Americans are arming combat lasers

Americans are arming combat lasers


July of this year was rich in messages coming from the United States about the start of development. weapons future, which is based on the energy of laser systems.


First, the company General Atomics begins work on the development of high-energy combat laser HELLADS, which will be installed on US Air Force aircraft. All work will be carried out within the framework of the contract, which the General Atomics company concluded with the defense research agency DARPA.

The contract is the next step in the development of aviation laser, which is followed by successful field testing of auxiliary equipment. Based on the new contract, an 150-kW combat solid-state laser will be created, provided with liquid in-line cooling.

The weight of the aviation laser HELLADS, according to the designers, will not exceed 2 thousand kg, which will put it on different military platforms, in particular, fighters, patrol ships, reconnaissance aircraft, armored vehicles and, probably, even unmanned aerial vehicles. To date, General Atomics has successfully completed the development and field tests of a prototype power system, as well as a system for removing heat, thereby confirming that the auxiliary equipment of a completely new weapon is completely ready.

The first HELLADS test with an integrated 150-kW laser, fire control and cooling systems, and a power supply in the field is scheduled for 2013. and will be held at the range in the south of New Mexico - White Sands. After completing a number of operational as well as fire tests, the combat super-laser will be integrated as a separate B-1B bomber armament complex.

Combat laser HELLADS will allow to conduct high-precision fire from aircraft on a wide range of targets - from missiles to enemy personnel, while minimizing collateral damage in firing in densely populated areas.

Secondly, 25 July 2011g. The American corporation Boeing and the company BAE Systems, representing the UK, have signed an agreement on cooperation in creating an entirely new type of weapon designed for the US Navy.

The partners intend to introduce the tactical laser system developed today into the Mk 38 Mod 2 cannon system used in the fleet long ago with a fully automatic 25 caliber mm gun. M242 Bushmaster.

In March of this year, BAE received from the US fleet $ 2,8 million to build a demonstration example of such a combined system. As a result, a hybrid installation of the future should appear - the Mk 38 Mod 2 Tactical Laser System, which combines a conventional gun and a powerful solid-state laser mounted in one unit. Presumably, they will use a joint guidance system.

According to the authors of the idea, a similar combination of two types of weapons will provide increased flexibility as well as accuracy in confrontation with small surface and air targets, such as boats, boats and unmanned aerial vehicles.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

19 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Американцы вооружаются боевыми лазерами

Американцы вооружаются боевыми лазерами


Июль текущего года стал богатым на сообщения, идущие из США, о начале разработок оружия будущего, которое основано на энергии лазерных установок.


Во-первых, компания General Atomics начинает работы по разработке высокоэнергетического боевого лазера HELLADS, который будет устанавливаться на самолетах ВВС США. Все работы будут проводиться в рамках контракта, который компания General Atomics заключила с оборонным научным агентством DARPA.

Контракт является очередным шагом в разработке авиационного лазера, который идет за состоявшимся успешным полевым испытанием вспомогательного оборудования. На основе нового контракта будет создан 150-кВт боевой твердотельный лазер, обеспеченный жидкостным поточным охлаждением.

Вес авиационного лазера HELLADS, по замыслу конструкторов, не превысит 2 тыс. кг, что позволит ставить его на разные военные платформы, в частности, истребители, сторожевые корабли, разведывательные самолеты, бронированные машины и, вероятно, даже на беспилотные летательные аппараты. На текущий момент компания General Atomics с успехом завершила разработку и полевые испытания прототипа энергосистемы, а также системы отвода выделяемого тепла, тем самым подтвердив, что вспомогательное оборудование совершенно нового оружия полностью готово.

Первое испытание HELLADS со встроенным 150-кВт лазером, системами управления огнем и охлаждения, источником питания в полевых условиях запланировано на 2013г. и пройдет на полигоне на юге Нью-Мексико - White Sands. После завершения ряда эксплуатационных, а также огневых тестов боевой сверхлазер будет интегрирован как отдельный комплекс вооружения бомбардировщика B-1B.

Боевой лазер HELLADS позволит вести высокоточный огонь с самолетов по широкому спектру мишеней - от ракет до живой силы противника, при этом будет сведен к минимуму побочный ущерб при ведении огня в густонаселенных районах.

Во-вторых, 25 июля 2011г. американская корпорация Boeing и компания BAE Systems, представляющая Великобританию, подписали соглашение о взаимодействии в создании совершенно нового вида оружия, предназначенного для ВМФ США.

Партнеры намерены внедрить развиваемую сегодня тактическую лазерную систему в давно используемую на флоте орудийную систему Mk 38 Mod 2 с полностью автоматической пушкой калибра 25 мм. M242 Bushmaster.

В марте текущего года компания BAE получила от флота США $2,8 млн. на постройку демонстрационного примера подобной комбинированной системы. В итоге должна появиться гибридная установка будущего - Mk 38 Mod 2 Tactical Laser System, которая совместит в себе обычную пушку и мощный твердотельный лазер, закрепленные в одном блоке. Предположительно, они будут использовать совместную систему наведения.

По суждению авторов идеи, подобное совмещение двух типов вооружения обеспечит повышенную гибкость, а также точность в противостоянии с небольшими надводными и воздушными целями, таких как лодки, катера и беспилотные летательные аппараты.
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

19 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти