Military Review

Domestic post-war aircraft guns caliber 23 mm. Part I

11
By the end of World War II, the composition of the barrel armament of aircraft underwent major changes. The effectiveness of machine gun weapons against modern aircraft was constantly falling, which is why automatic guns became the main weapon of fighter aircraft over time. However rapid development aviation affected this class weapons. Soon after the end of the Great Patriotic and World War II, it became obvious that the main trend of the further development of guns would be an increase in caliber. 20-mm automatic guns no longer fully meet the requirements of the military.


Soon after the war, it was decided to make the minimum caliber of 23 mm aircraft cannons. One of the main advantages of 23-mm guns over 20-millimeter were the characteristics of the projectile. With a small increase in the caliber and dimensions of the munition, it was possible to almost double the mass of the projectile, which should have affected its capabilities accordingly.

NA-23

The main 23-mm aviation weapon in the years of the Great Patriotic War was the gun WYa-23. With sufficiently high performance, it had a considerable return. To solve this problem, it was decided to develop a new cannon for a new ammunition. The 23 x115 mm projectile mm appeared in the 1943 year. Employees of OKB-16 took a projectile from the existing 23x152 mm ammunition and connected it with a case borrowed from the 14,5x114 mm cartridge for anti-tank guns. While maintaining the basic fighting qualities, the new projectile turned out to be smaller and lighter than the old one.

Domestic post-war aircraft guns caliber 23 mm. Part I


The first weapon under the new ammunition was the automatic gun NS-23, created by the designers of OKB-16 under the direction of A.E. Nudelman and A.S. Suranova. The development of the NA-23 gun was launched in 1943, but it became very popular in the first post-war years. The aim of the project was to create a new automatic cannon for the 23х115 mm projectile, which in its characteristics is not inferior to existing systems of the same caliber.

A new gun with a total length of 1985 mm and a weight of 37 kg had a barrel length of 1450 mm. Automation tools worked by the energy of recoil with a short course of the barrel. After ramming the barrel, the barrel was locked with a rotating piston bolt. There was a run-up accelerator. To simplify the design of the gun, an interesting system of extraction of spent cartridges was used: as the bolt moved, it was pushed out by a new cartridge. Separate extractor was not used. The power supply was carried out using a detachable metal tape. Fire control was carried out using electrostart. For installation on the aircraft gun was equipped with two attachment points.

The new gun had some advantages over the WL-23, primarily in its own weight and ammunition weight. In addition, recoil decreased by 60%. However, the lower weight of the propellant charge of the new projectile affected the characteristics of the gun. With a rate of fire of about 600 rounds per minute, the NS-23 gun provided the initial velocity of the projectile at the level of 690 m / s. The HC-23 was inferior to the WL-23 not only in the initial velocity of the projectile, but also in the second salvo: 1,85 kg versus 2 kg. Tool life equaled 4 thousands of shots.

Two types of projectiles were proposed for use with the HC-23 gun. The incendiary missile pack had a total weight of 200 g, carried an 15 g of explosive and was equipped with an A-23 fuse. An armor-piercing incendiary projectile with the same mass carried 5-7 g of explosive and did not have a fuse. From a distance of 200 m, an armor-piercing incendiary projectile could penetrate an armor plate 25 mm thick.

In the spring and summer of 1944, tests of a new automatic gun took place on the ground stand and on the Yak-9 fighter. Despite the shortcomings, the NS-23 gun was recommended for adoption. The corresponding decision of the State Defense Committee appeared in early October 44 th.

The production of the NS-23 cannons began at plant number 2 (now the Degtyarev Plant, Kovrov). Until the end of 1944, three hundred guns were assembled in Kovrov. For 45, gunsmiths produced over 600 new guns. The pace of production in the 1946 year was less - only 530 guns. The situation changed dramatically in the 1947 year. The appearance of the first domestic jet fighters, who needed automatic guns, led to the fact that in 47 plant No. 2 assembled about 6 thousand НС-23. Before 1950, in Kovrov, about 22,5 thousand guns were manufactured. In 1951-53, production was conducted at the Tula factory No.535, which during this time produced 6 thousand guns.

The first aircraft that received the NS-23 gun was the Il-10 attack aircraft, created in 1944 year. Each such attack aircraft carried two guns in the HC-23KM modification (“wing-engine” with some modifications related to the installation features). In 1946, the HC-23C (with a synchronizer firing through the screw) armed the La-9 and La-11 fighter jets. These aircraft were equipped with four and three guns, respectively. A variant of the NS-23KM guns with elongated barrels armed Yak-15 fighter jet (carrying two guns). In addition, various modifications of the NS-23 cannon equipped the MiG-9, MiG-15 and Yak-17 fighters.

HP-23

In 1947, the military demanded that the HC-23 cannon be upgraded, increasing the rate of fire and the initial velocity of the projectile. In addition, since the end of 1946, the OKB-16 designers have studied ways to improve the cannon, including the creation of a double-sided feed of ammunition tape. Work on the modernized tool was conducted under the leadership of A.E. Nudelman and A.A. Richter, with the result that the new project received the designation HP-23.


HP-23 (in the background) compared to the H-37 (in the foreground) in the Dresden Bundeswehr Museum


The design of the new automatic cannon widely used developments under the project NA-23. In fact, HP-23 was a HC-23 with several modified and refined nodes. The length of the barrel remained the same - 1450 mm, but the total length of the gun has increased to 2018 mm. The mass of the structure has grown to 39 kg. The principle of operation of the automation remained the same, but to increase the rate of fire, rollback and roll forward accelerators were introduced into the design. To reduce recoil used hydrobuffer. The ammunition system underwent some changes: the new gun could have received projectiles from both sides. In connection with the use of double-sided projectile feed, new sections of detachable metal tape had to be developed.

All innovations applied in the design of the automatic gun HP-23, affected its characteristics. The gun’s rate of fire was able to reach 800-950 shots per minute, but the initial velocity of the projectile remained at the level of the HC-23 cannon — on the order of 690 m / s. The use of kickback and roll forward accelerators, which made it possible to increase the rate of fire, affected the wear of some parts. The survivability of the HP-23 gun was a quarter less than that of the base NS-23 - 3 thousand shots. In the 1951 year, at the request of the military, the resource was doubled and brought to 6 thousand shots.

The development of the HP-23 gun ended in the 1948 year. After several stages of testing in the same year, its mass production began. Plant No. XXUMX (Kovrov) and Plant No. XXUMX (Kuibyshev) were involved in the manufacture of new aircraft guns. Officially, the HP-2 was adopted in 525 year. Until the end of 23, the entire 1950 guns of the new model were assembled. Already in 1948, the number of guns released exceeded 280, and in 49, it passed the mark of 1200 units. In 50, the Kovrov and Kuibyshev plants collected more than 5800 thousand guns, and in 1951 a record was set - 12 guns. After that, the pace of production began to fall markedly. The last 52 guns of the HP-18572 were manufactured in the 6350 year.


Two guns HP-23 in the aft turret IL-28


The fighter jet La-23 has become the platform for testing the HP-15 cannon. Serial cars of this model were equipped with three guns. As a course weapon, the HP-23 guns were used on several types of fighters: Yak-23 (two guns), MiG-15bis (two), MiG-17 (two), MiG-19 (two or three, depending on the version). The four HP-23 guns carried late modifications of the Il-10 attack aircraft. Long-range Tu-4 bombers received ten guns of this type during the modernization. The Il-28 front bomber was equipped with four guns (two course and two in the aft artillery installation). In addition to it, the An-12 transport aircraft and the Be-6 flying boat carried the stern turret. The latter was also equipped with one gun on the bow installation and two on the deck.

In the mid-fifties, the documentation on the HP-23 automatic gun was transferred to China. The licensed version of the gun called the Type 23 was installed on various fighters, attack aircraft and Chinese-made bombers.

According to some data, at the early stages of the development of the Almaz orbital stations, it was the HP-23 gun that was considered as their main weapon. Later it was proposed to replace the barrel arms with rocket.

AM-23

In the early fifties, employees of the Tula TsKB-14 (now the Instrument Design Bureau) under the direction of N.M. Afanasyev created a large-caliber machine gun A-12,7. The design of this weapon was taken as the basis for the new automatic gun caliber 23 mm. Works on the AM-23 tool started in 1953 year. The project was headed by N.M. Afanasyev and N.F. Makarov.


Technicians perform maintenance on the AM-23 gun in field conditions.


Initially it was assumed that the new gun will use the old projectile 23x152 mm. This ammunition could provide sufficiently high performance, and was also mastered in production. However, soon there was a proposal to develop a second version of the gun, designed to use projectiles 23x115 mm. Both versions of the automatic guns were developed in parallel. In 1951, TsKB-14 conducted a comparative test of two guns and came to the conclusion that it was necessary to continue work on the second version of the project, which used a projectile of the new model. The main advantage of the ammunition 23x115 mm considered smaller dimensions and weight, more suitable for use on aircraft.

Both versions of the AM-23 gun were built according to the same scheme and used automation based on the removal of powder gases. An interesting feature of the gun Afanasyev and Makarov was the gas buffer. To mitigate the impact of the moving parts of the automation, when they reached the extreme rear position, a gas buffer was used, which had its own flue gas tube. In the rifled barrel there were two gas vents: gases came to the piston through an opening with a diameter of 6,5 mm, to the buffer - through 4-mm. The use of the buffer made it possible to reduce the weight of the gun, as well as to increase the resource of its individual parts.


Inspection of the AM-23 guns on the DT-7N mobile lower mount of the Tu-16 bomber


The gun received a wedge bolt moving in an inclined vertical nest of the receiver. An important innovation in the design of the gun was leverage rammer, which pushed the projectile out of the tape and sent it to the barrel. Thanks to the use of all these technical solutions, the rate of fire of a new cannon for ammunition 23х115 mm reached 1200-1250 rounds per minute with an initial velocity of the projectile 690 m / s. At the same time, the AM-23 gun was compact and light enough. The total length when using the 1000-mm barrel did not exceed 1470 mm. Cannon Weight - 44 kg. Vitality - 6000 shots.

To quench the recoil pulse, the gun was equipped with spring-loaded otkatnikami. In addition, the gun was equipped with a pneumatic reloading system, which ensured the movement of the moving parts of the gun in any direction. The AM-23 cannon was supplied with a metal detachable tape. Ammunition could be fed into one of the two receiving windows of the gun, on the right and left sides of the receiver. To change the direction of the projectiles supply, intervention was required.


Aft gun installation with guns AM-23 Radar PRS-1 "Argon" / BOX TAIL and antennas of the EW Sayany-M station on Tu-142М3 aircraft N85 serial No.8601903 of the USSR Navy in the museum at Zhuliany airfield Ukraine, 15.03.2010 (author of the photo - Alexey Vlasov, http://russianplanes.net)


The high-explosive fragmentation projectile, high-explosive fragmentation with tracer, armor-piercing incendiary with tracer and multielement (fragmentation with ready-made fragments) were present in the nomenclature of ammunition for the AM-23 cannon. In the early sixties, a DOS-15 projectile, equipped with dipole reflectors, was built to fight enemy radar stations.

In 1953, the AM-23 cannon for the 23х115 mm projectile (this version of the gun was designated as the TKB-495 index) was submitted for testing. At the same time, a competition was held in which, in addition to AM-23, similar developments from OKB-16 (product "220P") and OKB-15 (Sh-23) took part. According to the results of the comparison, the gun of the Tula designers was recognized as the best of the samples presented. In the spring of 1954, it was put into service under the name AM-23 (9A-036).

Serial production of automatic guns AM-23 began in 1953 year, during which 56 guns of this model were assembled. The adoption of a weapon has affected the pace of production: in 1954-m was produced more than 1000 units. Mass production of guns AM-23 continued until the end of the seventies. It was made more than 11 thousand guns.

During the serial production of TsKB-14, and then the instrument design bureau developed two modifications of the gun. In the variant AM-23Л1, the gun received a choke nozzle of the model L1 and a barrel of length 1450 mm, with the result that its full length reached 1770 mm and the initial velocity of the projectile exceeded 700 m / s. Modification AL-23Л2 was equipped with a muzzle nozzle L3.


AM-23 cannons in the 3MD long-range bomber turret


The AM-23 cannon of all modifications was equipped with airplanes of various types and classes. The 3, Il-54, Tu-16 and Tu-95 bombers, the An-8, An-12 and Il-76 (early series) transport aircraft, as well as the 125 project border boats armed themselves with this weapon. In almost all cases, the AM-23 guns were mounted on twin turrets with remote control. The exception is the early modifications of the Tu-16 bomber, which carried three twin turrets and one course gun in the bow.


Based on:
http://airwar.ru/
http://airpages.ru/
http://museum-arms.ru/
http://russianarms.mybb.ru/
http://zid.ru/
Shirokorad A. B. History aviation weapons. - Mn .: Harvest, 1999
Author:
Articles from this series:
Domestic post-war aircraft guns caliber 23 mm. Part I
Domestic post-war aircraft guns caliber 23 mm. Part II
11 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. inkass_98
    inkass_98 23 May 2014 10: 14
    +4
    Thank you, I look forward to continuing, an interesting review.
  2. Massik
    Massik 23 May 2014 11: 28
    0
    They wanted to compensate for the weakness of 23x115 by quantity, why not vice versa ...
    1. Igor75
      Igor75 23 May 2014 12: 29
      +2
      The question is not clear. If the weakness is compared to 23x152, then the projectile is the same, the initial velocity is greater, but the recoil is much greater, therefore, either the rate of fire is less, or the mass of the gun is greater. If the question is about a shell, then this is a different caliber.
      1. Massik
        Massik 23 May 2014 16: 15
        0
        Easier .... 2 small ones or one big, strange approach to take a cartridge case from a machine-gun ammunition and push a cannon shell into it.
        1. anomalocaris
          anomalocaris 23 May 2014 21: 00
          -2
          The two small ones had about the same recoil momentum as the one big ... VYA-23 could not be carried out by any fighter (although they tried to set it), its recoil was too powerful. In general, the story of the creation of a 23mm aircraft gun in the USSR is a sad and tragic story ...
        2. anomalocaris
          anomalocaris 24 May 2014 08: 50
          0
          An approach quite common for that time was to take the shell of a heavy machine gun and deploy the muzzle under a small caliber projectile.
  3. Nikolay74
    Nikolay74 23 May 2014 12: 12
    +1
    While serving in the army in 1994-95 at air depots in the city of Chita, he saw an air cannon 37 on we her in railway the container dragged onto the write-off is gone. I was very surprised then, there are no airplanes for them, and the gun has been stored for so many years. Unfortunately I do not know the brand, I was young then, I was not particularly interested in such things
    1. anomalocaris
      anomalocaris 23 May 2014 21: 01
      +1
      SHVAK. There were no others then.
  4. Igor75
    Igor75 23 May 2014 12: 19
    +1
    Good article. I put a plus.
  5. Turkestan
    Turkestan 23 May 2014 13: 57
    0
    The article turned out in the first part of the full. Thank you. I hope that in the second part you will continue it and start with such guns as R-23, GSh-23, etc.
    And all of the listed guns had a great tool and devices for disassembling, servicing guns.
  6. Argon
    Argon 23 May 2014 15: 33
    0
    In my opinion, the prerequisites for the transition to a low ballistic cartridge are not well described, and in this regard, the history of the B-20 gun, which, as it were, was a transitional stage.
  7. Robertos
    Robertos 23 May 2014 16: 35
    +1
    Great article, very interesting topic.
  8. Turkestan
    Turkestan 23 May 2014 20: 00
    +1
    In almost all cases, the AM-23 guns were mounted on twin turrets with remote control. An exception is the early modifications of the Tu-16 bomber, which carried three twin turrets and one directional gun in the bow.

    The second part of this sentence is not understood. Please clarify.
    1. Argon
      Argon 23 May 2014 20: 51
      0
      Well, the Tu-16 had one course gun at the top right of the navigational site.
  9. kotvov
    kotvov 23 May 2014 21: 23
    +1
    Thank you. Interesting topic. I hope there will be a continuation.
  10. Turkestan
    Turkestan 23 May 2014 21: 25
    +2
    Perhaps the author had in mind a fixed cannon mount mounted in front of the cockpit on the left side of the fuselage

Отечественные послевоенные авиационные пушки калибра 23 мм. Часть I

К концу Второй мировой войны состав ствольного вооружения самолетов претерпел серьезные изменения. Эффективность пулеметного вооружения против современных самолетов постоянно падала, из-за чего основным вооружением истребителей со временем стали автоматические пушки. Однако бурное развитие авиации сказалось и на этом классе оружия. Вскоре после окончания Великой Отечественной и Второй мировой стало очевидно, что основной тенденцией дальнейшего развития пушек станет увеличение калибра. 20-мм автоматические пушки уже не в полной мере отвечали требованиям военных.

Вскоре после войны было принято решение сделать минимальным калибром авиационных пушек 23 мм. Одним из главных преимуществ 23-мм орудий перед 20-миллиметровыми были характеристики снаряда. При небольшом увеличении калибра и габаритов боеприпаса можно было почти вдвое повысить массу снаряда, что соответствующим образом должно было сказаться на его возможностях.

НС-23


Основным 23-мм авиационным оружием в годы Великой отечественной была пушка ВЯ-23. При достаточно высоких характеристиках она имела немалую отдачу. Для решения этой проблемы было решено разработать новую пушку под новый боеприпас. Снаряд 23х115 мм новой модели появился в 1943 году. Сотрудники ОКБ-16 взяли снаряд из существующего боеприпаса 23х152 мм и соединили его с гильзой, заимствованной у патрона 14,5х114 мм для противотанковых ружей. При сохранении основных боевых качеств новый снаряд получился компактнее и легче старого.

Отечественные послевоенные авиационные пушки калибра 23 мм. Часть I


Первым орудием под новый боеприпас стала автоматическая пушка НС-23, созданная конструкторами ОКБ-16 под руководством А.Э. Нудельмана и А.С. Суранова. Разработка пушки НС-23 стартовала еще в 1943 году, однако большое распространение она получила в первые послевоенные годы. Целью проекта было создание новой автоматической пушки под снаряд 23х115 мм, по своим характеристикам не уступающей существующим системам аналогичного калибра.

Новая пушка с общей длиной 1985 мм и весом 37 кг имела ствол длиной 1450 мм. Автоматика орудия работала за счет энергии отката при коротком ходе ствола. После досылания снаряда ствол запирался поворачивающимся затвором поршневого типа. Имелся ускоритель наката. Для упрощения конструкции орудия была применена интересная система экстракции стреляной гильзы: при движении затвора она выталкивалась новым патроном. Отдельный экстрактор не использовался. Боепитание осуществлялось при помощи разъемной металлической ленты. Управление огнем осуществлялось при помощи электроспуска. Для установки на самолете пушка оснащалась двумя узлами крепления.

Новое орудие имело некоторые преимущества перед ВЯ-23, прежде всего в собственном весе и весе боекомплекта. Кроме того, на 60% уменьшилась отдача. Однако меньший вес метательного заряда нового снаряда сказался на характеристиках пушки. При скорострельности около 600 выстрелов в минуту орудие НС-23 обеспечивало начальную скорость снаряда на уровне 690 м/с. НС-23 уступала ВЯ-23 не только в начальной скорости снаряда, но и в секундном залпе: 1,85 кг против 2 кг. Ресурс орудия равнялся 4 тысячам выстрелов.

Для использования с пушкой НС-23 предлагались два типа снарядов. Осколочно-зажигательный имел общий вес 200 г, нес 15 г взрывчатого вещества и оснащался взрывателем А-23. Бронебойно-зажигательный снаряд при той же массе нес 5-7 г взрывчатого вещества и не имел взрывателя. С дистанции 200 м бронебойно-зажигательный снаряд мог пробить броневой лист толщиной 25 мм.

Весной и летом 1944 года состоялись испытания нового автоматического орудия на наземном стенде и на истребителе Як-9. Несмотря на имеющиеся недостатки, пушка НС-23 была рекомендована к принятию на вооружение. Соответствующее решение Государственного Комитета Обороны появилось в начале октября 44-го.

Производство пушек НС-23 началось на заводе №2 (ныне Завод им. Дегтярева, г. Ковров). До конца 1944 года в Коврове было собрано три сотни орудий. За 45-й оружейники изготовили свыше 600 новых пушек. Темп производства в 1946 году был меньше – лишь 530 пушек. Ситуация резко изменилась в 1947 году. Появление первых отечественных реактивных истребителей, нуждавшихся в автоматических пушках, привело к тому, что в 47-м завод №2 собрал около 6 тыс НС-23. До 1950 года в Коврове изготовили порядка 22,5 тыс орудий. В 1951-53 годах производство велось на тульском заводе №535, который за это время изготовил 6 тыс орудий.

Первым самолетом, получившим пушку НС-23, стал штурмовик Ил-10, созданный в 1944 году. Каждый такой штурмовик нес две пушки в модификации НС-23КМ («крыльевая-моторная» с некоторыми доработками, связанными с особенностями установки). В 1946 году пушкой НС-23С (с синхронизатором стрельбы через винт) вооружили истребители Ла-9 и Ла-11. Эти самолеты оснащались четырьмя и тремя пушками соответственно. Вариантом пушек НС-23КМ с удлиненными стволами вооружался реактивный истребитель Як-15 (нес две пушки). Кроме того, разными модификациями пушки НС-23 оснащались истребители МиГ-9, МиГ-15 и Як-17.

НР-23

В 1947 году военные потребовали модернизировать пушку НС-23, увеличив темп стрельбы и начальную скорость снаряда. Кроме того, с конца 1946 года конструкторы ОКБ-16 изучали способы улучшения пушки, в том числе создание двусторонней подачи ленты с боеприпасами. Работы над модернизированным орудием велись под руководством А.Э. Нудельмана и А.А. Рихтера, в результате чего новый проект получил обозначение НР-23.

Отечественные послевоенные авиационные пушки калибра 23 мм. Часть I
НР-23 (на заднем плане) в сравнении с Н-37 (на переднем плане) в дрезденском музее Бундесвера


В конструкции новой автоматической пушки широко использовались наработки по проекту НС-23. Фактически НР-23 представляла собой НС-23 с несколькими измененными и доработанными узлами. Длина ствола осталась прежней – 1450 мм, однако общая длина пушки увеличилась до 2018 мм. Масса конструкции выросла до 39 кг. Принцип работы автоматики остался прежним, но для повышения темпа стрельбы в конструкцию были введены ускорители отката и наката. Для уменьшения отдачи использовали гидробуфер. Некоторые изменения претерпела система боепитания: новая пушка могла получать снаряды с обеих сторон. В связи с использованием двухсторонней подачи снарядов пришлось разработать новые звенья разъемной металлической ленты.

Все нововведения, примененные в конструкции автоматической пушки НР-23, сказались на ее характеристиках. Скорострельность орудия удалось довести до 800-950 выстрелов в минуту, однако начальная скорость снаряда осталась на уровне пушки НС-23 – порядка 690 м/с. Использование ускорителей отката и наката, позволивших увеличить темп стрельбы, сказалось на износе некоторых деталей. Живучесть пушки НР-23 оказалась на четверть меньше, чем у базовой НС-23 – 3 тыс выстрелов. В 1951 году по требованию военных ресурс увеличили вдвое и довели до 6 тыс выстрелов.

Разработка пушки НР-23 завершилась в 1948 году. После нескольких этапов испытаний в том же году началось ее серийное производство. К изготовлению новых авиационных пушек были привлечены завод №2 (г. Ковров) и завод №525 (г. Куйбышев). Официально НР-23 приняли на вооружение в 1950 году. До конца 1948 года было собрано всего 280 пушек новой модели. Уже в 49-м количество выпущенных орудий превысило 1200, а в 50-м перевалило через отметку в 5800 единиц. В 1951 году ковровский и куйбышевский заводы собрали более 12 тыс пушек, а в 52-м был установлен рекорд – 18572 пушки. После этого темпы производства начали заметно падать. Последние 6350 орудий НР-23 были изготовлены в 1955 году.

Отечественные послевоенные авиационные пушки калибра 23 мм. Часть I
Две пушки НР-23 в кормовой турели Ил-28


Платформой для испытаний пушки НР-23 стал истребитель Ла-15. Серийные машины этой модели оснащались тремя пушками. В качестве курсового оружия пушки НР-23 использовались на истребителях нескольких типов: Як-23 (две пушки), МиГ-15бис (две), МиГ-17 (две), МиГ-19 (две или три, в зависимости от модификации). Четыре пушки НР-23 несли поздние модификации штурмовика Ил-10. Дальние бомбардировщики Ту-4 в ходе модернизации получали по десять пушек этого типа. Фронтовой бомбардировщик Ил-28 оснащался четырьмя пушками (две курсовые и две в кормовой артиллерийской установке). Кроме него кормовую турель несли транспортный самолет Ан-12 и летающая лодка Бе-6. Последняя также оснащалась одним орудием на носовой установке и двумя на палубной.

В середине пятидесятых документация по автоматической пушке НР-23 была передана Китаю. Лицензионный вариант орудия под названием Type 23 устанавливался на различных истребителях, штурмовиках и бомбардировщиках китайского производства.

По некоторым данным, на ранних этапах разработки боевых орбитальных станций «Алмаз» именно пушка НР-23 рассматривалась в качестве их главного оружия. Позднее было предложено заменить ствольное вооружение ракетным.

АМ-23

В начале пятидесятых годов сотрудники тульского ЦКБ-14 (ныне КБ приборостроения) под руководством Н.М. Афанасьева создали крупнокалиберный пулемет А-12,7. Конструкция этого оружия была взята за основу для новой автоматической пушки калибра 23 мм. Работы над орудием АМ-23 стартовали в 1953 году. Проект возглавили Н.М. Афанасьев и Н.Ф. Макаров.

Отечественные послевоенные авиационные пушки калибра 23 мм. Часть I
Техники выполняют обслуживание пушки АМ-23 в полевых условиях


Изначально предполагалось, что новая пушка будет использовать старый снаряд 23х152 мм. Этот боеприпас мог обеспечить достаточно высокие характеристики, а также был освоен в производстве. Тем не менее, вскоре появилось предложение разработать второй вариант пушки, предназначенный для использования снарядов 23х115 мм. Оба варианта автоматического орудия разрабатывались параллельно. В 1951 году ЦКБ-14 провело сравнительные испытания двух пушек и пришло к выводу о необходимости продолжения работ по второму варианту проекта, в котором использовался снаряд новой модели. Основным преимуществом боеприпаса 23х115 мм посчитали меньшие габариты и вес, более подходившие для использования на самолетах.

Оба варианта пушки АМ-23 были построены по одной схеме и использовали автоматику на основе отвода пороховых газов. Интересной особенностью пушки Афанасьева и Макарова стал газовый буфер. Для смягчения удара подвижных частей автоматики по достижении ими крайнего заднего положения был применен газовый буфер, имевший собственную газоотводную трубку. В нарезном стволе имелись два газоотводных отверстия: к поршню газы поступали через отверстие диаметром 6,5 мм, к буферу – через 4-мм. Применение буфера позволило снизить вес пушки, а также повысить ресурс отдельных ее деталей.

Отечественные послевоенные авиационные пушки калибра 23 мм. Часть I
Осмотр пушек АМ-23 на нижней подвижной установке ДТ-7НС бомбардировщика Ту-16


Пушка получила клиновый затвор, движущийся в наклонном вертикальном гнезде ствольной коробки. Важным нововведением в конструкцию пушки оказался рычажный досылатель, который выталкивал снаряд из ленты и досылал его в ствол. Благодаря применению всех этих технических решений скорострельность новой пушки под боеприпас 23х115 мм достигала 1200-1250 выстрелов в минуту при начальной скорости снаряда 690 м/с. При этом пушка АМ-23 была достаточно компактной и легкой. Общая длина при использовании 1000-мм ствола не превышала 1470 мм. Вес пушки– 44 кг. Живучесть – 6000 выстрелов.

Для гашения импульса отдачи пушка оснащалась пружинными откатниками. Кроме того, орудие оснастили пневматической системой перезарядки, обеспечивавшей перемещение движущихся частей пушки в любом направлении. Боепитание пушки АМ-23 осуществлялось при помощи металлической разъемной ленты. Боеприпасы могли подаваться в одно из двух приемных окон орудия, на правой и левой сторонах ствольной коробки. Для изменения направления подачи снарядов требовалось вмешательство техника.

Отечественные послевоенные авиационные пушки калибра 23 мм. Часть I
Кормовая пушечная установка с пушками АМ-23 РЛС ПРС-1 "Аргон" / BOX TAIL и антеннами станции РЭБ "Саяны-М" на самолете Ту-142М3 борт №85 заводской №8601903 ВМФ СССР в музее на аэродроме Жуляны, г.Киев, Украина, 15.03.2010 г. (автор фото - Алексей Власов, http://russianplanes.net)


В номенклатуре боеприпасов для пушки АМ-23 присутствовали осколочно-фугасный снаряд, осколочно-фугасно-зажигательный с трассером, бронебойно-зажигательный с трассером и многоэлементный (осколочный с готовыми осколками). В начале шестидесятых годов для борьбы с радиолокационными станциями противника был создан снаряд ДОС-15, оснащенный дипольными отражателями.

В 1953 году пушка АМ-23 под снаряд 23х115 мм (такой вариант орудия обозначался индексом ТКБ-495) поступила на испытания. Одновременно с этим проводился конкурс, в котором помимо АМ-23 участвовали аналогичные разработки ОКБ-16 (изделие «220П») и ОКБ-15 (Ш-23). По результатам сравнения лучшим из представленных образцов была признана пушка тульских конструкторов. Весной 1954 года ее приняли на вооружение под названием АМ-23 (9А-036).

Серийное производство автоматических пушек АМ-23 началось в 1953 году, в течение которого было собрано 56 орудий этой модели. Принятие орудия на вооружение сказалось на темпах изготовления: в 1954-м было произведено более 1000 единиц. Серийное производство пушек АМ-23 продолжалось до конца семидесятых годов. Было изготовлено более 11 тыс пушек.

В ходе серийного производства ЦКБ-14, а затем КБ приборостроения разработало две модификации пушки. В варианте АМ-23Л1 пушка получила дульную насадку модели Л1 и ствол длиной 1450 мм, в результате чего ее полная длина достигла 1770 мм, а начальная скорость снаряда превысила 700 м/с. Модификация АЛ-23Л2 оснащалась дульной насадкой Л3.

Отечественные послевоенные авиационные пушки калибра 23 мм. Часть I
Пушки АМ-23 в дистанционно-управляемой башне дальнего бомбардировщика 3МД


Пушкой АМ-23 всех модификаций оснащались самолеты разных типов и классов. Этим орудием вооружались бомбардировщики 3М, Ил-54, Ту-16 и Ту-95, транспортные самолеты Ан-8, Ан-12 и Ил-76 (ранних серий), а также пограничные катера проекта 125. Почти во всех случаях пушки АМ-23 устанавливались на спаренных турелях с дистанционным управлением. Исключение – ранние модификации бомбардировщика Ту-16, которые несли три спаренные турели и одну курсовую пушку в носовой части.


По материалам:
http://airwar.ru/
http://airpages.ru/
http://museum-arms.ru/
http://russianarms.mybb.ru/
http://zid.ru/
Широкорад А. Б. История авиационного вооружения. — Мн.: Харвест, 1999

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 11
  1. inkass_98 23 мая 2014 10:14
    Спасибо, жду продолжения, интересный обзор.
  2. Marssik 23 мая 2014 11:28
    Хотели компенсировать слабость 23х115 количеством ,почему не наоборот...
    1. Igor75 23 мая 2014 12:29
      Непонятен вопрос. Если слабость в сравнении с 23х152 - то снаряд тот-же, начальная скорость больше, но и отдача намного больше, следовательно или темп стрельбы меньше, или масса пушки больше. Если вопрос о снаряде - то это уже другой калибр.
      1. Marssik 23 мая 2014 16:15
        Проще....2 маленьких или одна большая, странный подход брать гильзу от пулеметного боеприпаса и впихивать в нее пушечный снаряд.
        1. anomalocaris 23 мая 2014 21:00
          У двух маленьких был примерно такой же импульс отдачи как у одной большой... ВЯ-23 не мог вынести ни один истребитель (хотя её и пытались ставить), уж слишком мощной у неё была отдача. А вообще, история создания 23мм авиационной пушки в СССР это грустная и трагическая история...
          anomalocaris
        2. anomalocaris 24 мая 2014 08:50
          Вполне обычный для того времени подход - взять гильзу крупнокалиберного пулемёта и развернуть дульце под малокалиберный снаряд.
          anomalocaris
  3. Nikolay74 23 мая 2014 12:12
    Во время службы в армии 1994-95г на авиаскладах в г.Чита видел авиа пушку 37 г.в. мы её в ж.д. контейнер перетащили на списание ушла. Меня тогда очень сильно удивило, самолетов под них нет а пушка столько лет храниться. К сожалению не знаю марки, молодой тогда был, такими вещами особо не интересовался
    1. anomalocaris 23 мая 2014 21:01
      ШВАК. Других тогда просто не было.
      anomalocaris
  4. Igor75 23 мая 2014 12:19
    Хорошая статья. Ставлю плюс.
  5. Туркестанец 23 мая 2014 13:57
    Статья получилась в первой части полной.Спасибо. Надеюсь, что во второй части вы продолжите её и начнёте с таких пушек как Р-23, ГШ-23 и.т.
    И ещё у всех причисленных пушек был великолепный инструмент и приспособления для разборок, обслуживания пушек.
  6. Argon 23 мая 2014 15:33
    На мой взгляд не достаточно описанны предпосылки перехода на патрон низкой баллистики,и в связи с этим истории пушки Б-20,которая,стала как бы переходным этапом.
  7. Робертос 23 мая 2014 16:35
    Отличная статья, очень интересная тема.
    Робертос
  8. Туркестанец 23 мая 2014 20:00
    Почти во всех случаях пушки АМ-23 устанавливались на спаренных турелях с дистанционным управлением. Исключение – ранние модификации бомбардировщика Ту-16, которые несли три спаренные турели и одну курсовую пушку в носовой части.

    Вторую часть этого предложение не понял. Прошу пояснить.
    1. Argon 23 мая 2014 20:51
      ну была у Ту-16 одна курсовая пушка справа вверху от штурманского места.
  9. kotvov 23 мая 2014 21:23
    спасибо.интересная тема.надеюсь будет продолжение.
  10. Туркестанец 23 мая 2014 21:25
    Наверное автор имел виду неподвижную пушечную установку установленной впереди кабины летчиков с левой стороне фюзеляжа

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня