Military Review

Missiles of the MBDA Brimstone Family

7
One of the most interesting projects of the international European MBDA consortium is the Brimstone family of guided missiles. Air-to-surface ammunition is designed to arm aircraft and unmanned aerial vehicles and differ in their various design features. For example, the Brimstone Dual Mode rocket differs from the first Brimstone family rocket by the used homing head with passive laser and active radar channels. At the same time, MBDA is testing another new missile, the Brimstone 2.


Missiles of the MBDA Brimstone Family


In the early stages of development, the Brimstone guided missile (“Sulfur”) was considered as a modernized version of the American AGM-114 Hellfire missile, developed with regard to production in Europe. However, the design requirements for the project and the updating of various components of the munition led to the fact that the Brimstone project became independent. The AGM-114 rocket, previously considered the base one, borrowed only some common features of the face.

The first rocket of the family, Brimstone, has a starting weight of 48,5 and a full length of 1,8 meter with case diameter of 17,8 cm. A transparent fairing of the homing head and a semi-active laser system are located at the head of the ammunition. Behind the homing head in the case is a tandem cumulative warhead weighing 6,2 kg with a shock fuse, as well as control equipment. The tail part of the body is given under a solid rocket engine. On the side surface of the Brimstone rocket are two groups of X-shaped stabilizers, in the middle and tail parts of the body. Tail stabilizers are equipped with rudders for flight control. It should be noted that a similar arrangement of the units, as well as part of the onboard systems, was developed for the first Brimstone rocket, but is also used in its subsequent modifications. The main way to upgrade and improve ammunition was the replacement of some units with new ones with higher performance.

The control system of the Brimstone rocket is made in accordance with the concept of "shot-forget." For this, the rocket of the first model is equipped with an inertial navigation system for reaching the target area and a semi-active laser homing head. The algorithm for the use of ammunition is as follows: the onboard equipment of an airplane or a helicopter armed with Brimstone missiles enters information on the location of the target into the ammunition equipment. After launch, the rocket independently goes to a given area and turns on the laser homing head. Further guidance is provided to the object illuminated by a laser from the ground.



The solid propellant engine allows the Brimstone rocket to develop supersonic flight speed. Exact information on maximum flight speed was not disclosed. When using the rocket as weapons aircraft or unmanned aerial vehicle, the maximum firing range exceeds 20 kilometers. If the carrier of the ammunition is a helicopter, then this parameter is reduced to 12 km.

The development of the Brimstone rocket launched in 1996 year and lasted about three years. In August 1999, the first test launch from a ground launcher took place. About a year later, the first test launch from the Tornado GR4 aircraft was made. Launching rocket continued over the next few years. In the middle of the two thousandth began mass production of new guided missiles, adopted by the Royal Air Force of Great Britain. Their first carriers were attack aircraft Tornado GR4.

It was reported that the MBDA Brimstone development program for the new guided missile cost the customer, in the person of the British military, approximately 370 million pounds sterling (more than 600 million US dollars). The cost of one rocket of the first version does not exceed 100 thousand pounds (about 150-160 thousand US dollars).

The first combat use of Brimstone missiles took place in Iraq shortly after they were put into service. Ammunition was used to attack various stationary targets. Despite the fairly high performance, the new rocket received a number of complaints. First of all, the British military did not accept the laser guidance system, which requires human participation. Not in all situations it was possible to send fighters who could highlight the target with a laser.

In 2008, the Brimstone Dual-Mode rocket was created in accordance with new customer requirements. She retained all the basic units of the basic ammunition, but received a new two-channel homing head. To search for and target it, Brimstone Dual-Mode can use both a passive laser system and an active radar operating in the millimeter range. The development of the new rocket required additional investments and cost approximately 10 million pounds (16 million dollars).

An interesting feature of the project Brimstone Dual-Mode was the approach to the manufacture of missiles. The customer can purchase new missiles of this model or special sets of equipment, by installing which the rocket of the basic modification receives a two-channel homing head. Such a conversion of one ammunition costs the customer about 35-40 thousand pounds (55-65 thousand dollars).

The Brimstone Dual-Mode guided missile was first used in combat in Afghanistan in 2009. In 2011, the British aviation actively used this ammunition during the operation in Libya. In the first month of combat operation alone, British planes consumed about 60 missiles with a dual-channel homing head and hit several dozen stationary and moving targets. At the same time, missiles of the base model with a laser semi-active homing head were used extremely limited. The first launch of such ammunition on purpose in Libya occurred only in September 2011. In total, during the Libyan operation, the British military expended more than 200 Brimstone rockets of two modifications.

Since 2012, the MBDA consortium has been developing anti-ship ammunition Brimstone Sea Spear. According to reports, this rocket is larger than the base products and can carry a heavier warhead (up to 100 kg). In addition, the anti-ship missile received a turbojet engine and flies at a subsonic speed. Flight range was declared at 100 kilometers. It was argued that the Brimstone Sea Spear rocket is equipped with a dual channel homing head, as well as a control system using inertial and satellite navigation. The first test launch of an anti-ship missile of the Brimstone family took place in June 2012 of the year. An experienced rocket successfully hit the 6-meter inflatable boat. Completion of the Brimstone Sea Spear project is scheduled for 2014-15 years.

Last fall, MBDA conducted a series of test launches of the new Brimstone 2 rocket. This munition is a further development of a dual-channel homing head missile. The purpose of the last modernization was to increase the firing range, as well as increasing the potential of the rocket when attacking moving objects. Thanks to the new rocket engine, the maximum range was increased to 60 kilometers (40 km when launched from a helicopter). The rocket is equipped with a new warhead of greater power. The radar homing head, which received active and passive channels, underwent substantial modifications. Now radar seeker is able to find and accompany high-speed and maneuver ground targets, including those with reduced radar visibility. Saved passive laser system.

During tests at one of the US landfills conducted last fall, test missiles without warheads were launched on moving target vehicles. During one of the test launches, the target truck moved at a speed of 110 km / h and was surrounded by another vehicle. All five prototype missiles successfully hit their targets with a direct hit. On the main part of the trajectory, the rocket was controlled by a passive laser system, then both radar channels were responsible for pointing, and only the active radar homing head worked on the final segment. Serial production of Brimstone 2 rockets should start at the beginning of 2015.

At the end of March 2014, there were reports of the completion of the next tests of the rocket. This time, the MQ-9 Reaper unmanned aerial vehicle became the carrier of the Brimstone family of ammunition. A conditional goal was moving vehicles. The launches were made from a height of 20 thousand feet (6 km) and from a distance of 7-12 km. All missiles successfully hit targets with a direct hit.

A special launcher has been developed for use with the Brimstone, Brimstone Dual-Mode and Brimstone 2 missiles. This unit is mounted on the pylon of the aircraft carrier and allows you to carry and use three missiles. Thanks to this, a strike aircraft is capable of carrying a sufficiently large number of missiles. Thus, the Eurofighter Typhoon fighter-bomber may have six launchers with 18 missiles suspended from it. The combat payload of Tornado GR4 airplanes usually consists of Brimstone 3 or 6 missiles in combination with other types of ammunition.

Saudi Arabia became the first foreign operator of Brimstone missiles. A contract worth about 10 million pounds (16 million dollars) was signed in 2011 year. According to some reports, the Saudi military chose a British rocket, seeing its high efficiency when used during operations in Libya. Other countries are still negotiating and discussing the details of possible contracts. Interest in British missiles showed France and India. In addition, the Brimstone missiles in the near future can be replenished arsenals of the US Air Force.


On the materials of the sites:
http://brimstonemissile.com/
http://army-technology.com/
http://globalsecurity.org/
http://defense-update.com/
http://army-news.ru/
http://rbase.new-factoria.ru/
Author:
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. The comment was deleted.
  2. Professor
    Professor 26 May 2014 10: 41
    +3
    pretty rocket


    in battle in Libya
    1. bigELDAK
      bigELDAK 26 May 2014 11: 01
      0
      rewind to 1:55 3 rocket exploded in the air (maybe I'm wrong)
      1. Professor
        Professor 26 May 2014 11: 04
        +1
        Quote: bigELDAK
        1:55 3 a rocket exploded in the air (maybe I'm wrong)

        No, at 2:01 a splashdown is visible.
      2. andy.v.lee
        andy.v.lee 26 May 2014 11: 23
        0
        Further, a video from a different angle shows a direct hit.
    2. andy.v.lee
      andy.v.lee 26 May 2014 11: 22
      +1
      An interesting guidance system and algorithm. A little earlier I read about her in other sources. On the other hand, the available video shows only hitting a target in the "catch-up" mode (from the rear hemisphere) or a stationary target. Much more important is how the product will work in the frontal plane of the target during its movement and lateral at different angles, speeds and different distances.
  3. sv68
    sv68 26 May 2014 13: 34
    0
    rocket hit a 6-meter inflatable boat with awl probably kicked fool according to the characteristics, so-so, but for the price, like a good car
  4. Magic archer
    Magic archer 26 May 2014 14: 47
    0
    As you can see from the picture, this is the same Hellfire, only with a new homing head and a new name)
  5. corporal
    corporal 26 May 2014 22: 57
    0
    The range was impressive. Ours cook something like that?
  6. siberalt
    siberalt 27 May 2014 00: 37
    0
    Interestingly, and with whom are they going to fight? With African Tuaregs or with Russia? So, nobody is going to attack this consortium. laughing And if in fairness, then for a long time it is necessary to stop trading in death - weapons to all, without exception.

Ракеты семейства MBDA Brimstone

Одним из наиболее интересных проектов международного европейского консорциума MBDA является семейство управляемых ракет Brimstone. Боеприпасы класса «воздух-поверхность» предназначены для вооружения самолетов и беспилотных летательных аппаратов и отличаются друг от друга различными особенностями конструкции. К примеру, ракета Brimstone Dual Mode отличается от первой ракеты семейства Brimstone использованной головкой самонаведения с пассивным лазерным и активным радиолокационным каналами. Одновременно с этим компания MBDA испытывает другую новую ракету – Brimstone 2.

Ракеты семейства MBDA Brimstone


На ранних стадиях разработки управляемая ракета Brimstone («Сера») рассматривалась в качестве модернизированного варианта американской ракеты AGM-114 Hellfire, разработанного с учетом производства в Европе. Тем не менее, проработка требований к проекту и обновление различных компонентов боеприпаса привели к тому, что проект Brimstone стал самостоятельным. У ракеты AGM-114, ранее считавшейся базовой, были заимствованы только некоторые общие черты облика.


Первая ракета семейства, Brimstone, имеет стартовый вес 48,5 и полную длину 1,8 метра при диаметре корпуса 17,8 см. В головной части боеприпаса располагается прозрачный обтекатель головки самонаведения и лазерная полуактивная система. За головкой самонаведения в корпусе расположена тандемная кумулятивная боевая часть весом 6,2 кг с ударным взрывателем, а также аппаратура управления. Хвостовая часть корпуса отдана под твердотопливный ракетный двигатель. На боковой поверхности ракеты Brimstone расположены две группы Х-образных стабилизаторов, в средней и хвостовой частях корпуса. Хвостовые стабилизаторы оборудованы рулями для управления полетом. Следует отметить, что подобная компоновка агрегатов, как и часть бортовых систем, была разработана для первой ракеты Brimstone, но используется и на последующих ее модификациях. Основным способом обновления и улучшения боеприпасов стала замена некоторых агрегатов на новые с более высокими характеристиками.

Система управления ракеты Brimstone выполнена в соответствии с концепцией «выстрелил-забыл». Для этого ракета первой модели оснащена инерционной навигационной системой для выхода в район цели и полуактивной лазерной головкой самонаведения. Алгоритм применения боеприпаса выглядит следующим образом: бортовая аппаратура самолета или вертолета, вооруженного ракетами Brimstone, вводит в оборудование боеприпаса данные о расположении цели. После запуска ракета самостоятельно выходит в заданный район и включает лазерную головку самонаведения. Далее наведение осуществляется на подсвечиваемый лазером с земли объект.

Ракеты семейства MBDA Brimstone


Твердотопливный двигатель позволяет ракете Brimstone развивать сверхзвуковую скорость полета. Точная информация о максимальной скорости полета не оглашалась. При использовании ракеты в качестве оружия самолета или беспилотного летательного аппарата максимальная дальность стрельбы превышает 20 километров. Если носителем боеприпаса является вертолет, то этот параметр сокращается до 12 км.

Разработка ракеты Brimstone стартовала в 1996 году и продолжалась около трех лет. В августе 1999 года состоялся первый испытательный запуск с наземной пусковой установки. Примерно через год был произведен первый тестовый запуск с самолета Tornado GR4. Доводка ракеты продолжалась в течение нескольких следующих лет. В середине двухтысячных началось серийное производство новых управляемых ракет, принятых на вооружение Королевских ВВС Великобритании. Первыми их носителями стали ударные самолеты Tornado GR4.

Сообщалось, что программа разработки новой управляемой ракеты MBDA Brimstone обошлась заказчику в лице британского военного ведомства примерно в 370 млн фунтов стерлингов (более 600 млн долларов США). Стоимость одной ракеты первой версии не превышает 100 тыс фунтов (около 150-160 тыс долларов США).

Первое боевое применение ракет Brimstone состоялось в Ираке вскоре после их принятия на вооружение. Боеприпасы использовались для атаки различных стационарных целей. Несмотря на достаточно высокие характеристики, новая ракета получила ряд рекламаций. Прежде всего британских военных не устроила лазерная система наведения, требующая участия человека. Далеко не во всех ситуациях имелась возможность послать бойцов, которые могли бы подсвечивать цель лазером.

В 2008 году в соответствии с новыми требованиями заказчика была создана ракета Brimstone Dual-Mode. Она сохранила все основные агрегаты базового боеприпаса, но получила новую двухканальную головку самонаведения. Для поиска цели и наведения на нее Brimstone Dual-Mode может использовать как пассивную лазерную систему, так и активную радиолокационную, работающую в миллиметровом диапазоне. Разработка новой ракеты потребовала дополнительных вложений и обошлась примерно в 10 млн фунтов (16 млн долларов).

Интересной особенностью проекта Brimstone Dual-Mode стал подход к изготовлению ракет. Заказчик может приобрести новые ракеты этой модели или специальные комплекты оборудования, путем установки которого ракета базовой модификации получает двухканальную головку самонаведения. Такое переоборудование одного боеприпаса обходится заказчику примерно в 35-40 тыс фунтов (55-65 тыс долларов).

Управляемая ракета Brimstone Dual-Mode впервые была использована в бою в Афганистане в 2009 году. В 2011 году британская авиация активно использовала этот боеприпас во время операции в Ливии. Только за первый месяц боевой работы самолеты Великобритании израсходовали около 60 ракет с двухканальной головкой самонаведения и поразили несколько десятков стационарных и подвижных целей. При этом ракеты базовой модели с лазерной полуактивной головкой самонаведения использовались крайне ограничено. Первый запуск такого боеприпаса по цели в Ливии произошел только в сентябре 2011 года. В общей сложности во время ливийской операции британские военные израсходовали более 200 ракет Brimstone двух модификаций.

С 2012 года консорциум MBDA разрабатывает противокорабельный боеприпас Brimstone Sea Spear. По имеющимся данным, эта ракета крупнее базовых изделий и может нести более тяжелую боевую часть (до 100 кг). Кроме того, противокорабельная ракета получила турбореактивный двигатель и летает с дозвуковой скоростью. Дальность полета была заявлена на уровне 100 километров. Утверждалось, что ракета Brimstone Sea Spear оснащена двухканальной головкой самонаведения, а также системой управления с использованием инерционной и спутниковой навигации. Первый испытательный пуск противокорабельной ракеты семейства Brimstone состоялся в июне 2012 года. Опытная ракета успешно поразила 6-метровую надувную лодку. Окончание работ по проекту Brimstone Sea Spear запланировано на 2014-15 годы.

Осенью прошлого года компания MBDA провела ряд испытательных запусков новой ракеты Brimstone 2. Этот боеприпас является дальнейшим развитием ракеты с двухканальной головкой самонаведения. Целью последней модернизации было увеличение дальности стрельбы, а также повышение потенциала ракеты при атаках движущихся объектов. Благодаря новому ракетному двигателю максимальная дальность полета была увеличена до 60 километров (40 км при запуске с вертолета). Ракета оснащена новой боевой частью большего могущества. Солидным доработкам подверглась радиолокационная головка самонаведения, получившая активный и пассивный каналы. Теперь радиолокационная ГСН способна находить и сопровождать скоростные и маневрирующие наземные цели, в том числе с пониженной радиолокационной заметностью. Сохранена пассивная лазерная система.

Во время испытаний на одном из полигонов США, проведенных осенью прошлого года, тестовые ракеты без боевой части запускались по движущимся автомобилям-мишеням. Во время одного из тестовых пусков мишень-грузовик двигалась со скоростью 110 км/ч и была окружена другим транспортом. Все пять ракет-прототипов успешно поразили свои цели прямым попаданием. На основном участке траектории управление ракетой осуществляла пассивная лазерная система, затем за наведение отвечали оба канала радиолокационной, а на конечном участке работала только активная радиолокационная головка самонаведения. Серийное производство ракет Brimstone 2 должно стартовать в начале 2015 года.

В конце марта 2014 года появились сообщения о завершении очередных испытаний ракеты. На этот раз носителем боеприпасов семейства Brimstone стал беспилотный летательный аппарат MQ-9 Reaper. Условной целью были движущиеся автомобили-мишени. Запуски производились с высоты 20 тыс футов (6 км) и с дальности 7-12 км. Все ракеты успешно поразили цели прямым попаданием.

Для использования с ракетами Brimstone, Brimstone Dual-Mode и Brimstone 2 разработана специальная пусковая установка. Этот агрегат монтируется на пилоне самолета-носителя и позволяет нести и применять три ракеты. Благодаря этому одним ударный самолет способен нести достаточно большое количество ракет. Так, на истребителя-бомбардировщик Eurofighter Typhoon может быть подвешено шесть пусковых установок с 18 ракетами. Боевая нагрузка самолетов Tornado GR4 обычно состоит из 3 или 6 ракет Brimstone в сочетании с боеприпасами иных типов.

Первым зарубежным эксплуатантом ракет Brimstone стала Саудовская Аравия. Контракт объемом около 10 млн фунтов (16 млн долларов) был подписан в 2011 году. По некоторым данным, саудовские военные выбрали британскую ракету, увидев ее высокую эффективность при использовании во время операции в Ливии. Другие страны пока ведут переговоры и обсуждают подробности возможных контрактов. Интерес к британским ракетам проявили Франция и Индия. Кроме того, ракетами Brimstone в ближайшем будущем могут пополниться арсеналы ВВС США.


По материалам сайтов:
http://brimstonemissile.com/
http://army-technology.com/
http://globalsecurity.org/
http://defense-update.com/
http://army-news.ru/
http://rbase.new-factoria.ru/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Видео в тему

Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 7
  1. Комментарий был удален.
  2. профессор 26 мая 2014 10:41
    симпатичная ракета


    в бою в Ливии
    1. bigELDAK 26 мая 2014 11:01
      перемотайте на 1:55 3 ракета в воздухе взорвалась(может я ошибаюсь)
      bigELDAK
      1. профессор 26 мая 2014 11:04
        Цитата: bigELDAK
        1:55 3 ракета в воздухе взорвалась(может я ошибаюсь)

        Нет, на 2:01 видно приводнение.
      2. andy.v.lee 26 мая 2014 11:23
        Далее по видео с другого ракурса видно прямое попадание.
    2. andy.v.lee 26 мая 2014 11:22
      Интересна система наведения и алгоритм. Немного ранее читал о ней в других источниках. С другой стороны, доступное видео показывает лишь попадание в цель в режиме "догона" (с задней полусферы) или в стационарную цель. Намного более важно, как изделие будет работать во фронтальную плоскость цели при ее движении и боковые под разным углом, скоростями и разными расстояниями.
  3. sv68 26 мая 2014 13:34
    ракета поразила 6-ти метровую надувную лодку-шилом праткнула наверное fool по характеристикам-так себе,а по цене-как хорошая машина
  4. Magic Archer 26 мая 2014 14:47
    Как видно по картинке ,это тот же Адский огонь, только с новой головкой самонаведения и новым названием)
  5. капрал 26 мая 2014 22:57
    Дальность впечатлила. Наши чего-нибудь подобное готовят?
  6. сибиралт 27 мая 2014 00:37
    Интересно, а с кем они воевать собрались? С африканскими туарегами или с Россией? Дык, никто на этот консорциум нападать не собирается. laughing А если по справедливости, то давно нужно прекратить торговать смертью - оружием всем без исключения.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня