Military Review

Kare Halvorsen introduced the new robot MorpHex MKII

14
The famous Norwegian engineer, who became famous for his work in robotics, presented a new rolling transformer robot, which supposedly came to us directly from dreams. It should be noted that many robots of the Norwegian “Kulibin” simply frighten - this is the two-legged Archer, the A-pod scorpion-like robot and its improved version of FireAnt, as well as the arachnid robot. However, first of all, all of them are amazing examples of technical thought. The new robot Halvorsen MorpHex MKII is divided into a large number of sections, each of which has two motors. This robot is able to roll on the ground. At the right moment, he can open up and turn his panels into legs with which he can walk.


It should be noted that the creator of MorpHex MKII was able to design and build such a device that would be more correctly called a double hexapod for the number of limbs it has, the number of which reaches 12 in total. The designer from Norway gave his new model the designation MKII, in contrast to the predecessor robot with the designation MKI, which could move only in circles, the new robot can also roll in a straight line. According to the designer, controlling the robot is the same as driving a radio-controlled car.

At the same time, despite some external frivolity of models, all Halvorsen's robots are elegantly designed, beautiful and one of the most advanced small robots in the world at the moment. All his designs are definitely worth a closer look - especially the videos on the Internet, where his designs robots fight each other. His drones can flock, stick together, forming colonies. Looking at them, you understand that, perhaps, you see the near future.

Kare Halvorsen introduced the new robot MorpHex MKII

Norwegian design engineer Kare Halvorsen (Kare Halvorsen) gained fame on the worldwide network thanks to the specialized community Trossen Robotics Community, where he was registered under the nickname Zenta. At the same time, the creation of robots and robotics is just his hobby. He can and is able to create robots with a programmable architecture, different original design and appearance. In this case, the Norwegian inspiration draws from the "natural engineering". As for an amateur designer, Halvorsen managed to achieve very fascinating realism and accuracy of movements of his devices.

Its latest development, videos and photos of which appeared on the Internet not so long ago, is MorpHex. The name is a combination of the words morphing hexapod - “transformable hexapod”. The new robot is a six-legged device (it would be more correct to call it a twelve-foot), which is enclosed in a body in the shape of a sphere. The plans of the creator was to teach his robot to move like a crab. From a robot with six limbs, it can easily transform into a sphere and move in the right direction. On the one hand, the work of Halvorssen seems to be quite simple, but this feeling is due to the simplicity of the design, while their development requires serious baggage of technical knowledge and engineering skills.

From the point of view of technology and its filling, the robot is not at all simple. This device involved 25 servomotors, each of which has an individualized clutch (12 drives of the 5990 type and 13 drives of the Hitec model 5645 drives are used). In addition, the robot has a built-in Basicmicro ARC-32 controller card, LiPo 2S batteries with 5000 mAh power, XBee radio modules and a Turnigy controller on 8А.


Watching this robot, it seems that you have seen it before, but only as a character in a computer game or a science fiction film. However, the design presented to them is unique. The robotic mechanism successfully combines the functions of a robot with six limbs - a hexapod and a transformer device. In this case, the child of Halvorsen would be more correctly called a double hexapod, since in total the number of conditional limbs of this device reaches 12, but in the open state only 6 is used for movement.

Unlike many other works of the author, his new robot looks quite friendly, his confident, though not very fast movement with the help of his paws-manipulators looks especially funny. The robot is controlled by the remote control, which is similar to those used to control radio-controlled helicopters or cars.

The robot in the folded state is a sphere-ball, which has great freedom to move not only around the circumference, but can confidently overcome fairly large sections in a straight line. The MorpHex MKII robot without any problems can even roll down from the slopes without damaging its internal mechanisms, as well as being able to move quickly enough in a half-open state, moving on a flat surface in different directions. The robotic mechanism of the device consists of several sections with two servomotors in each, due to which it is able to overcome the area that is quite difficult for a product of a similar design to be in an already unfolded state.


It is worth noting that hexapods have long been loved by specialists who work in the field of creating robots. Spider-like machines were developed not only in the form of small “pocket” robots, but also in the form of giant structures that had the ability to be piloted from the inside. At this stage, Kare Halvorsen’s plans include a hardware revision of her new robot, the reason for which was the breakdown of one servomotor during the passage of the test tests of the robot, as well as the correction of its software component.

Information sources:
http://gearmix.ru/archives/10887
http://www.3dnews.ru/818913/#5353cc35b4182e2c4f8b456e
http://old.popmech.ru/blogs/post/4497-kare-halvorsen-i-ego-robotyi
Author:
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Apollo
    Apollo 30 May 2014 08: 56
    +10
    No comment.



  2. NOMADE
    NOMADE 30 May 2014 09: 10
    +8
    Wow! Interesting design good Robots from Star Wars immediately came to mind, which rolled in the form of a wheel, then "unfolded" and opened fire. And also, the thought flashed, in the form of a similar autonomous vehicle, which is made of armor, with MANPADS and ATGM, which is thrown off the drone at a low altitude .. Then it "rolls" to a position and "opens" in the patrol zone.
    1. shurup
      shurup 30 May 2014 10: 50
      +5
      There is a suspicion that they will confine themselves to a walking-rolling minefield.
    2. Gorinich
      Gorinich 30 May 2014 10: 54
      +8
      It is possible easier and more deadly. Inside the explosives, the case is already there. Roll the bun ...
      1. Gomel
        Gomel 30 May 2014 17: 40
        +1
        AHA Half-Life 2 episode 1 remembered?
  3. Zerstorer
    Zerstorer 30 May 2014 09: 58
    +2
    An interesting hobby in humans.
  4. Aryan
    Aryan 30 May 2014 11: 05
    +3
    children's toy pumpkin, which at curfew turns into ...
    Attention! You do not have permission to view hidden text.
  5. asbaev
    asbaev 30 May 2014 12: 24
    +1
    And progress does not stop, you just look at your phones and understand how quickly and quietly everything happens
  6. D.V.
    D.V. 30 May 2014 13: 10
    +5
    Yeah. Universal self-propelled mine. He likes the tank lies he likes the infantry flies !!!
  7. q_556
    q_556 30 May 2014 19: 40
    +2
    They are so cute now, but soon it will be like this:
  8. q_556
    q_556 30 May 2014 19: 41
    +2
    Or even like this:
  9. Aleks tv
    Aleks tv 30 May 2014 19: 53
    +2
    Very interesting...
    Such models have a future.

    Thank you Sergey for the article!
    good
  10. lelikas
    lelikas 30 May 2014 21: 06
    0
    Robot Marine! laughing
  11. ran nearby
    ran nearby 30 May 2014 22: 20
    0
    Just an amazing toy (?) !!!
    Well done uncle. And THIS IS JUST A HOBBY!
  12. Nitarius
    Nitarius 31 May 2014 21: 20
    0
    smart device! our uncle WAS WORKING in RUSSIA to call!

Каре Халворсен представил нового робота MorpHex MKII

Известный норвежский инженер, который прославился своими работами в робототехнике, представил нового катающегося робота-трансформера, который будто бы пришел к нам прямо из сновидений. Необходимо отметить, что многие роботы норвежского «Кулибина» попросту пугают — это и двуногий Archer, и скорпионообразный робот A-pod и его усовершенствованная версия FireAnt, а также паукообразный робот. Однако, прежде всего, все они — это потрясающие образцы технической мысли. Новый робот Халворсена MorpHex MKII разделен на большое количество секций, каждая из которых имеет по два мотора. Этот робот в состоянии катиться по земле. В нужный момент он может раскрыться и превратить свои панели в ноги, с помощью которых он сможет ходить.

Необходимо отметить, что создателю MorpHex MKII удалось спроектировать и построить такое устройство, которое корректнее всего было бы назвать двойным гексаподом за количество имеющихся у него конечностей, число которых в сумме достигает 12. Конструктор из Норвегии дал своей новой модели обозначение MKII, в отличие от робота-предшественника с обозначением MKI, который мог перемещаться лишь кругами, новый робот может кататься и по прямой. По словам конструктора, управлять роботом — это все равно, что водить радиоуправляемый автомобиль.

При этом, невзирая на некоторую внешнюю несерьезность моделей, все роботы Халворсена — это элегантно спроектированные, прекрасные и одни из самых продвинутых в мире малых роботов на данный момент. Все его конструкции определенно стоят того, чтобы с ними познакомиться поближе — особенно видео в Интернете, на которых роботы его конструкции сражаются друг с другом. Его дроны могут сбиваться в стаи, держаться вместе, образуя колонии. Смотря на них, понимаешь, что, возможно, видишь ближайшее будущее.


Каре Халворсен представил нового робота MorpHex MKII

Норвежский инженер-конструктор Каре Халворсен (Kare Halvorsen) получил известность во всемирной сети благодаря специализированному сообществу Trossen Robotics Community, где он был зарегистрирован под ником Zenta. При этом создание роботов и робототехника — это лишь его хобби. Он может и умеет создавать роботов с программируемой архитектурой, отличающихся оригинальной конструкцией и внешним видом. При этом вдохновение норвежец черпает из «природной инженерии». Как для конструктора любителя, Халворсену удалось добиться очень завораживающей реалистичности и точности движений своих устройств.

Его новейшая разработка, видео и фотографии которой не так давно появились в Интернете, это MorpHex. Название представляет собой комбинацию слов morphing hexapod — «трансформируемый гексапод». Новый робот — это шестиногий аппарат (корректнее было бы назвать его двенадцатиногим), который заключен в корпус в форме сферы. В планах создателя было научить своего робота передвигаться подобно крабу. Из робота, обладающего шестью конечностями, он может легко трансформироваться в сферу и двигаться в нужном направлении. С одной стороны, работы Халворсена кажутся довольно простыми, но это ощущение складывается из-за простоты дизайна, тогда как их разработка требует серьезного багажа технических знаний и инженерных навыков.

С точки зрения технологии и начинки его робот совсем не прост. В данном устройстве было задействовано 25 серводвигателей, каждый из которых имеет индивидуализированное сцепление (используется 12 приводов типа 5990 и 13 приводов модели 5645 производства компании Hitec). Помимо этого, в роботе имеется встроенная плата контроллера ARC-32 производства Basicmicro, аккумуляторы LiPo 2S мощностью 5000 мАч, радиомодули XBee и регулятор Turnigy на 8А.

Каре Халворсен представил нового робота MorpHex MKII

Наблюдая за данным роботом, кажется, что раньше ты его уже видел, но только в качестве персонажа компьютерной игры или научно-фантастического фильма. Однако представленная им конструкция уникальна. Роботизированный механизм удачно объединяет в себе функции робота с шестью конечностями — гексапода и устройства-трансформера. При этом детище Халворсена корректнее было бы назвать двойным гексаподом, так как в сумме количество условных конечностей данного устройства достигает 12, но в раскрытом состоянии для перемещения используются лишь 6.

В отличие от многих других работ автора, его новый робот выглядит вполне дружелюбным, особенно забавно смотрятся его уверенное, хотя и не очень быстрое передвижение при помощи своих лап-манипуляторов. Управление роботом осуществляется с помощью пульта ДУ, который подобен тем, что применяются для осуществления контроля за радиоуправляемыми вертолетами или автомобилями.

Робот в сложенном состоянии представляет собой сферу-шар, которая обладает большой свободой для передвижения не только по окружности, но и может уверенно преодолевать достаточно большие участки по прямой. Робот MorpHex MKII без особых проблем может скатываться даже с уклонов, не повреждая при этом свои внутренние механизмы, а также в состоянии достаточно быстро перемещаться в полураскрытом состоянии, перемещаясь по ровной поверхности в разные стороны. Роботизированный механизм устройства представляет собой несколько секций, обладающих двумя сервомоторами в каждой, благодаря чему он в состоянии в уже разложенном состоянии преодолевать достаточно труднопроходимую для изделия подобной конструкции местность.

Каре Халворсен представил нового робота MorpHex MKII

Стоит отметить, что гексаподы достаточно давно полюбились специалистам, которые работают в области создания роботов. Похожие на пауков машины разрабатывались не только в виде маленьких «карманных» роботов, но и в виде гигантских конструкций, которые имели возможность пилотирования изнутри. На данном этапе в планах Каре Халворсена стоит аппаратная доработка своего нового робота, причиной чему стала поломка одного сервомотора во время прохождения тестовых испытаний робота, а также корректировка его программной составляющей.

Источники информации:
http://gearmix.ru/archives/10887
http://www.3dnews.ru/818913/#5353cc35b4182e2c4f8b456e
http://old.popmech.ru/blogs/post/4497-kare-halvorsen-i-ego-robotyi
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 14
  1. Apollon 30 мая 2014 08:56
    Без комментариев.



  2. N.O.M.A.D.E. 30 мая 2014 09:10
    Ух ты! Интересная конструкция good В голову сразу пришли роботы из звёздных войн, которые в виде колеса катились, затем "раскладывались" и открывали огонь. А так же, промелькнула мысль, в виде подобного автономника, который сделан из брони, с ПЗРК и ПТУР, который скидывается с беспилотника на низкой высоте.. Затем "катится" на позицию и "раскрывается" в зоне патрулирования.
    1. shurup 30 мая 2014 10:50
      Есть подозрение, что ограничатся шагающе-катящимся минным полем.
    2. Gorinich 30 мая 2014 10:54
      Можно проще и смертельнее. Внутрь взрывчатки, корпус уже есть. Катись колобок...
      1. Гомель 30 мая 2014 17:40
        АГА Half-Life 2 эпизод 1 вспомнили?
  3. Zerstorer 30 мая 2014 09:58
    Интересное хобби у человека.
  4. Ариец 30 мая 2014 11:05
    детская игрушка-тыква, которая в коменданский час превращается в...
    Внимание! У Вас нет прав для просмотра скрытого текста.
  5. asbaev 30 мая 2014 12:24
    А прогресс идет не останавливаясь, вы только посмотрите на свои телефоны и поймете как быстро и незаметно всё происходит
  6. Д.В. 30 мая 2014 13:10
    Дааааа. Универсальная самоходная мина. Хошь под танк ляжет хошь пехоту облает!!!
    Д.В.
  7. q_556 30 мая 2014 19:40
    Это они сейчас такие милые, но скоро будет так:
  8. q_556 30 мая 2014 19:41
    Или даже вот так:
  9. Aleks тв 30 мая 2014 19:53
    Очень интересно...
    У таких моделей есть будущее.

    Спасибо, Сергей за статью !
    good
  10. леликас 30 мая 2014 21:06
    Робот Морпех ! laughing
  11. рядомпробегал 30 мая 2014 22:20
    Просто восхитительная игрушка(?) !!!
    Молодец дядечка. И ЭТО всего лишь ХОББИ!
    рядомпробегал
  12. Nitarius 31 мая 2014 21:20
    шикарный аппарат! нашим бы СТОИЛО дяденьку на РАБОТУ в РОССИЮ позвать!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня