысел. Дивизия Вильгельма должна была атаковать селение Атис, Горн наступать правее этого селения, корпус Клейста — вдоль реймской дороги, обходя левый фланг противника. Кавалерия Цитена должна была ударить по правому флангу и в тыл.

В полном молчании пехотные колонны и эскадроны пруссаков двинулись ускоренным шагом на лагерь французов. Дивизия Вильгельма первой начала бой, ворвавшись в Атис и оттеснив стоявшие там два французских батальона. Французы пытались закрепиться на лесистой высоте за селением, но пруссаки не дали им этого сделать. Французский порядок был разбит, канониров порубили и захватили много орудий. Французы побежали. Слабую стойкость французских войск можно объяснить большим количеством новобранцев.

Дивизия Горна двигалась по большой дороге и, не встретив французских постов, дошла до артиллерийской позиции. Молниеносной атакой пруссаки взяли батарею. Её прикрытие было уничтожено или бежало. Все орудия захватили. Войска Клейста действовали также успешно. Французы бежали по всему фронту.

Кавалерия Цитена опрокинула несколько французских кирасирских полков. Французская кавалерия, так и не успев построиться, бежала по дороге. Русско-прусская конница настигла артиллерийский парк корпуса Мармона. В ходе этого сражения корпус Мармона потерял практический весь свой артиллерийский парк — 45 орудий. Французов долго преследовали и заняли селение Фетьё. Казаки дошли до Корбенна и Краона. Основные же силы расположились у Атиса.

Разгром был полный. Французы смогли собраться, только форсировав Эну у Берри-о-Бак. На рассвете 10 марта офицеры смогли собрать всего несколько сотен человек. Позже удалось собрать больше, но деморализованный корпус без артиллерии временно утратил боеспособность. Потери корпуса неизвестны. Известно только число пленных — 2,5 тыс. человек. Союзные войска потеряли несколько сотен человек.

10 марта. Отход Наполеона

Корпуса Йорка и Клейста получили задачу преследовать разбитого противника, двигаться на Берри-о-Бак, чтобы открыть сообщение с Главной армией через Реймс. За ними выдвигался и корпус Остен-Сакена. Корпус Ланжерона должен был двигаться на Брюйер на краонской дороге и попытаться отрезать левый фланг армии Наполеона. Корпуса Винцингероде и Бюлова, при отступлении противника, преследовать его.

Наполеон, ещё не зная о разгроме корпуса Мармона, планировал продолжить наступление. Левое крыло должно было наступать от Класси и оттеснить союзников к Нёвилю. Часть сил получила задачу совершить обходной маневр, чтобы перерезать коммуникации Лаона. Силы, расположенные у Ардона, также должны были ударить по армии Блюхера. Когда Наполеон получил известие о разгроме Мармона, он всё же решился продолжить битву. Император полагал, что Блюхер отрядит значительную часть своих сил к Реймсу. Это ослабит силы союзной армии в центре и правом фланге, что позволит французской армии одержать победу.

Утром 10 марта первыми нанесли удар русские войска. Граф Воронцов двинул 12-ю дивизию князя Хованского на Класси, 2-ю драгунскую дивизию генерал-майора Балка направил в обход вражеских позиций. Однако генерал Шарпантье хорошо подготовил селение к обороне. Все подступы были прикрыты завалами, артиллерией. Внутри селения, на высоте у церкви, была поставлена сильная батарея. Русские солдаты несколько раз врывались в селение, но не смогли закрепиться. Воронцов направил на помощь несколько батальонов 21-й дивизии Лаптева. Шарпантье пришлось ввести в бой почти всю имеющуюся пехоту. К тому же Ней поддержал дивизии Шарпатнье артиллерией. Атаки русских войск были отражены. Однако когда Шарпантье попытался сам начать наступление, союзная артиллерия нанесла ему заметный урон и французы отошли в Класси. Таким образом, удар на левом фланге у французов не получился.

В 2 часа прусские резервы в городе отошли несколько назад. Наполеон, решив, что Блюхер отводит войска, приказал Нею с дивизиями Кюриаля и Мёнье взять город. Однако после ожесточенного боя в районе Семилли и Ардона, когда передовые части французов подходили к стенам города, войска Нея были вынуждены отойти. Наполеон, убедившись в невозможности взятия Лаона, решил отходить. К 4 часам дня 10 марта он начал отвод армии от города. Войска отходили под прикрытие артиллерии, которая продолжала обстрел позиций противника.

Сражение при Лаоне


Итоги

Союзное командование, хотя и имело тройное превосходство в силах, не решилось перейти в наступление. Более того, войска, направленные преследовать Мармона, получили приказ сосредоточиться у Лаона. Это стояние нельзя было объяснить незнанием сил противника, они были все как на ладони с вершины плато, ни страхом перед Наполеоном — сражение на Краонских высотах и ночной разгром Мармона, показал высокую боеспособность армии Блюхера. Видимо, это было связано с болезнью Блюхера. Командующий в ночь с 9 на 10 марта сильно заболел, и руководство армией перешло к начальнику штаба Гнейзенау. Генерал Гнейзенау не отличался решительностью и не пользовался доверием в войсках. В результате армия Блюхера упустила возможность довершить разгром корпуса Мармона и одержать решительную победу над Наполеоном, дав ему спокойно отступить.

Наполеон воспользовался нерешительностью союзных войск и спокойно отступил. Вечером 10 марта отошла Старая гвардия, а за ней корпуса Мортье и Нея. Их прикрывала одна из бригад корпуса Нея и уланы Кольбера. В арьергарде отступали дивизии Шарпантье и драгуны Русселя. 11 марта французская армия отошла за Эну. Французов стали преследовать только отряд Палена и казачьи полки корпуса Винцингероде. Они утром 11 марта атаковали французский арьергард и захватили часть обоза и освободили пленных, захваченных у Лаона. Прочие союзные войска оставались на месте. Армия Блюхера оставалась неподвижной в течение недели.

Армия Наполеона (вместе с корпусом Мармона) потеряла в Лаонском сражении 5-8 тыс. человек. Союзные войска потеряли 2-4 тыс. человек.

Генералитет был недоволен сражением. Русские генералы были возмущены нерешительностью командования. Прусский генерал Йорк также был оскорблен тем, что армия не использовала ночной успех его корпуса, чтобы нанести Наполеону решительное поражение. Он даже покинул войска, вызвав всеобщее изумление. Только письмо Блюхера и брата прусского короля, принца Вильгельма, заставили его вернуться.

Сражение при Лаоне
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. parus2nik 12 марта 2014 08:02
    Наполеон воспользовался нерешительностью союзных войск..Австрийцы, постоянно гадили в период наполеоновских войн
    parus2nik
  2. svetlomor 12 марта 2014 08:43
    Сейчас битва за перекоп актуальней.
  3. xan 12 марта 2014 12:13
    А пруссаки прилично дрались.
    Наполеон похож на карточного лоха, решившего играть на последнее.
    Его агония только увеличивала жертвы войны.
    xan

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня