Military Review

Yegor Kovalevsky and the countries of the East

3
В stories of the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Kovalevsky is perhaps the only example of a leader who has set the scientific activities of his department to such a high level and so successfully applied a scientific approach in solving diplomatic tasks.

* * *


Egor Petrovich Kovalevsky was born on February 6 (17) in 1809 [1] in the village of Yaroshevka, Kharkov Province, in a noble family. In 1825-1828 He studied at the philological faculty of Kharkov University, after which he served in 1830-1837. mining engineer in the Altai and Ural gold-mining plants.

Kovalevsky began to publish in 1832 as a poet, novels and novels also belong to him, but his essays on trips to the South of Europe, Central Asia, Africa, and the Far East brought him fame.

According to the results of his travels in Afghanistan, the Balkans, the Carpathians, Kashmir and Central Asia, Kovalevsky wrote the book “Traveling by Land and Sea” in 3-parts [2].

In 1846, Kovalevsky accompanied the Egyptian engineers to the Urals, sent to Russia by our Muhammad Ali [3] to study mining, and in 1847, he traveled to Egypt to set up gold mining there. He used this trip to provide services to the young Russian Geographical Society, to which he was elected the same year: in 1847-1848.

Kovalevsky conducted geographic and geological research in Northeast Africa, the results of which he was one of the first to indicate the correct geographical location of the sources of the Bahr-el-Abyad / White Nile river. [4] Kovalevsky described this expedition in his book “Journey to Inner Africa” [5] in 2 parts.

Based on materials collected by Kovalevsky during his visits to Beijing to 1849-1851, he compiled a description of Mongolia and China "Journey to China" [6] in 2 parts of [7].

With the participation of Colonel Corps of Mining Engineers Kovalevsky 25 July (6 August) 1851 was concluded Guldzhinsky treatise [8]. Under this agreement, Russia received the right to organize in Kuldzha (Or, the current Inin. - P.G.) and Chuguchak (Tarbagatay, the current Tacheng. - P.G.) trading posts and appointed consuls there. [9] By setting the start of regular trade with Western China, the treaty contributed to the later acquisitions of Russia in Turkestan.

In 1853, in connection with the Turkish attack on Montenegro, Kovalevsky was sent there as a Russian commissar. For his successful actions in the Balkans, Nicholas I granted him a precious snuffbox.

Yegor Kovalevsky and the countries of the East


During the Crimean War in 1853 – 1855 Kovalevsky was in the army of Prince MD. Gorchakova. Consisting at the headquarters of the commander in chief, he participated in the retreat of the army from the Danube and the defense of Sevastopol. Kovalevsky reflected his analysis of the events of that time in the book The War with Turkey and the Break with the Western Powers in 1853 and 1854 [10].

At the end of the Crimean War, which had severe military and political consequences for Russia, Emperor Alexander II, who took the throne in 1855, changed the leadership of the Foreign Ministry. In 1856, instead of the conservative Chancellor KV Nesselrode was appointed a talented diplomat A.M. Gorchakov, and Kovalevsky - Director of the Asian Department. At the same time, Kovalevsky was an assistant to the chairman of the Russian Geographical Society, becoming a corresponding member in 1856, and an honorary member of the Imperial St. Petersburg Academy of Sciences in 1857.

The appointment of Kovalevsky as director of the Asian department was one of AM's successful steps. Gorchakova. The activities of this division of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs immediately revived. Kovalevsky, an energetic and enterprising leader, spoke in favor of carrying out a national foreign policy, for its activization, especially in the Middle East and the Balkans [11].

Since the main focus of his diplomatic activity is A.M. Gorchakov gave the European powers, the role of Kovalevsky in the definition of Asian politics was especially great. With his assistance, three diplomatic missions were sent to Asian countries that carried out extensive research and intelligence work: N.V. Khanykov led the mission to Persia and Afghanistan, N.P. Ignatiev - to Khiva and Bukhara, Ch.Ch. Valikhanov - in East Turkestan [12].

The most important success of the Eastern direction of Russian diplomacy at that time was the settlement of relations with China, and, above all, border issues. As a result of the conclusion of the Aigun Treaty and the Tianjin Treaty with the Chinese side, and the Peking Supplementary Treaty in 1858, vast territories were attached to Russia in the Far East: most of the present Primorye Territory, most of the Khabarovsk Territory and the Amur Region. [1860] In a letter to A.M. Gorchakov from 13 November 27, N.N. Muravyov-Amursky wrote: “Now we legally possess both the beautiful Ussuri region and the southern ports, and have acquired the right of land trade from Kyakhta and the establishment of consulates in Urga (the former name of Ulan Bator (Mongolia). - PG) and Kashgar ( Kashi. - PG). All this without the shedding of Russian blood, one skill, perseverance and self-sacrifice of our envoy [1860], and the friendship with China is not only not broken, but fastened more than the former ”[14].

Kovalevsky maintained close ties with many Slavic leaders and paid great attention to the Balkan issue. He viewed the position of the Balkan peoples as “slavery, shameful even in medieval times,” and advocated their liberation with the support of Russia [16].

A contemporary of Kovalevsky, publicist and traveler M.I. Venyukov assessed his activities this way: “In a difficult time, Kovalevsky became the director of the Asian department; The unfortunate Crimean company and the Paris world greatly undermined the influence and weight that Russia used in the East in the past ... Kovalevsky owes undoubted merit that during this difficult time he managed to maintain the prestige of the Russian name among the eastern and western tribes and thereby weakened the moral significance of the Parisian world in international relations "[17].

In August, 1861, Mr. Kovalevsky, left the Foreign Ministry in protest against the use of repressive measures against progressively-minded students. Despite this, he was appointed as a senator and member of the Council of Ministers for Foreign Affairs [18] as a lieutenant general.

Egor Petrovich Kovalevsky died on September 20 (October 2) 1868 in St. Petersburg. In recognition of his services to Russian science and Russian society, in 1871-1872. in St. Petersburg, the collected works of Egor Petrovich Kovalevsky were published in 5-ti.

* * *


Thanks to the scientific foundations laid by Kovalevsky when he was director of the Asian department, Russian Orientalist diplomats took an active part in the preparation and work of the Third International Congress of Orientalists held in St. Petersburg at 1876. The duties of the Secretary General of the Congress were performed by the ex-vice-director of the Asian department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the orientalist F. R. Osten-Saken. [19]

Subsequently, Kovalevsky’s farsighted activities were embodied in the successes of Russian diplomacy and Russian weapons: in joining Russia to Central Asia in 1865-1895, countering the political aspirations of Great Britain, and winning the Russian-Turkish war 1877-1878. and, as a result, in restoring Russia's influence in the international arena.

Notes:
[1] According to some reports, 1811
[2] First published in Petersburg in 1843-1845.
[3] Muhammad Ali (1805-1848) - the greatest Egyptian ruler, the reformer of the New Age, the value of which for Egypt can be compared with the value of Peter I for Russia. It is noteworthy that the seaside city of Alexandria, where the equestrian monument was erected, became the center of the reforms of Muhammad Ali.
[4] See: Gvozdetsky N.A. Travels to Inner Africa // Nature. 1950, No. 5, p. 76-79; Zabrodskaya M.P. Russian travelers in Africa. M, 1955, s. 12-18; Tikhomirov V.V. Geology in Russia in the first half of the nineteenth century. M., 1960, p. 191-194; Gornung MB, Lipets Yu.G., Oleynikov I.N. History of discovery and exploration of Africa. M, 1973, s. 135-137.
[5] First published in Petersburg in 1849.
[6] First published in Petersburg in 1853.
[7] For all Kovalevsky’s expeditions, see more details: Valskaya B.A. Travels of Egor Petrovich Kovalevsky. M., 1956; Vilenkin V.L. Traveler by land and sea. (Egor Petrovich Kovalevsky). M., 1969.
[8] The history of diplomacy. T. I. M., 1959, p. 638. Cm.: Maslova O.V. Overview of Russian travel and expeditions to Central Asia. H. 1 (1715-1856). Tashkent, 1955, p. 147-148.
[9] Russian-Chinese legal acts (1689-1916). M., 2004, p. 58-62.
[10] First published in Petersburg in 1866, German translation - in Leipzig in 1868
[11] Essays on the history of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia. T. I. M., 2002, p. 398.
[12] The history of Russian oriental studies from the mid-19th century to the 1917 year. M., 1997, p. 116.
[13] Russian-Chinese legal acts, p. 62-83.
[14] This is about the graph N.P. Ignatiev, signed the Beijing Treaty. (Approx. P.G.).
[15] Barsukov I.P. Count Nikolai Nikolaevich Muravyov-Amursky. T. 2. M., 1891, p. 317.
[16] The history of Russian foreign policy (the end of the XIV century - 1917). Volume "The second half of the XIX century." M., 1997, p. 61.
[17] From the memories of M.I. Venyukova. Book One: 1832-1867. Amsterdam, 1895, p. 24.
[18] Essays on the history of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia. T. I, p. 398.
[19] See: Osten-Sacken F. Word in memory of Egor Petrovich Kovalevsky, pronounced in a geographical society // Russian Invalid. 1868, No. 147; [Saltykov-Shchedrin, ME] E.P. Kovalevsky // Domestic Notes. 1868, No. 10; Annenkov P. E.P. Kovalevsky. SPb., 1868; Wonderful natives and leaders of the Kharkov province // Kharkov calendar for 1886 year. Kharkov, 1885, p. 136-144.

Based on the article by Pavel Gusterin “E. P. Kovalevsky is a diplomat and orientalist ”(Questions of History. 2008, No. 8).
Author:
3 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parusnik
    parusnik 6 November 2014 08: 13
    +3
    Thank you Pavel, a good article has turned out ...
  2. Vityok
    Vityok 6 November 2014 10: 14
    +2
    Excellent article! good
  3. Turkir
    Turkir 9 November 2014 21: 52
    +2
    Thank. Interesting information about the work of the Russian Foreign Ministry good

Егор Ковалевский и страны Востока

Егор Ковалевский и страны ВостокаВ истории отечественного МИДа Ковалевский являет собой, пожалуй, единственный пример руководителя, который поставил на столь высокий уровень научную деятельность своего департамента и столь успешно применял научный подход в решении дипломатических задач.

* * *


Егор Петрович Ковалевский родился 6 (17) февраля 1809 г. [1] в селе Ярошевка Харьковской губернии в дворянской семье. В 1825-1828 гг. обучался на филологическом факультете Харьковского университета, по окончании которого служил в 1830-1837 гг. горным инженером на алтайских и уральских золотопромышленных заводах.


Ковалевский начал печататься в 1832 г. как поэт, его перу принадлежат также романы и повести, но известность ему принесли прежде всего очерки о поездках по Югу Европы, в Среднюю Азию, Африку и на Дальний Восток.

По результатам своих путешествий по Афганистану, Балканам, Карпатам, Кашмиру и Средней Азии Ковалевский написал книгу «Странствователь по суше и морям» в 3-х частях [2].

В 1846 г. Ковалевский сопровождал на Урал египетских инженеров, присланных в Россию пашой Мухаммедом Али [3] для изучения горного дела, а в 1847 г. сам ездил в Египет для устройства там золотых промыслов. Этой поездкой он воспользовался, чтобы оказать услуги молодому Русскому географическому обществу, в члены которого был избран в том же году: в 1847-1848 гг.

Ковалевский проводил географические и геологические исследования в Северо-Восточной Африке, по результатам которых он одним из первых указал правильное географическое положение истоков реки Бахр-эль-Абьяд / Белый Нил. [4] Эту экспедицию Ковалевский описал в книге «Путешествие во внутреннюю Африку» [5] в 2-х частях.

На основе материалов, собранных Ковалевским во время поездок в Пекин в 1849-1851 гг., он составил описание Монголии и Китая «Путешествие в Китай» [6] в 2-х частях [7].

При участии полковника корпуса горных инженеров Ковалевского 25 июля (6 августа) 1851 г. был заключен Кульджинский трактат [8]. По этому договору Россия получала право на устройство в Кульдже (Или, нынешний Инин. — П.Г.) и Чугучаке (Тарбагатае, нынешний Тачэн. — П.Г.) торговых факторий и назначала туда консулов. [9] Положив начало регулярной торговле с Западным Китаем, договор способствовал последовавшим позже приобретениям России в Туркестане.

В 1853 г. в связи с нападением турок на Черногорию Ковалевский был направлен туда в качестве российского комиссара. За свои успешные действия на Балканах Николай I пожаловал ему драгоценную табакерку.

Егор Ковалевский и страны Востока


Во время Крымской войны в 1853–1855 гг. Ковалевский находился в армии князя М.Д. Горчакова. Состоя при штабе главнокомандующего, он участвовал в отступлении армии с Дуная и обороне Севастополя. Свой анализ событий того времени Ковалевский отразил в книге «Война с Турцией и разрыв с западными державами в 1853 и 1854 гг.» [10].

По окончании Крымской войны, имевшей для России тяжелые военно-политические последствия, император Александр II, вступивший на престол в 1855 г., сменил руководство МИДа. В 1856 г. вместо консервативного канцлера К.В. Нессельроде министром иностранных дел был назначен талантливый дипломат А.М. Горчаков, а Ковалевский — директором Азиатского департамента. Одновременно Ковалевский являлся помощником председателя Русского географического общества, став в 1856 г. членом-корреспондентом, а в 1857 г. — почетным членом Императорской Санкт-Петербургской Академии наук.

Назначение Ковалевского директором Азиатского департамента было одним из удачных шагов А.М. Горчакова. Деятельность этого подразделения МИДа сразу оживилась. Ковалевский, энергичный и инициативный деятель, выступил за проведение национальной внешней политики, за ее активизацию, особенно на Среднем Востоке и Балканах [11].

Поскольку основное внимание в своей дипломатической деятельности А.М. Горчаков уделял европейским державам, роль Ковалевского в определении азиатской политики была особенно велика. При его содействии в азиатские страны были направлены три дипломатические миссии, выполнившие большую научно-исследовательскую и разведывательную работу: Н.В. Ханыков возглавил миссию в Персию и Афганистан, Н.П. Игнатьев — в Хиву и Бухару, Ч.Ч. Валиханов — в Восточный Туркестан [12].

Важнейшим успехом восточного направления российской дипломатии того времени стало урегулирование отношений с Китаем, и, прежде всего, пограничных вопросов. В результате заключения с китайской стороной в 1858 г. Айгунского договора и Тяньцзиньского трактата, а в 1860 г. — Пекинского дополнительного договора, к России на Дальнем Востоке были присоединены огромные территории: весь нынешний Приморский край, большая часть Хабаровского края и Амурской области. [13] В письме А.М. Горчакову от 27 ноября 1860 г. Н.Н. Муравьев-Амурский писал: «Теперь мы законно обладаем и прекрасным Уссурийским краем, и южными портами, и приобрели право сухопутной торговли из Кяхты и учреждения консульств в Урге (прежнее название Улан-Батора (Монголия). — П.Г.) и Кашгаре (Каши. — П.Г.). Все это без пролития русской крови, одним умением, настойчивостью и самопожертвованием нашего посланника [14], а дружба с Китаем не только не нарушена, но скреплена более прежнего» [15].

Ковалевский поддерживал тесные связи со многими славянскими деятелями и уделял большое внимание балканскому вопросу. Он рассматривал положение балканских народов как «рабство, постыдное даже в средневековые времена» и выступал сторонником их освобождения при поддержке России [16].

Современник Ковалевского публицист и путешественник М.И. Венюков так оценивал его деятельность: «В трудное время стал Ковалевский директором Азиатского департамента; несчастная крымская компания и Парижский мир сильно подорвали влияние и вес, каким пользовалась досель Россия на Востоке… Ковалевскому принадлежит несомненная заслуга, что в это тяжелое время он сумел поддержать престиж русского имени среди восточных и западных племен и тем ослабил моральное значение Парижского мира в международных отношениях» [17].

В августе 1861 г. Ковалевский оставил МИД в знак протеста против применения репрессивных мер в отношении прогрессивно настроенного студенчества. Несмотря на это, он в звании генерал-лейтенанта был назначен сенатором и членом Совета министра иностранных дел [18].

Егор Петрович Ковалевский умер 20 сентября (2 октября) 1868 г. в Петербурге. В качестве признания его заслуг перед отечественной наукой и российским обществом, в 1871-1872 гг. в Петербурге было издано собрание сочинений Егора Петровича Ковалевского в 5-ти томах.

* * *


Благодаря научным основам, заложенным Ковалевским в его бытность директором Азиатского департамента, российские дипломаты-востоковеды приняли активное участие в подготовке и работе состоявшегося в Петербурге в 1876 г. III Международного конгресса ориенталистов. Обязанности генерального секретаря Конгресса выполнял экс-вице-директор Азиатского департамента МИДа востоковед Ф.Р. Остен-Сакен. [19]

В последующем дальновидная деятельность Ковалевского воплотилась в успехи российской дипломатии и российского оружия: в присоединении к России Средней Азии в 1865-1895 гг., противодействии политическим устремлениям Великобритании, победе в Русско-турецкой войне 1877-1878 гг. и ,в результате, в восстановлении влияния России на международной арене.

Примечания:
[1] По некоторым сведениям, 1811 г.
[2] Впервые опубликовано в Петербурге в 1843-1845 гг.
[3] Мухаммед Али (1805-1848) — величайший египетский правитель-реформатор Нового времени, значение которого для Египта можно сравнить со значением Петра I для России. Примечательно, что центром реформ Мухаммеда Али стал приморский город Александрия, где ему установлен конный памятник.
[4] См.: Гвоздецкий Н.А. Путешествия во Внутреннюю Африку // Природа. 1950, № 5, с. 76-79; Забродская М.П. Русские путешественники по Африке. М, 1955, с. 12-18; Тихомиров В.В. Геология в России первой половины ХIХ в. М., 1960, с. 191-194; Горнунг М.Б., Липец Ю.Г., Олейников И.Н. История открытия и исследования Африки. М, 1973, с. 135-137.
[5] Впервые опубликовано в Петербурге в 1849 г.
[6] Впервые опубликовано в Петербурге в 1853 г.
[7] Обо всех экспедициях Ковалевского подробнее см.: Вальская Б.А. Путешествия Егора Петровича Ковалевского. М., 1956; Виленкин В.Л. Странствователь по суше и морям. (Егор Петрович Ковалевский). М., 1969.
[8] История дипломатии. Т. I. М., 1959, с. 638. См.: Маслова О.В. Обзор русских путешествий и экспедиций в Среднюю Азию. Ч. 1 (1715-1856). Ташкент, 1955, с. 147-148.
[9] Русско-китайские договорно-правовые акты (1689-1916). М., 2004, с. 58-62.
[10] Впервые опубликовано в Петербурге в 1866 г., немецкий перевод — в Лейпциге в 1868 г.
[11] Очерки истории министерства иностранных дел России. Т. I. М., 2002, с. 398.
[12] История отечественного востоковедения с середины XIX века до 1917 года. М., 1997, с. 116.
[13] Русско-китайские договорно-правовые акты, с. 62-83.
[14] Речь идет о графе Н.П. Игнатьеве, заключившем Пекинский договор. (Прим. П.Г.).
[15] Барсуков И.П. Граф Николай Николаевич Муравьев-Амурский. Т. 2. М., 1891, с. 317.
[16] История внешней политики России (конец XIV в. - 1917 г.). Том «Вторая половина XIX века». М., 1997, с. 61.
[17] Из воспоминаний М.И. Венюкова. Книга первая: 1832-1867. Амстердам, 1895, с. 24.
[18] Очерки истории министерства иностранных дел России. Т. I, с. 398.
[19] См.: Остен-Сакен Ф. Слово в память Егора Петровича Ковалевского, произнесенное в географическом обществе // Русский Инвалид. 1868, №147; [Салтыков-Щедрин М.Е.] Е.П. Ковалевский // Отечественные записки. 1868, № 10; Анненков П. Е.П. Ковалевский. СПб., 1868; Замечательные уроженцы и деятели Харьковской губернии // Харьковский календарь за 1886 год. Харьков, 1885, с. 136-144.

На основе статьи Павла Густерина «Е. П. Ковалевский — дипломат и востоковед» (Вопросы истории. 2008, № 8).
Автор: Павел Густерин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. parusnik 6 ноября 2014 08:13
    Благодарю Павел, хорошая статья получилась...
  2. Витёк 6 ноября 2014 10:14
    Отличная статья! good
  3. Turkir 9 ноября 2014 21:52
    Спасибо. Интересные сведения о работе российского МИДа good

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня