Military Review

The story of one surrender

13
October 27 1870, one of the most shameful events in the military stories France. Marshal Francois Achilles Bazin, without a single shot, surrendered his 180-thousand army to the enemy, blocked in the fortress of Metz. All the soldiers and officers obediently disarmed and went into German captivity, no one opposed the traitorous order.

This was preceded by the defeat of Bazin’s army in the battles of Gravelotte and Mars-la-Tour, its retreat to Metz and the 70-day siege, during which the French did not even try to escape from the encirclement. This looks very strange, since in the submission of Bazin there were initially 198 thousands of servicemen, and in the Prussian army blocking him there were only 134 thousands. It should also be noted that Bazin commanded not reservists or untrained militia, but personnel divisions and corps, in which almost all officers and many soldiers had good training and combat experience.

The October 7 Bellevue fight, during which the French attacked the Prussians, was more like a demonstration than a real attempt to break the blockade, since from the French side only 23 thousand people took part in it - less than 15% of the city garrison. The Germans believe that this was not a breakthrough, or even reconnaissance by force, but merely a “foodstuff hike” to seize the German food stores and take out their contents. However, the French did not reach the warehouses, the attack was repulsed, after which Bazin did not take any action for 20 days. He was just passively waiting for his soldiers to eat all the supplies, and then capitulated.


There is a version that the marshal would coast his troops, so that after the quick defeat of France, of which he had no doubt, to use them as a weapon of a military coup. However, he underestimated the patriotism and perseverance of compatriots. The besieged garrisons of Paris and Belfort refused to surrender and steadfastly defended, and the formation of a new volunteer army began in the south of the country to replace Napoleon’s armies defeated in border battles.
Contrary to Bazen’s predictions, the war took a protracted nature, and in the meantime in Metz from October 20 began to slaughter combat horses and cook horse meat. Realizing that his hope to come to power on bayonets collapsed, Bazin ordered the troops to lay down weapon and handed his sword to the Prussian general von Kummer.
Approximately 150 of thousands of healthy soldiers and officers from among those who surrendered in Metz, the Germans interned in the camps until the end of the war, and the rest — the wounded, the sick, and the weak — were released immediately. Bazin in 1871, he returned from captivity, where he created a very comfortable environment and kept together with the former Emperor Louis Napoleon. The following year, he was brought to trial on charges of treason and sentenced to death, but President McMahon, taking into account the former merits of the marshal, replaced it with 20-year imprisonment.
Bazin was put in solitary confinement for particularly important state criminals on the island of St. Marguerite. Earlier in two centuries, no one could have escaped from it, but already a year later the 62-year-old obese old Bazin somehow miraculously succeeded! However, they suspect that he was simply secretly released under a secret presidential decree. After fleeing, Bazin settled in Spain, lived 15 for years and died in 1888. And Metz, together with the entire province of Lorraine, was annexed to the German Empire and was in its composition until the defeat of Germany in the First World War.



Map scheme of the Siege of Metz. It clearly shows how high the density of French troops inside the ring and how "thin" were the battle formations of the Prussian siege army.



Panorama of Metz. In the foreground is the Moselle River, behind it is a wall with loopholes surrounding the city.





Fragments of city fortifications.



The camp of the German siege troops around the city.



French wagon train and pontoon park in one of the city squares.





In 1870, Metz was a major railway junction. During the siege there were many trains, both empty and with various cargoes. After the capitulation of Bazin, they all went to the Prussians.



French field battery, which also became the trophy of the Prussian army.



Simultaneously with the order of surrender, the French units were ordered to destroy their banners, which was done. In the picture, the soldiers say goodbye to the regimental banner before it is burned.

]

Surrender weapons to the Metz garrison. The officer picturesquely breaks his sword in front of the Germans, quietly watching this senseless posturing.



Marshal Bazin removes his cap in front of General von Kummer, who takes the visor in satisfaction. Behind - a column of French troops marching into captivity.



The Prussian cavalry, led by the brass band, solemnly enters Metz.

During the siege in Metz, there was a photo studio that took many single and group shots of French soldiers and officers. Probably, the customers of these images wanted to perpetuate their military merits, but the result was an extensive “gallery of dishonor”. Below - a few of its fragments.











And another interesting picture "for a snack." German soldiers participating in the siege of Metz celebrate Yom Kippur. At that time, quite a lot of Jews served in the Prussian army, however, the artist, obviously, from pious motives, still greatly exaggerated the number of worshipers. According to the memoirs of Rabbi Gunter Plot, there were about 60 people.

Author:
Originator:
http://vikond65.livejournal.com/259674.html
13 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. corn
    corn 20 November 2014 13: 35
    +3
    With such a "credit history", France is "puffed up"?
    1. Giant thought
      Giant thought 20 November 2014 13: 37
      +2
      As we see, the French also had their Judas.
      1. predator.3
        predator.3 21 November 2014 08: 56
        0
        October 27, 1870 happened one of the most shameful events in the military history of France. Marshal Francois Achilles Bazin, without firing a shot, surrendered his 180th army blocked in the Mets fortress to the enemy. All soldiers and officers obediently disarmed and went to German captivity, no one opposed the traitorous order.

        In 1914, the same thing would have happened if not for Russia! in the 40th again a la Sedan!
    2. The comment was deleted.
  2. Mareman Vasilich
    Mareman Vasilich 20 November 2014 14: 04
    +1
    Charles de Gaulle washed away the shame from France, while others covered it with it. Jacques Chirac was still his follower.
  3. igordok
    igordok 20 November 2014 14: 28
    +1
    Surrender weapons to the Metz garrison. The officer picturesquely breaks his sword in front of the Germans, quietly watching this senseless posturing.

    Regarding "senseless posturing" - I do not agree with the author.
  4. bairat
    bairat 20 November 2014 20: 13
    +1
    The shameful defeat of the French in the Second World War will be difficult for someone to surpass, both in scale and in the degree of humiliation. The "greatest" army in Europe crumbled in two weeks, the Germans captured huge trophies and powerful industry. "Resistance" was invented after the war, the women were fucking with the Fritzes, even the participation of the French in the liberation of their country caused only irritation among the allies. instead of fighting, they drank and "walked". The last time they tried to raise their heads when trying to squeeze the Suez Canal from Egypt, they fled ingloriously, it seems that it makes no sense for such countries to maintain their own armies, money down the drain.
    1. The comment was deleted.
    2. Aleksander
      Aleksander 20 November 2014 22: 21
      +1
      Quote: bairat
      The last time they tried to raise their heads when trying to squeeze the Suez Canal from Egypt


      Back in Vietnam, they started a massacre, but got it in the wort and cleaned it.
  5. Fedya
    Fedya 20 November 2014 20: 32
    +1
    Quantity does not determine quality! Let us recall Suvorov at Rymnik, with 30 thousand, he attacked 80 Turks! Who else could do that?
  6. Sanya Rus
    Sanya Rus 20 November 2014 21: 23
    0
    The French famous cockerels, some of which are the Mistral)))
  7. The comment was deleted.
  8. Misha
    Misha 20 November 2014 22: 00
    +1
    Quote: Sanya Rus
    The French famous cockerels, some of which are the Mistral)))

    Mistral has nothing to do with ..

    And at the beginning of the 19th century, the French gave everyone pepper! Yes, and in 1854 they still knew how to fight.
  9. Moore
    Moore 21 November 2014 05: 28
    0
    Quote: Misha
    And at the beginning of the 19th century, the French gave everyone pepper! Yes, and in 1854 they still knew how to fight.


    To be able to fight and want to fight are different concepts.
    After Franco-Prussian French society, having received a deafening slap in the face from the Boches, militarized until school inclusive. Even something like NVP was introduced. Lived revenge. Hence the post-war humiliation of the losing Germany and the prerequisites for revenge already on its part.
    But the vivacious Frenchmen in the Great War overstrained themselves morally. No one wanted to die anymore - including France. Everything until 1939 was done with the bayonets of the Foreign Legion.
    Therefore, when the time came to stand up for the "hyena of Europe" Poland (no one seriously believed that Hitler would still dare to conquer France), slogans like: "We will not fire the first shot in this war!"
  10. bubnila-70
    bubnila-70 21 November 2014 21: 14
    0
    KEPPI in the paddling pool, as in the soldiers of "SEVERYAN" during the civil war. world trend however ....
    1. bbss
      bbss 26 December 2014 20: 01
      0
      In the Russian army in those years, too, there were such. Review the paintings of Vereshchagin.
  11. Rotmistr
    Rotmistr 30 September 2017 09: 13
    +16
    It happens to everyone

История одной капитуляции

27 октября 1870 года произошло одно из самых постыдных событий в военной истории Франции. Маршал Франсуа Ахилл Базен без единого выстрела сдал врагу свою 180-тысячную армию, блокированную в крепости Мец. Все солдаты и офицеры послушно разоружились и отправились в немецкий плен, никто не воспротивился изменническому приказу.

Этому предшествовали поражения армии Базена в битвах при Гравелоте и Марс-ла-Туре, ее отступление в Мец и 70-дневная осада, в ходе которой французы даже не пытались вырваться из окружения. Это выглядит очень странно, поскольку в подчинении Базена изначально было 198 тысяч военнослужащих, а в блокировавшей его прусской армии - всего-навсего 134 тысячи. Также надо отметить, что Базен командовал не резервистами или необученным ополчением, а кадровыми дивизиями и корпусами, в которых почти все офицеры и многие солдаты имели неплохую подготовку и боевой опыт.

Бой под Бельвью 7 октября, в ходе которого французы атаковали прусаков, больше походил на демонстрацию, чем на реальную попытку разорвать кольцо блокады, так как с французской стороны в нем принимало участие только 23 тысячи человек - менее 15% городского гарнизона. Немцы полагают, что это был не прорыв и даже не разведка боем, а всего лишь "поход за продуктами" с целью захватить германские продовольственные склады и вывезти их содержимое. Однако до складов французы не добрались, атака была отбита, после чего Базен в течение 20 дней не предпринимал никаких действий. Он просто пассивно ждал, когда его солдаты съедят все припасы, а потом капитулировал.



Есть версия, что маршал берег свои войска, чтобы после скорого поражения Франции, в котором он не сомневался, использовать их как орудие военного переворота. Однако он недооценил патриотизм и упорство соотечественников. Осажденные гарнизоны Парижа и Бельфора отказались сдаваться и стойко оборонялись, а на юге страны началось формирование новой добровольческой армии взамен разбитых в приграничных боях армий Наполеона.
Вопреки прогнозам Базена война приняла затяжной характер, а тем временем в Меце с 20 октября начали забивать строевых лошадей и варить конину. Поняв, что его надежда прийти к власти на штыках рухнула, Базен приказал войскам сложить оружие и вручил свою шпагу прусскому генералу фон Куммеру.
Примерно 150 тысяч здоровых солдат и офицеров из числа сдавшихся в Меце немцы интернировали в лагерях до конца войны, а остальных - раненых, больных и ослабевших - сразу отпустили на свободу. Базен в 1871 году вернулся из плена, где ему создали весьма комфортные условия и содержали вместе с бывшим императором Луи Наполеоном. В следующем году его отдали под суд по обвинению в предательстве и приговорили к смертной казни, но президент Мак-Магон с учетом прежних заслуг маршала заменил ее 20-летним тюремным заключением.
Базена посадили в одиночную камеру тюрьмы для особо важных государственных преступников на острове Сент-Маргерит. Ранее за два века из нее никто не мог убежать, однако уже через год 62-летнему тучному старику Базену каким-то чудом это удалось! Впрочем, подозревают, что его просто тайно выпустили по секретному президентскому указу. После бегства Базен поселился в Испании, прожил еще 15 лет и умер в 1888 году. А Мец вместе со всей провинцией Лотарингия был присоединен к Германской империи и находился в ее составе вплоть до поражения Германии в Первой мировой войне.

История одной капитуляции


Карта-схема осады Меца. На ней хорошо видно, сколь высока плотность французских войск внутри кольца и насколько "жиденькими" были боевые порядки прусской осадной армии.

История одной капитуляции


Панорама Меца. На переднем плане - река Мозель, за ней - окружавшая город стена с бойницами.

История одной капитуляции


История одной капитуляции


Фрагменты городских укреплений.

История одной капитуляции


Лагерь немецких осадных войск в окрестностях города.

История одной капитуляции


Французский обоз и понтонный парк на одной из городских площадей.

История одной капитуляции


История одной капитуляции


В 1870 году Мец представлял собой крупный железнодорожный узел. Во время осады там находилось множество эшелонов, как пустых, так и с различными грузами. После капитуляции Базена все они достались прусакам.

История одной капитуляции


Французская полевая батарея, тоже ставшая трофеем прусской армии.

История одной капитуляции


Одновременно с приказом о капитуляции французские части получили распоряжение уничтожить свои знамена, что и было исполнено. На картине солдаты прощаются с полковым знаменем прежде чем его сжечь.

История одной капитуляции
]

Сдача оружия гарнизоном Меца. Офицер картинно ломает свою саблю перед немцами, спокойно наблюдающими за этим бессмысленным позерством.

История одной капитуляции


Маршал Базен снимает фуражку перед генералом фон Куммером, который удовлетворенно берет под козырек. Сзади - колонна французских войск марширует в плен.

История одной капитуляции


Прусская конница во главе с духовым оркестром торжественно вступает в Мец.

Во время осады в Меце работали фотоателье, сделавшие множество одиночных и групповых снимков французских солдат и офицеров. Вероятно, заказчики этих снимков хотели увековечить свои воинские заслуги, но в результате получилась обширная "галерея бесславия". Внизу - несколько ее фрагментов.

История одной капитуляции


История одной капитуляции


История одной капитуляции


История одной капитуляции


История одной капитуляции


И еще одна любопытная картинка "на закуску". Германские солдаты, участвующие в осаде Меца, празднуют Йом Киппур. В прусской армии тогда служило довольно много иудеев, однако художник, очевидно, из благочестивых побуждений все же сильно преувеличил число молящихся. По воспоминаниям раввина Гюнтера Плота, их было примерно 60 человек.

История одной капитуляции
Автор: Вячеслав Кондратьев
Первоисточник: http://vikond65.livejournal.com/259674.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 12
  1. corn 20 ноября 2014 13:35
    С такой "кредитной историей", Франция "пыжится"?
    1. Гигант мысли 20 ноября 2014 13:37
      Как мы видим, свои Иуды и у французов были.
      1. predator.3 21 ноября 2014 08:56
        27 октября 1870 года произошло одно из самых постыдных событий в военной истории Франции. Маршал Франсуа Ахилл Базен без единого выстрела сдал врагу свою 180-тысячную армию, блокированную в крепости Мец. Все солдаты и офицеры послушно разоружились и отправились в немецкий плен, никто не воспротивился изменническому приказу.

        В 1914 тоже самое было бы, если бы не Россия ! в 40-м снова а ля Седан !
        predator.3
    2. Комментарий был удален.
  2. Мареман Василич 20 ноября 2014 14:04
    Шарль де Голль смывал позор с Франции, другие же её покрывали им. Жак Ширак ещё его последователем являлся.
  3. igordok 20 ноября 2014 14:28
    Сдача оружия гарнизоном Меца. Офицер картинно ломает свою саблю перед немцами, спокойно наблюдающими за этим бессмысленным позерством.

    По поводу "бессмысленного позерства" - не согласен с автором.
  4. bairat 20 ноября 2014 20:13
    Позорное поражение французов во второй мировой войне трудно будет кому то переплюнуть, как по масштабам так и по степени унижения. "Величайшая" армия европы рассыпалась за две недели, немцы захватили огромные трофеи, мощную промышленность. "Сопротивление" придумали после войны, бабы блядовали с фрицами, даже участие френчей в освобождении своей страны вызывало у союзников только раздражение т.к. вместо того что бы воевать они пили и "гуляли". Последний раз пытались поднять голову при попытке отжать у Египта суэцкий канал, бесславно бежали, кажется таким странам вообще не имеет смысла содержать собственные армии, деньги на ветер.
    1. Комментарий был удален.
    2. Aleksander 20 ноября 2014 22:21
      Цитата: bairat
      Последний раз пытались поднять голову при попытке отжать у Египта суэцкий канал


      Еще во Вьетнаме устроили бойню, но и получили по сусалам и убрались.
  5. Fedya 20 ноября 2014 20:32
    Количество не определяет качество ! Вспомним Суворова при Рымнике , с 30тью тысячами расхреначил 80 000 турок ! Кто ещё так умел ?
    Fedya
  6. Саня РуСский 20 ноября 2014 21:23
    Французы известные петушки,одни мистральи чего стоят)))
  7. Комментарий был удален.
  8. миша 20 ноября 2014 22:00
    Цитата: Саня РуСский
    Французы известные петушки,одни мистральи чего стоят)))

    Мистрали тут не причем..

    А в начале 19 века французы всем дали перцу! Да и в 1854 ещё воевать умели.
  9. Мур 21 ноября 2014 05:28
    Цитата: миша
    А в начале 19 века французы всем дали перцу! Да и в 1854 ещё воевать умели.


    Уметь воевать и хотеть воевать - суть разные понятия.
    После франко-прусской французское общество, получив оглушительную пощёчину от бошей, милитаризовалось до школы включительно. Даже что-то вроде НВП ввели. Жили реваншем. Отсюда послевоенные унижения проигравшей Германии и предпосылки для реванша уже с её стороны.
    Но жизнелюбивые французы на Великой войне надорвались морально. Никто больше не хотел умирать - за Францию в том числе. Всё до 1939-го делалось штыками Иностранного легиона.
    Поэтому когда пришла пора постоять за "гиену Европы" Польшу (никто всерьёз не верил, что Гитлер таки решится уконтропупить Францию), над окопами лягушатников у Саарбрюкена взмыли лозунги типа: "Мы не сделаем первого выстрела в этой войне!"
  10. bubnila-70 21 ноября 2014 21:14
    КЕППИ у лягушатников , как у солдат "СЕВЕРЯН" во времён гражданской войны. мировой тренд однако....
    1. bbss 26 декабря 2014 20:01
      В русской армии в те годы тоже были такие. Пересмотрите картины Верещагина.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня