The weapons of the Manchurian hills - how the Russians hunted and defended themselves in the Far East at the end of the 19 century

The weapons of the Manchurian hills - how the Russians hunted and defended themselves in the Far East at the end of the 19 centuryThe development of the Russian Far East - история courageous people at the end of the 19 century managed to adapt to the harsh climate and great distances. The hard and dangerous life, the closeness of the Chinese and Americans, isolation from the homeland could not but impose its imprint on the specifics of their weapons. The features of their gunshot weapons well described by Vyacheslav Panteleimonovich Vrad in 1904 year.

Going to the Far East, the scientist thought about what kind of weapon would have been useful to him in the harsh lands. The zoologist and ethnographer should have been able not only to apply his knowledge, but, first of all, to survive. It is now in the harsh climate of Siberia there are no big problems with heating: those who wish can install themselves electric convectorsbut there is no need for weapons at all. The beginning of the 20 century - a period significantly different from our present. The scientist had to possess weapons and skills to survive in harsh conditions.


Initially, Vradiy chose a shotgun-shotgun intended for hunting, and a large-caliber 5-shotgun, necessary for protection. However, it quickly became clear that the shotgun was simply useless: according to the builders of the East China Railway, it is more fun in these parts than a serious weapon. After consulting with experienced people, Vradiy thought about buying a rifle.

The scientist recalled that the Russian residents of Vladivostok prefer medium-caliber hard drives. It is an ideal weapon for both self defense and hunting. Naturally, warm clothing was of fundamental importance: purchase and sale of split systems in the 19 century, as you understand, was not feasible. The scientist bought a ten-drive hard drive - and did not regret it. This weapon has often served him well both in hunting geese and in gunfights: “wild Manchurians” were often welcomed by bullets.

Vradiy said that many Russians also successfully used Mosin three-line rifles; shotguns connected to the choke; military rapid-fire rifles;
Mauser pistols; medium caliber revolvers.

The scientist did not immediately adapt to the climate, because modern air curtains then were still unknown. In this troubled region, he was advised to acquire a combat magazine rifle, or at least an army Nagant.

The conclusions made by Vrady, sounded like this: in Manchuria, a military rifle is needed, and better hard drive, smooth-bore rifle and revolver. All three types of weapons for the traveler are irreplaceable.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

Add a comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Оружие манчжурских сопок - как русские охотились и защищались на Дальнем Востоке в конце 19-го века

Оружие манчжурских сопок - как русские охотились и защищались на Дальнем Востоке в конце 19-го векаОсвоение Дальнего Востока русскими – история мужественных людей, в конце 19 века умудрившихся приспособиться к суровому климату и огромным расстояниям. Нелегкая и опасная жизнь, близость китайцев и американцев, оторванность от родины не могли не наложить своего отпечатка на специфику их вооружения. Особенности их огнестрельного оружия отлично описаны Вячеславом Пантелеймоновичем Врадием в 1904 году.

Собираясь на Дальний Восток, ученый задумался над тем, какое оружие пригодилось бы ему в суровых краях. Зоолог и этнограф должен был уметь не только применить свои познания, но, в первую очередь, выжить. Это сейчас в жестком климате Сибири нет больших проблем с отоплением: желающие могут установить себе конвекторы электрические, а в оружии потребности вообще нет. Начало 20 века – период существенно отличный от нашей современности. Ученый должен был владеть оружием и навыками выживания в суровых условиях.

Изначально Врадий остановил выбор на дробовике-двустволке, предназначавшемся для охоты, и 5-тизарядном револьвере большого калибра, необходимом для защиты. Однако очень быстро выяснилось, что дробовик попросту бесполезен: по словам строителей Восточно-китайской железной дороги, это больше забава в этих краях, чем серьезное оружие. Посоветовавшись с бывалыми людьми, Врадий задумался о покупке винтовки.


Ученый вспоминал, что русские жители Владивостока предпочитают винчестеры среднего калибра. Это идеальное оружие и для самозащиты, и для охоты. Естественно, принципиальное значение имела теплая одежда: покупка и продажа сплит-систем в 19 веке, как вы понимаете, была неосуществима. Ученый купил десятизарядный винчестер – и не пожалел об этом. Это оружие не раз сослужило ему хорошую службу и в охоте на гусей, и в перестрелках: «дикие маньчжуры» гостей часто приветствовали пулями.

Врадий рассказывал, что многие русские с успехом использовали также трехлинейные винтовки Мосина; дробовики, соединенные со штуцером; военные скорострельные ружья;
Маузеровские пистолеты; револьверы среднего калибра.

Ученый не сразу адаптировался к климату, ведь современные воздушно-тепловые завесы тогда еще были неизвестны. В этом неспокойном регионе ему советовали обзавестись боевой магазинной винтовкой или хотя бы армейским Наганом.

Выводы, сделанные Врадием, звучали так: в Маньчжурии необходимы военное ружье, а лучше винчестер, гладкоствольная берданка и револьвер. Все три вида оружия для путешественника незаменимы.



Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 0

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня