Military Review

Orders and medals of the Russian Empire. Order of St. Stanislav

4
The Imperial and Tsarist Order of St. Stanislav is a state award of the Russian Empire, which existed from 1831 to 1917 years. This order was the youngest in terms of seniority among all state orders, mostly they were awarded to officials. Like the Order of the White Eagle, this award came to the Russian award system from Poland after its part became part of the empire in 1815.

The Order was established 7 in May 1765 of the year, its founder was the King of Poland Stanislav-Augustus Poniatowski. The award was established in honor of St. Stanislaus Bishop of Krakow (11 century), who was the patron saint of Poland. Beginning in 1815, when the Kingdom of Poland was annexed to the Russian Empire, Russian Emperor Alexander I awarded this order to his Polish subjects. At the same time, according to the statute of 1815 of the year, this award was divided into 4 degrees (from the 1839 of the year the order has only 3 degrees left).

In the 1831 year, after the Polish uprising of 1830-1831 was crushed, this order along with other Polish orders entered the Chapter of the Orders of the Russian Empire. It happened during the reign of Emperor Nicholas I. In this case, the appearance of the award has undergone some changes. The image of St. Stanislav was replaced by a monogram of his name.

Orders and medals of the Russian Empire. Order of St. Stanislav
Order of St. Stanislav I degree


At the same time, this order could complain both for the civil service and for military exploits. It was also envisaged that this award may be issued for the implementation of charitable activities. Also, the Order was issued for useful discoveries in the sciences, agriculture, crafts and arts, for the establishment of useful and significant manufactories. Also, he could have been issued as an essay and publication of a work that was recognized as generally useful. Among all Russian orders, this award occupied the last step of the hierarchy, in order of precedence it stood behind the Order of St. Anne.

Since the Order was the last in the award system, it was the most massive order in the Russian Empire. The first degree of the Order of St. Stanislav was awarded about 20 thousand people, the second degree - about 92 thousand people, the third degree - more than 752 thousand people. Only during the Russian-Japanese war of 1904-1905 did 37475 orders of St. Stanislaus were issued.

This order could receive almost all civil servants, who served the prescribed time, as well as having ranks of both military and state. When it was established, an order of any degree was given to its owner by hereditary nobility, but rather quickly there was discontent among the nobility by the fact that their number grew very quickly at the expense of small servants and merchants. For this reason, in 1845, the issuance of orders of the 2 and 3 degrees was temporarily suspended. Awards were renewed only on 28 June 1855 of the year. However, from this point on, the right of hereditary nobility was granted only by the Order of St. Stanislav of the 1 degree.

Order of St. Stanislav II degree with swords


It is curious to note that since 1844, on the signs of the order, which were issued to persons of non-Christian religion, the picture of the monogram of St. Stanislav began to be replaced by the black imperial Russian eagle. In addition, starting from the year 1855, they began to attach two crosswise swords to the order marks issued for military distinctions. In the case of rewarding a person with the same order, but already of a higher degree for non-military services, swords were located in the upper part of the cross, as well as stars of the order.

The motto of the order was the phrase "Awards, encourages." The Order of the holiday was celebrated on April 25 / 8 in May in a new style. The Order consisted of the following signs: a golden cross, an eight-pointed star and a red ribbon with white stripes on the edges. The orders were worn as follows:
Grade I - this is a cross on a ribbon 11 cm wide, the ribbon was worn over the right shoulder, the star of the order was located on the left side of the chest.
II degree of the order - the cross is worn on the neck, on a special tape with a width of 4,5, see
III degree of the Order - the cross is worn on the chest on the tape, the width of which is 2,6 cm.

The Order of Svyatoslav looked like this. I degree of the Order is a gold four-pointed cross with expanding forked ends, as well as golden balls on them. The bifurcated ends of the cross were connected to each other with the help of golden bows. In the corners of the cross were two-headed eagles of gold. The cross on the front side was covered with red enamel. In the center of this cross, in a special medallion, on a white background was located the monogram of St. Stanislav: the letter SS. On the reverse side of the medallion there was exactly the same monogram. A laurel wreath was placed around the medallion on a green field. The Order of the Cross was worn on a red ribbon with a double white border.

Order of St. Stanislav III degree with swords


The star of the order was made of silver, was eight-pointed. The star was worn on the left side of the chest. In the central medallion on a green field (in the shields of a star on a field of white color) was placed the monogram of St. Stanislav: SS. At the same time around the medallion, on the white field (in the shields of the star - on the green field) was placed the order's motto in Latin "PRAEMIANDO INCITAT". Around this motto on the green field were located 4 golden laurel branches.

II degree of the order - the same cross, as in I degree, but smaller.
Grade III of the Order - the same cross as in Grade II, but smaller.

According to the statute of the order in 1839, its IV degree was canceled, while the second degree of the order with a star was given only to foreign citizens, and as an “elevation of the dignity of the second degree” the imperial crown was included in the award (this variant of the award existed until 1874).

Based on open source materials
Author:
4 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. ia-ai00
    ia-ai00 20 November 2014 13: 22
    +1
    The imperial and royal order of St. Stanislav ...
    - Saint catholic church, revered by the patron saint of Poland.
    I somehow do not really understand whether it was "flirting" with the Poles, or because of the pressure of the Poles on the rulers of Russia?
  2. Ascetic
    Ascetic 20 November 2014 16: 53
    +1
    There is also the Masonic "Order of St. Stanislav" in which many famous politicians of Ukraine were and are.
    Accordingly, there is the eponymous award, the Order Cross ..
    Cavaliers of the Order of St. Stanislav- Excellencies, Excellence
  3. moskowit
    moskowit 20 November 2014 21: 07
    +1
    On January 1, 1886, the Order of St. Stanislav was awarded to the Active State Councilor (rank of the 4th class according to the table of ranks) IN Ulyanov. Lenin's father. This rank gave the right to hereditary nobility. For his labors in the field of public education, Ilya Nikolaevich was awarded quite well. In not very distant times, a short biography of V.I. Lenin was published in enormous circulations for studies in various political circles. So in this brochure one could contemplate the portrait of I.N. Ulyanov with Vladimir 3rd degree on his neck. In the order system of the empire there was a very strict order of awards, from "junior" orders to "senior" ones. So it's easy to count: three Stanislavs, two Anna, two Vladimirs ...
  4. Nubia2
    Nubia2 30 October 2015 18: 42
    0
    Quote: moskowit
    In the order system of the empire there was a very strict order of awards, from "junior" orders to "senior"

    but, not all orders required consistent rewarding with lower degrees.
    Quote: moskowit
    So it’s easy to count: three Stanislav, two Anna, two Vladimir ..

    only he had 2 Stanislavs (without the 3rd degree), two annas (3rd and second degrees) and 1 Vladimir (immediately the third degree)

Ордена и медали Российской империи. Орден Святого Станислава

Императорский и царский орден Святого Станислава — это государственная награда Российской империи, которая просуществовала с 1831 по 1917 годы. Данный орден был самым младшим по старшинству среди всех государственных орденов, в основном им награждались чиновники. Как и орден Белого Орла, данная награда пришла в российскую наградную систему из Польши после вхождения ее части в состав империи в 1815 году.

Орден был учрежден еще 7 мая 1765 года, его учредителем был король Польши Станислав-Август Понятовский. Награда была учреждена в честь Святого Станислава епископа Краковского (11 век), который был покровителем Польши. Начиная с 1815 года, когда Царство Польское было присоединено к Российской Империи, российский император Александр I награждал данным орденом своих польских подданных. При этом, согласно статуту 1815 года, данная награда подразделялась на 4 степени (с 1839 года у ордена осталось только 3 степени).

В 1831 году, после того как было подавлено польское восстание 1830-1831 годов, данный орден наряду с другими польскими орденами вошел в Капитул орденов Российской Империи. Произошло это в годы правления императора Николая I. При этом внешний вид награды претерпел некоторые изменения. Изображение Святого Станислава было заменено вензелевым отображением его имени.


Ордена и медали Российской империи. Орден Святого Станислава
Орден Святого Станислава I степени


При этом данный орден мог жаловаться как за государственную службу, так и за воинские подвиги. Предусматривалось также, что данная награда может выдаваться за осуществление благотворительной деятельности. Также орден выдавался за полезные открытия в науках, земледелии, ремеслах и искусствах, за учреждение полезных и значительных мануфактур. Также его могли выдавать за сочинение и обнародование творения, которое признавалось общеполезным. Среди всех российских орденов данная награда занимала последнюю ступень иерархии, по старшинству она стояла за Орденом Святой Анны.

Так как орден занимал самое последнее место в наградной системе, он являлся самым массовым орденом в Российской империи. Первой степенью ордена Святого Станислава было награждено порядка 20 тысяч человек, второй степенью — порядка 92 тысяч человек, третьей степенью — более 752 тысяч человек. Только во время Русско-японской войны 1904-1905 годов было выдано 37475 орденов Святого Станислава.

Данный орден могли получить практически все государственные служащие, прослужившие установленные сроки, а также имевшие классные чины как военные, так и статские. При его учреждении орден любой степени давал его обладателю потомственное дворянство, но среди дворян достаточно быстро возникло недовольство тем фактом, что их количество очень быстро росло за счет мелких служащих и купцов. По этой причине в 1845 году временно была приостановлена выдача орденов 2-й и 3-й степеней. Награждения ими были возобновлены только 28 июня 1855 года. Однако с этого момента право потомственного дворянства предоставлял лишь орден Святого Станислава 1-й степени.

Ордена и медали Российской империи. Орден Святого Станислава
Орден Святого Станислава II степени с мечами


Любопытно отметить, что с 1844 года на знаках ордена, которые выдавались лицам нехристианского вероисповедания, рисунок вензелевого имени Святого Станислава начали заменять на черного императорского российского орла. Помимо этого, начиная с 1855 года, к знакам ордена, выдаваемым за военные отличия, начали присоединять два накрест лежащих меча. В случае награждения человека таким же орденом, но уже более высокой степени за невоенные заслуги, мечи располагались в верхней части креста, а также звезды ордена.

Девизом ордена была фраза «Награждая, поощряет». Орденский праздник отмечался 25 апреля/8 мая по новому стилю. Орден состоял из следующих знаков: золотого креста, восьмиконечной звезды и красной ленты с белыми полосами по краям. При этом ордена носились следующим образом:
I степень — это крест на ленте шириной 11 см, лента носилась через правое плечо, звезда ордена располагалась на левой стороне груди.
II степень ордена — крест носится на шее, на специальной ленте шириной 4,5 см.
III степень ордена — крест носится на груди на ленте, ширина которой составляет 2,6 см.

Орден Святого Святослава выглядел следующим образом. I степень ордена — это золотой четырехконечный крест с расширяющимися раздвоенными концами, а также золотыми шариками на них. Раздвоенные концы креста соединялись между собой с помощью золотых дужек. В углах креста находились двуглавые орлы из золота. Крест с лицевой стороны был покрыт красной эмалью. В центре данного креста, в специальном медальоне, на белом фоне располагался вензель святого Станислава: буквы SS. На оборотной стороне медальона был расположен точно такой же вензель. Вокруг самого медальона на зеленом поле был расположен лавровый венок. Орденский крест носился на красной ленте с двойной белой каймой.

Ордена и медали Российской империи. Орден Святого Станислава
Орден Святого Станислава III степени с мечами


Звезда ордена изготавливалась из серебра, была восьмиконечной. Звезда носилась на левой стороне груди. В центральном медальоне на зеленом поле (в щитах звезды на поле белого цвета) располагался вензель Святого Станислава: SS. При этом вокруг медальона, на белом поле (в щитах звезды — на зеленом поле) был расположен орденский девиз на латыни «PRAEMIANDO INCITAT». Вокруг данного девиза на поле зеленого цвета были расположены 4 золотые лавровые ветви.

II степень ордена — тот же крест, как и у I степени, но меньшего размера.
III степень ордена — тот же крест, как и у II степень, но меньшего размера.

По статуту ордена в 1839 году была отменена его IV степень, при этом вторая степень ордена со звездой вручалась только иностранным гражданам, а в качестве «возвышения достоинства второй степени» в состав награды включалась императорская корона (такой вариант награды просуществовал до 1874 года).

По материалам открытых источников
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. ia-ai00 20 ноября 2014 13:22
    Императорский и царский орден Святого Станислава...
    — святой католической церкви, почитается покровителем Польши.
    Мне как-то не очень понятно, это было "заигрывание" с поляками, или из-за давления поляков на правителей России?
  2. Аскет 20 ноября 2014 16:53
    Есть ещё масонский "Орден святого Станислава" в котором состояли и состоят немало известных политиков Украины.
    Соответственно есть одноименная награда -крест Ордена..
    Кавалеры ордена Святого Станислава- Высокопревосходительства,Превосходительс
  3. moskowit 20 ноября 2014 21:07
    1-го января 1886 года орденом Св.Станислава был награждён Действительный статский советник (чин 4-го класса по табели о рангах) И.Н.Ульянов. Отец В.И.Ленина. Чин этот давал право на потомственное дворянство. За свои труды на ниве народного просвещения Илья Николаевич награждён был весьма изрядно. В не совсем далёкие времена, огромнейшими тиражами издавалась краткая биография В.И.Ленина, для занятий в различных политкружках. Так вот в этой брошюре можно было лицезреть портрет И.Н.Ульянова с Владимиром 3-ей степени на шее. В орденской системе империи был весьма строгий порядок награждения, от "младших" орденов к "старшим". Так что легко сосчитать: три Станислава, две Анны, два Владимира...
  4. Nubia2 30 октября 2015 18:42
    Цитата: moskowit
    В орденской системе империи был весьма строгий порядок награждения, от "младших" орденов к "старшим"

    но, не для всех орденов требовалось последовательное награждение низшими степенями.
    Цитата: moskowit
    Так что легко сосчитать: три Станислава, две Анны, два Владимира..

    только у него было 2 станислава (без 3й степени), две анны (3я и вторая степени) и 1 владимир (сразу третьей степени)

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня