Military Review

Central Council of the Ukrainian Republic: how it was a hundred years ago and how it ended

5
Central Council of the Ukrainian Republic: how it was a hundred years ago and how it ended



The February revolution of 2014 in Kiev involuntarily suggests comparisons with similar events of 1917. Since then, much has changed, and therefore any historical analogies can be considered random. The only thing in which we observe striking stability is the behavior of temporary workers who, unexpectedly for themselves, gained power.

Power on trust

February 1917, the Kiev authorities survived without major changes and shocks. Various institutions (provincial government, consistory, court, duma, school district, etc.) simply nominated the most liberal representatives from their ranks, who with a pertinent current moment began to loudly welcome the coup d'état. The government has also been replenished with people who today are called civil activists.

In turn, civil activists of the Ukrainian national movement created the Central Council. At first, it was perceived on a par with the Polish Executive Committee, the Council of United Jewish Organizations and other exotic things, demonstrating the cultural and national diversity of the Little Russian provinces. The Jews even requested permission from the authorities to share in two rooms with the Central Council in the Pedagogical Museum. However, soon the Central Council itself became power.

The Provisional Government continued the senseless slaughter for the interests of the Entente. Consequently, any force that openly advocates “for a world without annexations and indemnities,” automatically gained popularity. The Bolsheviks played on this, the Central Rada also rose on this.

Huge crowds of deserters began to create Ukrainian national units, hoping to stay in Kiev and not get back to the front. Their example was followed by active divisions of the South-Western Front. The Central Council unexpectedly became the owner of more than three hundred thousandth army. Military units willingly succumbed to formal Ukrainization regardless of their initial ethnic composition.

Only one case is known when soldiers and officers rejected the corresponding proposal - this is the self-dissolution of the guard of the cuirassier regiment, which stood near Kiev. But here it must be taken into account that heavy cavalry was considered a guard among the guards. The special selection of officers and privates, the military traditions of the regiment from the 1702 of the year - naturally, their demoralization affected them to the least extent. In addition, the cuirassiers had a very bad history of relations with Ukrainian national units. In the summer of 1917, the Kiev Military District used the guard as a detachment in order to drive two regiments of deserters back to the front. There were numerous casualties on both sides. That is, the military fraternity did not work out from the very beginning, and the cuirassiers reasonably suspected that they would not be welcomed in the Ukrainian army. Everyone else didn’t care if the war ended.

However, the Central Council was far from the problems of the army, as well as real life in general. Here is what was proclaimed in the Declaration of the General Secretariat (the then Ukrainian government) on the principles of its activities: “This is a completely new, modern, based on completely new foundations, rather than the old European and especially Russian pre-revolutionary government ... Its peculiarity lies in trust - pure, unmixed no coercion. "

All that the new modern power could do on pure trust was reduced to integrating into its membership the executive committee of the Kiev City Duma - the very liberal representatives of the old regime, who were relatively compatible with Ukrainian culture and public education figures. The fraternization of the “all-Russian” and “Ukrainian” authorities was sealed by joint steamer sailing along the Dnieper. Having a little debated on ethnography, the parties agreed on the division of seats in government bodies. The former Kiev authorities received a quota of 30%. Given that the Provisional Government cut off the Central Rada unexpectedly large territory in the 10 provinces (one of them, however, was still to be conquered by the Austrians), the all-Russian liberals of Kiev dislocation believed that they had settled well.

Time of hope and disappointment

As the Provisional Government weakened, the Central Council was affirmed in the thought that it would inevitably flourish a separate Ukraine on the ruins of Russia. The Kiev delegates with a light hand recommended Petrograd to transfer the all-Russian power into the hands of the congress of the soviets, that is, the Bolsheviks. The collapse of the country in this case seemed inevitable.

Finally, what the Central Council was glad to say in Kiev and Vladimir Ilyich Lenin in Switzerland happened. In October 1917, the Bolsheviks took power in Petrograd. The Central Council proclaimed the creation of the Ukrainian People’s Republic, and in Kiev the newspapers finally expressed everything they thought about the fallen Provisional Government. Those who had previously joined the Central Rada all-Russian liberals were shown the direction toward the station, but not on the Moscow train, as today, but on the Don. The future White Guards gathered there with forces.

The euphoria lasted just over a month. Everything changed when the Council of People's Commissars in Petrograd refused to recognize the secession of Ukraine and declared war to the Central Rada. Along the way, it turned out that the "Ukrainianized" army does not exist. Military units that sabotaged the dispatch to the front under the pretext of serving the national idea refused to die for the Central Rada. Instead of them, hurriedly armed Kiev students were sent to meet the revolutionary army. As is known, the sad finale of the events near Kruty is still inspired by Ukrainian nationalists.

Ukraine was very unlucky to meet the Soviet authorities in the face of its random companion - Mikhail Muravyov, commander of a group of troops in the Kiev direction and a dangerous maniac, soon shot by the KGB while trying to arrest. “The worst enemy couldn’t bring us as much harm as he did with his nightmarish reprisals, executions, giving the soldiers the right to plunder cities and villages. He did all this on behalf of our Soviet government, rebuilding the entire population against us, ”comrade Dzerzhinsky said, and Iron Felix knew exactly where the line between justified and senseless use of cruelty lay.

Therefore, the former enemies - the Germans and Austrians, whom the Central Rada called for help - were met without much hostility in 1918. Until the invaders began to do something for which they, in fact, appeared in Ukraine. With great energy and perseverance, the Germans began to knock out millions of pounds of bread from the Ukrainian provinces.

Politicians from the Central Council in this economic program turned out to be a useless ballast. They could work quietly further, since the undoubted talent of Mikhail Hrushevsky gave this gathering of random people a completely parliamentary appearance. However, the abduction of banker Abram the Good for the purpose of ransom, in which several members of the government were involved, including the Prime Minister, put an end to the history of the Central Council.

The Germans came to arrest the organizers of the crime directly to the session of parliament. Prime Minister Vsevolod Golubovich, feeling the clouds gathering over his head, two days before this fateful event from the tribune of the Central Council was glad to reassure his comrades: “Who is, properly speaking, Mr. Good? Maybe he is a subject of the German power? No, he is neither a matchmaker, nor a godfather, he is a complete stranger. ”

However, the military administration nevertheless stood up for “a completely stranger”, which provided the financial side of the foreign trade of occupied Ukraine with Germany and its allies. 28 April 1918, the Central Rada has ceased its purposeless existence. The occupants handed over power to the former general of the Russian imperial army, Pavel Skoropadsky, who took the hetman’s mace in his hands and bestowed a constitution on the Ukrainian state.

Attentive subjects of the newly-formed monarchy were surprised to find that the hetman's constitution repeats the “Code of Laws” of the Russian Empire 1906 of the year word for word. The era of experiments for some time over ...
Author:
Originator:
http://www.odnako.org
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parus2nik
    parus2nik 20 March 2014 08: 22
    +1
    Finally, what the Central Council in Kiev and Vladimir Ilyich Lenin in Switzerland talked about for a long time happened. And what happened in Russia in February? Kotovsky arrested the king? and went underground? Or did Lenin and Trotsky renounce the tsar’s abdication, having arrived from Switzerland .. and then they left the back and returned to do the October Revolution? But A. Kerensky did not go to decide with the Central Rada the question of the autonomy and future of Ukraine ..
    1. Forest
      Forest 20 March 2014 10: 15
      +1
      Read carefully. It's about October.
      1. parus2nik
        parus2nik 20 March 2014 20: 50
        +1
        Do you think the Central Council was formed in October .. Not after the February Revolution ..
    2. The comment was deleted.
  2. terrible
    terrible 20 March 2014 11: 34
    +1
    and as soon as the Germans returned to 41 Ukrainians raised their hands up. and began to surrender en masse, and to desert. it would be the same Makhnovists, Petliurites and their offspring.
  3. washi
    washi 20 March 2014 13: 54
    +2
    Not the right article.
    And where about Kharkov, Odessa, where were their republics?
    Where is the role of Kerensky in the emergence of the Rada?

Центральная рада Украинской республики: как это было сто лет назад и чем закончилось

Центральная рада Украинской республики: как это было сто лет назад и чем закончилось


Февральская революция 2014 года в Киеве невольно наводит на сравнение с похожими событиями 1917 года. С тех пор многое изменилось, а потому любые исторические аналогии можно считать случайными. Единственное, в чём мы наблюдаем поразительную стабильность, так это в поведении временщиков, которые неожиданно для самих себя получили власть.

Власть на доверии


Февраль 1917 года киевская власть пережила без кардинальных перемен и потрясений. Различные учреждения (губернское правление, консистория, суд, дума, учебный округ и т.д.) просто выдвинули из своих рядов самых либеральных представителей, которые с уместным текущему моменту пафосом начали громко приветствовать свершившийся государственный переворот. Власть также пополнилась людьми, которых сегодня называют гражданскими активистами.

В свою очередь, гражданские активисты украинского национального движения создали Центральную раду. Поначалу её воспринимали в одном ряду с Польским исполнительным комитетом, Советом объединённых еврейских организаций и прочей экзотикой, демонстрирующей культурное и национальное многообразие малороссийских губерний. Евреи даже запрашивали у властей разрешение, чтобы помещение в Педагогическом музее делить на двоих с Центральной радой. Однако вскорости Центральная рада сама стала властью.

Временное правительство продолжало бессмысленную бойню за интересы Антанты. Следовательно, любая сила, открыто выступающая «за мир без аннексий и контрибуций», автоматически набирала популярность. На этом сыграли большевики, на этом же поднялась и Центральная рада.

Огромные толпы дезертиров начали создавать украинские национальные части, рассчитывая остаться в Киеве и не попасть снова на фронт. Их примеру последовали действующие дивизии Юго-Западного фронта. Центральная рада неожиданно для себя стала обладательницей более чем трёхсоттысячной армии. Воинские части охотно поддавались формальной украинизации вне зависимости от их изначального этнического состава.

Известен лишь один случай, когда солдаты и офицеры отклонили соответствующее предложение — это самороспуск гвардии кирасирского полка, который стоял под Киевом. Но тут нужно учесть, что тяжёлая кавалерия считалась гвардией среди гвардии. Особый отбор офицеров и рядовых, боевые традиции полка с 1702 года — естественно, что деморализация их затронула в наименьшей степени. Кроме того, у кирасиров была очень плохая история отношений с украинскими национальными частями. Летом 1917 года Киевский военный округ использовал гвардию в качестве заградотряда для того, чтобы загнать два полка дезертиров обратно на фронт. Были многочисленные жертвы с обеих сторон. То есть боевое братство не заладилось с самого начала, и кирасиры вполне обоснованно подозревали, что в украинской армии им будут не рады. Всем остальным было всё равно, лишь бы закончилась война.

Впрочем, Центральная рада была далека от проблем армии, как и реальной жизни в целом. Вот что было возвещено в Декларации Генерального секретариата, (тогдашнего украинского правительства) о принципах своей деятельности: «Это совершенно новая, современная, опирающаяся на совершенно новые основания, нежели старая европейская и особенно российская дореволюционная власть… Особенность её заключается в доверии — чистом, неподмешанном никаким принуждением».

Всё, что смогла сделать новая современная власть на чистом доверии, свелось к интеграции в свой состав исполкома киевской городской думы — тех самых либеральных представителей старого режима, которые по духу были относительно совместимы с деятелями украинской культуры и народного просвещения. Братание «общерусских» и «украинских» властей скрепили совместным катанием на пароходе по Днепру. Немного подискутировав на тему этнографии, стороны договорились о разделе мест в органах власти. Прежнее киевское начальство получило квоту на 30%. С учётом того, что Временное правительство отрезало Центральной раде неожиданно большую территорию в 10 губерний (одну из них, правда, ещё предстояло завоевать у австрийцев), общероссийские либералы киевской дислокации считали, что они неплохо устроились.

Пора надежд и разочарований

По мере того как слабело Временное правительство, Центральная рада утверждалась в мысли, что только на развалинах России неизбежно расцветёт самостийная Украина. Киевские делегаты с лёгкой руки рекомендовали Петрограду передать общероссийскую власть в руки съезду советов, то есть, большевикам. Распад страны в этом случае казался неизбежным.

Наконец то, о чём долго говорила Центральная рада в Киеве и Владимир Ильич Ленин в Швейцарии, свершилось. В октябре 1917 года большевики взяли власть в Петрограде. Центральная рада провозгласила создание Украинской народной республики, а в киевские газеты высказали, наконец, всё, что они думают о павшем Временном правительстве. Примкнувшим ранее к Центральной раде общероссийским либералам показывали направление в сторону вокзала, но не на московский поезд, как сегодня, а на Дон. Там собирались с силами будущие белогвардейцы.

Эйфория продолжалась чуть больше месяца. Всё изменилось, когда Совет народных комиссаров в Петрограде отказался признать отделение Украины и объявил Центральной раде войну. Попутно выяснилось, что «украинизированной» армии не существует. Воинские части, которые саботировали отправку на фронт под предлогом служения национальной идее, отказались умирать за Центральную раду. Вместо них навстречу революционной армии были отправлены поспешно вооружённые киевские студенты. Как известно, печальный финал событий под Крутами до сих пор вдохновляет украинских националистов.

Украине очень не повезло познакомиться с советской властью в лице её случайного попутчика — Михаила Муравьёва, командующего группой войск в киевском направлении и опасного маньяка, вскоре застреленного чекистами при попытке ареста. «Худший враг не мог нам столько вреда принести, сколько он принёс своими кошмарными расправами, расстрелами, предоставлением солдатам права грабежа городов и сёл. Всё это он проделывал от имени нашей советской власти, восстанавливая против нас всё население», — говорил товарищ Дзержинский, а Железный Феликс уж точно знал, где пролегает грань между обоснованным и бессмысленным применением жестокости.

Поэтому бывших врагов — немцев и австрийцев, которых призвала на помощь Центральная Рада, — в 1918 году встречали без особой неприязни. До тех пор, пока оккупанты не начали делать то, ради чего они, собственно, на Украине и появились. С большой энергией и настойчивостью немцы принялись выколачивать из украинских губерний миллионы пудов хлеба.

Политические деятели из Центральной рады в этой экономической программе оказались бесполезным балластом. Они могли бы спокойно работать и дальше, благо несомненный председательский талант Михаила Грушевского придавал этому сборищу случайных людей вполне парламентский вид. Однако похищение банкира Абрама Доброго с целью выкупа, в котором оказались замешаны несколько членов правительства, включая премьер-министра, поставило точку в истории Центральной рады.

Немцы пришли арестовывать организаторов преступления прямо на сессию парламента. Премьер-министр Всеволод Голубович, ощущая, как над его головой сгущаются тучи, за два дня до этого судьбоносного события с трибуны Центральной рады успокаивал соратников: «Кто такой, собственно говоря, пан Добрый? Может, он подданный Германской державы? Нет, он ни сват, ни кум, он совсем посторонний человек».

Однако военная администрация всё же вступилась за «совсем постороннего человека», который обеспечивал финансовую сторону внешней торговли оккупированной Украины с Германией и её союзниками. 28 апреля 1918 года Центральная рада прекратила своё бесцельное существование. Оккупанты передали власть бывшему генералу российской императорской армии Павлу Скоропадскому, который взял в руки гетманскую булаву и даровал Украинской державе конституцию.

Внимательные подданные новообразованной монархии с удивлением обнаружили, что гетманская конституция слово в слово повторяет «Свод законов» Российской империи 1906 года. Эпоха экспериментов на некоторое время закончилась…
Автор: Валентин Жаронкин
Первоисточник: http://www.odnako.org


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. parus2nik 20 марта 2014 08:22
    Наконец то, о чём долго говорила Центральная рада в Киеве и Владимир Ильич Ленин в Швейцарии, свершилось.А что в России произошло в феврале? Котовский царя арестовал? и ушёл в подполье? Или Ленин с Троцким отречение у царя приняли, приехав из Швейцарии..а затем обратно ухали и вернулись Октябрьскую революцию делать? А А.Керенский не ездил решать с Центральной Радой вопрос об автономии и будущем Украины..
    parus2nik
    1. Forest 20 марта 2014 10:15
      Читайте внимательно. Речь про октябрь.
      1. parus2nik 20 марта 2014 20:50
        А вы полагаете Центральная Рада в октябре образовалась..Не после февральской революции..
        parus2nik
    2. Комментарий был удален.
  2. грозный 20 марта 2014 11:34
    и как только немцы вернулись в 41 украинцы подняли руки вверх. и начали массово сдаваться в плен ,да дезертировать. ещё бы ведь это же те самые махновцы, петлюровцы и их потомство.
  3. вася 20 марта 2014 13:54
    Не правильная статья.
    А где о Харькове, Одессе, где были свои республики?
    Где роль Керенского в возникновении Рады?

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня