Military Review

Kim Philby. The price of disappointment in communism

2
Kim Philby. The price of disappointment in communism


The last wife of the British Soviet KGB agent Kim Philby says that he was a real English “gentleman” and fled to the Soviet Union, hoping to see the embodiment of the communist ideals of justice.

Rufina Pukhova in a recent interview told about Kim Philby’s last years in Moscow, where he fled in 1963 year.

Those who know the realities of life in the Soviet Union, it is not difficult to guess that the Briton of almost aristocratic descent filled with idealized ideas about communism, formed in Cambridge, is destined to be disappointed in advance with what he saw with his own eyes.

Although his life in Moscow by Soviet standards was completely secured and, compared to the overwhelming majority of people, privileged, Kim Philby could not help but see the sad realities.

“Why do older people live here in such poverty? After all, it was they who won the war,” Rufina Puhova quotes Kim Philby, who also says that after a while his depression turned into alcoholism and he noticed that to sleep to death was “easy a way to commit suicide. "

“I came here overflowing with information. I wanted to give everything, but nobody was interested in it,” Mrs. Pukhova recounts his words, who could not take her husband’s name, for he lived to the end under false names, and was sometimes accompanied by security. to the store.

But he calmly lived out his life, and nothing happened to him like the poisoning in London of the former KGBist Alexander Litvinenko.

Kim's granddaughter - Charlotte Philby - once wrote: "He made a choice that led to the pain and suffering of many ... I would like to think that he did it, wanting a better future. Whether it is reasonable or not reasonable - I will never know , but I know that he is involved in the deaths of many people who considered him a friend and colleague, and I will never try to justify this. "

Kim Philby, working as the counterintelligence leader of the British MI-6 and a representative of the British intelligence service in the CIA, in the 40 and 50-s transmitted information about Western intelligence officers to the Stalinist NKVD.

Representatives of the Ukrainian post-war immigration in Britain specifically on Philby blamed for the fact that many Ukrainian "parachutists" who were thrown at Western Ukraine by Western intelligence services at the beginning of 50's, fell into the hands of the Stalinist NKVD.

The British have a saying that on the other side of the fence "the grass always seems greener."

Kim Philby would probably have acted differently in life if he had the opportunity to first see for himself what the life under Russian communists really was.



However, in Moscow they create an opinion that Philby had no problems or doubts. In December last year, a commemorative bas-relief was erected in his honor on the building in which one of the successors of the NKVD-KGB is located - the foreign intelligence service of Russia.
2 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Escander
    Escander April 30 2011 20: 51
    0
    Oh. Let's cry already.

    --- "The British have a saying that on the other side of the fence" the grass always looks greener "."

    Far fields seem greener - this is in Russian (and shorter). This also applies to foggy Albion (how many of our white emigrants have slept and died from outright boredom and indifference, pettiness and lack of scope).
    The islander needs to live on the island.
    In due time, ours would have drunk in the Aglitsky state much earlier (we will lower the Jews).


    And where did the traitors of the Motherland feel comfortable? The attitude towards them is biased everywhere.
    His alcoholism did not develop with age from the realities of the USSR, but from the realization that he was a traitor to his homeland, he handed over co-workers and friends, i.e. - of their own. He did not have to drink too much, but to shoot himself, moreover, in England.
  2. cabin boy
    cabin boy 1 May 2011 02: 30
    0
    Could it be better to get the point of view of Philby himself? For skeptics, pay attention to where the interview is published.

    Interview with Kim Philby given to English writer and publicist Philip Knightley in Moscow in January 1988.
    (First published in the London Sunday Times March-April 1988).
    Knightley: Let's take another look at your life. Would you do the same if you had to do it all over again?
    Philby: Definitely.
    Knightley: And you regret nothing?
    Philby: About the loss of friendships. Tommy Harris and some of my close friends must be very angry with me, and rightly so. From a professional point of view, I could have worked better. I made mistakes - the Burgess case was one and paid dearly for them.
    .
    Knightley: And you do not feel any guilt about your lack of patriotism?
    Philby: Patriotism is a difficult feeling. Russians love their country very much, but over the years, many have emigrated and started a new life abroad, although they lack Russia. Incidentally, I think that free exit from the Soviet Union should be allowed. It seems to me that the authorities would be surprised at how few Soviet citizens would want to leave the country and how many would want to return later. But this is just my personal opinion. Millions of people fight and die for their country, but millions emigrate in search of a new homeland. I myself am a descendant of emigrants. My ancestors came from Denmark. When I think of patriotism, I am puzzled by the words of Mrs Thatcher: "I passionately love my country." What country is she talking about? About Finchle and Dulige? Or Liverpool and Glasgow? Trevor-Roper (Lord Dacre, historian) wrote that in his opinion I did no harm to England. From my point of view, this is certainly true, but I was surprised and moved that this is also true from his point of view, the point of view of the devout Tory.
    ...
    Knightley: So, England already means nothing to you?
    Philby: Oh, I would really like to go there, to see my grandchildren. But if I were given only one chance, I would prefer to visit France. There I experienced a very happy time. Well, today's England is a foreign country for me ...
    My house is here, and although life here has its difficulties, I will not exchange this house for any other. I enjoy the abrupt change of seasons and even the search for scarce goods.
    One of the virtues of the Soviet social system is living for cash. There is no credit here, but there is no constant going into debt. God only knows what will happen to the Western economy if you suddenly need to pay all personal debts. "

Ким Филби. Цена разочарования в коммунизме

Ким Филби. Цена разочарования в коммунизме


Последняя жена британского агента советского КГБ Кима Филби рассказывает, что он был настоящим английским "джентельменом" и убежал в Советский Союз, надеясь увидеть воплощение коммунистических идеалов справедливости.

Ким Филби. Цена разочарования в коммунизме Руфина Пухова в недавнем интервью рассказала о прожитых в Москве последних годах Кима Филби, куда он сбежал в 1963 году.


Тем, кто знает реалии жизни в Советском Союзе, нетрудно догадаться, что наполненному идеализированными представлениями о коммунизме, образованному в Кембридже британцу почти аристократического происхождения заранее суждено быть разочарованным тем, что он увидел собственными глазами.

Хотя его жизнь в Москве по советским меркам была полностью обеспеченной и по сравнению с подавляющим большинством людей - привилегированной, Ким Филби не мог не видеть печальных реалий.

"Почему старшие люди здесь живут в такой нищете? Ведь, это же они победили в войне", - цитирует Кима Филби Руфина Пухова, которая рассказывает также, что через некоторое время его депрессия выливалась в алкоголизм и он замечал, что спиться насмерть это "легкий способ покончить с собой. "

"Я приехал сюда переполненый информацией. Я хотел отдать все, но никого это не интересовало", - пересказывает его слова госпожа Пухова, которая не смогла взять фамилию мужа, ибо он до конца жил под вымышленными именами, а временами сопровождался охраной, даже когда выходил в магазин.

Но он спокойно дожил свой век, и с ним не произошло ничего похожего на отравление в Лондоне бывшего КГБиста Александра Литвиненко.

Ким Филби. Цена разочарования в коммунизме Внучка Кима - Шарлотт Филби - в свое время написала: "Он сделал выбор, который привел к боли и страданиям многих ... Я бы хотела думать, что он сделал это, желая лучшего будущего. Разумно это или не разумно - я никогда не узнаю, но я знаю, что он причастен к гибели множества людей, которые считали его другом и коллегой, и этого я никогда не буду пытаться оправдать. "

Ким Филби, работая руководителем контрразведки британской МИ-6 и представителем английской спецслужбы в ЦРУ, в 40-х и 50-х годах передавал сталинскому НКВД информацию о западных разведчиках.

Представители украинской послевоенной иммиграции в Британии именно на Филби возлагают ответственность за то, что многие украинские "парашютисты", которых забрасывали в Западную Украину западные спецслужбы в начале 50-х, попадали в руки сталинского НКВД.

У британцев есть поговорка о том, что по другую сторону забора "трава всегда кажется зеленее".

Ким Филби, вероятно, поступил бы в жизни иначе, если бы имел возможность сначала убедиться воочию в том, каким на самом деле была жизнь под властью русских коммунистов.

Ким Филби. Цена разочарования в коммунизме


Однако в Москве создают мнение, что никаких проблем или сомнений у Филби не было. В декабре прошлого года в его честь установили памятный барельеф на здании, в котором расположена одна из наследниц НКВД-КГБ - служба внешней разведки России.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 2
  1. Эскандер 30 апреля 2011 20:51
    Ой. Давайте поплачем уже.

    --- «У британцев есть поговорка о том, что по другую сторону забора "трава всегда кажется зеленее".»

    Дальние поля зеленее кажутся – это по русски (и короче). К туманному Альбиону это тоже относится (сколько наших белоэмигрантов поспились и померли от откровенной скуки и безучастия, мелочности и отсутствия размаха).
    Островитянину надо жить на острове.
    В своё время, наш бы спился в Аглицком государстве гораздо раньше (евреев опустим).


    А где предатели Родины чувствовали себя комфортно? Отношение к ним везде предвзятое.
    Алкоголизм его развился с возрастом не от реалий СССР, а от осознания того, что он есть предатель своей Родины, сдавал сослуживцев и друзей, т.е. – своих. Ему не спиваться надо было, а застрелиться, причём в Англии.
    Эскандер
  2. юнга 1 мая 2011 02:30
    Может лучше узнать точку зрения самого Филби? Для скептиков, обратите внимание где опубликовано интервью.

    Интервью Кима Филби, данное английскому писателю и публицисту Филипу Найтли в Москве в январе 1988 года.
    (Впервые опубликовано в лондонской газете "Санди таймс" в марте-апреле 1988 года).
    "Найтли: Давайте еще раз взглянем на вашу жизнь. Поступили бы вы так же, если бы пришлось повторить все снова?
    Филби: Непременно.
    Найтли: И вы ни о чем не жалеете?
    Филби: Об утрате дружеских связей. Томми Хэррис и кое-кто из близких друзей, должно быть, очень сердятся на меня, и совершенно справедливо. С профессиональной точки зрения я мог бы сработать лучше. Я совершал ошибки - дело Берджесса было одной и дорого платил за них.
    ....
    Найтли: И вы не чувствуете никакой вины из-за отсутствия у вас патриотизма?
    Филби: Патриотизм - это сложное чувство. Русские очень любят свою страну, но в течение долгих лет многие эмигрировали и начали новую жизнь за границей, хотя им недостает России. Между прочим, я думаю, что следовало бы разрешить свободный выезд из Советского Союза. Мне кажется, власти были бы удивлены тем, как мало советских граждан захотело бы выехать из страны и как много захотели бы позднее вернуться. Но это только мое личное мнение. Миллионы людей сражаются и умирают за свою страну, однако миллионы эмигрируют в поисках новой родины. Я сам потомок эмигрантов. Мои предки приехали из Дании. Когда я думаю о патриотизме, то меня озадачивают слова г-жи Тэтчер: "Я страстно люблю свою страну". О какой стране она говорит? О Финчле и Далидже? Или о Ливерпуле и Глазго? Тревор-Роупер (лорд Дейкр, историк) написал, что, по его мнению, я не нанес Англии никакого вреда. С моей точки зрения, это безусловно верно, но я был удивлен и тронут, что это верно и с его точки зрения, точки зрения правоверного тори.
    ...
    Найтли: Итак, Англия для вас уже ничего не значит?
    Филби: О, мне бы очень хотелось съездить туда, повидать своих внуков. Но если бы мне предоставили только один шанс, я предпочел бы побывать во Франции. Там я пережил очень счастливое время. Ну а нынешняя Англия для меня чужая страна...
    Мой дом здесь, и хотя здешняя жизнь имеет свои трудности, я не променяю этого дома ни на какой другой. Мне доставляет удовольствие резкая смена времен года и даже поиск дефицитных товаров.
    Одним из достоинств советской социальной системы является жизнь за наличные. Здесь нет кредита, но нет и постоянного залезания в долги. Одному богу известно, что произойдет с западной экономикой, если вдруг потребуется уплатить все личные долги."
    юнга

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня