Billions of dollars to the wind



The United States wasted 34 billion dollars, which went into servicing private contracts, during protracted wars in Afghanistan and Iraq. This was reported by the Wall-Street Journal, referring to these studies, explaining that they are still being finalized, but will soon be presented to the US Congress. ” As a source familiar with the draft of this report told the publishing house: “the document contains the conclusions of the two-party commission and should be completed soon.”


The commission on military contracts, analyzing these data, has offered a better look at the abuses that have been allowed when using contract money during a war in Iraq and Afghanistan for over a decade. Many programs have spent more than 200 billion dollars in grants and contracts.

According to the documents, for the payment of services and various projects to various contracting organizations allocated huge funds from the budget, which as a result turned out to be useless. An example is the program to stimulate and develop agriculture in the Republic of Afghanistan. The main focus of the program was subsidizing the farm and preventing the villagers from hiring to richer neighbors. On this program, America had to spend 300 million. Another reason for the leakage of funds is the security agencies that were hired by the US authorities to assist in the work of their civil servants. In addition to fulfilling their direct duties, they were engaged in criminal activities in Afghanistan, which lowered the reputation of the American army in this and other countries around the world.

A source who chose to remain anonymous made a statement that sometimes the United States of America received wages of more than 200 thousand contractors in Afghanistan and Iraq — more than the number of US troops currently deployed in these countries. More specifically, it is less than 100 of thousands of US troops who are in Afghanistan and less than 46 of thousands of troops in Iraq.

The investigation commission’s efforts are also hampered by the fact that it’s not possible to find out the exact numbers in this situation with private contractors in Afghanistan and Iraq: some contractors involved subcontractors who worked with temporary workers respectively, the source said.

The commission verbally accuses the administration of US President Barack Obama that there was no oversight by federal agencies over the use of budget funds. As a result, the military budget, which is approved for 2012 year in the amount of $ 690 billion, may be revised or cut. However, according to the analytical department of the Fibo Group, if the United States reduces the country's military spending, it will not mean that a reduction in the cost of maintenance and related services for the troops is coming. If the US government decides to cut military programs, this will primarily affect the size of the US Army in other countries. There will also be a reduction in other expenses, but this will remain almost imperceptible. Most likely, such expenses will remain the same in future US military operations, since it is very difficult to track all expenditure items with such global funding.

Meanwhile this news turned out to be a very unpleasant event for American politicians, and first of all the Democrats. The country began a heated debate on the subject of budget cuts, which became a stumbling block on the way of approving averting default and raising the level of public debt. Therefore, evidence of useless and inappropriate expenditures can deal a strong blow to the positions of the US president, who is trying to negotiate with the Republicans about the amount of cuts in budget spending.

The topic of expenditures on military operations in the framework of the budget issue has been heard far from the first time. For example, when the Libyan conflict cost the country hundreds of millions of dollars. However, looking from the economic point of view, 34 $ billion was spent while conducting military operations in Iraq and Afghanistan is in no way threatening the administration of the US president, said M. Korolyuk, head of the investment management and analytical support department at IFC Solid. From a political point of view, it may also threaten something, although the bulk of these costs fell on the period of Bush’s rule. At the moment, the US government needs to save $ X billion per year in 500, so 34 $ billion would not change the situation, said Nikolai Solabuto, who manages the assets of FG BKS.

The US military intends to withdraw its troops from Iraq by the end of this year. It seems that the United States agrees that military spending needs to be cut by any means, but analysts say the country is unlikely to go for it. Roman Tkachuk, head of the analytical department of RIC-Finance, said: A reduction in military spending would help the United States to stabilize the situation with public debt.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Add a comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Миллиарды долларов на ветер

Миллиарды долларов на ветер


Соединенными Штатами впустую были потрачены 34 миллиарда долларов, которые ушли на обслуживание частных контрактов, во время продолжительных войн в Афганистане и Ираке. Это сообщила газета Wall-Street Journal, ссылаясь на данные исследования, пояснив что они пока дорабатывается, но вскоре будут представлены конгрессу США». Как рассказал издательству источник, знакомый с проектом данного отчёта: «документ содержит выводы двухпартийной комиссии и должен быть закончен в ближайшее время».

Комиссия по военным контрактам, анализируя эти данные, предложила более качественный взгляд на те злоупотребления, которые допускаются при использовании контрактных денег в течении воин в Ираке и Афганистане уже на протяжении десятилетия. В рамках многих программ было потрачено более 200 млрд долларов на гранты и контракты.


Согласно документам, на оплату услуг и различных проектов различным подрядным организациям выделили огромные средства из бюджета, что в результате оказалось бесполезным. Примером служит программа по стимулированию и развитию сельского хозяйства в Республике Афганистан. Основным направлением программы было дотирование фермерского хозяйства и препятствование тому, что сельские жители нанимались на работу к более богатым соседям. На данную программу Америке пришлось потратить 300 млн $. Еще одна причина утечки средств это охранные агентства, которые были наняты американскими властями для помощи в работе своих госслужащих. Помимо выполнения прямых обязанностей они занимались в Афганистане преступной деятельностью, чем понижали репутацию американской армии в этой и других странах по всему миру.

Источник, который пожелал остаться неизвестным, сделал заявление, что иногда заработную плату от Соединенных Штатов Америки получало более 200 тыс. подрядчиков в Афганистане и Ираке – что больше, чем количество американских войск, которое дислоцируется в этих странах в настоящее время. Если точнее, то это менее 100 тысяч военнослужащих США, которые находятся в Афганистане и менее 46 тысяч военнослужащих в Ираке.

Мешает деятельности комиссии по расследованию ещё и тот факт, что узнать точные цифры в этой ситуации с частными подрядчиками в Афганистане и Ираке не представляется возможным: некоторый подрядчики привлекали к работе субподрядчиков, которые соответственно работали с временным рабочими силами, сказал источник.

Комиссия словесно обвиняет администрацию президента США Барака Обамы в том, что отсутствовал надзор со стороны федеральных ведомств за использованием бюджетных средств. В результате этого, военный бюджет, который утверждён на 2012 год в размере 690 млрд $, может быть пересмотрен или урезан. Однако, как полагает аналитический отдел Fibo Group, если США сократит расходы страны на военные цели, то это не будет значить что грядёт снижение расходов на обслуживание и сопутствующие услуги для войск. Если же американским правительством будет решено урезать военные программы, то это в первую очередь отразится на численности армии США в других странах. Также произойдёт сокращение других расходов, но это останется практически незаметным. Вероятнее всего, в будущих военных операциях войск США подобные расходы останутся такими же, так как отследить все расходные статьи при таком глобальном финансировании очень сложно.

Между тем это новость оказалась для американских политиков, а в первую очередь и демократов очень неприятным событием. В стране начались бурные дебаты на тему сокращения бюджетных расходов, что стало камнем преткновения на путях согласований предотвращения дефолта и повышении планки госдолга. Поэтому доказательства бесполезных и нецелевых растрат могут нанести сильный удар по позициям президента США, который пытается договориться с республиканцами о объемах сокращения расходов бюджета.

Тема расходов на военные операции в рамках бюджетного вопрос прозвучала уже далеко не первый раз. Можно вспомнить к примеру, когда ливийский конфликт обошелся стране в сотни миллионов $. Впрочем, посмотрев с экономической точки зрения растрата 34 млрд $ во время ведения военных операции в Ираке и Афганистане ничем не грозит администрации президента США, сказал начальник отдела по управлению инвестициями и аналитической поддержкой ИФК «Солид» М. Королюк. С политической возможно чем-то и грозит, хотя основная часть данных затрат на пришлась на период правления Буша. В данный момент американскому правительству необходимо экономить по 500 млрд $ в год, так что 34 миллиарда $ не изменили бы ситуацию, отметил Николай Солабуто, который управляет активами ФГ БКС.

Американские военные намереваются вывести свои войска из Ирака уже к концу этого года. Похоже, что Соединенные Штаты согласны, что расходы на военные нужды необходимо сокращать любыми способами, но, как считают аналитики, страна вряд ли пойдёт на это. Руководитель аналитического отдела «РИК-финанс» Роман Ткачук, сказал: Сокращение военных расходов помогло бы США стабилизировать ситуацию с госдолгом.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня