Military Review

Experimental machine Shiryaeva AO-27

20
In the late fifties and early sixties in the USSR, designers Dvoryaninov and Shiryayev carried out work on subcaliber swept ammunition. In 1961, Shiryayev created an experimental machine gun AO-27 for these munitions.


Tests showed a very good flatness of low-sized feathered bullets, but accuracy, somewhat inferior to conventional ammunition.



The automatic machine AO-27 designed by DI Shiryaev is an integral part of the experimental complex "weapon - cartridge with arrow-shaped bullet ", developed at SRI-61 (later - TsNIITochMash) since 1960. By that time, a number of studies aimed at improving the effectiveness of the AK-47 when firing from unstable positions (standing and from the knee) were completed. As a result, it was found that the most acceptable way to solve this problem is to reduce the recoil momentum, in order to maintain and even increase the range of a direct shot, it was necessary to reduce the caliber.

To a similar conclusion previously came to the United States, where the cartridge and automatic caliber 5,56 mm were developed. The creation of a domestic analogue of such a cartridge was initiated by the head of the cartridge direction of the SRI-61, V.M. Sabelnikov. As an alternative to the aviation armaments department of the scientific research institute-61, it was proposed to simultaneously check the possibility of using for the same purpose a cartridge with a sabotite arrow-shaped bullet. The hope for success was given by the fact that at that time domestic arrow-shaped armor-piercing sub-caliber shells with separating pallets to the 100-mm anti-tank gun T-12 "Rapier" had already been developed. The design of such ammunition, i.e. a cartridge with a feathered subcaliber arrow-shaped bullet and a detachable leading two-sector tray for automatic weapons, was developed in 1960 and protected by copyright certificate N 22527 with priority from 1 June 1960.

The authors of this invention are V.P. Gryazev, P.A. Fadeev, A.G. Shipunov and D.I. Shiryaev. The patron was assigned an index of OPS (feathered sub-caliber rifle). The AO-27 machine gun for these ammunition was developed at the start of the 1961 of the year. The ammunition OPS and automatic machine AO-27 for him represent the world's first rifle complex of this kind. Later, the Americans tried to realize this idea, but their long-term efforts in this direction were not crowned with success. Automatic equipment AO-27 of vapor type with removal of powder gases through a side opening in the wall of the barrel. As a barrel, regular blanks of 7,62 mm caliber were used, in which regular sections were cut, but more gentle. The rotation of the bullet contributed to a clear separation of the sectors of the pallets leading the bullet along the barrel. In addition, during the rotation of an aerodynamically stabilized bullet, the eccentricity of the forces acting on it averaged and, consequently, the scatter of hits decreased. The bolt is rotary, with two locking projections.

The stem of the bolt is structurally made together with the rod, ending with a gas piston. In the hollow piston rod of the gas piston is placed a return spring. The impact mechanism of a striker type with a long stroke (almost equal to the stroke of the shutter) of the striker. This was done in order to increase the time cycle of the automation to reduce the rate of fire. The trigger mechanism of the simplest type, consisting of a trigger, rotary sear, self-timer and uncoupler. The flag-type fuse-translator is located on the trigger guard behind the trigger + com, by analogy with self-loading rifles SVT. Aim devices consist of a pillar and front sight.

In the first version of the machine, the pillar was diopter and the front sight was located on the gas chamber. When developing the complex on the recommendation of the military, the sight was replaced with a conventional adjustable sector, and the adjustable front sight was transferred to the muzzle of the barrel. Shooting is performed from the so-called front sear, i.e. with movable parts in the front position. According to the testing reports of the complex at the stage of the main designer, its advantage over the AK-47 was overwhelming. In particular, the range of the direct shot of the machine was 530 meters against the 356 AK-47 and 437 rifle rifles.

In this case, the recoil pulses were 0,5 for AO-27, 0,78 for AK-47 and 1,24 kgf for a rifle. When shooting at a distance of 1000 m, the trajectory heights were respectively 3, 10.5 and 6 meters. Large initial bullet speed OPS cartridge (1060 m / s) and lateral load gave the machine AO-27 a significant advantage in the penetration of such obstacles as trench ripples. Significantly less was the dispersion of the bullets of the AO-27 machine compared to the AK-47 when firing in short bursts from a standing position. But due to the weak stopping power and the high cost of the cartridge, the topic was left in the category of R & D.



Characteristics of the machine AO-27 and cartridge OPS:
Automatic
Weight of the machine with a magazine without cartridges, kg 3,2
The length of the machine, mm 893
Barrel length, mm 415
Number of magazine cartridges, pcs 30
Rate of fire, rds / min 700



Cartridge
Caliber barrel / bullet mm 7,62 / 3
Cartridge weight, g 10,5
Bullet weight, g 2,4
Cartridge length, mm 63
Bullet length mm 55
Maximum pressure of powder gases, kg / mm 2700
Initial bullet speed, m / s 1060
20 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Airman
    Airman 6 September 2013 09: 38 New
    +3
    The idea is very interesting, but the cost of the cartridges decided everything. But why not try this principle on sniper weapons?
    1. bunta
      bunta 6 September 2013 10: 51 New
      0
      Quote: Povshnik
      not try on sniper weapons?

      arrows will blow off the wind.
      1. bazilio
        bazilio 6 September 2013 13: 23 New
        +3
        Quote: bunta
        But why not try this principle on sniper weapons?

        low OPD due to small caliber. But such armor penetration is higher.

        In Austria, they created an AMR / IWS 2000 caliber of 15.2 mm, but this rifle is more likely not sniper but anti-material. In the series did not go. They (Steyr) created an ACR submachine gun under a cartridge with a sub-caliber arrow-shaped bullet. The machine did not go into the series.
        1. Kir
          Kir 6 September 2013 17: 13 New
          +2
          And the question is, what kind of special weapon is serial? This is the first and the other if they would continue to experiment, maybe both price and technological effectiveness led to mass entry into the troops, and it remains only to vaguely hope that the continuation will take place, but we still do not know this.
          1. bazilio
            bazilio 7 September 2013 11: 55 New
            0
            Quote: Kir
            And the question is, what kind of special weapon is serial? This is the first and the other if they would continue to experiment, maybe both price and manufacturability led to mass entry into the troops

            Mass weapons are not needed for special weapons, I agree. But what are the benefits of AO-27. Greater accuracy and range of a direct shot + armor penetration. On the other hand, low RPD of 3 mm bullet-arrows. Even if we discard the financial aspect, it is not clear what is preferable - more heap, long-range and armor-piercing ammunition with lesser operational efficiency or less long-range, armor-piercing but with higher operational efficiency. But regarding the comparison of SPD, it is definitely difficult to say something until there are empirically substantiated results on the SPD of ammunition for AO-27.
  2. gych
    gych 6 September 2013 10: 50 New
    0
    Ukrainian sniper rifle "Askoria" Tactical and technical
    characteristics :
    Total length (mm) 1165
    Total weight (kg) 7
    Ammunition Weight (g) 47
    Ammunition Length (mm) 124
    Caliber (mm) 13,2
    Bullet Weight (g) 17,5
    Initial bullet speed
    (m / s) 1500
    Maximum pressure (kg / cm2) 4500
    Store Capacity 5,7,9,11
    Armor piercing
    at a distance of 600m:
    steel sheet - 50mm
    bulletproof glass - 250mm. but as always we have either a short staircase or a paint delivery!
  3. bunta
    bunta 6 September 2013 10: 57 New
    +5
    Question to the author. Kgs is a kilogram-POWER, not an impulse. The momentum is measured in kilograms per meter per second.
  4. Yemelya
    Yemelya 6 September 2013 18: 42 New
    +2
    In connection with the progress in the creation of body armor, the idea can be embodied.
  5. Droid
    Droid 6 September 2013 19: 17 New
    +2
    Quote: bunta
    Kgs is a kilogram-POWER, not an impulse. The momentum is measured in kilograms per meter per second.

    There should be written kgf * s, which is quite an impulse. Why kgf * s is reduced to kgf is not clear.
    1. bunta
      bunta 7 September 2013 00: 23 New
      0
      Quote: Droid
      unclear.

      It is unclear what this is all about. A mechanical impulse is mass times velocity. For 7,62x54 this will be 0,0096kg * (800ms) = 7,68 kg * m / s. According to the law of conservation of momentum, a weapon will receive exactly the same impulse. Where is 1,24 from?
  6. Mr. Truth
    Mr. Truth 6 September 2013 20: 45 New
    0
    Sooner or later, everyone will come to SPEL in assault rifles.
  7. Cpa
    Cpa 7 September 2013 04: 08 New
    0
    I can imagine what a machine gun should be cleaned after firing with such cartridges. laughing
  8. Droid
    Droid 7 September 2013 08: 18 New
    +3
    Quote: bunta
    Quote: Droid
    unclear.

    It is unclear what this is all about. A mechanical impulse is mass times velocity. For 7,62x54 this will be 0,0096kg * (800ms) = 7,68 kg * m / s. According to the law of conservation of momentum, a weapon will receive exactly the same impulse. Where is 1,24 from?

    It’s completely clear. An impulse is not only m * v, but also F * t, and since in a technical system of units the force is measured in kgf, the impulse is in kgf * s.
    Your calculation shows the momentum of the bullet, not recoil. You forgot to consider the momentum of the powder gases. If we take them into account, the recoil momentum will be p = 9.6 * 0.835 + 1.275 * 3.27 = 12.19 N * s, which when converted to kgf * s will give p = 12.19 / g = 1,243 kgf * s
    1. bunta
      bunta 7 September 2013 09: 06 New
      0
      Thanks for the science, indeed the contribution of powder gases is solid. But it’s all the same about the characteristics of the cartridge. Not weapons. As the author writes. Returns are subjective :). It depends on the mass of the weapon, and on how the weapon is held in hands and on design features.
      1. tkhonov66
        tkhonov66 28 November 2014 14: 09 New
        0
        "...
        Returns are subjective.
        ... "
        .
        -?!
        - bestowal, dear, - it is quite-OBJECTIVE.
        All jet devices move quite objectively in space precisely because of the most objective action of the “recoil” that occurs when the fuel burned out in the engine expires ...
        8-)
        But with all of this from the OBJECTIVE return of small arms - the shooting subject experiences quite SUBJECTIVE FEELINGS.
        8-))
        .
        Learn the materiel more carefully, dear!
        8-)))
  9. old rats
    old rats 8 September 2013 06: 30 New
    0
    somehow watched a program about creating a new machine for two-medium shooting (count underwater). and the cartridges shown in the report are very similar to those in the article. probably remembered the development.
    1. bazilio
      bazilio 8 September 2013 14: 45 New
      0
      Quote: old rats
      somehow watched a program about creating a new machine for two-medium shooting (count underwater). and the cartridges shown in the report are very similar to those in the article. probably remembered the development.

      Not quite so - for a two-medium machine gun, namely underwater, elongated bullets are used. This is done to stabilize the bullet in the aquatic environment. For example, bullets with a 115 mm long bullet were made for the APS submarine. At the same time, the bullet nose was made flat to create a cavity, which stabilized the bullet while passing through the water. In a two-medium machine gun left a long bullet with a sight for underwater shooting.
      1. Mouse
        Mouse 14 September 2013 22: 01 New
        0
        Yeah, exactly.
  10. aleksandrs95
    aleksandrs95 11 September 2013 16: 04 New
    0
    For sniper weapons, the necessary development, it is necessary to try on a new material base, there is something here.
  11. Mouse
    Mouse 14 September 2013 23: 19 New
    0
    There was another development of an arrow-shaped bullet: for hunting smooth-bore weapons.
    It was called "Zenith", equipped in a regular folder sleeve. The range for an ordinary shotgun is amazing: up to 300 (!!!) meters. And these are not idle inventions, but the words of the designer D. Shiryaev himself.

Экспериментальный автомат Ширяева АО-27

В конце пятидесятых - начале шестидесятых годов в СССР конструкторами Дворяниновым и Ширяевым велись работы по подкалиберным стреловидным боеприпасам. Ширяев в 1961 году создал под эти боеприпасы экспериментальный автомат АО-27.

Испытания показали очень хорошую настильность подкалиберных оперенных пуль, но кучность, несколько уступающую обычным боеприпасам.

Экспериментальный автомат Ширяева АО-27



Автомат АО-27 конструкции Д. И. Ширяева является составной частью опытного комплекса "оружие - патрон со стреловидной пулей", разрабатывавшегося в НИИ-61 (позднее - ЦНИИТочМаш) начиная с 1960 года. К этому времени был завершен ряд исследований, направленных на повышение эффективности автомата АК-47 при стрельбе из неустойчивых положений (стоя и с колена). В результате было установлено, что наиболее приемлемым путем решения этой задачи является снижение импульса отдачи. Чтобы при этом сохранить и даже увеличить дальность прямого выстрела, необходимо было уменьшить калибр.

К подобному выводу ранее пришли в США, где были разработаны патрон и автомат калибра 5,56 мм. Создание отечественного аналога такого патрона было начато по инициативе руководителя патронного направления НИИ-61 В.М. Сабельникова. В качестве альтернативы отделом авиационного вооружения НИИ-61 было предложено параллельно проверить возможность использования для этой же цели патрона с подкалиберной стреловидной пулей. Надежду на успех давало то, что в это время уже были разработаны отечественные стреловидные бронебойные подкалиберные снаряды с отделяющимися поддонами к 100-мм противотанковой пушке Т-12 "Рапира". Конструкция подобного боеприпаса, т.е. патрона с оперенной подкалиберной стреловидной пулей и отделяемым ведущим двухсекторным поддоном для оружия типа "автомат", была разработана в 1960 году и защищена авторским свидетельством N 22527 с приоритетом от 1 июня 1960 года.

Авторами этого изобретения являются В.П. Грязев, П.А. Фадеев, А.Г. Шипунов и Д.И. Ширяев. Патрону был присвоен индекс ОПС (оперенный подкалиберный стрелковый). Автомат АО-27 для этих боеприпасов был разработан в начале 1961 года. Боеприпас ОПС и автомат АО-27 для него представляют собой первый в мире стрелковый комплекс подобного рода. Позже эту идею пытались реализовать американцы, но многолетние их усилия в этом направлении успехом не увенчались. Автоматика АО-27 газоотводного типа с отводом пороховых газов через боковое отверстие в стенке ствола. В качестве ствола использовались штатные заготовки стволов калибра 7,62 мм, в которых делались нарезы штатного профиля, но более пологие. Вращение пули способствовало четкому отделению секторов поддонов, ведущих пулю по стволу. Кроме этого, при вращении аэродинамически стабилизируемой пули происходило осреднение эксцентриситета действующих на нее сил и, следовательно, уменьшение разброса попаданий. Затвор - поворотный, с двумя запирающими выступами.

Стебель затвора конструктивно выполнен совместно со штоком, заканчивающимся газовым поршнем. В полом штоке газового поршня размещена возвратная пружина. Ударный механизм ударникового типа с длинным ходом (практически равным ходу затвора) ударника. Сделано это с целью увеличения временного цикла работы автоматики для снижения темпа стрельбы. Спусковой механизм простейшего типа, состоящий из спускового крючка, поворотного шептала, автоспуска и разобщителя. Предохранитель-переводчик флажкового типа расположен на спусковой скобе за спусковым крюч+ком по аналогии с самозарядными винтовками СВТ. Прицельные приспособления состоят из целика и мушки.

В первом варианте автомата целик был диоптрическим и мушка была расположена на газовой камере. При отработке комплекса по рекомендации военных прицел был заменен на обычный регулируемый секторный, а регулируемая мушка перенесена на дульную часть ствола. Стрельба производится с так называемого переднего шептала, т.е. с под-вижными частями в переднем положении. Согласно отчетам по испытаниям комплекса на этапе главного конструктора преимущество его по сравнению с АК-47 было подавляющим. В частности, дальность прямого выстрела автомата составляла 530 метров против 356 АК-47 и 437 винтовочного.

При этом импульсы отдачи были 0,5 у АО-27, 0,78 у АК-47 и 1,24 кгс у винтовки. При стрельбе на дистанцию 1000 м высоты траекторий были соответственно 3, 10.5 и 6 метров. Большие начальная скорость пули ОПС патрона (1060 м/с) и поперечная нагрузка давали автомату АО-27 значительное преимущество при пробитии таких преград, как окопные бруствера. Существенно меньшим было рассеивание пуль автомата АО-27 по сравнению с АК-47 при стрельбе короткими очередями из положения стоя. Но в связи со слабым останавливающим действием и высокой стоимостью патрона тема была оставлена в разряде НИР.

Экспериментальный автомат Ширяева АО-27


Характеристики автомата АО-27 и патрона ОПС:
Автомат
Вес автомата с магазином без патронов, кг 3,2
Длина автомата, мм 893
Длина ствола, мм 415
Число патронов магазина, шт 30
Темп стрельбы, выстр/мин 700

Экспериментальный автомат Ширяева АО-27


Патрон
Калибр ствол/пули, мм 7,62/3
Вес патрона, г 10,5
Вес пули, г 2,4
Длина патрона, мм 63
Длина пули, мм 55
Максимальное давление пороховых газов, кг/мм 2700
Начальная скорость пули, м/с 1060


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 20
  1. ПВОшник 6 сентября 2013 09:38
    Замысел очень интересен, но стоимость патронов решила все. Но почему этот принцип не попробовать на снайперском оружии?
    ПВОшник
    1. bunta 6 сентября 2013 10:51
      Цитата: ПВОшник
      не попробовать на снайперском оружии?

      стрелки ветром сдувать будет.
      1. bazilio 6 сентября 2013 13:23
        Цитата: bunta
        Но почему этот принцип не попробовать на снайперском оружии?

        низкиое ОПД ввиду малого калибра. Зато таким бронепробиваемость выше.

        В Австрии создали AMR/IWS 2000 калибра 15.2 мм, но эта винтовка скорее не снайперкая а антиматериальная. В серию не пошла. Они же (Штайр) создали автомат ACR под патрон с подкалиберной стреловидной пулей. Автомат в серию не пошел.
        1. Kir 6 сентября 2013 17:13
          А спрашивается а спец оружию серийность за каким? Это первое а другое если-бы продолжили экспериментировать может и цена и технологичность привели к массовому поступлению в войска, а так остаётся только смутно надеяться что продолжение имеет место но мы пока не в курсе сего.
          Kir
          1. bazilio 7 сентября 2013 11:55
            Цитата: Kir
            А спрашивается а спец оружию серийность за каким? Это первое а другое если-бы продолжили экспериментировать может и цена и технологичность привели к массовому поступлению в войска

            Для спец оружия массовость не нужна, согласен. Но какие преимущества дает АО-27. Большую кучность и дальность прямого выстрела+ бронепробиваемость. С другой стороны низкое ОПД 3 мм пули-стрелы. Даже если отбросить финансовый аспект, то тут неясно что предпочтительнее- более кучный, дальнобойный и бронебойный боеприпас с меньшим ОПД или менее дальнобойный, бронебойный но с более высоким ОПД. Но касательно сравнения ОПД однозначно трудно что то говорить, пока не будут эмперически обоснованные результаты по ОПД боеприпаса под АО-27.
  2. gych 6 сентября 2013 10:50
    украинская снайперская винтовка"аскория"Тактико-технические
    характеристики :
    Общая длина (мм) 1165
    Общий вес (кг) 7
    Вес боеприпаса (г) 47
    Длина боеприпаса (мм) 124
    Калибр (мм) 13,2
    Вес пули (г) 17,5
    Начальная скорость пули
    (м/с) 1500
    Максимальное давление (кг/см2) 4500
    Емкость магазина 5,7,9,11
    Бронебойность
    на расстоянии 600м:
    стальной лист - 50мм
    бронестекло - 250мм.но у нас как всегда то лестница короткая,то краску не завезли!
    gych
  3. bunta 6 сентября 2013 10:57
    Вопрос автору. Кгс это килограмм-СИЛА, а не имульс. Имульс меряется в килограммах на метр в секунду.
  4. Емеля 6 сентября 2013 18:42
    В связи с прогрессом в создании бронежилетов идея может найти воплощение.
    Емеля
  5. Droid 6 сентября 2013 19:17
    Цитата: bunta
    Кгс это килограмм-СИЛА, а не имульс. Имульс меряется в килограммах на метр в секунду.

    Там должно быть написано кгс*с, что вполне себе импульс. Почему кгс*с сокращают до кгс непонятно.
    1. bunta 7 сентября 2013 00:23
      Цитата: Droid
      непонятно.

      Непонятно о чем вообще речь. Механический имульс это масса умноженная на скорость. Для 7,62х54 это будет 0,0096кг * (800мс) = 7,68 кг*м/с. По закону сохранения имульса точно такой же импульс получит оружие. Откуда 1,24?
  6. Mr. Truth 6 сентября 2013 20:45
    Рано или поздно все придут к СПЭЛ в штурмовых винтовках.
    Mr. Truth
  7. КПА 7 сентября 2013 04:08
    Представляю,каково автомат чистить после стрельбы такими патронами. laughing
  8. Droid 7 сентября 2013 08:18
    Цитата: bunta
    Цитата: Droid
    непонятно.

    Непонятно о чем вообще речь. Механический имульс это масса умноженная на скорость. Для 7,62х54 это будет 0,0096кг * (800мс) = 7,68 кг*м/с. По закону сохранения имульса точно такой же импульс получит оружие. Откуда 1,24?

    Совершенно понятно. Импульс это не только m*v, но и F*t, а так как в технической системе единиц сила измеряется в кгс то импульс в кгс*с.
    Ваш расчет показывает импульс пули, а не отдачи. Вы забыли учесть импульс пороховых газов. Если их учесть то импульс отдачи получится p=9.6*0.835+1.275*3.27=12.19 Н*с, что при переводе в кгс*с даст p=12.19/g=1,243 кгс*с
    1. bunta 7 сентября 2013 09:06
      Спасибо за науку,действительно вклад пороховых газов солидный. Вот только речь все равно идет о характеристике патрона. А не оружия. Как пишет автор.Отдача она же субъективна :). Зависит и от массы оружия, и от того как оружие держится в руках и от конструктивных особенностей.
      1. tkhonov66 28 ноября 2014 14:09
        "...
        Отдача она же субъективна
        ..."
        .
        - ?!
        - отдача, уважаемый, - она вполне-себе ОБЪЕКТИВНА.
        Все реактивные аппараты вполне объективно перемещаются в пространстве именно вследствии наиобъективнейшего действия "отдачи" возникающей при истечении сгоревшего в двигателе топлива...
        8-)
        Но при всем-притом от ОБЪЕКТИВНОЙ отдачи стрелкового оружия - стреляющий субъект испытывает вполне СУБЪЕКТИВНЫЕ ОЩУЩЕНИЯ.
        8-))
        .
        Щательнее учите матчасть, уважаемый!
        8-)))
        tkhonov66
  9. старый крыс 8 сентября 2013 06:30
    как-то смотрел передачу о создании нового автомата для двухсредной стрельбы (считай подводного). и патроны показанные в репортаже очень на те что в статье были похожи. наверно вспомнили о разработке.
    1. bazilio 8 сентября 2013 14:45
      Цитата: старый крыс
      как-то смотрел передачу о создании нового автомата для двухсредной стрельбы (считай подводного). и патроны показанные в репортаже очень на те что в статье были похожи. наверно вспомнили о разработке.

      Не совсем так- для автомата двухсредного, а именно подводного, применяются удлиненные пули. Сделано это для стабилизации пули в водной среде. Например для подводного автомата АПС были сделаны пули с длинной пулей в 115 мм. При этом носик пули сделали плоским для создания каверны, которая и стабилизировала пулю при прохождении водного пространства. В двухсредном автомате оставили длинную пулю с прицелом для подводной стрельбы.
      1. Maus 14 сентября 2013 22:01
        Угу, именно так.
        Maus
  10. aleksandrs95 11 сентября 2013 16:04
    Для снайперского оружия нужная разработка,необходимо попробовать на новой материальной базе,что-то тут есть.
  11. Maus 14 сентября 2013 23:19
    Была ещё одна разработка стреловидной пули: для охотничьего гладкоствольного оружия.
    Называлась "Зенит", снаряжалась в обычную папковую гильзу. Дальность для обычного дробовика потрясающая: до 300 (!!!) метров. И это не досужие вымыслы, а слова самого конструктора Д. Ширяева.
    Maus

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня