Military Review

Taliban in Nigerian. As the richest country in Africa comes to civil war

10
A few months ago, trying to identify the most dangerous in terms of terrorist manifestations areas of the globe, we talked about Nigeria as well. Recent events show that our prediction was correct.


20 May in the city of Jos with small intervals thundered two powerful explosions. First, a mined truck flew into the air. After 20 minutes, the rescuers were already working at the scene of the tragedy, a second explosion rang out - in a parked minibus. The number of victims of the double terrorist attack exceeded 200 people. On May 13, a rural self-defense detachment repulsed an attack by militants from the Boko Haram group on a village in the province of Borno in the north of the country. During the battle, according to eyewitnesses, about 200 militants were killed. Ten days earlier, members of Boko Haram, who had attacked the village market, had shot 300 locals. And about a month ago, militants from the same group kidnapped more than 200 schoolgirls and are now threatening to sell them into slavery.

Boko Haram v. Nigerian Government

Until recently, the world media did not really pay much attention to their attention: “Boko Haram, judging by everything, believing that Africa is far away and the events in some kind of Nigeria cannot interest consumers News from Europe and America. However, the scale of the latest Boko Haram actions is such that it is simply impossible to ignore them. It is no coincidence that the UN Security Council recently recognized this organization as terrorist.

14 May Assistant to the President of the United States for National Security Susan Rice said that a group of military advisers, as well as intelligence officers and security experts, would be sent to Nigeria. At the same time, the Americans are not planning a military operation in the north of Nigeria. But this is only for now.

Boko Haram is a radical Nigerian group. The first mentions of it refer to the 2002 year, when militants, or rather, street gangs strayed into street gangs, began to attack Christian churches, police stations and government buildings. At that time they were armed mainly with improvised means - sticks and fittings. Small weapon, explosives, as well as specialists in explosives appeared with them only later.

Boko Haram aims to introduce Sharia law throughout Nigeria and abandon the Western way of life and education. Hence the colloquial name of the group, which translates from Hausa as “Western education is prohibited”. For the more advanced, there is an Arabic name: Jama'atu Ahlis Sunna Lidda'awati wal-Jihad (“Society for the Prophets of Prophet and Jihad Propagation”).

In 2011, representatives of Boko Haram declared that their goal was to establish Sharia not everywhere in Nigeria, but only in the north of the country populated mainly by Muslims, where Sharia laws are present, but they are not the main source of law. Anyway, since 2002, at the hands of the representatives of the “Nigerian Taliban”, as they also called “Boko Haram”, more than 10 thousand people died.

Two points are noteworthy. First, “Boko Haram”, until recently, avoided attacking protected government or military installations, preferring to terrorize civilians. And, secondly, the militants still limit the geography of their attacks to the northern and northeastern regions of the country. The 2012 campaign of the year in Lagos and the attack on the base of the Nigerian Air Force in December of the 2013 year were rather an exception to this rule.

Since 2013, Boko Haram has been actively using suicide bombers, which was not there before. The Nigerian government, in response, is making efforts to destroy the group, but the cheerful reports of the military seem to have little to do with reality. For example, last fall, there were reports of the elimination of the leader of Boko Haram Abubakar Shekau. Then it turned out that Shekau is alive and well, at least in the video he shot this spring, he demands, in exchange for the release of the kidnapped girls, to release the members of the group from prison.

However, even if Shekau were destroyed, the loss of the leader would have a minimal effect on the activities of Boko Haram. Most likely, the new leader would have been found very quickly, since a lot indicates that Boko Haram is not so much a fanatical ideologically charged grouping, as an ordinary political tool.

Fight for resources

As already mentioned, "However," Boko Haram is based in northern Nigeria - that is, where there is no oil. The poor north is of secondary importance for the country's budget, and therefore it can be assumed that Boko Haram is the only argument that local politicians can use in their difficult dialogue with the central government.

They also want to participate in the section of the hydrocarbon pie, to which at the moment only approximations of the current president-southerner are admitted. And there is something to share: according to estimates by British Petroleum, gas reserves in Nigeria amount to 5 trillion cubic meters (for comparison, Russian reserves are about 47 trillion). Today, Nigeria is ranked seventh in the world in gas reserves, and it is believed that in the near future it may well enter the top three. As for oil, its proven reserves in the country are about 35,5 billion barrels (about 4,8 billion tons).

In 2015, the presidential election will be held in Nigeria, and the current president Goodluck Jonathan will most likely want to be re-elected for a second term. And that means breaking the unwritten law, according to which Jonathan (a native of the Niger Delta region) must give way to a northerly president.

So far, "Boko Haram" held its shares only in Nigeria. And despite all kinds of speculation, there is not yet serious information indicating the group’s links with international terrorism. Which, however, does not mean anything.

In Nigeria, the interests of foreign countries are widely represented, whose citizens can become targets of militants - and not necessarily from Boko Haram. Recently, various mass media have repeatedly mentioned the activity of Iranian special services, which allegedly are interested in the objects of the USA and Israel in Africa. The basis for such allegations was the fact that three Lebanese citizens suspected of belonging to Hezbollah were arrested in the city of Kano in northern Nigeria. Anti-tank mines, small arms and explosives were found in the house of one of them (the entire arsenal was stored in a concrete bunker equipped in the basement).

Contacts Nigeria and Israel are not limited to military cooperation (the purchase of UAVs and other equipment). Countries actively cooperate in agriculture and other areas. Earlier this year, during Goodluck Jonathan’s visit to Jerusalem, a number of important intergovernmental agreements were signed, including the opening of direct flights.

For the United States, OPEC-affiliated Nigeria is the fourth largest supplier of crude oil, and therefore the situation in this African country cannot remain out of sight of the Americans.

Nigerian hydrocarbon fields are being developed by large companies such as Mobil, Total, Statoil, British Petroleum. They have to be very difficult. Indeed, corruption is flourishing in the country, and numerous terrorists with separatists continually threaten foreigners. Compared to the constant risk to life, such a trifle as 10% of the loss of oil produced, which is stolen directly from oil pipelines, seems to be quite insignificant.

As for Russia, the trade between our country and Nigeria is still a little more than 300 million dollars. And the threats that foreign business faces in this state practically do not concern us. However, if Russia wants to return to Africa, it is impossible to do this bypassing the richest, though also problematic, Nigeria.

Although the situation in the country will only worsen. We should expect new outbreaks of violence related to the upcoming presidential elections and the almost inevitable foreign military intervention.
Author:
Originator:
http://www.odnako.org/blogs/taliban-po-nigeriyski-kak-bogateyshaya-strana-afriki-prihodit-k-grazhdanskoy-voyne/
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Arh
    Arh 28 May 2014 14: 05
    +6
    What kind of warriors are they taking children hostage once, so another flock has been taken !!!
    1. Sterlya
      Sterlya 28 May 2014 15: 18
      +2
      There is oil, there is no democracy. striped faces run for an hour. I'm sure striped ears stick out behind the terrorists.
      And I, too, jerked then to say that Nigeria will soon be democratized. there was so little time when it was calm, but this time it will be serious;
  2. Giant thought
    Giant thought 28 May 2014 14: 06
    +1
    Terrorists, they are terrorists in Africa, even though you do not call them, they are based on the hateful ideology.
  3. Morgan
    Morgan 28 May 2014 14: 06
    +3
    Radical Islamism is Faitington's favorite weapon! And the origin of their (hmm ...) machinations is elementary - a dollar in someone else's pocket - an insult or a gain!
  4. silberwolf88
    silberwolf88 28 May 2014 14: 22
    +2
    America first creates, grows and supports radical movements (including frankly terrorist ones) ... And when the tasks of the moment are completed ... under the pretext of combating radicalism, it goes there ... where they expect economic benefits ...
    This is a common US tactic.
  5. Ajent cho
    Ajent cho 28 May 2014 14: 26
    0
    Eh, Nigerians ... Thought you would be happy with so much oil? Xrenushki! So you mekamer and allow ...
  6. roman72-452
    roman72-452 28 May 2014 14: 28
    0
    I think, too, not without the help of "friends" from the West, all the riots are happening.
  7. mig31
    mig31 28 May 2014 14: 28
    0
    Why is the State Department rich in Africa ?, competitors are drowned in blood, starved, stuffed with diseases - such a democracy and freedom from the State Department to the Chorny Continent ...
  8. Silkway0026
    Silkway0026 28 May 2014 14: 39
    +3
    USA: "You have oil (gas) - then we fly to you !!!
  9. Rusich1980
    Rusich1980 28 May 2014 14: 47
    +1
    I don't remember on which resource I read that this gang was formed and trained with the help of the CIA. And while it feeds from American pockets. That is why the US State Department does not react to them. The Americans have not yet seen religious cleansing in Nigeria, massacres of people and other abominations. This is the policy of n-th standards (not even triple ones). "... Only swear words come to mind ..." - Dr. Bykov (S)
  10. zavesa01
    zavesa01 28 May 2014 14: 50
    +2
    Africa is generally a Klondike. The general illiteracy of the population allows them to do their dark deeds with impunity. And WHO also "loves" Africa. Where else can you find so many guinea pigs.
    Although now the Ukrainians are ready for the experiment.
  11. nikcris
    nikcris 28 May 2014 15: 19
    +1
    My friend worked there at oil fields))) in the Security Council. What I told you does not fit in my head. They are dumber than dill. wassat
  12. Roman 1977
    Roman 1977 28 May 2014 15: 30
    0

    We are excellent soldiers - our chickens don’t peck at our money ...
  13. mamont5
    mamont5 28 May 2014 15: 55
    +1
    "Small arms, explosives, as well as experts in explosives technology came to them only later."

    I can even guess, and I think that I’m not much wrong if I say that the United States took care of this.

Талибан по-нигерийски. Как богатейшая страна Африки приходит к гражданской войне

Несколько месяцев назад, пытаясь определить наиболее опасные с точки зрения террористических проявлений районы земного шара, мы говорили в том числе и о Нигерии. Последние события показывают, что наш прогноз был верным.

20 мая в городе Джос с небольшими интервалами прогремели два мощных взрыва. Сначала на воздух взлетел заминированный грузовик. Через 20 минут, кода на месте трагедии уже работали спасатели, раздался второй взрыв — в припаркованном неподалёку микроавтобусе. Число жертв двойного теракта превысило 200 человек. 13 мая отряд сельской самообороны отбил нападение боевиков из группировки «Боко Харам» на деревню в провинции Борно на севере страны. Во время боя, по свидетельству очевидцев, было убито около 200 боевиков. За десять дней до этого члены «Боко Харам», напавшие на деревенский рынок, расстреляли 300 местных жителей. А ещё около месяца назад боевики из той же группировки похитили более 200 школьниц и теперь угрожают продать их в рабство.


«Боко Харам» против нигерийского правительства

До последнего времени мировые СМИ не слишком жаловали своим вниманием «Боко Харам, судя по всему, полагая, что Африка далеко и события в какой-то там Нигерии не могут заинтересовать потребителей новостей из Европы и Америки. Однако масштабы последних акций «Боко Харам» таковы, что игнорировать их уже просто невозможно. Неслучайно на днях Совбез ООН признал эту организацию террористической.

14 мая помощник президента США по национальной безопасности Сьюзен Райс заявила, что в Нигерию отправятся группы военных советников, а также сотрудники спецслужб и эксперты по вопросам безопасности. При этом войсковую операцию на севере Нигерии американцы пока не планируют. Но это только пока.

«Боко харам» — радикальная нигерийская группировка. Первые упоминания о ней относятся к 2002 году, когда боевики, а точнее — сбившиеся в уличные банды молодые люди из студентов-недоучек, начали нападать на христианские церкви, полицейские участки и правительственные здания. В то время вооружены они были в основном подручными средствами — палками и арматурой. Стрелковое оружие, взрывчатка, а также специалисты по взрывотехнике появились у них уже потом.

«Боко харам» ставит целью введение шариатского закона на всей территории Нигерии и отказ от западного образа жизни и образования. Отсюда и просторечное название группировки, которое переводится с языка хауса как «Западное образование — запрещено». Для более продвинутых существует арабское название: Jama’atu Ahlis Sunna Lidda’awati wal-Jihad («Общество приверженцев распространения учения Пророка и джихада»).

В 2011 году представители «Боко харам» заявили, что их целью является установление шариата не повсеместно в Нигерии, а только на населённом преимущественно мусульманами севере страны, где законы шариата хотя и присутствуют, но не являются главным источником права. Как бы то ни было, с 2002 года от рук представителей «нигерийского Талибана», как называют ещё «Боко харам», погибли более 10 тысяч человек.

Обращают на себя внимание два момента. Во-первых, «Боко харам» до последнего времени избегала нападать на защищённые правительственные или военные объекты, предпочитая терроризировать мирное население. И, во-вторых, боевики до сих пор ограничивают географию своих вылазок северными и северо-восточными регионами страны. Акции 2012 года в Лагосе и нападение на базу нигерийских ВВС в декабре 2013 года стали, скорее, исключением из этого правила.

С 2013 года «Боко харам» активно использует террористов-смертников, чего раньше не было. Нигерийское правительство в ответ предпринимает усилия по уничтожению группировки, однако бодрые рапорты военных, похоже, имеют мало общего с действительностью. Например, осенью прошлого года появились сообщения об устранении лидера «Боко харам» Абубакара Шекау. Потом оказалось, что Шекау жив и здоров, по крайней мере, на снятом этой весной видео он требует в обмен за освобождение похищенных девочек выпустить из тюрем членов группировки.

Впрочем, даже если бы Шекау уничтожили, на деятельности «Боко харам» потеря лидера сказалась бы минимально. Скорее всего, новый вождь нашёлся бы очень быстро, поскольку многое указывает на то, что «Боко харам» является не столько фанатичной идеологически-заряженной группировкой, сколько обычным политическим инструментом.

Борьба за ресурсы

Как уже писал «Однако», «Боко Харам» базируется в северных районах Нигерии — то есть там, где нет нефти. Бедный север имеет второстепенное значение для бюджета страны, и потому можно предположить, что «Боко Харам» — единственный аргумент, который местные политики могут использовать в их непростом диалоге с центральной властью.

Им тоже хочется поучаствовать в разделе углеводородного пирога, к которому на данный момент допущены лишь приближённые нынешнего президента-южанина. А делить есть что: по оценкам British Petroleum, запасы газа в Нигерии составляют 5 трлн кубометров (для сравнения, российские запасы — около 47 трлн). Сегодня Нигерия занимает седьмое место в мире по газовым запасам, и считается, что в недалёком будущем она вполне может войти в первую тройку. Что касается нефти, то её подтверждённые запасы в стране составляют порядка 35,5 млрд баррелей (около 4,8 млрд тонн).


В 2015 году в Нигерии пройдут президентские выборы, и действующий президент Гудлак Джонатан, скорее всего, захочет переизбраться на второй срок. А значит — нарушить неписаный закон, согласно которому Джонатан (уроженец региона дельты Нигера) должен уступить место президенту-северянину.

До сих пор «Боко Харам» проводила свои акции только на территории Нигерии. И несмотря на разного рода домыслы, серьёзной информации, свидетельствующей о связях группировки с международным терроризмом, пока не имеется. Что, впрочем, ни о чём не говорит.

В Нигерии широко представлены интересы иностранных государств, граждане которых могут стать целями боевиков — причём не обязательно из «Боко Харам». В последнее время в различных СМИ несколько раз упоминалось об активности иранских спецслужб, которые якобы интересуются объектами США и Израиля в Африке. Основанием для подобных утверждений послужил факт ареста в городе Кано на севере Нигерии трёх граждан Ливана, заподозренных в принадлежности к «Хезболле». В доме одного из них были обнаружены противотанковые мины, стрелковое оружие и взрывчатка (весь этот арсенал хранился в бетонном бункере, оборудованном в подвале).

Контакты Нигерии и Израиля не ограничиваются военным сотрудничеством (закупкой беспилотников и другой техники). Страны активно взаимодействуют в области сельского хозяйства и других сферах. В начале этого года во время визита Гудлака Джонатана в Иерусалим был подписан целый ряд важных межправительственных соглашений, в том числе и об открытии прямого воздушного сообщения.

Для Соединённых Штатов входящая в ОПЕК Нигерия является четвёртым по объёмам поставщиком сырой нефти, и потому ситуация в этой африканской стране не может оставаться вне поля зрения американцев.

Нигерийские углеводородные месторождения разрабатывают такие крупные компании, как Mobil, Total, Statoil, British Petroleum. Приходится им очень непросто. Ведь в стране пышным цветом цветёт коррупция, а многочисленные террористы с сепаратистами то и дело угрожают иностранцам. По сравнению с постоянным риском для жизни такая мелочь, как 10% потерь добытой нефти, которую расхищают прямо из нефтепроводов, кажется совсем незначительной.

Что касается России, то товарооборот нашей страны с Нигерией пока составляет немногим больше 300 млн долларов. И угрозы, с которыми в этом государстве сталкивается иностранный бизнес, практически нас не касаются. Однако если Россия хочет вернуться в Африку, сделать это, минуя богатейшую, хотя и проблемную Нигерию, представляется невозможным.

Хотя обстановка в стране будет только обостряться. Следует ожидать новых вспышек насилия, связанных с приближающимися президентскими выборами и практически неизбежным иностранным военным вмешательством.
Автор:
Бахтияр Ахмедханов
Первоисточник:
http://www.odnako.org/blogs/taliban-po-nigeriyski-kak-bogateyshaya-strana-afriki-prihodit-k-grazhdanskoy-voyne/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

10 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти