Mission "Rafal"

The operation of NATO forces in Libya has become an advertising platform for the French fighter aviation.


Four years ago, Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi initiated negotiations with France, at which he announced his intention to acquire Rafale 14 (fourth-generation French fighters). The deal was not destined to take place, but Gaddafi "Rafaley" still waited - these fighters became the main striking force of the coalition during a military operation against the Gaddafi regime and, thus, demonstrated their fighting qualities to the whole world. Rafale is one of the basic aircraft of the French military aviation, which has not been exported so far.



Negotiations on a deal with fighters with Brazil, which were launched two years ago, are going hard. In Brazil, the Rafale competes with the American F-18 and the Swedish Gripen fighter. The agreement to supply 36 aircraft to Brazil, the total cost of which is $ 6 billion, was almost reached: Rafale enjoyed a clear advantage in the eyes of former President Lula da Silva. But after Dilma Rousseff came to power, the situation changed. The current president of Brazil is heading for a rapprochement with the United States and, most likely, will give preference to the American F-18. To change the situation, France promised to transfer to Brazil "unlimited technologies" for the maintenance and operation of the aircraft. However, the Brazilian side decided not to buy fighters and postponed the resolution of this issue until the beginning of 2012.

Another highly probable fighter buyer is India, which selected Rafale and Eurofighter fighters at the end of April in a tender to supply 126 aircraft with a total value of 7,7 billion euros, the results of which will be summarized after reading all the offers.

Other negotiations on the supply of fighters (60pcs.) Are conducted with the United Arab Emirates since the 2008 year, but they suddenly stalled last year. The fact is that the UAE insisted that a more powerful engine and an improved radar be installed on the aircraft. About a month ago, France’s Minister of Defense Longué was rather optimistic about the delivery of Rafale to the Emirates, in particular, he noted that “negotiations are progressing.” Obviously referring to the operation in Libya, the Minister said the following: “To date, our pilots have demonstrated that the machines have a completely suitable engine.”

A little earlier, at the annual air show in Le Bourget, French Prime Minister Francois Fillon expressed confidence that the contract for the purchase of Rafale UAE would be concluded very soon.



"Tested on the battlefield"

Dassaut Aviation, the manufacturer of Rafaley, agrees with the military that their aircraft performed very well in Libya, but refrains from making any forecasts, as there is no detailed information about the progress in negotiations. Stefan Faure, representative of Dassaut Aviation: “Potential buyers of our fighter are watching with interest the success of the Rafale in Libya.” According to the remark of Jean-Pierre Molney (Deputy Director of the Institute for International and Strategic Relations), made by him during a conversation with the correspondent of Moscow News", The operation in Libya" is really capable of influencing transactions with the Rafals and other French weapons. "

The expert noted that the Rafale fighter and the Tigr helicopter, which distinguished themselves in Libya, have already become a real visiting card of the French military-industrial complex. Lightning is also confident that importers weapons have long preferred to buy weapons that have already proven their effectiveness in real combat. During the war for the Falkland Islands between Argentina and Great Britain, a French-made Exocet cruise missile used to fight ships sank the British destroyer Sheffield, which ultimately contributed to a significant increase in its sales. And the successful use of the Israeli Air Force by the French “Mirage” in 1982. during the Six Day War made them incredibly popular in many countries around the world.

Mission "Rafal"


Leading security expert at the French Institute of International Relations, Etienne de Durand: “Some of the weapons that demonstrated their effectiveness during the Libyan operation can be sold on the world market with the label“ tested on the battlefield ”. At the same time, in his opinion, until the war is over, it is impossible to predict sales. The specialist believes that because the aircraft is used in the Libyan operation, its price, which is within 100 million dollars apiece, will not change. According to experts, the Libyan conflict is unlikely to create new export markets for Rafale, but it can affect the course of the ongoing negotiations. However, the French fighter is already interested in Switzerland and a number of countries in the Middle East, among them Qatar and Kuwait, as well as Bulgaria and Greece.

Security expert Jean-Vincent Brisset: "We can say that the war in Libya is an advertisement, but one cannot say that advertising is the goal of this war." Although Rafali has already been involved in Afghanistan, the Libyan operation, according to experts, is more convenient for demonstrating the capabilities of France’s military equipment. With regard to the objectives of the NATO operation in Afghanistan, people do not have a clear understanding, but as for the situation in Libya, everything seems to be clearer: “The coalition is fighting with the dictator”. In addition, in Libya, the Americans showed themselves less active.

Election campaign

Only flawless combat performance to begin the supply of aircraft abroad is not enough. Experts say that arms purchase decisions have political roots in many respects, the relationship between the buyer country and the seller country plays a large, almost decisive role. Meanwhile, the reputation of "Rafal" in Libya is not all clear and unclouded.

Former Italian Air Force pilot, military aviation expert David Chenchiotti: Rafali appeared in Libya surprisingly unexpectedly, without the necessary artillery preparation. They struck targets in Libya a few hours before the start of the bombing of Libyan air defenses by US and British aircraft. This may indicate that the French aircraft were in those areas where there were no working air defense systems.

Many experts believe that the excessive zeal of the French leadership to resolve the Libyan conflict is connected with the imminent presidential election. “The current President Sarkozy is trying to demonstrate his ability to make decisions on the international arena to voters,” said MEP Bruno Golnis. “And I'm not sure that this will be a good advertisement for French weapons.”
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. datur 27 August 2011 12: 35 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    struggle with the dictator as a way to promote goods --- well, is it not-deleted- ???
  2. Dovmont
    Dovmont 27 August 2011 19: 54 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    The main goal of the West in Libya is to control Libyan oil. Everything else is secondary.
    1. cabin boy
      cabin boy 27 August 2011 21: 39 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      The goal of the United Kingdom and France is to gain control over the source of hydrocarbons that will not need to be transported from the Persian Gulf due to the imminent imposition of democracy there, the goal of the United States is to light a fire in the Middle East and Africa, and longer so that little fires ignite everything around. "Is the US economy bad? All the worse for the rest of the world!"
  3. DEfindER 15 October 2011 13: 18 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Look at the characteristics of Raphael and Mig-29,
    The flash in all respects is approximately 1.5 times higher than Rafal and costs 3.5 times cheaper ..
  4. AlexAl 26 October 2011 07: 00 New
    • -1
    • 0
    -1
    To consider the massacre in Libya, in the complete absence of the presence of air defense, as an advertisement for rafal - give a damn !. There, it looked like a maize, you could fly and throw bombs with your hands with the same efficiency (joke).
    What do our half-biters think? in addition to the arms embargo, it was necessary to offer NATO assistance in the form of the Su-27 and MiG-29, and as a bonus, advertising (sarcasm)
    You look and NATO would not have suffered such huge losses (loss of F18, depletion of stock of precision weapons). They didn’t think of it, well, nothing will be fixed.

Миссия «Рафаля»

Операция сил НАТО в Ливии стала рекламной площадкой для французской истребительной авиации.

Четыре года тому назад лидер Ливии Муаммар Каддафи инициировал переговоры с Францией, на которых заявил о намерении приобрести 14 «Рафалей» (французские истребители четвертого поколения). Сделке не суждено было состояться, но Каддафи «Рафалей» всё-таки дождался — эти истребители стали основной ударной силой коалиции в ходе военной операции против режима Каддафи и, таким образом, продемонстрировали свои боевые качества всему миру. «Рафаль» - один из базовых самолётов французской военной авиации, который до сих пор ни разу не экспортировался.

Миссия «Рафаля»



Переговоры по сделке с истребителями с Бразилией, которые были начаты два года назад, идут тяжело. В Бразилии «Рафаль» конкурирует с американским F-18 и шведским истребителем «Грипен». Соглашение на поставку в Бразилию 36 самолетов, общая стоимость которых составляет $6 млрд было практически достигнуто: «Рафаль» пользовался очевидным преимуществом в глазах бывшего президента Лулы да Силва. Но после прихода к власти Дилмы Роуссефф положение изменилось. Теперешний президент Бразилии ведёт курс на сближение с США и, скорее всего, отдаст предпочтение американскому F-18. Чтобы изменить ситуацию, Франция пообещала передать Бразилии «неограниченные технологии» по обслуживанию и эксплуатации самолёта. Однако бразильская сторона решила не покупать истребители и отложила решение этого вопроса до начала 2012 года.

Другой весьма вероятный покупатель истребителя — Индия, отобравшая истребители «Рафаль» и «Еврофайтер» в конце апреля на тендере на поставку 126 самолетов общей стоимостью 7,7 млрд. евро, итоги которого будут подведены после ознакомления со всеми предложениями.

Другие переговоры о поставке истребителей (60шт.) ведутся с ОАЭ начиная с 2008 года, но они неожиданно забуксовали в минувшем году. Дело в том, что ОАЭ настаивали на том, чтобы на самолет был установлен более мощный двигатель и усовершенствованный радар. Примерно месяц назад министр обороны Франции Лонге высказывался по поводу поставки «Рафалей» Эмиратам довольно оптимистично, он, в частности, отметил, что «переговоры продвигаются». Явно имея в виду операцию в Ливии, министр заявил следующее: «На сегодняшний день наши лётчики продемонстрировали, что на машинах установлен вполне подходящий двигатель».

Немногим ранее на ежегодном авиасалоне в Ле-Бурже французский премьер-министр Франсуа Фийон высказал уверенность, что контракт на покупку «Рафалей» ОАЭ будет заключён в самое ближайшее время.

Миссия «Рафаля»


«Проверено на поле боя»

Компания Dassaut Aviation, производитель «Рафалей», соглашается с мнением военных о том, что их самолет показал себя в Ливии очень хорошо, но при этом воздерживается от каких-либо прогнозов, поскольку подробной информации о продвижении в ведении переговоров пока нет. Стефан Фор, представитель компании Dassaut Aviation: «Возможные покупатели нашего истребителя с интересом наблюдают за успехами «Рафалей» в Ливии». По замечанию Жан-Пьера Молни (заместителя директора Института международных и стратегических отношений), высказанному им в ходе беседы с корреспондентом «Московских новостей», операция в Ливии «действительно способна повлиять на сделки с «Рафалями» и другим французским вооружением».

Эксперт отметил, что истребитель «Рафаль» и вертолет «Тигр», отличившиеся в Ливии, уже стали настоящей визитной карточкой французского ВПК. Молни также уверен в том, что импортеры оружия давно предпочитают покупать вооружение, уже доказавшее свою эффективность в реальном бою. Во время войны за Фолклендские острова между Аргентиной и Великобританией в 1982 году крылатая ракета «Экзосет» французского производства, используемая для борьбы с кораблями, потопила британский эсминец «Шеффилд», что в итоге способствовало серьёзному росту её продаж. А успешное использование ВВС Израиля французских «Миражей» в 1967г. в ходе шестидневной войны сделало их потрясающе популярными во многих странах мира.

Миссия «Рафаля»


Ведущий специалист в области безопасности Французского института международных отношений Этьен де Дюран: «Часть вооружения, продемонстрировавшего свою эффективность в ходе ливийской операции, может быть реализована на мировом рынке с этикеткой «проверено на поле боя». При этом, по его мнению, пока война не окончена, прогнозировать продажи нельзя. Специалист считает, что оттого, что самолёт используется в ливийской операции, его цена, которая находящаяся в пределах 100 млн. долларов за штуку, не изменится. По мнению экспертов, ливийский конфликт вряд ли создаст новые рынки экспорта для «Рафалей», однако повлиять на ход уже идущих переговоров он способен. Однако французским истребителем уже интересуется Швейцария и ряд стран Ближнего Востока, среди них Катар и Кувейт, а также Болгария и Греция.

Эксперт в области безопасности Жан-Вансен Бриссе: «Мы можем сказать, что война в Ливии – это реклама, но при этом нельзя говорить о том, что реклама является цель этой войны». Хотя «Рафали» уже были задействованы в Афганистане, ливийская операция, по мнению экспертов, более удобен для демонстрации возможностей военной техники производства Франции. По поводу целей операции НАТО в Афганистане чёткого понимания у людей нет, а по ситуации в Ливии всё, как будто бы, яснее: «Коалиция воюет с диктатором». Кроме этого в Ливии американцы проявили себя менее активно.

Предвыборная кампания

Только лишь безупречных боевых показателей для начала поставок самолёта за границу недостаточно. Эксперты говорят о том, что решения о покупке вооружений имеют во многом политические корни, отношения между страной-покупателем и страной-продавцом играют большую, почти решающую роль. Между тем с репутацией «Рафаля» в Ливии далеко не все однозначно и безоблачно.

Бывший пилот ВВС Италии, эксперт военной авиации Давид Ченчиотти: «Рафали» появились в Ливии на удивление неожиданно, без необходимой артиллерийской подготовки. Они наносили удары по целям на территории Ливии уже за несколько часов до начала бомбардировки авиацией США и Великобритании ливийских ПВО. Это может говорить о том, что французские самолеты находились в тех зонах, где отсутствовали работающие системы ПВО.

Многие эксперты считают, что излишнее рвение французского руководства по поводу решения ливийского конфликта связано со скорыми президентскими выборами. «Нынешний президент Саркози пытается продемонстрировать избирателям свою способность к принятию решений на международной арене, — считает депутат Европарламента Брюно Голниш. — И я не уверен, что это станет хорошей рекламой французского оружия».


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 5
  1. datur 27 августа 2011 12:35
    борьба с диктатором как способ продвижения товара--- ну не -удалено- ли ???
  2. Довмонт 27 августа 2011 19:54
    Главная цель Запада в Ливии - контроль над ливийской нефтью. Всё остальное второстепенно.
    Довмонт
    1. юнга 27 августа 2011 21:39
      Цель Мелкобритании и Франции получить контроль над источником углеводородов, которые не надо будет возить из Персидского залива ввиду скорого наведения там демократии, цель США разжечь на Ближнем Востоке и в Африке костёр, да подольше, чтоб головёшки запалили всё вокруг. "Экономике США плохо? Ну тем хуже для всего остального мира!"
      юнга
  3. DEfindER 15 октября 2011 13:18
    Посмотрите характеристики Рафаля и Миг-29,
    Миг по всем параметрам примерно в 1.5 раза превосходит Рафаль а стоит в 3.5 раза дешевле..
  4. AlexAl 26 октября 2011 07:00
    Рассматривать бойню в Ливии, при полном отсутствии присутствия ПВО, как рекламу рафаля - во дают блин!. Там похоже на кукурузнике летать можно было и руками бомбочки бросать с той же эффективностью ( шутка).
    Чем наши недогрызки думают? вдобавок к эмбарго на оружие, надо было предложить помощь нато в виде Су-27 и Миг-29, а в качестве бонуса- реклама (сарказм)
    Глядишь и нато не понесло бы таких огромных убытков ( потеря F18, исчерпание запаса высокоточного оружия). Не додумали, ну ничего исправятся.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня