Military Review

Scrumaxx

4


Scramasax is a combat knife with one-sided sharpening and, as a rule, an asymmetrical shank. Scramasax is a term that covers a wide variety of knife varieties, from small table knives to large combat knives. For simplicity, we will use the term scramasax, only to indicate weapons
Actually, under the scramasax in this article we mean knives more than 30 cm long and usually having a richly decorated scabbard.

The scramasaxos were worn in a leather case, on the warrior's thigh, and the case was connected to the belt through a series of bronze rings. Some Scramasax scabbards are made of wooden plates covered with leather, like the scabbards of swords. Many scabbards are covered with decorative ornaments.

The blade perfectly protected its owner from both people and animals, they could not only kill the beast, but also skin it, dismember game or cut down a tree. If necessary, a knife was also used for food.

Judging by the scarcity of archaeological finds and the fact that the Scaramasax were almost always with swords, we can conclude that the Scramasax is a weapon of a noble warrior, most likely from an older squad, possibly a Varangian. But having appeared in the XNUMXth century as a prestigious weapon, without leaving a particularly noticeable trace in the process of the formation of the ancient Russian weapons complex, they almost immediately disappeared and were subsequently used sporadically, apparently as a "democratic" type of weapon.

According to V.V. Kondratyev, author of the book “Historical fencing ", scramasax will not be recognized by the forensic examination of the Ministry of Internal Affairs with melee weapons if:
 - blade thickness - not less than 3 mm;
 - thickness of the cutting edge (including on the tip) - not less than 1,7 mm;
 - tip rounding - not less than 5 mm.

4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. datur
    datur April 6 2011 13: 45
    +2
    IN RUSSIA WERE UNDERSTANDING KNIVES. FROM EXCELLENT STEEL SELF-TURNED. AND ALMOST EVERYONE !!
  2. CHIM SMOKE
    CHIM SMOKE 14 May 2012 14: 15
    0
    !!! Remember, even during the battle on Lake Peipsi, every Rusich had a knife - a boot (a usual-looking wedge-shaped, slightly long blade with a convenient handle, was often used for a variety of household needs, while the people who used it were craftsmen) !!! nothing special - but in skillful hands a sharpened nail is an excellent weapon! How did they do it ??? - in the sense of fighting against the well-equipped Livonian knights? - the main task is to throw a stick - a hook with the horse of such a dandy with a plume on the scruff of the neck and knife with his knife !!! so our descendants fought. And to let them in a short distance was ensured by a battle formation called the phalanx!
    1. SAFON 1
      SAFON 1 11 November 2013 15: 43
      0
      I remember now! We stand with a phalanx, everyone has crimsons and knives - the Livonian knights, seeing us on the move, collapse and the ice under them melts. and I THINK about the descendants - what kind of little-educated they will be-graphists!
      1. Past_ Crocodile
        Past_ Crocodile 30 July 2014 08: 57
        0
        Yes!!! So I immediately remembered.
  3. serge-68-68
    serge-68-68 25 July 2013 14: 38
    0
    Funny comments ... :) :) :)

Скрамасакс

Скрамасакс


Скрамасакс-боевой нож, с односторонней заточкой и, как правило, асимметричным хвостовиком. Скрамасакс — термин, покрывающий большое количество разновидностей ножа, от маленьких столовых ножей, до больших боевых. Для упрощения, мы будем использовать термин скрамасакс, только для обозначения оружия
Собственно под скрамасаксами в данной статье понимаются ножи длиною более 30 см и как правило имевшие богато украшенные ножны.

Скрамасаксоы носились в кожаном чехле, на бедре воина, и чехол соединялся с поясом посредством серии бронзовых колец. Ножны некоторых скрамасаксов изготовлены из деревянных пластин, покрытых кожей, подобно ножнам мечей. Многие ножны покрыты декоративными украшениями.


Лезвие прекрасно защищало его владельца и от людей, и от зверей, им можно было не только убить зверя, но и освежевать его, расчленять дичь или срубить дерево. В случае необходимости ножом пользовались и для еды.

Судя по немногочисленности археологических находок и тому, что скарамасаксы почти всегда находились с мечами, можно сделать вывод, что скрамасакс — оружие знатного воина, скорее всего из старшей дружины, возможно варяга. Но появившись в Х веке в качестве престижного оружия, не оставив особенно заметного следа в процессе формирования древнерусского комплекса вооружения, они почти сразу же исчезли и в последующем использовались спорадически, по всей видимости, как «демократический» вид оружия.

По В.В. Кондратьеву, автору книги «Историческое фехтование», скрамасакс не будет признан криминалистической экспертизой МВД холодным оружием, если:
 — толщина клинка — не менее 3 мм;
 — толщина режущей кромки (в т.ч. на острие) — не менее 1,7 мм;
 — скругление острия — не менее 5 мм.

Скрамасакс


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. datur 6 апреля 2011 13:45
    НА РУСИ БЫЛИ ПОДСАЙДАШНЫЕ НОЖИ.ИЗ ОТЛИЧНОЙ СТАЛИ САМОЗАТАЧИВАЕМЫЕ.И ПОЧТИ У ВСЕХ!!
  2. ХИМ-ДЫМ 14 мая 2012 14:15
    !!! Вспомните даже при битве на Чудском озере, у каждого Русича нож был - засапожный ( обычный на вид клинообразный, несильно длинный клинок с удобной рукоятью, зачастую использовался для разнообразных бытовых нужд, при этом люд который этим пользовался - были ремеслянниками)!!! ничего особенного - но ведь в умелых руках и заточенный гвоздь - отличное оружие! Как они это делали??? - в смысле бились против хорошо экипированных Ливонских рыцарей? - главной задачей скинуть палкой - багром с коня такого вот франта с плюмажем на загривке и ножем его ножем!!! так вот воевали наши потомки. А подпустить их к себе на короткую дистанцию обеспечивал боевой порядок называемый фалангой!
    ХИМ-ДЫМ
    1. SAFON 1 11 ноября 2013 15:43
      Как сейчас помню! Стоим фалангой, у всех багры и ножи - ливонские рыцари видя нас на ходу срутся и лед под ними тает. и ДУМАЮ о потомках - какие это будут малобразованные -графоманы!
      SAFON 1
      1. Мимо_Крокодил 30 июля 2014 08:57
        Да!!! Вот и я сразу вспомнил.
        Мимо_Крокодил
  3. serge-68-68 25 июля 2013 14:38
    Смешные комментарии... :) :) :)
    serge-68-68

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня