Military Review

Taming the British "Tiger"

11
160 years ago, Russia waged a heavy war with a coalition from Britain, France, the Sardinian kingdom (Italy) and Turkey, which was trying to seize the southern part of Ukraine, including the Northern Black Sea region and the Crimea.


Among the episodes of the Crimean War, in contrast to the notorious defense of Sevastopol, the defense of Odessa in the spring of 1854 is much less memorable.

This important port and large economic center 20 April tried to seize a strong Anglo-French squadron. But, unexpectedly, the enemy armada was repulsed, although only one of four cannons operated against the nine frigates of the enemy. One of the enemy ships was damaged and caught fire. Then the Allies, having departed into the sea, with massive artillery fire from a safe distance destroyed half of the city, destroying the ships of neutral countries that were in the port and turning civilians' houses into the ruins. Among many inhabitants of Odessa, the Frenchman was struck by a projectile - the core landed on the pedestal of the monument to the founder of Odessa, the Duke de Richelieu.



On April 30, the enemy’s fleet, having decided to repeat the strike, sent three steam-powered English frigates for reconnaissance to Odessa. One of them, "Tiger" ("Tiger"), came too close to the shore and ran aground in a fog. The arrived field battery and cavalry patrols managed to accomplish the unheard of - almost hand-to-hand capture the newest British warship. My fellow countryman, commander of a squadron of the Belgorod Lancers Regiment, Mikhail Oshanin, a descendant of the old Suzdal family, was among the participants in this unusual operation.

Cavalryman in Odessa

The Oshanins are one of the oldest families of the Suzdal-Rostov Region, leading the account of their ancestors from the XIV century. According to legend, the founder of the family was a certain “honest man” Stenia, who left Venice from Russia under Dmitry Donskoy. Traditionally, the Oshanins labored in the military arena. The grandfather of the future hero of the capture of the English frigate Alexander Ivanovich Oshanin served in the Suzdal Infantry Regiment, in which he participated in many battles of the Seven Years War 1750-1764. with Prussia, was wounded and retired after making peace in the rank of second major. The officer was also the father of the brave Ulana Dmitriy Aleksandrovich, who was famous for his charity and even built the church at his own expense.

Hereditary officer, Mikhail Dmitrievich Oshanin was born in 1808, and the question of which career to choose was not for him. After graduating from the Moscow Cadet Corps, he graduated from the course in a special training unit and in 1827-m was assigned to the Ukrainian Uhlan regiment with production in cornets. By the beginning of the Crimean War, Mikhail Oshanin, who was part of the Belgorod Lancers' Regiment, had served in cavalry for more than a quarter of a century. Over his shoulders were a difficult war with rebellious Poland and participation in the bloody storming of Warsaw, on his chest - three military orders. In 1853, the distinguished captain Oshanin was granted a lieutenant colonel position. In the spring of 1854, the Belgorod lancers stationed on the outskirts of Odessa, where they were transferred to reflect a possible enemy landing.

And on April 20, when nine British and French steam frigates fired at Odessa, from the other ships of the Allied squadron, which was kept aside, the 19 boats with paratroopers were sent. However, the attempt of the British and French to disembark a few miles from the city was beaten off. Marines fired at the Russian artillery, then cavalrymen arrived.

in the end, the boats, having not landed a single person, hurried back under the protection of warships. The Belgorod Lancers 20 of April showed courage and resilience, conducting demonstrations to intimidate the landing under the fire of enemy ships. The record of Colonel Mikhail Oshanin, now stored in the State Archive of the Vladimir Region, states that this officer of 20 on April 1854 participated in the defense of Odessa "when an Anglo-French squadron of 19 battleships and 9 of steam-ship frigates appeared on the Odessa raid and the city was announced in blockade position "

Unusual fight

On the morning of April 30, in a thick fog in 6 versts from Odessa, under the steep bank of the Maly Fontan, the English 16-gun steam frigate Tigr, which followed along with two other steam frigates Vesuvius and Niger, sank along an alley. Attempts by the team to withdraw from it were unsuccessful. At first, because of the fog, the steamer was not visible from the shore, but then a gardener passing by accident heard English speaking and noise, as reported to the equestrian picket. When the fog was a little different, it turned out that the stranded frigate is just 300 meters from the coast.

Immediately, several artillery batteries and cavalry were pulled up to that place, including the division of the Belgorod Uhlan regiment commanded by Lieutenant Colonel Mikhail Oshanin. After shelling a steamer from field guns, his commander Giffard was seriously wounded, and several sailors were also injured. The dismounted cavalrymen, immersed in boats, decided to take the frigate to board the ship, as happened in the time of Peter the Great. But it did not come to the assault, as the British lowered the flag and surrendered.

The 24 officer and the 201 sailor were taken prisoner, which the cavalrymen brought ashore. When a convoy of prisoners walked to Odessa, on the approach to the city, the British saw tall pillars with crossbeams from the swings, which, according to the custom of the time, were used on the fair that had just ended. Frightened by their own command, which inspired subordinates to fear about the Russian atrocities against the prisoners, the sailors from the "Tiger" took the swing by the gallows and decided that they were being led to the place of execution. Some Britons even began to cry. But the prisoners were treated well, and after the war, all of them, except for the brave captain who died and was buried in Odessa, were sent home to England.

English cannon

They managed to bring some of the trophies to the shore when the Tigra was taken to the bank, when Vesuvius and Niger, seeing that their fellow was captured by the Russians, tried to tear it off. They failed because the Russian artillery re-opened fire. After a long bombardment of "Tiger", which by that time there was not a single person, exploded.

Taming the British "Tiger"


However, its body for the most part remained intact. Later, with the help of divers, they removed the latest English steam engine. The steam frigate "Tiger" with a displacement of 1200 tons was built just 4 years before the start of the war as a yacht of the English Queen Victoria, and then included in the military fleet. In order to humiliate the “mistress of the seas”, Emperor Alexander II ordered the construction of the imperial yacht of the Black Sea Fleet, name it “Tiger” and install a ship from the sunken “Briton” on the ship, which was done. The flag of the English frigate was deposited at the Naval Cadet Corps in St. Petersburg.



Lieutenant Colonel Mikhail Oshanin for bravery in the defense of Odessa was awarded the orders of St.. Stanislav II degree and of sv. Anna IV degree "For courage." In total, Mikhail Dmitrievich had six military orders, including the officer cross of St. George IV degree. In 1858, he retired with the rank of colonel "with his uniform and full salary pension." The colonel spent the rest of his life in his native Vladimir province. He passed away in August 1877 at the age of 69. The capture of the "Tiger" was perhaps the most striking episode in the 30-year career of this honored officer.

It is curious that the English cannons shot from the Tigger were long kept in Odessa, and in 1904, in honor of the 50 anniversary of an unusual battle, one of these guns was installed on Odessa Primorsky Boulevard. There, even today, everyone can see it, including the heirs of the western “gunboat diplomacy”, who are still sending missiles frigates and destroyers to the Black Sea to put pressure on Russia. Perhaps now is the time to remind them of the pitiable fate of the British "Tiger" ...



Author:
Originator:
http://www.prizyv.ru/archives/365193
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Turkir
    Turkir 14 May 2014 08: 52
    +7
    It is always interesting to know historical facts. I did not know anything about Oshanin. Thank.
  2. papont64
    papont64 14 May 2014 10: 50
    +2
    beat beat and beat
  3. CHILD
    CHILD 14 May 2014 10: 51
    +8
    A good joke, put the engine on your yacht))))) The Emperor’s campaign with humor was all right ....
  4. lars
    lars 14 May 2014 11: 56
    +4
    Thanks for the short but informative and illustrated article. Wonderful stories of the glorious military past are often told in my classes.
  5. parus2nik
    parus2nik 14 May 2014 13: 16
    +4
    Perhaps now is the time to remind them of the deplorable fate of the British "Tiger" ...
    They remember, and remember well .. but every time they climb to us, for some reason they are convinced that this will not happen again ... and they are mistaken .. and still climb ...
  6. Cristall
    Cristall 14 May 2014 18: 19
    +1
    An interesting fact of that war lies in the fact that despite the bombing (which, in my opinion, should have been turned into a "Kerch seizure of the city" in order to inflict damage on the Republic of Ingushetia) 2 by the cargo turnover of the empire's port, it still continued to trade throughout the war.
    I don’t know why it was necessary to capture Kerch and destroy the Azov cities and ships, when the largest trading port was left almost untouched. There is an opinion that the practical merchants the British and the French themselves had business there, or maybe through the Greeks ... Especially Odessa was protected by far fewer troops than other facilities.
    Probably after the exploits of Sevastopol, unexpected rebuffs led the Allies to reluctance to arrange a bunch of Sevastopol (there was also a bombing of the North side and unsuccessful) throughout the Black Sea.
    1. Moore
      Moore 15 May 2014 05: 40
      +2
      Regarding the capture of Kerch and the bombardment of the Azov cities, there is an opinion that in this way the public opinion of the "mistress of the seas" was calmed down, indignant at the useless trampling near Sevastopol.
  7. Mihal71
    Mihal71 14 May 2014 20: 54
    0
    Wonderful historical sketch. Thank.
  8. OPTR
    OPTR 15 May 2014 01: 08
    +1
    Very interesting, thanks, only a text question:
    But the prisoners were treated well, and after the end of the war, all of them, except for the brave captain
    And what is the "courage" of the said British captain?
  9. 11111mail.ru
    11111mail.ru 15 May 2014 07: 24
    +1
    160 years ago, Russia waged a heavy war with a coalition from Great Britain, France, the Sardinian kingdom (Italy) and Turkey, trying to capture the southern part Ukraine, Author Nikolay Frolov

    160 years ago, no "Ukraine" existed by definition, there was a southern, Black Sea Outskirts RUSSIAN EMPIRE.
    1. Kassandra
      Kassandra 25 November 2014 15: 57
      0
      It was never called the outskirts, it was called by the Poles - for no reason, it was the outskirts.
      Then the Germans picked up the baton, creating with a similar name in the former. RI its occupation zone (with a much larger territory than the Polish one), which lasted only six months, then the Trotskyists liked its well-functioning bureaucratic apparatus and they left it, along with an eye on a future split, and the weakening of the Russians.
      everything goes according to plan, and this is nice ...

      For the Russians and other normal Slavs, it was and will be Kievan Rus. or Little Russia / New Russia then. Only a small historical part of it can be called Ukraine (Transcarpathia and the middle Sichovye Dnieper region from the island of Khortytsya).
  10. VohaAhov
    VohaAhov 15 May 2014 10: 07
    +2
    The article is a plus and very large. Somehow I saw a picture for a long time, I don’t remember exactly what it’s called, but like "Explosion on the frigate" Tiger ". I really wanted to know what happened there. And now, after so many years, I have succeeded - THANKS BIG TO THE AUTHOR. I will definitely look in Odessa on this gun.
  11. oreh72
    oreh72 19 May 2014 19: 14
    0
    Thanks to the author for the article! It was very interesting to read about the heroic countryman!
  12. ICT
    19 December 2014 23: 38
    +1
    Quote: VohaAhov
    I don’t remember exactly what it’s called, but it was like “Explosion on the frigate“ Tiger. ”I really wanted to know what happened there.

    stumbled upon
    1. ICT
      19 December 2016 06: 54
      0
      Quote: TIT
      stumbled upon

Укрощение британского «Тигра»

Укрощение британского «Тигра»160 лет назад Россия вела тяжелую войну с коалицией из Великобритании, Франции, Сардинского королевства (Италии) и Турции, пытавшейся захватить южную часть Украины, в том числе Северное Причерноморье и Крым.

Среди эпизодов Крымской войны, в отличие от получившей известность обороны Севастополя, куда менее памятна защита Одессы весной 1854 года.

Этот важный порт и крупный экономический центр 20 апреля пыталась захватить сильная англо-французская эскадра. Но неожиданно для себя вражеская армада получил отпор, хотя против девяти фрегатов врага действовала одна-единственная русская батарея из четырех орудий. Один из неприятельских кораблей получил повреждения и загорелся. Тогда союзники, отойдя в море, массированным артогнем с безопасной дистанции разрушили половину города, уничтожив находившиеся в порту суда нейтральных стран и превратив в развалины дома мирных жителей. Среди многих одесситов был поражен снарядом и «француз» – ядро угодило в пьедестал памятника основателю Одессы герцогу де Ришелье.


Укрощение британского «Тигра»


30 апреля флот врага, решив повторить удар, отправил на разведку к Одессе три паровых английских фрегата. Один из них, «Tiger» («Тигр»), подошел слишком близко к берегу и в тумане сел на мель. Подоспевшая полевая батарея и кавалерийские разъезды сумели совершить неслыханное – чуть ли не врукопашную захватить новейший британский военный корабль. Среди участников этой необычной операции оказался и мой земляк командир эскадрона Белгородского уланского полка Михаил Ошанин – потомок старинного суздальского рода.

Кавалерист в Одессе

Ошанины – одна из самых старинных фамилий Суздальско-Ростовского края, ведущая счет своим предкам с XIV столетия. По легенде основателем рода стал некий «муж честен» Стеня, выехавший на Русь из Венеции еще при Дмитрии Донском. Традиционно Ошанины подвизались на ратном поприще. Дед будущего героя захвата английского фрегата Александр Иванович Ошанин служил в Суздальском пехотном полку, в составе которого участвовал во многих боях Семилетней войны 1750-1764 гг. с Пруссией, был ранен и вышел в отставку после заключения мира в чине секунд-майора. Офицером был и отец отважного улана Дмитрий Александрович, который прославился благотворительностью и даже выстроил церковь на свои средства.

Потомственный офицер Михаил Дмитриевич Ошанин родился в 1808 году, и вопрос, какую карьеру избрать, для него не стоял. После окончания Московского кадетского корпуса он окончил курс в специальной учебной части и в 1827-м получил назначение в Украинский уланский полк с производством в корнеты. К началу Крымской войны находившийся в составе Белгородского уланского полка Михаил Ошанин уже более четверти века прослужил в кавалерии. За его плечами были трудная война с мятежной Польшей и участие в кровопролитном штурме Варшавы, на груди – три боевых ордена. В 1853 году за отличие ротмистр Ошанин был пожалован в подполковники. Весной 1854-го белгородские уланы дислоцировались на окраине Одессы, куда их перевели с целью отражения возможного неприятельского десанта.

А 20 апреля, когда девять английских и французских паровых фрегатов обстреливали Одессу, с других кораблей союзной эскадры, державшейся в стороне, были отправлены 19 шлюпок с десантом. Однако попытка англичан и французов высадиться на берег в нескольких верстах от города была отбита. Десантников обстреляла русская артиллерия, потом подоспели кавалеристы.

в итоге шлюпки, так и не высадив ни одного человека, поспешили обратно под защиту боевых кораблей. Белгородские уланы 20 апреля проявили мужество и стойкость, проводя демонстрации для устрашения десанта под огнем неприятельских кораблей. В послужном списке полковника Михаила Ошанина, хранящемся ныне в Государственном архиве Владимирской области, говорится, что этот офицер 20 апреля 1854 года участвовал в обороне Одессы «во время появления на Одесском рейде англо-французской эскадры из 19 линейных кораблей и 9 пароходофрегатов и объявления города в блокадном положении»

Необычный бой

Утром 30 апреля в густом тумане в 6 верстах от Одессы под крутым берегом Малого Фонтана посланный на разведку английский 16-пушечный паровой фрегат «Тигр», следовавший вместе с двумя другими паровыми фрегатами «Везувий» и «Нигер», сел на мель. Попытки команды сняться с нее не увенчались успехом. Поначалу из-за тумана пароход не было видно с берега, но потом случайно проходящий поблизости садовник услышал английскую речь и шум, о чем сообщил конному пикету. Когда туман немного разошелся, оказалось, что севший на мель фрегат находится всего в 300 метрах от берега.

Сразу же к тому месту были подтянуты несколько артиллерийских батарей и кавалерия, в том числе дивизион Белгородского уланского полка, которым командовал подполковник Михаил Ошанин. После обстрела парохода из полевых пушек его командир Джиффард был тяжело ранен, ранения получили также несколько матросов. Спешившиеся кавалеристы, погрузившись на лодки, решили взять фрегат на абордаж, как это бывало во времена Петра Великого. Но до штурма дело не дошло, так как англичане спустили флаг и сдались.

В плен попали 24 офицера и 201 матрос, которых кавалеристы перевезли на берег. Когда колонна пленных шла в Одессу, на подходе к городу англичане увидели высокие столбы с перекладинами от качелей, которые по обычаю того времени использовались на только что закончившихся ярмарочных гуляньях. Напуганные собственным командованием, которое внушало подчиненным страхи о зверствах русских по отношению к пленным, моряки с «Тигра» приняли качели за виселицы и решили, что их ведут к месту казни. Некоторые британцы даже заплакали. Но с пленными обращались хорошо, и после окончания войны все они, кроме отважного капитана, умершего и похороненного в Одессе, были отправлены домой в Англию.

Английская пушка

С «Тигра» успели свезти на берег часть трофеев, когда «Везувий» и «Нигер», увидев, что их собрат захвачен русскими, попытались сдернуть его с мели. Им это не удалось, поскольку русская артиллерия вновь открыла огонь. После длительного обстрела «Тигр», на котором к тому времени не оставалось ни одного человека, взорвался.

Укрощение британского «Тигра»


Впрочем, его корпус по большей части остался неповрежденным. Позже с него при помощи водолазов сняли новейшую английскую паровую машину. Паровой фрегат «Тигр» водоизмещением 1200 тонн был построен всего за 4 года до начала войны в качестве яхты английской королевы Виктории, а потом включен в состав военного флота. Для того чтобы унизить «владычицу морей», император Александр II приказал построить императорскую яхту Черноморского флота, назвать ее «Тигр» и установить на корабль машину от потопленного «британца», что и было исполнено. Флаг английского фрегата передали на хранение в Морской кадетский корпус в Петербурге.

Укрощение британского «Тигра»


Подполковник Михаил Ошанин за отвагу при обороне Одессы был награжден орденами св. Станислава II степени и св. Анны IV степени «За храбрость». Всего же Михаил Дмитриевич имел шесть боевых орденов, в том числе офицерский крест св. Георгия IV степени. В 1858 году он вышел в отставку в чине полковника «с мундиром и пенсионом полного жалованья». Остаток жизни полковник провел в родной Владимирской губернии. Он скончался в августе 1877 года в 69-летнем возрасте. Захват «Тигра» оказался, пожалуй, самым ярким эпизодом в 30-летней карьере этого заслуженного офицера.

Любопытно, что снятые с «Тигра» английские пушки долго хранились в Одессе, а в 1904 году в честь 50-летия необычного боя одно из этих орудий было установлено на одесском Приморском бульваре. Там его и сегодня могут видеть все желающие, в том числе и наследники западной «дипломатии канонерок», до сих пор отправляющие в Черное море для давления на Россию теперь уже ракетные фрегаты и эсминцы. Пожалуй, теперь самое время им напомнить про плачевную судьбу британского «Тигра»…

Укрощение британского «Тигра»
Укрощение британского «Тигра»
Укрощение британского «Тигра»
Автор: Николай Фролов
Первоисточник: http://www.prizyv.ru/archives/365193


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 10
  1. Turkir 14 мая 2014 08:52
    Всегда интересно узнать исторические факты. Я, не знал ничего об Ошанине. Спасибо.
  2. papont64 14 мая 2014 10:50
    били бьем и будем бить
  3. KIND 14 мая 2014 10:51
    Хорошая шутка,себе на яхту двигатель поставить)))))У Императора походу с юмором было все в порядке....
  4. lars 14 мая 2014 11:56
    Спасибо за краткую, но содержательную и иллюстрированную статью. Замечательные истории славного боевого прошлого часто рассказываю на своих занятиях.
    lars
  5. parus2nik 14 мая 2014 13:16
    Пожалуй, теперь самое время им напомнить про плачевную судьбу британского «Тигра»…
    Они помнят, и хорошо помнят..но каждый раз когда лезут к нам,почему то убеждены,что подобное не повторится...и ошибаются..и всё равно лезут...
    parus2nik
  6. Cristall 14 мая 2014 18:19
    Интересный факт той войны заключается в том, что несмотря на бомбардировку(которую по моему мнению должны были превратить в "керченский захват города", чтобы нанести урон РИ) 2 по грузообороту порту империи, он все равно продолжал торговать всю войну.
    Незнаю зачем следовало захватывать Керчь и уничтожать Азовские города и суда, когда крупнейший торговый порт оставили практически нетронутым. Мнение есть что практичные торговцы англичане да и французы сами имели там бизнес, а может через греков... Тем более Одессу защищало куда меньше войск чем другие объекты.
    Вероятно после подвигов севастопольцев, неожиданные отпоры привели союзников в нежелание устраивать кучу Севастополей(там тоже была бомбардировка Северной стороны и безуспешная) по всему Черному морю.
    1. Мур 15 мая 2014 05:40
      По поводу захвата Керчи и бомбардировке азовских городов существует мнение, что таким образом успокаивалось общественное мнение "владычицы морей", возмущённое бесполезным топтанием у Севастополя.
  7. Mihal71 14 мая 2014 20:54
    Замечательный исторический очерк. Спасибо.
  8. OPTR 15 мая 2014 01:08
    Очень интересно, спасибо, только вопрос по тексту:
    Но с пленными обращались хорошо, и после окончания войны все они, кроме отважного капитана
    И в чем же "отважность" упомянутого британского капитана?
  9. 11111mail.ru 15 мая 2014 07:24
    160 лет назад Россия вела тяжелую войну с коалицией из Великобритании, Франции, Сардинского королевства (Италии) и Турции, пытавшейся захватить южную часть Украины,Автор Николай Фролов

    160 лет назад никакой "Украины" не существовало по определению, была южная, причерноморская ОКРАИНА РОССИЙСКОЙ ИМПЕРИИ.
    11111mail.ru
    1. Kassandra 25 ноября 2014 15:57
      Окраиной она никогда не называлась, ее так назвали поляки - для ни да, она была окраиной.
      потом эстафету подхватили немцы создав с подобным названием в бывш. РИ свою оккупационную зону (с многократно большей территорией чем польская), просуществовавшую всего полгода, потом ее отлаженный бюрократический аппарат понравился троцкистам и они его оставили, заодно с прицелом на будущий раскол, и ослабление русских.
      всё идет по плану, и это хлавнойе...

      Для русских и др. нормальных славян она была есть и будет Киевская Русь. или Малороссия/Новороссия тогда уже. Украиной можно называть только незначительную историческую ее часть (Закарпатье ии среднее Сечевое Поднепровье с о.Хортица).
      Kassandra
  10. ВохаАхов 15 мая 2014 10:07
    Статье плюс и очень большой. Как то давно видел картину, точно не помню как называется, но типа "Взрыв на фрегате "Тигр". Очень хотелось узнать, что там произошло. И вот теперь по прошествии стольких лет мне это удалось - СПАСИБО БОЛЬШОЕ АВТОРУ. Буду в Одессе обязательно посмотрю на эту пушку.
  11. oreh72 19 мая 2014 19:14
    Спасибо автору за статью! Было очень интересно прочитать про героического земляка!
  12. TIT 19 декабря 2014 23:38
    Цитата: ВохаАхов
    точно не помню как называется, но типа "Взрыв на фрегате "Тигр". Очень хотелось узнать, что там произошло.

    случайно наткнулся
    TIT

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня