Military Review

NATO factor

10
Further expansion of the alliance to the east will not strengthen stability in Europe


Today, the situation in Southeastern Europe (SEE), and especially in the Balkans, remains unstable, interstate territorial disputes continue, and interethnic contradictions persist, which tend to further aggravate. Under these conditions, the activities of our Western partners are intensifying in consolidating their political influence in the region and expanding their economic and military presence in it. The priority of the foreign policy activities of the countries of the region is integration into European and Euro-Atlantic structures, as well as increasing the scale of cooperation with Western countries.

Today, the whole world, including the states in the Euro-Atlantic space, is facing ever more dangerous threats and challenges to security. Really effectively counteracting the growth of international terrorism and cross-border crime, the illegal spread of weapons, drug trafficking, cyber threats, strengthening interfaith contradictions and tensions in the framework of unilateral approaches and closed alliances are unlikely to succeed.

I am convinced that even the most powerful military-political bloc is unable to counteract modern challenges and threats.

The experience of military operations in Iraq, Afghanistan, Libya proves this convincingly. We need completely new approaches and mechanisms based on integrated efforts, combining the actions of all states and international organizations.

The division of European countries into members and non-members of the NATO club is hardly a common European good, as they are trying to present in Brussels. NATO expansion will not enhance stability. On the contrary, it will undermine it, contributing to the further fragmentation of a single security space. Any state that does not belong to one or another closed military club and, accordingly, is not involved in shaping its policy, will feel threatened by its security.

Historical bug

Our partners are constantly trying to convince us that the expansion of the alliance will only benefit Russia and will ensure its security. It sounds rather paradoxical.

We have repeatedly reminded that the expansion of the block cannot be called anything other than a historical mistake. Such actions violate the military-strategic balance and lead to destabilization of the situation in Europe and beyond.

NATO factor


The benefits of joining NATO are not so obvious. The process of Euro-Atlantic integration for the countries of SEE has itself become a powerful engine of internal reform. Significant progress has been made. But is it worth the rush to become a member of NATO? Along with limiting sovereignty, the so-called recruits of the alliance are forced to bring their defense spending to two percent of GDP, which often means a significant increase in the current military budget in far from the most favorable financial conditions.

Earlier in Eastern Europe, the myth that joining NATO was a condition or even a guarantee of joining the EU was popular. I am sure that our Eastern European partners understand that this is not so. Just look at the example of Albania and Croatia, which at the same time became members of NATO in 2009 at the same time, but are now at different levels of the European integration process.

In addition, major changes are occurring in the alliance’s partnership policy. The possibilities of joint work with states that do not plan to join NATO are expanding. Our northern neighbors, Finland and Sweden, for example, or countries such as Austria and Switzerland, are participating in NATO partnerships, missions and exercises, learning the necessary interaction experiences and practical skills. However, they are in no hurry to join the alliance. The government of these countries, apparently attentive to public opinion, carefully weighs the benefits and risks.

From the experience of the relations of the Russian Federation with NATO, it can be said that the most practical and effective course is combining the pursuit of equal mutually beneficial cooperation in areas where our security tasks coincide, with principled upholding our legitimate interests where disagreements persist (the ABM problem expansion of the alliance to the east).

At the Russia-NATO Council Summit in Lisbon on November 20, 2010, a decision was made to build a strategic partnership based on the principles of the indivisibility of security, mutual trust, transparency and predictability.

I can only express regret that the alliance is still living stereotypes of the Cold War. The decision of the NATO Council to suspend the holding of meetings in the framework of practical cooperation with Russia indicates a biased and biased approach in analyzing the causes and consequences of events in Ukraine.

Apparently, the reflexes of the past prevailed, which did not allow an objective understanding of what was happening. We consider it extremely dangerous to bring the “NATO factor” into the already complicated and fragile situation in Ukraine, which creates an additional element of tension, undermining the prospects for normalizing the situation.

The current leaders - usurpers of the authorities in Kiev announced the signing of an association agreement with the EU. And despite the fact that the Ukrainian state is in the deepest crisis. Moreover, people who have declared themselves to be power do not have the support of their own population.

The provisions of the political part of the association agreement provide scope for further steps to consolidate Ukraine in the foreign political and military-political orbit of the European Union and the West as a whole. In the current circumstances, it can be expected that the signing will be followed by steps towards closer interaction, including in the context of the evolution of the EU’s common security and defense policy and its potential link with NATO activities. In this case, it would be right to first reach a national agreement, and then raise the issue of membership.

Ready for dialogue

Despite this, we are determined to have a substantive conversation with our partners on the issues of building a new architecture of Euro-Atlantic security that would be more effective than the natocentric model and would correspond to modern realities.

The Russian approaches are based on the initiative to conclude a Treaty on European Security (EST) with the aim of making the repeatedly declared principle of the indivisibility of security legally binding, working in practice, to codify the political declarations that no state in the Euro-Atlantic region will ensure its security due to the safety of others.

It is about the right to equal security for each state, regardless of whether it is a member of any military-political alliances, which must be supported by appropriate regulatory guarantees. This would allow concentrating political and defense resources on countering global threats and challenges.

Moreover, the idea of ​​the European Security Treaty is inclusive, enables any state to join this initiative, does not create new dividing lines, and does not designate a “geopolitical adversary” by analogy with the times of the Cold War.

The broad international discussions, initiated by the EEB initiative, focused on strengthening European stability, are pushing partners to put forward their own proposals that are consonant with the philosophy of the Russian approaches. We heard many of them last year at the international conference “Military and Political Aspects of European Security” in Moscow. The Russian Ministry of Defense is preparing for the next Moscow International Conference on European Security, which will be held 23 – 24 in May.

EU problem points

As far as I understand, the European Union, despite the crisis, intends to follow the planned course of expansion, focusing its main efforts on the region of the Western Balkans.

At one time, Russia agreed with the arguments of the European Union that granting the prospect of EU membership to the Western Balkans countries could potentially serve as one of the instruments for stabilizing the situation in this region of Europe.

From that moment on, almost 15 years have passed. Croatia joined the EU. Serbia and Montenegro have begun accession negotiations. All countries of the region, to one degree or another, have been guided by councils from Brussels for more than one year and receive technical and financial assistance from there. It was decided to cancel the visa regime for citizens. In a word, a lot of effort has been invested. It can be said that the provision of European perspectives to the countries of the Western Balkans at a certain stage played a positive role, becoming a consolidating factor, to some extent stimulated their carrying out the necessary painful reforms. However, today the situation in the Balkans cannot be called stable and predictable.

The most problematic points on the Balkan map are Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH) and Kosovo.

Apparently, the EU is very disappointed with the state of affairs in BiH. To some extent, this is understandable: Brussels invested a lot of money and effort there, used many of the tools in its arsenal, reduced the requirements for the promotion of the Bosnian European perspective, but all was in vain. Breakthrough results were not achieved either by the provision of a visa-free BiH, a structural dialogue on justice issues, coupled with a high-level dialogue on accession issues, or a “road map”, the implementation of which was to end with the introduction of the EU-BiH Stabilization and Association Agreement and the adoption of consideration of the Bosnian application for membership in the European Union.

All this, however, should not be a pretext for action, intentionally or not, but shaking the Dayton construction of BiH. Although it is imperfect, by pressure and coercion, neither the strengthening of the Bosnian state, nor the more active promotion of BiH to EU membership will be achieved.

I consider it unacceptable to try to use the prospect of EU membership for making concessions from Serbia in the context of a Kosovo settlement. This is not a very reliable basis for building future relations between the Serbs and the Kosovars. Obviously, the prospect of EU membership for Serbia and other states that have not yet had time to join there, looks very vague today (according to experts, the closest candidates - Serbia and Montenegro - will be able to join the “European family” with the most successful scenario in 8 – 10 years). And this means that both Serbia and other countries of the region are inevitably waiting for the stages of both Euro-enthusiasm and cooling of interest in European integration.

For Russia, of course, it is important that the process of EU integration of the countries of the Western Balkans did not create new dividing lines in Europe and would not adversely affect the development of our bilateral relations with them, including in the trade and economic sphere. Unfortunately, this is not always avoided.

I am convinced that forcing the countries of the region to focus exclusively on Brussels, while forgetting about other partners, especially given the insecurity or at least the remoteness of their membership in the EU, is wrong and does not meet the interests of the states of the region.
Author:
Originator:
http://vpk-news.ru/articles/20021
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Stavros
    Stavros April 23 2014 20: 42
    +6
    NATO Kazlah. Who wants to NATO, that future kazel.
    1. sledge
      sledge April 23 2014 21: 28
      +2
      Who wants to be a goat in NATO?
    2. sledge
      sledge April 23 2014 21: 28
      0
      Who wants to be a goat in NATO?
    3. Al_lexx
      Al_lexx April 24 2014 06: 21
      0
      Here, as they say ... kazly are not kazly, but they have their own gesheft. winked
      NATO, as the body of collective defense against the Russians, was relevant for the first 25-30 years after the Second World War. Already since the 90's, the original meaning of this organization was lost and it turned into a collective United States singing when America needed international support to implement its plans.
  2. Gardamir
    Gardamir April 23 2014 20: 53
    +5
    It's your will, but before it seemed to me that I know Russian well. However, I don’t understand the meaning of the word “partners”. At least it sometimes seems to me that Hitler from 1941 to 1945 was a partner of the Soviet Union.
    1. Stinger
      Stinger April 23 2014 21: 36
      0
      The same girl in the brothel has the most different partners.
  3. A1L9E4K9S
    A1L9E4K9S April 23 2014 21: 10
    0
    We agree to be partners with all comers, but we will play according to our rules, according to our preferences. We would like to join the queue.
  4. The comment was deleted.
  5. Vorodis_vA
    Vorodis_vA April 23 2014 21: 38
    +1
    what kind of expression- "live with the stereotypes of the cold war." If there is no cold war, then there is a hot one. And since there is no hot, then it is cold - this is a normal state of a moronic greedy world, in which we were lucky to live. When greed begins to go off scale, then a hot phase begins and, as a result, redistribution.
  6. Giant thought
    Giant thought April 23 2014 22: 02
    0
    The NATO factor is a factor of instability. Where NATO with mattresses fit, there immediately begins a mess, conflicts and discord.
  7. Thompson
    Thompson April 23 2014 22: 38
    0
    Now the word partner in the mouths of our politicians you can safely put in quotation marks and put in it a completely different meaning !!!
  8. 11111mail.ru
    11111mail.ru April 24 2014 05: 13
    0
    But we do not need NATO!
  9. Alex Nick
    Alex Nick April 24 2014 05: 54
    +1
    When Putin says this word, I worry, suddenly he will tell the truth.
  10. mig31
    mig31 April 24 2014 06: 04
    0
    Russia (USSR) has passed collectivization, now it’s Europe’s turn ... they are dear to them ...

Рубрика "Мнения" : Здесь выкладываются абсолютно различные мнения-статьи посетителей сайта, а также статьи с других сайтов для обсуждения. Администрация сайта по поводу этих новостей может иметь мнение, отличное от мнения авторов материалов.

Фактор НАТО

Дальнейшее расширение альянса на восток не укрепит стабильность в Европе

Сегодня обстановка в Юго-Восточной Европе (ЮВЕ), и особенно на Балканах, остается нестабильной, продолжаются межгосударственные территориальные споры, сохраняются межнациональные противоречия, имеющие тенденцию к дальнейшему обострению. В этих условиях активизируется деятельность наших западных партнеров по закреплению своего политического влияния в регионе, расширению в нем экономического и военного присутствия. Приоритетом внешнеполитической деятельности стран региона является интеграция в европейские и евро-атлантические структуры, а также увеличение масштабов сотрудничества с государствами Запада.

Сегодня весь мир, в том числе государства на евро-атлантическом пространстве, сталкивается со все более опасными угрозами и вызовами безопасности. По-настоящему эффективно противодействовать росту международного терроризма и трансграничной преступности, нелегальному распространению оружия, наркотрафику, киберугрозам, усилению межконфессиональных противоречий и трений в рамках односторонних подходов и замкнутых союзов вряд ли получится.


Убежден, никакой, даже самый мощный военно-политический блок не в состоянии противодействовать современным вызовам и угрозам.

Опыт военных действий в Ираке, Афганистане, Ливии это убедительно доказывает. Необходимы совершенно новые подходы и механизмы, базирующиеся на комплексных усилиях, объединении действий всех государств и международных организаций.

Разделение стран Европы на членов и нечленов натовского клуба вряд ли является общеевропейским благом, как это пытаются представить в Брюсселе. Расширение НАТО не укрепит стабильность. Оно, напротив, будет подрывать ее, способствуя дальнейшей фрагментации единого пространства безопасности. Любое государство, не входящее в тот или иной закрытый военный клуб и соответственно не участвующее в формировании его политики, будет ощущать угрозу своей безопасности.

Историческая ошибка

Наши партнеры постоянно пытаются нас убедить в том, что расширение альянса пойдет России только на пользу и обеспечит ее безопасность. Звучит довольно парадоксально.

Мы уже неоднократно напоминали, что расширение блока иначе как исторической ошибкой назвать нельзя. Такие действия нарушают военно-стратегическое равновесие и ведут к дестабилизации ситуации в Европе и за ее пределами.

Фактор НАТО


Не столь очевидны и выгоды от вступления в НАТО. Процесс евро-атлантической интеграции для стран ЮВЕ сам по себе стал мощным двигателем внутренних реформ. Достигнут значительный прогресс. Но стоит ли спешить стать членом НАТО? Наряду с ограничением суверенитета так называемые новобранцы альянса вынуждены доводить свои расходы на оборону до двух процентов ВВП, зачастую это означает весомое увеличение нынешнего военного бюджета в далеко не самых благоприятных финансовых условиях.

Раньше в Восточной Европе был популярен миф о том, что вступление в НАТО – это условие или даже гарантия вступления в ЕС. Уверен, наши восточноевропейские партнеры понимают, что это не так. Достаточно посмотреть на пример Албании и Хорватии, которые в 2009 году одновременно стали членами НАТО, однако сейчас находятся на разных уровнях процесса евроинтеграции.

К тому же серьезные изменения происходят в партнерской политике альянса. Расширяются возможности совместной работы с государствами, которые не планируют вступать в НАТО. Наши северные соседи, Финляндия и Швеция например, или такие страны, как Австрия и Швейцария, участвуют в механизмах партнерства НАТО, миссиях и учениях, извлекая необходимый опыт взаимодействия и практические навыки. Однако они не спешат вступать в альянс. Правительство этих стран, видимо, внимательно относится к общественному мнению, тщательно взвешивает выгоды и риски.

Из опыта отношений РФ с НАТО можно сказать, что наиболее практичным и эффективным является курс, сочетающий стремление к равноправному взаимовыгодному сотрудничеству по тем направлениям, где наши задачи в области безопасности совпадают, с принципиальным отстаиванием своих законных интересов там, где сохраняются разногласия (проблема ПРО, расширение альянса на восток).

На саммите Совета Россия – НАТО в Лиссабоне 20 ноября 2010 года было принято решение выстраивать стратегическое партнерство, основанное на принципах неделимости безопасности, взаимного доверия, транспарентности и предсказуемости.

Могу выразить только сожаление, что в альянсе все еще живучи стереотипы времен холодной войны. Решение Совета НАТО приостановить проведение встреч в рамках практического сотрудничества с Россией свидетельствует о предвзятом и тенденциозном подходе в анализе причин и следствий событий на Украине.

Судя по всему, возобладали рефлексы прошлого, которые не позволили объективно разобраться в происходящем. Считаем крайне опасными попытки привнести в и без того сложную и хрупкую ситуацию на Украине «фактор НАТО», который создает дополнительный элемент напряженности, подрывая перспективы нормализации обстановки.

Нынешние руководители – узурпаторы власти в Киеве заявили о подписании соглашения об ассоциации с ЕС. И это притом что украинское государство находится в глубочайшем кризисе. Более того, люди, которые провозгласили себя властью, не имеют поддержки своего собственного населения.

Положения политической части соглашения об ассоциации дают простор для дальнейших шагов по закреплению Украины во внешнеполитической и военно-политической орбите Евросоюза и Запада в целом. Можно ожидать, что в сложившихся обстоятельствах за подписанием последуют шаги в сторону более тесного взаимодействия, в том числе в контексте эволюции общей политики безопасности и обороны ЕС и ее потенциальной связки с деятельностью НАТО. В данном случае было бы правильным сначала достигнуть национального согласия, а потом уже ставить вопрос о членстве.

К диалогу готовы

Несмотря на это, мы настроены вести предметный разговор с нашими партнерами по вопросам выстраивания новой архитектуры евро-атлантической безопасности, которая была бы эффективнее натоцентричной модели и соответствовала бы современным реалиям.

В основе российских подходов – инициатива о заключении Договора о европейской безопасности (ДЕБ) с целью сделать многократно провозглашенный принцип неделимости безопасности юридически обязывающим, работающим на практике, кодифицировать принятые политические декларации о том, что ни одно государство в Евро-Атлантике не будет обеспечивать свою безопасность за счет безопасности других.

Речь идет о праве на равную безопасность для каждого государства вне зависимости от того, является ли оно членом каких-либо военно-политических союзов, что должно быть подкреплено соответствующими нормативными гарантиями. Это позволило бы сконцентрировать политические и оборонные ресурсы на противодействии глобальным угрозам и вызовам.

К тому же идея ДЕБ является инклюзивной, дает возможность любому государству присоединиться к этой инициативе, не создает новых разделительных линий и не назначает «геополитического противника» по аналогии со временами холодной войны.

Запущенные инициативой ДЕБ широкие международные дискуссии, ориентированные на укрепление европейской стабильности, подталкивают партнеров к выдвижению собственных предложений, созвучных с философией российских подходов. Многие из них мы услышали в прошлом году на международной конференции «Военные и политические аспекты европейской безопасности» в Москве. Минобороны России готовится к очередной Московской международной конференции по вопросам евробезопасности, которая пройдет 23–24 мая.

Проблемные точки ЕС

Насколько я понимаю, Евросоюз, несмотря на кризис, намерен следовать намеченному курсу на расширение, сосредоточив основные усилия на регионе Западных Балкан.

В свое время Россия согласилась с доводами Евросоюза о том, что предоставление западнобалканским странам перспективы членства в ЕС потенциально может служить одним из инструментов стабилизации ситуации в этом регионе Европы.

С того момента прошло почти 15 лет. Хорватия вступила в ЕС. Сербия и Черногория начали переговоры о присоединении. Все страны региона в той или иной степени уже не один год руководствуются советами из Брюсселя, получают оттуда техническое и финансовое содействие. Принято решение об отмене визового режима для граждан. Одним словом, усилий приложено немало. Можно говорить о том, что предоставление европерспективы странам Западных Балкан на определенном этапе сыграло положительную роль, став консолидирующим фактором, в какой-то степени простимулировало проведение ими необходимых болезненных реформ. Однако назвать сегодня ситуацию на Балканах стабильной и предсказуемой по-прежнему нельзя.

Наиболее проблемными точками на балканской карте остаются Босния и Герцеговина (БиГ) и Косово.

По всей видимости, в ЕС весьма разочарованы положением дел в БиГ. В какой-то степени это понятно: Брюссель инвестировал туда много средств и усилий, задействовал многие имеющиеся у него в арсенале инструменты, снизил требования к продвижению боснийской европерспективы, но все тщетно. Прорывных результатов не дали ни предоставление БиГ безвизового режима, ни структурный диалог по вопросам юстиции вкупе с диалогом высокого уровня по вопросам вступления, ни «дорожная карта», выполнение которой должно было завершиться введением в действие Соглашения о стабилизации и ассоциации ЕС – БиГ и принятием к рассмотрению боснийской заявки на членство в Евросоюзе.

Все это, однако, не должно служить поводом для действий, намеренно или нет, но расшатывающих Дейтонскую конструкцию БиГ. Пусть она и несовершенна, но путем давления и принуждения не удастся добиться ни укрепления боснийского государства, ни более активного продвижения БиГ к членству в ЕС.

Неприемлемым считаю и попытки использовать перспективу членства в ЕС для выбивания уступок у Сербии в контексте косовского урегулирования. Это не слишком надежная основа для выстраивания будущих отношений между сербами и косоварами. Очевидно, что перспектива членства в ЕС для Сербии и других государств, которые еще не успели туда вступить, на сегодня выглядит весьма туманно (по оценке экспертов, наиболее близкие кандидаты – Сербия и Черногория – смогут влиться в «европейскую семью» при самом удачном для себя раскладе через 8–10 лет). А это значит, что и Сербия, и другие страны региона неминуемо ждут впереди этапы как евроэнтузиазма, так и охлаждения интереса к евроинтеграции.

Для России, конечно же, важно то, чтобы процесс интеграции в ЕС стран Западных Балкан не создавал новых разделительных линий в Европе, не оказывал негативного воздействия на развитие наших с ними двусторонних отношений, в том числе в торгово-экономической сфере. К сожалению, избежать этого удается не всегда.

Убежден, заставлять страны региона ориентироваться исключительно на Брюссель, забывая при этом о других партнерах, особенно с учетом негарантированности или по крайней мере отдаленности их членства в ЕС, неправильно и не отвечает интересам самих государств региона.
Автор: Виктор Заварзин
Первоисточник: http://vpk-news.ru/articles/20021


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 10
  1. Ставрос 23 апреля 2014 20:42
    Натовцы казлы.Кто хочет в НАТО, тот будущий казел.
    1. санёк 23 апреля 2014 21:28
      Кто хочет в нато уже козёл
    2. санёк 23 апреля 2014 21:28
      Кто хочет в нато уже козёл
    3. Al_lexx 24 апреля 2014 06:21
      Тут, как говориться... казлы не казлы, а свой гешефт имеют. winked
      НАТО, именно как орган коллективной защиты от русских, было актуально первые 25-30 лет после ВОВ. Уже начиная с 90-х исконный смысл этой организации был утерян и она превратилась в коллективных подпевал США, когда америке была нужна международная поддержка, для реализации своих планов.
  2. Гардамир 23 апреля 2014 20:53
    Воля ваша, но раньше мне казалось, что хорошо знаю русский язык. Однако значение слова "партнёры" никак не пойму. По крайней мере мне иногда кажется, что Гитлер с 1941 по 1945 был партнёром Советского Союза.
    1. Stinger 23 апреля 2014 21:36
      Больше всего разных партнёров бывает у одной и той же девице в борделе.
  3. A1L9E4K9S 23 апреля 2014 21:10
    Мы согласные быть партнёрами со всеми желающими,но играть будем по нашим правилам,по нашим установкам.Желающих просим встать в очередь.
  4. Комментарий был удален.
  5. Vorodis_vA 23 апреля 2014 21:38
    что за выражение-"живут стереотипами холодной войны".-. Если нет холодной войны, значит идет горячая. А так как горячей нет, то идет холодная- это нормальное состояние дебильного жадного мира, в коем нам и посчастливилось жить. Когда жадность начинает зашкаливать то наступает горячая фаза и как следствие-передел.
  6. Гигант мысли 23 апреля 2014 22:02
    Фактор НАТО это фактор нестабильности. Где НАТО с матрасниками влезут , там сразу же начинаются бардак , конфликты и раздрай.
  7. Томпсон 23 апреля 2014 22:38
    Теперь слово партнёр в устах наших политиков можно смело брать в кавычки и вкладывать в него сооовсем другой смысл!!!
  8. 11111mail.ru 24 апреля 2014 05:13
    А нам NATO не НАДО!
    11111mail.ru
  9. Alex Nick 24 апреля 2014 05:54
    Когда Путин говорит это слово,переживаю, вдруг правду скажет.
  10. mig31 24 апреля 2014 06:04
    Россия (СССР) коллективизацию прошла,теперь очередь Европы...в разруху им дорога...

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня