Victories of the Caucasian campaign of the Eastern war

9
Victories of the Caucasian campaign of the Eastern war

Crimean (Eastern) War 1853-1856 It began as another Russian-Turkish war. As in previous conflicts between Russia and Turkey, the Caucasus has become a battlefield. Porta had a lot of territorial claims to Russia. The Ottomans planned to repel not only the Crimea and the South Caucasus. The hottest heads in the Turkish leadership recalled the once Turkish coast of the coast of Russia, Abkhazia, Circassia, and other areas of the North Caucasus.

However, the Caucasian campaign of the Eastern war ended in a brilliant victory for the Russian army. Russian troops defeated the Ottomans in a series of decisive battles, took Kars. General Nikolai Nikolaevich Muravyov began the development of a boldly planned campaign through Anatolia to Istanbul (Constantinople), to the Bosphorus and Dardanelles. The capture of Istanbul radically changed the situation on the Black Sea theater of military operations in favor of Russia. The Caucasian winner Muravyov-Karsky believed that it was enough to intercept the straits, and the Anglo-French steam fleet would "die" in the waters of the Black Sea. A bold plan could well turn defeat at Sevastopol into a brilliant victory for Russia in the whole Eastern War.

But the campaign of the Russian Caucasian army against Tsargrad in 1856 did not take place. Emperor Nikolai Pavlovich died, and his successor Alexander II began peace negotiations. Regarding the peace talks held in Paris, Lieutenant-Colonel of the General Staff Averyanov in his “Notes” noted with all fairness: “Against our failures on the Danube and the Crimea, only three-year victories and successes of Caucasian troops in Asian Turkey could be put on the scales at the Paris Congress, on which the age-old military glory and people's pride of Russia suffered so much ... All the conquests of the Caucasian troops ... were several dozen times superior to the space occupied by the allies in the environs of Sevastopol and Kinburn, were oh the price that Russia had to pay for the return of Sevastopol. "

Kars traded for Sevastopol. Caucasian victories balanced the bitterness of failures and defeats on the Danube and Crimea. Sorry, this page is Russian stories in modern Russia it is almost forgotten, like many other glorious and tragic pages of our history, which Russians should remember.

1853 Campaign

Prewar situation. The main difficulty of the war in the Caucasus was the enormous borders of the region, the underdevelopment of communications in this mountainous region and unusually unfavorable and dangerous foreign policy conditions. Russia had to expect an attack not only from the Ottoman Empire, but also from Persia, which seriously complicated the situation for the Russian troops. It was not worth counting on the active assistance of the Persians or their friendly neutrality. Persia at any time could oppose Russia, having improved the opportunity. Therefore, we had to keep troops in all directions.

Relations with the local population were not easy. With a part of the mountain tribes of the North Caucasus was a long and bloody war, which then subsided, then again caught fire. Part of the mountaineers were gradually drawn into a peaceful life, finding in it more benefits than from constant hostility. Armenians were loyal to the Russian authorities, in the power of the Russian weapons they saw salvation from slavery, tested by their ancestors and the possibility of the liberation of the Armenians, who remained under the authority of Porta. A significant part of the "Tatars" (the so-called Muslims of the Transcaucasus) also supported Russia. For most Georgians, except for the part of the “elite” circles who wanted to gain an opportunity to rule over the common people and were ready to betray Russia, this war was from the very beginning a continuation of the centuries-old struggle against the merciless “hereditary” enemy, from which only the Russians could save them. Russia was the guarantor of life, security and welfare.

The beginning of the war was unexpected for the Caucasian governor, Prince Mikhail Semenovich Vorontsov. The hero of the 1812 war of the year and the foreign campaign, Vorontsov was appointed commander-in-chief of the troops in the Caucasus and the governor-general of the Caucasus in 1844. Prior to this appointment, the prince successfully led Novorossia. Under the command of Vorontsov, the Russian troops continued their offensive against the mountain tribes. The deputy was loved by ordinary soldiers. For many years, stories about the simplicity and accessibility of the supreme governor remained among the soldiers in the Russian army in the Caucasus. After the death of the Caucasian governor in the Caucasus, a saying emerged: “High to God, far to the king, and Vorontsov died.”

However, by the beginning of the Eastern War, Vorontsov had already exhausted the potential given to him by God. At the beginning of 1853, the prince, feeling the approach of blindness and extreme collapse, asked the emperor to give him his resignation (Vorontsov died on November 6 of 1856). 25 March (6 April) Vorontsov left Tiflis. Therefore, Vorontsov could not lead the Russian troops in the Caucasus. It should be noted that despite his really painful condition, Prince Vorontsov, who knew the region well, correctly assessed the situation and understood what a difficult war the Russian Empire was facing and what dire consequences the Russians might face in the Caucasus, where wildness, fanaticism and mistrust of the mountain tribes represented an excellent ground for enemy games.

In Petersburg, they did not understand the whole danger of the situation in the Caucasus. Initially, Nikolai Pavlovich was convinced that Russia would have to fight only with the Ottoman Empire, and the Russian army would easily win the campaign. Emperor Nicholas did not understand the dangerous situation in which the Russian Caucasus found itself after the start of the war. When, in mid-October, 1853 sea squadron Nakhimov transferred to Georgia 13-th Infantry Division (16 thousand bayonets), the sovereign wrote to the governor, who did not share the optimism of the king and was very afraid for the area assigned to him: “Now I think I can hope that not only are given you sufficient ways to defend the region from the invading Turks, but even to offensive actions ... ”. Nicholas Vorontsov offered to withstand the first attacks of the Ottomans and go on the offensive, to take Kars and Ardahan.

Emperor Nikolai Pavlovich in this matter showed a weak understanding of the situation in the Caucasus. In the spring of 1853 in the Caucasus there were only 128 infantry battalions, 11 cavalry squadrons (Nizhny Novgorod Dragoon Regiment), 52 Cossack regiment and cavalry local police, 23 artillery batteries with 232 guns. If these forces were united, it would be a powerful army capable of crushing the Ottomans. But on the eve of the war, the Russian forces on the border, which were supposed to withstand the impact of the Turkish army, were insignificant: only 19½ battalions, two battalions of Nizhny Novgorod dragoons and a small number of irregular cavalry, which included local residents. The main Russian forces were based in the fortresses of Akhaltsikh, Akhalkalaki, Alexandropol and Erivan. The remaining forces of the Russian Caucasian Army were dispersed throughout the region.

In general, the Russian Caucasian army had a vast experience of military operations in the mountain conditions of this region. Russian soldiers and commanders in the Caucasus were constantly in danger, waiting for the attack of the Highlanders, the raids of robbers from abroad or the war with the Ottoman Empire and Persia. The harsh and military living conditions in the Caucasus put forward resolute, strong-willed and initiative commanders aimed at active offensive actions to responsible posts. Weak and indecisive officers were eliminated, they could not stand the service in the Caucasus, they were looking for “warmer” places. All this affected the Caucasus campaign in a very positive way.

The fortress Alexandropol (Gyumri) was the central stronghold of the operational base of the Russian army and was located opposite the main Turkish fortress of Kars, located approximately 70 versts from it. On the right flank of this support base, the Akhaltsykh fortress was located; it covered the Ardagan direction. On the left flank stood the Erivan Fortress, it covered the southern part of the border, from the Ottoman Empire and Persia, the roads leading from Bayazet, through the Chingil Mountains and the Araks River. All three fortresses were very weak and could not withstand the correct siege. In addition, they were small garrisons. On the coastal road from Batum to the Russian border was located the post of St. Nicholas. His garrison was insignificant, and the outpost was poorly prepared for defense. True, due to the underdevelopment of communications, his capture could not present any benefits to the enemy for further offensive.

With the beginning of autumn, the units of the Prince Argutinsky-Dolgorukov detachments from Zakatal and Prince Orbeliani from the Lezgin line were transferred to Alexandropol (the most dangerous direction). The remaining three divisions of the Nizhny Novgorod Dragoon Regiment and one battalion of the Kura Regiment were sent to the same region from the Chir-Yurt and Vozdvizhensky. Began the formation of groups that could strike at the enemy. Initially, the Russian offensive planned to lead Vorontsov, but the disease did not allow him to begin the march.

With the transfer of 13-th Infantry Division and the organization 10-th. the Armenian-Georgian militia, the situation has improved somewhat - it was possible to form 30-thousand. Army group under the command of Lieutenant-General Prince Vasily Bebutov. Part of the forces of the 13 Infantry Division with a small detachment of irregular cavalry was located on the Akhalchih direction. These troops were led by the Tiflis military governor, Lieutenant-General Prince Ivan Andronikov.

But the enemy still had full superiority in forces. The Turkish command concentrated a huge invasion army - the 100-thousandth army under the command of Abdi Pasha. So, 25-th. corps with 65 guns stood in Kars, 7-thousand. detachment with 10 guns in Ardahan, 5-thousand detachment with 10 guns in Bayazet. For the offensive, the Turkish command formed two strike groups: 40-thousand. Anatolian army was preparing to attack the Alexandropol, 18-thousand Ardagan Corps on Akhaltsikh and Tiflis.


Prince Mikhail Semenovich Vorontsov

Defeat the Highlanders

A serious threat to the Russian army was a blow from the rear. Georgia, Guria, Mingrelia, Abkhazia, were separated from the rest of the Russian Empire by a huge mountain range and warlike mountain tribes, which made them vulnerable. Mountain tribes, excited by foreign emissaries, were a great danger. True, Shamil hurried and opened the fighting first, even before the Turkish army.

Shamil and Naib of Cherkessia and Kabarda, Magomet-Amin, gathered the mountain elders and announced to them the trademarks received from the Turkish sultan, who commanded all Muslims to start a war against the "infidels." The mountaineers promised the imminent arrival of Turkish troops in Balkaria, Georgia and Kabarda. The Russian troops, in their opinion, were weakened by the need to protect the Turkish borders. However, the highlanders in their mass are already tired of the war, which brought them extreme impoverishment and permanent defeat. Therefore, to form a detachment Shamil could only by cruel punishment.

5 September 1853 of the year 10-th. Shamil's detachment appeared near the village of Zakartaly (Zagatala) in the Alazani Valley. September 7 Shamil with the main forces attacked the unfinished redoubt near Mesed el-Kera. The position of the Russian garrison was desperate. However, he was saved by a detachment of the commander of the Caspian region, Prince Argutinsky. The prince made an unprecedented march from Temir-Khan-Shura directly through the five Caucasian ridges. Shamil was forced to retreat. After that, the highland leader remained inactive until 1854, expecting the decisive success of the Ottoman army.

The performance of the Circassian naib ended with a failure. Mohammed-Amin moved to Karachai with significant forces, where many like-minded people awaited his arrival. This should have led to a large-scale uprising. However, General Vikenty M. Kozlovsky, the commander of the troops on the Caucasian line and in the Black Sea coast, saved the situation. The brave general, with only three battalions, rushed after Magomet-Amin and defeated the Trans-Cuban highlanders just before Karachay. Then he began to arrange the road to Karachay so that it would be done in a very short time. As a result, the further development of the uprising was prevented.

However, the Russian command had to deal with this danger and keep part of the forces on the border with the mountain tribes. With the beginning of the Eastern War, the Russian command had to abandon the offensive strategy, moving to the defense. True, deforestation, road construction and the deprivation of the mountaineers of means for subsistence were continued, but to a more limited extent.


Vikenty Mykhaylovich Kozlovsky

To be continued ...
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. +2
    26 June 2014 09: 57
    Thanks to the author, great article. We will wait for the continuation. I copied the material and will distribute it. If earlier they talked more often about the heroic actions of the Russian troops in the Caucasus, then perhaps the pride of the "small but proud peoples" would have diminished! good
  2. +1
    26 June 2014 11: 38
    An excellent article, very often the results of victories of Russian weapons are hushed up and belittled. This must not be allowed! Yes
  3. 0
    26 June 2014 12: 38
    good staty
    but
    Georgia, Guria, Mingrelia, Abkhazia, were separated

    what the?
    okay) you do not consider the territory of Georgia as Abkhazia
    but
    Guria and Mingrelia? )) funny
    1. +2
      26 June 2014 14: 34
      Maybe the author had in mind Kakheti when he wrote Georgia. So do not make hasty conclusions to the genatsvale.
      1. Nikolav
        +2
        26 June 2014 15: 01
        Dar-Bazi (Council) recorded the disintegration of Georgia into three kingdoms: Hartley, Kakheti, Imereti, as well as the principality of Samtskhe. Later, Megrelia and Guria stood out from Imereti. In 1783, the St. George Treaty was concluded between Russia and ... Kartli-Kakheti, which stood on the verge of complete destruction. His kings remained in Hartley ... but after painful deliberation, Paul I fulfilled the request of the dying George XII, signed on December 22, 1800 the Manifesto on the annexation of Kartli-Kakheti to Russia.
        In 1810 Imereti became part of Russia. Later, in order to defend Kartli-Kakheti-Imereti from constant raids, the provinces had to be recaptured from the Turks: Abkhazia, Guria, Adjara. "Schedule of entry": Guria - 1828, Svaneti - 1854, Samegrelo - 1857, Abkhazia (Sukhum district) - 1864. A significant part of the Muslim population had to be evicted to Turkey, which was more difficult than any military campaign!
    2. 0
      26 June 2014 15: 13
      Quote: GEOKING95
      what the?
      okay) you do not consider the territory of Georgia as Abkhazia
      but
      Guria and Mingrelia? )) funny
      - This is your former president that Abkhazia was not considered to be the territory of Georgia! Stop blaming Russia for all your troubles! They got, then Ukrainians, then Georgians ...
      1. 0
        27 June 2014 11: 12
        Quote: Dazdranagon
        it is your former president that Abkhazia was not considered to be the territory of Georgia! Stop blaming Russia for all your troubles! They got, then Ukrainians, then Georgians ...

        ) I did not speak about Abkhazia
        I talked about Mingrelia and Guria
  4. +1
    26 June 2014 14: 09
    There is a bridge in Tbilisi, which to this day is called Vorontsovsky.
  5. Death to the Nazis
    0
    26 June 2014 14: 19
    Samsonov Alexander - hi In his youth he was interested in history. I forgot a lot, now a lot of new information. Thanks for the reminder, I find for myself and the additions of which I did not know.
  6. 0
    26 June 2014 14: 27
    Well, at the end I saw an article from Somsonov, where he does not insult Caucasians, and does not utter arrogant phrases, and all sorts of bowls there is other nonsense, etc., as if they were not people, because in the Caucasian war, as we all know, Russia attacked Caucasians and not vice versa!

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Победы Кавказской кампании Восточной войны

Победы Кавказской кампании Восточной войны

Крымская (Восточная) война 1853-1856 гг. началась как очередная Русско-турецкая война. Как и в предыдущих конфликтах России и Турции, Кавказ стал полем боя. У Порты было немало территориальных претензий к России. Османы планировали отбить не только Крым и Южный Кавказ. Наиболее горячие головы в турецком руководстве вспомнили о некогда турецком побережье побережья России, Абхазии, Черкесии, а также других областях Северного Кавказа.

Однако Кавказская кампания Восточной войны завершилась блистательной победой русской армии. Русские войска разгромили османов в ряде решительных сражений, взяли Карс. Генерал Николай Николаевич Муравьев начал разработку смелого по замыслу похода через Анатолию на Стамбул (Константинополь), к проливам Босфор и Дарданеллы. Взятие Стамбула коренным образом меняло ситуацию на Черноморском театре военных действий в пользу России. Кавказский победитель Муравьев-Карский считал, что достаточно перехватить проливы, и паровой англо-французский флот «омертвеет» в водах Черного моря. Дерзкий план вполне мог превратить поражение под Севастополем в блестящую победу России во всей Восточной войне.

Но поход русской кавказской армии на Царьград в 1856 году не состоялся. Император Николай Павлович скончался, и его преемник Александр II начал мирные переговоры. По поводу состоявшихся мирных переговоров в Париже подполковник Генерального штаба Аверьянов в своих «Записках» со всей справедливостью отметил: «Против наших неудач на Дунае и в Крыму одни только трехлетние победы и успехи кавказских войск в Азиатской Турции могли быть поставлены на весы на Парижском конгрессе, на котором так страдала вековая военная слава и народная гордость России... Все завоевания кавказских войск... в несколько десятков раз превосходившие занятое союзниками пространство в окрестностях Севастополя и Кинбурна, были той ценой, которую России пришлось заплатить за возвращение Севастополя».


Карс обменяли на Севастополь. Кавказские победы уравновесили горечь неудач и поражений на Дунае и Крыму. К сожалению, эта страница русской истории в современной России практически забыта, как и многие другие славные и трагичные страницы нашей истории, о которых должны помнить русские.

Кампания 1853 года

Предвоенная ситуация. Основная трудность войны на Кавказе заключалась в огромности границ края, неразвитости коммуникаций в этой горной области и необычайно невыгодных и опасных внешнеполитических условиях. России стоило ожидать нападения не только от Османской империи, но и от Персии, что серьёзно осложняло ситуацию для русских войск. На активную помощь персов или их дружественный нейтралитет рассчитывать не стоило. Персия в любой момент могла выступить против России, улучив для этого удобный случай. Поэтому приходилось держать войска на всех направлениях.

Непростым были и отношения с местным населением. С частью горских племен Северного Кавказа шла длительная и кровавая война, которая то стихала, то вновь загоралась. Часть горцев постепенно втягивались в мирную жизнь, найдя в ней больше выгод, чем от постоянной вражды. Армяне были преданы русским властям, в силе русского оружия они видели спасение от рабства, испытанного их предками и возможность освобождения армян, которые оставались под властью Порты. Значительная часть «татар» (так называли мусульман Закавказья) также поддерживала Россию. Для большей части грузин, кроме части «элитарных» кругов, которые хотели получить возможность властвовать над простым народом и были готовы предать Россию, эта война с самого начала была продолжением вековой борьбы против беспощадного «наследственного» врага, от которого их могли спасти только русские. Россия была гарантом из жизни, безопасности и благосостояния.

Начало войны стало неожиданным для кавказского наместника, князя Михаила Семёновича Воронцова. Герой войны 1812 года и Заграничного похода, Воронцов был назначен главнокомандующим войск на Кавказе и наместником кавказским в 1844 году. До этого назначения князь успешно руководил Новороссией. Под началом Воронцова русские войска продолжали наступление на горские племена. Наместник был любим простыми солдатами. На долгие годы сохранились среди солдат в русской армии на Кавказе рассказы о простоте и доступности верховного наместника. После смерти кавказского наместника на Кавказе возникла поговорка: «До Бога высоко, до царя далеко, а Воронцов умер».

Однако к началу Восточной войны Воронцов уже исчерпал данный ему Богом потенциал. В начале 1853 года князь, чувствуя приближение слепоты и крайний упадок сил, попросил императора дать ему отставку (Воронцов скончался 6 ноября 1856 года). 25 марта (6 апреля) Воронцов оставил Тифлис. Поэтому Воронцов не мог руководить русскими войсками на Кавказе. Надо отметить, что несмотря на свое действительно болезненное состояние, князь Воронцов, хорошо знавший регион, верно оценивал ситуацию и понимал, какая вообще трудная война предстоит Российской империи и с какими тяжелыми последствиями русские могут столкнуться на Кавказе, где дикость, фанатизм и недоверие горских племен представляли отличную почву для вражеских игр.

В Петербурге же не понимали всей опасности ситуации на Кавказе. Первоначально Николай Павлович был уверен, что России придётся воевать только с Османской империей, и русская армия легко одержит победу в этой кампании. Император Николай не понимал опасного положения, в котором оказался Русский Кавказ после начала войны. Когда в середине октября 1853 года морем эскадра Нахимова перебросила в Грузию 13-ю пехотную дивизию (16 тыс. штыков), государь написал наместнику, который нисколько не разделял оптимизма царя и очень опасался за порученную ему область: «Теперь кажется могу я надеяться, что не только тебе даны достаточные способы оборонять край от вторжения турок, но даже к наступательным действиям...». Николай предлагал Воронцову выдержать первые нападения османов и перейти в наступление, взять Карс и Ардаган.

Император Николай Павлович в этом вопросе показал слабое понимание ситуации на Кавказе. Весною 1853 года на Кавказе было всего 128 батальонов пехоты, 11 эскадронов кавалерии (Нижегородский драгунский полк), 52 полка казаков и конной местной милиции, 23 артиллерийские батареи с 232 орудиями. Если бы эти силы были объединены, это была бы мощная армия, способная сокрушить османов. Но в преддверии войны русские силы на границе, которые должны были выдержать удар турецкой армии, были ничтожными: всего 19½ батальонов, два дивизиона нижегородских драгун и незначительное число иррегулярной конницы, в которую входили местные жители. Основные русские силы базировались в крепостях Ахалцих, Ахалкалаки, Александрополь и Эривани. Остальные силы русской Кавказской армии были распылены по всему региону.

В целом же русская Кавказская армия имела огромный опыт военных действий в горных условиях этого края. Русские солдаты и командиры на Кавказе постоянно находились в условиях опасности, ожидая нападения горцев, набега разбойников из-за границы или войны с Османской империей и Персией. Суровые и военные условия жизни на Кавказе выдвигали на ответственные должности решительных, волевых и инициативных командиров, нацеленных на активные наступательные действия. Слабые и нерешительные офицеры отсеивались, не выдерживали службы на Кавказе, искали более «теплые» места. Всё это сказалось на Кавказкой кампании самым положительным образом.

Крепость Александрополь (Гюмри) составляла центральный опорный пункт операционной базы русской армии и располагалась против расположенной в примерно 70 верстах от нее основной турецкой крепости Карса. На правом фланге этой опорной базы располагалась крепость Ахалцых, она прикрывала ардаганское направление. На левом фланге стояла крепость Эривань, она прикрывала южную часть границы, со стороны османской империи и Персии, дороги ведущие от Баязета, через Чингильские горы и реку Аракс. Все три крепости были весьма слабы и не могли выдержать правильной осады. К тому же в них стояли небольшие гарнизоны. На береговой дороге от Батума к границе России располагался пост Св. Николая. Его гарнизон был ничтожным, и форпост был плохо подготовлен к защите. Правда, в силу неразвитости коммуникаций, его захват не мог представить никаких выгод противнику для дальнейшего наступления.

С началом осени к Александрополю (наиболее опасному направлению) перебросили части отрядов князя Аргутинского-Долгорукова от Закатал и князя Орбелиани с Лезгинской линии. В этот же район направили из Чир-Юрта и Воздвиженского оставшиеся три дивизиона Нижегородского драгунского полка и один батальон Куринского полка. Началось формирование группировки, которая могла нанести удар по противнику. Первоначально наступление русских войск планировал возглавить Воронцов, но болезнь не позволила ему начать поход.

При переброске 13-й пехотной дивизии и организации 10-тыс. армяно-грузинского ополчения, ситуация несколько улучшилась — удалось сформировать 30-тыс. армейскую группировку под началом генерал-лейтенанта князя Василия Бебутова. Часть сил 13-й пехотной дивизии с небольшим отрядом иррегулярной кавалерии была расположена на ахалцыхском направлении. Эти войска возглавил тифлисский военный губернатор, генерал-лейтенант князь Иван Андроников.

Но противник по-прежнему имел полное превосходство в силах. Турецкое командование сосредоточило огромную армию вторжения — 100-тысячную армию под начальством Абди-паши. Так, 25-тыс. корпус при 65 орудиях стоял в Карсе, 7-тыс. отряд при 10 орудиях в Ардагане, 5-тыс. отряд при 10 орудиях в Баязете. Для наступления турецкое командование сформировало две ударные группировки: 40-тыс. Анатолийская армия готовилась к наступлению на Александрополь, 18-тыс. Ардаганский корпус на Ахалцих и Тифлис.

Победы Кавказской кампании Восточной войны

Князь Михаил Семёнович Воронцов

Разгром горцев

Серьёзную угрозу русской армии представлял удар с тыла. Грузия, Гурия, Мингрелия, Абхазия, были отделены от остальной части Российской империи огромным горным хребтом и воинственными горскими племенами, это делало их уязвимыми. Горские племена, возбуждённые заграничными эмиссарами, представляли значительную опасность. Правда, Шамиль поторопился и открыл боевые действия первым, ещё до выступления турецкой армии.

Шамиль и наиб Черкесии и Кабарды Магомет-Амин собрали горских старейшин и объявили им о полученных от турецкого султана фирманах, которые повелевали всем мусульманам начать войну против «неверных». Горцам пообещали скорое прибытие турецких войск в Балкарию, Грузию и Кабарду. Русские войска, по их мнению, были ослаблены необходимость охранять турецкие границы. Однако горцы в своей массе уже устали от войны, которая принесла им крайнее обнищание и постоянные поражения. Поэтому сформировать отряд Шамиль смог лишь путём жестоких наказаний.

5 сентября 1853 года 10-тыс. отряд Шамиля появился около аула Закарталы (Закаталы) в Алазанской долине. 7 сентября Шамиль с главными силами напал на недостроенный редут близ Месед эль-Кера. Положение русского гарнизона было отчаянным. Однако его спас отряд командующего Каспийской областью, князя Аргутинского. Князь совершил беспримерный марш-бросок из Темир-Хан-Шуры напрямую через пять Кавказских хребтов. Шамиль был вынужден отступить. После этого горский вождь бездействовал до 1854 года, ожидая решительных успехов османской армии.

Неудачей завершилось и выступление черкесского наиба. Магомет-Амин со значительными силами двинулся к Карачаю, где его прибытия ждали множество единомышленников. Это должно было привести к масштабному восстанию. Однако командующий войсками на Кавказской линии и в Черноморье генерал Викентий Михайлович Козловский спас ситуацию. Отважный генерал всего с тремя батальонами бросился за Магомет-Амином и перед самым Карачаем наголову разгромил закубанских горцев. Затем он занялся обустройством дороги на Карачай, чтобы было сделано в весьма быстрые сроки. В результате дальнейшее развитие восстания было предотвращено.

Однако русскому командованию приходилось считаться с этой опасностью и держать часть сил на границе с горскими племенами. С началом Восточной войны русскому командованию пришлось отказаться от наступательной стратегии, перейдя к обороне. Правда, вырубка лесов, строительство дорог и лишение горцев средств к пропитанию были продолжены, но в более ограниченных масштабах.

Победы Кавказской кампании Восточной войны

Викентий Михайлович Козловский

Продолжение следует…
Автор: Самсонов Александр


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 9
  1. RONIN-HS 26 июня 2014 09:57
    Автору спасибо, замечательная статья. Будем ждать продолжения. Материал скопировал, буду распространять. Если бы раньше чаще рассказывали о героических действиях русских войск на Кавказе, то может быть поубавилось спеси у "маленьких, но гордых народов"! good
  2. papa-billy 26 июня 2014 11:38
    Отличная статья, очень часто результаты побед русского оружия замалчиваются и принижаются. Этого допустить нельзя! yes
  3. GEOKING95 26 июня 2014 12:38
    хорошая статия
    но
    Грузия, Гурия, Мингрелия, Абхазия, были отделены

    что за?
    ну ладно ) вы не считаете Абхазии територии Грузии
    но
    Гурия и Мингрелия? )) смешно
    1. Ставрос 26 июня 2014 14:34
      Может автор имел в виду Кахетию,когда писал Грузия.Так что не делайте скоропалительных выводов генацвале.
      1. Николав 26 июня 2014 15:01
        Дар-бази (Совет) зафиксировал распад Грузии на три царства: Хартли, Кахети, Имерети, а также княжество Самцхе. Позже из Имеретии выделились Мегрелия и Гурия. В 1783 г. был заключен Георгиевский трактат между Россией и... Картли-Кахети , стоявшей на пороге полного уничтожения. В Хартли оставались свои цари... но после мучительных раздумий Павел I выполнил просьбу умиравшего Георгия XII, подписал 22 декабря 1800 г. Манифест о присоединении Картли-Кахети к России.
        В 1810 г. в состав России вошла Имеретия . Позже, для обороны Картли-Кахети-Имерети от постоянных набегов пришлось отвоевывать у турок провинции: Абхазию, Гурию, Аджарию. "График вхождения": Гурия - 1828 г., Сванетия - 1854 г., Мегрелия - 1857 г., Абхазия (Сухумский округ) - 1864 год. Значительную часть мусульманского населения приходилось выселять в Турцию, что было тяжелее любой военной кампании!
        Николав
    2. Dazdranagon 26 июня 2014 15:13
      Цитата: GEOKING95
      что за?
      ну ладно ) вы не считаете Абхазии територии Грузии
      но
      Гурия и Мингрелия? )) смешно
      - это Ваш бывший президент добился того, чтобы Абхазия не считалась территорией Грузии! Хватит винить Россию во всех Ваших бедах! Достали, то украинцы, то грузины...
      1. GEOKING95 27 июня 2014 11:12
        Цитата: Dazdranagon
        это Ваш бывший президент добился того, чтобы Абхазия не считалась территорией Грузии! Хватит винить Россию во всех Ваших бедах! Достали, то украинцы, то грузины...

        ) я не говорил об Абхазии
        я говорил об Мингрелии и Гурии
  4. Ставрос 26 июня 2014 14:09
    В Тбилиси есть мост,который до сегодняшних дней называют Воронцовским.
  5. Смерть фашистам 26 июня 2014 14:19
    Самсонов Александр - hi В юности историей интересовался. Много позабыл, сейчас куча новой информации. Спасибо за напоминание, нахожу для себя и дополнения которых не знал.
    Смерть фашистам
  6. prishelec 26 июня 2014 14:27
    Ну на конец то увидел статью от Сомсонова, где он не оскорбляет кавказцев, и не произносит высокомерные фразы, и всякие миски там прочая ерунда и т.д., как будто они не люди, ведь в кавказской войне как мы все знаем-Россия напала на кавказцев а не наоборот!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня