Military Review

Communist subversive

4
Communist subversive



British intelligence almost 40 years searching for the Bolsheviks in the ranks of boy scouts

After the 1917 revolution of the year in Russia, British intelligence MI5 for many years investigated the “communist conspiracy” to introduce the Bolsheviks into the Boy Scouts movement, the Telegraph wrote on Thursday with reference to the documents recently released by the National Archives.

Trying to counter the "red" threat, the security service planned to send its employee to an international boy scout rally, tracked phone calls from well-known communists and investigated "alleged attempts by the Bolsheviks" to seize power in the youth movement.

Investigation by the British special services of the possibility of the communists penetrating into the ranks of boy scouts began in the year 1920. In one of the documents dated by that year, it is said about the arrest of four men who tried to hand out communist pamphlets at a scout rally in the park of the city of Berkenhead. According to the security service, the boy scouts themselves could even protect these people from attacks from the disgruntled, and then burn the remaining brochures.

Then the MI5 staff begin to "sound the alarm." Suddenly, the threat of the introduction of communists into their ranks was thought of in the boy scout movement and the organization of girl scouts. They even begin to periodically write warning notes to their leaders asking them to be alert.

Security personnel were alarmed by students from socialist Sunday schools who could be “introduced” into the movement of scouts so that they propagated their ideas there (In England, socialist Sunday schools emerged as an alternative to Christian ones. By 1912, more than 200 of such institutions worked in the UK) .

One of the materials from the beginning of 1920 says that in the Erit district in London, the communists allegedly tried to seize power in the scout movement. In particular, a certain group called the Erit Soviet Council (Erith Soviet Council) suggested that one of the leaders of the local scout squad should become the leader of the movement in exchange for overseeing their activities as a “council”.


A delegation of young American pioneers at a mass Communist rally on Tower Hill, London. Photo: Getty Images


But the main problem in the fight against the "red" threat in MI5 was considered international scout fees, because at such meetings, British scouts could come into contact with foreign "disruptive elements".

Before one of these charges in 1924, in Copenhagen, security officers made a list of potentially dangerous participants. Among them were not only the Communists, but also the Egyptian nationalists, the pro-German Dutch and the Japanese associated with the “Indian rebels”. MI5 even offered to send one of its people to the event "to collect useful information."

The concern of the special services by the communists in the ranks of the scouts began to take place by the middle of the 1950-s, although major events continued to alarm the security personnel. In the same years, MI5 intercepted phone calls between famous communists. The special services learned from them that the number of supporters of the Bolsheviks in the scout movement could reach 50 — 60 people, although for all the time of such monitoring MI5 it was possible to find out the names of only two of them.

In turn, the Communists often bragged about the success of the introduction of their agents. William Rust, secretary of the League of Young Communists, announced the penetration of members of his organization into the Boy Scout movement. In 1927, the founder of the scout organization Sir Robert Baden-Powell met with him to discuss these words, after which the former military himself fell under suspicion of the secret services.

The League of Young Communists (LMK) was the youth wing of the British Communist Party and was part of the Communist Youth International (KIM) - a section of the Comintern with headquarters in Moscow. Ideologically close organizations wore the same name in a number of other countries — during the period of the Comintern’s existence in the period between the two world wars, KIM united left-wing children's and youth organizations all over the world.

Their "communist leagues" in particular existed in France, Norway, Sweden and Canada. The German "pioneers" had one of the most numerous and radical organizations - in the last years of the Weimar Republic, their numbers reached 50 thousand people, many of whom participated in street fights with members of the NSDAP assault squads.

Separately, we should mention the United States, where in 1920-ies the communist organizations were in a semi-underground state - this was due to the active struggle of the country's authorities against the radical left. In particular, in 1918 — 1921, mass raids against political activists were held on the orders of Prosecutor General Alexander Palmer, and in one night only over four thousand people were arrested. In these conditions, the leaders of the left movements were often hidden under pseudonyms and conducted secret activities.

The Young Pioneers of America (UPA), open to children from 8 to 15, also used various cover methods, holding meetings in buildings owned by sympathetic organizations such as the Slovak Workers Society or the Jewish Workers Club. The pioneers were mostly children of migrants, most of them Finns and Jews from Eastern Europe. At the peak of its development in 1930, UPA was able to organize summer pioneer camps in eight states in the summer of 20.

UPM engaged in the active dissemination of communist literature and pamphlets, often attacking not only capitalists, but also “competitors” from the scout movement.

“We are the only organization of children of workers who fights for their interests and the interests of their children! Fight with the host (bourgeois. - RP) organizations and schools, fight against their patriotic chatter! Fight against the separation of children of whites and blacks! Crush the scout organization! Defend the USSR - the only homeland that the workers have! ”- urges the leaflet of the American pioneers in January 1930. Four years later, their movement was reformed and became the youth section of the US Communist Party.

It should be noted that the Soviet pioneer movement is directly connected with the boy scouts. His forerunner was the Yukism movement (Young Communists. - RP), which sought to unify the principles of scouting and Marxism. One of his eminent personalities, the former secretary of the Russian Scout Society, Innokenty Zhukov, invented not only the name “pioneers”, but also the motto “Be ready!”, A fire on a pioneer badge and a scarlet pioneer tie.
Author:
Originator:
http://rusplt.ru/world/boyscauts-9226.html
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. creak
    creak April 17 2014 10: 30
    +1
    At the very beginning of the article, the authors made a confusion - MI5 is counterintelligence, hence its work on the search for "subversive" elements. Intelligence is carried out by a special service called MI6 and the functions of these special services are accordingly different ...
  2. parusnik
    parusnik April 17 2014 10: 42
    +1
    Pioneer Day is still far away for about a month .. But thanks, for the article ..
  3. Yozhik
    Yozhik April 17 2014 16: 13
    0
    Thank! Very informative.
  4. Sergey TT
    Sergey TT April 29 2014 12: 15
    0
    We must fight for the minds of children.

Коммунистический подрывной элемент

Коммунистический подрывной элемент


Британская разведка почти 40 лет искала большевиков в рядах бойскаутов

После революции 1917 года в России британская разведка MI5 в течение многих лет расследовала «коммунистический заговор» по внедрению большевиков в движение бойскаутов, пишет в четверг Telegraph со ссылкой на недавно обнародованные Национальным архивом документы.


Пытаясь противостоять «красной» угрозе, служба безопасности планировала отправить своего сотрудника на международный слет бойскаутов, отслеживала телефонные звонки известных коммунистов и расследовала «предполагаемые попытки большевиков» захватить власть в молодежном движении.

Расследование британскими спецслужбами возможности проникновения коммунистов в ряды бойскаутов началось в 1920 году. В одном из датированных тем годом документе говорится об аресте четырех мужчин, пытавшихся раздавать коммунистические памфлеты на скаутском слете в парке города Беркенхэд. Сами бойскауты, по версии службы безопасности, могли даже оберегать этих людей от нападок со стороны недовольных, а затем и сжечь оставшиеся брошюры.

Тогда же сотрудники MI5 начинают «бить тревогу». Внезапно об угрозе внедрения коммунистов в свои ряды задумались в бойскаутском движении и организации девочек-скаутов. Они даже начинают периодически писать своим лидерам предупредительные записки с просьбой «быть начеку».

Сотрудники службы безопасности обеспокоились и учениками из социалистических воскресных школ, которых могли «внедрять» в движение скаутов для того, чтобы они пропагандировали там свои идеи (В Англии социалистические воскресные школы возникли как альтернатива христианским. К 1912 году в Великобритании работало более 200 таких учреждений).

В одном из материалов начала 1920-х годов говорится и о том, что в районе Эрит в Лондоне коммунисты, якобы, пытались захватить власть в скаутском движении. В частности, некая группа под названием «Эритский советский совет» (Erith Soviet Council) предлагала одному из вожатых местного отряда скаутов стать лидером движения в обмен на курирование их деятельности «советом».

Коммунистический подрывной элемент

Делегация молодых американских пионеров на массовом митинге коммунистов на Тауэр-Хилл, Лондон. Фото: Getty Images


Но самой главной проблемой в борьбе с «красной» угрозой в MI5 считали международные скаутские сборы, поскольку на таких встречах британские скауты могли вступить в контакт с иностранными «подрывными элементами».

Перед одним из таких сборов в 1924 году в Копенгагене сотрудники службы безопасности специально составили список «потенциально опасных» участников. Среди них были не только коммунисты, но и египетские националисты, пронемецкие голландцы и японец, связанный с «индийскими мятежниками». MI5 даже предлагало отправить одного из своих людей на мероприятие «для сбора полезной информации».

Обеспокоенность спецслужб коммунистами в рядах скаутов начала проходить к середине 1950-х годов, хотя крупные мероприятия продолжали тревожить сотрудников службы безопасности. В те же годы MI5 прослушивало телефонные звонки между известными коммунистами. Из них спецслужбы узнали, что число сторонников большевиков в скаутском движении может достигать 50—60 человек, хотя за все время таких мониторингов MI5 удалось узнать имена только двоих из них.

В свою очередь коммунисты нередко хвастались успехами по внедрению своих агентов. О проникновении членов своей организации в бойскаутское движение заявлял секретарь Лиги молодых коммунистов Уильям Руст. В 1927 году для обсуждения этих слов с ним встречался основатель скаутской организации сэр Роберт Баден-Пауэлл, после чего бывший военный сам попал под подозрение спецслужб.

Лига молодых коммунистов (ЛМК) была молодежным крылом британской компартии и входила в Коммунистический интернационал молодежи (КИМ) — секцию Коминтерна со штаб-квартирой в Москве. Такое же название носили идеологически близкие организации в ряде других стран — за время существования Коминтерна в период между двумя мировыми войнами, КИМ объединял левые детские и юношеские организации по всему миру.

Свои «коммунистические лиги» в частности существовали во Франции, Норвегии, Швеции и Канаде. Немецкие «пионеры» имели одну из самых многочисленных и радикальных организаций — в последние годы Веймарской республики их численность достигала 50 тысяч человек, многие из которых участвовали в уличных драках с членами штурмовых отрядов НСДАП.

Отдельно следует упомянуть США, где в 1920-е годы коммунистические организации находились в полуподпольном состоянии — это было связано с активной борьбой властей страны против радикальных левых. В частности, в 1918—1921 годах проходили массовые облавы на политических активистов по приказу генпрокурора Александра Палмера, только за одну ночь однажды было арестовано свыше четырех тысяч человек. В этих условиях лидеры левых движений часто скрывались под псевдонимами и вели конспиративную деятельность.

«Юные пионеры Америки» (ЮПА) открытые для детей от 8 до 15 лет также использовали различные способы прикрытия, проводя встречи в зданиях принадлежащих сочувствующим организациям вроде Словацкого рабочего общества или Еврейского рабочего клуба. Пионеры были в основном дети мигрантов, в большинстве своем финнов и евреев из Восточной Европы. На пике своего развития в 1930 году, ЮПА смогла организовать летом 20 пионерских лагерей в восьми штатах.

ЮПМ занималась активным распространением коммунистической литературы и памфлетов, нередко нападая не только на капиталистов, но и «конкурентов» из движения бойскаутов.

«Мы единственная организация детей рабочих, которая борется за их интересы и интересы их детей! Борись с хозяйскими (буржуазными. — РП) организациями и школами, борись против их патриотической болтовни! Борись против разделения детей белых и негров! Сокруши организацию бойскаутов! Защищай СССР — единственную родину, которая есть у рабочих!» — призывает листовка американских пионеров за январь 1930 года. Через четыре года их движение было реформировано и стало молодежной секцией компартии США.

Надо отметить, что советское пионерское движение напрямую связано с бойскаутами. Его предтечей стало движение «юкизма» (Юные коммунисты. — РП), стремившиеся объединить принципы скаутизма и марксизма. Один из его видных деятелей, экс-секретарь общества «Русский скаут» Иннокентий Жуков придумал не только название «пионеры», но и девиз «Будь готов!», костер на пионерском значке и алый пионерский галстук.
Автор: Алексей Аликин, Виктория Кузьменко
Первоисточник: http://rusplt.ru/world/boyscauts-9226.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. ranger 17 апреля 2014 10:30
    В самом начале статьи авторы допустили путаницу- MI5 это контрразведка, отсюда и ее работа по поиску "подрывных" элементов. Разведкой занимается спецслужба под названием MI6 и функции у этих спецслужб соответственно разные....
  2. parusnik 17 апреля 2014 10:42
    До дня пионерии ещё далеко около месяца..Но спасибо,за статью..
  3. Йожик 17 апреля 2014 16:13
    Спасибо! Весьма познавательно.
  4. Сергей ТТ 29 апреля 2014 12:15
    За умы детей надо бороться.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня