Light French tank Char Peugeot

16
The light French tank Char Peugeot was built by Peugeot (Peugeot) in 1918-1919. The tank was in many ways similar to the FT-17 and was a kind of alternative to this. tank Renault companies (Renault). The weight of the tank was 8 tons, the crew consisted of 2 people. Compared to the Renault FT-17, the Peugeot tank was distinguished by better armor, more powerful weapons (a 75-mm gun was installed in a fixed turret), as well as a simpler and stronger chassis. Despite these advantages, the tank was not mass-produced.

Light French tank Char Peugeot


At the initial stage of development of tank technology, French designers managed to create a very successful machine, which was in demand not only in the French army, but also in many countries of the world. This is the famous light tank Renault FT-17, which compares favorably with the first huge dreadnought tanks that appeared during the First World War. It was from the Renault FT-17 that, in many ways, all modern tank building began. It is not surprising that this rather successful car quickly found imitators.

Renault's closest competitor was the equally well-known French company Peugeot, whose specialists were shocked by the huge size of the military order for the FT-17 tank. Only in the 1917-1918 years of the French army were delivered at least 3177 FT-17 tanks, while the 514 of such tanks were delivered to the US Army. For those years, such a military order was considered simply huge. That is why the company Peugeot decided not to stay away from such a golden stream, which, it would seem, flowed to them right in the hands. As a result, the company presented its version of the tank Char Peugeot 1918, which was largely based on the successful model of its direct competitors. The chief engineer of the tank was Captain Omishen.


Tank Char Peugeot began to design in 1918 year, in the same year the first prototype of the combat vehicle was ready. A total of 2 unarmored tank prototypes were assembled, which only began to be tested at the end of 1918, when the outcome of the war left no doubt. After the capitulation of Germany, the army abandoned this project, having a Renault FT-17 tank fully suiting the military in its hands. This machine was able to literally seize the global market and spread throughout the world. These tanks and their modifications could be found from Paraguay and Brazil to Iran and Japan. Total 7820 tanks were released Renault FT-17 various options. Peugeot’s development was not able to compete with it.

Peugeot began to develop its own light tank in parallel with the Renault FT-17 tank, which already had undoubted success on the battlefields of the First World War. The development of Peugeot has a number of both positive and negative qualities. The positive qualities of the machine could be attributed to more powerful weapons, the possibility of installing a short-barreled gun on the 75-mm tank, better booking, and a simpler undercarriage were considered. In this case, the tank had obvious drawbacks. These included the absence of a rotating tower. The gun in Char Peugeot 1918 was installed in the armored cabin. At the same time, the rotating tower, which was used in the Renault FT-17, has become the standard in tank building for many years to come.

The initiator of the development of the tank Char Peugeot, as well as one of its main designers was Captain Omishen, who proposed a design that looks similar to the Renault tank, but without a tower and with a simplified suspension. For example, in relation to one side of the car, the chassis consisted of 4-x track rollers, which were pairwise blocked into two carriages with cushioning, made on spring springs, a rear driving wheel, front guide wheel and 5-supporting rollers.


At the same time, the opening elements of the tank suspension were covered with armored shields - screens. The body of the tank Char Peugeot had a riveted structure. The tank was distinguished from its competitor for the better by the rather spacious cabin in which the weapon was installed. On the sides of the hull, as well as in the tilting armor-sheet installed under the slope, the doors were placed, which served for the landing-landing of the crew of the tank, as well as loading ammunition into the vehicle. The main armament of the tank was a cannon. At the same time in various sources, you can find different versions of the proposed weapons. From the 37-mm SA18 semi-automatic cannon, which was mounted on Renault FT-17 tanks, to the 75-mm short-barrel howitzer Blockhouse Schneider. On the photos that have come down to us, the tank appears with the 75-mm barrel. The gun was mounted in the front hull sheet in a ball mount and was shifted to the left side of the machine. On the right side of the gun there was a driver’s seat, which was equipped with a viewing device. As an alternative, the tank could only be equipped with machine-gun armament using Hotchkiss 8-mm machine guns.

Tank Char Peugeot was able to come to the test only at the end of 1918, when the outcome of the First World War did not cause any doubts. The defeat of Germany was a matter of months. For this reason, despite a number of positive features, the Char Peugeot 1918 tank is located on the same level as the Renault FT-17, without having any exceptional advantages over the latter. In this situation, the army abandoned the novelty in favor of the version already mastered in production, and the Peugeot project was canceled. In addition, the FT-17 tank had some potential for further development. Later on, a version with an 17-mm gun was created on the basis of FT-75. In fact, it was one of the first ACS, which received the designation Renault FT-17 BS.

Information sources:
http://www.aviarmor.net/tww2/tanks/france/char_peugeot.htm
http://gunter-spb.livejournal.com/1355608.html
http://shushpanzer-ru.livejournal.com/1904275.html
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

16 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +6
    16 2014 June
    ... a completely comfortable military tank Renault FT-17. This machine was able to literally capture the world market and spread throughout the world. These tanks and their modifications could be found from Paraguay and Brazil to Iran and Japan. A total of 7820 Renault FT-17 tanks of various variants were produced.

    The Soviet MS-1 (T-18) also has its pedigree from Renault FT-17.
    1. Oleg67
      +1
      17 2014 June
      In principle, yes, but not quite directly. The prototype of the T-16 (an experimental tank, which in turn became the prototype of the serial T-18) was the Italian Fiat-3000, created on the basis of Renault, but still different from it.
    2. +2
      July 14 2014
      Quote: Bongo
      The Soviet MS-1 (T-18) also has its pedigree from Renault FT-17.
      Rather, the COP - Red Sormovo.
  2. +5
    16 2014 June
    Peugeot does not have a tower, which greatly limits its use on the battlefield. This is more like a self-propelled gun, not a tank.
    1. +2
      July 14 2014
      Quote: the47th
      Peugeot does not have a tower, which greatly limits its use on the battlefield. This is more like a self-propelled gun, not a tank.
      For the French during the WWI, this was characteristic. Renault FT-17 is rather a successful exception.
  3. +6
    16 2014 June
    Peugeot does not have a tower, which greatly limits its use on the battlefield. This is more like a self-propelled gun, not a tank.
    In the modern classification, yes. But then there was no such division
  4. +3
    16 2014 June
    Quite a successful car for that time ... And you can’t even call the time period, because the tank building industry was developing rapidly ..
  5. Corsican
    +3
    16 2014 June
    2 people in a carriage. I wonder what the rate of fire was at 75mm. The commander discovered the target. The mechanic made a rough tip. The commander loaded the gun, aimed, fired, short-range. And what they wanted, the trunk a short distance is unknown. Reloaded, fired, flight. And there the French got dark and the bainki drove off. And if this unit also does not have a machine gun, then in general it’s a disaster.
    1. vietnam7
      +3
      16 2014 June
      Practically the same thing happened on the t-34-76, but they managed it, the more so this model did not go into series. In Pyshma I saw MS-1, an analogue of Renault 17, a small tin - especially against the background of sq
      1. +1
        16 2014 June
        MS-1 (T-18) is not quite Renault, Renault-Putilovets "Fighter for Freedom. Comrade Lenin" - both externally and in armament - a copy of Renault.
        1. Oleg67
          0
          17 2014 June
          Not really a copy. Renault FT had either cannon or machine gun armament. And the "Renault Russian" (and the tank was called that way, there are still the designations "M" or "KS", there was never any Renault-Putilovtsa) weapons were mixed - a 37-mm cannon and a machine gun, only 2 tanks were without machine guns.
          1. +3
            July 14 2014
            Quote: Oleg67
            there has never been any Renault-Putilovets

            Like tank brands - yes. But the first CS in Sormovo gathered from parts transported from St. Petersburg.
      2. Corsican
        +1
        16 2014 June
        Well, yes 2 crew members and 4 are almost the same thing and a rotating tower is generally a trifle.
    2. +3
      July 14 2014
      Well, why exaggerate so, the first tanks of that time often had guns of limited aiming, probably, artillery traditions affected. It is not clear why it was only on Renault that they decided to continue the naval analogy further and establish a rotating tower. Maybe the simplicity of the design attracted.
  6. Alf
    +6
    16 2014 June
    Interestingly, the tanks of the world can be distinguished without even seeing the OZ-artitektura.
    Ours is small, swift.
    Britons are piling up boxes on top of each other.
    The Germans are a couple of rectangles.
    Americans, the more the merrier.
    French licked remnants.
    1. 0
      16 2014 June
      In amers, the higher the better.
    2. Oleg67
      +2
      17 2014 June
      "Pile of boxes" and we had it. Remember T-24, T-28, T-35, experimental T-100 and SMK. And the American M-3 "General Lee" and "General Grant" are no less a pile. And the French B-1, not to mention the 2C?
    3. +3
      July 14 2014
      Witty noticed good

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Лёгкий французский танк Char Peugeot

Легкий французский танк Char Peugeot был построен компанией Peugeot (Пежо) в 1918-1919 годах. Танк во многом был похож на FT-17 и представлял собой некую альтернативу этому танку компании Renault (Рено). Вес танка составлял 8 тонн, экипаж состоял из 2-х человек. По сравнению с Renault FT-17, танк компании Peugeot отличался лучшим бронированием, более мощным вооружением (в неподвижной башне было установлено 75-мм орудие), а также более простой и сильной ходовой. Несмотря на эти плюсы, серийно данный танк не производился.

Лёгкий французский танк Char Peugeot


На начальном этапе развития танковой техники французским конструкторам удалось создать очень успешную машину, которая была востребована не только во французской армии, но и во многих странах мира. Речь идет о знаменитом легком танке Renault FT-17, который выгодно отличался от первых огромных танков-дредноутов, появившихся в годы Первой мировой войны. Именно с танка Renault FT-17 во многом и началось все современное танкостроение. Неудивительно, что у этой достаточно успешной машины очень быстро нашлись подражатели.


Ближайшим конкурентом компании Renault была не менее известная французская компания Peugeot, специалисты которой были потрясены огромным размером военного заказа на танк FT-17. Только в 1917-1918 годах французской армии было поставлено не менее 3177 танков FT-17, при этом еще 514 таких танков были поставлены армии США. Для тех лет такой военный заказ считался просто огромным. Именно поэтому компания Peugeot решила не оставаться в стороне от такого золотого ручейка, который, казалось бы, тек к ним прямо в руки. В итоге компания представила свой вариант танка Char Peugeot 1918, который во многом был основан именно на успешной модели своих прямых конкурентов. Главным инженером танка был капитан Омишен.

Лёгкий французский танк Char Peugeot

Танк Char Peugeot начали проектировать в 1918 году, в том же году уже был готов первый прототип боевой машины. Всего было собрано 2 небронированных прототипа танка, которые успели приступить к испытаниям лишь в конце 1918 года, когда исход войны не оставлял уже никаких сомнений. После капитуляции Германии армия отказалась от данного проекта, имея на руках полностью устраивающий военных танк Renault FT-17. Данная машина смогла буквально захватить мировой рынок и распространилась по всему миру. Эти танки и их модификации можно было встретить от Парагвая и Бразилии до Ирана и Японии. Всего было выпущено 7820 танков Renault FT-17 различных вариантов. Конкурировать с ним разработка компании Peugeot оказалась не в состоянии.

Компания Peugeot начала разрабатывать свой собственный легкий танк параллельно с танком Renault FT-17, который уже имел несомненный успех на полях сражений Первой мировой войны. Разработка Peugeot обладала целым рядом как положительных, так и отрицательных качеств. К положительным качествам машины можно было отнести более мощное вооружение, рассматривалась возможность установки на танк 75-мм короткоствольного орудия, лучшее бронирование, более простую ходовую часть. При этом танк имел и явные недостатки. К таковым можно было отнести отсутствие вращающейся башни. Орудие в Char Peugeot 1918 устанавливалось в бронированной рубке. В то же время вращающаяся башня, которая использовалась в Renault FT-17, стала стандартом в танкостроении на долгие годы вперед.

Инициатором разработки танка Char Peugeot, а также одним из его главных конструкторов был капитан Омишен, который предложил конструкцию, внешне схожую с танком Renault, но без башни и с упрощенной ходовой. К примеру, применительно к одному борту машины, ходовая состояла из 4-х опорных катков, которые были попарно блокированы в две тележки с амортизацией, выполненной на пружинных рессорах, заднего ведущего колеса, переднего направляющего колеса и 5-ти поддерживающих роликов.

Лёгкий французский танк Char Peugeot

При этом открытие элементы подвески танка были прикрыты бронированными щитами — экранами. Корпус танка Char Peugeot имел клепанную конструкцию. От своего конкурента в лучшую сторону танк отличался достаточно просторной рубкой, в которой устанавливалось орудие. По бортам корпуса, а также в установленном под наклоном кормовом бронелисте были размещены двери, которые служили для посадки-высадки экипажа танка, а также загрузки в машину боекомплекта. Основное вооружение танка было пушечным. При этом в различных источниках можно встретить различные варианты предполагаемого вооружения. От 37-мм полуавтоматической пушки SA18, которая устанавливалась на танки Renault FT-17, до 75-мм короткоствольной гаубицы Блокхаус Шнейдер. На дошедших до нас фотографиях танк предстает именно с 75-мм стволом. Орудие монтировалось в лобовом листе корпуса в шаровой установке и было смещено к левому борту машины. С правой стороны от орудия располагалось место механика-водителя, которое было оснащено смотровым прибором. В качестве альтернативного варианта танк мог оснащаться лишь пулеметным вооружением с использованием 8-мм пулемета Hotchkiss.

Танк Char Peugeot смог подойти к испытаниям лишь в конце 1918 года, когда исход Первой мировой войны уже не вызывал ни у кого сомнений. Поражение Германии было делом ближайших месяцев. По этой причине, несмотря на ряд положительных особенностей, танк Char Peugeot 1918 расположился на одном уровне с Renault FT-17, не имея перед последним каких-то исключительных преимуществ. В этой ситуации армия отказалась от новинки в пользу уже освоенной в производстве версии, и проект фирмы Peugeot был отменен. К тому же танк FT-17 обладал некоторым потенциалом для дальнейшего развития. В дальнейшем на базе FT-17 была создана версия с 75-мм орудием. По сути это была одна из первых САУ, которая получила обозначение Renault FT-17 BS.

Источники информации:
http://www.aviarmor.net/tww2/tanks/france/char_peugeot.htm
http://gunter-spb.livejournal.com/1355608.html
http://shushpanzer-ru.livejournal.com/1904275.html
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 16
  1. Bongo 16 июня 2014 09:20
    ...полностью устраивающий военных танк Renault FT-17. Данная машина смогла буквально захватить мировой рынок и распространилась по всему миру. Эти танки и их модификации можно было встретить от Парагвая и Бразилии до Ирана и Японии. Всего было выпущено 7820 танков Renault FT-17 различных вариантов.

    Советский МС-1 (Т-18) тоже ведёт свою родословную от Renault FT-17.
    1. Oleg67 17 июня 2014 01:57
      В принципе - да, но не совсем напрямую. В качестве прототипа Т-16 (опытный танк, в свою очередь ставший прототипом серийного Т-18) послужил итальянский "Фиат-3000", созданный на основе "Рено", но все же отличавшийся от него.
      Oleg67
    2. Алекс 14 июля 2014 16:45
      Цитата: Bongo
      Советский МС-1 (Т-18) тоже ведёт свою родословную от Renault FT-17.
      Скорее, КС - Красный Сормово.
  2. the47th 16 июня 2014 10:10
    У Пежо нет башни, что сильно ограничивает его применение на поле боя. Это скорее САУ, а не танк.
    1. Алекс 14 июля 2014 16:46
      Цитата: the47th
      У Пежо нет башни, что сильно ограничивает его применение на поле боя. Это скорее САУ, а не танк.
      Для французов периода ПМВ это было характерно. Рено FT-17 скорее удачное исключение.
  3. abrakadabre 16 июня 2014 10:46
    У Пежо нет башни, что сильно ограничивает его применение на поле боя. Это скорее САУ, а не танк.
    В современной классификации да. Но тогда еще не было подобного деления
  4. parusnik 16 июня 2014 10:55
    Довольно удачная машина для того времени...И даже временной период не назовешь,т.к.танкостроение бурно развивалось..
  5. Korsak 16 июня 2014 12:22
    2 человека в экипаже. Интересно какая там была скорострельность у 75мм. Командир обнаружил цель. Механик совершил грубую наводку. Командир зарядил пушку, навёл, выстрелил, недолёт. А чего хотели, ствол коротенький дистанция неизвестна. Перезарядил, выстрелил, перелёт. А там стемнело и поехали французы баиньки. А если у этого агрегата ещё и пулемёта нет, то вообще беда.
    Korsak
    1. vietnam7 16 июня 2014 12:34
      Практически тоже самое было на т-34-76, но ведь справлялись, тем более этот образец в серию не пошел. В Пышме видел МС-1, аналог рено 17, маленькая жестянка - особенно на фоне кв2
      vietnam7
      1. justas-914 16 июня 2014 15:59
        МС-1 (Т-18) - это не совсем Рено, Рено-Путиловец "Борец за свободу. Товарищ Ленин" - и внешне и по вооружению - копия Рено.
        1. Oleg67 17 июня 2014 01:55
          Не совсем копия. У Рено FT вооружение было либо пушечное, либо пулеметное. А у "Рено русского" (а назывался танк именно так, еще встречаются обозначения "М" или "КС", никакого "Рено-Путиловца" никогда не было) вооружение было смешанным - 37-мм пушка и пулемет, только 2 танка были без пулеметов.
          Oleg67
          1. Алекс 14 июля 2014 16:51
            Цитата: Oleg67
            никакого "Рено-Путиловца" никогда не было

            Как марки танка - да. Но первые КС в Сормово собрали из деталей, перевезенных из Питера.
      2. Korsak 16 июня 2014 19:53
        Ну да 2 члена экипажа и 4 это почти одно и тоже а вращающаяся башня вообще мелочь.
        Korsak
    2. Алекс 14 июля 2014 16:50
      Ну зачем же так утрировать, первые танки того времени часто имели орудия ограниченной наводки, наверное, традиции артиллерии сказывались. Непонятно, почему только на Рено додумались продолжить дальше флотскую аналогию и установить вращающуюся башню. Может, простота конструкции привлекала.
  6. Альф 16 июня 2014 13:58
    Интересно, но танки мира можно различать даже не видя ОЗ-по артитектуре.
    Наши-небольшого размера, стремительные.
    Бритты-нагромождение коробок друг на друге.
    Немцы-пара прямоугольников.
    американцы-чем больше, тем лучше.
    Французы-зализанные обмылки.
    1. samoletil18 16 июня 2014 19:29
      У амеров, чем выше, тем лучше.
    2. Oleg67 17 июня 2014 02:03
      "Нагромождение коробок" и у нас было. Вспомните Т-24, Т-28, Т-35, экспериментальные Т-100 и СМК. Да и американские М-3 "генерал Ли" и "генерал Грант" - не меньшее нагромождение. А французский B-1, не говоря уже про 2C?
      Oleg67
    3. Алекс 14 июля 2014 16:52
      Остроумно подмечено good

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня