Military Review

Aleksey Berest, banner over the Reichstag

0
Aleksey Berest, banner over the Reichstag


Taking Berlin and hoisting the red flag over the Reichstag was the final solemn chord in the victory over Nazi Germany.

Fighting in Berlin were literally for every house. The Germans put up fierce resistance. The capture of any stronghold by our troops brought the end of the war closer. But the special object was, of course, the Reichstag.

Every fighter who participated in the storming of Berlin dreamed of hoisting the banner over the cradle of fascism, the Reichstag. But I was lucky to do this to the political officer, Lieutenant Alexei Berest, sergeant Mikhail Yegorov, and junior sergeant Meliton Kantaria. Why did several post-war generations know only two heroes of that memorable event - Egorov and Kantaria?

How was it really?

In the central part of Berlin, the Third Shock Army fought. Red banners with a five-pointed star and a sickle and hammer were made for each of its nine divisions. All banners had a number on the canvas near the flagpole. The flag with the number "5" received the 150-I Rifle Division. He was handed over to the political officer of the first battalion Berest Aleksey Prokopyevich.

Fights in the Reichstag were fought for every meter. And in the evening on April 30, its commander Zinchenko F.M. arrived at the division and immediately ordered to bring the banner and immediately install it on the dome of the building. Several fighters, following the order, ran into the back of the building, and then quickly returned. The reason for the return was explained by the complete darkness in the room. The soldiers asked to give them flashlights, since nothing is visible. Colonel Zinchenko, blushing, shouted: "Historical moment! Homeland, the whole world is waiting ... And you - flashlights? !! ​​" And he ordered the commander of the first battalion, Captain S. Neustroev, to immediately establish a banner. He, in turn, entrusted the fulfillment of this historical order to his political officer. Alexey Berest took with him about ten machine gunners. Sergeants Egorov and Kantaria were also with him. On the second floor, the fighters with the flag climbed the stairs, where they met resistance from a group of fascists. Having quickly eliminated them, they began to rise higher. The climb was not easy. As a result of shelling, almost nothing remained of the steps. The standard bearers, like real circus performers, stood on top of each other and climbed higher and higher. And the three of us climbed to the roof: Berest, Egorov and Kantaria. It was they who were destined to fulfill this historical mission. Looking around, they saw the equestrian statue of Kaiser Wilhelm and decided to tie the red banner to it. They tied it tightly with soldier's belts.
The next day, the Germans tried to dislodge our troops from the Reichstag building, but they did not succeed. And, as a result, the Germans were driven into the basement and forced to throw out the white flag. The Nazis asked to negotiate. But as a condition they demanded that they be led by the senior officer from the Soviet side, since there were a general and several colonels in the basement (there were Germans in all 1650).

It was the 2 of May. Col. Zinchenko FM already managed to leave. He needed to be at the command post. In the Reichstag among our fighters over the captain there was no one. Therefore, they decided to dress Lieutenant Berests a little and send him to the fascists for negotiations. He was given a new cap and leather jacket. Berest quickly filed a new turn-key and went to negotiate with his commander captain S. Neustroev. Only the commander here played the role of adjutant Beresta. Risking their lives, they, along with a very young fellow, Private Ivan Prigudov (translator), went to the lair of the armed fascists. After two hours of talks, Lieutenant Berest convinced the Germans of the need to immediately capitulate. As a result, dozens and maybe hundreds of lives of our soldiers were saved.

... Hoisting the red flag over the fascist Reichstag is a historical event. Photos of soldiers with posed against the backdrop of this flag were placed in many newspapers. And then it was a reason to ask for a reward. But it should be remembered that the banner was hoisted at night, and those heroes who did it were not up to photographs.
In the 1946 year, according to the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR, officers and sergeants who raised the flag over the Reichstag were awarded the title Hero of the Soviet Union. The lists include Captain Davydov, Sergeants Egorov and Kantaria, Captain Neustroyev, and Senior Lieutenant Samsonov. But Lieutenant Beresta was not on the lists ...

Captain Neustroyev, many years later, drove home to Berest and tried to give his Golden Star to a real hero, and he also wondered why this happened.

Alexey Berest's life after the war was not sweet either. He had to sit in jail for not keeping his nerves when the investigator questioned his fighting during the war. After such an insult, Berest threw the investigator along with the chair from the 2 floor.

And Berest died like a real hero, saving a child who fell under a train. He managed to save him, but he himself ... It happened in 1970.

And only in the 2005 year, sixty years after the war, A. P. Beresta was awarded the title Hero of Ukraine, posthumously.
Author:
Add a comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.

Алексей Берест, знамя над рейхстагом

Алексей Берест, знамя над рейхстагом


Взятие Берлина и водружение красного знамени над рейхстагом было заключительным торжественным аккордом в победе над гитлеровской Германией.

Бои в Берлине велись буквально за каждый дом. Немцы оказывали ожесточенное сопротивление. Взятие любого опорного пункта нашими войсками приближало окончание войны. Но особенным объектом был, естественно, рейхстаг.


Каждый боец, участвовавший в штурме Берлина, мечтал водрузить знамя над колыбелью фашизма – рейхстагом. Но посчастливилось это сделать политруку лейтенанту Алексею Бересту, сержанту Михаилу Егорову и младшему сержанту Мелитону Кантарии. Почему же несколько послевоенных поколений знало только двух героев того памятного события – Егорова и Кантарию?

Как же все было на самом деле?

В центральной части Берлина вела бои третья ударная армия. Для каждой из девяти ее дивизий были изготовлены красные знамена с пятиконечной звездой и серпом и молотом. Все знамена имели номер на полотне возле древка. Флаг с цифрой «5» получила 150-я стрелковая дивизия. Он был передан замполиту первого батальона Бересту Алексею Прокопьевичу.

Бои в рейхстаге велись за каждый метр. И вот вечером 30 апреля в дивизию приехал ее командир Зинченко Ф. М. и сразу же приказал принести знамя и немедленно установить его на куполе здания. Несколько бойцов, выполняя приказ, побежали в глубь здания, а потом быстро вернулись назад. Причину возвращения объяснили полной темнотой в помещении. Солдаты попросили выдать им фонарики, так как ничего не видно. Полковник Зинченко, краснея, закричал: «Исторический момент! Родина, весь мир ждет… А вы – фонарики?!!» И приказал командиру первого батальона капитану Неустроеву С. немедленно установить знамя. Тот, в свою очередь, поручил выполнить этот исторический приказ своему замполиту. Алексей Берест взял с собой человек десять автоматчиков. С ним были также сержанты Егоров и Кантария. На второй этаж бойцы с флагом поднялись по ступенькам, где встретили сопротивление группы фашистов. Быстро их ликвидировав, стали подыматься выше. Подъем был не простым. В результате артиллерийского обстрела от ступенек почти ничего не осталось. Знаменосцы, как настоящие циркачи, становились один на другого и лезли все выше и выше. А на крышу поднялись втроем: Берест, Егоров и Кантария. Именно им суждено было выполнить эту историческую миссию. Они, оглядевшись по сторонам, увидели конную статую кайзера Вильгельма и решили привязать красное знамя к ней. Привязали «намертво» солдатскими ремнями.
На следующий день немцы попытались выбить наши войска из здания рейхстага, но им это не удалось. И, в итоге, немцев загнали в подвал и вынудили выбросить белый флаг. Фашисты попросили провести переговоры. Но в качестве условия они выдвинули требование, чтоб с советской стороны их вел старший офицер, так как в подвале находились генерал и несколько полковников (всего там было 1650 немцев).

Это было 2-го мая. Полковник Зинченко Ф.М. уже успел уехать. Ему нужно было быть на командном пункте. В рейхстаге среди наших бойцов старше капитана никого не нашлось. Поэтому приняли решение немножко принарядить лейтенанта Береста и послать его на переговоры к фашистам. Ему дали новую фуражку и кожаную куртку. Берест быстро подшил новый подворотничок и пошел на переговоры вместе со своим командиром капитаном Неустроевым С. Только командир здесь играл роль адъютанта Береста. Рискуя жизнью, они вместе с совсем еще парнишкой рядовым Иваном Пригудовым (переводчиком) пошли в логово вооруженных фашистов. После двухчасовых переговоров лейтенант Берест убедил немцев в необходимости немедленно капитулировать. В результате были сохранены десятки, а может и сотни жизней наших солдат.

…Водружение красного знамени над фашистским рейхстагом – историческое событие. Фотографии с позировавшими солдатами на фоне этого флага помещались во многих газетах. А затем это служило поводом просить награды. Но следует помнить, что знамя водружалось ночью, и тем героям, кто это делал, не до фотографий было.
В 1946 году, согласно указу Президиума Верховного Совета СССР, офицерам и сержантам, которые подняли знамя над рейхстагом, было присвоено звание Героя Советского Союза. В списках есть капитан Давыдов, сержанты Егоров и Кантария, капитан Неустроев, старший лейтенант Самсонов. А лейтенанта Береста в списках не оказалось…

Капитан Неустроев, спустя много лет, заезжал домой к Бересту и пытался отдать свою Золотую звезду настоящему герою и тоже недоумевал, почему так получилось.

Жизнь Алексея Береста после войны тоже была не сладкой. Ему пришлось отсидеть в тюрьме за то, что не сдержал нервы, когда следователь усомнился в его боевых действиях во время войны. После такого оскорбления Берест выбросил следователя вместе с креслом со 2-го этажа.

А погиб Берест как настоящий герой, спасая ребенка, упавшего под поезд. Его спасти успел, а сам… Случилось это в 1970-м году.

И только в 2005 году, спустя шестьдесят лет после войны, Бересту А. П. присвоено звание Героя Украины, посмертно.
Автор: Думенко Вадим


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня