Time of historical changes for the Bundeswehr



The Bundeswehr has been undergoing radical reform since its founding in 1955. German troops will be less, and their management structures will become slimmer. On Wednesday, the Government of Germany approved the relevant plans of the Ministry of Defense.


The outdated sluggish structures, which are also too expensive for the state, is the main reason why the former German Defense Minister Karl Theodor zu Guttenberg started the process of reforming the Bundeswehr a year ago. The first step towards major changes in the German armed forces was the suspension of compulsory military service from March of this year.

The further course of the reform is presented on Wednesday by the Government, the leading military of Germany and the general public, Defense Minister Thomas de Maiziere. He replaced quite a few in the plans of reforms that his predecessor left. And, if we proceed from the first, rather reserved assessments of opposition experts on military issues, these changes are for the better. In the future, the Bundeswehr should become effective armed forces, better in line with international standards.

Save, reduce, encourage

The main concept of the reform of the Bundeswehr, as proposed by Minister de Maizieres, comes down to four important points. It is about reducing the number of troops from 220 thousand to 175 - 185 000 military. Accordingly, savings of several billions are expected. If during the time of Zu Guttenberg it was about 8,3 a billion euros to 2015, then his successor de Maizieres, obviously, was able to achieve in negotiations with the Ministry of Finance the reduction of this figure. However, the Bundeswehr must radically save further. One of the savings measures will be, in particular, a reduction by a third of posts in the Ministry of Defense.

One of the most difficult tasks envisaged by the Bundeswehr reform is to recruit volunteers for military service. If during the times of the previous Minister of Defense it was planned to find annually up to 15 thousands of young people who would join the ranks of the German army, now the plans are noticeably more modest. It is only about five thousand volunteers per year. This is not enough, the opposition Social Democrats are convinced. Their defense experts assume that the optimal goal would be to find about 7,5 thousands of volunteers for the Bundeswehr every year who are ready to do military service.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Время исторических изменений для Бундесвера



Бундесвер ожидает радикальная реформа со времени основания в 1955 году. Немецких войск станет меньше, а их управленческие структуры станут стройнее. В среду правительство ФРГ утвердило соответствующие планы министерства обороны.


Устаревшие неповоротливые структуры, которые к тому же являются слишком дорогими для государства - это главная причина, по которой год назад бывший министр обороны Германии Карл Теодор цу Гуттенберг начал процесс реформирования Бундесвера. Первым шагом в направлении больших изменений в германских вооруженных силах стало приостановление обязательной воинской повинности с марта этого года.

Дальнейший ход реформы представляет в среду правительству, ведущим военным Германии и широкой общественности министр обороны Томас де Мезьер. Он сменил немало в планах реформ, которые оставил его предшественник. И, если исходить из первых, достаточно сдержанных оценок оппозиционных экспертов по военным вопросам, изменения эти - к лучшему. Бундесвер в будущем должен стать эффективными вооруженными силами, лучше соответствовать международным стандартам.

Экономить, сокращать, поощрять

Главным образом концепция реформы Бундесвера в том виде, как ее предлагает министр де Мезьер, сводится к четырем важнейшим пунктам. Речь идет об уменьшении численности войск со 220 тысяч до 175 - 185 000 военных. Соответственно ожидаются сбережения средств в несколько миллиардов. Если во времена цу Гуттенберга речь шла о 8,3 миллиарда евро до 2015 года, то его преемник де Мезьер, очевидно, смог достичь в переговорах с министерством финансов снижение этой цифры. Впрочем, радикально экономить Бундесверу надо и дальше. Одной из мер экономии станет, в частности, уменьшение на треть постов в министерстве обороны.

Одной из труднейших задач, предусмотренных реформой Бундесвера, является привлечение добровольцев к службе в армии. Если во времена предыдущего министра обороны планировалось ежегодно находить до 15 тысяч молодых людей, которые бы пополняли ряды немецкой армии, то сейчас планы ощутимо скромнее. Речь идет всего о пяти тысячах добровольцев в год. Это мало, убеждены оппозиционные социал-демократы. Их эксперты по оборонным вопросам исходят из того, что оптимальной целью было бы ежегодно находить для Бундесвера около 7,5 тысяч добровольцев, которые готовы нести военную службу.
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

4 комментария
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти