Military Review

Graphene may be dangerous to the environment.

17
Graphene, which has already been called the material of the future and one of the most promising on the planet, may be unsafe to use. Researchers at the University of California, California, have found that the material, the use of which promised a revolution in many areas of modern technology, can pose a serious danger to the environment and human health. Employees of the University of California, located at Riverside, have concluded that graphene can be very toxic under certain conditions. At the same time, no one detracts from the unique properties of this material; it is for this reason that its destructive effect on the ecology and man has yet to be thoroughly studied before its industrial use.


Graphene is a very young material. It was first obtained only in the 2004 year, considering this, it is still not well understood, and therefore attracts the heightened interest and attention of scientists. The first in the world graphene were able to get immigrants from Russia Konstantin Novoselov and Andrei Geim, who worked at the University of Manchester in the UK. In the 2010 year, for their contribution to the study of graphene - the “matter of the future” - they were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics.

Graphene is a material with a unique set of properties; it is with it today that the future of our entire electronic industry is largely connected. This material has high electrical conductivity, it is flexible and stronger than steel, while it consists of only one layer of carbon atoms. The properties of graphene led to the fact that it gradually began to be perceived as a necessary basis for a large number of "breakthrough" inventions at the present stage of human development.

Graphene is a very versatile material. From it you can produce screens for a variety of mobile devices, generate electricity and even give a person "Predator vision".

Graphene may be dangerous to the environment.

Despite this, until recently, scientists have not conducted special studies aimed at studying the environmental effects of graphene. The first were specialists from the University of California, who came to the conclusion that graphene could be a danger to the environment. They found that when graphene hits the groundwater, its hexagonal structure begins to crumble, the microparticles quickly lose their stability, collapse and cannot do much harm to nature. However, when graphene enters the surface water is much more complicated. Nanoparticles, falling into surface waters, remain stable and able to move on, they do not settle, maintaining their mobility in streams, lakes and rivers, where they are able to cause harm to the ecological system.

There is much more organic matter in surface waters and a lower hardness level than in groundwater, so graphene retains its stability in surface waters. Graphene pollution of rivers can be very dangerous. The molecular structure of this substance is such that the cusps of graphene nanoparticles are able to tear the cell membranes of living organisms. This is what causes the toxicity of graphene. Before launching this nanomaterial into production, it is necessary to thoroughly study all its properties and features.

The Bourns College of Engineering Laboratory (working at the University of California) is one of the few places where scientists are studying the effects of graphene on the environment. In this laboratory, as already stated above, work is underway to study how graphene oxide nanoparticles behave in water and how they can affect various living organisms in water. These studies are not the only ones. Earlier, an article on this topic was published in the journal Environmental Engineering Science. This article pointed out that graphene could potentially be toxic to humans.

Konstantin Novoselov and Andrei Geim

Despite all this, these discoveries are unlikely to be able to stop humanity from the large-scale use of graphene. This material has such a set of unique characteristics that there is simply nothing to replace it in production. None of the existing alloys can boast such outstanding strength, thermal conductivity and the maximum of all materials known to science electroconductive characteristics. It is worth noting that the mobility of electrons in graphene structures is almost 100 times the performance of silicon, which currently holds all the electronics on Earth.

According to its physical properties, this material is safer than steel. And the gadgets that can be created on its basis will be much more resistant to damage than those we use today. However, this is not all: graphene can lead mankind to a revolution in the computer industry, speed up the speed of access to the Internet in 100, increase the power of various processors by several orders of magnitude. It is able to find application in hundreds of areas of modern life - in medicine, electricity production, strengthening of old buildings.

The field of application of this material is growing as various groups of scientists conduct their research and study graphene, as well as the field of application of this ultra-strong material, which consists of a thin carbon film just a thickness of an 1 atom. Computer chips, transistors based on it, batteries, devices designed to determine the sequence of DNA - this is just a small list of where graphene can be used. Recently, scientists have discovered that this material can be used as a very effective anti-corrosion coating. The carbon coating of graphene is by far the thinnest protective coating.


Scientists from Vanderbilt University performed a procedure for the deposition of a film of graphene on the surface of nickel and copper. After performing this procedure, the materials were subjected to the active influence of corrosive substances. Subsequent analysis showed scientists that copper, which was protected with a graphene film, was destroyed by corrosion 7 times slower than ordinary unprotected copper, and nickel was completely eroded immediately 20 times slower. Even in the case when a special graphene film was applied to the surface of the material, and was not grown directly on its surface, the level of anti-corrosion protection was still very high. At the level of coatings made of organic materials, which are tens of times larger than a layer of graphene in thickness.

Of course, in most cases the thickness of the anti-corrosion coating does not play such a large role. This is particularly evident in the example of oil-producing platforms, ships and other large metal structures, which can simply be covered with a thick layer of special paint. However, graphene may be indispensable in those situations when it is necessary to protect tiny mechanisms and microscopic components of modern electromechanical devices from aggressive environmental factors.

Information sources:
http://hitech.vesti.ru/news/view/id/4611
http://hi-news.ru/technology/grafen-nebezopasen-dlya-okruzhayushhej-sredy.html
http://technosci.net/news/2012-03-03-3815
http://www.eurosmi.ru/922uchenye_material_buduschego_grafen_mojet_byt_opasen_dlya_cheloveka.html
Author:
17 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. atarix
    atarix 12 May 2014 09: 09
    +4
    once it was thought that radioactivity is very good for health.
    exactly until they began to die en masse.
    1. Mister X
      Mister X 12 May 2014 12: 50
      +4
      Quote: atarix
      once it was thought that radioactivity is very good for health.

      One of the first victims was Maria Skłodowska Curie who discovered the radiation.

      Then polyethylene ochchen useful thing appeared in the household.
      And now 7 – 9% of household waste is plastic bags.
      Together with plastic bottles and packaging film, they make up 40% of the total volume of household waste.
      1. tchoni
        tchoni 14 May 2014 10: 09
        0
        Died of radiation sickness at the age of 66 (at that time a very good result)
    2. Eugene
      Eugene 12 May 2014 20: 36
      +1
      About a hundred years ago, heroin was treated for a runny nose, and the aching children were reassured ... We’ll also survive this misfortune. There is still GMO, just chemistry.
    3. mail
      mail 13 May 2014 13: 17
      +3
      Everything is poison, and everything is medicine, the difference in dose))) Radioactivity in permissible doses is also useful (an example of radon baths), the power of the IRS is also important. (source of ionized radiation)
      1. The comment was deleted.
      2. Turik
        Turik 14 May 2014 16: 48
        0
        Yes, it is terribly harmful, especially polyethylene.

        BUT! On the street 30 degrees, it is necessary to drive for ... soda.
  2. ALEXXX1983
    ALEXXX1983 12 May 2014 09: 48
    +4
    I do not think that it is more dangerous than the same ubiquitous polymers what
    1. zarya
      zarya 12 May 2014 10: 30
      +2
      Well, let's say it will not be more dangerous than oil.
      1. Cpa
        Cpa 12 May 2014 21: 18
        0
        Or glass wool ..
      2. SAG
        SAG 12 May 2014 22: 53
        +5
        ... there is nothing more dangerous than oil today ... whole countries are dying because of it!
  3. il2.chewie
    il2.chewie 12 May 2014 10: 02
    +1
    In fact, with the development of science and the collection of facts, it would seem that harmless substances actually turn out to be not so harmless. The same asbestos or lime. So everything is natural here
    1. TEMNIK1389
      TEMNIK1389 12 May 2014 19: 15
      0
      asbestos is very useful hi I say because no one even wears a respirator in the shops wassat (plant Bz ATI)
  4. Black
    Black 12 May 2014 10: 39
    +5
    Graphene technology is Russia's chance to break ahead in nanotechnology. It is a fact. And about the harmfulness .... to live is generally harmful. wink
  5. RPG_
    RPG_ 12 May 2014 10: 52
    +1
    Silicon is already at the limit anyway, so replace it anyway with something.
  6. shurup
    shurup 12 May 2014 10: 55
    +2
    The farther into the forest, the larger the microscopes.
    The good news is that the utilization of graphene and graphite are the same.
    But I wanted to learn more about the graphene-based moderator and neutron reflector.
  7. Eugene
    Eugene 12 May 2014 20: 43
    -1
    The photos of these people were pinned. They, in theory, should sit in golden chairs, all in gold. But no. Guys from our city. Of course, there are states, but ....
    1. postman
      postman 13 May 2014 04: 18
      +1
      Quote: eugene
      Guys from our city

      Game-citizen of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (Netherlands)
      Novoselov is a subject of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (Holland), although there is also Russian citizenship
      Quote: eugene
      .An no.

      Director of the International Cooperation Department of the Skolkovo Foundation Alexey Sitnikov announced his intention to invite him (the Game) to work in Skolkovo, the answer is:
      Do you have people there that have gone completely crazy? They believe that if they pour someone a bag of gold, can everyone be invited?
      Quote: eugene
      . Of course, states are states, but still ....

      This is BritainManchester Center for Mesoscience and Nanotechnology
  8. mrDimkaP
    mrDimkaP 12 May 2014 20: 49
    +1
    It is regrettable to realize this, but in the field of computer technology we will not surpass them without graphene.
  9. Peacemaker
    Peacemaker 13 May 2014 03: 36
    0
    He necessarily uses all good things to his own detriment ... For example: he will come up with a graphene bomb ...
  10. Kadavercianin
    Kadavercianin 13 May 2014 11: 06
    +3
    As far as I know, using graphene as the basis for integrated circuits, screens and other radio components is still problematic, since it is very difficult to create a lock in a certain, rather small area of ​​the material (a super microtransistor is created directly in the structure of graphene) because of its structural features, this it’s quite difficult to do, in this area a year ago groups of people investigated other materials (I don’t remember what they are called, it seems like some oxides of amphoteric substances)
    In addition, the production of this miracle material, as far as I know is not so simple, a year ago it was most often just roughly "cut with a knife" from graphite (they cut off a layer of molecules, I don’t know how it was done)
    So, that not everything is as simple and rosy as I tell, a teacher at the university 6 years ago told me that he and colleagues had expected the revolution of the component base twice: when they learned to grow pure crystals of a given structure and when they started using liquid crystals, as he said : there were more expectations and hopes than results, and practical results did not appear immediately. So, while graphene gets to industrial production (not as a coating), enough time will pass and the result of all this is still not entirely obvious

Графен может представлять опасность для экологии

Графен, который уже успели назвать материалом будущего и одним из самых перспективных на планете, может оказаться небезопасным в использовании. Исследователи из американского Калифорнийского университета установили, что материал, использование которого обещало революцию во многих областях современных технологий, может представлять серьезную опасность для окружающей среды и здоровья людей. Сотрудники Калифорнийского университета, расположенного в Риверсайде, пришли к выводу о том, что графен в определенных условиях может быть очень токсичен. При этом никто не умаляет уникальных свойств данного материала, именно по этой причине его губительное влияние на экологию и человека еще предстоит досконально изучить перед его промышленным использованием.

Графен — это очень молодой материал. Впервые он был получен лишь в 2004 году, учитывая это, он еще недостаточно изучен, и поэтому привлекает к себе повышенный интерес и внимание ученых. Первыми в мире графен смогли получить выходцы из России Константин Новоселов и Андрей Гейм, которые работали в Манчестерском университете в Великобритании. В 2010 году за свой вклад в изучение графена — «материи будущего» — они были удостоены Нобелевской премии по физике.

Графен является материалом с уникальным набором свойств, именно с ним сегодня во многом связывают будущее всей нашей электронной индустрии. Данный материал обладает высокой электропроводимостью, он гибок и прочнее стали, при всем этом он состоит лишь из одного слоя атомов углерода. Свойства графена привели к тому, что его постепенно стали воспринимать как необходимую основу для большого количества «прорывных» изобретений на современном этапе развития человечества.


Графен — это очень универсальный материал. Из него можно производить экраны для разнообразных мобильных устройств, вырабатывать электричество и даже наделить человека «зрением Хищника».

Графен может представлять опасность для экологии

Несмотря на это, до недавнего времени ученые не проводили специальных исследований, направленных на изучение экологических последствий применения графена. Первыми стали специалисты из Калифорнийского университета, которые и пришли к выводу о том, что графен может представлять опасность для экологии. Они установили, что при попадании графена в грунтовые воды его гексагональная структура начинает рушиться, микрочастицы достаточно быстро утрачивают свою стабильность, разрушаются и не могут принести природе значительно вреда. Однако при попадании графена в поверхностные воды все гораздо сложнее. Наночастицы, попадая в поверхностные воды, остаются стабильными и способны двигаться дальше, они не оседают, сохраняя свою мобильность в ручьях, озерах и реках, где они в состоянии нанести вред экологической системе.

В поверхностных водах гораздо больше органики и ниже уровень жесткости, чем в грунтовых водах, поэтому в поверхностных водах графен сохраняет свою стабильность. Графеновое загрязнение рек может представлять большую опасность. Молекулярная структура данного вещества такова, что острые выступы наночастиц графена в состоянии разрывать мембраны клеток живых организмов. Именно этим и обуславливается токсичность графена. Прежде чем запускать данный наноматериал в производство необходимо максимально тщательно изучить все его свойства и особенности.

Лаборатория колледжа инженерии Боурнса (работает при Калифорнийском университете) — это одно из немногих мест, где ученые заняты изучением воздействия графена на экологию. В данной лаборатории, как уже писалось выше, ведутся работы по изучению того, как наночастицы оксида графена ведут себя в воде и каким образом они могут влиять на различные обитающие в воде живые организмы. Данные исследования являются не единственными. Ранее статья на эту тему публиковалась в журнале Environmental Engineering Science. В данной статьей указывалось на то, что графен потенциально может быть токсичен для человека.

Графен может представлять опасность для экологии
Константин Новоселов и Андрей Гейм

Несмотря на все это, данные открытия вряд ли смогут остановить человечество от масштабного использования графена. Данный материал обладает таким набором уникальных характеристик, что заменить его в производстве попросту нечем. Ни один из существующих сегодня сплавов не может похвастаться такой выдающейся прочностью, теплопроводностью и максимальными из всех известных науке материалов электропроводящими характеристиками. Стоит отметить, что подвижность электронов в графеновых структурах почти в 100 раз превышает показатели кремния, на котором в данный момент держится вся электроника на Земле.

По своим физическим свойствам данный материал надежнее стали. А гаджеты, которые могут быть созданы на его основе, будут гораздо более устойчивы к повреждениям, чем те, которыми мы сегодня пользуемся. Однако и это еще не всё: графен может привести человечество к революции в компьютерной индустрии, в 100 раз ускорить скорость доступа к сети Интернет, на несколько порядков повысить мощность различных процессоров. Он в состоянии найти применение в сотне областей современной жизни — в медицине, производстве электричества, укреплении старых зданий.

Область применения данного материала растет по мере того, как различные группы ученых проводят свои исследования и изучают графен, а также область применения данного сверхпрочного материала, который состоит из тонкой углеродной пленки толщиной всего в 1 атом. Компьютерные чипы, транзисторы на его основе, аккумуляторные батареи, приборы, предназначенные для определения последовательности ДНК — это лишь малый перечень того, где можно использовать графен. Недавно ученые открыли, что данный материал можно использовать как очень эффективное антикоррозионное покрытие. Углеродное покрытие из графена является на сегодняшний день самым тонким защитным покрытием.

Графен может представлять опасность для экологии

Ученые из Университета Вандербилта выполнили процедуру осаждения пленки из графена на поверхности никеля и меди. После выполнения данной процедуры материалы были подвергнуты активному воздействию коррозионных веществ. Последующий анализ продемонстрировал ученым, что медь, которая была защищена с помощью пленки графена, разрушалась от коррозии в 7 раз медленнее, чем обыкновенная незащищенная медь, а никель и вовсе разъедался сразу в 20 раз медленнее. Даже в том случае, когда специальная графеновая пленка была нанесена на поверхность материала, а не выращивалась прямо на его поверхности, уровень антикоррозийной защиты по-прежнему оставался очень высоким. На уровне покрытий, выполненных из органических материалов, которые в десятки раз превышали слой графена по толщине.

Конечно, в подавляющем большинстве случаев толщина антикоррозионного покрытия не играет столь большой роли. Особенно хорошо это проявляется на примере нефтедобывающих платформ, морских судов и других крупных металлоконструкций, которые можно просто покрыть густым слоем специальной краски. Однако графен может оказаться незаменимым в тех ситуациях, когда от агрессивных факторов внешней среды надо будет защитить крошечные механизмы и микроскопические узлы современных электромеханических устройств.

Источники информации:
http://hitech.vesti.ru/news/view/id/4611
http://hi-news.ru/technology/grafen-nebezopasen-dlya-okruzhayushhej-sredy.html
http://technosci.net/news/2012-03-03-3815
http://www.eurosmi.ru/922uchenye_material_buduschego_grafen_mojet_byt_opasen_dlya_cheloveka.html
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 17
  1. atarix 12 мая 2014 09:09
    когда то считалось что радиоактивность очень полезна для здоровья.
    ровно до тех пор пока не стали массово помирать.
    1. Mister X 12 мая 2014 12:50
      Цитата: atarix
      когда то считалось что радиоактивность очень полезна для здоровья.

      Одной из первых жертв стала Мария Склодовска-Кюри которая и открыла радиацию.

      Потом появился полиэтилен оччень полезная вещь в хозяйстве.
      А теперь 7–9 % бытовых отходов составляют полиэтиленовые пакеты.
      Вместе с пластиковыми бутылками и упаковочной пленкой они составляют 40% от всего объема бытового мусора.
      1. tchoni 14 мая 2014 10:09
        Умерла от лучевой болезни в возрасте 66 лет (по тем временам очень неплохой результат)
    2. евген 12 мая 2014 20:36
      Лет сто назад героином насморк лечили,и детей ноющих успокаивали...Эту беду тоже переживем.Еще есть ГМО,просто химия.
    3. courrier 13 мая 2014 13:17
      Всё есть яд, и всё есть лекарство, разница в дозе))) Радиоактивность в допустимых дозах да же полезна (пример радоновые ванны), важна так же мощность ИИИ. (источ.ионизир. излуч.)
      1. Комментарий был удален.
      2. Турик 14 мая 2014 16:48
        Да, страшно вредно, полиэтилен тем более.

        НО! На улице 30 градусов, надо сгонять за... газировкой.
        Турик
  2. ALEXXX1983 12 мая 2014 09:48
    Не думаю, что он опаснее тех же вездесущих полимеров what
    1. zarya 12 мая 2014 10:30
      Ну скажем, не опаснее нефти будет.
      1. КПА 12 мая 2014 21:18
        Или стекловаты..
      2. SAG 12 мая 2014 22:53
        ...опаснее нефти на сегодняшний день нет ничего... из-за неё вымирают целые страны!
        SAG
  3. il2.chewie 12 мая 2014 10:02
    На самом деле с развитием науки и сбором фактов, казалось бы безвредные вещества на самом деле оказываются не такими уж и безобидными. Тот же асбест или известь. Так что тут всё закономерно
    1. TEMNIK1389 12 мая 2014 19:15
      асбест очень полезен hi говорю поскольку никто не носит даже респератор в цехах wassat ( завод Бз АТИ)
  4. Чёный 12 мая 2014 10:39
    Графеновые технологии- шанс России вырваться вперед в нанотехнологиях. Это- факт. А про вредность....жить- вообще вредно. wink
  5. RPG_ 12 мая 2014 10:52
    Кремний все равно уже на пределе так что заменить его все равно чем то придется.
  6. shurup 12 мая 2014 10:55
    Чем дальше в лес, тем больше микроскопы.
    Радует то, что утилизация графена и графита совпадают.
    Но захотелось подробнее узнать о замедлителе и отражателе нейтронов на основе графена.
  7. евген 12 мая 2014 20:43
    Фото этих челов прикололо.Они,по идее,должны в золотых креслах сидеть,во всем золотом.Ан нет.Парни из нашего города.Ясное дело,штаты есть штаты,но все таки....
    1. почтальон 13 мая 2014 04:18
      Цитата: евген
      Парни из нашего города

      Гейм -подданный Королевства Нидерланды(ГолландиЯ)
      Новосёлов-подданный Королевства Нидерланды(ГолландиЯ),правда есть и гражданство России
      Цитата: евген
      .Ан нет.

      директор департамента международного сотрудничества фонда «Сколково» Алексей Ситников объявил о намерении пригласить его (Гейма) работать в Сколково,ответ:
      Там у вас люди что – с ума посходили совсем? Считают, что если они кому-нибудь отсыпят мешок золота, то можно всех пригласить?
      Цитата: евген
      .Ясное дело,штаты есть штаты,но все таки....

      Это Британия,Манчестерский центр по «мезонауке и нанотехнологиям»
      почтальон
  8. mrDimkaP 12 мая 2014 20:49
    Как это ни прискорбно осознавать, но в сфере компьютерных технологий мы их, без графена не перегоним.
  9. Миротворец 13 мая 2014 03:36
    Все хорошее человек оьязательно использует себе во вред... Например: придумает графеновую бомбу...
  10. Kadavercianin 13 мая 2014 11:06
    На сколько мне известно с применением графена как основы для интегральных схем, экранов и прочих радиотехнических компонентов пока проблемно, так как очень тяжело создать запирание в определённой, достаточно малой области материала(супер микротранизистор создать прямо в структуре графена) из-за своих особенностей структуры это сделать довольно сложно, в этой области год назад группы людей исследовали другие материалы (не помню, как точно называются, вроде бы какие-то оксиды амфотерных веществ)
    Кроме того производство этого чудо материала, на сколько мне известно не столь простое, год назад его чаще всего просто грубо говоря "срезали ножом" с графита (срезали слой молекул, как именно это делалось не знаю)
    Так, что не всё так просто и радужно, как рассказываю, мне препод в универе лет 6 назад рассказывал, что он и коллеги ожидали революцию компонентной базы два раза: когда научились выращивать чистые кристаллы заданной структуры и когда стали использовать жидкие кристаллы, как он сказал: ожиданий и надежд было больше чем результатов, да и практические результаты появились не сразу. Так, что пока графен доберётся до промышленного производства (не как покрытие) пройдёт ещё достаточно времени и результат всего этого ещё не совсем очевиден

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня