Military Review

Australia continues to use the Heron I UAV in Afghanistan

7
Australia continues to use the Heron I UAV in Afghanistan

The Heron UAVs are deployed at the Kandahar Air Base (Afghanistan) and at the Wumerra test site in South Australia, where operators heading for Afghanistan are trained.


Despite the withdrawal of coalition forces from Afghanistan, the Heron I unmanned aerial vehicle, deployed by the Heron Australian unit of the same name, will continue to provide invaluable information (intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance) to coalition forces operating in Afghanistan for at least the entire 2014. Created by Israel Aerospace Industries, Heron I is leased and used by Canadian company MDA.

In November, the 2013 of the Australian division of Heron marked a significant event: the drone’s flying time was twenty thousand hours. Remotely piloted aircraft RPV Heron (new name for unmanned aerial vehicle or UAV) spend in the air from 400 to 500 hours per month, performing long flights at medium altitudes. They are able to be in the air for more than 24 hours with a maximum speed of more than 180 km / h at an altitude of up to 10000 meters.

According to sources in the Royal Australian Air Force, the decision to extend Heron’s mission is related to the conclusion of a contract with a new client, the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) of the Regional South Command. The Heron unit will continue to be based at the Kandahar air base in Afghanistan at the request of the ISAF, directed to the Australian government.


Heron returns to Kandahar after completing an intelligence mission.



Heron Payload Management Operator Captain aviation Zalie Munro-Rustean at the ground control station at Kandahar airbase, 2011. Photo: Paul Berry


Previously, Heron provided intelligence information exclusively Australian forces operating in Uruzgan. Now they will support the coalition forces operating in southern Afghanistan. The Heron division intends to return to Australia by the end of 2014.

Unlike small unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), the Heron remotely piloted aircraft weighing 1100 kg operates from the runway along with other manned aircraft. Australian Heron is based in Kandahar, the busiest airfield with one runway in the world. To ensure the safe and effective operation of the apparatus at such a busy aerodrome for piloting the Heron, the Air Force uses military pilots who have experience in difficult and dynamic air conditions.

Army helicopters, F / A-18, F-111, AP-3C Orion and C-130J Hercules pilots from August 2009 of the year control Heron unmanned aerial vehicles. Heron pilots are supported by payload operators (sensors), who also act as second Heron pilots.

In addition, up to seven people are busy processing, analyzing and distributing information from Heron's sensors. Attendants may include flight technicians, an intelligence department, operations officers, engineering staff, administration and logistics representatives.


In November 2013, the Royal Australian Air Force brought the drone's raid in Afghanistan to twenty thousand hours. In this photo, the commander of the unit Heron, captain Tony McCormack (Tony McCormack) is on a par with his subordinates. Each unit of Heron consists of about 30 people and is based at Kandahar air base in southern Afghanistan.



1, March, 2, March 2014, the celebration of the centenary of military aviation at the Williams Point Cook airbase. Among the popular attractions at the exhibition was a remote-controlled aircraft Heron, located in the hangar.
Originator:
http://defense-update.com/20140306_australian_heron_in_afghanistan.html
7 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, daily additional materials that do not get on the site: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. agent
    agent 20 March 2014 08: 46
    -4
    Combat sortie to a peaceful settlement - "mission" ...
    1. Professor
      20 March 2014 10: 01
      +2
      Quote: agent
      Combat sortie to a peaceful settlement - "mission" ...

      This unit is a scout.
      1. agent
        agent 21 March 2014 08: 54
        0
        UAV
        the scout agrees, why then do bombs hang on the UAV?
  2. ivanovbg
    ivanovbg 20 March 2014 11: 44
    0
    I liked the article, interesting and informative. But the device itself somehow looks awkward, the design of US analogues looks an order of magnitude more functional from the side, although I'm not an aviator.
  3. Peacemaker
    Peacemaker 20 March 2014 13: 18
    0
    An interesting device. And what prevents the remote control equipment to put on conventional aircraft? Put the pilots in the computer dis. cabin and let them fly. In my opinion, in the USSR it was planned to remake old planes in UAVs
    1. Professor
      20 March 2014 13: 22
      +2
      Quote: Peacemaker
      And what prevents the remote control equipment to put on conventional aircraft?

      Have already done.
  4. kafa
    kafa 20 March 2014 17: 21
    0
    it’s a pity that we have only a lot of words and very little business. recourse where the pancake KB fell asleep or the pancake stealth from the pots cut. because Iranians from camel-donkey dung copy ov drones fool just to students from MAI to set a diploma in metal too! bad diploma in kirzachi wink
  5. beifall
    beifall 25 March 2014 15: 35
    -1
    Gaining experience!

Австралия продолжает использовать БПЛА Heron I в Афганистане

Австралия продолжает использовать БПЛА Heron I в Афганистане

БПЛА Херон развернуты на авиабазе в Кандагаре (Афганистан) и на испытательном полигоне Вумерра в Южной Австралии, где обучаются операторы направляющиеся в Афганистан.


Несмотря на вывод сил коалиции из Афганистана, беспилотный летательный аппарат Heron I, развернутый одноименным австралийским подразделением Heron, продолжит поставлять неоценимую информацию (разведка, наблюдение и рекогносцировка) для коалиционных войск, действующих на территории Афганистана как минимум на протяжении всего 2014-го года. Созданный компанией Israel Aerospace Industries, Heron I арендован и используется канадской компанией MDA.

В ноябре 2013-го года австралийское подразделение Heron отметило значимое событие: оперативный налет дрона составил двадцать тысяч часов. Дистанционно пилотируемые летательные аппараты ДПЛА Heron (новое название для беспилотного летательного аппарата или БПЛА ) проводят в воздухе от 400 до 500 часов в месяц, выполняя продолжительные полеты на средних высотах. Они способны находиться в воздухе свыше 24 часов с максимальной скоростью более 180 км/ч на высоте до 10000 метров.


Согласно источникам в Королевских австралийских ВВС, решение о продлении миссии Херона связано с заключением контракта с новым клиентом, Международными силами содействия безопасности (ISAF, International Security Assistance Force) регионального командования Юг. Подразделение Heron продолжит базироваться на авиабазе Кандагар в Афганистане по просьбе ISAF, направленной австралийскому правительству.

Австралия продолжает использовать БПЛА Heron I в Афганистане

Heron возвращается в Кандагар после выполнения разведывательный миссии.


Австралия продолжает использовать БПЛА Heron I в Афганистане

Оператор управления полезной нагрузкой подразделения Heron, капитан авиации Зали Манро-Рустен (Zalie Munro-Rustean) в наземной станции управления на авиабазе Кандагара, 2011. Фото: Пол Берри


Ранее Heron обеспечивали развединформацией исключительно австралийские силы, действующие в Урузгане. Теперь они будут поддерживать коалиционные силы, действующие на юге Афганистана. Подразделение Херонов намерено вернуться в Австралию к концу 2014-го года.

В отличие от небольших беспилотных летательных аппаратов (БПЛА), дистанционно пилотируемый летательный аппарат Heron весом в 1100 кг действует с взлетно-посадочной полосы наравне с другими пилотируемыми летательными аппаратами. Австралийский Heron базируется в Кандагаре, являющемся самым оживленным аэродромом с одной взлетно-посадочной полосой в мире. Для обеспечения безопасной и эффективной работы аппарата на таком оживленном аэродроме для пилотирования Heron ВВС использует военных летчиков, обладающих опытом работы в сложной и динамичной воздушной обстановке.

Пилоты армейских вертолетов, самолетов F/A-18, F-111, AP-3C Orion и C-130J Геркулес с августа 2009-го года осуществляют управление беспилотными летательными аппаратами Heron. Поддержка пилотов Heron осуществляется операторами полезной нагрузки (датчиков), которые также выступают в качестве вторых пилотов Heron.

Кроме того, до семи человек занято обработкой, анализом и распространением информацию с датчиков Херона. Обслуживающий персонал может включать летных техников, отдел разведки, офицеров оперативного отдела, инженерно-технического персонала, представителей администрации и логистики.

Австралия продолжает использовать БПЛА Heron I в Афганистане

В ноябре 2013-го года Королевские австралийские ВВС довели боевой налет дрона в Афганистане до двадцати тысячи часов. На этой фотографии командир подразделения Heron капитан Тони Маккормак (Tony McCormack) стоит в одном ряду со своими подчиненными. Каждое подразделение Heron состоит из около 30 человек и базируется на авиабазе Кандагара на юге Афганистана.


Австралия продолжает использовать БПЛА Heron I в Афганистане

1-го, 2-го марта 2014-го года состоялось празднование столетнего юбилея военной авиации на авиабазе Уильямс — Пойнт Кук. Среди популярных достопримечательностей на выставке был дистанционно управляемый летательный аппарат Херон, размещенный в ангаре.

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. agent 20 марта 2014 08:46
    Боевой вылет на мирное поселение - "миссия"...
    1. профессор 20 марта 2014 10:01
      Цитата: agent
      Боевой вылет на мирное поселение - "миссия"...

      Этот аппарат разведчик.
      1. agent 21 марта 2014 08:54
        БПЛА
        согласен разведчик, а зачем тогда на бпла подвешены бомбы?
  2. ivanovbg 20 марта 2014 11:44
    Статья мне понравилась, интересная и познавателная. Но сам аппарат как-то неуклюже выглядит, дизайн аналогов США на порядок функциональнее смотрится со стороны, хотя я не авиатор.
  3. Миротворец 20 марта 2014 13:18
    Интересный аппарат. А что мешает аппаратуру дистанционного управления поставить на обычные самолеты? Посадить пилотов в компьютерную дис. кабину и пусть летают. По моему в СССР планировалось переделывать старые самолеты в бпла
    1. профессор 20 марта 2014 13:22
      Цитата: Миротворец
      А что мешает аппаратуру дистанционного управления поставить на обычные самолеты?

      Уже сделали.
  4. kafa 20 марта 2014 17:21
    жаль что у нас только много слов и очень мало дела. recourse где блин КБ уснули или блин стелсы из кастрюль кроят . ведь иранцы из верблюжье-ослиного кизяка копируют овские беспилотники fool просто стюдням из МАИ дипломку задать и в металл ! плохая дипломка в кирзачи wink
  5. beifall 25 марта 2014 15:35
    Набираются опытом!
    beifall

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня