Military Review

Minister of Foreign Affairs Sergey Lavrov answers questions from the media on the sidelines of the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum, May 23, 2014

13
Minister of Foreign Affairs Sergey Lavrov answers questions from the media on the sidelines of the St. Petersburg International Economic Forum, May 23, 2014

Question: Is our country still attractive and interesting for investors and foreign companies?

Lavrov: As for the fact that our country is attractive, there is no doubt neither I nor the investors. The fact that some did not come was a result of the intervention of politicians in the affairs of business, which is, in my opinion, unacceptable, and what our western partners always warned us against. Now they show a bad example. I hope that for us it will not be contagious. The results of the Forum will have to be judged by the specific cases and agreements that will be made here. It will become known in a day and a half.

Question: What is Russia going to a new gas meeting with Ukraine and the EU?

Lavrov: This question is not for me. In our country, diplomacy does not interfere in agreements concerning economic cooperation and the fulfillment of contracts concluded. Unlike our Western friends, the Russian Foreign Ministry does not interfere in the activities of economic entities. We help these processes. But trying to prohibit and dictate, as is now done, including from Washington, is not our methods and not our culture.

Question: Is your meeting scheduled with US Secretary of State J. Kerry?

Lavrov: He has gone. I haven't heard anything about him for about two weeks. Now our American colleagues have problems with a Palestinian-Israeli settlement, where, unfortunately, everything is deadlocked because we really sincerely wished them success, and with Libya, which NATO bombed. Despite our calls to somehow start gathering “Libyan fragments”, they avoided political discussions in every way, saying that democracy had won there, everything was in order and there was no need to intervene. Now we are seeing alarming relapses. We wish success to our western colleagues and are ready to help. But they have to decide and understand what conclusions need to be drawn from the mistakes made.

Question: Why didn’t suit 27 May as the date of the meeting of the Russia-NATO Council?

Lavrov: We all explained it. For almost a month, immediately after the events in Odessa, we demanded to convene a meeting of the NRC in order to honestly, openly, look each other in the eye, talk about how this could all happen. Western NATO partners refused to convene the Council.

Suddenly, after our next reminder, they graciously agreed and said that they were ready to do it on May 27. We have no doubt that this is intended solely for the sake of legitimizing the elections planned for May 25 in Ukraine.

We are also ready to meet after the elections, although the Russia-NATO Council is far from it. But the NRC has to do with the revival of neo-Nazism, the crimes that are committed by neo-Nazis, including in Odessa and other cities of the South-East of Ukraine, because we proclaimed in joint documents a common determination to prevent any manifestations of extremism in Euro-Atlanticism. They shy away from this discussion.

Let's see what day will be convenient for everyone. I repeat, it was convenient for us any day after the Odessa tragedy, when we demanded an urgent convocation of the Russia-NATO Council.

Question: I'm from Reuters.

Lavrov: Congratulations, you are not forbidden to come here?

Question: Why should have been banned?

Lavrov: I do not know, everyone is banned, but you are not.

Question: Day before yesterday I was given accreditation, I can work in Russia for another year. I really like.

Lavrov: Work

Question: The upcoming 25 may elections in Ukraine, Russia considers illegitimate. How are you going to work with the new authorities?

Lavrov: You and some of your colleagues have peculiar habits: you first make a statement describing our position, and then your questions follow from this. We did not declare that the elections will be a priori illegitimate. German Chancellor A. Merkel, other Western leaders call us for this, are forced to declare that the elections will be a priori legitimate. But this is nonsense - how can you say in advance, a few days or weeks before the meeting, that certain elections will be legitimate? We will see what really happens, who will vote, how the vote will be organized, whether it will pass under the so-called cannonade. The “counterterrorist operation”, in which civilians, Ukrainians, soldiers, and militiamen die, are victims on both sides. Used heavy machinery, including against residential areas. We will look at everything - how free will will be, and what will be its results. Unlike our Western partners, who stated in advance that the upcoming elections will be legitimate, we prefer to be guided by the facts and first look at the result.

We expect a lot in terms of objectivity of election observation from the OSCE monitoring mission. Unfortunately, there is reason to think that the results will try to smooth and "slightly hide" the facts that are not very pleasant for the current Ukrainian authorities and their sponsors. I will give an example. I know from a number of sources that the European participants of the OSCE observation mission in closed reports sent to their capitals, recognize that in the South-East 70-80% of residents are not pro-Russian, but want federalization, accept the idea of ​​federalization. Publicly, our Western colleagues say that only a few, some insignificant percentages (bandits, terrorists) use the slogan of federalization, and the rest of the population of the Southeast does not want to do this, wants to leave everything as it is and live in Ukraine, which will not change.

We will see what real estimates will be made and comparable with the conclusions that we make ourselves on the basis of the available information from various sources.

Question: Is Russia planning to send a large delegation to the Ukrainian elections?

Lavrov: You have probably heard today's statement by the State Duma of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation that our parliamentarians do not plan to send participants to the observer mission, including (and not least) based on security considerations and taking into account the Russophobic campaign unleashed by the Ukrainian authorities accusing Russia in all mortal sins. Thus, the current authorities deny part of their people the right to take an independent position with regard to the future of their country, deny residents of the south-eastern regions the right to advocate for securing and strengthening their rights as part of Ukraine, but with a significant expansion of authority in terms of the choice of their leaders (direct gubernatorial elections), using the language they want to speak. For the average person who turns on the TV and hears slogans, this is a fairly acceptable thesis, which is now “chased” on all TV channels and Western radio stations, namely: that everything is organized by Russia, some special forces work there, and they start simple naive Ukrainians to create militia.

We have repeatedly proposed to submit at least one specific fact of our involvement in these processes. Not a single fact has been filed. I asked the US Secretary of State J. Kerry and our Western European partners about this. They have no such facts. That's all.

Question: How can Russia be able to establish how objective the elections were if there are no Russian observers there?

Lavrov: In our age of electronic media, this is not difficult.

Question: The last pools show that P. Poroshenko is leading in the presidential elections in Ukraine. To what extent can he be an acceptable candidate for Moscow to start negotiations?

Lavrov: He or someone else - for Moscow does not matter. He or she must be acceptable to the Ukrainian people. As I have already said, we will determine our attitude to the elections on the basis of an assessment of the results of the voting and the acceptance or rejection of a person by the Ukrainian people, the Ukrainian voters.

If we talk about relations between Russia and Ukraine (and this already concerns us and the Ukrainians), of course, we will be judged by the specific cases of a person who will be elected president of Ukraine, with the understanding that the elections will be free, fair, fair and unpaid.

I hope that the threats that sound among candidates for the presidency that if the election results are not satisfactory to any of them, there will be a third wave of revolution, also heard in the West, especially by those who claim that only Russia is interested in disrupting these choices.
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Vlad Gore
    Vlad Gore 24 May 2014 06: 07
    +8
    Question: Is your meeting planned with US Secretary of State George Kerry?
    Sergey Lavrov: He disappeared. I have not heard anything about him for about two weeks.
    Someday they will say so about the USA. good
    1. mamont5
      mamont5 24 May 2014 06: 16
      +5
      Quote: Vlad Gore
      Question: Is your meeting planned with US Secretary of State George Kerry?
      Sergey Lavrov: He disappeared. I have not heard anything about him for about two weeks.
      Someday they will say so about the USA. good


      Yeah, I liked that phrase too.
      In general, Lavrov is Lavrov all clearly laid out on the shelves and expressed our position. So the policy becomes clear.
  2. Dimsanych
    Dimsanych 24 May 2014 06: 09
    +5
    We have the best Foreign Minister!

    I really liked the legitimacy of the elections.
  3. Vlad Gore
    Vlad Gore 24 May 2014 06: 10
    +4
    Question: The day before yesterday they gave me accreditation; for another year I can work in Russia. I love.
    Clear stump like. In Russia, unlike the United States, freedom of speech. good
  4. Vlad Gore
    Vlad Gore 24 May 2014 06: 12
    +5
    Quote: DimSanych
    We have the best Foreign Minister!

    Russia is generally a global talent provider. yes
  5. Lunic
    Lunic 24 May 2014 06: 16
    +1
    Respect to Mr. Lavrov.
    The only thing I’m trying to understand is: How, after all these punitive operations, can the international community, including Russia, convince the Southeast to remain part of Ukraine?
    Only one successful example of such a reconciliation suggests itself: Bosnia and Herzegovina.
    1. mamont5
      mamont5 24 May 2014 06: 17
      +2
      Quote: Lunic
      How, after all these punitive operations, can the international community and Russia, among other things, convince the Southeast-East to remain part of Ukraine?


      And who said that Russia will convince them? Lavrov said that we will accept the choice of the people of Ukraine.
  6. Humpty
    Humpty 24 May 2014 06: 19
    +5
    There will be no Russian observers, therefore there will be no unconditional recognition of the result by Russia.
  7. mig31
    mig31 24 May 2014 06: 21
    +2
    I think we have decided, Sergey Lavrov made it clear what the people will say!?, And the people have already said a lot .......
    1. mig31
      mig31 24 May 2014 07: 36
      +1
      For those who do not understand - the people of Ukraine, at least a third, the opposition in the Southeast has said a lot to the whole world ...
  8. philip
    philip 24 May 2014 06: 31
    +1
    Lavrov, an honest diplomat, and the word diplomacy itself, implies parity is purely symbolic.
  9. kot28.ru
    kot28.ru 24 May 2014 06: 37
    +2
    Lavrov, as always, is at his best, but, unfortunately, the West does not want to hear what he says, even this interview will be edited there! For some reason, it seems that the next campaign is brewing for the upbringing of Europe, bitching are bored !!! am
  10. 11111mail.ru
    11111mail.ru 24 May 2014 07: 22
    +2
    Question: I am from Reuters.
    Sergey Lavrov: Congratulations, You were not forbidden to come here?
    Question: Why should have been banned?
    Sergey Lavrov: I don’t know everyone is forbidden, but not for you.

    Good fun over the "Reiter"! Probably there was some precedent earlier ... And then immediately "in the scent" and the "client" was dumbfounded. Everything is elegant and tasteful.
  11. kombat58
    kombat58 24 May 2014 07: 23
    +3
    The economic forum is good.
    Elections in Ukraine are bad.
    Elections to the European Parliament are good.
    Civil war is bad.
    Contracts with China are good.
    People are dying in Ukraine - bad.
    Life unfortunately consists of paradoxes. Day and night, life and death.
    Good luck and hope to you people!
    1. CTEPX
      CTEPX 24 May 2014 12: 46
      0
      Quote: kombat58
      Elections In Ukraine, it’s bad.

      Quote: kombat58
      People are dying in Ukraine - bad.

      Yes, we need luck!
  12. zao74
    zao74 24 May 2014 11: 39
    0
    Titan of Russian politics.

Рубрика "Мнения" : Здесь выкладываются абсолютно различные мнения-статьи посетителей сайта, а также статьи с других сайтов для обсуждения. Администрация сайта по поводу этих новостей может иметь мнение, отличное от мнения авторов материалов.

Ответы Министра иностранных дел С.В.Лаврова на вопросы СМИ «на полях» Санкт-Петербургского международного экономического форума, 23 мая 2014 года

Ответы Министра иностранных дел С.В.Лаврова на вопросы СМИ «на полях» Санкт-Петербургского международного экономического форума, 23 мая 2014 года

Вопрос: По-прежнему ли наша страна привлекательна и интересна для инвесторов и иностранных компаний?

С.В.Лавров: По поводу того, что наша страна привлекательна, нет сомнений ни у меня, ни у инвесторов. То, что некоторые не приехали, –результат вмешательства политиков в дела бизнеса, что является, на мой взгляд, недопустимым, и от чего всегда нас предостерегали западные партнеры. Теперь они показывают дурной пример. Надеюсь, что для нас он не будет заразительным. О результатах Форума надо будет судить по конкретным делам и договоренностям, которые здесь будут заключены. Это станет известно через день-полтора.

Вопрос: С чем едет Россия на новую газовую встречу с Украиной и ЕС?

С.В.Лавров: Этот вопрос не ко мне. У нас дипломатия не вмешивается в договоренности, касающиеся экономического сотрудничества и выполнения заключенных контрактов. В отличие от наших западных друзей, российский МИД не вмешивается в деятельность экономических субъектов. Мы помогаем этим процессам. Но пытаться запрещать и диктовать, как это сейчас делают в том числе из Вашингтона, – не наши методы и не наша культура.

Вопрос: Планируется ли Ваша встреча с Госсекретарем США Дж.Керри?

С.В.Лавров: Он пропал. Я о нем ничего не слышал недели две. Сейчас у наших американских коллег проблемы с палестино-израильским урегулированием, где, к сожалению, все зашло в тупик, потому что мы реально искренне желали им успеха, и с Ливией, которую разбомбило НАТО. Несмотря на наши призывы как-то заняться собиранием «ливийских осколков», они всячески избегали политических дискуссий, говоря, что там победила демократия, там все в порядке и не надо вмешиваться. Сейчас мы наблюдаем тревожные рецидивы. Желаем успеха нашим западным коллегам и готовы помогать. Но они должны определиться и понять, какие выводы необходимо сделать из совершенных ошибок.

Вопрос: Почему не устроило 27 мая в качестве даты проведения встречи Совета России-НАТО?

С.В.Лавров: Мы все это объяснили. Почти месяц, сразу после событий в Одессе, мы требовали созвать заседание СРН, чтобы честно, открыто, глядя друг другу в глаза, поговорить о том, как это все могло произойти. Западные партнеры-члены НАТО отказались созывать Совет.

Вдруг, после нашего очередного напоминания, милостиво согласились и сказали, что готовы это сделать 27 мая. У нас не вызывает сомнений, что это задумано исключительно ради легитимизации планируемых на 25 мая выборов на Украине.

Мы готовы собираться и после выборов, хотя Совет Россия-НАТО к этому имеет отдаленное отношение. А вот к возрождению неонацизма, к преступлениям, которые совершаются неонацистами, в том числе в Одессе и других городах Юго-Востока Украины, СРН имеет отношение, потому что мы провозгласили в совместных документах общую решимость препятствовать любым проявлениям экстремизма в Евроатлантике. Они стыдливо ушли от этой дискуссии.

Посмотрим, какой день будет удобен для всех. Повторю, нам был удобен любой день после одесской трагедии, когда мы требовали срочного созыва Совета Россия-НАТО.

Вопрос: Я из агентства «Рейтер».

С.В.Лавров: Поздравляю, Вам не запретили сюда приехать?

Вопрос: Почему должны были запретить?

С.В.Лавров: Не знаю, всем запрещают, а Вам нет.

Вопрос: Позавчера мне выдали аккредитацию, еще год я могу работать в России. Мне очень нравится.

С.В.Лавров: Работайте.

Вопрос: Предстоящие 25 мая выборы на Украине Россия считает нелегитимными. Каким же образом вы собираетесь работать с новыми властями?

С.В.Лавров: У Вас и некоторых Ваших коллег есть своеобразные привычки: вы сначала делаете заявление, характеризующее нашу позицию, а потом из этого вытекают Ваши вопросы. Мы не заявляли, что выборы априори будут нелегитимными. Канцлер ФРГ А.Меркель, другие западные лидеры нас призывают к этому, заставляют заявить, что выборы априори будут легитимными. Но это нонсенс – как можно заранее, за несколько дней или недель до проведения сказать, что те или иные выборы будут легитимными? Мы посмотрим, что реально произойдет, кто будет голосовать, как будет организовано голосование, пройдет ли оно под канонаду т.н. «контртеррористической операции», в рамках которой гибнут мирные люди, украинцы, военнослужащие, ополченцы, есть жертвы с обеих сторон. Применяется тяжелая техника, в том числе против жилых кварталов. Мы будем на все смотреть – насколько свободным будет волеизъявление, и каковы будут его результаты. В отличие от наших западных партнеров, которые заранее заявили, что предстоящие выборы будут легитимными, мы предпочитаем руководствоваться фактами и сначала смотреть на результат.

Мы многого ожидаем в плане объективности наблюдения за выборами от мониторинговой миссии ОБСЕ. К сожалению, есть основания думать, что результаты попытаются пригладить и «немного скрыть» факты, которые не очень приятны для нынешних украинских властей и их спонсоров. Приведу пример. Мне известно из целого ряда источников, что европейские участники наблюдательной миссии ОБСЕ в закрытых докладах, направляемых в свои столицы, признают, что на Юго-Востоке 70-80 % жителей не настроены пророссийски, а хотят федерализации, принимают идею федерализации. Публично же наши западные коллеги говорят, что только единицы, какие-то незначительные проценты (бандиты, террористы) используют лозунг федерализации, а остальное население Юго-Востока ничего этого не хочет, хочет оставить все, как есть и жить на Украине, которая не будет меняться.

Посмотрим, какие реально будут выставлены оценки и сопоставим с выводами, которые мы сделаем сами на основе имеющейся информации из различных источников.

Вопрос: Россия планирует послать на украинские выборы большую делегацию?

С.В.Лавров: Вы, наверное, слышали сегодняшнее заявление Государственной Думы Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации, что наши парламентарии не планируют направлять участников в миссию наблюдателей, в том числе (и не в последнюю очередь) исходя из соображений безопасности и учитывая русофобскую кампанию, которую развязали украинские власти, обвиняющие Россию во всех смертных грехах. Тем самым нынешние власти отказывают части своего народа в праве занимать самостоятельную позицию в отношении будущего своей страны, отказывают жителям юго-восточных регионов в праве выступать за обеспечение и укрепление своих прав в составе Украины, но при существенном расширении полномочий в плане выбора своих лидеров (прямые выборы губернаторов), использовании языка, на котором они хотят разговаривать. Для обывателя, включающего телевизор и слышащего лозунги, это достаточно приемлемый тезис, который сейчас «гоняют» по всем телеканалам и западным радиостанциям, а именно: что все организовано Россией, там работает какой-то спецназ, науськивают простых наивных украинцев на создание ополчения.

Мы многократно предлагали предъявить хоть один конкретный факт нашего вовлечения в эти процессы. Ни одного факта предъявлено не было. Я просил об этом Госсекретаря США Дж.Керри и наших западноевропейских партнеров. Нет у них таких фактов. Вот и все.

Вопрос: Как же Россия сможет установить, насколько выборы были объективными, если там не будет российских наблюдателей?

С.В.Лавров: В наш век электронных СМИ это не составит никакого труда.

Вопрос: Последние пулы показывают, что потенциально на выборах президента Украины лидирует П.Порошенко. Насколько для Москвы он может быть приемлемым кандидатом для начала переговоров?

С.В.Лавров: Он или кто-то иной – для Москвы не имеет никакого значения. Он или она должны быть приемлемы для украинского народа. Как я уже сказал, мы будем определять свое отношение к выборам на основе оценки результатов голосования и принятия или непринятия той или иной персоны украинским народом, украинскими избирателями.

Если говорить об отношениях между Россией и Украиной (а это уже касается нас и украинцев), разумеется, мы будем судить по конкретным делам человека, который будет избран президентом Украины, при понимании, что выборы будут свободными, честными, справедливыми и неподтасованными.

Надеюсь, что угрозы, которые звучат среди претендентов на президентское кресло, о том, что если результаты выборов кого-то из них не устроят, то будет третья волна революции, так же услышаны на Западе, особенно теми, кто заявляет, что только Россия заинтересована в срыве этих выборов.



Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 13
  1. Влад Гор 24 мая 2014 06:07
    Вопрос: Планируется ли Ваша встреча с Госсекретарем США Дж.Керри?
    С.В.Лавров: Он пропал. Я о нем ничего не слышал недели две.
    Когда нибудь так скажут о США. good
    Влад Гор
    1. mamont5 24 мая 2014 06:16
      Цитата: Влад Гор
      Вопрос: Планируется ли Ваша встреча с Госсекретарем США Дж.Керри?
      С.В.Лавров: Он пропал. Я о нем ничего не слышал недели две.
      Когда нибудь так скажут о США. good


      Ага, мне тоже понравилась эта фраза.
      А вообще, Лавров есть Лавров все четко, по полочкам разложил и выразил нашу позицию. Так и политика становится понятной.
  2. DimSanych 24 мая 2014 06:09
    У нас самый лучший Министр иностранных дел!

    Осрбенно понравилось про легитимность выборов.
  3. Влад Гор 24 мая 2014 06:10
    Вопрос: Позавчера мне выдали аккредитацию, еще год я могу работать в России. Мне очень нравится.
    Ясен пень нравится. В России в отличии от США свобода слова. good
    Влад Гор
  4. Влад Гор 24 мая 2014 06:12
    Цитата: DimSanych
    У нас самый лучший Министр иностранных дел!

    Россия это вообще поставщик талантов в мировом масштабе. yes
    Влад Гор
  5. Lunic 24 мая 2014 06:16
    Респект господину Лаврову.
    Единственное пытаюсь понять: Как, после всех этих карательных операций, международное сообщество и Россия в том числе, смогут убедить юговосток остаться в составе Украины?
    Напрашивается только один удачный пример подобного примирения: Босния и Герцеговина.
    1. mamont5 24 мая 2014 06:17
      Цитата: Lunic
      Как, после всех этих карательных операций, международное сообщество и Россия в том числе, смогут убедить юговосток-овосток остаться в составе Украины?


      А кто сказал, что Россия их будет убеждать? Лавров же сказал, что мы примем выбор народа Украины.
  6. Шалтай 24 мая 2014 06:19
    Не будет российских наблюдателей , следовательно не будет и безоговорочного признания результата со стороны России .
  7. mig31 24 мая 2014 06:21
    Я думаю,мы определились,Сергей Лавров четко дал понять,что скажет народ!?,а народ уже многое сказал.......
    1. mig31 24 мая 2014 07:36
      Для тех, кто не понял - народ Украины,как миниму треть, противостоянием на Юго-Востоке многое сказал всему миру...
  8. филип 24 мая 2014 06:31
    Лавров, честный дипломат, а само слово дипломатия, предполагает четсность чисто символически.
    филип
  9. kot28.ru 24 мая 2014 06:37
    Лавров как всегда на высоте,но,к сожалению,запад не хочет слышать то,что он говорит,даже это интервью будет заредактировано там!Почему-то кажется,что назревает очередной поход для воспитания европы,дозалу паются сцуки!!! am
  10. 11111mail.ru 24 мая 2014 07:22
    Вопрос: Я из агентства «Рейтер».
    С.В.Лавров: Поздравляю, Вам не запретили сюда приехать?
    Вопрос: Почему должны были запретить?
    С.В.Лавров: Не знаю, всем запрещают, а Вам нет.

    Хорошо постебался над "рейтеровцем"! Наверное был какой-то прецедент ранее... А тут сразу "в нюх" и "клиент" ошарашен. Всё элегантно и со вкусом.
    11111mail.ru
  11. kombat58 24 мая 2014 07:23
    Экономический форум - хорошо.
    Выборы в Украине - плохо.
    Выборы в Европарламент - хорошо.
    Гражданская война - плохо.
    Контракты с Китаем - хорошо.
    Люди гибнут на Украине - плохо.
    Жизнь к сожалению состоит из парадоксов. День и ночь, жизнь и смерть.
    Удачи и надежды Вам люди!
    kombat58
    1. CTEPX 24 мая 2014 12:46
      Цитата: kombat58
      Выборы В Украине - плохо.

      Цитата: kombat58
      Люди гибнут НА Украине - плохо.

      Да, удача нам понадобится!
  12. zao74 24 мая 2014 11:39
    Титан Российской политики.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня