Slow to Europe



The arrest of Ratko Mladic will significantly help Serbia, but its consequences in some places in the Balkans may be less ambitious than many hope.


A little time passed after the arrest, and the echo of the voices of those who prophesied a bright and cloudless future for the Balkans subsides. In the 1995 year, the Yugoslav military tribunal has already filed charges against the former Bosnian Serb leader Ratko Mladić. The most serious of these was genocide, namely, the order to kill 8 from thousands of men and boys (Bosnian Muslims or Bosnians, as they call themselves) after the fall of Srebrenica in July of the same year.

The arrest of Mladic and the trial of him in the Hague court will undoubtedly have consequences. But as the euphoria of some and the malice of others subsides, these consequences may turn out to be less definitive than many foreign pundits predict. Zoran Lucic, who heads the Serbian sociological group CESID, has no doubt: there will be no Mladic effect at home. During one of the polls shortly before the arrest, it was discovered that 51% of respondents were against extradition of an arrested person, and 40% were generally considered to be his hero. However, Luchich argues from personal experience that if the arrest upsets people, then “very briefly for a day.”

For the European Union, the consequences of arresting Mladic can be serious. The Serbian government is desperate to become an official candidate for EU membership this December, because on the wings of success it will be able to announce elections. In the course of these elections, the arrest of Mladic will have a huge impact, although it will not be the only decisive factor. In addition to everyday reforms, such as demonstrating the existence of an independent judiciary, Serbia will have to negotiate with Kosovo, which declared independence in 2008, in order to give the impression that at least some time the conflict between the two countries will be resolved.

Serbia will make enough efforts to become a candidate for EU membership, but, according to Lucic, this will not necessarily ensure victory in the next election of the Democratic Party, headed by President Boris Tadic. For most voters, jobs and the economy will be decisive. However, the main opposition force, the Serbian Progressive Party, may also not take the opportunity. Its leader Tomislav Nikolic responded to the arrest of Mladic, like a frightened little hare, saying only that he was "surprised." If he supported the arrest, he would have lost a lot of votes. If he condemned, he would lose respectability, which he received abroad. Until 2008, he was the current chairman of the Serbian Radical Party, whose head is also being tried for war crimes in The Hague.

What will be the effect of Mladic in the “Yugosphere”, as the countries of the former Yugoslavia are sometimes called? Probably less significant than many hope. The arrest testifies to the fact that Serbia takes its obligations seriously. But it was already evident when the Serbian authorities arrested Radovan Karadzic, the Bosnian Serb military leader, in 2008, and when Tadic honored the memory of the victims of Srebrenica, and when in 2010, he made the Serbian parliament adopt a resolution condemning the massacre. This is unlikely to convince Bosnians, Croats and Kosovars in the opposite, because they believe that nothing has changed in Serbia. Nor would the Bosnian Serbs, who staged demonstrations in support of Mladic, convince this. After all, they suddenly do not accept the existence of the Bosnian state, which he tried to destroy.

European officials like to repeat that upon completion of the processes necessary for accession, the Western Balkan countries will enter the EU in a beautiful regatta. In fact, the former countries of Yugoslavia and Albania are more similar to the old Taratyaks that rumble slowly forward, break down along the way, and sometimes roll back. Anyway, they all have common problems that will deter them on their way to the EU. Among them are organized crime, corruption, party nepotism and the media, dependent on political and financial interests.

Last December’s arrest of former Croatian Prime Minister Yves Sander on allegations of corruption shows that Croats who hope to complete accession negotiations in early July are indeed moving towards their goal. Montenegro has already become a candidate and is working hard on what else needs to be done. Serbia hopes to do the same next year. But Macedonia has slowed down: in addition to the tensions between Macedonians and ethnic Albanians, who make up a quarter of the country's population, the main parties also fight a lot. The Macedonians 5 went to the polls on June and, according to preliminary data, re-elected their pop-premier Nikolu Gruevsky, although this time he obviously received less seats in parliament. Kosovo is also not in a hurry to Europe. An indicator of how far the country is from the EU is the fact that the Kosovars are the only Balkan people who cannot travel to the Schengen zone without visas.

Bosnia has been rolling back five years ago. Last October elections were held there, but there is still no government. Recently, we managed to avoid a crisis with the Serbian part of the country - the Republika Srpska. Bosnian Croats complain that they are being pushed to the side of the Bosnians. But if both Serbia and Croatia will move in the direction of the EU, Bosnia will undoubtedly also take over the mind. Any new conflict can turn into a disaster for the whole region. No leader in Belgrade or Zagreb will allow his Bosnian cousins ​​to destroy his own future.

Albania, which has remained paralyzed since the dubious 2009 elections of the year, is the most worrying. Local elections held on 8 in May, it seems, only worsened the situation: the competition for the post of mayor of Tirana ended in a draw. The candidate of Prime Minister Sali Berishi would win only if he took into account the ballots thrown in the wrong boxes. But, according to supporters of Eddie Rama, who has been the mayor of the city since 2000, and the head of the opposition Socialist Party, this is against the rules. The election commission, which met on June 3, refused to invalidate CEC decisions from 18 and May 23. Albania’s movement in the EU has stopped, business confidence in the country suffers, but a culture of impunity prevails. Corruption scandals multiply, but no one is punished.

Brussels hopes that the arrest of Mladić will serve as a springboard for all the Western Balkan countries on their way to Europe. In June, the 2014 of the year will be a hundred years since Franz Ferdinand was killed in Sarajevo, why the First World War began. If you're lucky, this day will be celebrated in a region where peace reigns again.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Не спеша в Европу

Не спеша в Европу


Арест Ратко Младича существенно поможет Сербии, но его последствия кое-где на Балканах могут оказаться менее масштабными, чем многие надеются.

После ареста прошло немного времени, а уже эхо голосов тех, кто пророчил светлое и безоблачное будущее для Балкан, стихает. В 1995 году югославский военный трибунал уже выдвигал обвинения бывшему лидеру боснийских сербов Ратко Младичу. Самым серьезным из них стал геноцид, а именно приказ убить 8 тыс. мужчин и мальчиков (боснийских мусульман или босняков, как они себя называют) после падения Сребреницы в июле того же года.


Арест Младича и процесс над ним в Гаагском суде, несомненно, будет иметь последствия. Но по мере того как эйфория одних и злоба других утихает, эти последствия могут оказаться менее определяющими, чем предсказывают многие иностранные ученые мужи. Зоран Лучич, возглавляющий сербскую социологическую группу CESID, не сомневается: дома не будет никакого эффекта Младича. Во время одного из опросов незадолго до ареста было обнаружено, что 51% опрошенных против экстрадиции арестованного, а 40% вообще считают его героем. Однако Лучич утверждает по собственному опыту, что этот арест если и огорчит людей, то «очень ненадолго - на день».

Для Европейского Союза последствия ареста Младича могут быть серьезными. Сербское правительство отчаянно стремится стать официальным кандидатом на вступление в ЕС в этом декабре, ведь на крыльях успеха оно сможет объявить выборы. На ход этих выборов арест Младича будет иметь огромное влияние, хотя и не будет единственным решающим фактором. Кроме будничных реформ, вроде демонстрации наличия независимой судебной системы, Сербии придется как-никак договариваться с Косово, которое в 2008-м провозгласило независимость, чтобы произвести впечатление, что хоть когда-нибудь конфликт между двумя странами будет решен.

Сербия приложит достаточно усилий, чтобы стать кандидатом на вступление в ЕС, но, по мнению Лучича, это необязательно обеспечит победу на следующих выборах Демократической партии, которую возглавляет президент Борис Тадич. Для большинства избирателей решающими станут вопросы рабочих мест и экономика. Однако и главная оппозиционная сила, Сербская прогрессивная партия, тоже может не воспользоваться случаем. Ее лидер Томислав Николич отреагировал на арест Младича, как испуганный зайчонок, заявив лишь, что он «удивлен». Если бы он поддержал арест, то потерял бы много голосов избирателей. Если бы осудил, то потерял бы респектабельность, которую получил за границей. До 2008 года он был действующим председателем Сербской радикальной партии, главу которого также судят в Гааге за военные преступления.

Каким же будет эффект Младича в «Югосфере», как порой называют страны бывшей Югославии? Вероятно, менее существенным, чем многие надеются. Арест свидетельствует о том, что Сербия серьезно относится к взятым на себя обязательствам. Но это было очевидно уже и тогда, когда сербские власти арестовали в 2008 году Радована Караджича, военного лидера боснийских сербов, и когда Тадич почтил память жертв Сребреницы, и когда в 2010-м заставил сербский парламент принять постановление об осуждении резни. Это вряд ли убедит боснийцев, хорватов и косоваров в обратном, ведь они верят, что ничего в Сербии не изменилось. Так же не убедит это и боснийских сербов, которые устраивали демонстрации в поддержку Младича. Ведь они внезапно не смирятся с существованием того Боснийского государства, которое он пытался уничтожить.

Европейские чиновники любят повторять, что по завершении процессов, необходимых для присоединения, западнобалканские страны красивой регатой войдут в ЕС. На самом же деле бывшие страны Югославии и Албания более похожи на старые таратайки, что тарахтят медленно вперед, ломаются в пути, а порой и откатываются назад. Так или иначе, все они имеют общие проблемы, которые будут сдерживать их на пути в ЕС. Среди них - организованная преступность, коррупция, партийное кумовство и СМИ, зависимые от политических и финансовых интересов.

Прошлогодний декабрьский арест бывшего премьер-министра Хорватии Ива Сандера по обвинениям в коррупционной деятельности свидетельствует о том, что хорваты, которые надеются завершить переговоры о вступлении в начале июля, действительно движутся к своей цели. Черногория уже стала кандидатом и усердно работает над тем, что еще надо сделать. Сербия надеется сделать то же в следующем году. А вот Македония притормозила: в дополнение к напряженным отношениям между македонцами и этническими албанцами, которые составляют четверть населения страны, основные партии тоже не мало дерутся между собой. Македонцы сходили 5 июня на участки и, по предварительным данным, переизбрали своего премьера-популиста Николу Груевского, хотя на этот раз он, очевидно, получил меньше мест в парламенте. Косово тоже не спешит в Европу. Показателем того, насколько страна далека от ЕС, является тот факт, что косовары - единственный балканский народ, который не может путешествовать в Шенгенскую зону без виз.

Босния уже пять лет откатывается назад. В октябре прошлого года там прошли выборы, но правительства нет до сих пор. Недавно удалось избежать кризиса с сербской частью страны - Республикой Сербской. Боснийские хорваты жалуются, что их отодвигают на обочину боснийцы. Но если и Сербия, и Хорватия будут продвигаться в направлении ЕС, Босния, бесспорно, тоже возьмется за ум. Любой новый конфликт может обернуться катастрофой для целого региона. Ни один лидер в Белграде или Загребе не позволит своим боснийским кузенам разрушить его же будущее.

Больше всего беспокойства вызывает Албания, которая остается парализованной с момента сомнительных выборов 2009 года. Местные выборы, состоявшиеся 8 мая, похоже, только ухудшили ситуацию: соревнования за пост мэра Тираны закончилось ничьей. Кандидат от премьера Сали Бериши побеждал бы только тогда, если бы учитывались бюллетени, брошенные в не те ящики, что нужно. Но, по словам сторонников Эдди Рамы, который является мэром города с 2000 года и главой оппозиционной Социалистической партии, это противоречит правилам. Избирательная комиссия, которая заседала 3 июня, отказала в признании недействительными решений ЦИК от 18 и 23 мая. Движение Албании в ЕС приостановилось, от этого страдает деловая уверенность в стране, зато господствует культура безнаказанности. Множатся коррупционные скандалы, но никого не наказывают.

В Брюсселе надеются, что арест Младича послужит трамплином для всех западнобалканских стран на пути в Европу. В июне 2014 года будет сто лет с тех пор, как в Сараево был убит Франц Фердинанд, отчего началась Первая мировая. Если повезет, отмечать этот день будут в регионе, где вновь царит покой.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 1
  1. datur 23 июня 2011 11:23
    что это за херь????

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня