Military Review

How it started: “Bloody Easter” over Belgrade 70 years ago

5
How it started: “Bloody Easter” over Belgrade 70 years ago



Seventy years ago, Belgrade residents became victims of fighter raids by the Anglo-American aviation. On Orthodox Easter Day on April 16, 1944, US and British aircraft bombed Belgrade, the capital of Yugoslavia. This event has entered history called "Bloody Easter." Then, more than a thousand Serb civilians died ... Massive raids on the Yugoslav capital continued until September 18, 1944. The command of the Western allies justified the bombing of Belgrade with the need to destroy the large transport center of the German troops in the Balkans on the way to the war-ravaged Greece, as well as the large port on the Danube, which was used to transport oil from the Romanian fields to Germany.

However, blasphemous for the Serbs, who themselves fought the German occupiers, the choice of the date of commencement of the bombing, as well as the nature of the victims and the devastation, spoke of something else.

The main role in the bombings that began during Easter services was assigned to the American B-24 Liberator (Liberator) bombers, which were equipped with two-ton bombs. The 16 bombers took part in the April 600 raid. Air defense systems quickly tracked the aircraft and sent an air-raid alarm. However, residents of the city at the first moment poured into the streets, greeting the allied planes of the Yugoslav partisans. Rumors circulated among Belgrade that planes were flying to bomb Romanian oil terminals. However, the bombs began to fall on Belgrade.

And they fell not only and not so much on industrial and military transport facilities. Here are just a short list of targets hit by 16-17 on April 1944: the central quarters of Terrazia and Slavia, the central city streets of Princess Natalia, Milos the Great, Nemani, Sarajevo, New Market, People’s Theater, Zeleni Venac, a prison camp for Old Prisoners. In this camp, the Germans held prisoners of war of the Yugoslav People's Liberation Army. The victims of the bombing of the camp were about 150 people. As for the military facilities used by Germany, only one of them was destroyed - the building of the Belgrade Gestapo department. The loss of 16 on April 1944 of the civilian population of Belgrade amounted to about 1160 people, and among the Germans stationed in the Yugoslav capital about 200 people.

Remarkable detail. In the American military squadron that bombed Belgrade, four Serbian crews served. The command of the Allies gave them leave for the period of the bombing, without devoting pilots to their plans.

The bombings on the Orthodox Easter holiday caused bitterness and indignation among the Serbs. The then Patriarch of the Serbian Orthodox Church, Gabriel, declared that the Anglo-American coalition had lost its "sense of Christian love." It would be more accurate to ask when this feeling led the actions of American and British politicians at all. Note that at the time of Easter and Christmas, even the fighting of the partisans and the Germans, but not the Americans and the British, was suspended.

The bombing of Belgrade and the operational situation on the Yugoslav fronts were not dictated. By that time, there was a turning point in the fighting in favor of the partisans. In January-February, 1944, they broke through into the territory of Serbia and by April switched to conducting military operations against the Nazis and their accomplices practically throughout the entire Serbian territory.

A definite answer to the question of the reasons why the Anglo-American command began regular bombing of Belgrade since April 1994 lies in changing the balance of power in the Yugoslav people's liberation movement. By the beginning of 1944, his leadership had already developed the structure of the structure of the future power in post-war Yugoslavia. In particular, at the second meeting of the Anti-Fascist Popular Liberation Council of Yugoslavia (AVNOI) in November 1943 in the city of Jajce, it was decided that this particular assembly would be the highest authority in Yugoslavia until the end of the war. Its leadership includes members of the Communist Party of Yugoslavia, led by Marshal Josip Broz Tito. The people's liberation committees were recognized as the only legitimate authorities in the entire territory of Yugoslavia. At the same time, the Yugoslav government in exile, on which they were staking in Washington and London, was declared illegal, while King Peter II of Karageorgievich was forbidden to return to the country altogether.

And one more important moment. In December 1943, the leadership of the USSR declared its support for the decisions of AVNOY. And in February 1944, the Soviet mission arrived in Yugoslavia.

So in the spring of 1944, the United States and Great Britain began to consider Yugoslavia no longer as their ally in the fight against Nazi Germany, but as a future geopolitical adversary.

In Serbia itself, the victims of April 1944 of the year are traditionally commemorated in prayers, as are those killed in the even more terrible bombings of 1999 of the year. Both became victims of Western policies towards the Slavic peoples of South-Eastern Europe.
Author:
Originator:
http://www.fondsk.ru/news/2014/04/21/kak-eto-nachinalos-krovavaja-pasha-nad-belgradom-70-let-nazad-27104.html
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Alez
    Alez April 28 2014 08: 53
    +5
    The plan to destroy the Slavs and Christianity, as you can see, has been operating for a long time. They do not shun anything, they destroyed the civilian population under the guise of war. The Slavs are at war, and America is a mother.
  2. Ingvar 72
    Ingvar 72 April 28 2014 09: 47
    +3
    In 1999 also bombed for Easter. An accident? It is unlikely, more likely targeted mockery. am
  3. pinecone
    pinecone April 28 2014 10: 04
    +2
    On May 5, 1944, on the eve of St. George's Day, American aircraft bombarded the Montenegrin cities of Podgorica, Niksic and Danilovgrad.
    Some Serbian historians suggest that the objectives of the air raids in Yugoslav cities with the Orthodox population were determined by the military-political leadership of AVNOY, led by the Croatian Tito, in consultation with the British mission staff at his headquarters. Archives related to these events remain closed.
  4. serg_russ
    serg_russ April 28 2014 10: 10
    +3
    If the Germans remember correctly in 1941 also began the bombing of Yugoslavia on Easter?
    This is such a "continuity" ...
    1. Roman 1977
      Roman 1977 April 28 2014 13: 05
      +2
      The war of the Reich against the Kingdom of Yugoslavia (the German code name for the operation is "Operation Punishment") began on April 6, 1941. The commander of the 4th VF Oberst Alexander Ler personally received Hitler's order to erase Belgrade. As a result, in the first strike at 5:15 am, the planes first struck at the Petrovac airfield, then the Ju-87 "Stuka" at the government quarter and the royal palace. Well, the benefit was the blow of 160 Ju-88 and Do-17 on the power plant, the buildings of the Ministry of Defense, the General Staff, the military academy, the command of the gendarmerie and other military facilities. Then they bombed all day until nightfall in smaller groups of aircraft. A total of 360 tons of bombs were dropped. 714 buildings were destroyed, almost 9000 were damaged. 2770 civilians were killed and over 10000 wounded. As a result of the attack of Hitler's "Third Reich" on Belgrade, which had the status of an open city, hospitals and densely populated areas were destroyed and the building of the National Library of Serbia, built in 1832, was completely destroyed. It was the only national library deliberately destroyed during the Second World War, and the entire library stock, which consisted of some 350 books, including priceless medieval manuscripts, burned down in a fire caused by incendiary bombs. The Library also contained a collection of Turkish manuscripts, over 000 printed books of the 200th and 15th centuries, old maps, engravings, paintings, newspapers, as well as all the books published in Serbia and neighboring countries since 17.
      Yugoslav pilots and anti-aircraft gunners fought bravely, but the forces were not equal, so the commander of the 112 fighter squadron, the son of Russian White emigrants Konstantin Ermakov, when he ran out of ammunition, rammed and shot down a German Bf110 from II / ZG26 with his outdated English Hauker Fury fighter.

      Konstantin Ermakov and his Hawker Fury fighter
  5. Good cat
    Good cat April 28 2014 10: 19
    +1
    The strategy and tactics of our "partners and allies" have not changed over the years. They do not like to fight, bombing civilians is a favorite thing.
  6. pinecone
    pinecone April 28 2014 13: 13
    0
    Harris was only a zealous executor of instructions from Churchill and the London bankers who stood behind him.
  7. Cossacks
    Cossacks April 28 2014 13: 19
    +1
    The USA has a tradition of bombing Serbia like that. Perhaps it was impossible to Russian, and the Serbs are closest to us, well, at least somehow.
  8. silberwolf88
    silberwolf88 April 29 2014 01: 30
    +1
    The bombing of British and US aircraft in peaceful cities and objects during World War II was a war crime.

    It can be understood that in Berlin, the buildings occupied by the structures of the NSDAP, the RSHA, the Armed Forces were among residential quarters ... and civilian losses were inevitable BUT the barbaric bombing of hundreds of settlements that did not bear any strategic significance cannot be justified by the need for wartime.

    Yugoslavia is just one of many examples ... and the operation carried out with special cynicism.
  9. Zomanus
    Zomanus 2 May 2014 02: 21
    0
    Hmm. This should also be printed in textbooks. And then the younger generation is of the opinion that the Americans helped us with lend-lease and saved us from the Yap. Well, they helped Hitler to win. And by the way, not only young people have this. We have a fleet museum in Vladivostok, it seems so. Well, I went there recently to see an outdoor exposition. Cannons / tanks and other oversized items. And out of the corner of my ear I caught the story of the guide. Oh, how he licked amers' opa. And they gave us guns and provisions, and in general, if not for them, we would never have defeated the Germans with our ram weapons. This is the dude who is considered an expert and whose words people listen to. And, accordingly, the excursion looked like praising and licking amerovskih cannons, they simply gave up on our armament, as on "and other domestic slag." So more articles and films about atrocities are needed as fashionably. which were created by the Western "allies" during the war.

Как это начиналось: «Кровавая Пасха» над Белградом 70 лет назад

Как это начиналось: «Кровавая Пасха» над Белградом 70 лет назад


Семьдесят лет назад жители Белграда стали жертвами истребительных налётов англо-американской авиации. В день православной Пасхи 16 апреля 1944 года самолёты США и Великобритании подвергли бомбардировке столицу Югославии город Белград. Это событие вошло в историю под названием «Кровавая Пасха». Тогда погибли более тысячи мирных сербов… Массированные налеты на югославскую столицу продолжались до 18 сентября 1944 года. Командование западных союзников оправдывало бомбардировки Белграда необходимостью уничтожить крупный транспортный центр германских войск на Балканах на пути в охваченную боевыми действиями Грецию, а также крупный порт на Дунае, использовавшийся для переправки баржами в Германию нефти с румынских месторождений.

Однако кощунственный для сербов, которые сами вели борьбу с германскими оккупантами, выбор даты начала бомбардировок, а также характер жертв и разрушений говорили о другом.


Основная роль в начавшихся во время пасхальных богослужений бомбардировках отводилась американским бомбардировщикам B-24 Liberator («Освободитель»), оснащенным двухтонными бомбами. В налете 16 апреля участвовали порядка 600 бомбардировщиков. Системы ПВО оперативно отследили самолеты и подали сигнал воздушной тревоги. Однако жители города в первый момент высыпали на улицы, приветствуя самолеты союзников югославских партизан. Среди белградцев распространились слухи, что самолеты летят бомбить румынские нефтяные терминалы. Однако бомбы стали падать на Белград.

И падали они отнюдь не только и не столько на промышленные и военно-транспортные объекты. Вот лишь краткий перечень пораженных 16-17 апреля 1944 года целей: центральные кварталы Теразия и Славия, центральные городские улицы Княгини Натальи, Милоша Великого, Немани, Сараевская, Новый рынок, Народный театр, Зелени венац, лагерь для военнопленных в Старом Саймиште. В этом лагере немцы содержали пленных бойцов Народно-освободительной армии Югославии. Жертвами бомбардировки лагеря стали порядка 150 человек. Что же касается военных объектов, использовавшихся Германией, то среди них был разрушен лишь один - здание белградского отделения гестапо. Потери в результате бомбардировок 16 апреля 1944 года среди гражданского населения Белграда составили порядка 1160 человек, а среди расквартированных в югославской столице немцев – около 200 человек.

Примечательная деталь. В американской боевой эскадрилье, бомбившей Белград, несли службу четыре сербских экипажа. Командование союзников предоставило им отпуск на период бомбардировок, не посвятив лётчиков в свои планы.

Бомбардировки в праздник православной Пасхи вызвали горечь и возмущение среди сербов. Тогдашний патриарх Сербской Православной Церкви Гавриил заявил, что англо-американская коалиция утратила «чувство христианской любви». Точнее было бы спросить, когда это чувство вообще руководило действиями американских и британских политиков. Заметим, что на время Пасхи и Рождества приостанавливались даже боевые действия партизан и немцев, но только не американцев и англичан.

Не диктовались бомбардировки Белграда и оперативной обстановкой на югославских фронтах. К тому времени в боевых действиях наметился перелом в пользу партизан. В январе-феврале 1944 года они прорвались на территорию Сербии и к апрелю перешли к проведению военных операций против гитлеровцев и их пособников практически на всей сербской территории.

Определенный ответ на вопрос о причинах, по которым англо-американское командование с апреля 1994 года начало регулярные бомбардировкам Белграда, кроется в изменении расстановки сил в югославском народно-освободительном движении. К началу 1944 года его руководство уже разработало структуры устройства будущей власти в послевоенной Югославии. В частности, на втором заседании Антифашистского вече народного освобождения Югославии (АВНОЮ) в ноябре 1943 года в городе Яйце было решено, что именно данное вече будет являться высшим органом власти в Югославии до конца войны. В его руководство вошли члены Коммунистической партии Югославии во главе с маршалом Иосипом Броз Тито. Народно-освободительные комитеты были признаны единственными законными органами власти на всей территории Югославии. Одновременно югославское правительство в изгнании, на которое делали ставку в Вашингтоне и Лондоне, было объявлено незаконным, а королю Петру II Карагеоргиевичу вообще было запрещено возвращаться в страну.

И еще один немаловажный момент. В декабре 1943 года о своей поддержке решений АВНОЮ заявило руководство СССР. А в феврале 1944 года в Югославию прибыла советская миссия.

Так что весной 1944 года США и Великобритания стали рассматривать Югославию уже не как своего союзника в борьбе с нацистской Германией, а как будущего геополитического противника.

В самой Сербии погибшие в апреле 1944 года традиционно поминаются в молитвах, как и погибшие в еще более страшных бомбардировках 1999 года. И те и другие стали жертвами политики Запада по отношению к славянским народам Юго-Восточной Европы.

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 5
  1. Alez 28 апреля 2014 08:53
    План по уничтожению славян и христианства, как видно действует давно. Ничем не гнушаются, под шумок войны уничтожали мирное население. Славянам война, а Америке мать родна.
  2. Ингвар 72 28 апреля 2014 09:47
    В 1999г. тоже на пасху бомбили. Случайность? Вряд ли, скорее целенаправленное глумление. am
  3. pinecone 28 апреля 2014 10:04
    5 мая 1944г., накануне Дня Св Георгия, американская авиация подвергла массированной бомбардировке черногорские города Подгорица, Никшич и Даниловград.
    Некоторые сербские историки предполагают, что цели воздушных налетов по югославским городам с православным населением определялись военно-политическим руководством АВНОЮ во главе с хорватом Тито по согласованию с находившимися при его штабе сотрудниками британской миссии. Относящиеся к этим событиям архивы остаются закрытыми.
    pinecone
  4. serg_russ 28 апреля 2014 10:10
    Если не изменяет память немцы в 1941г. тоже начали бомбежки Югославии на Пасху?
    Вот такая "преемственность"...
    serg_russ
    1. Роман 1977 28 апреля 2014 13:05
      Война Рейха против Королевства Югославия (немецкое кодовое название операции — «Операция Наказание») началась 6 апреля 1941 года. Командующий 4-го ВФ оберст Александр Лер лично получил приказ Гитлера стереть Белград. В итоге в первом ударе в 5:15 сначала самолеты нанесли удар по аэродрому Петровац, далее уже Ju-87 "Штуки" по правительственному кварталу и королевскому дворцу. Ну, а бенефисом стал удар 160 Ju-88 и Do-17 по электростанции, зданиям министерства обороны, генштаба, военной академии, командования жандармерии и др. военные объекты. Потом бомбили еще весь день до ночи более мелкими группами самолетов. Всего сбросили 360 тонн бомб. Разрушили 714 зданий, почти 9000 получили повреждения. Погибло 2770 мирных жителеей и свыше 10000 ранено. В результате нападения гитлеровского «Третьего рейха» на Белград, который имел статус открытого города, были разрушены больницы и густонаселенные кварталы и полностью уничтожено здание Национальной библиотеки Сербии, построенное в 1832 году. Это была единственная национальная библиотека, преднамеренно уничтоженная во время Второй мировой войны, и в пожаре, вызванном зажигательными бомбами, сгорел весь библиотечный фонд, насчитывавший около 350 000 книг, включая и бесценные средневековые рукописи. В Библиотеке находилось и собрание турецких рукописей, свыше 200 печатных книг 15 и 17 веков, старинные карты, гравюры, картины, газеты, а также все книги, выпущенные в Сербии и соседних стран с 1832 года.
      Югославские летчики и зенитчики отважно сражались, но силы были не равны, так командир 112 истребительной эскадрильи, сын русских белоэмигрантов Константин Ермаков, когда у него закончились боеприпасы, своим устаревшим английским истребителем "Хаукер Фьюри" таранил и сбил немецкий Bf110 из II/ZG26.

      Константин Ермаков и его истребитель Hawker Fury
  5. Добрый кот 28 апреля 2014 10:19
    Стратегия и тактика наших "партнеров и союзников" не изменяется на протяжении многих лет. Воевать не любят, бомбить мирных жителей-любимое дело.
  6. pinecone 28 апреля 2014 13:13
    Харрис являлся лишь ревностным исполнителем указаний Черчилля и стоявших за ним лондонских банкиров.
    pinecone
  7. казаков 28 апреля 2014 13:19
    У США традиция такая бомбить Сербию. Возможно, нельзя было русских, а сербы наиболее нам близкие-ну хоть как-то.
  8. silberwolf88 29 апреля 2014 01:30
    Бомбардировки авиации Англии и США мирных городов и объектов во время второй Мировой войны носили характер военного преступления.

    Можно понять, что в Берлине здания занимаемые структурами НСДАП, РСХА, Вооружённых сил стояли среди жилых кварталов ... и потери мирного населения были неизбежны НО варварские бомбардировки сотен населённых пунктов не носивших никакого стратегического значения нельзя оправдать необходимостью военного времени.

    Югославия просто один из многих примеров ... причём операции проведённой с особым цинизмом.
  9. Zomanus 2 мая 2014 02:21
    Мда. Вот такое тоже надо в учебниках печатать. А то у молодого поколения складывается мнение, что американцы нам ленд-лизом помогали и от япов нас уберегали. Ну и помогли Гитлера победить. И кстати не только у молодых такое. Есть у нас во Владивостоке музей флота, кажется так. Ну зашел я туда недавно экспозицию на открытом воздухе посмотреть. Пушки/танки и прочие негабариты. И краем уха цепанул рассказ экскурсовода. Эх как он лизал опу амерам. И пушки они нам дали и провизию дали и вообще, если бы не они, мы бы своим овняным оружием никогда бы немцев не победили. Это чувак, который, который считается экспертом и к чьим словам прислушиваются люди. Ну и соответственно экскурсия выглядела как восхваление и облизывание амеровских пушек, на наше вооружение просто махнули рукой, как на "и прочий отечественный шлак". Так что нужно как модно больше статей и фильмов про бесчинства. которые творили западные "союзники" во время войны.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня