Military Review

80 years ago the title of Hero of the Soviet Union was established

5
Exactly 80 years ago, 16 on April 1934, a new honorary title of the Hero of the Soviet Union was established by a decree of the Central Election Commission of the USSR - the highest degree of distinction. The title was conferred for personal or collective merits associated with the accomplishment of a heroic deed both in wartime and in peacetime. Curiously, the position of the title of Hero of the Soviet Union was established only 29 July 1936 of the year. The award of this honorary title was made until the collapse of the USSR, the last award took place on December 24 1991. The total number of awards was 12 776. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, the title was abolished, replaced by the title of Hero of the Russian Federation. Every year on December 9 in Russia is a memorable date - the Day of the Heroes of the Fatherland.


The first decree of the Central Election Commission of the USSR on awarding the title of Heroes of the Soviet Union was signed on April 20 of 1934. This high award was given to Soviet pilots who showed courage and courage in rescuing the crew of the Chelyuskin icebreaker, who was in distress in the Arctic Ocean. A total of 7 people were awarded: Anatoly Lyapidevsky, Mikhail Vodopyanov, Ivan Doronin, Nikolai Kamanin, Sigismund Levanevsky, Vasily Molokov, Mauritius Slepnev. The eighth recipient was the famous Soviet test pilot Mikhail Gromov. He was awarded for setting a world record for flight distance.

It was followed by other Soviet pilots and polar explorers: Valery Chkalov, Alexander Belyakov and Georgy Baidukov. In November 1938 for the first time such women were honored with the same rank as pilots Valentina Grizodubova, Polina Osipenko and Marina Raskova. They were presented to the rank of making a non-stop flight from Moscow to the Far East.

80 years ago the title of Hero of the Soviet Union was established

Initially, no additional awards were given for the title, only issuing certificates from the Central Election Commission of the USSR was envisaged. However, the pilots who saved the polar explorers in the Bering Sea were also presented with the Order of Lenin. It is worth noting that all subsequent Heroes of the Soviet Union also received this order, but at the legislative level, this rule was fixed only in 1936 with the adoption of the Statute of Hero. By decree of the Presidium of the Armed Forces of the USSR from 1 of August 1939, one more special distinction for the Heroes of the country was established - the Gold Star medal. Beginning with 1939, the Order of Lenin (the highest award of the USSR), the Gold Star medal and the certificate of honor of the Presidium of the USSR Supreme Soviet were awarded to the Heroes of the Soviet Union. The possibility of re-awarding of citizens was also provided for, which was not determined initially.

The heroes of the Soviet Union, who performed the heroic feat for the second time, were awarded the second Gold Star medal, while a monument was erected in the hero’s homeland - a bronze bust. When twice awarding the Hero of the Soviet Union with the third Gold Star medal, the bronze bust of this man was planned to be installed on a pedestal in the form of a column located in the capital of the Palace of Soviets, whose construction in Moscow began in the 1930s. At the same time, with the start of the Great Patriotic War, all work on the construction site was stopped, and the construction of the Palace of Soviets was never resumed. For this reason, busts three times Heroes of the Soviet Union began to put in the Kremlin.

The description of the new medal was finally approved by a decree of 16 of October 1939 of the year. This award was a five-pointed star made of gold, the rays of the star on the front side were smooth and two-sided, on the back side there was an inscription "Hero of the USSR". The medal with the help of a ring and an ear was connected to a rectangular gilded plate that was covered with red moire ribbon. On the reverse side of this plate there was a threaded pin with a nut, designed to attach the medal to clothing. The location of the Gold Star medal was determined on 19 June 1943. The medal was supposed to be attached to clothes on the left side of the chest, being located above all other orders and medals.


Three times Hero of the Soviet Union I. N. Kozhedub

In total, before the start of World War II in the USSR, 626 people were awarded the high title of Hero, of which 5 people were re-awarded the Golden Star medal. Most of the awards came during the years of World War II - more than 90% of the total number of awarded people. In total, during the war years, more than 11 thousand people became Heroes of the Soviet Union. Moreover, over 100 of them became twice Heroes of the Soviet Union. Three times Heroes of the Soviet Union were marshals aviation, the famous military aces I. N. Kozhedub and A. I. Pokryshkin, as well as Marshal S. M. Budyonny. Four times, only 2 people were Heroes of the Soviet Union: Marshal G.K. Zhukov and Marshal L.I. Brezhnev.

In the total number of Heroes of the Soviet Union, there was a place for 95 women, one of whom - cosmonaut S. E. Savitskaya - became the only woman who received the “Hero” twice. In addition, 44 was awarded the title of Hero of a foreign citizen, including the only foreign woman, A. T. Kzhivon, who was an ordinary submachine gunner in the Polish division of T. Kosciuszko. She was honored with this award posthumously, 11 November 1943 of the year.

At the same time, more than 100 people at various times and for completely different reasons were deprived of this high rank. In fairness, we note that some of them were subsequently reinstated in rank. For 13 people Decrees on conferring such a high rank were canceled due to an unreasonable presentation of the award. At the moment, for one reason or another, the 73 man has been deprived of the title of Hero of the Soviet Union (overwhelmingly for criminal offenses).


Twice Hero of the Soviet Union S. E. Savitskaya

It should be noted that national glory, love and honor of citizens “fell” on those who were awarded the title of Hero in the USSR. Portraits of the Heroes of the Soviet Union were printed in various newspapers, their names were known throughout the country. Someone could not even bear the burden and responsibility of such a burden of glory. In the USSR, a whole list of benefits was established for the Heroes of the Soviet Union; it was adopted on September 6 of 1967. The expansion of the list of benefits was made on 30 on April 1975, on the eve of the 30 anniversary of Victory in the Great Patriotic War. The list of benefits provided for the payment to the Heroes of the Soviet Union of personal pensions of union importance, free travel on public transport, preferential payment for housing and a number of other benefits.

Over the entire existence of this title, his position has been repeatedly revised. In particular, in May 1973, a new Regulation was adopted, according to which, during repeated and subsequent assignments of the title to a citizen, in addition to the Gold Star medal, the Order of Lenin was also presented each time. And since August 1988, the re-awarding of the Heroes of the Soviet Union with the Gold Star medal has been canceled. Also in the second half of the 70 of the last century, the title began to be given to state and party leaders in connection with their national or personal anniversaries or holiday dates. Since 1988, such awards have also been canceled.

Last in stories The Soviet Union was awarded the title Hero of the Soviet Union 24 December 1991 year (the country ceased to exist 26 December 1991 year). The last rank was awarded to Leonid Solodkov, a diving specialist, captain of the 3 rank, who showed heroism and courage in carrying out a special task of command during tests of a new diving equipment. In March, 1992, another title was introduced in Russia - the Hero of the Russian Federation, which became a full-fledged assignee of the title of the Hero of the Soviet Union. The “Gold Star” medal has remained almost unchanged.

Based on open source materials.
Author:
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parus2nik
    parus2nik April 16 2014 08: 04
    +6
    Hero of the Soviet Union, sounds!
    1. mongoose
      mongoose April 16 2014 17: 47
      +2
      stopped arranging IVS
      1. The comment was deleted.
  2. Good cat
    Good cat April 16 2014 13: 39
    +2
    Even the acronym GSS is much more interesting than GRF. Therefore, they write, mainly a hero of the Russian Federation.
  3. ia-ai00
    ia-ai00 April 16 2014 15: 41
    +3
    Glory to the people who were awarded this award, who were not stopped by neither the fear of death, nor difficulties and deprivation, for the good of the Motherland, for the good of the people!
    To the dead and gone into the world of another HEROES - the eternal GLORY, and to the living - HEALTH!
  4. mar123a
    mar123a April 16 2014 20: 14
    +3
    Quote: parus2nik
    Hero of the Soviet Union, sounds!
    It was a wonderful event. And the title was sonorous! It still causes great reverence. In my opinion no one can dispute this.
  5. studentmati
    studentmati April 16 2014 21: 10
    +2
    Thanks to the author for recalling such a beautiful, good and correct date against the background of today's political events. hi drinks
  6. wolf1945
    wolf1945 April 17 2014 00: 30
    +2
    Great title of the GREAT COUNTRY !!! soldier

80 лет назад было учреждено звание Героя Советского Союза

Ровно 80 лет назад, 16 апреля 1934 года, Постановлением ЦИК СССР было учреждено новое почетное звание Героя Советского Союза — высшая степень отличия. Звание присваивалось за личные или коллективные заслуги, связанные с совершением геройского подвига как в военное, так и в мирное время. Любопытно, что положение о звании Героя Советского Союза было учреждено только 29 июля 1936 года. Награждение данным почетным званием производилось вплоть до распада СССР, последнее награждение состоялось 24 декабря 1991 года. Общее количество награждений составило 12 776. После распада Советского Союза звание было упразднено, ему на смену пришло звание Героя Российской Федерации. Ежегодно 9 декабря в России отмечается памятная дата — День Героев Отечества.

Первое постановление ЦИК СССР о присвоении звания Героев Советского Союза было подписано уже 20 апреля 1934 года. Столь высокой награды удостоились советские летчики, которые проявили отвагу и мужество при спасении экипажа ледокола «Челюскин», который потерпел бедствие в Северном Ледовитом океане. Всего было награждено 7 человек: Анатолий Ляпидевский, Михаил Водопьянов, Иван Доронин, Николай Каманин, Сигизмунд Леваневский, Василий Молоков, Маврикий Слепнев. Восьмым награжденным стал известный советский летчик-испытатель Михаил Громов. Он был награжден за установление мирового рекорда дальности перелета.

За ним последовали другие советские летчики и полярники: Валерий Чкалов, Александр Беляков и Георгий Байдуков. В ноябре 1938 года впервые столь высокого звания были удостоены и женщины — летчицы Валентина Гризодубова, Полина Осипенко и Марина Раскова. Они были представлены к званию за совершение беспосадочного перелета из Москвы на Дальний Восток.


80 лет назад было учреждено звание Героя Советского Союза

Первоначально к званию не полагалось никаких дополнительных наград, предусматривалась лишь выдача грамоты от ЦИК СССР. Однако летчикам, которые спасли полярников в Беринговом море, были также вручены ордена Ленина. Стоит отметить, что все последующие Герои Советского Союза также получали этот орден, однако на законодательном уровне это правило было закреплено лишь в 1936 году с принятием Положения о звании Героя. Указом Президиума ВС СССР от 1 августа 1939 года был учрежден еще один знак особого отличия для Героев страны — медаль «Золотая Звезда». Начиная с 1939 года Героям Советского Союза вручались орден Ленина (высшая награда СССР), медаль «Золотая Звезда» и почетная грамота Президиума ВС СССР. Также была предусмотрена возможность повторного награждения граждан, что не было определено изначально.

Герои Советского Союза, которые совершали героический подвиг вторично, награждались второй медалью «Золотая Звезда», при этом на родине героя сооружался памятник — бронзовый бюст. При награждении дважды Героя Советского Союза третьей медалью «Золотая Звезда» бронзовый бюст этого человека планировалось устанавливать на постаменте в виде колонны, расположенной в столице при Дворце Советов, строительство которого в Москве было начато в 1930-е годы. При этом с началом Великой Отечественной войны все работы на стройке были прекращены, а строительство Дворца Советов так никогда больше и не было возобновлено. По этой причине бюсты трижды Героев Советского Союза начали ставить в Кремле.

Описание новой медали было окончательно утверждено указом от 16 октября 1939 года. Данная награда представляла собой пятиконечную звезду, изготовленную из золота, лучи звезды на лицевой стороне были гладкими и двухгранными, на оборотной ее стороне имелась надпись «Герой СССР». Медаль при помощи кольца и ушка соединялась с прямоугольной позолоченной пластиной, которая была обтянута муаровой лентой красного цвета. На оборотной стороне данной пластины был расположен нарезной штифт с гайкой, предназначенный для крепления медали к одежде. Место ношения медали «Золотая Звезда» было определено 19 июня 1943 года. Медаль должна была крепиться к одежде на левой стороне груди, располагаясь выше всех остальных орденов и медалей.

80 лет назад было учреждено звание Героя Советского Союза
Трижды Герой Советского Союза И. Н. Кожедуб

Всего до начала Великой Отечественной войны в СССР высокого звания Героя было удостоено 626 человек, из них 5 человек были повторно награждены медалью «Золотая Звезда». Большая же часть награждений пришлась на годы Великой Отечественной войны — более 90% от общего числа награжденных лиц. Всего в годы войны Героями Советского Союза стало более 11 тысяч человек. При этом свыше 100 из них стали дважды Героями Советского Союза. Трижды Героями Советского Союза были маршалы авиации, прославленные военные асы И. Н. Кожедуб и А. И. Покрышкин, а также маршал С. М. Буденный. Четырежды Героями Советского Союза были всего 2 человека: маршал Г. К. Жуков и маршал Л. И. Брежнев.

В общем числе Героев Советского Союза нашлось место 95 женщинам, одна из которых — летчик-космонавт С. Е. Савицкая — стала единственной женщиной, получившей «Героя» дважды. Помимо этого, званий Героя были удостоены 44 иностранных гражданина, в том числе единственная женщина-иностранка А. Т. Кживонь, которая была рядовым-автоматчиком в польской дивизии Т. Костюшко. Она была удостоена этой награды посмертно, 11 ноября 1943 года.

При этом более 100 человек в разное время и по абсолютно разным причинам были лишены этого высокого звания. Справедливости ради отметим, что часть из них впоследствии снова была восстановлена в звании. Для 13 человек Указы о присвоении столь высокого звания были отменены по причине необоснованного представления к награде. На данный момент по тем или иным причинам лишенными звания Героя Советского Союза оказалось 73 человека (в подавляющем большинстве за совершение уголовных преступлений).

80 лет назад было учреждено звание Героя Советского Союза
Дважды Герой Советского Союза С. Е. Савицкая

Стоит отметить, что на лиц, которым в СССР присваивалось звание Героя, «обрушивались» всенародная слава, любовь и почет граждан. Портреты Героев Советского Союза печатались в различных газетах, их имена знали по всей стране. Кто-то даже не выдерживал тяжести и ответственности такого бремени славы. В СССР для Героев Советского Союза был установлен целый перечень льгот, он был принят 6 сентября 1967 года. Расширение перечня льгот было произведено 30 апреля 1975 года, в канун 30-летия Победы в Великой Отечественной войне. Перечень льгот предусматривал выплату Героям Советского Союза персональных пенсий союзного значения, бесплатный проезд в общественном транспорте, льготную оплату жилья и ряд других льгот.

За все время существования данного звания его положение неоднократно пересматривалось. В частности, в мае 1973 года было принято новое Положение, согласно которому при повторном и последующих присвоениях звания гражданину, помимо медали «Золотая Звезда», каждый раз вручался и Орден Ленина. А с августа 1988 года повторное награждение Героев Советского Союза медалью «Золотая Звезда» было отменено. Также со второй половины 70-х годов прошлого века звание стали присваивать государственным и партийным деятелям в связи с их общегосударственными или личными юбилеями или праздничными датами. С 1988 года такие награждения также были отменены.

Последнее в истории Советского Союза присвоение звания Героя Советского Союза произошло 24 декабря 1991 года (страна прекратила свое существование 26 декабря 1991 года). Последнее звание было присвоено Леониду Солодкову, водолазному специалисту, капитану 3-го ранга, который проявил героизм и мужество при выполнении спецзадания командования во время испытаний новой водолазной техники. В марте 1992 года в России было введено уже другое звание — Герой Российской Федерации, которое стало полноценным правопреемником звания Героя Советского Союза. Сохранилась практически без изменений и медаль «Золотая Звезда».

По материалам открытых источников.
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. parus2nik 16 апреля 2014 08:04
    Герой Советского Союза-звучит!
    parus2nik
    1. мангуст 16 апреля 2014 17:47
      перестали устраивать ИВС
      мангуст
      1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Добрый кот 16 апреля 2014 13:39
    Даже аббревиатура ГСС гораздо интереснее чем ГРФ. Поэтому пишут, в основном герой РФ.
  3. ia-ai00 16 апреля 2014 15:41
    Слава людям, которые удостоились этой награды, которых не останавливали ни страх смерти, ни трудности и лишения, во благо Родины, во благо народа!
    Погибшим и ушедшим в мир иной ГЕРОЯМ - вечная СЛАВА, а ныне живущим - ЗДОРОВЬЯ!
  4. mar123a 16 апреля 2014 20:14
    Цитата: parus2nik
    Герой Советского Союза-звучит!
    Замечательное было событие. И Звание было звучным! Оно и сейчас вызывает огромный пиетет. По моему никто этого оспаривать не может.
    mar123a
  5. studentmati 16 апреля 2014 21:10
    Спасибо автору, что вспомнил на фоне сегодняшних политических событиях о такой красивой, хорошей и правильной дате. hi drinks
  6. волк1945 17 апреля 2014 00:30
    великое звания ВЕЛИКОЙ СТРАНЫ!!! soldier

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня