US and Afghanistan do not stop secret negotiations



The secret negotiations between the United States of America and Afghanistan do not stop, despite the fact that Hilary Clinton recently declared that Washington does not want to have its “permanent bases” in Afghanistan anymore.


The US authorities have for quite a long time been conducting secret negotiations on a long-term agreement on strategic partnership with the Afghan authorities, according to which the US armed forces may “stay” in Afghanistan for decades.

These “unofficial” negotiations on securing a strategic partnership have been in full swing for over a month now. The question is being resolved that at the end of 2014, the US troops will continue to be in Afghan territory, as well as the question of the exact date for the withdrawal of all one hundred thirty thousand US military

The US authorities agree with Hilary Clinton and her statement about the unwillingness to have “permanent bases” in Afghanistan, as well as the fact that this formulation allows for many more different agreements.

"The US military units in different countries are quite a long time, although not at all," - a quote from an American official.

British units have also already planned their presence in Afghanistan after 2014, but as trainers and mentors, as NATO officials said.

But this does not mean that these mentors will not participate in battles. For example, they can constantly fight near the Afghan units.

In addition, NATO leaders believe that the unrest in Afghanistan will continue beyond the end of 2014.

In Afghanistan, there are already at least 5 bases, possible candidates for the deployment of American forces, military equipment, tracking equipment and reconnaissance units for the time after the 2014 year. These bases plan to have the status of strategic assets, and will be located in the heart of one of the most volatile regions in the world near the borders of Iran, China and Pakistan, as well as near the Persian Gulf and Central Asia.

These US-Afghan negotiations are causing concern among most countries in the region, as well as beyond. Russia and India are extremely wary of the long-term presence of the United States. China, which is pursuing a policy of non-intervention outside economic issues, also expressed its concern. Neighboring Pakistan, namely the highest unofficial officials tried to convince their Afghan counterparts that China should be chosen as a strategic partner, but not the United States.

A new round of talks has already been scheduled for the end of this month in Kabul. A preliminary draft of the Americans on cooperation was completely rejected by the Afghans. Two weeks ago, they submitted their own proposals to Washington. As one Afghan official said, the US project was “vaguely worded”.

Afghan representatives are currently preparing detailed additions to their own proposals, which reflect their specific requirements.

But Afghanistan is playing quite a subtle game. Afghan President Hamid Karzai, along with senior leaders, views the continued presence of US troops and expanded strategic engagement with the United States as necessary, mainly to protect the state from its neighbors.


Rangin Spant, Afghanistan’s national security adviser and lead negotiator with the United States, is concerned that Afghanistan faces the threat of world terrorist associations that are a threat not only to his country, but to the rest of the world, including Western countries. He stated that he would like a partnership that could unite the countries of the region.

Ashraf Ghani, one of the negotiators with the United States, noted that although the United States and NATO consider stability within Afghanistan as essential for their main strategic goal — the elimination of the Al-Qaida terrorist group, the United States is not interested in “prosperous Afghanistan”. “This is our goal, not necessarily theirs,” he also said.

Despite Ghani’s emphasis on the “consensus on substantive provisions,” there are still considerable disagreements.

One of them is the question of equipping the Afghan air force with Americans. Karzai asked for workable and fully modern jet fighter jets. The Americans expressed disagreement for fear of destabilizing the region and on the basis of the cost of such equipment.

Another is the question of US Army units that would conduct operations outside Afghanistan from bases inside it. So, from Afghanistan, the military power of the Americans could easily be transferred to Pakistan or Iran.

“We will never allow Afghan land to be used against a third party,” Spanta said.

The third controversial issue is the legal basis by which troops can remain in Afghanistan. Afghan officials are entitled to demand that any foreign forces (in this case, the military) be under their jurisdiction. They may also require that they be the final authority for the deployment and use of foreign troops.

“There should also be no structures that make decisions in parallel ... Everything should be in accordance with our constitution and sovereignty,” said the national security adviser in Afghanistan.

Neither side can agree on the pace of leading the negotiations to an end. The United States wants to have an agreement by the beginning of summer, before Barack Obama announces the expected withdrawal of troops. This is “simply impossible,” the Afghan official said.

Although, there are fears that the conclusion of such an agreement may also face attempts to find a political compromise in order to end the conflict with the Taliban.

A European diplomat in Kabul remarked: “It’s unlikely the Taliban will be happy newsthat the US bases will be located in Afghanistan in the near future. ”

But the top leaders of NATO responded that a permanent military presence would be a demonstration to the rebels that the West was not going to leave Afghanistan and would incline them to negotiations, but not a struggle.

The US-Afghan talks are taking place in the very center of the clash between the leaders of the regions in order to occupy a position that the top officials of the United States of America now call the “place of NATO”.

Marc Sadvill, a NATO civilian representative in Afghanistan, recently mentioned the threat of the 3.0 Big Game in this region, referring to the destabilizing conflict between the British Empire, Russia and some other states of South-West Asia in the nineteenth century.

Usually Afghanistan is represented as the country used by the leading powers. Dr. Ghani argues that this was not a "plan for the twenty-first century." Instead, he said, Afghanistan could turn into an “economic circular intersection” of Asia.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Add a comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

США и Афганистан не прекращают тайные переговоры

США и Афганистан не прекращают тайные переговоры


Секретные переговоры Соединенных Штатов Америки с Афганистаном не прекращаются несмотря на то, что Хилари Клинтон недавно заявила о том, что Вашингтон не желает больше иметь в Афганистане свои «постоянные базы».

Власти США уже довольно долгое время ведут тайные переговоры по вопросу долгосрочного соглашения о стратегическом партнёрстве с афганскими властями, по которому вооружённые силы США могут «задержаться» в Афганистане на десятилетия.


Эти «неофициальные» переговоры об обеспечении стратегического партнерства уже больше месяца идут полным ходом. Решается вопрос о том, что американские войска по окончанию 2014 года будут продолжать находиться на афганской территории, а также вопрос о точной дате вывода всех ста тридцати тысяч американских военных

Американские власти соглашаются с Хилари Клинтон и ее заявлением о нежелании иметь в Афганистане «постоянные базы», а также с тем, что эта формулировка допускает еще множество разных договоренностей.

«Военные подразделения США в разных странах находятся довольно продолжительное время, хотя вовсе не постоянно», — цитата американского чиновника.

Британские части также уже запланировали свое присутствие в Афганистане после 2014 года, но в качестве тренеров и наставников, как заявило руководство НАТО.

Но это не значит, что в боях эти самые наставники участвовать не будут. Они могут, например, постоянно сражаться близ афганских частей.

К тому же руководители НАТО полагают, что беспокойства в Афганистане будут продолжаться и по истечении 2014 года.

В Афганистане существует уже, по меньшей мере, 5 баз, возможных кандидатов на размещение американских сил, военной техники, аппаратуры слежения и разведывательных соединений на время после 2014 года. Эти базы планируют иметь статус стратегических активов, и расположены будут в сердце одного из самых нестабильных регионов в мире возле границ Ирана, Китая и Пакистана, а также недалеко от Персидского залива и Центральной Азии.

Эти американо-афганские переговоры вызывают беспокойство среди большинства стран региона, а также за его пределами. Россия и Индия относятся крайне настороженно к долговременному присутствию Соединенных Штатов. Китай, который ведет политику невмешательства вне экономических вопросов, тоже выразил свою озабоченность. Соседний Пакистан, а именно высшие неофициальные лица пытались убедить афганских коллег в том, что в качестве стратегического партнера стоит выбрать Китай, но не США.

Новый раунд переговоров уже назначен на конец этого месяца в Кабуле. Предварительный проект американцев о сотрудничестве был полностью отвергнут афганцами. Две недели назад они представили Вашингтону собственные предложения. Как заявил один афганский чиновник, проект США был «сформулирован нечетко».

Афганские представители на данный момент готовят подробные дополнения к собственным предложениям, в которых были отображены их специфические требования.

Но Афганистан ведет довольно тонкую игру. Президент Афганистана Хамид Карзай вместе с высшими руководителями рассматривает постоянное присутствие американских войск и расширенное стратегическое взаимодействие с Соединенными Штатами как необходимое, в основном, чтобы защитить государство от его соседей.

Рангина Спанта, советника по национальной безопасности Афганистана и ведущего участника переговоров с США беспокоит то, что Афганистан сталкивается с угрозой мировых террористических объединений, которые являются угрозой не только для его страны, но и для всего остального мира, в том числе и стран запада. Он заявил о том, что хотел бы партнерства, которое смогло бы сплотить страны региона.

Ашраф Гани, один из участников переговоров с Соединенными Штатами заметил, что хотя США и НАТО считают стабильность внутри Афганистана первой необходимостью для своей главной стратегической цели —ликвидации террористической группировки Аль-Каиды, «процветающий Афганистан» США не интересует. «Это наша цель, а необязательно их», — также заметил он.

Несмотря на акцент Гани на «консенсусе по основным положениям», по-прежнему имеют место быть немалые разногласия.

Одним из них является вопрос об оснащении американйцами афганских военно-воздушных сил. Карзай попросил работоспособные и полностью современные реактивные боевые самолёты. Американцы выразили несогласие из опасения в дестабилизации региона и на основании стоимости такого оснащения.

Еще одним является вопрос о подразделениях армии США, которые проводили бы операции вне Афганистана с баз внутри него. Так, из Афганистана военную мощь американцев легко можно было бы перебросить в Пакистан или Иран.

«Мы никогда не позволим, чтобы афганская земля использовалась против третьей стороны», — заявил Спанта.

Третий спорный вопрос — правовая основа, благодаря которой войска смогут остаться в Афганистане. Афганские официальные лица вправе требовать, чтобы любые иностранные силы (в данном случае военные) были под их юрисдикцией. Они также могут требовать то, чтобы они являлись последней инстанцией по развёртыванию и использованию иностранных войск.

«Также не должно быть структур, которые параллельно принимают решения... Всё должно быть в соответствии с нашими конституцией и суверенитетом», — заявил советник по национальной безопасности в Афганистане.

Обе стороны не могут также договориться о темпе подведения переговоров к концу. Соединенные Штаты хотят иметь соглашение уже к началу лета, до того, как Барак Обама объявит об ожидаемом выводе войск. Это «просто невозможно», — возразил афганский чиновник.

Хотя, существуют опасения, что заключение подобного соглашения может также столкнуться с попытками найти политический компромисс, чтобы закончить конфликт с Талибаном.

Европейский дипломат в Кабуле заметил: «Вряд ли Талибану доставит радость новость, что в недалеком будущем в Афганистане будут расположены базы США».

Но высшие руководители НАТО на это ответили, что постоянное военное присутствие будет демонстрацией повстанцам того, что запад не собирается уходить из Афганистана и будет склонять их к переговорам, но не борьбе.

Американо-афганские переговоры проходят в самом центре схватки между лидерами регионов для того, чтобы занять положение, которое высшие должностные лица Соединенных Штатов Америки называют сейчас «место НАТО».

Марк Сэдвилл, гражданский представитель НАТО в Афганистане, недавно упомянул об угрозе «Большой Игры 3.0» в этом регионе, ссылаясь на произошедший в девятнадцатом столетии дестабилизирующий конфликт между Британской империей, Россией и некоторыми другими государствами юго-западной Азии.

Обычно Афганистан представляется, как используемая ведущими державами страна. Доктор Гани утверждает, что это не было «планом на двадцать первый век». Вместо этого, сообщил он, Афганистан мог бы превратиться в «экономический кольцевой перекрёсток» Азии.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня