Cold War begins in the Arctic

Cold War begins in the Arctic



Canadian Army military exercises in the Arctic, codenamed Nanook, were visited by Prime Minister Stephen Harper. A Canadian politician intends to make a report on economic initiatives for the development of the Arctic. Thus, the leadership of Canada explicitly hints at the readiness to bolster economic interests with military force.

In the traditional Nanook exercises, Arctic troops from Canada, the United States and Denmark take part, reports NEWS.RU.com, 23 August.

Global warming leads to a decrease in the area and thinning of the Arctic ice sheet. According to some estimates, the Arctic ice can completely melt by the 2030 year. Meanwhile, the region contains 30% of undeveloped gas reserves and about 13% of oil reserves on our planet.

In these conditions, the Arctic powers are preparing hard for future battles in the area. This year, Russia made a decision to convert the two regiments of the Airborne Forces into an Arctic division, previously similar decisions were made by Canada and Denmark. Commenting on the geopolitical situation in the region, Canadian scientist Rob Hubert said bluntly: “Contrary to public statements about peace and cooperation in the Arctic coming from the Arctic states, the strategic value of this region is growing. And as it grows, each state attaches increasing importance to its own national interests in the region. The Arctic states can talk about cooperation, but they are preparing for a conflict. ”

However, while the case is limited to international lawsuits. Russia is trying to prove that the underwater ridge of Lomonosov is part of its territorial shelf, and Canada is calling on the international community to begin the joint development of Arctic wealth, including in areas that, according to Moscow, are part of Russian territory.
Originator:
http://www.trud.ru
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

16 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Rashid 24 August 2011 09: 38 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Scientists argue that global warming and melting ice in the Arctic will lead to a change in the course of the Golfstim and the onset of glaciers in Europe and Canada. Even the film was about it, I do not remember the name.
  2. Helmut
    Helmut 24 August 2011 10: 26 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    But England should already be on the drum.
  3. PSih2097 24 August 2011 11: 11 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    I didn’t understand something, the Defense Ministry is cutting divisions into brigades, and here they are going to do a whole division from two regiments. Maybe it was necessary to relocate specialists or landings from those disbanded there, and not start from scratch?
    1. svvaulsh
      svvaulsh 24 August 2011 11: 44 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Shamans defended their troops and remained divisions.
  4. figwam 24 August 2011 11: 36 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    As new alliances of enemies begin to emerge, US airborne groups, their submarines and Air Force scouts, will be on duty throughout the north along our borders.
  5. mitrich
    mitrich 24 August 2011 11: 48 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    AUG in packaged Arctic ice ... An interesting flight of fantasy.
    1. figwam 24 August 2011 15: 46 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Well, the article says that the ice will melt by the year 30, so the northern part of our coast will be washed by a hawk. And packs may remain closer to the middle of the pole.
  6. Siberian
    Siberian 24 August 2011 11: 51 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    It was not necessary at the time to disband the “Chukchi” 99th motorway. And so ... all over again.
  7. ZEBRASH
    ZEBRASH 24 August 2011 14: 19 New
    • -4
    • 0
    -4
    No, to divide the entire Arctic into parts: Russia with the USA 25% each, Canada 20% each and Denmark and Norway 15% each. Now we will scare and butt each other. While they will be developing these deposits there, the whole world will switch to eco-fuel and it turns out that they only swore in vain :)
    1. svvaulsh
      svvaulsh 24 August 2011 14: 52 New
      • 1
      • 0
      +1
      Well, the United States there does not smell 25%. If Alaska had not been sold to them at one time, then in general the Americans would have nothing to do there. The most reasonable principle is sectoral. And if the Americans had the largest sector, it would be so, but Russia has an advantage here, which they don’t like.
      1. Svyatoslav
        Svyatoslav 24 August 2011 15: 41 New
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        Americans in Vietnam, in Iraq, in Afghanistan and Libya did not smell, but nevertheless stuck their nose there.
      2. chehywed 24 August 2011 16: 22 New
        • 0
        • 0
        0
        China doesn’t smell of Finns there either, but they also claim their piece.
  8. datur 24 August 2011 16: 33 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    chehywed,
    China also doesn’t smell of Finns there, but they also claim to be their own piece --- as well as Peru, chile-- further down the list, all are hot tasty.
  9. Ivan35
    Ivan35 24 August 2011 21: 22 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Unfortunately, it seems that the ice is melting - under normal conditions, it would bring Russia only profit - year-round navigation of the Northern Sea Route and without the cost of icebreakers. Potential oil resources would open up for production.
    But the melted waters will become "international" and a fleet of pendos will come there. Russia needs to prepare for a confrontation - to get together and collect the remnants of the Union - to restore at least part of the empire and meet the “guests” with dignity. One can legally prove something a lot - but as experience has shown, aggressors understand only one language - the language of power
  10. Max79 24 August 2011 23: 24 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Well done Canadians ... Until ours solved the territorial issue and until they won’t give dule ... (if that), they quickly want to develop someone else’s together with someone ... Clever ...
    Dear Sirs, We don’t need too much! We don’t pretend to be too much, but we don’t need to be rude! We don’t give our own !!! I think by this time the president will change when the division of territories will be. I think about our country and “set up” will not? We also know how to count !!!
  11. Sarus
    Sarus 18 January 2012 18: 15 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Well, ours also do not blink. Yes, I think that the USSR had a lot of infrastructure in the North. GDP warehouses and another thread. At that time, they also knew that there might be a conflict, so ours is an advantage. The main thing is not to make concessions. And we'll see.

В Арктике началась холодная война

В Арктике началась холодная война


Военные учения Канадской армии, проходящие в Арктике под кодовым названием Nanook, посетил премьер-министр страны Стивен Харпер. Канадский политик намерен выступить с докладом об экономических инициативах по освоению Арктики. Таким образом, руководство Канады недвусмысленно намекает на готовность подкрепить экономические интересы военной силой.

В традиционных учениях Nanook принимают участие арктические войска Канады, США и Дании, – передает 23 августа агентство NEWS.RU.com.


Глобальное потепление ведет к уменьшению площади и истончению арктического ледового щита. По некоторым оценкам, льды Арктики могут полностью растаять уже к 2030 году. Между тем, регион содержит 30 % неразработанных запасов газа и около 13 % запасов нефти на нашей планете.

В этих условиях арктические державы усиленно готовятся к будущим сражениям в этом районе. В этом году Россия приняла решение в преобразование двух полков ВДВ в арктическую дивизию, ранее аналогичные решения приняли Канада и Дания. Комментируя геополитическую ситуацию в регионе, канадский ученый Роб Хьюберт прямо заявил: «Вопреки публичным заявлениям о мире и сотрудничестве в Арктике, исходящим от арктических государств, стратегическая ценность этого региона растет. И по мере ее роста каждое государство придает все большее значение собственным национальным интересам в регионе. Арктические государства могут говорить о сотрудничестве, но они готовятся к конфликту».

Впрочем, пока дело ограничивается международными исками. Россия пытается доказать, что подводный хребет Ломоносова является частью ее территориального шельфа, а Канада призывает международное сообщество начать совместное освоение арктических богатств, в том числе и в районах, которые, по мнению Москвы, являются часть российской территории.
Первоисточник: http://www.trud.ru


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 16
  1. Rashid 24 августа 2011 09:38
    Учёные утверждают, что глобальное потепление и таяние льдов в Арктике приведёт к изменению течения Гольфстима и наступлению ледников на Европу и ту же Канаду. Даже фильм был об этом, не помню названия.
  2. Helmut 24 августа 2011 10:26
    Но Англии уже должно быть по барабану.
    Helmut
  3. PSih2097 24 августа 2011 11:11
    что то я не понял, МО режет дивизии на бригады, а тут из двух полков целую дивизию собираются делать. Может надо было спецов или десант из расформированных туда передислоцировать, а не начинать с нуля?
    1. svvaulsh 24 августа 2011 11:44
      Шаманов свои войска отстоял и остались дивизии.
      svvaulsh
  4. фигвам 24 августа 2011 11:36
    Вот начинают вырисовываться новые объединения врагов.Авианосные группы США их подводные лодки и разведчики ВВС,будут дежурить по всему северу вдоль наших границ.
  5. mitrich 24 августа 2011 11:48
    АУГ в паковых арктических льдах...Интересный полет фантазии.
    mitrich
    1. фигвам 24 августа 2011 15:46
      Ну в статье сказано что льды растают к 30 году,поэтому северная часть нашего побережья будет омываться окияном.А паковые может ближе к середине полюса останутся.
  6. Сибиряк 24 августа 2011 11:51
    Не надо было в своё время расформировывать "Чукотскую" 99 мсд. А так... всё сначала.
    Сибиряк
  7. ЗЕБРАШ 24 августа 2011 14:19
    Нет чтоб разделить всю Арктику на части: России с США по 25%, Канаде 20% и Дании с Норвегией по 15% Теперь друг друга будем пугать и бодаться. Пока они там будут разрабатывать эти месторождения, весь мир уже на экотопливо перейдёт и получается зря ругались только:)
    ЗЕБРАШ
    1. svvaulsh 24 августа 2011 14:52
      Ну сша там 25% не пахнет. Если бы Аляску в свое время им не продали, так вообще американцам там делать бы было нечего. Самый разумный принцип секторальный. И если бы американцы имели самый большой сектор, то так и было-бы, но здесь у России преимущество, что им и не нравится.
      svvaulsh
      1. Святослав 24 августа 2011 15:41
        Американцами во Вьетнаме, в Ираке, в Афганистане и Ливии тоже не пахло, но тем не менее сунули свой нос и туда.
        Святослав
      2. chehywed 24 августа 2011 16:22
        Китаем с финнами там тоже не пахнет, а они тоже претендуют на свой кусок.
  8. datur 24 августа 2011 16:33
    chehywed,
    Китаем с финнами там тоже не пахнет, а они тоже претендуют на свой кусок--- также как и перу ,чили-- далее по списку- всем хотца вкусненького.
  9. Иван35 24 августа 2011 21:22
    К сожалению похоже что льды тают - в нормальных условиях это принесло бы Росии только выгоду - круглый год навигации севморпути и без затрат на ледоколы. Открылись бы для добычи потенциальные нефтяные ресурсы.
    Но растаявшие воды станут "международными" и туда придет флот пендосов. России надо готовиться к противостоянию - собраться самой и собрать остатки Союза - восстановить хотя бы часть империи и встретить "гостей" достойно. Можно много что то юридически доказывать - но как показал опыт агрессоры понимают только один язык - язык силы
    Иван35
  10. Max79 24 августа 2011 23:24
    Молодцы канадцы ...Пока наши не решили вопрос территориальный и пока им пи...дюлей не надавали(если что) ,они быстрыми темпами хотят чужое разработать совместно с кем -то ...Умно...
    Уважаемые господа!Нам ведь лишнего не надо!На лишнее мы не претендуем,но и хамничать не надо!Своего мы не отдадим!!!Думаю к этому времени президент сменится,когда дележ территорий будет.Я думаю в отношении нашей страны и "подстав" не будет?Мы тоже считать умеем!!!
  11. Sarus 18 января 2012 18:15
    Ну наши тоже не моргают. Да я думаю что у СССР много инфраструктуры на Севере было. ВВП склады и еще че нить. В то время тоже знали что может там быть конфликт так что у наших преимущество. Главное не идти на уступки. А там посмотрим.
    Sarus

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня