Military Review

Feat grandfather Matthew Kuzmin

3
Hundreds of thousands of heroes have made an invaluable contribution to the liberation of our Motherland and the whole world from the fascist yoke. The names of some remained unknown. But there were those whose names were left for stories. One of these heroes is Matvey Kuzmin. He was not among the rank-and-file soldiers according to his age. But, nevertheless, he contributed to the victory.

In February, the 1942 of the year, the German mountain-rifle division was to break through the front and advance to the rear of the Red Army in the area between Leningrad and Pskov. This was a difficult task for the German command due to the lack of clear guidelines and maps of the area, because of the difficult forests. In addition, the brutal thirty-degree frosts hampered the movement, in such frosts it was difficult not only for soldiers, but also for equipment. The success of this operation, some of the military leaders of the German army questioned. It is necessary to walk about six kilometers through difficult terrain and go to the village Pershino. This small, long-lasting march to the Germans at that time could have been completed in two hours, provided that they went straight.



The commander of the German column decided to take with him a guide from those who lived in the area. As a conductor, he chose the owner of the hut, in which the headquarters of the German battalion was based. One night the captain, the officer of the battalion, told Matthew Kuzmich that he should take them on the shortest route, for which he would be encouraged by money. After some deliberation, Matvey Kuzmin agreed. If that German officer knew what the old collective farmer Matvey had planned, what he had prepared for the German invaders.

When it was an opportune moment, grandfather Matvey whispered a few words to his grandson Vanya, he immediately gathered, left the hut, put on his skis and rushed into the woods. After some time, a German battalion led by a commanding officer left the collective farm village. Matvey Kuzmin walked in front of the column. The German battalion, equipped with full equipment, moved to the intended target instead of the two hours set for several hours. From such a forced march, the soldiers of the German battalion were clearly exhausted. Grandfather Matvey did not lead them on the direct road, as he had promised, but, having misled them, led the German soldiers in roundabout ways. Instead of six kilometers, it was necessary to walk about twenty-five kilometers.

At the edge of the forest, the fascist invaders were able to get out only in the morning. Exhausted by the night transition, German soldiers almost fell off their feet. But they did not come to the village of Pershino at all, as they had been appointed. Their grandfather Matvey led them to the village of Malkino, where an ambush was waiting for them. In the evening, the soldiers of the 31-th separate rifle brigade of Colonel Gorbunov were ready for the meeting of the German battalion of the mountain rifle division. Grandfather knew where to lead the Nazis. He led them to the ambush site, he believed that his grandson Vanechka would have time before dawn to get to the soldiers of our division, and told him in advance where to ambush.

Leaving on the edge of the forest, the German soldiers, led by an officer, stopped for a moment to take a breath. The silence in the forest was absolute, nothing boldly break the morning silence of the forest. But the silence suddenly broke the crash of Soviet machine guns and machine guns. Shocked by the soldiers of the German battalion, shackled by fatigue and fear at night, they were not even able to figure out what had happened, not to give any kind of rebuff. In the first seconds of the start of the shelling, several dozen Germans were killed. Some of the survivors decided to turn back into the forest under the shelter of the trees. A machine-gun fire from the flanks blocked their path.

Only about one and a half hundred fascist soldiers fell into the snow near that forest. About twenty Germans immediately tried to surrender. The rest, who did not have time to give up and tried to make an attempt to fight back, could not survive. All of them mowed down machine-gun fire. The scuttling Germans were overtaken by the Soviet soldiers, finishing off with a butt and a bayonet. Among them ran and Vanya, trying to find his grandfather. The fighters of the brigade in a few minutes found the body of his grandfather Matthew, who gave his life in order to deprive uninvited guests of life. After the shelling began, the commander of the German battalion realized that grandfather Matvey had led his soldiers to a dead end, and shot him from his browning. But then he himself was struck down by a long machine-gun burst sent to him by the Soviet shooter.

Pskov's “Ivan Susanin”, that’s what they called Matvey Kuzmin, was posthumously awarded the Star of Hero of the Soviet Union in May 1965 for his feat. He became the oldest of those Soviet heroes who were awarded such a high state award. And hundreds more of these “Ivanov Susanins” opposed the domination of the fascist evil in the territory of the Soviet Motherland.
Author:
3 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sirius
    Sirius 4 May 2011 20: 04
    +5
    Glory to the hero!
    I am ashamed that they shamed their Great Victory!
  2. Michael
    Michael 4 May 2011 21: 34
    +1
    Really ashamed.
  3. kopar
    kopar 20 December 2012 09: 20
    0
    Not a frail grandfather. Walk 25km. through the winter forest. At his age, this is serious. Even the younger Germans ran out of steam and could not provide decent resistance.
  4. YaMZ-238
    YaMZ-238 April 15 2015 12: 07
    0
    Here he is a real feat !!!

Подвиг деда Матвея Кузьмина

Сотни тысяч героев внесли неоценимый вклад в освобождение нашей Родины и всего мира от фашистского ига. Имена некоторых так и остались неизвестными. Но были и есть те, чьи имена остались для истории. Одним из таких героев является Матвей Кузьмин. Он не состоял в числе рядовых солдат по своему возрасту. Но, тем не менее, и он внес свой вклад в победу.

В феврале 1942 года немецкая горно-стрелковая дивизия должна была прорвать фронт и продвинуться в тыл Красной Армии на участке между Ленинградом и Псковом. Дело это было для немецкого командования трудновыполнимым из-за отсутствия четких ориентиров и карт местности, из-за труднопроходимых лесов. К тому же жестокие тридцатиградусные морозы сковывали движение, в такие морозы трудно приходилось не только солдатам, но и технике. Успех этой операции некоторые из военачальников немецкой армии ставили под сомнение. Необходимо пройти около шести километров по трудной местности и выйти к деревне Першино. Этот небольшой по протяженности марш-бросок немцам на тот момент времени можно было пройти за два часа, при условии, что они пойдут прямиком.

Подвиг деда Матвея Кузьмина



Командир немецкой колонны решил взять с собой проводника из тех, что жил в этой местности. В качестве проводника он выбрал хозяина избы, в которой был основан штаб немецкого батальона. Капитан, офицер батальона, однажды вечером сказал Матвею Кузьмичу, что он должен провести их самой короткой дорогой, за что будет поощрен деньгами. После некоторого раздумья Матвей Кузьмин согласился. Если бы тот немецкий офицер знал, что задумал старый колхозник Матвей, какую он немецким захватчикам приготовил погибель.

Когда выдался удобный момент, дед Матвей шепнул несколько слов своему внуку Ване, тот тут же собрался, вышел из избы, надел лыжи и помчался в лес. Через некоторое время вышел из колхозной деревушки немецкий батальон во главе с командующим офицером. Впереди колонны шел Матвей Кузьмин. Немецкий батальон, экипированный полным снаряжением, передвигался к намеченной цели вместо положенных двух часов несколько часов подряд. От такого марш-броска солдаты немецкого батальона были явно обессилены. Дед Матвей не повел их прямой дорогой, как обещал, а, введя их в заблуждение, провел немецких солдат обходными путями. Вместо положенных шести километров тем пришлось протопать около двадцати пяти километров.

На опушку леса фашистские оккупанты выйти смогли только под утро. Измученные ночным переходом немецкие солдаты чуть ли не падали с ног. Но вышли они совсем не к деревне Першино, как им было назначено. Вывел их дед Матвей к деревне Малкино, где их уже поджидала засада. Еще с вечера к встрече немецкого батальона горно-стрелковой дивизии были готовы бойцы 31-ой отдельной стрелковой бригады полковника Горбунова. Дед знал, куда надо вести фашистов. Он вел их на место засады, он верил в то, что его внук Ванечка успеет задолго до рассвета добраться до бойцов нашей дивизии, и заранее сказал ему, где следует сделать засаду.

Выйдя на опушку леса, немецкие солдаты во главе с офицером на минуту остановились перевести дух. Тишина в лесу стояла абсолютная, ничто не смело нарушать утреннюю тишину леса. Но тишину вдруг резко нарушил треск советских пулеметов и автоматов. Ошарашенные солдаты немецкого батальона, скованные ночной усталостью и страхом, от неожиданности не сумели даже сообразить о том, что случилось, не то что дать какой-то отпор. В первые же секунды начала обстрела полегло несколько десятков немцев. Некоторые из оставшихся в живых решили повернуть обратно в лес под укрытие деревьев. Огонь из пулеметов с флангов перекрыл им дорогу.

Всего около полутора сотен фашистских солдат полегло в снег у того леса. Около двадцати немцев тут же попытались сдаться в плен. Остальным же, не успевшим сдаться и пытавшимся предпринять попытку отбиваться, выжить не удалось. Всех их скосило огнем пулеметных очередей. Удирающих немцев догоняли советские солдаты, добивая прикладом и штыком. Среди них бежал и Ваня, пытаясь найти своего деда. Бойцы бригады через несколько минут обнаружили тело деда Матвея, отдавшего свою жизнь ради того, чтобы лишить незваных гостей жизни. После того, как начался обстрел, командир немецкого батальона понял, что дед Матвей завел его солдат в тупик, и расстрелял его из своего браунинга. Но тут же и сам был сражен длинной пулеметной очередью, посланной в него советским стрелком.

Псковский «Иван Сусанин», именно так прозвали Матвея Кузьмина, за свой подвиг посмертно был награжден Звездой Героя Советского Союза в мае 1965 года. Он стал самым старшим из тех советских героев, которые были удостоены такой высокой государственной награды. И еще сотни таких «Иванов Сусаниных» противостояли господству фашистской нечисти на территории Советской Родины.
Автор: Коваль Юрий


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 3
  1. Сириус 4 мая 2011 20:04
    Слава герою!
    Стыдно, что просрали их Великую Победу!
    Сириус
  2. Михаил 4 мая 2011 21:34
    Действительно стыдно.
    Михаил
  3. копарь 20 декабря 2012 09:20
    Не хилый дед.Пройти 25км. по зимнему лесу.В его возрасте-это серьезно.Даже более молодые немцы выдохлись и не смогли оказать достойное сопротивление.
  4. ЯМЗ-238 15 апреля 2015 12:07
    Вот он настоящий подвиг!!!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня