Non-lethal ammunition will be used to quell riots.

Sometimes during armed conflicts, the military face a situation when it is necessary to stop an aggressive, but unarmed crowd. To use standard weapons that are installed on tanks and armored vehicles means to destroy a huge number of people, but this is unacceptable and will undoubtedly lead to an escalation of the conflict and its transition to another direction when all the inhabitants of the country rally against the occupiers. The American army faced similar problems during the asymmetric wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.


Non-lethal ammunition will be used to quell riots.


Fill this gap in armament tanks and armored vehicles should non-lethal ammunition type M-98, tests of which were carried out in the spring of this year. According to the test results, the ammunition received quite high marks and a decision was made to put it into mass production. Now he will enter the standard armament of tanks, infantry fighting vehicles, etc. The first 1899 M-98 units have already arrived at the US Army warehouse in Indiana and are available for use by US forces.

It is intended to use a new ammunition in case of need to immediately stop the unrest of the civilian unarmed population or to prevent civilian vehicles that refuse to respond to other signals. M-98 does not cause serious harm to people and allows you to work with minimal risk of killing civilians and soldiers.


Lightweight plastic launchers for shooting M-98 can be installed on almost any vehicle

Ammunition of the M-98 type is an 66-mm grenade, which is fired from standard LVOSS-class grenade launchers designed for shooting camouflage smoke grenades. Such grenade launchers are mounted on the hulls of armored vehicles and tank turrets. The grenade has a range of up to 150 meters and includes three submunitions that explode to create a huge flash and a loud sound. M-98 weighs 730 g and is made of cardboard and nylon - in order to minimize the possible risk of lethal fragments. A new grenade is fired at a speed of 160 m / s and, after 4,5 seconds, explodes, creating a sonic impact with 170 dB and a flash, which stun and disorient people within 10-15 meters. The cost of one grenade is about 200 dollars.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. zczczc
    zczczc 25 August 2011 15: 33 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    This technology is only useful for countries where the occupation government. I really do not want to be on their list.
    1. Dovmont
      Dovmont 25 August 2011 16: 11 New
      • 3
      • 0
      +3
      Can’t they be used against your people? Our new, democratic rulers? If you consider that, on the orders of Eltsin, they beat out tanks from the parliament and quite live ammunition. For comparison, we can recall that the communist GKChP and the automatic line of rebels did not. One Jew in the turmoil of their own under the caterpillars and stuffed by accident.
  2. Leo848
    Leo848 25 August 2011 16: 50 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    That just do not come up with what would drive people.
  3. cabin boy
    cabin boy 25 August 2011 23: 25 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    "The American army faced similar problems during the asymmetric wars in Afghanistan and Iraq." "The first 1899 M-98 units have already arrived at the US Army warehouse in Indiana and are available for use by US forces."
    Strange, problems were encountered in Afghanistan and Iraq, but they were brought to warehouses in Indiana, probably they did not study geography well or are they still preparing to disperse an unarmed crowd at the place of storage?
    1. albert 3 February 2013 19: 12 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Most likely the last. In Idiana, too, terrorists wound up. Something like "occupy Wall Street.
  4. Gonoriy 3 February 2013 19: 05 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    It is interesting whether Iraqis and Afghans will become more in love with them.

Для подавления массовых беспорядков будут использованы нелетальные боеприпасы

Иногда в ходе вооруженных конфликтов военные сталкиваются с ситуацией когда необходимо остановить агрессивно настроенную, но безоружную толпу. Применить стандартное вооружение которое установлено на танках и бронемашинах значит уничтожить огромное количество людей, но это недопустимо и несомненно приведет к эскалации конфликта и перехода его в другое русло, когда все жители страны сплачиваются против оккупантов. С подобными проблемами в ходе ассиметричных войн в Афганистане и Ираке столкнулась американская армия.

Для подавления массовых беспорядков будут использованы нелетальные боеприпасы


Заполнить эту прореху в вооружении танков и бронемашин должен нелетальный боеприпас типа М-98, испытания которого были проведены весной текущего года. По результатам испытаний боеприпас получил довольно высокие оценки и было принято решение о постановке его на серийное производство. Теперь он войдет в штатное вооружение танков, БМП и т.д. Первые 1899 единиц М-98 уже поступили на склад армии США в Индиане и доступны для применения американскими войсками.


Предполагается использовать новый боеприпас в случае необходимости незамедлительно прекратить беспорядки гражданского невооруженного населения или в целях предупреждения транспортных средств гражданского назначения, которые отказываются реагировать на другие сигналы. М-98 не наносит людям серьезного ущерба и позволяет воздействовать с минимальным риском гибели гражданских лиц и солдат.

Для подавления массовых беспорядков будут использованы нелетальные боеприпасы

Легкие пластиковые пусковые установки для отстрела M-98 можно устанавливать практически на любые транспортные средства

Боеприпас типа М-98 является 66-мм гранатой, которая выстреливается из стандартных гранатометов класса LVOSS, предназначенных для отстрела маскировочных дымовых гранат. Подобные гранатометы устанавливаются на корпуса бронемашин и башнях танков. Граната обладает дальностью действия до 150 метров и включает в себя три суббоеприпаса, которые, взрываясь, создают огромную вспышку и громкий звук. М-98 весит 730 г и изготовлена из картона и нейлона – с целью минимизировать возможный риск образования смертельно опасных осколков. Новая граната выстреливается со скоростью 160 м/с и спустя 4,5 секунд взрывается, при этом создавая звуковой удар силой 170 Дб и вспышку, которые оглушают и дезориентируют людей находящихся в радиусе 10-15 метров. Стоимость одной гранаты около 200 долларов.


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 6
  1. zczczc 25 августа 2011 15:33
    Эта технология полезна только для тех стран, где оккупационное правительство. Очень не хочется быть в их списке.
    zczczc
    1. Довмонт 25 августа 2011 16:11
      А против своего народа их разве нельзя использовать? Нашим то новым, демократическим правителям? Если учесть что по приказу Элцина лупили из танков по парламенту и вполне боевыми снарядами. Для сравнения можно вспомнить о том, что коммунистическое ГКЧП и автоматной очереди по бунтарям не сделало. Одного еврея в суматохе свои же под гусеници и запихнули случайно.
      Довмонт
  2. Leo848 25 августа 2011 16:50
    Что только не придумывают,что бы народ гонять.
    Leo848
  3. юнга 25 августа 2011 23:25
    "С подобными проблемами в ходе ассиметричных войн в Афганистане и Ираке столкнулась американская армия." "Первые 1899 единиц М-98 уже поступили на склад армии США в Индиане и доступны для применения американскими войсками."
    Странно, с проблемами столкнулись в Афганистане и Ираке, а на склады завезли в Индиану, наверно географию плохо учили или всё таки готовятся разгонять безоружную толпу по месту складирования?
    юнга
    1. albert 3 февраля 2013 19:12
      Скорее всего последнее.В Идиане тоже террористы завелись.Что-то вроде "оккупируй Уолл-стрит.
  4. Gonoriy 3 февраля 2013 19:05
    Интересно станут ли иракцы и афганцы их за это больше любить.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня