Military Review

M1 Abrams Block III Project (USA)

14
In the early eighties, the Pentagon began a research program aimed at creating promising equipment for the ground forces. It was supposed to create several new combat vehicles for various purposes, including the main tank. The tank, developed as part of the new program, was supposed to be a replacement for existing M1 Abrams combat vehicles. It was assumed that the first production Tanks The new model will enter the troops around the mid-nineties.




The aim of the project, which received the designation M1 Abrams Block III, was to create a promising main tank, which in its characteristics surpasses the existing equipment of this class. As the main methods of improving the characteristics, a new layout of the internal volumes of the corps, an uninhabited fighting compartment with an automatic weapon system, as well as the use of a number of new units of the power plant and electronic equipment were called. In addition, it was assumed that in the design of the new armored vehicle some units of existing tanks would be used, with the help of which it would be possible to simplify and cheapen the production of promising technology.

The main tank M1 Abrams Block III, as conceived by the designers of General Dynamics Land Systems, was supposed to have a radically new layout for American tank building. To increase the level of protection, it was proposed to increase the thickness of the upper front part of the body, as well as place it at a large angle to the vertical. Such an arrangement of the front of the hull made it possible to create a relatively large single volume to accommodate the entire crew. In front of the hull of a prospective tank, it was proposed to place the workplaces of three tankers side by side (commander, driver and gunner). With this, it was possible to improve the layout of the internal volumes of the hull, as well as to increase the level of protection of tankers.

In the middle part of the hull of the new tank should have been placed a tower with a gun, equipped with a set of automation. The latter was supposed to carry out loading and pointing guns at the crew commands. The proposal to create a uninhabited fighting department meant the development of the original automatic loader and a number of other equipment.

M1 Abrams Block III Project (USA)


The engine and transmission were to be placed in the rear of the hull. Such a placement of the power plant was tested in practice and would not require additional research.

In the middle of 1983, the construction of the first experimental machine, the SRV (Surrogate Research Vehicle), was completed. The SRV was designed to explore the new layout of the units inside the tank hull. The main objective of the SRV test was to work out the crew accommodation in a single volume in front of the hull. The basis for the experimental machine SRV was the chassis of the tank M1 Abrams. During the construction of the SRV base body has undergone significant changes. Due to the specific placement of the jobs of the three tankers had to significantly lengthen the front part of the body. The power plant and chassis remained the same. On the pursuit mounted weight imitator turret monitors assembly. According to some reports, the SRV was later equipped with a laser system, which allowed for preliminary studies of the characteristics of the gun.

Tests of the experimental SRV machine allowed to study the pros and cons of accommodating the crew in a single volume. The main advantage of this hull layout was the ability to provide a higher level of crew protection. In addition, the placement of other units was simplified. At the same time, the original location of the tank crews affected the complexity of the onboard equipment: the gunner and the commander needed relatively complex systems to monitor the situation and control the armament. However, these difficulties did not stop the project.



Crew accommodation and automatic loading system XM-91


At the end of testing the experimental machine SRV, the construction of a new prototype started. The basis for the experimental TTB prototype (Tank Test Bed) was the M1 Abrams tank chassis, refined based on the SRV test experience. The TTB machine also had a single volume for the crew in the front of the hull, but differed in units mounted on the tower chase. The new prototype was equipped with a combat module with an uninhabited fighting compartment and a smooth-bore M256 gun of caliber 120 mm installed on the original mounts.

Inside the body of the TTB car were units of automatic loader. 44 unitary projectile was proposed to be placed in a two-row carousel shop with a vertical arrangement of cells. At the command of the crew, the automatics had to remove the projectile of the desired type from the cell and feed it to the loading line.

It was proposed to place a piece of sighting equipment near the weapon. In view of the non-standard accommodation of the crew, a special system had to be developed using video cameras.

TTB prototype tests took place in the late eighties. Verification of the experimental vehicle showed that the proposed concept has great prospects and may be useful for creating new armored vehicles. Nevertheless, it was required to continue research and design work. Some elements of the perspective car needed further refinement.



At one of the stages of the M1 Abrams Block III project, there was a proposal concerning a significant increase in firepower. In the eighties, American gunsmiths worked on the project of a promising smooth-bore gun XM291, which had a caliber 140 mm. The gun itself, an automatic loader for it (XM91) and a family of 140-mm ammunition were developed as part of the ATAC project. Using the XM291 cannon could lead to a significant increase in the combat capabilities of tanks. So, the muzzle energy of the XM291 cannon was about twice that of the M256. In combination with the family of new ammunition, this was to significantly improve the performance of armored vehicles.

Having greater muzzle energy in comparison with the existing weaponsThe XM291 gun was noticeably lighter. The difference in weight XM291 and M259 exceeded 90 kg. The design of the 140-mm guns allowed the replacement of the barrel. After a relatively quick procedure (about an hour), a tank equipped with an XM291 cannon could use standard 120 caliber mm ammunition. Especially for use with this gun was created automatic loader XM91.

The development of the M1 Abrams Block III tank and a promising weapon for it continued until the early nineties. During the project, some success was achieved, and the new tank could get into the troops until the end of the decade. Nevertheless, the political situation in the world affected the fate of the project. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, the American and European military began to believe that the former potential enemy no longer posed a danger, and therefore reduced the cost of promising projects. A large number of programs were frozen, and some were closed. Among others, the project for the creation of a promising main tank came under reduction.


140-mm gun XM-291, which is part of the ATAS system of the US Army, with a bolt


All work on the M1 Abrams Block III project was suspended and then discontinued. It was decided to further develop the tanks along the path of improving the existing machines of the M1 Abrams family without any major design changes. One result of this approach to upgrading armored vehicles was the cessation of work on the 140-mm XM291 gun. Despite its high characteristics, it did not correspond to the views of the military on the modernization of tanks.



On the materials of the sites:
http://btvt.narod.ru/
http://jedsite.info/
http://ser-sarajkin.narod2.ru/
http://globalsecurity.org/
Author:
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. wanderer_032
    wanderer_032 April 30 2014 09: 18
    +3
    Considering that in the "arms race" there was and remains the rivalry of engineers, then of course it could be so that such promising models were created not only by Russian and American engineers, but also by engineers from other countries too.
    It's just that people have experience in operation and use, and they see how to build armored vehicles further.
    And naturally, such ideas arise in what is called parallel. After all, this field of activity in terms of the number of people engaged in the development of new armored vehicles is not so huge and immense.
    The world is small, and the armored world is doubly small. If not more ... laughing
    And who better succeed, this is still a big question ...
    At least everyone knows that in Russia, work on a promising machine is in full swing.
    That the same work is being done in other countries is also beyond doubt.
    It remains to be hoped that our "Armata" will be better, in all respects, more reliable and more inexpensive in cost than a promising MBT of a similar class from other world manufacturers.
    1. cosmos111
      cosmos111 April 30 2014 10: 42
      +1
      Quote: wanderer_032

      welcome hi
      It remains to be hoped that our "Armata" will be better, in all respects, more reliable and more inexpensive in cost,

      1. uninhabited tower in MBT, it is very expensive and not reliable (no optical visual channel))))
      2. In Russia there is no equipment and production, devices of "sutational awareness" they simply are NOT !!!!
      Now sanctions, embargoes are imposed on all dual-use equipment (((
      it’s cheaper to continue the Armata project with an inhabited tower, but with the removal of the BK from the fighting compartment ....
      or him, extra protection ....
      we also had a similar project T-95, but it did not receive further development ....
      1. vomag
        vomag April 30 2014 19: 23
        +2
        rather project 195 with a light hand, that's the current, I don’t know who the designers or the magazine can become T95 with all due respect hi
  2. tchoni
    tchoni April 30 2014 09: 33
    +4
    Particularly pleased with the location of the PTZ cameras with the NVD caterpillar shelves. It seems that when you turn the gun with the barrel down, they will be damaged.
  3. Georgich
    Georgich April 30 2014 10: 56
    +2
    From a large-caliber sniper you can shoot at the periscopes, then a bunch of grenades under the harp and on top a couple of cocktails. lol
    1. Klim2011
      Klim2011 April 30 2014 11: 15
      +4
      You are going to fight with a submarine
      shoot at periscopes
      with a rifle :)
  4. Klim2011
    Klim2011 April 30 2014 11: 11
    +3
    Now, in the event of a failure or failure of the charging machine, the crew is able to solve this problem relatively quickly on their own.
    An uninhabited tower with ammunition should be as isolated from the crew as possible (it should be in an armored capsule) in which case access to the AZ will be difficult or impossible?
    If so, then the "hero's hatch" should be in triplicate and not in one as now
    1. Argon
      Argon April 30 2014 15: 37
      +1
      The ammunition load in the turret is definitely a regressive step - it forces us to increase the booked volume, thereby increasing the mass of the vehicle and, accordingly, its cost. At the same time (as practice shows), the protection of the ammunition itself sharply decreases. At the same time, the consequences of its detonation differ little in their effect on the crew. from the place of its storage (taking into account the presence of high-explosive shells). In Chechnya, the tank was undermined by 2-3 152mm shells (land mine with radiodetonate), which were detonated generally outside the vehicle, at a distance of up to 1m from it. Thus, it is more rational to deal with the probability of detonation BC, than with its consequences, while this (presented in the article) layout is the most optimal, since it allows you to significantly increase the security of the "elevator" of the AZ.
  5. basil200
    basil200 April 30 2014 11: 26
    +12
    And where is the black man, how did they abandon the black man, yes this is racism
  6. vomag
    vomag April 30 2014 11: 53
    -2
    I don’t know about you, but to me the "black eagle" (at which640) seemed more promising was it not T95
    1. Tan4ik
      Tan4ik April 30 2014 16: 16
      -2
      Do you want to reveal a secret? It is the same...
      1. SAG
        SAG April 30 2014 23: 28
        +5
        Well, since you understand tanks at the "all the same" level, I would venture to suggest that a charming blonde named Tanya is hiding under the nickname Tan4ik?!?!
        P / S: I'm joking like that, no offense! wink hi
  7. vomag
    vomag April 30 2014 18: 37
    +3
    That current doesn’t need la-la under the T95 code, a completely different machine passes .... although though for such clever men everything is the same ...
  8. The comment was deleted.
  9. discripter
    discripter 1 May 2014 11: 51
    -5
    But when to make fittings, if they are to be made, they will shout at all the Russian zombie boxes about "having no analogue in the world" laughing laughter and only))
  10. dzau
    dzau 2 May 2014 04: 27
    0
    They’ll come to this anyway.

    Even if the "Armata" in the early modifications turns out to be unsuccessful and cactus-like, the development is necessary, the road will be mastered by the walking one.
  11. Morglenn
    Morglenn 5 May 2014 23: 41
    0
    ATAS.Smissed)
  12. Sergei75
    Sergei75 1 July 2014 00: 22
    0
    And why not foresee the location of the engine compartment in front in "Armata", because such an arrangement increases the protection of the crew, facilitates the loading of ammunition, will allow making heavy transporters on this platform, etc.
    And what other automatic loaders are there besides those used on the t-64 and t-72?

Проект M1 Abrams Block III (США)

В начале восьмидесятых годов Пентагон начал программу исследований, направленную на создание перспективной техники для сухопутных войск. Предполагалось создать несколько новых боевых машин различного назначения, в том числе и основной танк. Танк, разработанный в рамках новой программы, должен был стать заменой для существующих боевых машин M1 Abrams. Предполагалось, что первые серийные танки новой модели поступят в войска примерно в середине девяностых годов.

Проект M1 Abrams Block III (США)


Целью проекта, получившего обозначение M1 Abrams Block III, было создание перспективного основного танка, по своим характеристикам превосходящего существующую технику этого класса. В качестве основных методов повышения характеристик назывались новая компоновка внутренних объемов корпуса, необитаемое боевое отделение с автоматической системой вооружения, а также применение ряда новых агрегатов силовой установки и радиоэлектронного оборудования. Кроме того, предполагалось, что в конструкции новой бронемашины будут использоваться некоторые узлы существующих танков, при помощи чего можно было упростить и удешевить производство перспективной техники.


Основной танк M1 Abrams Block III, по задумке конструкторов компании General Dynamics Land Systems, должен был иметь кардинально новую для американского танкостроения компоновку. Для повышения уровня защиты предлагалось увеличить толщину верхней лобовой детали корпуса, а также разместить ее под большим углом к вертикали. Такая компоновка передней части корпуса позволяла создать сравнительно крупный единый объем для размещения всего экипажа. В передней части корпуса перспективного танка предлагалось бок о бок поместить рабочие места трех танкистов (командир, механик-водитель и наводчик). С помощью этого можно было улучшить компоновку внутренних объемов корпуса, а также повысить уровень защиты танкистов.

В средней части корпуса нового танка должна была размещаться башня с орудием, оснащенная комплектом автоматики. Последняя должна была осуществлять заряжание и наведение орудия по командам экипажа. Предложение о создании необитаемого боевого отделения подразумевало разработку оригинального автомата заряжания и ряда другого оборудования.

Проект M1 Abrams Block III (США)


Двигатель и трансмиссию предлагалось поместить в корме корпуса. Подобное размещение силовой установки было отработано на практике и не потребовало бы проведения дополнительных исследований.

В середине 1983 года завершилось строительство первой экспериментальной машины под названием SRV (Surrogate Research Vehicle). Машина SRV предназначалась для исследования новой компоновки агрегатов внутри танкового корпуса. Главной целью испытаний SRV была отработка размещения экипажа в едином объеме в передней части корпуса. Основой для экспериментальной машины SRV стало шасси танка M1 Abrams. При строительстве SRV базовый корпус претерпел заметные изменения. Из-за специфического размещения рабочих мест трех танкистов пришлось ощутимо удлинить переднюю часть корпуса. Силовая установка и ходовая часть остались прежними. На погоне смонтировали весовой имитатор башни лафетной компоновки. По некоторым данным, позже машину SRV оборудовали лазерной системой, позволившей провести предварительные исследования особенностей работы пушки.

Испытания экспериментальной машины SRV позволили изучить плюсы и минусы размещения экипажа в едином объеме. Главным преимуществом такой компоновки корпуса являлась возможность обеспечения более высокого уровня защиты экипажа. Кроме того, упрощалось размещение иных агрегатов. Одновременно с этим оригинальное расположение танкистов сказывалось на сложности бортового оборудования: наводчик и командир нуждались в сравнительно сложных системах для наблюдения за обстановкой и управления вооружением. Тем не менее, эти сложности не привели к остановке проекта.

Проект M1 Abrams Block III (США)
Проект M1 Abrams Block III (США)
Размещение экипажа и система автоматического заряжания ХМ-91


По окончании испытаний экспериментальной машины SRV стартовало строительство нового опытного образца. Основой для экспериментального прототипа TTB (Tank Test Bed) стало шасси танка M1 Abrams, доработанное с учетом опыта испытаний машины SRV. Машина TTB тоже имела единый объем для экипажа в передней части корпуса, но отличалась агрегатами, установленными на погоне башни. Новый прототип оснастили боевым модулем с необитаемым боевым отделением и гладкоствольной пушкой M256 калибра 120 мм, установленной на оригинальных креплениях.

Внутри корпуса машины TTB находились агрегаты автомата заряжания. 44 унитарных снаряда предлагалось помещать в двухрядный карусельный магазин с вертикальным расположением ячеек. По команде экипажа автоматика должна была извлекать снаряд нужного типа из ячейки и подавать его на линию заряжания.

Рядом с орудием предлагалось поместить часть прицельного оборудования. Ввиду нестандартного размещения экипажа пришлось разработать специальную систему с использованием видеокамер.

Испытания прототипа TTB прошли в конце восьмидесятых годов. Проверка экспериментальной машины показала, что предложенная концепция имеет большие перспективы и может быть полезной для создания новой бронетехники. Тем не менее, требовалось продолжать исследования и конструкторскую работу. Некоторые элементы перспективной машины нуждались в дальнейшей доводке.

Проект M1 Abrams Block III (США)


На одном из этапов проекта M1 Abrams Block III появилось предложение, касавшееся значительного повышения огневой мощи. В восьмидесятых годах американские оружейники работали над проектом перспективного гладкоствольного орудия XM291, имевшего калибр 140 мм. Сама пушка, автомат заряжания для нее (XM91) и семейство 140-мм боеприпасов разрабатывались в рамках проекта ATAC. Использование пушки XM291 могло привести к значительному росту боевых возможностей танков. Так, дульная энергия орудия XM291 была примерно вдвое больше, чем у M256. В сочетании с семейством новых боеприпасов это должно было значительно улучшить характеристики бронетехники.

Имея большую дульную энергию в сравнении с существующим оружием, пушка XM291 была заметно легче. Разница в весе XM291 и M259 превышала 90 кг. Конструкция 140-мм орудия допускала замену ствола. После сравнительно быстрой процедуры (около часа) танк, оснащенный пушкой XM291, мог бы использовать стандартные боеприпасы калибра 120 мм. Специально для использования с этой пушкой был создан автомат заряжания XM91.

Разработка танка M1 Abrams Block III и перспективного орудия для него продолжалась до начала девяностых годов. В ходе проекта были достигнуты некоторые успехи, и новый танк мог попасть в войска до конца десятилетия. Тем не менее, на судьбе проекта сказалась политическая обстановка в мире. После распада Советского Союза американские и европейские военные стали считать, что бывший потенциальный противник больше не представляет опасности, и поэтому сократили расходы на перспективные проекты. Большое количество программ было заморожено, а часть закрыта. Среди прочих под сокращение попал и проект создания перспективного основного танка.

Проект M1 Abrams Block III (США)
140-мм пушка ХМ-291, которая составляет часть системы АТАС сухопутных войск США, с затвором


Все работы по проекту M1 Abrams Block III были приостановлены, а затем прекращены. Дальнейшее развитие танков было решено вести по пути совершенствования имеющихся машин семейства M1 Abrams без каких-либо серьезных изменений конструкции. Одним из результатов такого подхода к обновлению бронетехники стало прекращение работ по 140-мм орудию XM291. Несмотря на высокие характеристики, оно не соответствовало взглядам военных на модернизацию танков.

Проект M1 Abrams Block III (США)


По материалам сайтов:
http://btvt.narod.ru/
http://jedsite.info/
http://ser-sarajkin.narod2.ru/
http://globalsecurity.org/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 14
  1. странник_032 30 апреля 2014 09:18
    Учитывая то что в "гонке вооружения" было и остаётся соперничество инженеров,то конечно могло быть и так,что такие перспективные образцы создавали не только русские и американские инженеры,но и инженеры др. стран тоже.
    Просто у людей есть опыт эксплуатации и применения, и они видят,как нужно дальше строить бронетехнику.
    И естественно что такие идеи возникают в что называется параллельно. Ведь эта сфера деятельности по количеству занятых разработкой новой бронетехники людей,не такая уж и огромная и необъятная.
    Мир тесен,а бронетанковый мир,тесен вдвойне. Если не больше... laughing
    А уж у кого лучше получится,это ещё большой вопрос...
    По крайней мере,всем известно что в России,работа над перспективной машиной идёт полным ходом.
    Что такие же работы идут в других странах,тоже не вызывает сомнений.
    Остаётся надеяться,что наша "Армата" будет лучше,по всем параметрам,надёжней и более недорогим по стоимости, чем перспективный ОБТ подобного класса от др.мировых производителей.
    странник_032
    1. cosmos111 30 апреля 2014 10:42
      Цитата: странник_032

      приветствую hi
      Остаётся надеяться,что наша "Армата" будет лучше,по всем параметрам,надёжней и более недорогим по стоимости,

      1. необитаемая башня в ОБТ,это очень дорого и не надежно(нет оптического визуального канала))))
      2.в России нет оборудования и производства,приборов " сутуационной осведомленности" их просто НЕТ!!!!
      сейчас санкции,эмбарго наложены,на всё оборудование двойного назначения(((
      дешевле ,продолжить проект ,,Армата,,с обитаемой башней,но с выносом БК из боевого отделения....
      или его,дополнительной защитой....
      у нас ,так же существовал подобный проект Т-95,но дальнейшего развития он не получил....
      1. vomag 30 апреля 2014 19:23
        вернее проект 195 с легкой руки вот тока я не знаю кого может конструкторов или журналюг ставший т95 со всем уважением hi
  2. tchoni 30 апреля 2014 09:33
    Особенно радует расположение поворотных камер внешнего обзора нв нвдгусеничными полками. Такое ощущение, что при повороте пушки с опущенным стволом они будут повреждены.
  3. Георгич 30 апреля 2014 10:56
    Из крупнокалиберной снайперки можно пострелять по перископам , потом связку гранат под гусли и сверху пару коктелей .Во растащило ! lol
    Георгич
    1. Klim2011 30 апреля 2014 11:15
      Вы с подводной лодкой собрались воевать
      пострелять по перископам
      с винтовкой :)
  4. Klim2011 30 апреля 2014 11:11
    Сейчас в случае отказа или сбоя автомата заряжения экипаж в состоянии своими силами относительно оперативно решить эту проблему.
    Необитаемая башня с боекомплектом должна быть максимально изолированна от экипажа ( он должен быть в броне капсуле) в таком случае доступ к АЗ будет затруднен либо невозможен?
    Если так то "люк героя" должен быть в трех экземплярах а не в одном как сейчас
    1. Argon 30 апреля 2014 15:37
      Боекомплект в башне,однозначно,шаг регрессивный-заставляет увеличивать забронированный объем,тем самым увеличивая массу машины,а соответственно ее стоимость.При этом(как показывает практика)защищенность самого БК резко снижается.В тоже время последствия его детонации мало отличаются по воздействию на экипаж от места его хранения(принемая во внимание наличие фугасных снарядов).В чечне танк подрывался 2-3мя 152мм снарядами(фугас с радиодетонатом)подрыв которых происходил вообще за пределами машины,на растоянии до 1м от нее.Таким образом более рационально бороться с вероятностью детонации БК,чем с ее последствиями,при этом данная(представленная в статье)компоновка является наиболее оптимальной,т.к.позволяет значительно увеличить защищенность"элеватора"АЗ.
  5. basil200 30 апреля 2014 11:26
    А где же негр, как они отказались от негра, да это же расизм
  6. vomag 30 апреля 2014 11:53
    Не знаю как вам а мне "черный орел"(эт который640) более перспективным казался не же ли т95
    1. Tan4ik 30 апреля 2014 16:16
      Хочешь открою тайну? Это одно и тоже...
      1. SAG 30 апреля 2014 23:28
        Ну поскольку в танках вы разбираетесь на уровне "все одинаковые", рискну предположить, что под ником Tan4ik скрывается очаровательная блондинка с именем Таня?!?!
        P/S: это шутю я так, без обид! wink hi
        SAG
  7. vomag 30 апреля 2014 18:37
    Вот тока не надо ля-ля под шифром т95 проходит совсем другая машина....хотяяя для таких умников все едино...
  8. Комментарий был удален.
  9. discripter 1 мая 2014 11:51
    Зато когда изготовять армату, если таки изготовять - будут по всем росийским зомбоящикам кричать про "неимеющееаналоговвмире" laughing смех да и только))
    discripter
  10. dzau 2 мая 2014 04:27
    Все равно к этому придут.

    Даже если "Армата" в ранних модификациях окажется неудачной и кактусоподобной - разработка нужная, дорогу осилит идущий.
    dzau
  11. Morglenn 5 мая 2014 23:41
    АТАС.Улыбнуло)
  12. Sergei75 1 июля 2014 00:22
    А почему в "Армате" не предусмотреть расположение моторно трансмиссионного отделения впереди,ведь такая компоновка увеличивает защиту экипажа, облегчает загрузку боезапаса, позволит на этой платформе делать тяжёлые транспортеры и т.д..
    А какие ещё есть автоматы заряжания помимо используемых на т-64 и т-72?

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня