Armenia - Azerbaijan, far from the world

Even before the meeting, which was held between the presidents of Azerbaijan and Armenia with the mediation of the President of the Russian Federation Dmitry Medvedev 24 June 2011, in Kazan, an unprecedented excitement arose in the international press about this. Many of the world's leading media raised the topic of the Karabakh conflict. It seemed that the world community was waiting for results in connection with the meeting in Kazan. It was even considered possible that during the meeting the opposing sides would sign a bilateral framework agreement on Basic Theses, consisting of 14 points.

Armenia - Azerbaijan, far from the world
Russian Foreign Ministry said that "the meeting is to play a decisive role in resolving the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict."


The official comments of Yerevan and Baku, which followed literally in the evening of June 24 and 25, boiled down to the traditional exchange of reproaches, although there were also judgments suitable for understanding the causes of the Kazan failure. According to the published statement of the Foreign Ministry of Armenia, the negotiation process is hampered by the intransigence of the representatives of Azerbaijan, who presented about a dozen completely unacceptable changes and reservations to the negotiable plan. According to the Armenian side, this was done for the sole purpose - by any means to prevent any progress in the Karabakh settlement. At the same time, in Baku they consider that in Yerevan they demand a lot of concessions and must be content with the fact that the representatives of Azerbaijan continue the negotiations without resorting to the use of military force. As an obvious proof of the growing power of the army 26 June a grand military parade was held in Baku.

Many Baku residents are confident that in the event of a resumption of hostilities over Nagorno-Karabakh, their state will be able to win back all the occupied lands from Armenia. According to Interfax-Azerbaijan, this is indicated by the results of a survey conducted by the Ray Monitoring Center (Judgment). To the question whether Azerbaijan will be able to solve the long-standing problem of Karabakh by military means, if necessary, 58% answered “yes”; 22% - “rather yes than not”; 6% - “no”, 4% - “rather no, than yes”; 10% found it difficult to answer. At the same time, speaking about how to solve the Karabakh problem, 63% of respondents chose negotiations, and 33% chose the military option.

The survey also revealed a significant social interest in the military parade, which was held on June 26 in Baku in connection with the Day of the Armed Forces and the 20 anniversary of the state independence of Azerbaijan. Almost all respondents (94%) know for sure about this event or monitored the broadcast on TV, 3% - are familiar with the event, the rest were the first to hear about the parade from the words of interviewers, or found it difficult to answer. As the survey showed, the Baku residents took this action very positively: 88% supported it, 8% reacted neutrally and without interest, and 4% found it difficult to answer or were indifferent to the military parade.

Approximately all respondents (92%) approvingly assessed the creation of the state defense industry. Respondents were asked to give an answer to the following question: “If someone from your family was drafted into the army, what would you choose: that he serve in the army or try to avoid it by any means?”. And 84% of Baku residents stated that they would like their relative to be called up for active military service. We were at a loss with the final answer of 8%, and about the same number admitted that they would like to avoid using any means of military conscription for their own children. A sabotage of social judgment was held in Baku on June 26-28.

EU President Herman Van Rompuy pointed out that "now is the time to make additional efforts to reach a final agreement on basic theses." French President Nicolas Sarkozy in a telegram sent to President Serzh Sargsyan stressed that the time had come to legitimize the Basic Theses. US President Barack Obama, who, during telephone conversations with the presidents of Armenia and Azerbaijan, called on them to “finalize and support the Basic Theses”, added fuel to the already blazing fire.

The war in Nagorno-Karabakh threatens the interests of NATO

“We are all disappointed that during the meeting of the presidents of Azerbaijan, Armenia and Russia in Kazan we didn’t achieve significant progress in the Karabakh settlement issue,” special representative of the NATO Secretary General in the Caucasus and the Central Asian republics James Appathurai said in an interview to ArmInfo news agency.

In his words, the Kazan meeting was an excellent opportunity for progress. “It's a shame that this did not happen,” Appathurai noted, adding that only diplomacy is the only way to progress. As he noted, NATO has a clear position on this issue - contention cannot have a military solution as an exit; the use of force will lead to the loss of significant military potential of each of the parties, "as well as to the mandatory and inevitable collapse of the political and economic components of the state."

On the eve of the meeting in Kazan, the presidents of Armenia and Azerbaijan gave an interview to the international television company Euronews. During the interview, Ilham Aliyev said that Nagorno-Karabakh is the territory recognized by the international community of Azerbaijan, and the maximum that its state agrees to is the granting of the widest autonomy to Nagorno-Karabakh. At the same time, Serzh Sargsyan, the President of Armenia, once again made it clear that Azerbaijan is obliged to recognize the right of the people of Nagorno-Karabakh to self-determination.

James Appathurai did not want to comment in his interview on the statement made by the President of Azerbaijan on the military advantage of Baku over Yerevan, which he expressed after the Kazan talks, during a military parade in the capital of Azerbaijan. "I don’t want to comment on the popular statements of the leaders of any of the 2-s countries, however, what we really need now is to reduce tensions at the level of contact and the intensity of attention to seeking a diplomatic and mutually acceptable political solution," he said.

As Appaturai noted, NATO adheres to the doctrine according to which there will be no winners in the military resolution of the Karabakh conflict. "We believe that when using military force, both parties to the conflict will lose and, first of all, ordinary citizens of 2 countries will lose out because they will suffer losses economically. In addition, this scenario will nullify the process achieved in recent years Thus, diplomacy is an exceptional way for us, which can lead to a finely balanced and mutually acceptable solution, "the NATO Secretary General’s Special Representative explained.

It is also necessary to pay attention to the following fact: from the mediators of the negotiations, the West assumed the role of a distant observer and even the encouraging party, meanwhile, Russia assumed the role of a direct organizer of the negotiations and thereby responsible for their results. It can be said that the negotiators did not make an equal contribution to make the meeting “borderline”; they also played various roles in organizing the meeting.


It is known that one of the Madrid theses concerns the final rank of Nagorno-Karabakh. The exclusive document, which contains the Madrid theses, in a statement adopted by the heads of the OSCE Minsk Group co-chair countries during the summit in the Spanish Aquila, only states that in the near future the final legal rank of the NC will be determined by free expressions of will: “Nagorno-Karabakh through a legally binding expression of will”.

Note that the result recorded in Kazan fully fits into the framework of the above logic: both parties stated that there is agreement on minor issues and there is a desire to continue diplomatic negotiations to agree on unresolved issues. It must be stated that, it is true, everyone, both the mediators and the parties to the multi-year conflict, noted that their expectations, unfortunately, were not fulfilled, but at the same time they stated that it was necessary to continue the negotiations. From the fact that the important document lying on the negotiating table of the party or one of the parties did not accept because of the firm disagreement, it means that we should expect new proposals and a new round of activity of intermediaries.

Sources of:
http://www.armtoday.info/
http://news.day.az/
http://www.gazeta.ru/
http://www.regnum.ru/
http://www.izvestia.ru/
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Армения – Азербайджан, до мира далеко

Еще до встречи, которая состоялась между президентами Азербайджана и Армении при посредничестве президента Российской Федерации Дмитрия Медведева 24 июня 2011 года в Казани, в международной прессе поднялся невиданный ажиотаж по этому поводу. Многие ведущие мировые СМИ подняли тему Карабахского конфликта. Создалось ощущение, что мировое сообщество ждет результатов в связи с встречей в Казани. Считалось даже возможным, что во время встречи противоборствующие стороны подпишут двустороннее рамочное соглашение по Базовым тезисам, состоящее из 14 пунктов.

Армения – Азербайджан, до мира далеко
МИД России заявил, что «встреча призвана сыграть решающую роль в урегулировании нагорно-карабахского конфликта».


Комментарии официальных Еревана и Баку, последовавшие уже буквально вечером 24 и 25 июня, сводились к традиционному обмену упреками, правда прозвучали и суждения, пригодные для понимания причин произошедшего казанского неуспеха. Согласно опубликованному заявлению МИД Армении, процесс переговоров тормозится неуступчивостью со стороны представителей Азербайджана, представившей к обговариваемому плану около десятка всецело неприемлемых для Еревана изменений и оговорок. Сделано это было, по словам армянской стороны, с единственной целью - любыми средствами воспрепятствовать любым подвижкам в Карабахском урегулировании. В то же время, в Баку считают, что в Ереване требуют очень много уступок и обязаны довольствоваться тем, что представители Азербайджана продолжают переговоры, не прибегая к применению военной силы. В качестве очевидного доказательства возросшей мощи армии 26 июня в Баку был проведен грандиозный армейский парад.

Множество бакинцев уверено в том, что их государство в случае возобновления военных действий за Нагорный Карабах сумеет отвоевать у Армении все оккупированные земли. Как уведомляет "Интерфакс-Азербайджан", на это указывают итоги опроса, проведенного Центром мониторинга "Ряй" (Суждение). На вопрос, сумеет ли Азербайджан в случае необходимости решить многолетнюю проблему Карабаха военным путем, 58% ответили «да»; 22% - «скорее дa, чем нет»; 6% - «нет», 4% - «скорее нет, чем да»; 10% затруднились ответить. Совместно с тем, говоря о том, каким путем необходимо решить карабахскую проблему, 63% респондентов выбрали переговоры, а 33% - военный вариант.

Опрос также выявил существенный социальный интерес к военному параду, который был проведен 26 июня в Баку в связи с праздником Днем вооруженных сил и 20-ой годовщины государственной независимости Азербайджана. Едва ли не все респонденты (94%) точно знают об этом событии либо отслеживали трансляцию по ТВ, 3% - знакомы с событием, остальные впервой услышали о параде со слов корреспондентов бравших интервью, либо затруднились с ответом. Как показал проведенный опрос, бакинцы крайне положительно восприняли эту акцию: 88% ее поддерживают, 8% - отнеслись нейтрально и без интереса, и 4% - затруднились с ответом либо безразличны к военному параду.

Примерно все респонденты (92%) одобрительно оценили создание оборонной промышленности государства. Респондентов просили дать ответ и на такой вопрос: «Если бы кого-либо из вашей семьи призвали в действующую армию, то что бы вы выбрали: дабы он служил в армии либо постарались избежать этого любым способом?». И 84% бакинцев заявили, что хотели бы, дабы их родственник был призван на действительную военную службу. Затруднились с окончательным ответом 8%, и примерно столько же признали, что хотели бы избежать любыми способами военного призыва для собственных детей. Зондаж социального суждения был проведен в Баку 26-28 июня.

Президент Евросоюза Херман Ван Ромпей указал что «теперь время приложить добавочные усилия для достижения итогового соглашения по базовым тезисам». Президент Франции Николя Саркози в телеграмме, направленной президенту Сержу Саргсяну, подчеркнул, что пришло время узаконить Базовые тезисы. Масла и в без того пылающий огонь подлил президент США Барак Обама, который во время телефонных разговоров с президентами Армении и Азербайджана призвал их «привести в конечный вид и поддержать Базовые тезисы».

Война в Нагорном Карабахе угрожает интересам НАТО

«Мы все разочарованы тем, что во время встречи президентов Азербайджана, Армении и России в Казани не удалось достичь значительного прогресса в вопросе карабахского улаживания", - заявил в интервью информационному агентству ArmInfo спецпредставитель Генерального секретаря НАТО на Кавказе и в республиках Центральной Азии Джеймс Аппатурай.

С его слов, казанская встреча была прекрасной возможностью для прогресса. "Обидно, что этого не случилось", - подметил Аппатурай, при этом добавив, что исключительным путем прогресса является только дипломатия. Как он подметил, у НАТО в этом вопросе отчетливая позиция - раздор не может иметь в качестве выхода военного решение, использование силы приведет к потере значительного военного потенциала каждой из сторон, "а также к обязательному и неотвратимому краху политических и экономических государственных составляющих".

В преддверии встречи в Казани президенты Армении и Азербайджана дали интервью международной телекомпании «Евроньюз». В ходе интервью Ильхам Алиев, сказал, что Нагорный Карабах - признанная международным сообществом территория Азербайджана, и, максимум, на что согласится его государство, это предоставление Нагорному Карабаху самой широкой автономии. В то же время Серж Саргсян, президент Армении, еще раз дал понять, что Азербайджан обязан признать право народа Нагорного Карабаха на самоопределение.

Джеймс Аппатурай не пожелал в своем интервью комментировать заявление сделанное президентом Азербайджана о военном преимуществе Баку над Ереваном, которое он высказал после казанских переговоров, во время военного парада в столице Азербайджана. "Я не хочу комментировать народные заявления лидеров ни одной из 2-х стран, впрочем, то, что нам подлинно теперь необходимо - это снижение напряженности на уровне соприкосновения и насыщенность внимания на искания дипломатического и взаимоприемлемого политического решения", - сказал он.

Как заметил Аппатурай, НАТО придерживается той доктрины, согласно которой, при военном решении карабахского конфликта победителей не будет. "Мы верим, что при использовании военной силы, обе стороны конфликта потерпят поражение и, в первую очередь, проигравшими окажутся рядовые граждане 2-х стран, потому что они понесут потери в экономическом плане. Помимо того, подобный сценарий обнулит достигнутый за последние годы процесс. Таким образом, дипломатия исключительный путь для нас, который может привести к тонко сбалансированному и взаимоприемлемому решению", - объяснил спецпредставитель генсека НАТО.

Необходимо обратить внимание также на следующий факт: из посредников переговоров, Запад взял на себя роль отдаленного наблюдателя и даже поощряющей стороны, между тем, Россия – взяла на себя роль непосредственного организатора переговоров и тем самым, ответственного за их итоги. Можно сказать, что посредники переговоров не внесли равноценного взноса для того, чтобы сделать встречу «граничной», они также сыграли различные роли в организации встречи.


Известно, что один из Мадридских тезисов касается окончательного ранга Нагорного Карабаха. В исключительном обнародованном документе, в котором содержаться Мадридские тезисы, в заявлении, принятом главами стран-сопредседателей Белоруской группы ОБСЕ во время саммита в испанской Аквиле, по поводу окончательного ранга НК каждого лишь отмечается, что в ближайшем будущем окончательный юридический ранг НК будет определен путем свободного волеизъявления: «future determination of the final legal status of Nagorno-Karabakh through a legally binding expression of will».

Заметим, что итог, зафиксированный в Казани, всецело укладывается в рамки вышеуказанной логики: обе стороны заявили, что есть согласие по незначительным вопросам и есть желание продолжать дипломатические переговоры для согласования не рассмотренных вопросов. Надо констатировать, что, правда все, как посредники, так и стороны многолетнего конфликта, заметили, что их ожидания, к сожалению, не оправдались, но в то же время заявили, что необходимо продолжать переговоры. От того что лежащий на столе переговоров важный документ стороны либо одна из сторон не приняла из-за твердого несогласия, значит, следует ожидать новых предложений и новейший виток активности посредников.

Источники:
http://www.armtoday.info/
http://news.day.az/
http://www.gazeta.ru/
http://www.regnum.ru/
http://www.izvestia.ru/
Автор:
Сергей Вознесенский
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

19 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти