Military Review

180 tons of US dollars missing in Iraq

4



Over 6 billions of dollars, which were allocated by the United States for economic assistance to Iraq, were stolen. Such conclusions are published by the American newspaper Los Angeles Times.

After the Americans, at the beginning of March 2003, invaded Iraq, the Iraqi government loyal to the States, was to receive about 61 billions of dollars from Congress. According to the auditors, about 6,6 billions of dollars from this money disappeared without a trace, and, as experts assume, were stolen.

The inspector general for the control of the use of funds allocated for the restoration of Iraq by Stewart Bowen said that this was the largest theft of subsidies allocated from the budget history America.

It was established that financial assistance to Iraq was carried out by transporting large amounts of cash. For example, during the first flight of the military transport aircraft C-130 "Hercules" 2,4 was transported billions of dollars. In the plane, containers were transported, each carrying several thousand packs of hundred dollar bills. Until May 2004, 20 flights of this kind were made. Thus, US financial assistance exceeded 12 billions of dollars, weighing tons in 363 (according to The Times).

It should be noted that this money, in fact, did not belong to the United States, but was the property of Iraq. This money included the proceeds from the sale of oil by Iraq, the confiscated Iraqi assets, as well as the unplanned revenue that was obtained as a result of the implementation of the UN Oil for Food program. Figuratively speaking, America, having obtained control over all this money, was going to return it to its rightful owners, but did not return it.

The money was transported by trucks from a cash vault located in New Jersey in East Rutherford, Maryland, to Andrews Air Base. From there they were taken by air to Baghdad, where they were kept in the basement of one of the residences of Saddam Hussein and at the US military bases. From these places the money was transported to contractors and ministries in Iraq.

But there was no maintenance of full-fledged financial statements, with the result that significant amounts, millions of dollars, were simply transported in pick-ups or carried in backpacks to recipients in Iraq.

Over the past six years, US military officials have repeatedly claimed that they can provide reports on all the amounts spent, provided that they are given enough time to process all the archives. But numerous attempts to find these documents and money were unsuccessful.

The Government of Iraq recalls that the agreement, which was signed in 2004, obliged the United States to ensure the security of all financial transactions without exception. From this it follows that it is America that is responsible for what happened. Iraq’s chief auditor, head of the Iraqi Supreme Audit Council, Abdul Basit Turki Said, noted that if necessary, the Government of Iraq will go to court to return the lost money.

As you know, in May, US President Barack Obama announced that the United States would allocate $ 1 billion to develop democracy in Arab countries, in particular Egypt and Tunisia.
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. datur
    datur 18 June 2011 12: 07 New
    0
    180 tons of American dollars disappeared in Iraq ---- modestly our freaks, stools, would take away from 60 all 50 or even more.
  2. His
    His 18 June 2011 12: 38 New
    0
    They will still print. Now it’s more profitable for them to print notes with several zeros. Paper and paint are more expensive than the image. This is the main product of the United States, distributed around the world.
  3. cabin boy
    cabin boy 19 June 2011 00: 46 New
    0
    I wonder how this misunderstanding will affect US corruption ratings. I can give 100%, which is nothing. Well, there can be no corruption in the "citadel of democracy", but a misunderstanding, it is a misunderstanding, think about 6,6 billion lost, it’s written that they carried it in backpacks wink
  4. Draz
    Draz 19 June 2011 07: 48 New
    0
    It’s winter soon, there’s nothing to drown at home wink

    I would have a couple kilos, yes! laughing

В Ираке пропали 180 тонн американских долларов

В Ираке пропали 180 тонн американских долларов


Свыше 6 миллиардов долларов, которые были выделены Соединенными Штатами для экономической помощи Ираку, были украдены. Такие выводы опубликованы американской газетой Лос-Анджелес Таймс.

После того, как американцы, в начале марта 2003 года, вторглись в Ирак, лояльное к Штатам иракское правительство, должно было получить от Конгресса около 61 миллиардов долларов. В соответствии с данными аудиторов, около 6,6 миллиардов долларов из этих денег бесследно пропали, и, как предполагают эксперты, были украдены.


Генеральным инспектором по вопросам контроля за использованием средств выделенных на восстановление Ирака Стюартом Боуэном было сказано, что это самая крупная кража дотаций выделенных из бюджета за всю историю Америки.

Как было установлено, финансовая помощь Ираку осуществлялась посредством перевозки больших сумм наличных денег. Так, например, в ходе первого рейса военно-транспортным самолетом С-130 "Геркулес" было перевезено 2,4 миллиардов долларов. В самолете перевозили контейнеры, вместимость каждого составляла несколько тысяч пачек стодолларовых купюр. До мая 2004 года было осуществлено 20 подобных рейсов. Таким образом, финансовая помощь США превысила сумму в 12 миллиардов долларов, весом в 363 тонны (по данным The Times).

Надо заметить, что эти деньги, фактически, принадлежали не США, а были собственность Ирака. Эти деньги включали в себя выручку от продажи Ираком нефти, конфискованные иракские активы, а такженезапланированная выручка, которая была получена по результатам реализации программы ООН «Нефть в обмен на продовольствие». Образно говоря, Америка, получив контроль над всеми этими деньгами , собирались вернуть их законным владельцам, но не вернули их.

Перевозка денег осуществлялась грузовиками из хранилища наличных денег, которое расположено в штате Нью-Джерси в городе Ист Рутерфорд, в штате Мэриленд, на авиабазу Андревс. Оттуда их доставляли воздухом в Багдад, где они хранились в подвале одной из резиденций Саддама Хусейна и на американских военных базах. С этих мест деньги развозили по подрядным организациям и министерствам в Ираке.

Но не было ведения полноценной финансовой отчетности, в результате чего значительные суммы, миллионы долларов, просто развозили в пикапах или разносили в рюкзаках получателям в Ираке.

За последние шесть лет сотрудники американского военного ведомства неоднократно утверждали, что они могут предоставить отчеты по всем израсходованным суммам, при условии, что им предоставят достаточно времени, для обработки всех архивов. Но многочисленные попытки разыскать данные документы и деньги, оказались безуспешными.

Правительство Ирака напоминает, что соглашение, которое подписано в 2004 году, обязало США обеспечивать безопасность всех без исключения финансовых транзакций. Из этого следует, что именно Америка отвечает за то, что произошло. Главный аудитор Ирака, глава Иракского совета верховного аудита Абдул Басит Турки Саид заметил, что при необходимости, для возврата потерянных денег правительство Ирака обратится в суд.

Как известно, в мае президент США Барак Обама заявил, что США выделят по $ 1 млрд на развитие демократии в арабских странах, в частности Египта и Туниса.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. datur 18 июня 2011 12:07
    В Ираке пропали 180 тонн американских долларов----скромненько наши уродцы табуреткинцы увели бы из 60 все 50 а то и более.
  2. Свой 18 июня 2011 12:38
    Они еще напечатают. Сейчас им выгоднее печатать купюры с несколькими нулями. Бумага и краска станосится дороже изображения. Это главный товар сша, распространяемый по миру
  3. юнга 19 июня 2011 00:46
    Интересно, как это недоразумение отразится на рейтингах коррумпированности в США? Могу дать 100%, что никак. Ну не может быть коррупции в "цитадели демократии", а недоразумение, оно и есть недоразумение, подумешь 6,6 милиарда потерялись, написано же разносили в рюкзаках wink
    юнга
  4. Draz 19 июня 2011 07:48
    Походу скоро зима, топить нечем дома wink

    Мне бы пару кило, да! laughing

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня