Military Review

The battle on the river Yalu. Part of 2

5
Battle


The ratio of forces. The Eastern detachment of the Manchurian army under the command of General Mikhail Ivanovich Zasulich at the turn of the river Yalu consisted in the battle attitude of selected military units. It included the 3 and 6 East Siberian rifle divisions with their artillery brigades (2 Siberian Army Corps) - 20 rifle battalions and 62 field guns. In addition, the detachment included the Trans-Baikal Cossack Brigade, the Argun and Ussuri Cossack regiments (there are hundreds of 24 Cossacks in total), the engineer company and the telegraph team. Total detachment consisted of 20-23 thousand people.

The Japanese 1 army under the command of General Kuroki consisted of three divisions: 2-I and 12-I infantry divisions and guards. The divisions included 48 battalions, 15 squadrons and 180 guns (according to other sources - 128 guns). In total, more than 60 thousands of Japanese soldiers were concentrated in the area of ​​the city of Yingzhou (Yizhu). In addition, the army Kuroki constantly replenished. When the army was also more than 16 thousand. Porters (they replaced the military transport). The 1 Army was faced with the task of pushing Russian barrage forces from the border and opening the way to South Manchuria.

At the same time, the Japanese 2nd Army under the command of Yasukata Oku was in the Tsinampo area in full readiness for the passage by sea and landing on the Liaodong Peninsula. The army was waiting for the order of Commander-in-Chief Marshal Iwao Oyama. The commander-in-chief could give such an order only if the 1st Army successfully broke through the Yalu River and blocked the Russian fleet in Port Arthur.

The location of the troops. On April 18, the commander of the Eastern detachment, General Zasulich, received an order from the Manchurian army commander Kuropatkin to make it difficult for the Japanese troops to cross the Yalu and further advance through the Feishunlin mountain range. In addition, it was necessary to find out the purpose and direction of the Japanese. At the same time, Zasulich had to avoid a decisive battle with superior enemy forces and, with strong pressure, retreat to the main forces of the Manchurian army against Liaoyang. Thus, the Russian command underestimated the strategic importance of the line on the Yalu River. The Japanese army was not going to stop at a convenient turn for defense. So, the river Yalu did not have fords, it could be forced only on watercrafts. There was a ford on the tributary of Yalu River, the Eijo (Ayhe), but only the cavalry could cross it. And the Japanese cavalry was a weak point.

The lack of reliable information about the disposition of the enemy’s forces did not allow Zasulich to calculate the direction of the main strike of the 1 Army and correctly position the Russian troops. Zasulich's eastern squad was scattered almost on the 100-kilometer stretch. In the place where the main forces of the Japanese army were concentrated, about half of the Eastern detachment was located. Thus, 10 battalions, 5 equestrian hunting teams, 32 guns and 8 machine guns held defenses at the Sakhodzy - Turenchen position. A regiment with 6 guns, which advanced a battalion with 1 guns to Chingou 4, was stationed in the Potetynzy area. The right flank was covered with cavalry. Behchitsky detachment was located behind the left flank of the position, at the mouth of the Ambihe River, and then the Yalu River was equipped with horse patrols. Tenzy had a reserve near the village - 5 battalions and 8 guns. The remaining parts were stretched north along the river.

The Russian position on the right bank of the Yalu River was very convenient for defense. The right, mountainous shore towered above the lowlands of the left bank. With a sufficient number of troops and good engineering equipment, these positions could become unapproachable for the Japanese or extremely difficult for a breakthrough. However, here the contempt of the generals for military innovations fully affected. Opportunities to strengthen the position, which gave nature, were not used. Contempt for the trenches led to the fact that they built only a few mouths. In addition, they were almost not disguised and open, not protected from shrapnel fire. The guns were located openly on the mountain slopes facing the enemy. This gave the Japanese the opportunity to visually detect the Russian artillery positions even before the start of the battle. Artillery reconnaissance did not hold. The soldiers did not mask their presence, and the Japanese could easily identify the Russian positions. Due to the stretching of forces, the depth of defense was low. Moreover, because of the lack of roads, forested mountains and ravines, the maneuver of the troops was difficult. In such circumstances, the connection was of great importance. But the Japanese interrupted the telegraph communication established along the stretched front of the Eastern detachment at the first contact.

Assessing the situation, General Kuroki decided to strike with all his might on the Turenchenskiy plot. Japanese intelligence agents and agents (the Japanese widely used the Chinese and Koreans for espionage) found that above the mouth of the Eijo River, which flowed into Yalu, the Russian command only monitors with equestrian trips. The crossing here of significant forces allowed to cover the Turenchen position of the Russian detachment from the flank. Therefore, in this direction, two divisions were advancing - Guards and 12. The bypass maneuver should have been done by the 12 Division. After the first success, Kuroki hoped to go to the rear of the Russian detachment, cut him off from the main forces of the Manchurian army and destroy, and then move to Fynghuanchen, ensure the landing and deployment of the 2 Army Oka in Bitszyo. The Japanese were able to keep secret the main direction of the strike and ensure complete superiority in forces. For the offensive on the Turenchensk area, the Japanese command created a fivefold superiority in the infantry and threefold in artillery.

The battle on the river Yalu. Part of 2


The battle. On the night of April 26, Japanese troops captured the islands of Kiuri and Xiamalindu. The Russian hunting teams that occupied them were ousted. By April 29, the Japanese completed the construction of several crossings and placed on the islands a few strong artillery batteries, which provided for the crossing of troops. Japanese gunners had maps with Russian positions on them on the other side of the Yalu River. The right-flank 12 Division was advanced to the Eihe River, west of Husan. She received the task to cover the left flank of the Russian squad.

On the night of May 1, the main forces of the Japanese army crossed the river. It must be said that the crossing took place with complete silence on the Russian batteries, which surprised the Japanese very much. From the Russian position did not make a single shot. The Japanese thought that the Russians were withdrawing or wanting to launch a volley into the support. Only after the Japanese began to build a pontoon bridge, did the Russian gunners try to prevent this. However, their positions, which were completely open, quickly covered. Russian batteries were silent.

Early in the morning the Japanese artillery conducted a strong artillery preparation. The fire led 20 howitzers and 72 field guns. Many guns fired on the opposite shore, aimed fire, on previously identified Russian positions. Then all three Japanese divisions went on the attack. They lined up in columns, covered with thick chains of shooters. On the front, in the 10 km, there were only 5 infantry battalions and 2 hunting teams with 15 field guns and 8 machine guns. The Japanese attacked in thick formations, and only because of the weakness of the enemy’s rifle-artillery fire and the lack of mountain artillery among the Russians, they suffered rather small losses.

By 8 hours, the Japanese forces forced the Russians to retreat from Turenchen, and another hour later the forces of the Guards Division occupied Petytonza. At the same time, the 12 Division forced Eihe and cut the only road to Chingou, covering the left flank of the Russian position. The Russian cavalry detachment, which covered the left wing of the Russian position on Yalu, instead of trying to strike at the flank and rear of the enemy forces, retreated for no apparent reason. General M.I. Zasulich, and not thinking about the counterattacking actions (he showed extreme confusion that day) and, under the threat of encirclement, gave the order for the general retreat of the Eastern detachment.

To cover the retreating troops, two battalions and 8 guns of the 11 East Siberian Regiment were advanced from the reserve. They occupied the height of 84. The fighters of the 11 East Siberian Rifle Regiment covered themselves with eternal glory that day. Allowing other troops to get out of attack, the 11 th East Siberian Regiment stood to death and was surrounded. The field battery and machine-gun company fought to the last and "lay bones." The brave commander of the regiment and almost the entire 3 battalion fell to death. Correcting the mistakes of command, two battalions of Siberian riflemen half a day held back the onslaught of almost two Japanese divisions. The remnants of the regiment in the 4 hour of the day went to break through the ring of encirclement and hit the bayonets. The Japanese did not accept hand-to-hand combat, and the Siberian riflemen were able to break through into the mountain gorge. The enemy pursued Russian soldiers, but ran into an ambush, lost many people and withdrew. Only a few dozen soldiers and two company commanders remained from the regiment.



Results

The Eastern detachment retreated in disarray to the Fenshulylinsky Range, losing most of the guns. The Japanese troops, following in the wake of the Eastern Detachment, advanced into the Fynhuangchen area. The Croek 1 Army completed its initial combat mission.

Zasulich’s squad lost around 2780 people (according to other sources, 55 officers and 2122 soldiers) killed, wounded, captured and missing. The 21 field gun and all 8 machine guns were lost. The guns could not be taken out of positions, as the sledge horses were killed by enemy fire, and the gunners brought the guns down. Japanese troops lost 1036 people (according to their data). Apparently, the Japanese losses are somewhat underestimated.

The defeat of the Russian troops was caused by several reasons. Poor intelligence was established. Positions were not prepared in engineering. Zasulich did not use Kuroki’s slowness and excessive caution to regroup his forces, he was mistaken with the main direction of the opponent’s strike - he was waiting for him at Sakhoza. The Eastern detachment was stretched for a long distance, and only about 25 thousand people fought against the strike force of the Japanese army in 30-8 thousand. When it turned out the direction of the main strike of the enemy, the Russian command did not try to tighten all forces to the threatened sector and go to the counteroffensive, use cavalry for strikes in the flank and rear of the enemy. Zasulich did not create a number of rear and intermediate positions, relying on which it was possible to use the tactics of the mobile defense, inflicting serious damage to the superior forces of the enemy (this tactic was used by the Boers in the war with the British). In addition, Zasulich’s initiative was suppressed by the commander of the Manchurian army, Kuropatkin, who gave a lot of instructions, often very petty. As a result, Zasulich acted extremely indecisively, sluggishly and passively (he also acted in the future).

The defeat on the Yalu River was of strategic importance. The Japanese 1-I army overturned the Eastern detachment and broke into operational space. The Japanese cleared a convenient route to southern Manchuria and took the first step to seize the strategic initiative on the land theater. Now, almost the entire southern coast of the Liaodong Peninsula was open for the landing of landing forces. The Japanese command had the opportunity to proceed to the siege of Port Arthur. Having advanced to Fynhuangchen, Kuroki’s army bound Kuropatkin’s Manchurian army and fully ensured the landing and deployment of 2 and 3 of the Japanese armies.

In addition, the first victory on land, albeit over insignificant Russian forces, greatly raised the morale of the Japanese army. The Japanese had not yet encountered the Russians in battle (they did not fight with the first-class European army), and this experience played a large positive role for further hostilities.

At the same time, the first defeat on land undermined the morale of the Russian army. On the one hand, it was positive that the Russian command ceased to suffer hats and moods. The Japanese showed themselves to be a skilled and dangerous adversary. An understanding of the advantages of fire over bayonet strikes, the need to construct field fortifications and the location of artillery in closed positions has come. On the other hand, it was bad that now the Russian command began to overestimate the enemy. Mania flank rounds became the scourge of the Russian command.

Author:
Articles from this series:
Battle of the Yalu River
The battle on the river Yalu. Part of 2
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. nnz226
    nnz226 14 May 2014 13: 34
    +1
    The tsar is responsible for the stupidity of the tsarist generals! Therefore, after 13 years he flew off the throne! Like shovel dung! And there is nothing to lament about the "innocent murdered!"
    1. KOMA
      KOMA 14 May 2014 16: 09
      +1
      I fully agree with the previous speaker!
  2. Free wind
    Free wind 14 May 2014 17: 07
    0
    Pontoon ferry !!!!!!! I had never thought that they already existed then. our people perished, and it’s very bad that the commanders idiocy.
  3. navigator
    navigator 14 May 2014 21: 06
    0
    It is interesting. Unfortunately, the Russian Empire has an extremely low level of training of command and personnel. Cossack units have historically not been distinguished by combat qualities — punitive and partisan operations — their profile. It is very difficult for them to fight with a regular army.
  4. Beck
    Beck 15 May 2014 01: 26
    +1
    Yeah.

    And there were good relations between Russia and Japan.

    The port of Vladivostok, in those days and even now, was not year-round; in winter it froze for 3-4 months. Therefore, in the winter months, the Pacific Fleet of Russia stood in the ice-free waters of the port Nagasaki.

    After the Sino-Japanese War of 1894, the port of Lushunkou (Port Arthur), on the Kwantung Peninsula, passed to Japan. But due to the Triple Intervention, Russia, France, Germany in 1895, Japan gave the port to China. In 1897, taking advantage of China's weakness after the war with Japan, Germany and Russia, by secret agreement, set up their bases. Russia introduced its ships to Lushunkou and from that moment Russian Port Arthur appeared. The Germans occupied Qingdao.

    By the beginning of the 20th century, Japan had become so strong that it began to claim colonial division. By that time, Manchuria was a dependent Russian territory. Japan proposed to divide the spheres of influence - northern Manchuria remained with Russia, while the southern one was supposed to become dependent on Japan. Russia rejected repeated offers.

    This was the reason for the Russo-Japanese war of 1904-1905. The division of spheres of influence between the colonial powers.
  5. Ross
    Ross 15 May 2014 11: 57
    0
    Quote: navigator
    It is interesting. Unfortunately, the Russian Empire has an extremely low level of training of command and personnel. Cossack units have historically not been distinguished by combat qualities — punitive and partisan operations — their profile. It is very difficult for them to fight with a regular army.

    As for the Cossack units, you are wrong! In the First World Cossack units proved to be extremely excellent. Plastunks of Denikin terrified the Turks in the Caucasus and elsewhere on the front, the Cossacks showed themselves in battle from the best side.

Сражение на реке Ялу. Часть 2

Сражение

Соотношение сил. Восточный отряд Маньчжурской армии под командованием генерала Михаила Ивановича Засулича на рубеже реки Ялу состоял в боевом отношении из отборных воинских частей. В него входили 3-я и 6-я Восточно-Сибирские стрелковые дивизии с их артиллерийскими бригадами (2-й Сибирский армейский корпус) — 20 стрелковых батальонов и 62 полевых орудия. Кроме того, в состав отряда входили Забайкальская казачья бригада, Аргунский и Уссурийский казачьи полки (всего 24 казачьих сотни), саперная рота и телеграфная команда. Всего отряд насчитывал 20-23 тыс. человек.

Японская 1-я армия под началом генерала Куроки состояла из трёх дивизий: 2-я и 12-я пехотные дивизии и гвардия. В составе дивизий было 48 батальонов, 15 эскадронов и 180 орудий (по другим данным — 128 орудий). Всего в районе города Инчжоу (Ичжу) было сосредоточено более 60 тысяч японских солдат. К тому же армия Куроки постоянно пополнялась. При армии также было более 16 тыс. носильщиков (они заменяли военный транспорт). Перед 1-й армией стояла задача оттеснить русские заградительные силы от границы и открыть дорогу в Южную Маньчжурию.


Одновременно японская 2-я армия под командованием Ясукаты Оку находилась в районе Цинампо в полной готовности для перехода морем и десантирования на Ляодунский полуостров. Армия ждала приказа главнокомандующего маршала Ивао Ояма. Главнокомандующий мог отдать такой приказ только в случае успешного прорыва 1-й армии через реку Ялу и блокирования русского флота в Порт-Артуре.

Расположение войск. 18 апреля командир Восточного отряда генерал Засулич получил приказ командующего Маньчжурской армией Куропаткина затруднить японским войскам переправу через Ялу и их дальнейшее продвижение через Фейшунлинский горный хребет. Кроме того, необходимо было выяснить цели и направление движения японцев. При этом Засулич должен был избежать решительного сражения с превосходящими войсками противниками и при сильном давлении отступать к главным силам Маньчжурской армии к Ляояну. Таким образом, русское командование недооценило стратегическую важность рубежа на реке Ялу. Японскую армию не собирались останавливать на удобном для обороны рубеже. Так, река Ялу не имела бродов, её можно было форсировать только на плавсредствах. На притоке Ялу реке Эйхо (Айхэ) брод был, но через него могла переправиться только конница. А кавалерия у японцев была слабым местом.

Отсутствие достоверной информации о расположении сил противника не позволило Засуличу вычислить направление главного удара 1-й армии и правильно расположить русские войска. Восточный отряд Засулича был разбросан почти на 100-километровом участке. В месте сосредоточения главных сил японской армии располагалось около половины Восточного отряда. Так, на позиции Саходзы — Тюренчен оборону держали 10 батальонов, 5 конно-охотничьих команд, 32 орудия и 8 пулеметов. В районе Потетынзы расположили полк с 6 орудиями, который выдвинул в Чингоу 1 батальон с 4 орудиями. Правый фланг прикрывался конницей. За левым флангом позиции, у устья реки Амбихэ, был расположен отряд Лечицкого, а далее течение рек Ялу стояли конные дозоры. У села Тензы располагался резерв — 5 батальонов и 8 орудий. Остальные части были растянуты к северу по реке.

Русская позиция на правом берегу реки Ялу была очень удобной для обороны. Правый, гористый берег возвышался над низменностью левобережья. При достаточном количестве войск и хорошем инженерном оборудовании эти позиции могли стать для японцев неприступными или крайне сложными для прорыва. Однако тут в полной мере сказалось презрение части генералитета к военным новшествам. Возможности укрепления позиции, которые дала природа, не были использованы. Презрение к окопам привело к тому, что их соорудили только на несколько рот. К тому же они были почти не замаскированы и открыты, не защищены от шрапнельного огня. Орудия были расположены открыто на горных скатах, обращенных к неприятелю. Это давало японцам возможность визуально обнаружить русские артиллерийские позиции ещё до начала боя. Артиллерийскую разведку не провели. Солдаты не маскировали своё присутствие, и японцы легко могли определить русские позиции. Из-за растянутости сил глубина обороны была низкой. К тому же из-за бездорожья, заросших лесом гор и оврагов маневр войск был затруднен. В таких условиях связь имела огромное значение. Но японцы прервали телеграфную связь, установленную по растянутому фронту Восточного отряда, при первом же соприкосновении.

Оценив обстановку, генерал Куроки решил нанести удар всеми силами на Тюренченском участке. Японские разведчики и агенты (японцы широко использовали китайцев и корейцев для шпионажа) установили, что выше устья реки Эйхо, которая впадала в Ялу, русское командование ведёт наблюдение только с помощью конных разъездов. Переправа здесь значительных сил позволяла охватить с фланга Тюренченскую позицию русского отряда. Поэтому на этом направлении наступали две дивизии — гвардейская и 12-я. Обходной маневр должна была сделать 12-я дивизия. После первого успеха Куроки надеялся выйти в тыл к русскому отряду, отрезать его от главных сил Маньчжурской армии и уничтожить, а затем двигаться к Фынхуанчену, обеспечить высадку и развертывание 2-й армии Оку в Бицзыво. Японцы смогли сохранить в секрете главное направление удара и обеспечить полное превосходство в силах. Для наступления на Тюренченском участке японское командование создало пятикратное превосходство в пехоте и трехкратное — в артиллерии.

Сражение на реке Ялу. Часть 2


Бой. В ночь на 26 апреля японские войска захватили острова Киури и Сямалинду. Занимавшие их русские охотничьи команды были вытеснены. К 29 апреля японцы завершили сооружение нескольких переправ и расположили на островах несколько сильных артиллерийских батарей, которые обеспечивали переправу войск. Японские артиллеристы имели карты с нанесенными на них русскими позициями на другом берегу реки Ялу. Правофланговая 12-я дивизия была выдвинута к реке Эйхэ, западнее Хусана. Она получила задачу охватить левый фланг русского отряда.

В ночь на 1 мая основные силы японской армии форсировали реку. Надо сказать, что переправа проходила при полном молчании русских батарей, что очень удивило японцев. С русских позиций не сделали ни одного выстрела. Японцы посчитали, что русские отходят или хотят произвести залп в упор. Только после того как японцы стали наводить понтонный мост, русские артиллеристы попытались помешать этому. Однако их позиции, которые были полностью открыты, быстро накрыли. Русские батареи замолчали.

Ранним утром японская артиллерия провела сильную артподготовку. Огонь вели 20 гаубиц и 72 полевых орудия. Многие орудия вели по противоположному берегу прицельный огонь, по заранее выявленным русским позициям. Затем все три японские дивизии пошли в атаку. Они построились в колонны, прикрытые густыми цепями стрелков. На фронте в 10 км против них было всего 5 батальонов пехоты и 2 охотничьи команды при 15 полевых орудиях и 8 пулеметах. Японцы наступали в густых построениях, и только благодаря слабости ружейно-артиллерийского огня противника и отсутствию у русских горной артиллерии они понесли довольно небольшие потери.

К 8 часам японские войска вынудили русских отступить из Тюренчена, и ещё через час силами гвардейской дивизии заняли Потетынзу. Одновременно 12-я дивизия форсировала Эйхэ и перерезала единственную дорогу на Чингоу, охватывая левый фланг русской позиции. Русский конный отряд, который прикрывал левое крыло русской позиции на Ялу, вместо того, чтобы попытаться нанести удар во фланг и тыл форсирующим реку войскам врага, без видимой причины отступил. Генерал М.И. Засулич, и не думая об контратакующих действиях (он проявил в этот день крайнюю растерянность) и под угрозой окружения отдал приказ об общем отступлении Восточного отряда.

Для прикрытия отступающих войск из резерва выдвинули два батальона и 8 орудий 11-го Восточно-Сибирского полка. Они заняли высоту 84. Бойцы 11-го Восточно-Сибирского стрелкового полка в этот день покрыли себя вечной славой. Давая возможность другим войскам выйти из под удара, 11-й Восточно-Сибирский полк стоял насмерть и попал в окружение. Полевая батарея и пулеметная рота дрались до последнего и «легли костьми». Пали смертью храбрых командир полка и почти весь 3-й батальон. Исправляя ошибки командования, два батальона сибирских стрелков полдня сдерживали натиск почти двух японских дивизий. Остатки полка в 4 часа дня пошли на прорыв кольца окружения и ударили в штыки. Японцы рукопашного боя не приняли, и сибирские стрелки смогли прорваться в горное ущелье. Противник преследовал русских солдат, но нарвался на засаду, потерял много людей и отошел. От полка осталось всего несколько десятков солдат и два ротных командира.

Сражение на реке Ялу. Часть 2


Итоги

Восточный отряд отступил в беспорядке к Феншуйлинскому хребту, потеряв большую часть орудий. Японские войска, двигаясь вслед за Восточным отрядом, вышли в район Фынхуанчена. 1-я армия Кроки выполнила свою первоначальную боевую задачу.

Отряд Засулича потерял около 2780 человек (по другим данным — 55 офицеров и 2122 солдата) убитыми, ранеными, пленными и пропавшими без вести. Было утрачено 21 полевое орудие и все 8 пулеметов. Орудия нельзя было вывезти с позиций, так как вражеским огнем были убиты ездовые лошади, и артиллеристы вывели пушки из строя. Японские войска потеряли 1036 человек (по их данным). Видимо, японские потери несколько занижены.

Поражение русских войск было вызвано сразу несколькими причинами. Плохо была налажена разведка. Позиции не были подготовлены в инженерном отношении. Засулич не использовал медлительность и излишнюю осторожность Куроки для перегруппировки сил, ошибся с главным направлением удара противника — он ожидал его у Саходзы. Восточный отряд был растянут на большое расстояние, и против ударного кулака японской армии в 25-30 тыс. штыков сражалось только около 8 тыс. человек. Когда выяснилось направление главного удара противника, русское командование не пыталось стянуть все силы к угрожаемому участку и перейти в контрнаступление, использовать конницу для ударов во фланг и тыл противнику. Засулич не создал ряд тыловых и промежуточных позиций, опираясь на которые можно было применить тактику подвижной обороны, малыми силами нанося серьёзный урон превосходящим силам врага (эту тактику использовали буры в войне с англичанами). Кроме того, инициативу Засулича подавлял командующий Маньчжурской армией Куропаткин, который дал массу указаний, часто очень мелочных. В результате Засулич действовал крайне нерешительно, вяло и пассивно (он и в дальнейшем так же действовал).

Поражение на реке Ялу имело стратегическое значение. Японская 1-я армия опрокинула Восточный отряд и вырвалась на оперативный простор. Японцы расчистили для себя удобный путь в Южную Маньчжурию и сделали первый шаг для захвата стратегической инициативы на сухопутном театре. Теперь почти все южное побережье Ляодунского полуострова было открыто для высадки десантных сил. Японское командование получило возможность приступить к осаде Порт-Артура. Выдвинувшись к Фынхуанчену, армия Куроки сковала Маньчжурскую армию Куропаткина и полностью обеспечила высадку и развертывание 2-й и 3-й японских армий.

К тому же первая победа на суше, хоть и над незначительными русскими силами, сильно подняла боевой дух японской армии. Японцы ещё не сталкивались с русскими в бою (не воевали с первоклассной европейской армией), и этот опыт сыграл большую положительную роль для дальнейших боевых действий.

Одновременно первое поражение на суше подорвало боевой дух русской армии. С одной стороны, положительным было то, что русское командование перестало страдать шапкозакидательскими настроениями. Японцы показали себя умелым и опасным противником. Пришло понимание преимущества огня перед штыковым ударом, необходимость сооружения полевых укреплений и расположения артиллерии на закрытых позициях. С другой стороны, было плохо то, что теперь русское командование стало переоценивать противника. Мания фланговых обходов стала бичом русского командования.

Сражение на реке Ялу. Часть 2
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Статьи из этой серии:

Сражение на реке Ялу
Сражение на реке Ялу. Часть 2

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. nnz226 14 мая 2014 13:34
    За тупость царских генералов несёт ответственность - царь! Поэтому он через 13 лет у улетел с трона! Как навоз с лопаты! И нечего причитать по "невинно убиенному!"
    1. KOMA 14 мая 2014 16:09
      Полностью согласен с предыдущим оратором!
  2. Вольный ветер 14 мая 2014 17:07
    Понтонная переправа!!!!!!! некогда не думал, что они уже тогда существовали. наши люди погибали, и очень плохо что от идиотизма командиров.
  3. штурман 14 мая 2014 21:06
    Занятно.К СОЖАЛЕННИЮ: У Российской империи крайне низкий уровень подготовки командования и личного состава. Казачьи части исторически не отличались боевыми качествами-карательные и партизанские операции-их профиль.С регулярной армией им воевать очень тяжело.
    штурман
  4. Бек 15 мая 2014 01:26
    Даа.

    А были хорошие отношения между Россией и Японией.

    Порт Владивостока, в те времена да и сейчас, не был круглогодичным, зимой он замерзал на 3-4 месяца. Поэтому в зимние месяцы Тихоокеанский флот России стоял в незамерзающих водах порта Нагасаки.

    После японо-китайской войны 1894 года порт Люйшунькоу (Порт-Артур), на Квантунском полуострове, перешел к Японии. Но из-за Тройственной интервенции, Россия, Франция, Германия в 1895 году, Япония отдала порт Китаю. В 1897 году, пользуясь слабостью Китая после войны с Японией, Германия и Россия, по секретной договоренности, создали свои базы. Россия ввела свои корабли в Люйшунькоу и с этого момента появился российский Порт-Артур. Немцы заняли Циндао.

    К началу 20 века Япония окрепла настолько, что стала претендовать на колониальный дележ. К тому моменту Маньчжурия была зависимой российской территорией. Япония предложила разделить сферы влияния - северная Маньчжурия оставалась у России, южная же должна была перейти в зависимость к Японии. Россия на неоднократные предложения ответила отказом.

    Это и явилось причиной русско-японской войны 1904-1905 годов. Дележ сфер влияния между колониальными державами.
    Бек
  5. Ross 15 мая 2014 11:57
    Цитата: штурман
    Занятно.К СОЖАЛЕННИЮ: У Российской империи крайне низкий уровень подготовки командования и личного состава. Казачьи части исторически не отличались боевыми качествами-карательные и партизанские операции-их профиль.С регулярной армией им воевать очень тяжело.

    Насчет казачьих частей Вы не правы! В первую мировую казачьи части проявили себя в высшей мере превосходно. Пластуны Деникина держали в ужасе Турок на Кавказе и в других местах на фронте казаки показали себя в боях с самой лучшей стороны.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня