Military Review

Military transport aircraft C-124 Globemaster II

17
After the war, many countries thought about creating specialized military transport aircraft. During the Second World War, for these purposes, vehicles were often used that were converted from serial bombers. In the US, they began working on a full-fledged transport aircraft project in 1947. It was this year that the US Air Force formed its requirements for a strategic transport aircraft. Negotiations on its design and construction were initiated with Douglas. Work on the project ended with the creation of the C-124 Globemaster II.


The aircraft was created on the basis of the previous model C-74, while it had a higher fuselage, powerplant, which included the X-NUMX engine R-4-4360 with 49 horsepower. each (3500 kW) and reinforced chassis. The first flight of the prototype of the aircraft under the designation YC-2160 took place on November 124 27 of the year. Shortly after the series of tests was completed, the aircraft was put into mass production. The first serial modification received the designation C-1949A. In total, 124 C-204A transport aircraft were produced during production, the first production vehicle was transferred to the US Air Force in May 124.


Total produced two major versions of the aircraft C-124A and C-124С, the latter received radar and more powerful and sophisticated engines. An experimental version of the aircraft was also created under the designation YC-124B, equipped with a HP 5425 HP engine. Together with the C-133 transport aircraft, the Globemaster II was in service with the US Air Force until the 1970s, when it was replaced by a new strategic military transport aircraft C-5A. Some aircraft Globemaster II after the decommissioning of the Air Force were acquired by private transport airlines.

The most massive modification of the aircraft was the C-124C version, which received more powerful R-4360 engines, as well as the meteorological radar, which was installed in the characteristic nose fairing. Petrol heaters were installed inside the wing fairings. The overall production of the C-124C transport aircraft was 243 aircraft. At the same time, the last plane was handed over to the US military in May 1955.

The fuselage of the strategic military transport aircraft C-124С Globemaster II had a double cargo door located in the nose of the aircraft. It was equipped with a built-in loading ramp. Electric winches were located in the middle part of the aircraft fuselage, as well as two ceiling cranes (the load capacity of each beam was 7257 kg). Both crane beams could move along the entire length of the cargo compartment, which was 23,47 m. The cockpit was designed for 5 crew members and was located in the bow. When using the aircraft as a transport (using 2's cargo decks), he could take on board up to 200 fully equipped soldiers, or up to 123 stretcher, 45 outpatient patients and also 15 military medics.


One of the serially produced C-124 Globemaster II aircraft was converted into a flying stand, which received the designation JC-124C. This machine was used to test the Pratt & Whitney XT57 engine (engine power was 15 thousand hp). This engine was designed for the new C-132 aircraft, which was designed by the Douglas company. The carrying capacity of the new machine was supposed to be 60 tons. However, during the tests with this engine, a large number of problems arose, after which in 1957 the program for creating the C-132 was curtailed.

Mysterious incident

In the flight biography of the strategic military transport aircraft C-124 Globemaster II there is little interesting, but one case may deserve attention. Airplane 509th aviation The squadron, piloted by a crew under the command of Major Walter Wagner, flew from Walker Air Base (Roswell Air Force Base until 1947) on Wednesday March 21, 1951. The plane was heading to the UK at Lakenheath Air Base. Onboard there were 9 crew members and 44 passengers, the main of which was Air Force Brigadier General Paul Thomas Cullen. Cullen was a major specialist in organizing aerial reconnaissance and was sent to the UK to form the 7th strategic aviation division there, together with officers subordinate to him.


On Good Friday, 23 March, 1951, a fire took place on the flight route in the sky over the Atlantic. At this point, the aircraft is located approximately 1,5 thousands of kilometers southwest of Ireland. The crew sent a distress signal and reported what had happened on board, having decided to bring the plane on. The drive was successful, the plane remained intact, and all the people rescued the life rafts into the 5. All of them had emergency radio stations, water and food supplies, and signal flares.

A Boeing B-29 Superfortress, based in England, was raised to search for people from a splashing plane. The crew of the aircraft found life rafts, people who were on them launched signal flares into the sky. However, there was no rescue equipment onboard the B-29, so he only made circular flights over the C-124 landing place, passing the coordinates of this place and waiting for the rescue aircraft, but no one arrived at the crash site. After the plane ran out of fuel, he was forced to return to the air base.


Only later 19 hours on Sunday 25 March rescue ships and aircraft, including the US aircraft carrier USS Coral Sea, arrived at the landing site. However, in the indicated place they could not find either people or a plane. The sea surface was inspected over an area of ​​many thousands of square miles, but the rescuers did not manage to find any wreckage of the aircraft, nor any life rafts, nor the people who safely relocated there. All the people aboard the plane are gone. What happened to them and the plane is not known until now.

According to one of the versions, the crew and passengers of the plane could be abducted by Soviet sailors. In this area, increased activity of the Soviet Navy, both submarines and surface ships. Of particular value to the USSR could be the Air Force Brigadier General Cullen and his knowledge. However, the version of the abduction by Soviet sailors seems doubtful, since large search formations of the USA and Great Britain were concentrated in the area. Yes, and hide the abduction of 53 people for such a long time after the incident would be quite difficult.

Flight performance of C-124С Globemaster II:

Overall dimensions: wingspan - 53,1 m, wing area - 233,1 m2, length - 39,8 m, height - 14,7 m.
Take-off mass - 84 000 kg, empty - 45 888 kg, maximum - 88 200 kg.
The power plant - 4 PD Pratt Whitney R-4360-63, HP power 4х3748
Maximum speed - 520 km / h.
Cruising speed - 429 km / h.
Practical range - 11 000 km.
Practical ceiling - 8 000 m.
The crew of the aircraft - 8 people.
Payload: up to 200 soldiers or up to 123 stretcher with accompanying, up to 31 070 kg of cargo.

Information sources:
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/craft/c124.html
http://www.dogswar.ru/voennaia-aviaciia/samolety/6479-voenno-transportnyi-.html
http://ru-aviation.livejournal.com/2958387.html
http://ru.wikipedia.org
Author:
17 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Bongo
    Bongo 13 May 2014 08: 46
    +9
    Good article about an interesting car. good
    But there is a slight inaccuracy:
    In total, 204 transport aircraft were produced during the production

    In fact, 448 aircraft of all modifications were built, 9 have survived to this day.
  2. nvn_co
    nvn_co 13 May 2014 10: 47
    +6
    Although the enemy machine, but still a good machine. The hard worker was, did a lot of work in those days. And most importantly, he launched into aviation many constructive solutions for the formation of wide-body aviation. A good article, simple, interesting, and most importantly, the eye pleased. Thanks to the author, well done!
  3. jjj
    jjj 13 May 2014 12: 01
    0
    I also thought that "Jumbo" did not appear from scratch
  4. 52
    52 13 May 2014 15: 20
    +2
    Good article, thanks to the Author! And how you want a model of this aircraft in the 72nd scale! But not Monogram quality!
  5. NOMADE
    NOMADE 13 May 2014 15: 21
    +3
    Great article! A huge plus for the author! An article on the topic of the site ... otherwise Ukraine, etc. ... (Nice to read such articles)
  6. bubalik
    bubalik 13 May 2014 15: 35
    +3
    + good ,,, a question, who can answer request I misunderstood something:
    Payload: up to 200 soldiers or up to 123 stretcher with accompanying, up to 31 070 kg of cargo.

    , Xnumx soldier и 31 070 kg of cargo? 200 soldier or 31 070 kg of cargo (and if you take the weight of one soldier + ammunition, weapons = about 100kg) then why is the weight of the cargo taken on board more coming out? recourse
    1. svyach74
      svyach74 28 May 2014 11: 29
      0
      It’s just a load, it’s more compact, you, because you won’t be a soldier, like in a trolleybus at rush hour to ram!
  7. Bongo
    Bongo 13 May 2014 15: 44
    +4
    Quote: bubalik
    Why is the weight of the cargo taken on board more coming out?

    Because you cannot place a soldier in the cargo compartment in three tiers, and fuel barrels or boxes with shells are easy.
    1. bubalik
      bubalik 13 May 2014 16: 01
      +3
      Bongo RU  Today, 15: 44


      ,,,thank,,, hi
    2. The comment was deleted.
  8. Bersaglieri
    Bersaglieri 13 May 2014 17: 30
    +1
    Quote: bubalik
    and if you take the weight of one soldier + ammunition, weapons = about 100kg

    + bench + parachute = 150 kg approx.
    1. bubalik
      bubalik 13 May 2014 18: 14
      -3
      Bersaglieri IE  Today, 17: 30


      ,,, eh for sure hi
    2. The comment was deleted.
  9. fa2998
    fa2998 13 May 2014 21: 18
    +4
    article +, the Americans had their own Tupolev (wing, engine nacelles, tail feathers very similar to the B-29) made the fuselage. It turned out a good car!
    1. Kazanec
      Kazanec 13 May 2014 22: 28
      +1
      Not bad, maybe, but some kind of ugly :)
  10. nvn_co
    nvn_co 13 May 2014 22: 40
    +2
    Beautiful cars, only we do! What a masterpiece! And it flies well and the eye pleases. Because we design cars with the soul and devotion of aviation ...
  11. Andreitas
    Andreitas 13 May 2014 23: 10
    +3
    It is a pity that there are no pictures inside the plane.
  12. understudy
    understudy 13 May 2014 23: 43
    +2
    Yes, aviation experts will forgive me, but this is some kind of pregnant goose. repeat
    1. svyach74
      svyach74 28 May 2014 11: 37
      0
      He coped with his task perfectly, for a military aircraft this is the main thing, war is generally ugly!
  13. svyach74
    svyach74 28 May 2014 11: 34
    0
    An interesting article, an interesting car, I just heard about it in passing, but it was nice to know in detail! thank.

Военно-транспортный самолёт C-124 Globemaster II

После войны многие страны задумались над созданием специализированных военно-транспортных самолетов. В годы Второй мировой войны для этих целей часто использовались машины, которые переделывались из серийных бомбардировщиков. В США над проектом полноценного транспортного самолета начали работать в 1947 году. Именно в этот год ВВС США сформировали свои требования к стратегическому транспортному самолету. Переговоры о его проектировании и строительстве были начаты с компанией «Douglas». Работы по проекту закончились созданием самолета C-124 Globemaster II.

Самолет был создан на базе предыдущей модели C-74, при этом он имел более высокий фюзеляж, силовую установку, которая включала в себя 4 двигателя R-4360-49 мощностью по 3500 л.с. каждый (2160 кВт) и усиленное шасси. Первый полет прототипа нового самолета под обозначением YC-124 состоялся 27 ноября 1949 года. Вскоре после завершения серии испытаний самолет был запущен в серийное производство. Первая серийная модификация получила обозначение C-124A. Всего за время производства было выпущено 204 транспортных самолета C-124A, первая серийная машина была передана американским ВВС в мае 1950 года.

Военно-транспортный самолёт C-124 Globemaster II

Всего выпускалось две основных версии самолета C-124A и C-124С, последняя получила РЛС и более мощные и совершенные двигатели. Также была создана экспериментальная версия самолета под обозначением YC-124B, оснащенная ТВД мощностью 5425 л.с. Вместе с транспортными самолетами C-133, Globemaster II находился на вооружении американских ВВС вплоть до 1970-х годов, когда ему на смену пришел новый стратегический военно-транспортный самолет C-5A. Некоторые самолеты Globemaster II после снятия их с эксплуатации ВВС были приобретены частными транспортными авиакомпаниями.


Самой массовой модификацией самолета стала версия С-124С, которая получила более мощные двигатели R-4360, а также метеорологический радар, который был установлен в характерном носовом обтекателе. Внутри концевых обтекателей крыла были установлены бензиновые обогреватели. Общий выпуск транспортных самолетов С-124С составил 243 самолета. При этом последний самолет был передан американским военным в мае 1955 года.

Фюзеляж стратегического военно-транспортного самолета С-124С Globemaster II имел двухстворчатую грузовую дверь, расположенную в носу самолета. Она оснащалась встроенной погрузочной рампой. В средней части фюзеляжа самолета располагались электрические лебедки, а также две потолочных кран-балки (грузоподъемность каждой балки составляла 7257 кг). Обе кран-балки могли перемещаться по всей длине грузового отсека, которая составляла 23,47 м. Кабина самолета была рассчитана на 5 членов экипажа и располагалась в носовой части. При использовании самолета в роли транспортного (с использованием 2-х грузовых палуб) он мог взять на борт до 200 полностью экипированных солдат, либо до 123 носилок, 45 амбулаторных пациентов и еще 15 военных медиков.

Военно-транспортный самолёт C-124 Globemaster II

Один из серийно выпущенных самолетов C-124 Globemaster II был превращен в летающий стенд, который получил обозначение JC-124C. Данная машина использовалась для испытания двигателя Pratt & Whitney XT57 (мощность двигателя составляла 15 тысяч л.с.). Данный двигатель был предназначен для нового самолета С-132, проектированием которого занималась компания Douglas. Грузоподъемность новой машины должна была составить 60 тонн. Однако во время проведения испытаний с данным двигателем возникло большое количество проблем, после чего в 1957 году программа создания С-132 была свернута.

Таинственный инцидент

В летной биографии стратегического военно-транспортного самолета C-124 Globemaster II найдется мало интересного, но один случай может заслуживать внимания. Самолет 509-й авиационной эскадрильи, пилотируемый экипажем под командованием майора Уолтера Вагнера, вылетел с авиабазы Уокер (до 1947 года база ВВС США Розуэлл) в среду 21 марта 1951 года. Самолет направлялся в Великобританию на авиабазу Лейкенхит. На борту самолета находилось 9 членов экипажа и 44 пассажира, главным из которых был бригадный генерал ВВС Пол Томас Каллен. Каллен являлся крупным специалистом по организации воздушной разведки и был направлен в Великобританию, чтобы вместе с подчиненными ему офицерами сформировать там 7-ю авиадивизию стратегической авиации.

Военно-транспортный самолёт C-124 Globemaster II

В страстную пятницу 23 марта 1951 года на маршруте перелета в небе над Атлантикой на борту самолета произошел пожар. В этот момент самолет находится приблизительно в 1,5 тысячах километров к юго-западу от Ирландии. Экипаж передал сигнал бедствия и доложил о случившемся на борту, приняв решение приводнить самолет. Приводнение машины прошло успешно, самолет остался цел, а все люди пересели в 5 спасательных плотов. Все они имели аварийные радиостанции, запасы воды и еды, сигнальные ракеты.

Для поиска людей с приводнившегося самолета был поднят Boeing B-29 Superfortress, базировавшийся в Англии. Экипаж самолета нашел спасательные плоты, находившиеся на них люди запускали в небо сигнальные ракеты. Однако на борту B-29 не было никакого аварийно-спасательного оборудования, поэтому он лишь совершал круговые полеты над местом приводнения C-124, передав координаты данного места и ожидая спасательной авиации, но никто к месту падения больше не прибыл. После того, как у самолета закончилось топливо, он вынужден был вернуться на авиабазу.

Военно-транспортный самолёт C-124 Globemaster II

Лишь спустя 19 часов уже в воскресенье 25 марта на место приводнения прибыли спасательные корабли и самолеты, включая американский авианосец USS Coral Sea. Однако в указанном месте они не смогли найти ни людей, ни самолет. Была осмотрена морская поверхность на площади многих тысяч квадратных миль, но спасателям так и не удалось найти ни обломков самолета, ни спасательных плотов, ни людей, которые на них благополучно пересели. Все люди, находившиеся на борту самолета, пропали. Что стало с ними и с самолетом, не известно до сих пор.

По одной из версий, экипаж и пассажиров самолета могли похитить советские моряки. В данном районе отмечалась повышенная активность советских ВМФ, причем как подводных лодок, так и надводных кораблей. Особую ценность для СССР мог представлять бригадный генерал ВВС Каллен и его знания. Однако версия похищения советскими моряками представляется сомнительной, так как в районе были сосредоточены крупные поисковые соединении США и Великобритании. Да и скрывать похищение 53 человек столь длительное время после инцидента было бы достаточно затруднительно.

Летно-технические характеристики C-124С Globemaster II:

Габаритные размеры: размах крыла — 53,1 м, площадь крыла — 233,1 м2, длина — 39,8 м, высота — 14,7 м.
Масса взлетная — 84 000 кг, пустого — 45 888 кг, максимальная — 88 200 кг.
Силовая установка — 4 ПД Pratt Whitney R-4360-63, мощностью 4х3748 л.с.
Максимальная скорость — 520 км/ч.
Крейсерская скорость — 429 км/ч.
Практическая дальность полета — 11 000 км.
Практический потолок — 8 000 м.
Экипаж самолета — 8 чел.
Полезная нагрузка: до 200 солдат или до 123 носилок с сопровождающими, до 31 070 кг груза.

Источники информации:
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/craft/c124.html
http://www.dogswar.ru/voennaia-aviaciia/samolety/6479-voenno-transportnyi-.html
http://ru-aviation.livejournal.com/2958387.html
http://ru.wikipedia.org
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 17
  1. Bongo 13 мая 2014 08:46
    Хорошая статья, про интересную машину. good
    Но есть небольшая неточность:
    Всего за время производства было выпущено 204 транспортных самолета

    Фактически же построено 448 самолётов всех модификаций, до наших дней "дожило" 9 шт.
  2. nvn_co 13 мая 2014 10:47
    Хоть и вражья машина, но все равно хороший аппарат. Трудяга был, много работы в те времена сделал. А самое главное пустил в авиацию много конструктивных решений для формирования широкофюзеляжной авиации. Хорошая статья, простая, интересная, а главное глаз порадовала. Спасибо автору, молодец!
  3. jjj 13 мая 2014 12:01
    Тоже подумалось, что "Джамбо" появился не на пустом месте
    jjj
  4. 52гим 13 мая 2014 15:20
    Хорошая статья, спасибо Автору! И как хочется модель этого самолета в 72-м масштабе! Но не Монограммовского качества!
  5. N.O.M.A.D.E. 13 мая 2014 15:21
    Отличная статья! Огромный плюс автору! Статья, по теме сайта..., а то Украина и т.д... ( Приятно читатать подобные статьи)
  6. bubalik 13 мая 2014 15:35
    + good ,,, вопрос, может кто ответит request что-то я недопонял :
    Полезная нагрузка: до 200 солдат или до 123 носилок с сопровождающими, до 31 070 кг груза.

    , 200 солдат и 31 070 кг груза? 200солдат или 31 070 кг груза (а если принять вес одного солдата + амуниция, вооружение= примерно 100кг) то почему вес принятого на борт груза больше выходит? recourse
    1. svyach74 28 мая 2014 11:29
      Просто груз, он более компактен, ты, ведь не будешь солдат, как в троллейбусе в час пик утрамбовывать!
      svyach74
  7. Bongo 13 мая 2014 15:44
    Цитата: bubalik
    почему вес принятого на борт груза больше выходит?

    Потому что солдат в грузовом отсеке в три яруса не разместишь, а бочки с горючим или ящики со снарядами легко.
    1. bubalik 13 мая 2014 16:01
      Bongo RU  Сегодня, 15:44


      ,,,спасибо,,, hi
    2. Комментарий был удален.
  8. Bersaglieri 13 мая 2014 17:30
    Цитата: bubalik
    а если принять вес одного солдата + амуниция, вооружение= примерно 100кг

    + cкамейка + парашют = 150 кг примерно.
    1. bubalik 13 мая 2014 18:14
      Bersaglieri IE  Сегодня, 17:30


      ,,,эх точно hi
    2. Комментарий был удален.
  9. фа2998 13 мая 2014 21:18
    статье+,у американцев был свой Туполев(крыло,мотогондолы,хв.оперение очень напоминает В-29)сделали фюзеляж.Получился неплохая машина!
    1. Kazaneц 13 мая 2014 22:28
      Не плохая, возможно, но какая-то некрасивая:)
  10. nvn_co 13 мая 2014 22:40
    Красивые машины, только у нас делают! Какую не возми шедевр! И летает хорошо и глаз радует. Потому как машины душой и преданностью авиации проектируем...
  11. Andreitas 13 мая 2014 23:10
    Жалко что фоток внутри самолета нет.
  12. Дублер 13 мая 2014 23:43
    Да простят меня знатоки авиации, но это беременный гусь какой-то. feel
    1. svyach74 28 мая 2014 11:37
      Он прекрасно справлялся со своей задачей, для военного самолёта это главное, война вообще штука некрасивая!
      svyach74
  13. svyach74 28 мая 2014 11:34
    Интересная статья, интересная машина, я так, вскользь о ней слышал, но узнать подробно было приятно! спасибо.
    svyach74

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня