Military Review

Mali after the French invasion

20
Mali after the French invasion


After the massive military invasion of France in Mali in January, 2013, called in Western media the “operation to save Mali from the Islamists” (1) and was shown on television almost in real time, the situation in this African country was almost silent. The optimistic assessment of the French President F. Holland that everything will be completed within a few weeks was replaced by talking about a few months, and then the formula "as long as it takes." At present, they have stopped talking about any deadlines for the withdrawal of French troops from Mali.

French troops managed to carry out several successful operations and kill several leaders of Islamist groups, but in general no group was defeated. On the contrary, what is happening in Mali today says that the forces of the Islamists are not undermined, they are capable of conducting serious military operations and gaining the upper hand.

Apparently, it was precisely this development of events that was planned by Paris. On the one hand, France has built a reputation as the “savior” of Mali (the strange attack of the Islamists on the capital of the country in January 2013 was stopped), on the other hand, the struggle should be long and sticky to justify the permanent French presence in Mali. The French troops are not going to leave this country, and the public is informed that the situation "continues to remain restless." The formula is well known ...

In the middle of May, 2014, after a relative lull, the situation dramatically worsened. During the week there were fights between the army of Mali and the militants of the National Movement for the Liberation of Azawad (MNLA), as well as other groups associated with it. 21 in May, the army of Mali launched an assault on the city of Kidal (a key city in the north-east of the country) using heavy weapons, but the terrorists repulsed the attack and threw back government troops, who fled, suffering heavy casualties. (2)

At the end of May, attacks were launched not only against peaceful cities and settlements, but also against the UN peacekeeping forces. 30 June a bomb was blown up near the town of Timbuktu, which resulted in the death of one peacekeeper and six injured. 16 August a new attack on peacekeepers occurred: two people were killed and seven were injured.

Recall that in April 2013, the UN created a new peacekeeping mission in Mali. The mission’s mandate, in particular, included stabilizing the situation in key locations and helping to restore state authority throughout the country, especially in northern Mali (see UN Security Council Resolution No. 2100). On June 25, the mandate of the UN operation in Mali was extended for a year (see UN Security Council Resolution No. 2164), and a very substantial addition was made to the mission’s mandate: now, UN troops must “take active steps to prevent the return of armed elements to these areas”. That is, these troops can remain there for as long as Al-Qaida exists and any other terrorist groups, including Tuareg rebels.

The internal political situation in the country remains tense. There is no unity in the ranks of the terrorists, (3) nor within the government. In early April, the President of the country removed from his post Prime Minister Umar Tatami Lee and appointed Mussu Mara to this position - a step at least controversial, given that M. Mara is a member of a dwarf party in opposition. The party has only one seat in parliament, and M. Mara himself won the 1,5% of votes in the presidential election. However, this did not prevent Mare from almost completely changing the composition of the government.

By the way, the May fights in Kidal were provoked by the new prime minister, who went there on a visit. In connection with the demonstrations against this visit, unrest began, ending with the capture of Mali’s military and government officials as hostages. Several people in the city administration building were killed. The Prime Minister M. Mara himself managed to evacuate the forces of the UN Mission by helicopter.

The humanitarian situation is also extremely difficult. About three and a half million people are still in a state that the UN qualifies as an “unfavorable food situation.” Nearly half a million people just go hungry; experts expect that in two or three months the number of starving people will be close to two million. There are about 140 thousands of internally displaced persons in the country and about two hundred thousand refugees outside of it (the population of Mali is about 14 million people).

All this is happening against the background of attempts by the new government to try the members of the military junta, who overthrew President Amadou Toumani Touré in April 2012. Finally, the head of the military coup, Amadou Sanogo, who, despite the obvious criminality of his actions, was afraid to touch for a long time, was arrested. The junta is accused of including the disappearance on the day of the coup of twenty-five members of the army of Mali. It may be established that A.Sanoi’s April coup was not so bloodless.

There are problems in the UN Mission. Although it should include 11 thousands of 200 military personnel and 1440 police, by March 2014, the mission was staffed only with 55%. Thus, for a whole year, the United Nations managed to fill the mission only half! The reasons for this situation are not reported. However, if we take into account the strange correspondence between the actions of the Islamists and the introduction of foreign countries in Mali, this will not seem strange. Foreign troops in Mali came seriously and for a long time and they have nothing to hurry. Especially since the mission is funded very generously. If the annual budget of the mission in 2013 was over 600 million dollars, in 2014 the amount was close to a billion dollars!

Operation Serval should be viewed in the overall context of French policy regarding its former colonial possessions. In recent years, this policy has become more and more rigid. Thus, in April 2011, the French soldiers, as part of the UN peacekeeping mission, carried out a military coup in Côte d'Ivoire and overthrew the country's legitimate president, L. Gbagbo, who subsequently transferred him to the International Criminal Court. (4) Unlike the situation in Côte d'Ivoire, the status of French troops in Mali is completely autonomous. At the same time, they received certain legitimacy from the UN Security Council, which authorized the French troops to "use all necessary means to take measures, at the request of the Secretary General, in support of elements of the UN Mission in Mali in the event of an immediate and serious threat to their security." Recall that Al-Qaida’s attack on the capital in January 2013 took place after the decision was made to create an Inter-African military mission that was supposed to assist the Mali army in fighting terrorists who had taken refuge in the sands of the Sahara for more than ten years and never not going out. The creation of the Inter-African military mission was a clear signal that Africans should not even try to solve their problems on their own - they should act only through the UN, where the main role belongs to their former metropolises.

(1) Operation Serval
(2) See the Report of the UN Secretary-General on the situation in Mali // UN document S / 2014 / 403 of 9 June 2014. C. 2.
(3) There are reports of deadly fights between members of the Arab movement Azawad among themselves, as well as with members of MNLA.
(4) Foreign participation in the "crisis resolution" in Côte d'Ivoire and in Mali brings together another interesting fact. Today the peacekeeping mission in Mali is headed by the Dutchman Bert Conders. Previously, Conders was chairman of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly, but more importantly, he was the head of the UN peacekeeping mission in ... Côte d'Ivoire. And Conders’s deputy is an American, David Grassley, who previously worked as a representative of the United Nations Children's Fund in Côte d'Ivoire.
Author:
Originator:
http://www.fondsk.ru/news/2014/08/26/mali-posle-francuzskogo-vtorzhenija-29121.html
20 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. psychologist
    psychologist 28 August 2014 22: 00
    +6
    ..... and remained a banana !!!
    1. Reasonable, 2,3
      Reasonable, 2,3 29 August 2014 03: 12
      -7
      Guys, we squeezed Novorossia. And I didn’t even cross the border. It gives Vovka.
      1. Andrey Yuryevich
        Andrey Yuryevich 29 August 2014 04: 55
        +2
        Quote: Reasonable, 2,3
        Guys, we squeezed Novorossia. And I didn’t even cross the border. It gives Vovka.

        ??? WE with? and Vova, who is it? (I’m not a minus, but I don’t understand ...)
        1. Reasonable, 2,3
          Reasonable, 2,3 29 August 2014 07: 43
          0
          Do you think that you could do without us? Dial in YouTube-Polite people.
      2. Hyperboreas
        Hyperboreas 29 August 2014 04: 58
        +5
        Did you squeeze ???? And the men are dying there now. General sofa damn it, it would be silent better it would seem smarter.
        1. Reasonable, 2,3
          Reasonable, 2,3 29 August 2014 07: 45
          -1
          I got a bastard. I arrived in the Rostov province. I will explain.
  2. CHAMPION
    CHAMPION 28 August 2014 22: 01
    +4
    and remained a colony!
    1. Giant thought
      Giant thought 28 August 2014 22: 07
      +4
      France for a long time ensured the stay of its armed forces in this region, as was all calculated.
      1. Interface
        Interface 28 August 2014 23: 15
        0
        The French army in Mali is still better than the local black Islamists
  3. gammipapa
    gammipapa 28 August 2014 22: 05
    +5
    Milking the colony to the west is becoming increasingly difficult. To conquer the natives is quite difficult Kalashnikov somehow equalizes rights.
  4. rugor
    rugor 28 August 2014 22: 07
    +3
    Poverty is the ideal soil for Islamists. The West needs not to send troops, but to stop robbing Africa and not only it. Parasites!
  5. GOMER2010
    GOMER2010 28 August 2014 22: 20
    +6
    As Africa was a resource base for the colonialists, it remains.
  6. zao74
    zao74 28 August 2014 22: 25
    0
    As France was a colonial power, so did ... goat.ly.
  7. Gray 43
    Gray 43 28 August 2014 22: 35
    +2
    France seems not averse to becoming a former colonial power again
  8. Dart2027
    Dart2027 28 August 2014 23: 24
    +4
    The advanced Western economy that we have been praying for since the Decembrists is based on the robbery of colonies. Without colonies, it is not viable.
  9. Mentor
    Mentor 28 August 2014 23: 28
    +1
    Quote: rugor
    Poverty is the ideal soil for Islamists. The West needs not to send troops, but to stop robbing Africa and not only it. Parasites!

    The more beggars in the region, the greater the influence of the Islamists. The greater the influence of the Islamists, the more troops are needed in that region. But the troops need weapons, food, and thus more profits from the metropolis ...
  10. el.krokodil
    el.krokodil 29 August 2014 00: 16
    0
    Quote: psychologist
    ..... and remained a banana !!!

    Mali, the French need the troops to have a source of combat experience .. a small controlled and sluggish war .. soldier
  11. mig31
    mig31 29 August 2014 02: 44
    0
    Africa today is a testing ground for all types of weapons and all military branches, including bacterological, for Anglo-Saxons and Europe ....
  12. rotmistr60
    rotmistr60 29 August 2014 03: 52
    0
    France by its actions in the same Mali has become like ameri. Where the troops defend "democracy", there is the collapse of the country, blood, tension in the region.
  13. Lyton
    Lyton 29 August 2014 05: 41
    -1
    As the Papuans were and have remained, give free rein to all non-Muslims to be killed, so at least the army maintains order and appearance.
  14. VNP1958PVN
    VNP1958PVN 29 August 2014 05: 42
    0
    Mali-Somalia, we have something closer to the heart of the events are taking place! How are ours, that's the question. Does VVP of urkov like "innocent me" do something?

Мали после французского вторжения

Мали после французского вторжения


После массированного военного вторжения Франции в Мали в январе 2013 года, названного в западных СМИ «операцией по спасению Мали от исламистов» (1) и демонстрировавшегося по телевидению чуть не в режиме реального времени, о положении в этой африканской стране практически замолчали. Оптимистические оценки президента Франции Ф.Олланда о том, что всё будет закончено в течение нескольких недель, сменились разговорами о нескольких месяцах, а затем формулой «столько, сколько потребуется». В настоящее время о каких-либо сроках вывода французских войск из Мали перестали говорить вообще.

Французским войскам удалось провести несколько успешных операций и убить несколько руководителей исламистских группировок, но в целом ни одна группировка побеждена не была. Напротив, происходящее в Мали сегодня говорит о том, что силы исламистов не подорваны, они способны проводить серьёзные военные операции и одерживать верх.


Видимо, именно такое развитие событий Парижем и планировалось. С одной стороны, Франция создала себе репутацию «спасителя» Мали (странное наступление исламистов на столицу страны в январе 2013 года было остановлено), с другой стороны, борьба должна быть долгой и вязкой, чтобы оправдывать постоянное французское присутствие в Мали. Уходить из этой страны французские войска не собираются, а общественности сообщают, что ситуация «продолжает оставаться неспокойной». Формула хорошо известна…

В середине мая 2014 г., после относительного затишья, ситуация резко осложнилась. В течение недели шли бои между армией Мали и боевиками Национального движения за освобождение Азавада (НДОА), а также другими связанными с ним группировками. 21 мая армия Мали предприняла штурм города Кидаль (ключевой город на северо-востоке страны) с применением тяжёлого вооружения, однако террористы отбили нападение и отбросили правительственные войска, которые бежали, понеся большие потери. (2)

В конце мая начались нападения не только на мирные города и поселения, но и на миротворческие силы ООН. 30 июня была подорвана бомба в районе города Тимбукту, в результате которой погиб один миротворец и шестеро получили ранения. 16 августа произошло новое нападение на миротворцев: два человека погибли и семь получили ранения.

Напомним, что в апреле 2013 года ООН создала новую миротворческую миссию в Мали. В мандат миссии, в частности, входила стабилизация ситуации в основных населенных пунктах и содействие восстановлению государственной власти на всей территории страны, особенно на севере Мали (см. резолюцию СБ ООН № 2100). 25 июня мандат операции ООН в Мали был продлён на год (см. резолюцию Совета Безопасности ООН № 2164), и к мандату миссии было сделано весьма существенное добавление: теперь войска ООН должны «предпринимать активные шаги для предупреждения возвращения вооруженных элементов в эти районы». То есть эти войска могут пребывать там столько, сколько существуют "Аль-Каида" и любые другие террористические группировки, включая туарегских мятежников.

Внутриполитическая ситуация в стране остаётся напряжённой. Нет единства ни в рядах террористов, (3) ни внутри правительства. В начале апреля президент страны сместил со своего поста премьер-министра Умара Татами Ли и назначил на эту должность Муссу Мара – шаг по меньшей мере спорный, учитывая, что М.Мара является членом карликовой партии, находящейся в оппозиции. Партия имеет всего одно место в парламенте, а сам М.Мара на президентских выборах получил 1,5 % голосов. Однако это не помешало Маре почти полностью сменить состав правительства.

Кстати, майские бои в Кидале были спровоцированы именно новым премьером, который отправился туда с визитом. В связи с демонстрациями протеста против этого визита начались беспорядки, завершившиеся взятием в заложники военнослужащих армии Мали и государственных чиновников. Несколько человек в здании городской администрации были убиты. Самого премьера М.Мара успели эвакуировать на вертолёте силы Миссии ООН.

Чрезвычайно тяжёлой остаётся и гуманитарная ситуация. Около трёх с половиной миллионов человек по-прежнему находятся в состоянии, которое ООН квалифицирует как «неблагополучную продовольственную ситуацию». Почти полтора миллиона человек просто голодают; эксперты ожидают, что через два-три месяца число голодающих приблизится к двум миллионам. В стране находится около 140 тысяч внутренне перемещённых лиц, а за её пределами – около двухсот тысяч беженцев (население Мали - около 14 миллионов человек).

Всё это происходит на фоне попыток новой власти провести суд над членами военной хунты, свергнувшей в апреле 2012 года президента Амаду Тумани Туре. Наконец-то был арестован и глава военного переворота Амаду Саного, которого, несмотря на очевидную преступность его действий, долгое время боялись трогать. Хунта обвиняется в том числе в исчезновении в день переворота двадцати пяти военнослужащих армии Мали. Возможно, будет установлено, что апрельский переворот А.Саного не был таким уж бескровным.

Имеются проблемы и в Миссии ООН. Несмотря на то, что она должна включать 11 тысяч 200 военнослужащих и 1440 полицейских, к марту 2014 года состав миссии был укомплектован только на 55%. Таким образом, за целый год Организация Объединённых Наций умудрилась заполнить миссию лишь наполовину! Причины такого положения дел не сообщаются. Однако если учесть странное соответствие между действиями исламистов и внедрением в Мали иностранных государств, этот уже не покажется странным. Иностранные войска в Мали пришли всерьёз и надолго и торопиться им не к чему. Тем более что миссия финансируется весьма щедро. Если годовой бюджет миссии в 2013 году составил более 600 миллионов долларов, то в 2014 сумма приблизилась к миллиарду долларов!

Операцию «Серваль» следует рассматривать в общем контексте политики Франции в отношении своих бывших колониальных владений. В последние годы эта политика стала приобретать всё более жёсткие формы. Так, в апреле 2011 года французские солдаты в составе миротворческой миссии ООН совершили военный переворот в Кот-д’Ивуаре и свергли законного президента страны Л.Гбагбо, передав его впоследствии в Международный уголовный суд. (4) В отличие от ситуации в Кот-д’Ивуаре статус французских войск в Мали полностью автономен. При этом они получили определённую легитимацию от Совета Безопасности ООН, который уполномочил французские войска «использовать все необходимые средства для принятия по просьбе Генерального секретаря мер в поддержку элементов Миссии ООН в Мали в случае возникновения непосредственной и серьезной угрозы их безопасности». Напомним, что наступление "Аль-Каиды" на столицу в январе 2013 года произошло после принятия решения о создании Межафриканской военной миссии, которая должна была оказать помощь армии Мали в борьбе с террористами, в то время более десяти лет укрывавшимися в песках Сахары и никогда оттуда не выходившими. Создание Межафриканской военной миссии было ясным сигналом о том, что африканцы не должны даже пытаться решать свои проблемы собственными силами – им следует действовать только через ООН, где главная роль принадлежит их бывшим метрополиям.

(1) Операция «Серваль»
(2) См. Доклад Генерального секретаря ООН о ситуации в Мали // Документ ООН S/2014/403 от 9 июня 2014 года. С. 2.
(3) Поступают сообщения о смертельных схватках между членами Арабского движения Азавада между собой, а также с членами НДОА.
(4) Иностранное участие в «разрешении кризиса» в Кот-д’Ивуаре и в Мали сближает и ещё один любопытный факт. Сегодня миротворческую миссию в Мали возглавляет голландец Берт Кондерс. Ранее Кондерс был председателем Парламентской ассамблеи НАТО, однако более важно то, что именно он возглавлял миротворческую миссию ООН в … Кот-д’Ивуаре. А заместителем Кондерса является американец Дэвид Грэссли, ранее работавший представителем Детского фонда ООН в Кот-д’Ивуаре.
Автор: Александр МЕЗЯЕВ
Первоисточник: http://www.fondsk.ru/news/2014/08/26/mali-posle-francuzskogo-vtorzhenija-29121.html


Читайте "Военное обозрение" в Яндекс Новостях

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также

Комментарии 20

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. психолог (Хамит) 28 августа 2014 22:00
    .....так и осталась банановой!!!
    1. Разумный,2,3 29 августа 2014 03:12
      Мужики,мы Новороссию отжали.А я даже границу не перешёл.Во Вовка даёт.
      Разумный,2,3
      1. андрей юрьевич (андрей юрьевич) 29 августа 2014 04:55
        Цитата: Разумный,2,3
        Мужики,мы Новороссию отжали.А я даже границу не перешёл.Во Вовка даёт.

        ??? МЫ причём? и вовка-кто это ?( не минусую,но не понимаю...)
        1. Разумный,2,3 29 августа 2014 07:43
          А ты думаешь,что без нас обошлось?Набери в ютубе-Вежливые люди.Там дохотчиво.
          Разумный,2,3
      2. Гиперборей (Михаил ) 29 августа 2014 04:58
        Ты отжимал???? А мужики там и сейчас гибнут. Генерал диванный блин, молчал бы лучше казался бы умней.
        1. Разумный,2,3 29 августа 2014 07:45
          Встал гад.В Ростовскую губерню приехал.Я объясню.
          Разумный,2,3
  2. CHEMPION 28 августа 2014 22:01
    так и осталась колонией!
    CHEMPION
    1. Гигант мысли (Пётр) 28 августа 2014 22:07
      Франция надолго обеспечила пребывание своих вооружённых сил в этом регионе, как и было всё рассчитано.
      1. Interface 28 августа 2014 23:15
        Армия Франции в Мали все таки лучше, чем местные чернокожие исламисты
  3. gammipapa 28 августа 2014 22:05
    Доить колонии западу становится все труднее . Завоевывать туземцев довольно сложно Калашников как то уравнивает в правах .
  4. rugor (Руслан ) 28 августа 2014 22:07
    Нищета - идеальная почва для исламистов. Западу нужно не войска вводить, а прекращать грабить Африку и не только её. Паразиты!
  5. GOMER2010 28 августа 2014 22:20
    Как была Африка для колонизаторов ресурсной базой, так и осталась.
  6. zao74 (Алексей) 28 августа 2014 22:25
    Как была Франция колониальной державой, так и осталась... коз.лы.
  7. Серый 43 (Сергей ) 28 августа 2014 22:35
    Франция,похоже,не прочь снова стать колониальной державой в прежних размерах
  8. Dart2027 28 августа 2014 23:24
    Передовая западная экономика, на которую у нас молятся со времён декабристов, основана на грабеже колоний. Без колоний она нежизнеспособна.
  9. Ментор (Александр Кулькин) 28 августа 2014 23:28
    Цитата: rugor
    Нищета - идеальная почва для исламистов. Западу нужно не войска вводить, а прекращать грабить Африку и не только её. Паразиты!

    Чем больше нищих в регионе, тем больше влияние исламистов. Чем больше влияние исламистов - тем больше нужно войск в том регионе. А войскам тебуется оружие, питание, и тем самым больше прибылей у метрополии...
  10. el.krokodil (Геннадий Иванович) 29 августа 2014 00:16
    Цитата: психолог
    .....так и осталась банановой!!!

    мали французам нужен чтобы войска имели источник боевого опыта..маленькая контролируемая и вялотекущая война.. soldier
  11. mig31 (никодай) 29 августа 2014 02:44
    Африка сегодня - полигон для испытаний всех видов оружия и васех родов войск, включая и бактерологическое, для англосаксов и европы....
  12. rotmistr60 (Геннадий) 29 августа 2014 03:52
    Франция своими действиями в том же Мали уподобилась а.мерам. Там где войска отстаивают "демократию", там развал страны, кровь, напряженность в регионе.
  13. Lyton (Александр.) 29 августа 2014 05:41
    Как были папуасами так и остались, дай волю всех не мусульман перебьют, так хоть армия порядок или видимость его поддерживает.
  14. VNP1958PVN 29 августа 2014 05:42
    Мали-Сомали-у нас то ближе к сердцу события происходят! Как там наши-вот в чём вопрос. Что-то ВВП урков типа "невиноватая я" делает?
Картина дня