National Diasporas Assess Yuri Budanov's Murder In Their Own Way

National Diasporas Assess Yuri Budanov's Murder In Their Own WayWhile ex-colonel of the Russian army, Yuri Budanov, convicted in 2003 for killing 18-year-old Elza Kungaeva, was honored by posthumous military honors, his death was vigorously discussed by two communities. Some Russian nationalists consider Budanov to be a hero and martyr. The North Caucasian public believes that he was killed for revenge or for the purpose of further inciting the Caucasian-Russian enmity. Observer "MN" Ivan Sukhov analyzes the Caucasian reaction to the loud murder.

The message about the death of Budanov, the flowers that the nationalists immediately carried to the scene of the murder, and the funeral honors could not help but recall the December events at Manezhnaya (read the reportage from the funeral on page 02). And about the oddities with the parole of Budanov in 2009.


In January, 2009 had to serve one and a half years out of nine of the colony to which he was sentenced for the murder of Kungaeva. At this point, the Budanov process, one of the few designed to show that the state even in war does not forgive lawlessness to its soldiers and officers, has lost resonance and would probably have been forgotten if Budanov had left the colony in time. But he came out ahead of schedule and immediately became a hero for some and an unjustly justified criminal for others. The resonance was repeatedly reinforced by the murder of the lawyer of the victims in the process of Budanov Stanislav Markelov and the journalist Anastasia Baburova 19 in January 2009, a few days after the release of Budanov. Budanov himself from that moment looked like a gun in theatrical scenery, which must necessarily shoot: his death would have logically completed this tragic and provocative staging. In an interview, he himself said once that he was sentenced.

One of the critics of mitigating Budanov’s fate was the head of Chechnya, Ramzan Kadyrov. Back in 2004, he said that if the ex-colonel was pardoned, "we will find a way to give him what he deserves." After the death of the colonel, the head of Chechnya does not comment on what happened. But State Duma deputy Adam Delimkhanov, the closest aide to the head of Chechnya in all that concerns military operations, said: "I think this is retribution."

As if there is no official North Caucasian reaction: the Caucasus is not eager to engage in a discussion fraught with scandal. The head of the Moscow branch of the Russian Congress of the Peoples of the Caucasus (RKNK), Ahmet Azimov, told MN that he would like to refrain from commenting. But RKNK chairman Aslambek Paskachev told reporters that Kadyrov “would never have initiated such a thing” and that the murder is “pure provocation.” In his opinion, the murder is not related to revenge, but it may be a continuation of the December events on Manezhnaya Square and is aimed at destabilization before the parliamentary and presidential elections.

“I don’t think it is connected with something other than Budanov’s“ service ”in the Caucasus,” wrote Ingush expert, former assistant to the head of Ingushetia, Kaloy Akhilgov on twitter. In a conversation with MN, he explained that he was not inclined to consider a surge of nationalism as the real goal of those who shot Budanov: “If they considered this, it was a side effect. The main thing was retribution. The family of Elsa Kungayeva denies that she had anything to do with revenge, but besides the family there was a rather wide range of people who could, in accordance with the customs of blood revenge, feel their duty to retaliate - even more so after he was released early. Approximately the same happened after the murder of Magomed Yevloyev (an Ingush oppositionist, shot dead in the 31 police car in August 2008 of the year. - “MN”): the court actually released the gunman, after which he was also shot in the head ”.

“Whoever shoots Budanov, he restored justice,” said Dagestan journalist Zaur Gaziev. - According to the court’s verdict, Budanov did not answer for either the murder or the rape. Where the state refuses to assume the function of justice, it is done by someone else. ” Gaziev believes that for the same reason, more and more Caucasian youngsters are leaving for the militants.

Ruslan Kurbanov, a senior researcher at the Institute of Oriental Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences, considers both versions as retribution and provocation to be plausible. Kurbanova is worried about the increase in the level of violence in the country before the elections, and he also sees the main misfortune that when the state withdraws from its functions, including the monopoly on violence, various extremist groups take over these functions. “In the same line are the recent murders of the dean of the linguistics department of the Ossetian University Shamil Dzhigkayev and the rector of the Dagestan theological university Maksud Sadikov,” Kurbanov said.

“In the criminal case of Budanov, an episode of rape of Elza Kungayeva was proved, but it was not considered in court - that was the tactic of protecting victims,” Alexander Cherkasov, an expert on the North Caucasus and a member of the board of the Memorial Human Rights Center, told MN. - Budanov was not punished for rape. The number of people who could have claims against Budanov is great, and in addition to the Kungaevs: his servicemen showed that women were brought to the commander regularly. In 2000, seven people disappeared in the Budanov area of ​​responsibility, four of them were detained on the personal instructions of Budanov. Three of the four in a few days were found dead, with signs of torture. As soon as Budanov was released, he was immediately charged in connection with this episode. But the episode was merged into one case with two other cases in which Budanov had an alibi. ”

Judgment from Cherkasov’s point of view cannot be justified by anything, but it becomes inevitable if justice does not ensure justice. “The mechanics of nationalist speeches are always the same,” the expert notes. - A crime is committed, and the authorities release the criminal or facilitate the punishment as much as possible, because he has ways to influence the authorities. In response, unrest begins, which would not exist if justice were possible. ”
Author:
Ivan Sukhov
Originator:
http://mn.ru
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Национальные диаспоры по-своему оценивают убийство Юрия Буданова

Национальные диаспоры по-своему оценивают убийство Юрия БудановаПока экс-полковнику российской армии Юрию Буданову, осужденному в 2003 году за убийство 18-летней Эльзы Кунгаевой, воздавали посмертные воинские почести, его смерть бурно обсуждали два сообщества. Часть русских националистов считает Буданова героем и мучеником. Северокавказская общественность полагает, что его убили из мести либо с целью дальнейшего разжигания кавказско-русской вражды. Обозреватель «МН» Иван Сухов анализирует кавказскую реакцию на громкое убийство.

Сообщение о смерти Буданова, цветы, которые националисты немедленно понесли к месту убийства, и похоронные почести не могли не напомнить о декабрьских событиях на Манежной (репортаж с похорон читайте на стр. 02). И о странностях с условно-досрочным освобождением Буданова в 2009-м.


На январь 2009-го ему оставалось отбыть полтора года колонии из девяти, к которым он был приговорен за убийство Кунгаевой. К этому моменту процесс Буданова, один из немногих, призванных показать, что государство даже на войне не прощает беззакония своим солдатам и офицерам, потерял резонанс и был бы, вероятно, забыт, если бы Буданов вышел из колонии в срок. Но он вышел досрочно и тут же стал героем для одних и несправедливо оправданным преступником для других. Резонанс был многократно усилен убийством адвоката потерпевших в процесс Буданова Станислава Маркелова и журналистки Анастасии Бабуровой 19 января 2009 года, через несколько дней после выхода Буданова. Сам Буданов с того момента выглядел как ружье в театральной декорации, которое обязательно должно выстрелить: его смерть логично завершила бы эту трагическую и провокационную постановку. В одном из интервью он и сам сказал как-то, что приговорен.

Одним из критиков смягчения участи Буданова был глава Чечни Рамзан Кадыров. Еще в 2004 году он заявил, что если экс-полковника помилуют, «мы найдем способ воздать ему по заслугам». После смерти полковника глава Чечни никак не комментирует случившееся. Зато депутат Госдумы Адам Делимханов, ближайший помощник главы Чечни во всем, что касается силовых операций, сказал: «Думаю, это возмездие».

Официальной северокавказской реакции вообще как бы нет: Кавказ не горит желанием вступать в чреватую скандалом дискуссию. Глава московского отделения Российского конгресса народов Кавказа (РКНК) Ахмет Азимов сказал «МН», что хотел бы воздержаться от комментариев. Зато председатель РКНК Асламбек Паскачев сказал журналистам, что Кадыров «никогда бы не стал инициатором подобного» и что убийство — «провокация в чистом виде». По его мнению, убийство не имеет отношения к мести, зато может быть продолжением декабрьских событий на Манежной площади и направлено на дестабилизацию перед парламентскими и президентскими выборами.

«Не думаю, что это связано с чем-то кроме «службы» Буданова на Кавказе», — написал в twitter ингушский эксперт, бывший помощник главы Ингушетии Калой Ахильгов. В беседе с «МН» он пояснил, что не склонен считать всплеск национализма реальной целью тех, кто стрелял в Буданова: «Если они и рассматривали это, то как побочный эффект. Главным было возмездие. Семья Эльзы Кунгаевой отрицает, что имела отношение к мести, но и помимо семьи был довольно широкий круг лиц, которые могли в соответствии с обычаями кровной мести чувствовать свою обязанность совершить возмездие — тем более, после того, как он был досрочно освобожден. Примерно так же получилось после убийства Магомеда Евлоева (ингушский оппозиционер, застрелен в упор в милицейской машине 31 августа 2008 года. — «МН»): суд фактически отпустил стрелявшего, после чего его тоже убили выстрелом в голову».

«Кто бы ни стрелял в Буданова, он восстановил справедливость, — считает дагестанский журналист Заур Газиев. — По приговору суда Буданов не ответил ни за убийство, ни за изнасилование. Там, где государство отказывается брать на себя функцию правосудия, это делает кто-то другой». Газиев считает, что по этой же причине все больше кавказской молодежи уходит к боевикам.

Старший научный сотрудник Института востоковедения РАН Руслан Курбанов считает вероятными обе версии — и возмездие, и провокацию. Курбанова беспокоит рост уровня насилия в стране перед выборами, и основную беду он также видит в том, что когда государство самоустраняется от исполнения своих функций, в том числе от монополии на насилие, различные экстремистские группировки берут эти функции на себя. «В этом же ряду — недавние убийства декана факультета лингвистики осетинского университета Шамиля Джигкаева и ректора дагестанского теологического университета Максуда Садикова», — считает Курбанов.

«В рамках уголовного дела Буданова был доказан эпизод изнасилования Эльзы Кунгаевой, но в суде он не рассматривался — такова была тактика защиты потерпевших, — сказал «МН» эксперт по Северному Кавказу, член совета правозащитного центра «Мемориал» Александр Черкасов. — За изнасилование Буданов наказан не был. Число людей, у которых могли быть претензии к Буданову, велико и помимо Кунгаевых: военнослужащие его показали, что женщин к командиру привозили регулярно. В 2000 году в зоне ответственности Буданова исчезли семь человек, из них четверых задержали по личному указанию Буданова. Трое из четверых через несколько дней нашлись мертвыми, со следами пыток. Как только Буданов был освобожден, ему сразу предъявили обвинение в связи с этим эпизодом. Но эпизод был объединен в одно дело с двумя другими случаями, по которым у Буданова было алиби».

Самосуд, с точки зрения Черкасова, не может быть ничем оправдан, но становится неизбежным, если правосудие не обеспечивает справедливости. «Механика националистических выступлений всегда одинакова, — отмечает эксперт. — Совершается преступление, а власти освобождают преступника либо максимально облегчают наказание, потому что он имеет способы на власти влиять. В ответ и начинаются волнения, которых не было бы, если бы правосудие было возможно».
Автор:
Иван Сухов
Первоисточник:
http://mn.ru
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

10 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти