Military Review

Happy Military Translator!

14
High-quality language translation is intended to increase the level of mutual understanding between nations, leading to a high degree of integration and respect for mutual interests. The profession of a military translator, whose professional holiday Russia annually celebrates 21 in May, lies somewhat differently. It was on that day exactly 85 years ago - May 21 in the USSR 1929 was signed a decree on the establishment of a special title: military translator.


The capacious definition of the term “military translator” was proposed at one time by the legendary Soviet military leader, Hero of the Soviet Union Andrei Matveyevich Andreev, who for quite a long time held the post of head of the Military Institute of Foreign Languages:

A military translator is the specialist who must understand the nature of modern combat and firmly know military terminology, be able to abstract the military literature, translate military documents and interrogate a prisoner.


Happy Military Translator!

Colonel-General A.M. Andreev


In other words, the main task of a professional specialist in the field of military translation is to obtain the maximum amount of information about a potential adversary based on both special literary sources in a foreign language and direct negotiations (interrogations) with the carrier of such information and at the same time a carrier of a certain language.



History the profession of a military translator cannot be kept from any particular event. And certainly, the beginning of this story cannot be matched with 29 May 1929. Even during the period of the formation of Russia, the art of military translators was extremely necessary both during long-range military campaigns and during the confrontation of the enemy on his own territory. May 29 date became a kind of legal registration of the existence of the profession, and already in the new Russia it received the status of an official holiday - the Day of the Military Translator.

Formally, the beginning of the professional training of representatives of this military profession can be considered 1549 year - the moment of the appearance of the Posolsky order - the central institution of Russia, which, according to modern terminology, can be called an analogue of the state’s foreign policy department. The first head of the Ambassadorial Order, the department under whose auspices the future ambassadors of various levels were trained, was Ivan Viskovat, the clerk of the press and the keeper of the press, a man who can be considered one of the eminent diplomats of his time. The last head of the Ambassadorial Order was Gavrila Golovkin (job position - 1708-1717) - a man who was called a skilled courtier under Peter I. It was Golovkin who became the first president of the Foreign Affairs Collegium.

None of the military conflicts in which Russia took part (whether it be the Russian Empire or the USSR) did not do without the professional performance of the duties assigned to them by military translators. A truly significant personnel shortage in this particular military profession was observed during the Great Patriotic War, when the art of military translation was valued especially, and when high-quality translation of the testimony of the “language”, a defector captured by a soldier or officer of the enemy army could play a decisive role developing strategies and tactics of offensive or defensive operations not only of a local character. The servicemen, who are fluent in German, Hungarian, Romanian, Bulgarian and other European languages, contributed to the common victory.

Every military conflict dictates the need to use a particular language. Afghanistan has left its mark on the history of the military translator profession. The memory book of soldiers-internationalists in Afghanistan suggests that during the Soviet presence in the Islamic republic more than 40 military translators died. Here are just a few names of military translators of the Soviet Army who died in Afghan territory: Lieutenant Mirjunus Mirfaezoev, captain Rakhmonkul Oblokulov, ml. Lieutenant Alexander Lepyohin, ml. Lieutenant Gennady Ivanov, ml. Lieutenant Sergey Doroshenko, Captain Khurshed Kamariddinov, Junior Lieutenant Bogdan Seniv, Junior Lieutenant Andrei Stebunov, Lieutenant Raim Numanov, Junior Lieutenant Dmitry Vashchenko, Junior Lieutenant Alexander Kudrin (data from the Book of Memory of Soviet Warriors).

A military translator is a specialist whose duty is not only perfect knowledge of the language, but also deep knowledge in the field of military terminology. A special circle of professional skills is the skill of qualitative summarizing of incoming information, the ability to read foreign geographic and topographic maps, and knowledge in the field of material and technical support of real and potential adversary units.

One of the glorious and at the same time tragic pages of the history of military translation is the service of the Nuremberg process permeated with information about the horrors of Nazism and fascism, where any incorrect or inaccurately translated word could lead to unpredictable consequences. It was in Nuremberg that for the first time in their history, Soviet specialists faced simultaneous translation, which imposed special requirements. Today this art has been brought to perfection, but decades ago such work was a real challenge for a military translator who was forced to process huge streams of information, sometimes getting into real time pressure.


Translator's booth at the Nuremberg process


The profession of a military translator does not lose its relevance. A series of armed conflicts against the backdrop of political confrontation between countries or blocs makes it necessary to pay special attention to the training of specialists who are both linguists and military personnel with a high-quality professional component.
Congratulations to all military translators on their professional holiday and we wish that in their work they would achieve exceptional understanding, improving their skills for the benefit of the Fatherland!
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. ramin_serg
    ramin_serg 21 May 2014 08: 23
    +5
    A military translator is a very necessary thing in any war
    1. VNP1958PVN
      VNP1958PVN 21 May 2014 08: 36
      +1
      Zhirinovsky may be offended by the "thing"
      1. Mister X
        Mister X 21 May 2014 11: 55
        +11
        A bit of humor in the subject

        War. A military translator is conducting an interrogation of a prisoner of war.
        - Wat from your name?
        - My name is John Smith. ... hryas captive in the face.
        - Wat from your name?
        - (surprised) My name is John Smith! ... hryas captive in the face.
        - Wat from you name ?!
        - (almost crying) My name is John Smith !!! ... hryas captive in the face.
        - I, bastard, I ask you for the last time, how many tanks do you have ??? ...
  2. Checks
    Checks 21 May 2014 08: 59
    +3
    Happy holiday, friends!
  3. Warhead-xnumx
    Warhead-xnumx 21 May 2014 09: 15
    +5
    Happy holiday translators! And today I have a better holiday, I didn’t know what it is. It’s a pity that the crust is nowhere useful. lol
  4. Mikhail3
    Mikhail3 21 May 2014 09: 56
    +2
    Happy holiday, comrades spies! wink laughing
    1. mamont5
      mamont5 21 May 2014 10: 10
      +1
      Quote: Mikhail3
      Happy holiday, comrades spies! wink laughing


      Why "spies"? The translator is not just a spy.
      1. s1н7т
        s1н7т 21 May 2014 11: 49
        +1
        Um! Directly, of course, not always, but - the special propaganda department, for example, was collecting information from open sources - what are not spies? laughing I’m not saying that in some places in other parts of the certificate "Military translator" was required for "employment" laughing And "OsNaz" - how was it there without an interpreter? And any attaché, in theory, knows the language of the host country and has the qualification of an interpreter. And you say laughing drinks
        P.S. Many of my former colleagues, along with Military Translator's Day, celebrate November 5th - well, you understand laughing hi
  5. waisson
    waisson 21 May 2014 09: 58
    +4
    HOLIDAY YOU MILITARY TRANSLATORS !!!! drinks drinks drinks soldier soldier soldier
  6. Gypsy girl
    Gypsy girl 21 May 2014 10: 32
    +2
    Congratulations! drinks
  7. Aton
    Aton 21 May 2014 11: 27
    +2
    Happy holiday, Comrades !!!!!!!
    1. Witch
      Witch 21 May 2014 11: 36
      +5
      A lot of our brother hangs out here.)))
      Happy holiday, all of us!
      Thanks to all those teachers who taught us, sometimes driving knowledge to individual individuals!
      A particularly low bow - to Boyko, Karzhavina, Dergai, Andronova, Koblova, Petrova and Baumgarten.

      West-97

      PySy ... But all the same, it’s more familiar to celebrate February 1 ....
      1. Ptah
        Ptah 21 May 2014 15: 16
        0
        Quote: Witch
        A lot of our brother hangs out here.

        I was also told to join "your cohort" ...
        At the time of the urgent call, he was already fluent in German and spoke spoken / everyday English. Dad (now deceased) really wanted me to, if I connected my life with the army, then I would go to the corresponding university.
        Well, and the materialistic fatherly "reason" ... If something happens there - in the future you can go to the commerce and it seems like "at the headquarters" ... lol Yes, and mother was not against this option ...
        He prevented the "bad" carter from proving to his parents that he was "himself, with a mustache" ...
        The result is a fleet. And it was possible to combine ... what You look today, if you managed to get not to the SF, but to the Pacific Fleet, you would have celebrated twice.
        So Happy Holiday YOU, alas, failed colleagues !!!!
    2. The comment was deleted.
  8. Eugene
    Eugene 21 May 2014 12: 51
    +1
    The second time I remember the series - "Russian translation." It is in the subject. Happy Holidays, guys!
  9. padonok.71
    padonok.71 21 May 2014 18: 17
    +1
    Add my five cents. In addition to knowledge of the language, knowledge of traditions, foundations, and beliefs of the host country is required. Otherwise, you can break such firewood. There was a case when a pajac translator ran into the female half of the house (in which region of our country - guess). The case almost ended in shooting. Only thanks to the knowledge of customs, the commander (eternal memory to you Andrei), the case ended in a grand drinking bout, with shooting in the air and fraternities. By the way, Pyajak turned out to be a world guy.
  10. ando_bor
    ando_bor 21 May 2014 23: 35
    +1
    Happy holiday military translators!
    Was recently in Angola, the translator began to swell, now I am
    portuguese little falaru.
    - Well for translators, sometimes useful,
    the truth was a civilian translator.

С Днём военного переводчика!

Качественный языковой перевод призван повышать уровень взаимопонимания между народами, приводить к высокой степени интеграции и уважения взаимных интересов. Несколько в иной плоскости лежит профессия военного переводчика, профессиональный праздник которого Россия ежегодно отмечает 21 мая. Именно в этот день ровно 85 лет назад – 21 мая 1929 года в СССР был подписан указ об учреждении особого звания: военный переводчик.

Ёмкое определение термина «военный переводчик» предложил в своё время легендарный советский военный деятель, Герой Советского Союза Андрей Матвеевич Андреев, достаточно долгое время занимавший пост начальника Военного института иностранных языков:

Военный переводчик – это тот специалист, который должен понимать природу современного боя и твёрдо знать военную терминологию, уметь реферировать военную литературу, переводить военные документы и вести допрос пленного.



С Днём военного переводчика!

Генерал-полковник А.М.Андреев


Другими словами, основная задача профессионального специалиста в области военного перевода заключается в получении максимального объёма информации о потенциальном противнике на основе как специальных литературных источников на иностранном языке, так и прямых переговоров (допросов) с носителем такой информации и одновременно носителем определённого языка.

С Днём военного переводчика!


Историю профессии военного переводчика нельзя вести от какого-то конкретного события. И уж точно нельзя начало этой истории сопрягать с 29 мая 1929 года. Ещё в период становления Руси искусство военных переводчиков было крайне необходимым как во время дальних военных походов, так и во время противостояния неприятелю на собственной территории. Дата 29 мая стала своеобразным юридическим оформлением существования профессии, а уже в новой России она получила статус официального праздника – Дня военного переводчика.

Формально началом профессиональной подготовки представителей этой военной профессии можно считать 1549 год – момент появления Посольского приказа – центрального учреждения России, которое по современной терминологии можно назвать аналогом внешнеполитического ведомства государства. Первым главой Посольского приказа – ведомства, под эгидой которого проходило обучение будущих посольских работников различных уровней, был Иван Висковатов – думный дьяк и хранитель печати – человек, которого можно считать одним из выдающихся дипломатов своего времени. Последним главой Посольского приказа стал Гаврила Головкин (работа в должности – 1708-1717) – человек, которого называли искусным царедворцем при Петре I. Именно Головкин стал первым президентом Коллегии иностранных дел.

Ни один из военных конфликтов, в котором принимала участие Россия (будь то Российская Империя или СССР) не обходился без профессионального выполнения возложенных на них обязанностей со стороны военных переводчиков. По-настоящему весомый кадровый голод в сфере именно этой военной профессии наблюдался во время Великой Отечественной войны, когда искусство военного перевода ценилось особенно, и когда качественный перевод показаний «языка», перебежчика, захваченного в плен солдата или офицера армии противника мог сыграть определяющую роль при разработке стратегии и тактики наступательной или оборонительной операции не только локального характера. Военнослужащие, отлично владеющие немецким, венгерским, румынским, болгарским и другими европейскими языками, вносили свой вклад в дело общей победы.

Каждый военный конфликт диктует необходимость использования определённого языка. Свою отметину на истории профессии военного переводчика оставил Афганистан. Книга памяти воинов-интернационалистов в Афганистане говорит о том, что за время советского присутствия в исламской республике погибли более 40 военных переводчиков. Вот лишь несколько имён военных переводчиков Советской Армии, погибших на афганской территории: лейтенант Миръюнус Мирфаезоев, капитан Рахмонкул Облокулов, мл.лейтенант Александр Лепёхин, мл.лейтенант Геннадий Иванов, мл. лейтенант Сергей Дорошенко, капитан Хуршед Камариддинов, мл.лейтенант Богдан Сенив, мл.лейтенант Андрей Стебунов, лейтенант Раим Нуманов, мл.лейтенант Дмитрий Ващенко, мл.лейтенант Александр Кудрин (данные Книги памяти Советских воинов).

Военный переводчик – это специалист, в обязанного которого входит не только совершенное знание языка, но и глубокие познания в сфере военной терминологии. Особый круг профессиональных навыков – умение качественного реферирования поступающей информации, возможность чтения иностранных географических и топографических карт, знания в области материально-технического обеспечения подразделений реального и потенциального противника.

Одна из славных и в то же время трагичных страниц истории военного перевода – это обслуживание пронизанного информацией об ужасах нацизма и фашизма Нюрнбергского процесса, где любое неправильно или неточно переведённое слово могло привести к непрогнозируемым последствиям. Именно в Нюрнберге впервые в своей истории советские специалисты столкнулись с синхронным переводом, что накладывало особые требования. Сегодня это искусство доведено до совершенства, но десятилетия назад такая работа была настоящим вызовом для военного переводчика, который был вынужден обрабатывать огромные потоки информации, порой попадая в настоящий цейтнот.

С Днём военного переводчика!

Кабина переводчиков на Нюрнбергском процессе


Профессия военного переводчика не теряет своей актуальности. Череда вооружённых конфликтов на фоне политического противостояния между странами или блоками заставляет особое внимание уделять подготовке специалистов, которые одновременно являются и лингвистами, и военнослужащими с качественной профессиональной составляющей.
Поздравляем всех военных переводчиков с их профессиональным праздником и желаем, чтобы в своей работе они добивались исключительного понимания, совершенствуя своё мастерство на благо Отечества!


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 14
  1. ramin_serg 21 мая 2014 08:23
    Военный переводчик очень нужная вещь в любой войне
    1. VNP1958PVN 21 мая 2014 08:36
      Жириновский может на "вещь" обидиться
      1. Mister X 21 мая 2014 11:55
        Немного юмора в тему

        Война. Военный переводчик ведет допрос военнопленного.
        - Уот из ёр нейм?
        - My name is John Smith. ...Хрясь пленному по роже.
        - Уот из ёр нейм?
        - (удивленно) My name is John Smith! ...Хрясь пленному по роже.
        - Уот из ёр нейм?!
        - (чуть не плача) My name is John Smith!!! ...Хрясь пленному по роже.
        - Я тебя, сволочь, в последний раз спрашиваю, сколько у вас танков???...
  2. Чека 21 мая 2014 08:59
    С праздником, друзья!
    Чека
  3. БЧ-3 21 мая 2014 09:15
    С праздником переводчики! А у меня оказывается сегодня естче один праздник, не знал что такой есть. Жаль только корочка так нигде и не пригодилась. lol
  4. михаил3 21 мая 2014 09:56
    С праздником, товарищи шпионы! wink laughing
    1. mamont5 21 мая 2014 10:10
      Цитата: михаил3
      С праздником, товарищи шпионы! wink laughing


      А почему "шпионы"? Переводчик как раз не шпион.
      1. с1н7т 21 мая 2014 11:49
        Гм! Напрямую, конечно, не всегда, но - отдел спец.пропаганды, например, занимался сбором информации из открытых источников - чем не шпионы? laughing Уж не говорю, что кое-где в иных частях удостоверение "Военный переводчик" было обязательным для "трудоустройства" laughing А "ОсНаз" - как там без переводчика было? Да и любой атташе, по идее, знает язык страны пребывания и имеет квалификацию переводчика. А Вы говорите laughing drinks
        П.С. Многие мои бывшие коллеги наряду с Днём военного переводчика отмечают 5 ноября - ну, Вы понимаете laughing hi
        с1н7т
  5. waisson 21 мая 2014 09:58
    С ПРАЗДНИКОМ ВАС ВОЕННЫЕ ПЕРЕВОДЧИКИ!!!! drinks drinks drinks soldier soldier soldier
    waisson
  6. Цыганочка 21 мая 2014 10:32
    Поздравляю! drinks
  7. Атон 21 мая 2014 11:27
    С праздником, Товарищи!!!!!!!
    Атон
    1. Ведмедь 21 мая 2014 11:36
      Много нашего брата здесь тусит.)))
      С праздником, всех нас!
      Спасибо всем тем преподавателям, которые нас учили, иногда вбивая знания отдельным индивидам!
      Особо низкий поклон - Бойко, Каржавиной, Дергай, Андронову, Кобловой, Петровой и Баумгартену.

      Запад-97

      ПыСы... А все ж таки 1 февраля праздновать привычней....
      Ведмедь
      1. Ptah 21 мая 2014 15:16
        Цитата: Ведмедь
        Много нашего брата здесь тусит.

        Мне тоже прочили вхождение в "вашу когорту"...
        На момент призыва на срочку уже свободно говорил на немецком и владел разговорным/бытовым английским. Батя (ныне покойный) очень хотел, чтобы я, если и связал свою жизнь с армией, тогда чтобы поступил в соответствующий ВУЗ.
        Ну и меркантильный отцовский "резон"... В случае чего там - в дальнейшем можно податься в комерсы и вроде как "при штабе"... lol Да и маманя не была против такого варианта...
        Помешал "дyрной" карахтер и доказать родителям, что и "сам-с усам"...
        В итоге - ФЛОТ. А можно было и совместить... what Глядишь сегодня, если бы угораздило попасть не на СФ, а на ТОФ, праздновал бы вдвойне.
        Так что с Праздничком ВАС, увы, не состоявшиеся коллеги!!!!
    2. Комментарий был удален.
  8. евген 21 мая 2014 12:51
    Второй раз вспоминаю сериал-"Русский перевод."Именно в тему.С Праздником,ребята!
  9. padonok.71 21 мая 2014 18:17
    Добавлю свои пять копеек. Помимо знания языка обязательно знание традиций, устоев, верований страны пребывания. Иначе можно таких дров наломать. Был случай когда пяджак-переводчик поперся на женскую половину дома (в каком регионе нашей Родины - догадайтесь). Дело чуть не закончилось стрельбой. Только благодаря знанию обычаев, командиром (вечная тебе память Андрей), дело закончилось грандиозной попойкой, со стрельбой в воздух и братаниями. Кстати пяджак оказался мировым парнем.
    padonok.71
  10. ando_bor 21 мая 2014 23:35
    С праздником военные переводчики!
    Был недавно в Анголе, переводчик забухал, теперь и я
    португезу немного фаларю.
    - Ну за переводчиков, иногда полезно,
    правда переводчик гражданский был.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня