Military Review

Chancellor of the Great War

4
Chancellor of the Great WarIn the historiography of Russian diplomacy, strangely enough, the iron hierarchy has not developed. Who should be considered the lights of our foreign policy? Stayed in historical in memory of the people of Bestuzhev, Gorchakov, Chicherin, Gromyko ... During the First World War, at the time of making major decisions, the post of Minister of Foreign Affairs of Russia was occupied by an experienced diplomat Sergei Dmitrievich Sazonov.

By that time, his track record includes thirty years of diplomatic service. He did not belong to the number of ambitious chancellors who saw themselves as conductors of all Russian politics, the first among equals in the government. Such a giant was in the early years of the Seven Years' War Bestuzhev-Ryumin. Sazonov was more modest - and many considered him to be an independent protégé of P.A. Stolypin, then an agent of British influence in Eastern Europe. Kinship with Stolypin really helped Sazonov get a ministerial portfolio. Their wives were sisters. Spouse Stolypin - in maiden name Olga Borisovna Neidgardt, wife of Sazonov - Anna Borisovna Neidgardt. They are representatives of the Austrian family who have served Russia since the time of Peter the Great. In the court elite, discontent with the growth of Stolypin’s influence was growing, but even after the death of Prime Minister Sazonov remained at the head of Russian foreign policy. Sergei Dmitrievich worked with the new head of the government, Vladimir Kokovtsov, although he criticized him for not wanting to listen to the advice of professionals in their field.

In the pre-ministerial years, being in the diplomatic service, he visited both England and Italy (he worked in the Vatican for several years), and also in the new empire of the new type, the United States.

In the years of the First World Overseas Power will speak about itself in a new way. Washington will teach the lessons of political and economic expansion, will demonstrate agreement between the oligarchy and the state - and this rafting weakened European states will not be able to oppose anything. In the prewar years in the States, Sazonov discovered new rhythms of economic development far from the Old World. This experience was useful to him. Still, his appointment as minister to the diplomats of the old school was perceived not without skepticism. It was believed that Pyotr Arkadyevich Stolypin - the head of the government - simply “pushed” the candidacy of his relative.

In the summer of 1914, there was not a trace of Sazonov's former indecision. There were no significant fluctuations in his pre-war tactics: since the winter of 1913-14, the minister considered a big war to be inevitable and demonstrated a firm hand policy.
He seemed to be trying to prove that even without Stolypin he was able to maintain and even increase his influence. This behavior of the Minister of Foreign Affairs is also explained by trusting relations with the Grand Duke Nikolai Nikolayevich, and the respect that the Emperor had for his Minister. But you can not miss the British motive. Britain and France more than others were interested in Russia taking part in the war with all its forces, so that the German and Austrian armies would pull back the attack. Of course, it was a risky game for all participants. And Russia's breakthrough to the straits — quite real at a certain turn in the course of the war — would be a sensitive defeat for London. The British took into account such a danger, but they still dragged Russia into the war. At the same time, Sazonov, who no longer doubted the imminent outbreak of hostilities, was pushing the British towards a speedy entry into the war, towards mobilization.

In the summer of 1914, Sazonov became one of the ideologues of the mobilization that teased Germany. He convinced Nicholas II of the aggressiveness of German intentions and literally insisted on half-hidden, half-demonstrative mobilization. In fact, this was a declaration of war.

Of course, Russia entered the war not out of philanthropic considerations of the Slavic brotherhood, although outwardly it was convenient to present the situation that way. Much obliged alliance with France. And Paris with Berlin was crowded on one continent.

The second good reason is Sazonov’s old dream of the straits, a dream shared by many. Sazonov has long led secret talks on this topic with the leaders of the great and small powers.
The Slavic question remained in the third place, although it was useful in the game against Austria-Hungary and Turkey.

Negotiations with the German ambassador Pourtales became, perhaps, the most intense in Sazonov’s biography. Diplomats have almost friendly relations. More recently, Sazonov was reproached, even depending on the more experienced German. But in the summer of 1914, the Russian minister presented impracticable demands to Friedrich von Pourtales: “If Austria, realizing that the Austro-Serbian conflict has acquired a European character, will declare its readiness to exclude items that violate the sovereign rights of Serbia from its ultimatum, Russia will cease its military preparations ". Only on such conditions Russia was ready to back up. Germany could not go on this. Purtales sought to dissociate himself from the actions of Austria, and Sazonov had no doubt that Vienna was the satellite of Berlin, and nothing more.

The determined minister showed cunning and self-control, forcing the Germans to take the first aggressive step, although the pressure on Austria against Serbia was already perceived in Russia as an expression of German aggression.
In his memoirs, Sazonov insistently writes about the unpreparedness for war, but in 1914 it did not bother him ...

Almost two years Sazonov lasted at his post in the war years - until July 1916, when the decree of resignation found him on holiday in Finland. Two years full of events like a lifetime. Evaluated his activities, as usual, in every way. Radicals of all stripes Sazonov did not like: for Orthodox monarchists, he was known as a Westerner, a freemason, who fell into dependence from Germany, then from England. They wanted Russia's voice in the international choir to sound menacing and stately, and Sazonov maneuvered. Nor were he convinced liberals, not to mention socialists: after all, the minister remained a supporter of autocracy.

He becomes the most energetic of the opponents of the Minister of War Sukhomlinov, who turned almost into a general scarecrow. “At the beginning of 1915, I gave the Sovereign my view on the harmful inactivity of General Sukhomlinov in some detail. I hoped that a frankly spoken word by a person who was far from the military department and did not have any personal accounts with Sukhomlinov would induce His Majesty to be less trusting in the unfair optimism with which the reports of the minister were infused, often based on false data. Although my first attempt was unsuccessful and impressed the Tsar rather unfavorably to me, I resumed it at the first opportunity impressed by the information received from members of the State Duma, who transmitted to me about the growing indignation of the Duma commissions against Sukhomlinov. This time, the Sovereign, who loved his cheerful mood in Sukhomlinov, replied to me that he had long known that the general had many enemies and especially in the main apartment, but that he would look at all their accusations as unfounded until he saw “ black on white "proof of their justice."

Sazonov and his like-minded people, in the end, managed to overcome Sukhomlinov, but perhaps it turned out to be a Pyrrhic victory. Together with the resignation of the Minister of War began a large purge of government ranks, out of place in the war years.

Sazonov was an active opponent of the idea of ​​the emperor becoming a commander in chief. He persuaded the emperor not to leave the capital for a long time - and, as time showed, showed political insight.
Warned about the danger of "inner turmoil." According to Sazonov’s impressions, it was on those audiences that he lost the sovereign’s trust. In those months, Sergei Dmitrievich was nurturing plans for a “government of national trust,” which would have supported the royal power. How reasonable was this idea in the critical year of the war? The question is insoluble. You can enumerate arguments for and against. Perhaps such a government would only exacerbate revolutionary sentiments, and the Cadet party, which would become an influential force, could take the path of radicalization. And - all the same February, and after him - and October.

In February 1916, speaking in the State Duma, he angrily threw into the hall: “This war is the greatest crime against humanity ever committed. Those who are guilty of it bear a terrible responsibility and are now exposed enough ”.

Later he himself was very proud of this speech, but she looked like mustard after dinner. In the “fatal moments,” Sazonov did not prevent the military flywheel from spinning, and in the winter of 1916, “hawkish” speeches lost popularity - and the minister adjusted to public opinion.

After the death of Ambassador A.K. Benkendorf British King George V asked the Russian emperor to appoint Sazonov as envoy to London. February almost caught him in London - the Petrograd events were hardly taken aback by the knowledgeable Tsarist ambassador, but he was not a participant in the conspiracy either. He did not have time to go to London: the revolution prevented. The new Minister Milyukov seemed to confirm Sazonov’s authority, but the diplomat was in no hurry to go to Britain. By the February transformation, he treated with restrained approval, quickly turned into anxiety. If in March 1917, the burden of the decision fell on his shoulders, Sazonov would hardly have considered the renunciation of the Romanovs as his goal. The next "temporary" Chancellor - "Minister-Capitalist" Tereshchenko sends Sazonov to resign. By the time he was completely disappointed in the revolution.

In the summer of 1917, the former foreign minister considered it a mistake to dismiss the Romanovs, which the generals decided on in a revolutionary storm.
The growth of radical sentiment was not just anxious, but with fury. October was perceived as an infernal evil, which he began to fight immediately. Well, already the first decrees of the new government brought to nothing the whole foreign policy of Sazonov. What are the dreams of the straits here ...

What's next? The White movement, an attempt to organize the Russian government in exile, which could become a subject of international law. Sazonov used his authority to achieve this goal, but achieved only local, temporary success. So, in 1919, he managed to obtain the authority of the Minister of Foreign Affairs from Kolchak.

Admittedly, Sazonov sincerely defended the interests of a ghostly Russia, in whose revival he believed. He flatly refused to yield to Finland, was offended when he was treated with no due respect.
And the allies did not allow anyone from the Russian politicians to divide Europe, although by that time the stability of the Soviet state was not obvious. If one imagines White's victory in 1920 or, let's fantasize, in 1922, it is unlikely that they would be treated at the level of “victorious powers”. Neither the efforts nor the old connections of Sazonov helped. When it comes to direct material gain, diplomats forget about friendship and become adamant.

Personally, Sazonov did not live in misery, although he did not make stone chambers in European capitals. I managed to write and publish memoirs in Berlin — quite ceremonious for those times. Emigration read this book not without interest - and Sergey Dmitrievich died shortly after the publication of the memoirs. In a foreign land, in Nice, when Europe was halfway from the First World to the Second ...
Author:
Originator:
http://www.stoletie.ru/voyna_1914/kancler_velikoj_vojny_430.htm
4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. A1L9E4K9S
    A1L9E4K9S 27 September 2014 09: 01
    +1
    The old saying is right, there is no prophet in his own country, recognition comes to many figures only after death, and this is sad.
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 27 September 2014 09: 55
    0
    Sazonov’s old dream of the Straits, a dream shared by many.
    A dream, not real .... Not realizable .. An educated person, knew the story perfectly .. And nonetheless ...
  3. barbiturate
    barbiturate 28 September 2014 17: 58
    +1
    he had an excellent policy in London and pulled Russia into the asshole she didn’t need, what brilliant decisions he made there and what an experienced politician he was, but he continuously and deliberately worsened relations with Germany and it all ended in disaster for the country and death for his ruler) and a very experienced diplomat, and most importantly selflessly loved England, for which he brought the Russian bull-calf to the slaughter) bravo to the author of the article, write more))
  4. Barboskin
    Barboskin 30 September 2014 20: 12
    +1
    All the merit is to unleash and draw Russia into the world massacre. Very convenient and good for the Entente, but not for Russia.

Канцлер Великой войны

Канцлер Великой войныВ историографии российской дипломатии, как ни странно, не сложилась железная иерархия. Кого считать светочами нашей внешней политики? Остались в исторической памяти народа Бестужев, Горчаков, Чичерин, Громыко… Во времена Первой мировой, в пору принятия главных решений пост министра иностранных дел России занимал опытный дипломат Сергей Дмитриевич Сазонов.

К тому времени в его послужном списке – тридцать лет дипломатической службы. Он не принадлежал к числу честолюбивых канцлеров, которые видели себя дирижёрами всей российской политики, первыми среди равных в правительстве. Таким исполином был в первые годы Семилетней войны Бестужев-Рюмин. Сазонов держался скромнее – и многие считали его то несамостоятельным ставленником П.А. Столыпина, то агентом британского влияния в Восточной Европе. Родство со Столыпиным и впрямь помогло Сазонову получить министерский портфель. Их жёны были родными сёстрами. Супруга Столыпина – в девичестве Ольга Борисовна Нейдгардт, жена Сазонова – Анна Борисовна Нейдгардт. Они – представительницы австрийского рода, служившего России со времён Петра Великого. В придворной элите зрело недовольство ростом влияния Столыпина, но и после гибели премьер-министра Сазонов остался во главе российской внешней политики. Сергей Дмитриевич сработался и с новым главой правительства – Владимиром Коковцовым, хотя и критиковал того за нежелание прислушиваться к советам профессионалов своего дела.

В предминистерские годы, будучи на дипломатической службе, он побывал и в Англии, и в Италии (несколько лет работал в Ватикане), и в набиравшей силу империи нового типа – Соединённых Штатах.


В годы Первой мировой заокеанская держава заговорит о себе по-новому. Вашингтон преподаст уроки политической и экономической экспансии, продемонстрирует согласие между олигархией и государством – и этому сплаву ослабленные европейские государства не сумеют ничего противопоставить. В предвоенные годы в Штатах Сазонов обнаружил новые ритмы развития экономики вдали от Старого Света. Этот опыт ему пригодился. И всё-таки его назначение министром дипломаты старой школы восприняли не без скепсиса. Считалось, что Пётр Аркадьевич Столыпин – глава правительства – просто «продавил» кандидатуру своего родственника.

Летом 1914-го от былой нерешительности Сазонова не осталось и следа. В его предвоенной тактике не видно значительных колебаний: уже с зимы 1913-14-го министр считал большую войну неизбежной и демонстрировал политику твёрдой руки.
Он как будто пытался доказать, что и без Столыпина способен сохранить и даже приумножить своё влияние. Такое поведение министра иностранных дел объясняют и доверительными отношениями с великим князем Николаем Николаевичем, и уважением, которое питал к своему министру император. Но нельзя упускать и британский мотив. Англия и Франция более других были заинтересованы в том, чтобы Россия участвовала в войне всеми силами, чтобы оттянула на себя удар германской и австрийской армий. Конечно, это была рискованная игра для всех участников. И прорыв России к проливам – вполне реальный при определённом повороте в ходе войны – стал бы для Лондона чувствительным поражением. Британцы учитывали такую опасность, но всё-таки втягивали Россию в войну. Одновременно Сазонов, уже не сомневавшийся в скором начале боевых действий, подталкивал англичан к скорейшему вступлению в войну, к мобилизации.

Летом 1914-го Сазонов стал одним из идеологов мобилизации, раздразнившей Германию. Он убедил Николая II в агрессивности германских намерений и буквально настоял на полускрытой, полудемонстративной мобилизации. Фактически это и было объявление войны.

Конечно, Россия вступала в войну не из филантропических соображений славянского братства, хотя внешне удобно было представить ситуацию именно так. Ко многому обязывал союз с Францией. А Парижу с Берлином было тесно на одном континенте.

Вторая веская причина – давняя мечта Сазонова о проливах, мечта, которую разделяли многие. Сазонов давно вёл тайные переговоры на эту тему с лидерами великих и малых держав.
Славянский вопрос оставался на третьем плане, хотя в игре против Австро-Венгрии и Турции пригодился и он.

Переговоры с германским послом Пурталесом стали, пожалуй, наиболее напряжёнными в биографии Сазонова. Дипломатов связывали почти дружеские отношения. Ещё недавно Сазонова упрекали даже в зависимости от более опытного германца. Но летом 1914-го русский министр предъявил Фридриху фон Пурталесу невыполнимые требования: «Если Австрия, осознав, что австро-сербский конфликт приобрел европейский характер, заявит о своей готовности исключить из своего ультиматума пункты, нарушающие суверенные права Сербии, Россия обязуется прекратить свои военные приготовления». Только на таких условиях Россия была готова дать задний ход. Германия на такое пойти не могла. Пурталес стремился отмежеваться от действий Австрии, а Сазонов не сомневался, что Вена – сателлит Берлина, и только.

Решительно настроенный министр проявил хитрость и выдержку, вынуждая немцев сделать первый агрессивный шаг, хотя и без того давление Австрии на Сербию воспринималось в России как выражение германской агрессии.
В своих воспоминаниях Сазонов настойчиво пишет о неготовности к войне, но в 1914-м это его не смущало...

Почти два года продержался Сазонов на своём посту в военные годы – вплоть до июля 1916-го, когда указ об отставке застал его на отдыхе в Финляндии. Два года, насыщенные событиями, как целая жизнь. Оценивали его деятельность, как водится, по-всякому. Радикалы всех мастей Сазонова недолюбливали: для православных монархистов он слыл западником, масоном, впадавшим в зависимость то от Германии, то от Англии. Им хотелось, чтобы голос России в международном хоре звучал грозно и величаво, а Сазонов маневрировал. Не признавали его и убеждённые либералы, не говоря о социалистах: ведь министр оставался сторонником самодержавия.

Он становится наиболее энергичным из противников военного министра Сухомлинова, который превращался чуть ли не во всеобщее пугало. «В начале 1915 года я довольно подробно изложил Государю мое мнение о вредной бездеятельности генерала Сухомлинова. Я надеялся, что откровенно сказанное слово лицом, далеко стоявшим от военного ведомства и не имевшим с Сухомлиновым никаких личных счетов, побудит Его Величество относиться менее доверчиво к недобросовестному оптимизму, которым были пропитаны доклады министра, основанные нередко на ложных данных. Хотя моя первая попытка и не имела успеха и произвела на Государя скорее неблагоприятное для меня впечатление, я возобновил ее при первом удобном случае под впечатлением сведений, полученных от членов Государственной Думы, передавших мне о растущем негодовании думских комиссий против Сухомлинова. На этот раз Государь, любивший в Сухомлинове его жизнерадостное настроение, ответил мне, что ему давно известно, что у генерала много врагов и в особенности в главной квартире, но что на все их обвинения он будет смотреть, как на голословные, пока не увидит «черным по белому» доказательства их справедливости».

Сазонову и его единомышленникам, в конце концов, удалось одолеть Сухомлинова, но, пожалуй, это оказалось пирровой победой. Вместе с отставкой военного министра началась большая чистка правительственных рядов, неуместная в военные годы.

Сазонов был активным противником идеи превращения императора в главнокомандующего. Убеждал императора не покидать надолго столицу – и, как показало время, проявил политическую проницательность.
Предупреждал и об опасности «внутренней смуты». По впечатлениям Сазонова, именно на тех аудиенциях он потерял доверие государя. Сергей Дмитриевич в те месяцы вынашивает планы «правительства народного доверия», которое подкрепило бы царскую власть. Насколько резонной была эта идея в критический год войны? Вопрос неразрешимый. Можно долго перечислять аргументы «за» и «против». Возможно, такое правительство только усугубило бы революционные настроения, а кадетская партия, которая превратилась бы во влиятельную силу, могла бы пойти по пути радикализации. И – всё тот же Февраль, а за ним – и Октябрь.

В феврале 1916-го выступая в Государственной думе, он гневно бросил в зал: «Эта война — величайшее преступление против человечества, когда-либо совершенное. Те, кто в ней виновны, несут страшную ответственность и в настоящее время достаточно разоблачены».

Позже сам весьма гордился этой речью, но она выглядела горчицей после обеда. В «минуты роковые» Сазонов не препятствовал раскручиванию военного маховика, а зимой 1916-го «ястребиные» речи потеряли популярность – и министр подстраивался к общественному мнению.

После смерти посла А.К. Бенкендорфа британский король Георг V просил русского императора назначить посланником в Лондон именно Сазонова. Февраль едва не застал его в Лондоне – осведомлённого царского посла вряд ли застали врасплох петроградские события, но и участником заговора он не был. Уехать в Лондон он не успел: революция помешала. Новый министр Милюков вроде бы подтвердил полномочия Сазонова – но дипломат не торопился в Британию. К февральским преобразованиям он относился со сдержанным одобрением, быстро перешедшим в тревогу. Если бы в марте 1917-го бремя решения легло на его плечи – вряд ли Сазонов считал бы своей целью отречение Романовых. Следующий «временный» канцлер – «министр-капиталист» Терещенко отправляет Сазонова в отставку. К тому времени он окончательно разочаровался в революции.

Летом 1917-го бывший министр иностранных дел считал ошибкой отстранение Романовых, на которое решились генералы в революционную бурю.
К росту радикальных настроений относился не просто с тревогой, но с яростью. Октябрь воспринял как инфернальное зло, с которым принялся бороться незамедлительно. Что ж, уже первые декреты новой власти свели на нет всю внешнюю политику Сазонова. Какие уж тут мечты о проливах…

Что дальше? Белое движение, попытка организации российского правительства в изгнании, которое могло бы стать субъектом международного права. Свой авторитет Сазонов использовал для достижения этой цели, но добился только локальных, временных успехов. Так, в 1919-м ему удалось получить от Колчака полномочия министра иностранных дел.

Надо признать, Сазонов искренне отстаивал интересы призрачной России, в возрождение которой верил. Наотрез отказывался уступить Финляндию, оскорблялся, когда к его миссии относились без должного уважения.
А союзники к разделу Европы никого из российских политиков не подпускали, хотя устойчивость советского государства к тому времени не была очевидной. Если вообразить себе победу белых в 1920-м или – пофантазируем – в 1922 году, вряд ли к ним стали бы относиться на уровне «держав-победительниц». Ни старания, ни старинные связи Сазонова не помогли. Когда речь идёт о прямой материальной выгоде – дипломаты забывают о дружбе и становятся непреклонными.

Лично Сазонов не бедствовал, хотя и каменных палат в европейских столицах не нажил. Успел написать и издать в Берлине воспоминания – достаточно церемонные по тем временам. Эмиграция прочитала эту книгу не без интереса – а Сергей Дмитриевич вскоре после публикации воспоминаний скончался. На чужбине, в Ницце, когда Европа находилась на полпути от Первой мировой ко Второй…
Автор: Арсений Замостьянов
Первоисточник: http://www.stoletie.ru/voyna_1914/kancler_velikoj_vojny_430.htm


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. A1L9E4K9S 27 сентября 2014 09:01
    Права старая поговорка,нет пророка в своём отечестве,ко многим деятелям признание приходит только после смерти и это печально.
  2. parusnik 27 сентября 2014 09:55
    давняя мечта Сазонова о проливах, мечта, которую разделяли многие.
    Мечта,не реальная....Не воплотимая..Образованный человек,отлично знал историю..И тем не менее...
  3. барбитурат 28 сентября 2014 17:58
    он отлично проводил политику Лондона и втянул Россию в нафиг ей не нужную бойню, какие он там гениальные решения принимал и каким он был опытным политиком, но он беспрерывно и сознательно ухудшал отношения с Германией и все закончилось катастрофой для страны и смертью для его правителя) Отличный и очень опытный дипломат, а главное беззаветно любивший Англию, для чего и привел русского бычка на бойню) браво автору статьи, пишите больше))
  4. Барбоскин 30 сентября 2014 20:12
    Вся заслуга, это развязать и втянуть Россию в мировую бойню. Очень удобен и хорош для Антанты, но не для России.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня