Turkey and Israel - is an alliance possible?

Turkey and Israel - is an alliance possible?

At present, relations between the two regional powers, Israel and Turkey can be described as tense, the main reason for the cooling of relations is the disagreement over the Palestine problem. The reason for the complication of relations was the famous attack by Israeli special forces on the so-called. "Flotilla freedom ”- on May 31, 2010, during an armed clash on the Mavi Marmara vessel, nine Turkish citizens were killed by fighters of the Шaetet 13 unit.


Then Ankara allowed herself to make a number of harsh statements: for example, the head of the Turkish government, Tayyip Erdogan, accused Israel of the gross violation of international law and of state terrorism. In addition, there is a persistent hostility towards Jewry in Turkish society - a surge of anti-Jewish sentiment occurred during the war in Lebanon in 2006, the Israeli armed forces held in December 2008 - January 2009, Operation Cast Lead in the Gaza Strip. In Turkish society, according to public opinion polls that were conducted in 2007 — 2009, there is a significant level of xenophobia in Turkey: for example, 64% of Turks would not like to see Jews as their neighbors, 76% of the polled Turkish citizens treat Jews negatively and only 7% are positively.

A very negative signal for Israel is the “purge” of the army, which was dominated by supporters of the secular path of development of Turkey and the preservation of allied relations with Israel. Obviously, the recent sensational resignation of the entire military leadership of Turkey is also associated with this process: due to disagreements with Erdogan (which are not reported), the chief of the Turkish General Staff and the commanders of the Land Forces, Air Force and Navy sent to resign. Ankara is increasingly moving towards the Islamization of society, the project "Ottoman Empire - 2" is becoming more and more popular.

Raising the Palestinian issue, Turkey has repeatedly criticized the leadership of Israel for the plight of the population in the Palestinian territories, which was caused by their partial or complete blockade by the Israeli army. Ankara’s extreme disapproval was also caused by border incidents that occurred in the so-called Nakba Day (the Arabs call Israel’s Independence Day). According to Turkish Prime Minister Erdogan, the Palestinians were again forced to mark Nakba Day with blood and tears due to the unjustified use of force by the Israeli military. Turkish Foreign Minister Ahmet Davutoglu also expressed his views on the problem of Palestine, Davutoglu called inadmissible killings of civilians and called on Israel to completely lift the blockade of the Gaza Strip. Ankara stresses the need to recognize the legitimate Palestinian government, which includes representatives of a recognized terrorist organization, the Hamas group.

Jerusalem, for its part, reports the need for tough measures against Palestinian terrorists, which is quite logical in the light of the constant rocket attacks on Sderot and Ashkelon. In addition, Jerusalem is irritated by the reconciliation of two rival Palestinian movements for power, Hamas and Fatah.

Another issue that spoils Turkish-Israeli relations, hindering their possible strategic partnership, is the Kurdish question. The problem of the Kurds, given their number in Turkey, is very painful for Ankara, since it can lead to significant territorial losses in the long run. That is why Turkey was so active in the Kurdish areas of neighboring Iraq and is closely eyeing the events in Syria. Israel is trying to use the "Kurdish card" in its own interests, back in 1977-1983, during the Israeli premiere of Begin, Israeli military advisers operated in the territory of Kurdistan. Kurds to Israel are interesting because they have common enemies - Iran, Syria, formerly Saddam Hussein’s regime in Iraq. Helping the Kurds, Israel diverts the attention of the Arabs and the Persians to them. In the 2003 year, when the US attacked Iraq, and it became clear that the Iraqi American campaign was dragging on, Ariel Sharon (Israeli Prime Minister in 2001-2006) made an important decision - to strengthen military and economic relations with the Kurds. Currently, Israel is cautious about the Kurdish issue, trying not to arouse Ankara’s anger.

It is clear that in general in Israel they are interested in the “Turkish window” when the hostile Arab states are around. So, in June 2011, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu sent T. Erdogan a personal message, in which the head of the Israeli government expressed hope for a normalization of relations between the powers. Israel and Turkey currently have an excellent opportunity to normalize relations and develop a common strategy, at least in the near future - this is the situation in Syria. So, Syria de jure has been at war with Israel since 1973, being an ally of the main enemy of Jerusalem - Iran. Ankara has its own reasons for Syria: this is the Kurdish issue in Syria, the unrest in Syria causes serious concern among the Turks; there is a territorial issue between them. Damascus to this day refuses to recognize the accession of the Alexandrine Sanjak to Turkey (historical the name of the area adjacent to the city of Alexandrette, in Turkey - the city of Iskenderun, in the province of Hatay). In 1936, France, which after the First World War had a mandate for Syria, included the Alexandretta Sanjak in Syria, on the basis of autonomy. Turkey claimed its rights, in 1937 this territory passed into the joint administration of France and Turkey. In 1938, with the consent of Paris, Turkey sent troops into the Alexandretta Sanjak, the French withdrew their troops from this territory, after which they created the autonomous state of Hatay, which was annexed to Turkey in June 1939. With this act, Paris, with the consent of London, paid for Turkey's accession to the Anglo-French Union - the Anglo-Turkish-French treaty of 1939 was concluded. This deal at the expense of Syria has provoked repeated protests by the Syrian government and Syrian society. Damascus still considers this territory to be its own. In addition, there are disputes between Syria and Turkey over the use of the Efrat River.

It is still not clear which path Ankara will take in the new geopolitical reality that is taking shape in the region. Turkey can join the anti-Israeli coalition, in alliance with Iran and Syria. And maybe go to rapprochement with Israel, at least temporary, to resolve the issue with Syria.

Sources of:
http://ria.ru/world/20100531/240860795.html
http://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/Антисемитизм_в_Турции
http://www.svobodanews.ru/archive/ru_news_zone/20110730/17/17.html?id=24281409
http://dic.academic.ru/dic.nsf/sie/455/АЛЕКСАНДРЕТТСКИЙ
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. jamert
    jamert 2 August 2011 08: 29 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    If Turkey starts to rock a lot, then the militants from the Kurdistan Workers Party will get the latest weapons from somewhere. and then the Turks will not be up to Israel.
  2. Stephen
    Stephen 2 August 2011 11: 32 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Is Turkey and Israel Possible Alliance? What nonsense at all? Equally if there would be an alliance between Israel and Palestine
    1. Skills 2 August 2011 12: 58 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Why nonsense? There are plenty of facts of the dense military-technical and political cooperation of the two powers in the 90, the beginning of the 2000. So at the end of 2005, Israeli engineers began a large-scale modernization of the Turkish fleet tank fleet. Cooperated in the field of UAVs.
  3. Petrol 2 August 2011 14: 54 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    hardly .... although if it (the alliance) happens, it will look like a circus ...
  4. Max79 2 August 2011 16: 44 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    It seems to me that no alliance between the Turks and the Jews will work. Even because Muslims have always been negative towards the Jews. But the Jews are cunning and therefore, the turn of events can only be from the throne of Israel.
  5. nnz226 2 August 2011 19: 01 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    in Turkey, Islamists actively climb to power, moreover, they are radically minded. Having taken power, they, as "faithful Muslims", will immediately begin anti-Israeli politics - this is accepted by all Islamists. While maintaining secular power, as they say, "options are possible" ...
  6. cVM
    cVM 2 August 2011 22: 09 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Turkey is an important player in the Middle East, it is better for Israel to be excused and indeed Israel killed 10 swarms in neutral waters by violating the UN charter, a decision will be made in the UN and the IDF soldiers will sit down and then there will be even more pain.
  7. Marat
    Marat 4 August 2011 22: 51 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Before Erdogan and Gul came to power, Turkey was a faithful ally of the United States and a member of NATO - there were no disagreements with Israel and there was no choice between Israel and Syria.

    I really would not want the Islamists to come to power in my country - but I welcome this in Turkey. As a result, the mentality of their people becomes more anti-American and anti-NATO - the attitude towards us is softening - remember the example of Iran - during the Shah, they were enemies with American bases and tension on the border. After the expulsion of the Pindos and the reign of Ayatollahs, this is the border of peace and friendship - no bases and behave quieter than water below the grass - all aggression on the states

    Syria is our potential ally - we benefit from a mutual understanding between Syria and Turkey - I hope the Turkish leadership has the wisdom to think first of all about good relations with neighbors (Iran, Syria, Russia) and not about the interests of Israel and Pindos

Турция и Израиль - возможен ли альянс?

Турция и Израиль - возможен ли альянс?

В настоящее время отношения между двумя региональными державами, Израилем и Турцией можно охарактеризовать как напряженные, главная причина охлаждения отношений, это разногласия по поводу проблемы Палестины. Поводом к осложнению отношений стало знаменитое нападение израильских сил специального назначения на т. н. «Флотилию свободы» - 31 мая 2010 года во время вооруженного столкновения на судне "Мави Мармара" девять граждан Турции были убиты бойцами подразделения «Шаетет-13».

Тогда Анкара позволила себе сделать ряд жестких заявлений: так, глава турецкого правительства Тайип Эрдоган обвинил Израиль в грубейшем нарушении международного права и в государственном терроризме. Кроме того, в турецком обществе наблюдается стойкая неприязнь к еврейству – всплеск антиеврейских настроений произошёл в ходе войны в Ливане в 2006 году, проведения израильскими вооруженными силами в декабре 2008 – январе 2009 года операции «Литой свинец» в Секторе Газа. В турецком обществе, согласно опросам общественного мнения, которые провели в 2007—2009 годах, в Турции наблюдается значительный уровень ксенофобии: так 64 % турок не желали бы видеть своими соседями евреев, 76 % опрошенных турецких граждан относится к евреям отрицательно и только 7 % относится положительно.

Весьма негативный сигнал для Израиля – «чистка» армии, где преобладали сторонники светского пути развития Турции, сохранения союзнических отношений с Израилем. Очевидно и с этим процессом связана и недавняя сенсационная отставка всего военного руководства Турции: из-за разногласий с Эрдоганом (о каких не сообщается) в отставку отправлены начальник турецкого Генштаба, а также главкомы Сухопутных сил, ВВС и ВМС. Анкара всё больше идёт в сторону исламизации общества, проект «Османская империя – 2» всё более популярен.


Поднимая палестинский вопрос, Турция неоднократно критиковала руководство Израиля за тяжелое положение населения на территориях Палестины, которое было вызвано частичной или полной их блокадой израильской армией. Крайнее неодобрение Анкары вызвали и инциденты на границе, произошедшие в т. н. День Накбы (так называют арабы День независимости Израиля). Как словам премьер-министра Турции Эрдогана, палестинцы опять были вынуждены отметить День Накбы кровью и слезами из-за неоправданного применения силы израильскими военными. Министр иностранных дел Турции Ахмет Давутоглу также высказал свою точку зрения на проблему Палестины, Давутоглу назвал недопустимыми убийства мирных жителей и призвал Израиль к полному снятию блокады Сектора Газа. Анкара подчёркивает необходимость признания законным палестинского правительства, куда входят и представители признанной террористической организацией, группировки Хамас.

Иерусалим со своей стороны сообщает о необходимости жестких мер против палестинских террористов, это вполне логично в свете постоянных ракетных обстрелов Сдерота и Ашкелона. Кроме того, Иерусалим раздражён примирением двух соперничающих за власть палестинских движений - Хамаса и ФАТХа.

Ещё один вопрос, который портит турецко-израильские отношения, препятствуя их возможному стратегическому партнёрству – это курдский вопрос. Проблема курдов, учитывая их число в Турции, для Анкары очень болезненна, так как может в долгосрочной перспективе привести к значительным территориальным потерям. Именно поэтому Турция так активно действовала в курдских районах соседнего Ирака и внимательно присматривается к событиям в Сирии. Израиль же пытается использовать «курдскую карту» в своих интересах, ещё в 1977-1983 годах, при израильском премьере Бегине, на территории Курдистана действовали израильские военные советники. Курды Израилю интересны тем, что у них общие враги – Иран, Сирия, раньше режим Саддама Хусейна в Ираке. Помогая курдам, Израиль отвлекает внимание арабов и персов на них. В 2003 году, когда США напали на Ирак, и стало ясно, что иракская американская кампания затягивается, Ариель Шарон (премьер-министр Израиля в 2001-2006 годах) принял важное решение – укрепить военные и экономические отношения с курдами. В настоящее время Израиль в курдском вопросе осторожен, стараясь не вызывать гнев Анкары.

Понятно, что в целом в Израиле заинтересованы в «турецком окне», когда кругом враждебные арабские государства. Так, в июне 2011 года премьер Израиля Биньямин Нетаньяху направил Т. Эрдогану личное сообщение, в нём глава израильского правительства выразил надежду на нормализацию взаимоотношений между державами. Израиль и Турция имеют в настоящее время отличную возможность для нормализации отношений, выработки общей стратегии, по крайней мере на ближайшую перспективу – это ситуация в Сирии. Так, Сирия де-юре находится в состоянии войны с Израилем с 1973 года, являясь союзником главного врага Иерусалима – Ирана. У Анкары есть свои резоны в отношении Сирии: это курдский вопрос в Сирии, волнения в Сирии вызывают серьёзные опасения у турков; есть между ними и территориальный вопрос. Дамаск до настоящего времени отказывается признать присоединение к Турции Александрттского санджака (историческое название области, прилегающей к городу Александретте, в составе Турции - город Искендерун, в провинции Хатай). В 1936 году Франция, которая после Первой мировой войны имела мандат на Сирию, включила Александреттский санджак в Сирию, на правах автономии. Турция предъявила на него свои права, в 1937 году эта территория перешла в совместное управление Франции и Турции. В 1938 году, с согласия Парижа, Турция ввела свои войска в Александреттский санджак, французы вывели свои войска с этой территории, после этого создали автономное государство Хатай, которое было присоединено к Турции в июне 1939 года. Этим актом Париж, при согласии Лондона, заплатил за присоединение Турции к англо-францускому союзу – был заключён англо-турецко-французский договор 1939 года. Эта сделка за счет Сирии вызывала неоднократные протесты сирийского правительства и сирийского общества. Дамаск по-прежнему считает эту территорию своей. Кроме того, есть споры между Сирией и Турцией по вопросу использования реки Ефрат.

Пока остается не ясным, какой путь выберет Анкара в новой геополитической реальности, которая складывается в регионе. Турция может присоединиться к антиизраильской коалиции, в союзе с Ираном и Сирией. А может пойти на сближение с Израилем, по крайней мере временное, для решения вопроса с Сирией.

Источники:
http://ria.ru/world/20100531/240860795.html
http://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/Антисемитизм_в_Турции
http://www.svobodanews.ru/archive/ru_news_zone/20110730/17/17.html?id=24281409
http://dic.academic.ru/dic.nsf/sie/455/АЛЕКСАНДРЕТТСКИЙ


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. jamert 2 августа 2011 08:29
    Если Турция начнет много рыпаться - то боевики из рабочей партии Курдистана откуда-то получат новейшее вооружение. и тогда туркам будет не до израиля.
    jamert
  2. Stefano 2 августа 2011 11:32
    Турция и Израиль возможен ли альянс? Что за бред вообще? Равнозначно тому если было бы альянс между Израиль и Палестиной
    Stefano
    1. Скил 2 августа 2011 12:58
      Почему бред? Есть масса фактов плотного военно-технического и политического сотрудничества двух держав в 90-е, начале 2000-х годов. Так в конце 2005 г. израильские инженеры приступили к выполнению масштабной модернизации танкового парка турецких ВС. Сотрудничали в области БЛА.
  3. Benzin 2 августа 2011 14:54
    вряд ли .... хотя если он (альянс) и случится это будет похоже на цирк ...
  4. Max79 2 августа 2011 16:44
    Мне кажется никакого альянса турок с жидами не получится.Даже из-за того ,что мусульмане всегда негативно относились к жидам.Но жиды хитрые и поэтому,поворот событий может быть только с торону Израиля.
  5. nnz226 2 августа 2011 19:01
    в Турции к власти активно лезут исламисты, причём, радикально настроенные. Взяв власть они, как "правоверные мусульмане" тут же начнут антиизраильскую политику, - это у всех исламистов принято. При сохранении светской власти, как говорится, "возможны варианты"...
  6. cVM 2 августа 2011 22:09
    Турция важный игрок на Ближнем востоке,лучше израилю извинисят и вправду израиль убило 10 рых в нейтральных водах нарушив устав оон,выйдет решение в оон и посядят солдат ЦАХАЛА вот тогда будет боль еще больше.
    cVM
  7. Marat 4 августа 2011 22:51
    До прихода Эрдогана и Гюля к власти Турция была верным союзником сша и членом нато - никаких разногласии с израилем не было и выбор не стоял между израилем и сирией.

    Я очень не хотел бы прихода исламистов к власти в моей стране - но приветствую это в Турции. В результате менталитет их народа становится более антиамериканским и антинатовским - смягчается позиция в отношении нас - вспомните пример Ирана - при шахе они были врагами с американскими базами и напряженностью на границе. После изгнания пиндосов и воцарении аятолл это граница мира и дружбы - никаких баз и ведут себя тише воды ниже травы - вся агрессия на штаты

    Сирия наш потенциальный союзник - нам выгодно взаимопонимание между сирией и турцией - надеюсь у турецкого руководства хватит мудрости в первую очередь подумать о хороших отношения с соседями (иран сирия россия) а не об интересах израиля и пиндосов
    Marat

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня