Military Review

Striving for national unity

15
The American government is confident that people are happy if the government gives them the right to life, freedom, and allows them to strive for happiness, subject to the consent of the electorate "to vote for idlers." Publicist Pascal-Emmanuel Gobry writes about this, adding that the government forgets: people want more and more awareness of national status, they want statehood. On the example of what is happening in Ukraine, this is especially clearly seen.

Striving for national unity


Pascal Emmanuel Gobry is an entrepreneur and writer from Paris. He writes for various popular publications: Forbes, The Atlantic, Commentary Magazine, The Daily Beast, The Federalist, Quartz and many others. 29 August his article on the Russian-Ukrainian issue was published in "The Week".

Already in the title, the central idea of ​​the essay comes through: the West must cede the east of Ukraine to Russia.

As Gobry points out, Putin’s Russia "seems to have finally launched its real invasion of Ukraine." Therefore, many “rightly outraged American lawmakers”, the author ironically, will certainly be ready to “stop Russia” (but “not at any cost”). Ukraine, the journalist writes with even greater irony, is “a sovereign state, and the invasion of sovereign countries is bad (unless you are the United States)”.

However, here, the journalist believes, the main thing is missing. The United States is blind to the issue of national status (nationhood), he said. In the US, it seems accepted to think that as long as people have access to “life, freedom and the pursuit of happiness,” which the government gives them (“and at the same time low taxes and the ability to vote for idlers”), they are “happy ". In fact, people want something else from their government: statehood.

This concept is quite complicated. Every nation defines it for itself, and often “implicitly,” the author believes. For some countries, statehood is closely intertwined with ethnicity. Other countries associate it with the territory. Others focus on language, culture and history. Most of the countries, the journalist continues, conclude in this notion a “mysterious combination” of all the listed elements. And here the author notes that the USA is almost the only country that believes (at least officially) that its statehood is fundamentally determined by a “set of legal norms”.

Meanwhile, Gobry says, peoples have a soul, desires, fears and want unity. That is why Charles de Gaulle never mentioned the name "Soviet Union", but said: "Russia". He believed that the Politburo did not adhere to a real communist ideology, but rather acted on national interests. As for Stalin, he did only what Peter the Great would have done in similar circumstances.

American blindness in the important issue of statehood has created a catastrophe in the form of war in Iraq. The problem with the American government is that Iraq has never been a nation. The Iraqis were not happy to receive "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness," because they were not one people. Iraqis are an “agglomeration of nations” and a religious mixture of Sunnis and Shiites. And there are also Kurds. Now, many people understand that Iraq is a kind of state fiction, but in fact a free "confederation of autonomous Kurdish areas, as well as Sunni and Shiite enclaves." It took ten years for the US government to shed Iraqi blood to finally learn this basic historical rule, the author writes.

All this brings us to Ukraine, the journalist continues. “Ukraine is a nation?” He asks. Well, yes, there is such a nation, he answers himself (although, somehow, hesitantly). But the problem (“as it often happens in Eastern Europe”) is that “although there is a Ukrainian nation, the borders of the state of Ukraine do not coincide with it”. The journalist is in a hurry to add that this, of course, is a “gross simplification.”

He lays out Ukrainian solitaire like this: the inhabitants of the western part of the country are largely “Ukrainophones” (and not Russian-speaking), they are pro-European and pro-Western-minded people. Ukrainians from the eastern part of the country are mostly Russian-speaking and pro-Russian. The Crimea peninsula has historically been a part of Russia (since the 18th century, the journalist reminds) and was given to Ukraine by Khrushchev (Kruschchev), which was "a completely symbolic gesture, since Ukraine was under the control of the Soviet Union." “The election of Viktor Yanukovych as president in 2010,” writes Gobry, “proves that Russophilism has real popular support in Ukraine and is not organized by Moscow’s machinations.”

The “Ukrainian crisis” the West has been observing for ten years now - since the Orange Revolution 2004. And every winter the battle is “flared up” because of the gas issue. In fact, there is a broad national struggle: two people are fighting among themselves, being in the same team, in one state, and each people are pulling the cart towards one of the two main blocks of the European continent.

As for the USA and the EU, they have shown incompetence over this decade, the author gently notes. If they were competent, the EU and NATO would create their institutions in Ukraine so that they could resist Russia, or at least they could tie Ukraine to the Western bloc. But now it's too late.

Just like in Iraq, this crisis will continue for another decade or more. It will continue until its cause is eliminated. Ukraine today is a “two-nation-in-one-state”. Many Ukrainians feel Russia as their home, and many want their country to become part of the Euro-American West.

What conclusion does the publicist make?

The answer is clear, says Gobry. The West must come to an agreement with Russia, as a result of which Ukraine will be divided into two parts. Russian-speaking areas will join Russia. And this is not at all a “concession for fear of Russia,” since “many in the Kremlin” would not want such a deal. After all, the entry of even the “remnant” of Ukraine into NATO will mean the end of Russia's ambitions beyond its state (at least in the foreseeable future), and Russian politicians are very keen to have a “buffer” between Russia and the NATO countries.

The best offers, the journalist summarizes, are those in which “both parties get more than they expected.” True, for this and have to give more than provided. Therefore, a solution of this kind would be difficult for Washington, Brussels, Kiev and Moscow.

Recall in conclusion that many analysts and political analysts had previously spoken about the split scenario into two parts of Ukraine. However, the United States, the European Union and “official Kiev” invariably declared the “territorial integrity” of Ukraine and the inadmissibility of encroachments on its sovereignty, and Kiev politicians have not yet retreated from the idea of ​​“returning Crimea”. Western sanctions against Russia are a complete contradiction of the idea voiced by the writer from Paris.

Observed and translated by Oleg Chuvakin
- especially for topwar.ru
Photos used:
https://theweek.com
15 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Vend
    Vend 3 September 2014 09: 40
    +3
    The preparation for the section begins. It is logical and predictable.
    1. Imperialkolorad
      Imperialkolorad 3 September 2014 09: 47
      0
      You will see, as with Poland, sections 2 and 3.
  2. Karlsonn
    Karlsonn 3 September 2014 09: 41
    +12
    Thanks Oleg for the article, it seems they are beginning to suspect something.

    Top of Saur Graves. (Clickable)
    1. Mart
      3 September 2014 09: 45
      +1
      Quote: Karlsonn
      Thanks Oleg for the article, it seems they are beginning to suspect something.

      Hi, buddy Alex! Tomorrow there will be more material about Ukraine and the West. About insights and suspicions ...
      1. Karlsonn
        Karlsonn 3 September 2014 11: 59
        +5
        Quote: Mart
        Hi buddy Alexey!


        Greetings! hi As always, I look forward to it. drinks

        1-th September Ukraine, 1-th lesson in the temporarily occupied territories.

        wassat
        1. IAlex
          IAlex 3 September 2014 17: 19
          +2
          Now the fingerprints of the SBU will establish the identities of these two Putin who are GRU colonels who invaded the territory of occupied Ukraine ...
  3. Fear
    Fear 3 September 2014 09: 41
    +4
    in November, I came across this video! Scenario - Be!
  4. air wolf
    air wolf 3 September 2014 09: 46
    0
    Only Odessa and our Moldova should not be forgotten! And everything will be a bunch and this "fucking" bridge will not be needed.
  5. parusnik
    parusnik 3 September 2014 09: 56
    0
    The answer is clear, says Gobri. The West must come to an agreement with Russia, as a result of which Ukraine will be divided into two parts.
    ..And if possible immediately, but not in parts.
    - Maybe you still take parts? asked the vengeful Balaganov. Ostap carefully looked at the interlocutor and answered quite seriously:
    - I would take it in parts. But I need to immediately. Balaganov wanted to joke about this phrase, but, raising his eyes to Ostap, immediately stopped short.
    I. Ilf, E. Petrov. Golden calf
  6. Snoop
    Snoop 3 September 2014 10: 31
    0
    The West may go to the partition of Ukraine in connection with the success of the army of New Russia. But will Moscow do that?)
  7. KBR109
    KBR109 3 September 2014 11: 45
    0
    If the section takes place in reality, then Kiev will not have a place on the political map.
  8. Anchonsha
    Anchonsha 3 September 2014 12: 19
    0
    Well, yes, as it was supposed at the very beginning, that Ukraine will be divided into several pieces, and what will not even be predicted by Wange later. This was achieved by the scum oligarchs and allowed by the stupid presidents of Ukraine with the help of the bloodthirsty West.
  9. aszzz888
    aszzz888 3 September 2014 12: 46
    0
    Interestingly, what will they do with Catalonia, which will leave Spain in the spring of 2015?
    That same will bomb, in the American democratic order throughout the world?
    1. Edvagan
      Edvagan 3 September 2014 14: 10
      0
      burn protesting Catalans in the cathedral of Grand Familia
  10. A1L9E4K9S
    A1L9E4K9S 3 September 2014 13: 12
    +1
    And Russian politicians just want to have Ukraine as a buffer between NATO and Russia.

    No, Russia wants to have a buffer on one side of the English Channel, on the other hand the state of Canada, that’s more true.
  11. Serafimov
    Serafimov 3 September 2014 13: 40
    0
    To drive away all the non-whale wake-potreots to the Lviv region. Derive everything valuable from there: industry, specialists, equipment. Give Lviv to Poland, they will only be glad, they will not notice the catch. When the patient has a rotted leg, the doctor does not kill the patient, the doctor cuts off the leg.
  12. Wladimir71
    Wladimir71 3 September 2014 19: 43
    0
    Blood will continue to pour, this war is very beneficial for NATO. Namely the dollar. New weapons, development grants, new strategies and plans, exercises. All these are goods with the highest added value, and most importantly there is a reason. Europe needs to make an offer that it cannot refuse, gas to those who do not have NATO bases. TOOKO friends. Who has the base is drowned from them. Otherwise, we kirdyk.
    Economics is energy, as if to strangle the economies of NATO countries and breathe, the defense then draws our resources.
    1. 225chay
      225chay 4 September 2014 06: 55
      0
      Quote: Wladimir71
      Blood will continue to pour, this war is very beneficial for NATO.


      Moreover, it has long been planned by the "Committee of 300" with the aim of partition and subsequent destruction of Russia

Стремление к национальному единству

Американское правительство уверено, что люди счастливы в том случае, если власть даёт им право на жизнь, свободу и разрешает стремиться к счастью при условии согласия электората «проголосовать за бездельников». Об этом пишет публицист Паскаль-Эммануэль Гобри, добавляя, что правительство забывает: люди хотят ещё и осознания национального статуса, хотят государственности. На примере того, что происходит на Украине, это особенно хорошо видно.

Стремление к национальному единству


Паскаль-Эммануэль Гобри — предприниматель и писатель из Парижа. Он пишет для разных популярных изданий: «Forbes», «The Atlantic», «Commentary Magazine», «The Daily Beast», «The Federalist», «Quartz» и многих других. 29 августа его статья, посвящённая российско-украинскому вопросу, вышла в «The Week».


Уже в самом заголовке сквозит центральная мысль эссе: Запад должен уступить восток Украины России.

Как указывает Гобри, путинская Россия, «кажется, наконец, запустила своё настоящее вторжение на Украину». Поэтому многие «справедливо возмущённые американские законодатели», иронизирует автор, безусловно, будут готовы «остановить Россию» (но «не любой ценой»). Украина, пишет ещё с большей иронией публицист, — это «суверенное государство, а вторжение в суверенные страны — это плохо (если только вы — не Соединенные Штаты)».

Однако здесь, считает журналист, упущено главное. Соединённые Штаты слепы в вопросе национального статуса (nationhood), считает он. В США принято, кажется, думать, что до тех пор, пока людям там доступны «жизнь, свобода и стремление к счастью», которые им даёт правительство («а заодно — низкие налоги и «возможность голосовать за бездельников»), они «счастливы». На самом же деле люди хотят ещё кое-чего от своего правительства: государственности.

Это понятие довольно сложное. Каждый народ определяет его для себя, и часто «неявно», считает автор. Для одних стран государственность тесно переплетена с этнической принадлежностью. Другие страны связывают её с территорией. Третьи делают упор на язык, культуру и историю. Большинство же стран, продолжает журналист, заключает в указанное понятие «загадочное сочетание» всех перечисленных элементов. И тут автор отмечает, что США — чуть ли не единственная страна, верящая (по крайней мере, официально) в то, что её государственность принципиально определяется «набором правовых норм».

Между тем, говорит Гобри, народы имеют душу, желания, страхи и хотят единства. Вот почему Шарль де Голль никогда не упоминал названия «Советский Союз», а говорил: «Россия». Он полагал, что Политбюро не придерживалось настоящей коммунистической идеологии, а скорее действовало по национальным интересам. Что касается Сталина, то он сделал лишь то, что сделал бы и Пётр Великий в аналогичных обстоятельствах.

Американская слепота в важном вопросе государственности породила катастрофу в виде войны в Ираке. Проблема американского правительства в том, что Ирак никогда не был нацией. Иракцы не стали счастливы, получив «жизнь, свободу и стремление к счастью», поскольку не были единым народом. Иракцы — это «агломерация наций» и религиозная смесь суннитов и шиитов. А там ещё и курды. Теперь-то многие понимают, что Ирак — это нечто вроде государственной фикции, а на деле свободная «конфедерация автономных курдских областей, а также суннитских и шиитских анклавов». Десять лет потребовалось американскому правительству проливать иракскую кровь, чтобы усвоить наконец это основное историческое правило, пишет автор.

Всё это подводит нас к Украине, продолжает журналист. «Украина — нация?» — задаёт он вопрос. Ну да, есть такая нация, отвечает он себе (правда, как-то неуверенно). Но проблема («как это часто случается в Восточной Европе») состоит в том, что «хотя и есть украинская нация, границы государства Украина с ней не совпадают». Журналист спешит добавить, что это, конечно, «грубое упрощение».

Украинский пасьянс он раскладывает так: жители западной части страны во многом «украинофоны» (а не русскоязычные), они — проевропейски и прозападно настроенные люди. Украинцы из восточной части страны — в основном русскоязычные и пророссийские. Полуостров Крым исторически был частью России (с XVIII века, напоминает журналист) и был отдан Украине Хрущёвым (Kruschchev), что представляло собой «совершенно символический жест, поскольку Украина была под контролем Советского Союза». «Избрание Виктора Януковича президентом в 2010 году, — пишет Гобри, — доказывает, что русофильство имеет реальную народную поддержку на Украине и не организовывается путём московских махинаций».

«Украинский кризис» Запад наблюдает уже десять лет — со времён Оранжевой революции 2004 года. И каждую зиму «разгорается битва» из-за газового вопроса. На деле же идёт широкая национальная борьба: два народа бьются между собой, находясь в одной упряжке, в одном государстве, и каждый народ тянет повозку в сторону одного из двух основных блоков европейского континента.

Что касается США и ЕС, то они за это десятилетие проявили некомпетентность, мягко замечает автор. Будь они компетентны, ЕС и НАТО создали бы свои институты на Украине таким образом, чтобы те могли бы противостоять России, или, по крайней мере, могли бы привязать Украину к западному блоку. Но теперь уже поздно.

Так же, как в Ираке, этот кризис будет продолжаться в течение ещё одного десятилетия или даже больше. Он будет идти до тех пор, пока не будет устранена его причина. Украина сегодня — это «две-нации-в-одном-государстве». Многие украинцы чувствуют своими домом Россию, а многие хотят, чтобы их страна стала частью евроамериканского Запада.

Какой же вывод делает публицист?

Ответ ясен, считает Гобри. Запад должен прийти к соглашению с Россией, в результате которого Украина будет разделена на две части. Русскоязычные области присоединятся к России. И это вовсе не «уступка из страха к России», поскольку «многие в Кремле» не хотели бы такой сделки. Ведь вступление даже «остатка» Украины в НАТО будет означать конец амбициям России за пределами её государства (по крайней мере, в обозримом будущем), а российские политики как раз очень желают иметь «буфер» между Россией и странами НАТО.

Лучшие предложения, резюмирует журналист, — те, в которых «обе стороны получают больше, чем ожидали». Правда, для этого и отдать приходится больше предусмотренного. Поэтому решение такого рода тяжело бы далось Вашингтону, Брюсселю, Киеву и Москве.

Напомним в заключение, что о сценарии раскола на две части Украины ранее высказывались многие аналитики и политологи. Однако США, Евросоюз и «официальный Киев» неизменно заявляли о «территориальной целостности» Украины и недопустимости посягательств на её суверенитет, а киевские политики до сих пор не отступились от идеи «вернуть Крым». Западные же санкции против России представляют собой полное противоречие той идее, которую озвучил писатель из Парижа.

Обозревал и переводил Олег Чувакин
— специально для topwar.ru

Использованы фотографии: https://theweek.com

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 15
  1. Венд 3 сентября 2014 09:40
    Начинается подготовка к разделу. Вполне логично и предсказуемо.
    1. ImperialKolorad 3 сентября 2014 09:47
      Глядишь будет как и с Польшей 2 и 3 раздел.
  2. Karlsonn 3 сентября 2014 09:41
    Спасибо Олег за статью, кажется они что-то начинают подозревать.

    Вершина Саур-Могилы.(кликабельно)
    1. Mart 3 сентября 2014 09:45
      Цитата: Karlsonn
      Спасибо Олег за статью, кажется они что-то начинают подозревать.

      Привет, дружище Алексей! Завтра будет ещё материал об Украине и Западе. О прозрениях и подозрениях...
      1. Karlsonn 3 сентября 2014 11:59
        Цитата: Mart
        Привет, дружище Алексей!


        Приветствую! hi Как всегда с нетерпением жду. drinks

        1-е сентября Украина, 1-й урок на временно оккупированных территориях.

        wassat
        1. IAlex 3 сентября 2014 17:19
          Сейчас по отпечаткам пальцев СБУ установит личности этих двух Путиных которые являются полковниками ГРУ вторгшимися на территорию оккупированную украины...
  3. Strah 3 сентября 2014 09:41
    в ноябре я наткнулся на это видео! Сценарию - Быть!
  4. air wolf 3 сентября 2014 09:46
    Только надо Одессу и нашу Молдову не забыть! И все будет пучком и этот мост "на хрен" не нужен будет.
  5. parusnik 3 сентября 2014 09:56
    Ответ ясен, считает Гобри. Запад должен прийти к соглашению с Россией, в результате которого Украина будет разделена на две части.
    ..И по возможности сразу, а не частями.
    - Может, все-таки возьмете частями? - спросил мстительный Балаганов. Остап внимательно посмотрел на собеседника и совершенно серьезно ответил:
    - Я бы взял частями. Но мне нужно сразу. Балаганов хотел было пошутить по поводу и этой фразы, но, подняв глаза на Остапа, сразу осекся.
    И.Ильф ,Е.Петров. Золотой Телёнок
  6. Snoop 3 сентября 2014 10:31
    Запад может пойти на раздел Украины в связи с успехами армии Новороссии. Но пойдет ли на это Москва?)
  7. KBR109 3 сентября 2014 11:45
    Если раздел состоится в реальности то Киеву места на политической карте не останется.
  8. Anchonsha 3 сентября 2014 12:19
    Ну да, как и предполагалось в самом начале, что Украина разделится на несколько кусков, а что будет потом не предсказать даже Ванге. Этого добились мерзавцы олигархи и допустили неумные президенты Украины с помощью кровожадного Запада.
  9. a.s.zzz888 3 сентября 2014 12:46
    Интересно,а как-же поступят с Каталонией, которая весной 2015 г. будет выходить из Испании?
    То-же будут бомбить, по-американскому демократическому порядку во всем мире?
    1. Edvagan 3 сентября 2014 14:10
      сжигать протестующих каталонцев в соборе Гранда Фамилия
  10. A1L9E4K9S 3 сентября 2014 13:12
    А российкие политики как раз хотят иметь буфером Украину между НАТО и Россией.

    Да нет,Россия желает иметь буфер с одной стороны пролив Ла Манш,с другой стороны государство Канаду,вот так будет вернее.
  11. Serafimov 3 сентября 2014 13:40
    Согнать всех неитовых укро-потреотов во Львовскую область. Вывести оттуда всё ценное: промышленность, специалистов, оборудование. Отдать Львов Польше, они только рады будут, не заметят подвоха. Когда у поциента сгнила нога, врач поциента не убивает, врач отрезает ногу.
  12. Wladimir71 3 сентября 2014 19:43
    Кровь так и будет литься, эта война очень выгодна для нато. А именно доллару. Новое оружие, гранты на разработку, новые стратегии и планы, учения. Всё это товары с высочайшей надбавленной стоимостью а главное есть повод. Европе нужно сделать предложение от которого она не сможет отказаться, газ тому кто не имеет баз нато. ТОООКО друзьям. Кто имеет базы тот и топится от них. Иначе нам кирдык.
    Экономика это энергоносители, как бы придушить экономику стран нато и вздохнуть, оборонка то тянет ресурсы и наши.
    Wladimir71
    1. 225chay 4 сентября 2014 06:55
      Цитата: Wladimir71
      Кровь так и будет литься, эта война очень выгодна для нато.


      Мало того, она давно запланирована "Комитетом 300" с целью раздела и последующего уничтожения России
      225chay

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня