Military Review

Market pandemic. To the Ebola Case and the Return of Mass Epidemics

15
I think thirty years ago, when asked about the possibility of new epidemics comparable in scope and destruction to the plague, or at least to cholera (I happened to be present at the outbreak in Odessa in 1970 of a relatively safe strain of this disease - El Tor), I answered would definitely negative. In fact, it is not possible in our enlightened age — the century of the rapid development of biology and medicine — for any appreciable time to hold on to an combat-capable state of any kind of infection.

Unfortunately, my optimism has now diminished sharply. First of all, because it turned out: the most terrible infection is organizational, affecting not only individuals, but society as a whole. Our world is increasingly moving from the logic of business to the logic of profit. From the logic of development of the economy as a whole (the one that gave rise to the myth of the Invisible Hand of the Market: after all, the market was once formed by people brought up on concepts covering the whole society - from religion to craft craft with a focus on a single tradition) - to the logic of development only that part of it, which can be immediately turned into a fine coin (or the corresponding records in computer databases).

In particular, not only did Western companies find it unprofitable to develop tools for Ebola because it exists in some exotic places where people are completely poor, and therefore it is impossible to earn money to fight it. What is more terrible is that in our country, which has long been accustomed to being among the main centers of science, in the dashing nineties, for the sake of penny savings, medical research institutions, sharpened by the search for funds from the same Ebola and other exotics, are fairly reduced.

And even worse, now even the United States of America does not agree to close aviation communication with regions affected by this infection. Prepositions are composed, as usual, very beautiful, but the reason is very simple: if you close the message, some economic structures involved in the development will have problems - and, in fact, simply plunder the wealth - these distant lands.

Therefore, I suppose that in the present conditions it is impossible to be sure that even the most obvious epidemiological threat will force one of the decision makers to seriously attend to the fight against this threat if this struggle does not bring immediate profits.

The longer the struggle with a threat, the greater the potential profit from this struggle. In particular, in the market world, single-use vaccines are not as readily created as drugs, and they, in turn, receive less attention from developers than preventive agents for permanent use. Consequently, while the logic of earnings (and not the result) will dominate, even with very serious epidemics, there will be a search for means of extending the lives of the sick, but not a search for means of eradicating the disease itself. Therefore, as long as the Invisible Hand of the Market is proclaimed the main guiding and guiding force of the society, it will quite obviously close its eyes to everyone on whom the organization of the fight against epidemics depends. It only remains to hope that this Invisible Hand of the Market is moved away from people even before it can drive to the grave - or at least the hospital bed - a significant part of humanity.
Author:
Originator:
http://www.odnako.org/blogs/rinochnaya-pandemiya-k-sluchayu-eboli-i-vozvrashcheniyu-massovih-epidemiy/
15 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. arch_kate3
    arch_kate3 29 October 2014 14: 04
    0
    Question: who will move this hand away?
    1. Giant thought
      Giant thought 29 October 2014 14: 58
      +1
      The casket just opened, the Yankees want to get as much money from these territories as possible.
    2. The comment was deleted.
  2. MIKHALYCH1
    MIKHALYCH1 29 October 2014 14: 05
    +3
    This Ebola is 40 years old at lunch .. hi
    1. Stanislav 1978
      Stanislav 1978 29 October 2014 14: 08
      0
      Quote: MIKHALYCHXNNX
      This Ebola is 40 years old at lunch .. hi

      Yes, even 400, this is not easier. hi
      1. Alex_Popovson
        Alex_Popovson 29 October 2014 16: 26
        0
        Hospada, neither the USA, nor Russia, nor Europe, this fucking virus is not terrible! Well, learn it already, People!
        1. I read the news
          I read the news 30 October 2014 12: 22
          0
          Quote: Alex_Popovson
          this fucking virus is not scary

          why is that?
  3. TECHNOLOGY
    TECHNOLOGY 29 October 2014 14: 06
    0
    if this struggle will not bring immediate profit. Money is everything! Human life is 0! There you have it!
  4. Abbra
    Abbra 29 October 2014 14: 07
    +2
    Wisely. I put a plus. But I suspect that everything that is happening is a struggle between two systems, as it does not sound cynical, over the quick seizure of a panacea for a problem that has suddenly arisen. Here the hope the States ran into Russia, about the primacy in the fight against Ebola ... I immediately recall AIDS, and everything connected with it.
  5. B.T.V.
    B.T.V. 29 October 2014 14: 11
    +1
    Maybe it's time to chop off this "Invisible Hand of the Market" ???
  6. Stiletto
    Stiletto 29 October 2014 14: 11
    +1
    Quote: Abbra
    I immediately recall AIDS, and everything connected with it.


    Well, Americans didn’t think of patenting AIDS, but they patented Ebola. So that, as they say, no one and a shadow of doubt remained that it was a biological weapon. Therefore, no one in the West is in a hurry to develop a vaccine - why do they need weapons that will not be 100% effective?
  7. Ober.K
    Ober.K 29 October 2014 14: 12
    +1
    This is worse than any epidemic !!!
    Ebola, like any other infection, will be defeated, no doubt !!! This is not the first and not the last infection on earth! We need money and time ... How to protect society from this "epidemic" !!! ??? The world community "by leaps and bounds" is moving towards the destruction of the most sacred for all normal people! That which was created by God, man and woman! And all that is connected with it! It is my deep conviction that LGBT people are people with serious mental disabilities and it is simply immoral and blasphemous to do business out of this !!!
    1. Hagalaz
      Hagalaz 29 October 2014 18: 25
      0
      This is not business, but purposeful action. Population reduction.
  8. Prager
    Prager 29 October 2014 14: 49
    -1
    it seems that the mattresses worked out their biological weapons on poor blacks and something went wrong ...
  9. Mountain shooter
    Mountain shooter 29 October 2014 14: 52
    0
    Anatoly Wasserman, as always, is concise and accurate. I hope this Ebola shandarahnet on the same mattress as it should, maybe they will change their minds? yes where there, the innocent will suffer again. So no more. Strangle this infection in the bud, and prevent it from spreading around the world.
  10. sv68
    sv68 29 October 2014 15: 07
    -1
    Wasserman would do well to get in touch with virologists — how long does it take to develop and create a vaccine — anyone — and then he would not write that the vaccine is prepared willingly or reluctantly. If there is normal funding, the result will be sooner or later. Article minus did not, but she does not deserve another.
  11. nomad74
    nomad74 29 October 2014 16: 04
    -1
    The whole problem is that the States modified the ebola, since now it is quite easy to do, 4-D technology is called. Used to make genetic material.
  12. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 29 October 2014 16: 38
    -1
    "now even the United States of America does not agree
    close air communication with the regions affected by this infection "///

    Why, did Russia close it up? Who knows?
  13. Drfreeman
    Drfreeman 29 October 2014 17: 58
    0
    Ebola, Ebola ... Why, they don't call it in Russian with the letter "E"
  14. Hagalaz
    Hagalaz 29 October 2014 18: 18
    +1
    Quote: arch_kate3
    Question: who will move this hand away?

    Yellowstone for example laughing
  15. polkovnik manuch
    polkovnik manuch 29 October 2014 22: 31
    0
    The Russian media have already warned about this more than once, - the myth of the "golden billion" on earth is not a bluff at all, too often some new infection has begun to appear.

Рубрика "Мнения" : Здесь выкладываются абсолютно различные мнения-статьи посетителей сайта, а также статьи с других сайтов для обсуждения. Администрация сайта по поводу этих новостей может иметь мнение, отличное от мнения авторов материалов.

Рыночная пандемия. К "случаю Эболы" и возвращению массовых эпидемий

Рыночная пандемия. К "случаю Эболы" и возвращению массовых эпидемийДумаю, ещё лет тридцать назад на вопрос о возможности новых эпидемий, сопоставимых по размаху и разрушениям с чумой или хотя бы с холерой (мне довелось присутствовать на вспышке в Одессе в 1970-м сравнительно безопасного штамма этой болезни — Эль-Тор), я ответил бы однозначно отрицательно. В самом деле, не может же в наш просвещённый век — век стремительного развития биологии и медицины — сколько-нибудь заметное время продержаться в боеспособном состоянии какая бы то ни было зараза.

К сожалению, сейчас у меня оптимизма резко поубавилось. Прежде всего потому, что выяснилось: самая страшная зараза — организационная, поражающая уже не отдельных людей, а общество в целом. Наш мир всё отчётливее переходит от логики дела к логике прибыли. От логики развития хозяйства в целом (той, что и породила миф о Невидимой Руке Рынка: ведь когда-то рынок формировали люди, воспитанные на концепциях, охватывающих всё общество — от религии до цехового ремесла с ориентацией на единую традицию) — к логике развития только той его части, какую можно сию секунду обратить в звонкую монету (или соответствующие ей записи в компьютерных базах данных).

В частности, мало того, что западные фирмы в своё время сочли нерентабельной разработку средств от лихорадки Эбола, поскольку существует она в каких-то экзотических местах, где народ сплошь нищий, а потому заработать на борьбе с нею невозможно. Куда страшнее то, что в нашей стране, давно привыкшей быть в числе главных центров науки, в лихие девяностые ради грошовой экономии изрядно урезаны медицинские исследовательские учреждения, заточенные под поиск средств от той же Эболы и другой экзотики.


А ещё страшнее, что сейчас даже Соединённые Государства Америки не соглашаются закрыть авиационное сообщение с регионами, поражёнными этой заразой. Предлоги сочиняют, как обычно, очень красивые, но причина очень проста: если сообщение закрыть, возникнут проблемы у некоторых хозяйственных структур, занимающихся освоением — а то и, по сути, просто разграблением богатств — этих отдалённых краёв.

Поэтому полагаю: в нынешних условиях невозможно быть уверенным в том, что даже самая очевидная эпидемиологическая угроза вынудит кого-нибудь из лиц, принимающих решение, всерьёз озаботиться борьбой с этой угрозой, если эта борьба не будет приносить немедленной прибыли.

Чем дольше идёт борьба с какой-то угрозой, тем больше потенциальная прибыль от этой борьбы. В частности, в рыночном мире вакцины, употребляемые однократно, создают не так охотно, как лекарства, а те в свою очередь пользуются меньшим вниманием разработчиков, чем профилактические средства для постоянного применения. Следовательно, пока будет господствовать логика заработка (а не результата), даже при очень серьёзных эпидемиях будет идти поиск средств продления жизни заболевших, но не поиск средств искоренения самой болезни. Поэтому до тех пор, пока главной руководящей и направляющей силой общества провозглашена Невидимая Рука Рынка, она будет вполне видимым образом закрывать глаза всем, от кого зависит организация борьбы с эпидемиями. Остаётся надеяться лишь на то, что эту Невидимую Руку Рынка отодвинут подальше от людей ещё до того, как она успеет загнать в могилу — или хотя бы на больничную койку — заметную часть человечества.
Автор: Анатолий Вассерман
Первоисточник: http://www.odnako.org/blogs/rinochnaya-pandemiya-k-sluchayu-eboli-i-vozvrashcheniyu-massovih-epidemiy/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 15
  1. arch_kate3 29 октября 2014 14:04
    Вопрос: кто отодвинет эту руку?
    arch_kate3
    1. Гигант мысли 29 октября 2014 14:58
      Ларчик просто открывался, янки хотят , как можно больше поиметь денег с этих территорий.
    2. Комментарий был удален.
  2. МИХАЛЫЧ1 29 октября 2014 14:05
    Этой ЭБОЛЕ 40 лет в обед.. hi
    1. Станислав 1978 29 октября 2014 14:08
      Цитата: МИХАЛЫЧ1
      Этой ЭБОЛЕ 40 лет в обед.. hi

      Да хоть 400, от этого не легче. hi
      1. Alex_Popovson 29 октября 2014 16:26
        Хоспаде, ни США, ни России, ни Европе этот долбаный вирус не страшен! Ну выучите это уже, Люди!
        Alex_Popovson
        1. ЧитаюНовости 30 октября 2014 12:22
          Цитата: Alex_Popovson
          этот долбаный вирус не страшен

          это почему это?
  3. ТЕХНАРЬ 29 октября 2014 14:06
    если эта борьба не будет приносить немедленной прибыли. Деньги-всё!Жизнь человеческая-0!Вот вам и делишки...
    ТЕХНАРЬ
  4. Abbra 29 октября 2014 14:07
    Мудро. Ставлю плюс. Но подозреваю, что все происходящее - борьба двух систем, как это не цинично звучит, по поводу быстрого овладевания панацеей от вдруг наступившей проблемы. Тут надысь Штаты наехали на Россию, по поводу первенства в борьбе с Эболой... Сразу вспоминается СПИД, и все, что с этим связано.
  5. Б.Т.В. 29 октября 2014 14:11
    А может пора отрубить эту " Невидимую Руку Рынка"???
  6. Stiletto 29 октября 2014 14:11
    Цитата: Abbra
    Сразу вспоминается СПИД, и все, что с этим связано.


    Ну, СПИД-то американцы запатентовать не додумались, а вот Эболу запатентовали. Чтобы, как говорится, ни у кого и тени сомнений не оставалось, что речь идет о биологическом оружии. Поэтому и вакцину никто на западе разрабатывать не спешит - зачем им нужно оружие, которое не будет 100 % эффективным?
  7. Обер.К 29 октября 2014 14:12
    Вот это хлеще любой эпидемии!!!
    Эболу, как и другую заразу победят нет сомнений!!! Это не первая и не последняя зараза на земле! Нужны деньги и время... Как защитить общество от этой "эпидемии"!!!??? Мировое сообщество "семимильными шагами" двигается к уничтожению самого святого для всех нормальных людей! Того, что создано Богом мужчины и женщины! И всего того, что с этим связано! По моему глубокому убеждению ЛГБТ это люди с серьёзными психическими отклонениями и делать из этого бизнес просто аморально и богохульно!!!
    1. Хагалаз 29 октября 2014 18:25
      Это не бизненес, а целенаправленное действие. Сокращение численности населения.
  8. Prager 29 октября 2014 14:49
    похоже, матрасники отрабатывали на бедных неграх своё биологическое оружие и что-то пошло не так...
  9. Горный стрелок 29 октября 2014 14:52
    Анатолий Вассерман, как всегда, лаконичен и точен. Надеюсь, эта Эбола шандарахнет по той же матрасии как следует, может, одумаются? да куда там, пострадают опять невиновные. Так что не надо больше. Задушить эту заразу в зародыше, и не дать ей распространиться по миру.
  10. sv68 29 октября 2014 15:07
    Вассерману не помешало-бы поинтирисоваться у вирусологов-сколько времени нужно на разроботку и создание вакцины-любой-и он тогда не стал бы писать что вакцину делают охотно или неохотно.если есть нормальное финансирование-то и результат рано или поздно будет.статье минус ставить не стал-но другого она не заслуживает.
  11. nomad74 29 октября 2014 16:04
    Вся проблема в том что Штаты эболу модифицировали, так как сейчас это делать достаточно легко, 4-D технология называется. Используется для изготовления генетического материала.
  12. voyaka uh 29 октября 2014 16:38
    "сейчас даже Соединённые Государства Америки не соглашаются
    закрыть авиационное сообщение с регионами, поражёнными этой заразой"///

    А чего, Росиия закрыла разве? Кто знает?
  13. DrFreeman 29 октября 2014 17:58
    Эбола, эбола... Почему, не назвают на русский лад с буквой "Е"
    DrFreeman
  14. Хагалаз 29 октября 2014 18:18
    Цитата: arch_kate3
    Вопрос: кто отодвинет эту руку?

    Йлоустоун например laughing
  15. polkovnik manuch 29 октября 2014 22:31
    Об этом уже не раз предупреждали российские СМИ ,-миф о "золотом милиарде" на земле вовсе не блеф, уж слишком часто стала появляться какая -нибудь новая зараза.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня