Trouble for the USAF from its own politicians




The extremely unfortunate week was for the US Air Force, writes well-known military expert Lauren Thomson, Ph.D. at the USA Lexington Institute, DefPro reports. First of all, the “black” past week for the US Air Force made the senior members of the Senate Commission for the Armed Forces of the state write angry letters to the Pentagon criticizing the current programs designed to completely replace obsolete aircraft in the US Navy.

In one of the letters signed by Karl Levin, chairman of the commission, and John McCain, the oldest member of the Senate commission from the minority party, politicians expressed frank dissatisfaction with the increase in financial costs of the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter (JSF) program, officially launched in 1996, and they demanded to make final calculations in order to stop work on the program in case of unreasonable high cost of aircraft.

F-35 Lightning II is a 5-generation subtle, promising fighter-bomber created by the American company Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company and presented in three versions: for the US Air Force - ground-based fighter - CTOL, for the American Marine Corps - fighter with vertical landing and short take-off - STOVL, for the Royal fleet Britain and the United States Navy - carrier based fighter - CV.

According to most experts, the aircraft does not meet the large number of requirements for the 5 generation fighter and is nothing more than the 4 + generation fighter due to the lack of ability to fly at supersonic speed without the use of an afterburner, relatively high ESR, low thrust ratio, and low survivability and lack of necessary maneuverability. To develop this aircraft for April 2011, more than $ 56 billion has already been spent.

In another letter, which John McCain himself wrote, the politician warns the US Congress not to allow increasing costs, which will later lead to cost overruns under the current KC-46 program, aimed at creating a completely new generation tanker aircraft. These letters extremely outraged Loren Thomson as an expert.

The KC-46 tanker aircraft, he points out, was to replace the existing thousands of planes of a similar type that had been created under President Eisenhower and which are the basis of the modern fleet of aircraft of the US Air Force, according to plans by the US Air Force.

The KC-46 was developed on the basis of the current tanker KC-767, a classic machine of its class, which was created, in turn, on the basis of the version of the 767-200 aircraft. Two economical GE CF6-80C2 turbofan engines allow an aircraft to bring its normal cruising speed (851 km / h) to the highest (915 km / h).

Without adopting new fighter aircraft, the US Air Force gradually risks completely losing the ability to operate effectively in the airspace of a potential enemy. The expert also recalled that the US Air Force began to buy new F-22 fighter jets, but this program was stopped, hardly satisfying even half the needs of the US military. So today, the F-35 program is obliged to bear the brunt of providing the US air force with modern fighters, while there is still time, the author of the article warns about the angry letters of politicians.

It would be difficult to even imagine what would happen if they decide to stop funding two currently important programs to update the US Air Force fleet, it is not clear that the article would be reasonable. The F-35 fighter will need at least a dozen years to reach its current state and many more years to be accepted as a combat unit and eventually it became active on the real battlefield.

Start all over again? This will be the collapse of all the ideas of the United States to have superiority in the airspace over such rapidly developing countries as, for example, China. It is not even about losing the billions of dollars already spent.

Such a regression in the modernization of the US Air Force is just the last episode in the endless saga of the struggle to improve the US flight service, left alone with the outdated technology of the Cold War years. Most aspirations to acquire a modern aircraft for the US Air Force end in failure. Because of this, America is losing its former air superiority. Russia and China are not standing still and are constantly working to improve their aircraft. The United States is simply obliged to continue replacing outdated aircraft with modern ones, before it’s too late, as the result in its article indicates Loren Thomson.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. cVM
    cVM 26 July 2011 11: 18 New
    • -5
    • 0
    -5
    why they are afraid in Russia 2 thousand Soviet-made destroyers with a maximum of 350 newest units and in the USA all new and modern destroyers the number of which reaches 20 thousand 10 times more than in Russia, China has 4 thousand units of its own and conscience production
    1. PIRAT
      PIRAT 26 July 2011 21: 32 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      They may exceed the number of aircraft, but they are definitely not modern. As far as I know, they did not fulfill the F-22 procurement plan and there were some problems with the F-35, for example, they didn’t bomb Libya on modern ones ...
  2. Romich_S1
    Romich_S1 26 July 2011 18: 00 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    cVM! According to Wikipedia, in 2010 the United States had 2158 fighters and 390 attack aircraft at the Air Force and 731 aircraft at the Navy. Where does the number 20 thousand come from? After the victory in the Cold War and against the background of a total reduction in our armed forces, the United States also began to gradually reduce its forces. In addition, the purchase of new aircraft and the modernization of old ones in the United States was almost never carried out. Congress wanted to reduce the already inflated military budget, hoping just on the F-35. This aircraft was scheduled to be delivered as early as 2006 and, taking into account the cost, the F-35s wanted to buy 3200 units for 350 F-22s. But it turned out that F-22 purchased 2 times less, and about 35 already want to buy F-1500 ... So the United States has no quantitative or qualitative advantage over us, and if default breaks out .....
    1. Esso 26 July 2011 19: 05 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Dear, the exact number of military equipment is top secret information. You can’t believe the word Wikipedia in any way. Few people know the exact number of combat equipment. We have so many equipment in the secret warehouses, we don’t know what to do. The exact number is unknown. Do not carry nonsense.
      1. Romich_S1
        Romich_S1 27 July 2011 09: 56 New
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        I read a fairly large number of articles about aviation in Russia and the United States, written by military journalists, analysts and historians, and I have never seen any of them doubt the information about the number of aircraft in these countries. No one said that the number may not be accurate, or it is not known exactly. Moreover, the number of models, modifications and aircraft age is always called. Storage aircraft do exist, but as I understand it, the secret is the place of their deployment and not the quantity.
        1. Esso 27 July 2011 10: 19 New
          • 0
          • 0
          0
          The number is also a secret, journalists write their articles according to data that are not always verified, I also read many articles, but I believe more in familiar military men who say that the number of military equipment is not combat-ready, this information is STATE SECRET. They themselves do not know what, where and how it lies. The United States can merge misinformation simply to mislead a potential adversary.
  3. cVM
    cVM 26 July 2011 19: 05 New
    • -6
    • 0
    -6
    do you think the default will be? Yes, if there will be a default, it’s not the current in the USA, but the whole world will turn up, the USA is the greatest economy. I had in mind 20 thousand not only transport attack helicopters, UAVs, etc. Aviation in a word, the Russian Federation before 1991 had 4 thousand aviation at the moment 2,700 is not more. and by the quality of the USA in 1 place, their destroyers cannot even be compared with ours. Well, think about yourself where the F-22 is to the MiG-35)). The United States also has bombers such as the B-2 Spilit, which costs more than 3 billion per unit, while Russia does not have a bomber, only Soviet Tu-160s and that’s all, I think the defense min should order and start exploring new programs to create a bomber
    1. Romich_S1
      Romich_S1 27 July 2011 10: 12 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      At the beginning of this century, I also extolled US technology, considering it the best, but eventually changed my mind. After the famous incident of flying Tu-160 near Britain, I consider it the best in the world. About 3 years ago 2 “white swans” flew up unnoticed to the territory of Great Britain and the interceptor planes were raised by alarm when our planes were already leaving home. For a week, British media and warriors stood on their ears.
    2. Snake831 30 November 2011 16: 40 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Boy! Where did you get out from? Get back in please! Your F-22 is a complete shit! TTX look! Their entire Air Force is designed for a knowingly weak enemy! What can be envied is the traction of the Lizard engines! But that's all! The rest is better with us! Who bothered you to compare “Spirit” with the Tu-160? Your “Spirit” is the same advertising cheap as the “Lizard”! The Tu-160 will still give 100 points ahead and will remain the fastest, inconspicuous for a long time and a powerful "strategist" in the world! If there are no brains, then better sit and shut up! B_A_R_A_N! Learn to write!
    3. svvaulsh
      svvaulsh 30 November 2011 16: 56 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Quote: cVM
      bombers such as B-2 Spilit


      Explain who "cut"? It looks like you studied at an American school, at least there you studied Russian!
  4. APASUS 26 July 2011 19: 19 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    As I understand it, the corporations grabbed the palm - cutting the official grandmothers. I remember about 25 years ago, members of the Senate commission on the affairs of the armed forces already considered the case of installing a toilet! The Boeing company installed a toilet in the civilian version of the Boeing 777 for just $ 128 but installing a toilet in a Boeing 777 for the Pentagon cost the military department as much as $ 800.
  5. datur 26 July 2011 19: 35 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    an ax for the price of an airplane is normal practice.
  6. spirit 26 July 2011 20: 57 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Yes, with F22 they were fucking crazy. Replacing the entire fleet with such expensive planes is unrealistic. We wanted a super plane, So we got a super plane with a super price.
    1. APASUS 26 July 2011 21: 08 New
      • 2
      • 0
      +2
      spirit
      They laughed at a price, the aircraft is still damp !!! F-22 has a number of unresolved problems, but the money to solve these problems was cut off in the Senate.

Неприятности для ВВС США от собственных политиков

Неприятности для ВВС США от собственных политиков


Крайне неудачная неделя выдалась для американских ВВС, пишет известный военный эксперт Лорен Томсон, кандидат наук в институте Лексингтона США, передает DefPro. Прежде всего, "черной" прошедшую неделю для ВВС США сделало то, что старшие члены комиссии Сената по делам вооруженных сил государства написали в Пентагон гневные письма, в которых раскритиковали действующие программы, предназначенные организовать полную замену устаревших самолетов в ВМС США.

В одном из писем, подписанным Карлом Левиным, председателем комиссии, и Джоном Маккейном, старейшим членом комиссии Сената от партии меньшинства, политики выразили откровенное недовольство ростом финансовых расходов по программе Joint Strike Fighter (JSF) F-35, официально стартовавшей в 1996 году, и потребовали произвести итоговые расчеты, чтобы в случае необоснованной дороговизны самолетов прекратить работы по программе.


F-35 «Лайтнинг» II — малозаметный, перспективный истребитель-бомбардировщик 5-го поколения, созданный американской компанией Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company и представленный в трех вариантах: для ВВС США - истребитель наземного базирования — CTOL, для Корпуса американской морской пехоты - истребитель с вертикальной посадкой и укороченным взлетом — STOVL, для Королевского флота Британии и ВМС США - палубный истребитель — CV.

По мнению большинства экспертов, самолет не отвечает большому количеству требований к истребителю 5-го поколения и является не более чем истребителем поколения 4+ из-за отсутствия возможности полета на сверхзвуковой скорости без применения форсажа, сравнительно высокой ЭПР, низкой тяговооруженности, а также низкой живучести и отсутствием необходимой маневренности. Для разработки этого самолета на апрель 2011 года уже было затрачено более $56 миллиардов.

В другом же письме, которое Джон Маккейн написал уже сам, политик предостерегает Конгресс США, чтобы он не допускал возрастающие издержки, которые впоследствии приведут к перерасходу финансовых средств сверх сметы по действующей программе KC-46, направленной на создание самолета-топливозаправщика совершенно нового поколения. Указанные письма крайне возмутили Лорена Томсона как эксперта.

Самолет-заправщик KC-46, указывает он, по планам ВВС США должен был заменить ныне существующие тысячи самолетов аналогичного типа, которые были созданы еще при президенте Эйзенхауэре и которые являются основой современного парка самолетов-топливозаправщиков американских ВВС.

KC-46 разработан на основе действующего танкера KC-767 – классической машины своего класса, которая была создана, в свою очередь, на основе варианта самолета 767-200. Два экономичных турбовентиляторных мотора GE CF6-80C2 позволяют воздушному судну приблизить свою нормальную крейсерскую скорость (851 км/ч) к наибольшей (915 км/ч).

Без принятия на вооружение новых истребителей американские ВВС постепенно рискуют вообще утратить способность эффективно действовать в воздушном пространстве потенциального противника. Эксперт также напомнил, что военно-воздушные силы США стали покупать новые истребители F-22, но указанная программа была остановлена, едва ли удовлетворив даже половину потребностей вооруженных сил США. Так что сегодня программа F-35 обязана нести на себе всю огромную тяжесть по обеспечению военно-воздушных сил США современными истребителями, пока еще есть время, предостерегает автор статьи-ответа на гневные письма политиков.

Сколь обоснованными не были бы жалобы американских сенаторов на стоимость новых самолетов, сложно себе даже представить, что будет, если они решат прекратить финансирование двух крайне важных на сегодня программ по обновлению транспортного парка ВВС США, указывается в статье. Истребителю F-35 потребуется как минимум десяток лет для достижения современного состояния и еще много лет, чтобы его приняли как боевую единицу на вооружение и он в итоге стал действующим на поле реального боя.

Начинать все заново? Это будет крахом всех идей США иметь превосходство в воздушном пространстве перед такими быстроразвивающимися государствами, как, например, Китай. Речь даже не идет о потере уже потраченных миллиардов долларов.

Такой регресс в модернизации военно-воздушных сил США всего лишь последний эпизод в бескрайней "саге" о борьбе за совершенствование летной службы США, покинутую один на один с устаревшей техникой времен канувшей в лета холодной войны. Большинство стремлений приобрести современный самолет для американских ВВС оканчиваются неудачей. Из-за этого Америка теряет былое превосходство в воздухе. Россия и Китай не стоят на месте и постоянно работают в направлении совершенствования своих самолетов. США просто обязаны продолжить замену устаревших самолетов на современные, пока не поздно, как итог в своей статье указывает Лорен Томсон.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 14
  1. cVM 26 июля 2011 11:18
    чго им боятся у Рф 2 тыс истрибителей советского производство максимум 350 единиц новейшие а у США все новые и современные истрибители количество которых достигает 20 тыс 10 раз больше чем у Рф,у Китая подавно 4 тыс единиц своего и совесткого производство
    cVM
    1. PIRAT 26 июля 2011 21:32
      Может быть и превышают количество самолетов, но они точно не современные. Насколько я знаю они не выполнили план закупок F-22 и с F-35 тоже появились какие-то проблемы, к примеру ливию они не на современных бомбили...
      PIRAT
  2. Ромич_С1 26 июля 2011 18:00
    cVM ! По данным Википедии, на 2010г у США 2158 истребителей и 390 штурмовиков у ВВС и 731 самолёт у ВМС. Откуда число 20тыс? После победы в "Холодной войне" и на фоне тотального сокращения наших вооружённых сил, в США тоже стали потихоньку сокращать свои ВС. Кроме того закупка новых самолётов и модернизация старых в США почти не проводилась. Конгресс хотел сократить и без того раздутый военный бюджет, понадеявшись как раз на F-35. Этот самолёт по плану должен был поставляться уже с 2006 года и, с учётом стоимости, F-35 хотели закупить 3200 штук к 350 F-22. А вышло что и F-22 закупили в 2 раза меньше, и F-35 закупить уже хотят около 1500... Так что ни количественного ни качественного преимущества США перед нами не имеют, а если грянет дефолт то .....
    Ромич_С1
    1. Esso 26 июля 2011 19:05
      Уважаемый, точное кол-во боевой техники -совершенно секретная информация.Верить на слово Википедии никак нельзя.Точное кол-во боеспособной техники мало кто знает. У нас на складах секретных столько техники, мы не знаем куда девать.Точное кол-во неизвестно.Не несите бред.
      1. Ромич_С1 27 июля 2011 09:56
        Я прочёл довольно большое количество статей про авиацию России и США, написанных военными журналистами, аналитиками и историками, и ни разу не видел чтоб кто-то из них усомнился в сведениях о количестве самолётов у этих стран. Никто не сказал что число может быть не точным, или оно точно не известно. Более того, всегда называется число моделей, модификаций и возраст самолётов. Самолёты на хранении действительно существуют, но как я понимаю, секретом является место их дислокации а не количество.
        Ромич_С1
        1. Esso 27 июля 2011 10:19
          Кол-во тоже является секретом, журналисты пишут свои статьи по не всегда проверенным данным, я тоже много статей прочитал, но больше верю знакомым военным,которые говорят что кол-во военной техники боеспособной не боеспособной, эта информация является ГОСУДАРСТВЕННОЙ ТАЙНОЙ. Они сами не знают, что ,где и как лежит.США может сливать дез.информацию запросто чтоб ввести в заблуждение потенциального противника.
  3. cVM 26 июля 2011 19:05
    ты думаешь дефол будет? да если и будет дефолта всеровно не тока сша но и весь мир окажтется попе,сша величайщая экономика.Я имелл виду 20 тыс не истрибителй но и транспортых ударных вертолетов,бпла и т.д авиацию одним словом у рф до 1991 было 4 тыс авиации н на данный момент 2,700 не больше.а по качству сша в 1 месте,ихние истрибители даже сравнивать с нашими нельзя.Ну сами подумайте куда Ф-22 куда МиГ-35)). У США есть еще бомбордировщики такие как Б-2 Спилит цена который свыше 3 млрд за единицу а у Рф нет бомбордировщика только советские ту-160 и все,думаю мин обороны должа заказытьва и начинать исследовать новые программы по создание бомбордировщика
    cVM
    1. Ромич_С1 27 июля 2011 10:12
      В начале этого века я тоже превозносил технику США считая её лучшей, но со временем поменял своё мнение. После известного случая пролёта Ту-160 возле Британии считаю его лучшим в мире. Года 3 назад 2 "белых лебедя" подлетели не замеченными к территории Великобритании и самолёты перехватчики были подняты по тревоге когда уже наши самолёты уходили домой. Неделю британские СМИ и вояки стояли на ушах.
      Ромич_С1
    2. Snake831 30 ноября 2011 16:40
      Мальчик!Ты откуда вылез?Залезь обратно пожалуйста!Твой Ф-22-это полное говно!ТТХ смотри!Вся их ВВС расчитана на заведомо слабого противника!Чему можно позавидовать так это тяго-вооружённости двигателей "Ящерицы"!Но это всё!Остальное лучше у нас!Кто тебя надоумил сравнивать"Спирит" С Ту-160?Твой "Спирит"-это такая же рекламная дешёвка,как и "Ящерица"!Ту-160 ещё даст 100 очков вперёд и ещё долго будет оставаться самым быстрым,незаметным и мощным "стратегом" в мире!Если мозгов нет то лучше сиди и помалкивай!Б_А_Р_А_Н!Писать научись!
    3. svvaulsh 30 ноября 2011 16:56
      Цитата: cVM
      бомбордировщики такие как Б-2 Спилит


      Поясни, кого "спилит"? Похоже учился ты в американской школе, по крайней мере там Русский язык изучал!
      svvaulsh
  4. APASUS 26 июля 2011 19:19
    Я так понял корпорации перехватили пальму первенства - по распилу казенных бабок.Помнится лет так 25 назад,члены комиссии Сената по делам вооруженных сил уже рассматривали дело,о установке унитаза!Компания Боинг, устанавливала унитаз в гражданскую версию самолета Боинг-777 всего за 128$ ,а вот установка унитаза в самолет Боинг-777 для Пентагона обходилась военному ведомству аж в 800$.
  5. datur 26 июля 2011 19:35
    топор по цене самолета --нормальная практика.
  6. spirit 26 июля 2011 20:57
    да с F22 лоханулись.заменить весь парк такими дорогущими самалётами нереально.хотели супер самолёт, Вот и получили супер самолёт с супер ценой.
    1. APASUS 26 июля 2011 21:08
      spirit
      Лоханулись они не с ценой ,самолет ещё сырой!!!F-22 имеет ряд нерешенных проблем,а вот деньги на решение этих проблем зарубили в Сенате.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня