US strengthened in Uzbekistan

US strengthened in Uzbekistan



Assumptions that the United States intends to transfer part of its military infrastructure from Afghanistan to Central Asia are finding more and more evidence. First of all, Americans are interested in three countries - Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan. It is enough to compare the intensity of contacts with Uzbekistan by Russian and American diplomats to understand who Tashkent prefers.

The visits of the American delegations recently follow one after the other. On May 11, Uzbekistan was visited by the Special Representative of the NATO Secretary General for the Caucasus and Central Asia, J. Appathurai, who held meetings in Parliament, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Defense. 12 in May at the Uzbek Foreign Ministry held a meeting with a delegation of the US Department of State, led by Michael Stafford, coordinator of the Anti-Proliferation Initiative (NSOI) program. weapons mass destruction. On May 20, Uzbek diplomats held talks with a delegation led by US Special Representative for Afghanistan and Pakistan, Mark Grossman. 30 in May at the Uzbek Foreign Ministry held a meeting with the Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for South and Central Asian Affairs Susan Elliot. On May 31, President I. Karimov received Denis McDona, Deputy Advisor to the President of the United States for National Security. June 3 Uzbekistan was visited by United States Chargé d'Affaires, Duan Butcher. On July 1, Lori Bristow, Director of the Eastern Europe and Central Asia Department of Foreign Affairs, was received at the Foreign Office On the same day, a meeting was held with the new US ambassador to Uzbekistan, George Krol, who handed over copies of credentials to Uzbek diplomats. On July 4, George Krol again visited the republic’s foreign affairs agency, and on July 5 a delegation led by Deputy Assistant Secretary of State Kurt Amend arrived in Uzbekistan. On July 7, Tashkent was visited by an American delegation led by Senior Grove of the Subcommittee on State and Foreign Operations of the US Senate Paul Grove.

Over the last two months, the envoys of Washington and London have held 11 meetings in Uzbekistan at the level of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and / or the President. The Russian ambassador to Uzbekistan, Vladimir Tyurdenev, during the same time, held meetings with the Uzbek authorities on 4 (May 25, June 6, 10 and June 20). In addition, the Director of the Federal Service for Military-Technical Cooperation of the Russian Federation, Mikhail A. Dmitriev, visited Uzbekistan 27-28 on June. He was received by President Islam Karimov and then held talks with First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance R.S. .Azimov, Secretary of the National Security Council M.I. Ataev and Minister of Defense K.R. Berdiev. However, even with this visit, the intensity of Russia's contacts with Uzbekistan has recently been twice as low as with the United States and Britain.

In June, Russian President D. Medvedev visited Uzbekistan, but he was covered very little. 10 June on the official website of the Uzbek Foreign Ministry posted a message that "at the invitation of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan Islam Karimov, President of the Russian Federation Dmitry Medvedev 13-14 June 2011 will visit Uzbekistan on a working visit." The President of the Russian Federation flew to the Tashkent airport, met with President of Uzbekistan I. Karimov at the airport and immediately flew back. Nothing is known about the content of these talks.

Uzbekistan traditionally plays a key role in a number of US infrastructure projects in Afghanistan. The last of them is the launch of the first Hairaton-Mazar-i-Sharif railway in Afghanistan built by the Uzbek Railways. It will connect the Hairaton station on the Uzbek-Afghan border and the airport in Mazar-i-Sharif. Initially, this railroad will carry out the “transportation of a wide variety of goods of various weights,” and with time passenger traffic will be established. The road, built thanks to the Asian Development Bank loan of $ 165 million, is intended to supply NATO troops in Afghanistan. Problems with the United States and Pakistan and the activation of the Taliban complicate the southern supply route, and the Northern Supply Network, which passes through Russia and the countries of Central Asia, remains the only supply chain.

At the beginning of 2011, Deputy Secretary of State for South and Central Asian Affairs Robert Blake, speaking at the J. Baker III Institute for Public Policy at the University of Houston, Texas, spoke of Central Asia as vital for the United States, which, having borders with Afghanistan, China, Russia and Iran, should be taken under control by the United States. The central role here, as Z. Brzezinski noted in the “Great Chessboard,” is played by Uzbekistan, to which the main efforts of American diplomacy are directed.

The intensification of diplomatic contacts between the USA and Uzbekistan is taking place against the backdrop of a clear cooling of Russian-Uzbek relations. According to the Regnum news agency, citing an unnamed source in the Russian Foreign Ministry, the President of Uzbekistan twice during telephone conversations with Dmitry Medvedev raised the question of the possibility of a state visit to the Russian Federation. However, Russia has not yet responded to his initiative. Recently, several Russian companies have turned their business in Uzbekistan - the Wim-Bill-Dann company, the Book World chain of stores. In early June, the United Aircraft Corporation announced the termination of cooperation with Tashkent aviation production association named after V.P. Chkalov (TAPOiCH), which was the leading enterprise in the Soviet era for the production of military transport aircraft Il-76. Only cooperation in the oil and gas sector is developing relatively successfully so far, which, along with cotton exports, is the main source of foreign exchange earnings for Uzbekistan.

The final withdrawal of Russia from Uzbekistan, and in the future - from Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan and the transition of these countries under the protectorate of the United States will create a new dividing line in Eurasia, which will run along the southern border of Kazakhstan. On one side of it will be the former Soviet republics of Central Asia, and on the other - the member states of the Customs Union - Russia, Kazakhstan, Belarus ...
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Ivan35
    Ivan35 22 July 2011 12: 24 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Just terrible news! It turns out I will live on the border with a likely enemy! But in the Soviet Union it was like a rear (apart from the Chinese threat of course after the 60s)
  2. Marat
    Marat 24 July 2011 00: 27 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    This must not be allowed! It will be a huge loss! Of course, we cannot accept them in the CU and CES for the time being due to the gap in the development of economies and the standard of living of the population - but we must leave these republics under the influence and control of the CSTO.

    Kyrgyzstan will be especially sorry - the people there are pro-Russian, originally “Eurasian” - the nomadic steppes are the same as the Kazakhs Bashkirs Tatars, their roots here and not in the south. Due to a lack of resources, we can leave the fraternal people “overboard”. They generally need to be organized as money - to provide with sound leadership and to accept both in the Customs Union and in the Common Economic Space, and further on catching up with our republics. Strategically, it will pay off. I think it would be possible to spend part of Kazakhstan’s oil super-profits on this holy cause.

    Down with the Pindos from here! Central Asia is the zone of influence of Russia !.
  3. mark021105 28 October 2011 22: 30 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Central Asia should not be a zone of influence, but a TERRITORY of the Russian Federation.
  4. the gray wolf
    the gray wolf 28 June 2012 21: 19 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Uzbekistan suspends membership in CSTO - sourcehttp: //ria.ru/defense_safety/20120628/687171748.html

США укрепляются в Узбекистане

3
США укрепляются в Узбекистане


Предположения о том, что США намерены перенести часть своей военной инфраструктуры из Афганистана в Центральную Азию, находят все больше подтверждений. В первую очередь американцев интересуют три страны – Таджикистан, Узбекистан и Киргизия. Достаточно сравнить интенсивность контактов с Узбекистаном российских и американских дипломатов, чтобы понять, кому Ташкент отдаёт предпочтение.

Визиты американских делегаций в последнее время следуют один за другим. 11 мая Узбекистан посетил специальный представитель генерального секретаря НАТО по странам Кавказа и Центральной Азии Дж. Аппатурай, который провел встречи в парламенте, министерстве иностранных дел и обороны. 12 мая в узбекском МИДе состоялась встреча с делегацией Госдепартамента США во главе с координатором программы «Инициатива по борьбе с ядерной контрабандой» (NSOI) Майклом Стаффордом, посвященная совместной борьбе с распространением оружия массового уничтожения. 20 мая узбекские дипломаты провели переговоры с делегацией, возглавляемой спецпредставителем США по Афганистану и Пакистану Марком Гроссманом. 30 мая в узбекском МИДе состоялась встреча с заместителем помощника госсекретаря США по делам Южной и Центральной Азии Сьюзан Эллиот. 31 мая президент И. Каримов принял заместителя советника президента США по национальной безопасности Дениса Макдону. 3 июня Узбекистан посетил временный поверенный в делах Соединенных Штатов Америки Дуан Бутчер. 1 июля в МИДе был принят директор управления Восточной Европы и Центральной Азии внешнеполитического ведомства Великобритании Лори Бристоу. В тот же день состоялась встреча с новым послом США в Узбекистане Джорджем Кролом, передавшим узбекским дипломатам копии верительных грамот. 4 июля Джордж Крол вновь посетил внешнеполитическое ведомство республики, а 5 июля в Узбекистан прибыла делегация во главе с заместителем помощника госсекретаря США Куртом Амендом. 7 июля Ташкент посетила американская делегация во главе со старшим сотрудником подкомитета по ассигнованиям государственных и зарубежных операций Сената Конгресса США Полом Гроувом.

За два последних месяца посланцы Вашингтона и Лондона провели в Узбекистане 11 встреч на уровне министерства иностранных дел и/или президента. Российский посол в Узбекистане Владимир Тюрденев за это же время провел с узбекскими властями 4 встречи (25 мая, 6, 10 и 20 июня). Кроме того, 27-28 июня Узбекистан посетил директор Федеральной службы по военно-техническому сотрудничеству РФ М.А.Дмитриев, который был принят президентом И.А.Каримовым, а затем провел переговоры с первым заместителем премьер-министра, министром финансов Р.С.Азимовым, секретарём Совета национальной безопасности М.И. Атаевым и министром обороны К.Р.Бердиевым. Однако даже с учетом этого визита интенсивность контактов России с Узбекистаном в последнее время в два раза ниже, чем с США и Британией.

В июне состоялся визит в Узбекистан президента России Д. Медведева, однако освещался он крайне мало. 10 июня на официальном сайте узбекского МИДа было размещено сообщение о том, что «по приглашению Президента Республики Узбекистан Ислама Каримова Президент Российской Федерации Дмитрий Медведев 13-14 июня 2011 года посетит Узбекистан с рабочим визитом». Президент РФ прилетел в ташкентский аэропорт, в аэропорту встретился с президентом Узбекистана И. Каримовым и сразу улетел обратно. О содержании этих переговоров ничего не известно.

Узбекистан традиционно играет ключевую роль в ряде инфраструктурных проектов США в Афганистане. Последний из них – запуск первой в Афганистане железной дороги Хайратон - Мазари-Шариф, построенной «Узбекскими железными дорогами». Она соединит станцию Хайратон на узбекско-афганской границе и аэропорт в городе Мазари-Шариф. Вначале по этой железной дороге будет осуществляться «транспортировка самых разнообразных грузов различной тяжести», а со временем будут налажены и пассажирские перевозки. Дорога, сооружённая благодаря кредиту Азиатского банка развития в $165 млн., предназначается для снабжения войск НАТО в Афганистане. Проблемы в отношениях США с Пакистаном и активизация талибов осложняют работу южного маршрута поставок, и единственным каналов снабжения остается «Северная сеть поставок», проходящая через Россию и страны Центральной Азии.

В начале 2011 г. заместитель госсекретаря США по делам Южной и Центральной Азии Роберт Блейк, выступая с речью в Институте государственной политики имени Дж. Бейкера III при университете Хьюстона, штат Техас, говорил о Центральной Азии как о жизненно важном для США регионе, который, имея границы с Афганистаном, Китаем, Россией и Ираном, должен быть взят под контроль Соединенными Штатами. Центральную роль здесь, как отмечал еще З. Бжезинский в «Великой шахматной доске», играет Узбекистан, на который и направлены основные усилия американской дипломатии.

Активизация дипломатических контактов США и Узбекистана происходит на фоне явного охлаждения российско-узбекских отношений. По данным информационного агентства «Регнум», ссылающегося на неназванный источник в российском МИДе, президент Узбекистана дважды во время телефонных разговоров с Дмитрием Медведевым ставил вопрос о возможности государственного визита в РФ. Однако Россия на его инициативу пока не отреагировала. В последнее время свой бизнес в Узбекистане свернули несколько российских компаний – компания «Вим-Биль-Данн», сеть магазинов «Книжный мир». В начале июня «Объединенная авиастроительная корпорация» объявила о прекращении сотрудничества с Ташкентским авиационным производственным объединением имени В.П.Чкалова (ТАПОиЧ), являвшимся в советское время головным предприятием по выпуску военно-транспортных самолетов Ил-76. Сравнительно успешно развивается пока лишь сотрудничество в нефтегазовой сфере, которая наряду с экспортом хлопка является для Узбекистана основным источником валютных поступлений.

Окончательный уход России из Узбекистана, а в перспективе – из Киргизии и Таджикистана и переход этих стран под протекторат США создаст в Евразии новую разделительную линию, которая пройдет по южной границе Казахстана. По одну ее сторону окажутся бывшие советские республики Средней Азии, а по другую - государства-члены Таможенного союза - Россия, Казахстан, Белоруссия…
Наши новостные каналы

Подписывайтесь и будьте в курсе свежих новостей и важнейших событиях дня.

3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Иван35
    +1
    22 июля 2011 12:24
    Просто жуткие новости! Получается я буду жить на границе с вероятным противником! А ведь при ссср это был как бы тыл (не считая конечно китайской угрозы после 60-х)
  2. Marat
    +1
    24 июля 2011 00:27
    Нельзя допустить этого! Это будет огромный проигрыш! Конечно мы не можем пока принять их в ТС и ЕЭП по причине разрыва в развитии экономик и уровня жизни населения - но мы обязаны оставить эти республики под влиянием и контролем одкб.

    Особенно будет жаль Киргизию - народ там пророссийский, исконно "евразийский" - степняки кочевники - такие же как казахи башкиры татары, их корни здесь а не на юге. Из за нехватки ресурсов мы можем оставить "за бортом" братский народ. Их вообще надо как будут деньги организовать - снабдить вменяемым руководством и принимать и в тс и в еэп и далее по догоняющей за нашими республиками. Стратегически это окупится. Я считаю можно было бы потратить на это святое дело часть нефтяных супердоходов Казахстана .

    Долой пиндосов отсюда! Средняя азия зона влияния России!.
  3. +2
    28 октября 2011 22:30
    Средняя Азия должна быть не зоной влияния, а ТЕРРИТОРИЕЙ Российской Федерации.
  4. Boz Qurd
    +1
    28 июня 2012 21:19
    Узбекистан приостанавливает членство в ОДКБ - источникhttp://ria.ru/defense_safety/20120628/687171748.html

«Правый сектор» (запрещена в России), «Украинская повстанческая армия» (УПА) (запрещена в России), ИГИЛ (запрещена в России), «Джабхат Фатх аш-Шам» бывшая «Джабхат ан-Нусра» (запрещена в России), «Талибан» (запрещена в России), «Аль-Каида» (запрещена в России), «Фонд борьбы с коррупцией» (запрещена в России), «Штабы Навального» (запрещена в России), Facebook (запрещена в России), Instagram (запрещена в России), Meta (запрещена в России), «Misanthropic Division» (запрещена в России), «Азов» (запрещена в России), «Братья-мусульмане» (запрещена в России), «Аум Синрике» (запрещена в России), АУЕ (запрещена в России), УНА-УНСО (запрещена в России), Меджлис крымскотатарского народа (запрещена в России), легион «Свобода России» (вооруженное формирование, признано в РФ террористическим и запрещено)

«Некоммерческие организации, незарегистрированные общественные объединения или физические лица, выполняющие функции иностранного агента», а так же СМИ, выполняющие функции иностранного агента: «Медуза»; «Голос Америки»; «Реалии»; «Настоящее время»; «Радио свободы»; Пономарев Лев; Пономарев Илья; Савицкая; Маркелов; Камалягин; Апахончич; Макаревич; Дудь; Гордон; Жданов; Медведев; Федоров; Михаил Касьянов; «Сова»; «Альянс врачей»; «РКК» «Центр Левады»; «Мемориал»; «Голос»; «Человек и Закон»; «Дождь»; «Медиазона»; «Deutsche Welle»; СМК «Кавказский узел»; «Insider»; «Новая газета»